(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Lyn, i saw a FP xylophone on sale. v cute. Jake quite likes it, but stated on the box for 1 yr old +. I also saw some musical instruments on sale - wooden ones - at Paragon Early Learning Center (i think), 5th floor. we plan to get him some balls from toys r us... to encourage him to crawl.. ha ha...

yah..all the mil stories..hahaha..can be quite scary at times..one good thing is now at least we are reaching some form of understanding and mil is learning how to let go a little and yupyup..must be glad that least hubby is there to provide support.

Tinklebell,
oh no la..its my parents cannot see my son for 49 days..not me...if me i go mad liaoz.

Hi Michele
congrats on brendan successful surgery!

By the way..anyone planning for no 2 liaoz?

Soh:
dun be depressed. cheer up. sunshine after e rain. Anyway in future, try to be FIRM n dun let ur MIL take control. Instead, u take control of MIL! I think not easy to do that but just be confident n firm! Ask ur hb to help too! its ridiculous not to touch ur son for 49days! Faint. ur MIL over pantang liao.

kite,
I am not taking normal calcium tablets. I take organic supplements that has a lot of calcium since before pregnancy. I dun drink milk too. The most I drink is soya bean milk without sugar.

amy,
I also saw the FP xylophone at Robinsons. Where is it on sale? If cheap, I will go and buy.. It's not the ideal xylophone I want. I am now looking for real xylophone, but cannot find small ones that only has 1 octave. I do believe in the need to expose baby to real and accurate note, cos they are learning and very sensitive to sound. I have been going around music shops to find some simple musical instrument. So far, I have got a wooden "tick tock".. hahaha.. I dunno the real name though :p. Cost me $12.. I only know it's a percussion instrument. I am also looking into cymbals and tambourine...
Oh.. maybe I will go to Paragon to have a look
I like wooden ones too...

soh,
You planning for no. 2 already?? I want a piggy baby...

This morning, I discovered Aloysius has numerous small tiny dots on his body... Does anyone knows any disease with this symptom?? Will teething cause this?? He's having diarrhoea since yesterday too. He had fever on Monday, and subsided already. He's still a happy and active boy today...

lyn:
i tried to drink soya bean milk fr ntuc but my ger stil allergy to it. dunno how liao. how much mg of calcium do we actually need for Bfing?

kite,
I dun usually drink those from NTUC. I drink those from the market. If it's from NTUC, I buy the fortune brand or the Sobe brand without sugar. I am concerned of the intake of sugar, preservatives and other additives...
hmm... could your gal be allergic to some additives instead of soya bean milk?? Do you read the labels??

Hi Kite

oh no la..49 days is for my parents. They cannot come into contact with my son for 49 days that includes seeing him. If my mil say i cannot touch my son for 49 days i think i will go crazy manz!

But good thing is i have already put it very direct that i dont belong to the pantang category. So suggestions are welcome but not necessary followed lor. Now least some form of understanding is achieve btw me and mil..and heng she is not those that will insist and kick up big fuss if i dont follow ..else even more diff to live with.

Hi Lyn
yup i am planning for no 2 liaoz. Hoping for a piggy baby as well hehehe. Will start to TTC after Darrell turns 1. Hubby wants a 1st half of the yr baby. After that i close production line liaoz coz we feel 2 is enuff for us.

duffybuff,
563119.gif

me also interested in the car mobile. Can include me too? How much & where to collect?
Hee...me also interested in the Handsqueeker $18.90

MTDT - i am at springleaf. dunno whether tpy is better. are you also with SM?

soh, ha ha.. got a shock. if piggy bb, you should be preggy by now to make 1st half of 2007.

lyn, think you better bring aloy to doc... small rashes on body? on hands still ok... cos jake has some small dots - can count them, maybe two or three? but these are nothing, PD said some infants have them.

lyn,

quickly bring aloysius to the PD .... maybe its false measles. If the rashes followed closely after the fever subside.. may be false measles. The rashes should resemble that of measles. If it happen localised only in mouth, hand and foot and its blister like ulcer, then maybe its hmfd. If the dots are raised and big with water, then chicken pox.

