(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kite,
hand expression? but i haven't try before, always rely on pump.

okasan,
what kind of teat are you using, avent size 3 big enough or size 4? but i try spoon feed first.

i_panda

i m goin ther today. U wanna to meet up?

k_ong
i got a quinny zapp together w the maxi cosi cabrio. my ger is outgrowin the seat n i hv to remove the soft cushion for her now. the stroller is good for really young baby. So when she outgrown from the seat, i m goin to get another stroller for her as this stroller onli hv 1 position. Good thing is the stroller is easy to manoveaur but be extra careful when it is on the escalator as it is a 3-wheel stroller... the front wheel is not always in the rite postion.
so everytime, i will die die find lift to go from one flr to another.

tinklebell
yup..it's $4.50.

serene
the shop name is cole kids. #01-18 china sq central. the 1st shop from the main entrance. u cant miss it

okasan, ya loh,
agree with u... i rather give up BF'g then be unhappy! so far, i dont pressure myself... if have, then bf, dont have then drink formula loh. but so far, i think i am thankful that i still got enuf to tbf.

serene,
yes, i also notice a lot of pp even though it is weekday! the underpass was so crowded with pp!seems like a lot of singaporeans dont have to work leh. envy!

Fi:
hmm u can go to Avent head office n buy the spare parts. Thanks for ur suggestions. sometimes i just standby a dry towel besides me n when my baby latch on e other side, i wil quickly squeeze out e other side to prevent full. i use hand expression to squeeze milk but time consuming. not advisable. But sometimes after finish pump, not fully empty, i wil use hand expression to empty depends whether i hv e time.

kite

Where did u buy from PIS from? I borrowed mine from a fren and think I need to replace the plastic tubes, looks quite disgusting, esp after my trip to Hanoi.

aishite:
i bought fr parentcraft at TMC. Dun buy fr there, its much more ex, $799 cos tat time i didnt know. The plastic tube u can buy from United square. There is tis shop cant remember e name where u can buy all e medela parts.

fi,
I'm using the largest size teat for pigeon...not sure for avent teat loh...if you try spoon feed, you got to check if your baby ready to swallow or not loh coz they may still have the tongue reflex thus throwing out whatever food in their mouth instead of eating them loh....

serene,
don't look at the calendar...look at your baby...see if he's ready for cereal or not...some babies are ready to eat solid food while others are still very happy with their milk

milk is still the main food for them until they are 1 year old....for my case, I add cereal inside the ebm for him because he's hungry after the feed and he dun drink more milk even though he's hungry...he just drink the same amt each feed...so we add cereal to thicker the feed and he looks happy after the feed....

but we din give him cereal using spoon coz we noticed he's not ready to eat solid food coz of his tongue reflex....however, these days I realise the reflex disappear...so most likely I'm going to intro cereal by spoon tomorrow to see how he's taking....

btw, I add cereal to his emb when he's exactly 4 mth old until now...

okasan,
If i add the heinz cereal into his milk bottle, let's say 1 spoon of cereal for a start, how much milk powder must i give? Now he's drinking 6oz, so usually is 6 oz of water with 3 similac spoon of milk powder (similac's direction), this is equivalent to 1 spoon powder : 1 oz of water.

Fi,
I intend to use those instant oatmeal and blend.. Pour hot water and bingo... But I read that instant food no good for baby cos they are highly processed. So I will use brown rice, and blend them myself and cook... Or blend my own oatmeal that need to be cooked type. The quick cook and instant ones are highly processed... It's either parents' convenience or more nutrients for baby... I think sometimes I will blend the instant oatmeal when going out... Just add hot water...

okasan,
I also still eat lots of chilli... :p
I am starting to feed Aloysius with water. hee.. in preparation to starting semi-solids... Cos it will take some time for baby to drink water
. Yesterday, managed to feed 20ml of water...

Dor,
What stroller are you getting next?? I am without a stroller these few days
Two days ago, went out and I was so tired... cos I carried Aloysius for 5 hours non-stop... Go toilet also must carry baby wor...

okasan,
Why i'm thinking to start giving him cereal is becos that i see that he doesn't seem to increase on the intake of milk powder recently....so wonder if he's tired of milk powder alone for the meals?

stephenie,
Same here, my son changed his sleeping habit this week also. He used to sleep around 10pm but this week, when i put him to sleep around 9plus to 10pm, he will wake up 10 mins later and awake till 11plus then sleep....i wonder why also????

serene,
does your maid have HP?
my mother complaining that my maid secretly bring the HP to her house and always hide inside the toilet to msg.
nowadays more daring... msg when even in the room!
I already told her not to bring HP to my mum's place! this is getting on my nerves!

spicegal,

so,u all going hainan island anot?
my fil wana go leh..me oso wana go..so long as can step out of this country for a holiday can liao.i am so tired out looking aft my ger..but hor,now tinking if go,got to bring alot of things..n how to bf?how to sterilise? china tink not tt clean leh..headache leh..

tinklebell,
i ate grilled fish and papaya juice for lunch just now

lyn,
instant oatmeal still have to blend? i thought instant kind can dissolve in water/milk.what kind of blender do u use?heard that before blend still need to sun the brown rice, is it true?