Joelle have red rashes on her body frequently but i think that is a result of dry skin, eczema or heat rashes.

teething should not cause rashes leh.

kite,

to answer your qn on calcium req'm: 1200mg (according to YC) during bfg. I'm still taking the calcium supplements from YC. She says ok to take. Neurogain as well.

soh,
I am planning end piggy.. lol... dunno realistic or not since I am still breast feeding... A bit "bu she de" to give up breast feeding
If not piggy, gonna be "moo moo" already... kekeke... Rat baby dun suit me and my hubby...

amy,
I dunno is it becos I ate seafood on Monday
Now waiting for him to wake up to see. Yesterday brought him to Mt E, but did not get into close contact with other children nor adults at the hospital...

lyn,
same here, i dont drink soya bean from the supermarket.

soh,
oic, i normally hear the pantangs but dont follow them.

poohy,
oh dear ... so they got HFMD. even your hubby also got it? normally adults dont get it easily. u can boil some barley water for them to drink. my boy had HFMD 2x!!! and on 8 August on 2 consecutive years! He didnt want to eat but luckily he was still v keen to drink his milk.

lyn,
oh dear, Aloysius also has red dots on his body? sometimes could be heat rash or allergy. Fiona gets it once in a while but normally goes off after a bath. u wait for a while...if it doesnt go off or comes with fever, better to bring him to see a doc.

i also have mil stories but i have phobia that sil will one day discover this thread then i'll be deadmeat.but when my mother stayed with me, i also have such stories, friction etc..and through this pregnancy i'm now closer to my mil and mom.fight then patch back all part of being a family now.

buffyduff,
wah yr play yard look like wonderland.sure fill my whole living room.yr baby like to be inside? will be useful when they start to crawl right.if not have to chase and cannot touch this and that?

kite,
where u come back from. hee hee... kepo...

lyn,
could the dots be heat rash?

what is sichida method? can summarize in 2 sentence?hubby sure dont agree on all these 'manicured environment' but i curious want to know the latest research on child care.

since i stay away from caffein when BF, i'm addicted to milo and esp like those bought outside and very sweet. cham already.. and i notice i like desserts...

when it comes to bringing up my boy i also dont like to expose him to junk food and sweets.but my hb's family is into such food so dont want my boy to end up like that. and some more want him to know there is such things but he can decide to have or not. tricky... esp when in law will give him sweets as treat.i'll be very upset, must set boundaries early.

lyn, your own family into healthy eating? what does yr hb think on all your principles? sometimes my hb dont agree so have to find a middle ground. in a way it also help me not to be too extreme.

u always go zoo, just short trip? u stay nearby, no need tickets meh?

i also want no.2 but i want to be the main caregiver then cause there's also sibling issue between no. 1 and 2, on top of good home environement.so hb say have to wait till 3-4yrs later when he can afford.

looking forward tmr cause i take leave bring my boy for 5 month jab, will try to get mc.

last night when the microwave 'ding' my boy chuckle and laugh. so i kept making 'ding' sound and he kept laughing each time, so hilarious. and my hb was spinning a toy and when it drop, he also laugh, each time it drop. they're now cheeky barrel of laughter isn't it.

poohy,
you take care too ya... not easy for you to handle all of them alone.

RE: stranger anxiety
i think my boy having stranger anxiety already, my distant aunty came and he immediately pout when she carries him. how to let them overcome this??

duffybuff,

I'm interested to know the answer to MTDT's query as well. If there's a gap, can let me know how big?

lyn,

i also want piggy baby. My ideal is to hv a gap of 18 mths or slightly more. I realised my hubby's company has free passes to places like zoo, bird park, science centre, omnimax. So should make good use of it b4 he job-hop!

tinklebell,

ya my mum had been boiling barley water for both of them to drink these few days. I dunno how samuel kena this hfmd... last 1 week he din really go to much classes and no one else from the trial class he went got the disease. My extended family got a lot of people sick with sore throat and high fever... maybe they had adult hfmd and passed it to samuel..

really v stress... after working entire day, get home its either samuel cranky or joelle crying... all the way till they sleep... i v worried later i also get it... i am facing a v busy period at work and really cannot be on mc or leave... else i would have taken leave to look after them liao...

re: zoo

there is a frens of the zoo pass.. u can make which entitle u to unlimited entry into the zoo for a year. U, your spouse, 2 other person will be free. Your bb below 2 years old is free anyway. I got the pass and bring J & S to the zoo last tuesday...

poohy,
hfmd is v contagious one! i rem the first time when my son got it, he only had v slight fever for a start so we didnt know it was hfmd and we went to mil's house for dinner... within the next few days all my nieces and nephews got it! After all the nieces recovered, another niece came to their house and also got it!!! suspect the house was not disinfected properly. the disease can stay in the faeces for a while even after the person has recovered.

poohy,
i tot adults wont get hfmd one? Only kids will? U take gd care cos its not easy to care for 3 person at the same time. *hugz*

Re : Rashes
My ger have some rashes at the feet, is that normal?

Lok, my company also has the zoo pass. admits 4 free. but usually have to book a few weeks in advance esp during school holidays.
maybe one day we can organise an outing to the zoo for the babies

poohy, re vtec toys, are the toys seen on tokomama webby available in retail stores? at toys r us, i can only find pooh vtec toys. feel like organising a BP, just emailed the supplier. hope can get $200 with 20% like Little.

Fi - SM is whole brain training. see this webby:http://www.shichidamethod.com/

re SM, poohy - any idea whether there is a diff between springleaf and tpy?

amy,
i saw vtech toys at mothercare also. I bought the Nursery n Rhyme book from vtech and my ger simply loves it!
She will flip the pages and push the things on the book. Its sort of an interactive kind of book

amy,

different toysrus store have different stock of vtech toys..
Can also find at mothercare, robinson?

i dunno whether there is any difference between tpy and spf SM but the teacher is the more important difference
Some teachers are more experienced. There are some trainee teachers too...

tinklebell,
It's very hard to bring him along leh...Esp i want to go chatuchak market, very hot and alot of ppl...If i shop, worried about him with the maid...i also want to go massage but cannot bring baby together, leave them in the hotel, worried also...if dun shop, dun massage, then go bkk for what?

celeste,
U r rite, in a way, i'm glad that my son likes my maid, cos this means she love my son too, i dun have to worry about her ill treating my son....but when my son likes her more than me, i'll be very sad leh! That's why when i tell myself that i had to start going exercise every nite after work but i still cannot give up the time of spending with my son...imagine, lesser and lesser time with him, he's most of time with my maid or MIL, eventually he will choose them and not me!

oki,
U scare me leh, so means i also must go now b4 he recognize and choose the person he likes? My mum also told me that if i want to go holiday better go now, if not later he starts to recognize us, will cry if we not around...by then, can't go anywhere already....

Serene,

my boy already started to recognize ppl liao since he was 3 mths +.

Sigh!

The moment he step into my mum house, he will cry non-stop and wail loudly. No1 can touch him except me n hb. We need to give him about 2 days b4 he can get used to the place n ppl.

I have started to bring my bb out since the day he turns 2 mths.

vivi,
How do u tell that your boy can recognize ppl? When he sees stranger, he cries? My boy see stranger will still smile at them!

vivi,

He will cry when step into yr mum's hse? Really ah? U hardly bring him to yr mum's place huh? My son goes to my mum's place every monday and friday, sometimes on sunday too! I bring him out since he's 1 mth old.

He cries. ai yo, he cries ttill his tears flow non stop. Then sleep also cry.
When i bring him out, he will pout at my friends and sometimes he do cries. But i feel that he recognize place more than ppl.

Opps, Me too. Not when hes 2 mths. Bring him out when he turns 1 mth old.

I go to my mum place every weekend. Thats y my mum urge me to bring him back every nite. But im afraid my hubby will not like it.

Very funny 1. Still remember last sat. I was waiting for my mum to open the door. My boy was still in a good mood BUT The moment the door opened, he started to cry v. loudly. ALso, refused to be carried by any1. he cry non-stop for about 4-5 hours leh. everytime goes to my mum place, he behave like this. V. scared that my hb will banned bb from going to my mum place.

vivi, serene, bb jake as well... every sunday, when i drop him at my church nursery, he will cry... initially, i tot it's becos he was uncomfortable with the way he was being carried... but think maybe it's true.. separation anxiety starts about 6 - 8 months...
this morning when i said bye bye to him... he was staring at me... all still....

Wow so many of u here want a Piggy Baby. On time anot? hehe. For me, i want to wait for 2 yrs first, then plan 2nd one. now too siong for me. Btw i read that best for a mummy's body to recover fully fr pregnancy for 12 to 18mths b4 hving another one.

lyn:
i tried the sobe w sugar n fortune brand b4. I didnt check e substances, take for granted soy is not a problem but end up my ger allergy. perhaps i wil go market n buy instead of NTUC.

Lok:
wow u stil go back to YC n buy supplements fr her? i stay quite far fr TMC so i bot Neurogain fr Unity but i couldnt find e exact name of the calcium YC subscribed leh. U bot alot of calcium fr YC? maybe no choice hv to go back. see how. U take how many YC's calcium pink tablets per day?

tinklebell:
oh dear ur boy got HFMD too last time. btw how he got it n what trigger it leh?

Fi:
lol i came back fr pumping session

MC for Jab:
Hey i m able to get MC for my ger's jab leh. my PD clinic very good hehe. now can make use of the childcare leave liao.