kite,
thanks for avent info.i'll check out their website see where is their hq.sometimes i try to pump the other side while latch on baby,but boy's buttock is in the way so have to tilt the pump and milk will spill out.

tinklebell,
My gf warned me that these philippino maids used to carry hp to sing, she remind me to ask my agent tell the maid not to bring along hp. So, that time when i cfm on my maid, i've already state this point clearly. My gf told ms as the phone calls are ex., so they like to sms. But if they do that so often, it affect their work also...so we agree that better dun instruct her not to bring hp. I think it's better you warn yr maid not to turn on her hp during the daytime, she can only sms at nite when she finish her work for the day(bedtime).

sigh..just came bk from doc's follow up for my bb.. they did another urine test for him again and hv to wait another 1 wk before the result is out. meanwhile hv to continue with the antibiotic - once every nite.

another 1 mth later, got to bring him for ultrasound scan for kidneys to make sure his kideneys are ok and free from the infection. otherwise he'll need to do MCU - which they will insert a tube with dye to the urinary tract to see if there's any reflux (urine flowing bkwards to the kidneys). this may one of the reasons for his urine infection.. that's y hv to continue with the antibiotics which can help to cleanse the urine in the event that there's a reflux

hopefully he doesn't hv to go thru that... will hv to see how by the next appt during his ultrasound scan. now he looks perfectly alright to me.. but well it's better to check thoroughly just in case.

duffybuff,
Sorry to hear that yr boy is unwell. But how can it happen, is it common? Hope he will recover after taking the antibiotic and don't have to go thro the painful check - MCU.

angeline,
its still possible to travel and bf.is your baby going with you? if yes, latch on will be more hygienic.if not,have to pump and throw if water is not clean.i did that for my holiday,brought along tablet sterilizer to wash pump everyday.also bring a small icebox with a gel ice,in case u find that the situation allows u to pump and bring/store BM.size of ice box also allow me to soak pump inside to sterilize.if u're suspicious of water quality, use mineral water.bring ziplock bag to store your pump so can express everywhere and whenever you are. and try to find a place to stay that has a fridge, if not you have to use their kitchen.

tinklebell,
Though i've instructed my maid not to bring along hp but that time, i'm worried that she will bring it secretly so i ask her on it. She told me she left her cell ph behind with her brother becos the agent told her cannot bring to sing... I've heard that in philippines, cell ph is very common, my maid told me she dun have a home ph, they use cell phone to communicate...

Serene,
i already told her not to turn on her HP in the day and NEVER EVER to bring it to my mum's house she said ok ok... but it seems that she is not following my house rules now! so angry! but how do i tell her without making it sound as if it is my mother complaining abt her?
Sometimes i think my maid is really trying to test my patience! She is scared of me cos she knows that i can be quite fierce when i am angry but when i am not around, it's a different story.

hi serene,
it all started last wk with a high fever & PD suspected it may not just be a simple vrial infection so bb went thru a few urine & blood test to verify. & found that it's urine infection. & last week we knew that it was a bacteria - E Coli. since last week after the checks & medication, he has recovered - no more fever or any other symptoms.

but at the follow-up today, doc suggested to do a more thorough check just in case.. to make sure that there's no reflux or swelling kidneys.

bb seems perfectly alright.. still very very active, kicking, flipping, crawling and playing.. so i really pray he's ok.

hi tinkle,
i've recovered. thanks! now just worried abt my bb.. thot he can stop medication.. but sigh stil hv to take for another 6 weeks.. luckily it's only once a day in the nite.

K Ong,
I worked at Tanjong Pgr. Once in a while, go china sq oni cos have to work very far.

Serene,
just came back from China Sq. Don't know whether the shop that i went to is the same as the one Dor is saying. Mine is from a push cart. Anyway, they sell more girls clothes than boys. I bought a Baby Gap pants (the same as the one that u have, the blue army pant) & a Old Navy jacket. All are cut labels.

Dor,
thanks for asking but i just went there. Tmr no free, going bowling.

Fi

where do u buy the tablet sterilizer from and wat's the brand? can used to sterilise both pump and bottle?
Just wondering, if u store ur BM whilst travelling, wont it melt by the time u get thru all the customs, flight times etc? Wat's the max time on the road tat BM can be stored? Can tahan London flight or not?

i_panda

the shop i went is in a mall wher GG5 is, not push cart one. but i went to meet my friend at Far east sqaure. ther is push cart sellin bb clothes.. i bought 3 tops n 1 skirt for my ger again. keke

k_ong
buzz is too heavy unless u r a tall built mummy.. me petite size, handle zapp already abit diff..buzz is no way for me manz.

lyn
still thinkin wat the nxt stroller to buy..keke.

tinklebell,
Actually is ok that you let the maid know that is yr mum complaining. Anyway, she will know that is yr mum who told you...Just tell her off that when you're not around, she better listens to yr mum... Tell her if she still use the hp in the daytime, u will have to tell the agency about it. Frankly, i cannot accept it that when you had already tell her off, yet she dare to repeat the same mistake. Maybe so far my maid still very guai, so i never expect her to do something which i dun like or rather have already tell her off, she still dare to do it! That's very daring of her!

i_panda77,
I think the one you went is diff from Dor cos Dor mentioned a shop with unit no. Oh, you got the babyGap army pants huh, i think mine also cut label. How much did you pay for it? The cutting is very small yah? I bought 18mths, but my son can wear it now already.

Dor,
Wow, you buy again ah??? I'm like you, if i see it, i cannot resist not buying, for sure, i will buy!
So i cannot go with my hubby, he will nag at me and i will end up getting nothing!

tinklebell,
You know what, sometimes when i come home, i saw a few maids downstairs at the garden or outside someone's hse chatting with other ppl's maid, i get very pissed. I told myself that i will not allow my maid be like them. It's so sickening! Imagine we have to go and work everyday and yet they so 'eng' so free, can sit around at garden or ppl's hse chatting!

Duffybuff,
so sorry to hear of your baby too,hope baby is ok.

aishite,
think my tablet is pureen or tollyjoy can't remember.but they're very common can find at normal baby department store.but i still dont know if can trust or not, i use it when i pump and throw.yes, for both pump and bottle, just soak for half hour. instruction is in the box.

london flight? that's very long.i've only carried EBM 3-4 hours KL-JB flight.i use hardcasing icebox.wrap EBM and ice gel together by towel.then put inside icebox then fill up with ice cubes.all the super kiasu steps, and the frozen EBM did not melt

i also carried frozen EBM by cab from Spore-JB before which journey take about 1.5 hours.this one i only put EBM inside icebox with icegel.sometimes wrap towel if can fit in.

anyone knows anymore tips on how to carry EBM when travel do let me know.

kite and stephanie,
i went to Brown Rice Paradise just now and bought this herbal tea called Organic Mother's Milk (but its not milk). $15 for 16 sachets, suppose to promote lactation.i must be mad, so expensive and don't know if it works but if it can psycho me that it work also good enough.

by the way, kite, your tip helps-pump the other side to unblock when the other B is letting down!

tinklebell,
Oh yes, btw i saw those maids downstairs carrying hp and their models are quite of a good, i feel very turn off by that....dunno why, I just dun like it. Wonder whether they are here to work as maid or they just want to come here for a better life? Sometimes, i'm worried that if my maid see too much of what these maids are doing, she might be influenced! So if there's a chance, i'll tell her that, if want to work, must be serious, if not, better go back home!

K_ong and dorr,
sorry to butt in but e all talking about buzz and zapp. is that u-zap from osim?

tinklebell,
will let u know at the next pump

Dor,
now i know which shop u talking about. Used to go there cos hubby will go there & see the toy collection upstairs. Haha..will ask him if he wants to go tomoro...

Serene,
the pants is for 18-24mths...$12...opps cutting small, then i have to let him wear now. Will try tonight.

Lobang: www.dfactoryoutlet.com
There is this shop at Specialist Centre called D'Factory Outlet which sells cheap baby wear. Sometimes they have 50% disc too. I bought quite a lot from there too.

i_panda
haha.. i also pop by that shop at specialist centre. tt day bought a flora long sleeve top for $2 niah. Great world city also hv the outlet.

hey fi
haha...no. we r talkin abt stroller

serene,
ya loh, everyday these few maid will go downstairs with the kids, leave them to play and fiddle with their handphones! same sentiments, i dont like it when i see it too! I dont want my maid to mix with them...but she has a sister who works here for 10 years already..."old bird" so i think she learnt all these things fr her sis. some of the maids can actually let the kids run around while they use the public phone downstairs to talk...sometimes i feel like telling them off but since not my maid i better not kpo.

i didnt catch her with hp but she told me her sis gave her a hp and asked me if she could use. i am ok if she uses it when work is done and kids all sleeping but i did warn her not to bring to my mother's place. seems like she turned a deaf ear to that and precisely that's what i am angry abt. hmmm.... i better warn her again. but my mum is scared that she will do "funny" things to sabotage her if she is not happy that my mother complain.

i dont think we illtreat her or anything. in fact, i think we treat her v well... we dont shout at her or ask too much of her. anyway there r so many maids waiting to come to spore to work... if she not happy, ask her to go home loh...think many maids would be more than happy to work for our family.

serene,
my son's poo is no different from the time he only drink bm....still very soft....

as for how much cereal to add...you have to trial and error loh....for a start, add half teaspoon of cereal into the milk (ie. your 6oz of water + 3 sccop of powder)...no need to add more water....let your son try and see how he react...then slowly add more each time...I did that to my son...

now he's drinking 2 teaspoon of cereal mix with his usual dose of ebm....

btw, u may want to first add a bit of water to the cereal to mix it into a smooth paste beofre adding into the milk coz this will ensure the cereal is dissolved.....

serene,
it's actually ok if your baby don't increase his milk intake...once babies reach a certain milestone, they will usually maintain the milk intake or even decrease their milk intake....so don't have to worry....

more impt is to see if your son looks hungry after the feed or not loh...if he's happy, then you shouldn't worry abt him not drnking enough....