Zoo:
how come alot of ppl gg to zoo? my co. arranging gg zoo tis sat. anyone gg tis sat?

Celesteblur/Amy:
i also bot the Nursery n Rhyme book from vtech leh!! hehe my ger loves it n i wil sing along w her
i find vtech toys quite cute hor. thinking of buying more.

serene,
my girl started to recognise pp when she was 2 mths... she cries non stop when my in laws carry her... now she is more familiar with them but still cry when she finally realises she being carried by them!

kite,
first time he got it, i dont know who he caught it from.. must be somewhere we went to or maybe playground.
second time was from school

hope no third time...keeping my fingers crossed

kite... i am thinking of getting VTECH Discovery Nursery Farm, VTECH Groove and Learn Bus, VTECH Alphabet Apple and VTECH Move and Crawl Ball. Maybe the Alphabet Apple is too advanced for Jake... dunno leh... will ask hb what he thinks.
BTW - just checked with supplier, the oos items will arrive in 2 weeks' time.

Hi Amy,

I've ordered VTECH Discovery Nursery Farm from BP organised by Little. Thought of getting more.. can I collect from the supplier direct at JW like Little's BP? Can you check with the supplier?

tinklebell,
High-five! kekeke... I also hear lots of pantangs, but I dun follow, unless there's logic... :p
eh.. I just downloaded the photos... not nice wor...
I think could be allergy...

Fi,
Shichida method is right brain training from very very young. Shichida advocates brain training from birth.
My family is into healthy eating
My hubby's family was not used to eating vegetables. But now they are influenced by me to eat vegetables.. hahaha... When we go out to dine, I dun eat seafood. When my hubby order, he will make a conscious effort to order 2 dishes of vegetables. If his brother order, gonna be seafood and meat and 1 vegetable... **faintz** haha.. I just dun eat lor, and next time they will order more vegetables... :p
My hubby had health challenges two years ago. Since then, I have been influencing him to eat more vegetables and fruits. I found an environment where most people are very health conscious and my hubby also got influenced
. Last time, when he ordered mixed rice, will be 3 meats. Now, it's two vegetables and 1 meat. Even vegetables, not the deep fried ones
. Sometimes, he will eat fruits for lunch when he feels very tired. My hubby has seen and felt the benefits of healthy diet. It's not easy to change one's diet.
I also give my hubby books to read. If he dun read, sometimes I will read out loud to him to what I am reading
I think my hubby trust me on the things I do. If he have doubts, I will find the "proof" for him to read on his own.. hahaha... researcher convincing people ma... :p

I am staying in Yio Chu Kang
So the zoo is pretty near. My sis or hubby will get the zoo pass for free entrance
. So not "sim tia" to go many times... I prefer to go many times than information overloaded and get too tired in one visit.

hahaha.. your boy is so cute... he's such a happy boy...

tinklebell,
No spots yesterday. hmm.. maybe not food allergy. Just now when he woke up, his head also has many spots. Very strange. Only his head and chest and tummy got spots. The legs, hands and back dun have... He's still a happy baby leh... Shouldn't be something serious ba... Later will change my bedsheets again. Dunno is it the haze. I just changed bedsheets, and that bedsheet was washed and hang dry during the bad haze day...
Wah.. HFMD so contagious ah...

Lok,
Wah... got science center and omnimax some more ah.. Yalor.. must make full use
If I can get free entrance to science center, I will definitely bring Aloysius there... kekeke... I am a science person :p. I love to touch and play with the exhibits there.

My sis recently brought a Hungarian friend to visit the Asian civilisation museum. She said it's very good and I should bring Aloysius there... lol... but gotta pay entrance.

poohy,
Remember to drink lots of water oo...

amy,
The teacher for SM is very important. My friend just changed schedule and got a better teacher. Before that, like no effect...

kite,
what time your next pumping session. mine 4.30 later. we shall pump together again? wah ha ha.... how come your co. going zoo? PD clinic sure give mc, its the polyclinic difficult.. how often a PD see yr ger? every jab? so they monitor yr ger every month?

Amy:
wow u getting so many. I also want to join too n buy vtech. i love vtech toys.

Fi:
haha my next session same as urs 4.30pm! haha we pump together ok hand in hand.
Co. organise cos sch holidays but i m not gg cos bb too young. every jab, See PD.

MTDT:
eh just tat i find vtech toys quite interesting. hehe

lyn:
lol my company n colleagues gg but i m not gg. u gg w aloysius n hb?

Amy,
i am also interested...good
563456.gif
can go WC collect from u cos i go WC fetch my boy from mum's plc everyday. When must give u order?