(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kite,
you can homemade food for your baby by mashing them into paste like form....some people like to make more coz easier to make all at one go...so when you make more, you can freeze the rest for consumption later....normally they freeze in small container so each day, you only need to taw a small portion without having to taw all...

spicegal:
oic. cos it sounds confusing to me. let me know if u hv more info. hv u started any semi solid food to your ger yet? me hvnt.

Okasan:
hey me too, looking at nearby n short holidays. i thinking of gg cruise or MY, just short trip. So u n ur hb w bb gg oni? cos i was thinking once i stop bf, 3 of us go wil be more easier. If i m stil bfing, i hv to ask my mum along.
i hvnt started my ger on brown rice. when did u start n what symptons to look out?

spicegals,
ya, I'm anticipating what kinda experience will it be to bring my baby...but so far, he's quite easy to handle....that's why we choose malaysia coz short trip....if he's ok, next time can take plane

Kite, I started giving my girl grounded brown rice with milk past 2 weeks since she turned 4 mths old. Once a day in the morning, she simply likes it and will finish her milk to the last drop...haha

kite,
my son drink a fix amt of milk and he still looks hungry...when we give him more milk, he dun drink..he will always stop at that fix amt of milk loh...so my mum say we try adding cereal to thicken the emb....true engouh, he's satisfied after the feed....we din give him cereal by spoon (paste-like) coz he's not ready to swallow the cereal, that's why we mix it in the ebm instead....

we going in a big group with my parents and in laws

Okasan:
wow u really counting down now, me too! T
If food freeze, wont e vitamins n minerals all gone? u all taking coach or driving?

Spicegal:
i wanted to go Vivocity too, heard its real big n beautiful. but no time to go. Wil try to find time. Btw there is this Baby shop called Pumpkin Patch at Vivocity. Its originate fr Australia. I saw e bb clothings fr online. wow all so nice. also wil take a look on Baby Gap too

Starting brown rice:
PD did suggest start after 6mths, me stil not sure to start, maybe next mth when she turns 5mths?

Okasan:
wow gg to both side families. initially i was thinking n organizing both side families to go cos can take turns to take care of my baby, easier. But then HB sure faint cos need to pay for everyone. see how. stil deciding.

kite :
will BF till 6 mths if possible. after that still thinking but also must see MS.

ice cube :
think after you puree the food, cos its very troublesome to make so small amount daily. put portions in container and freeze it. When need, use like Frozen EBM, and add to cereal. but think will have 'use by' date.

ice cube containers :
I think quite ex. selling about $17+/-. Thinking of using those disposable small containers. like those type use by food stall to put chili or sauce. Think is cheaper, use already throw.

today i am on leave..so can log on for a while and update my gal recent pic..

Mummies out there.. any 1 knw hw much EBM a 4mth plus plus bb must drink everyday... my gal oni drink 800ml per day..so i wonder is it normal..

Those mummies staying hougang area and want to buy HT cereal..this morning i saw it at hougang point..there are brown rice and oatmeal cereal..

here is my chubby bb gal Ginelle
547897.jpg

re: short trips.

brought my boy to johore few weeks ago.

everything was ok.. Lucky me...

Now, looking 4ward to bring him to genting on 27oct and japan on 24 dec.

kite,
I only pump 4x a day. So far so gd for at least arnd 1+mths liowz. I suspect my engorgement was due to me eating a slice of papaya for 2 consecutive days. Cos that day juz b4 my stupid engorgement started i managed to pump 350ml in juz bout 5 hrs interval! Must be due to the stupid papaya. *pengz*
As for frozen food. Yes bb can take the frozen kind of puree, but of cos it is like frozen ebm, u have to defrost it and maybe warm it up a littie b4 giving to ur bb

tinklebell,
u using OTO trimax? I am thinking if i shld get one. Cos my tummy skin is a like flabby one!

spicegal,
I guess frozen ones are good becos for working moms where do u find the time to prepare fresh ones everyday. So I am trying to see if can prepare 1 week's supply and freeze it. Will wait for the go ahead from my doc on friday when my ger turns 4 mths b4 i try

okasan,
so envies u. Although msia but its still a trip! I dont have the courage to bring my bb for overseas trip yet
but i am dying to get out of SG! So bored in SG!

spicegal,
I went Vivocity this monday when i was on leave. But most of the shops like 30-40% are not opened it. And yes, as mommies i headed for those kiddy shops. Haha, went Baby GAP, a shop selling Osh Kosh and Levi's kids, Colette etc. Wah...the Baby GAP kinda exp woh....and then some of the eateries not opened yet but there's 2 food courts and u shld expect a huge crowd at the food court lor

MOAP,
my ger was previously taking arnd 900-1000ml arnd 2+ to 3 mths. Then it dropped to 800-900ml recently.

tinklebell,
So good ah, on leave! I can't wait for weekends to come. Gonna have long weekends till tuesday, took leave on monday.

okasan,
I also want to bring my son to Genting but now can't, must wait for the haze to go away!
So boring!

puree homemade baby food:
care to share more recipes on how to prepare? me hv no idea of it? can start to prepare n give after 6mths rite?

plus since i m bfing, everyday i eat home cooked food. me very long time never eat outside food, even my fav chicken rice, not so good. after i stop BF, want to eat a big Buffet like sashimi my fav n etc.

Celeste,
You went to BabyGap already huh? It was not open yet when i went there a week ago. I guess it will be expensive since it's imported fr USA. Is there alot of nice designs?

My brother in law and my neighbour bought for me from USA was so cheap. A nice collar romper costs about USD15.00! I think i will ask him to buy for me again on his next trip.

This is the Babygap romper that my brother bought for my son from USA, include the hat too.
547918.jpg

kite,
wow, you so on, really watch your diet till eating only home cooked food! I don't really go to that extend...everyday, just make sure I eat healthy...I still continue eating laksa and drink coffee :p

on frozen food puree, I also have the same thought abt the nutrients losing after frozen....I don't intend to frozen puree....I'll just make and if baby cannot finish, we adults will finish for him loh..haha...

as for the cube tray, don't buy the expensive one that a lot of mummies bought....just look for those small containers, can use them to store loh...not wroth buying that tray, not value for money, I think

sunflower,

im going to Central japan.. Wanted to go Hokkaido again but scared its too cold for my boy cos the last time when i went, i was too cold n numb to walk.

Bring my boy to genting to test his reaction to the slightly cold weather. If he feels cold there, then we might not bring him to japan.

So sianz.. Tot infants is free but ANA charges $490 for the use of the bassinet. My friend who works for SQ says they let bb use for free.

sigh~

will tell u more again when i come back on Jan 2007

serene,
my trip to malaysia is end nov, so hopefully by then haze no more....

celeste,
why no courage to bring baby for trip?? don't think it's difficult lah..I actually brought my niece who was 1+ mth then to malaysia by coach before loh...we spent a night in the coach leh...

serene:
your boy so cute...

okasan:
yes, just for BFing. my mum cooked daily for me, lunch n dinner. She even wake up early to prepare my lunch box to bring to work. Ya i never eat outside food, oni maybe once or twice on wkends where my mum is resting. Wow i dun dare to eat spicy food like curry n etc, i m very caution abt wat i eat esp chicken rice n sashimi. i miss all these fav food.

wat small containers? which kinds?

okasan,
Yes really hope so by then the haze will go away! I think I will bring my son to Genting end Nov and also to Bintan Island again.

kite,
but why cannot eat spicy food when bf?? I always joke to my hubby that next time, my son sure love spicy food like his mummy coz I eat a lot when bf-ing him....

u give me a few minutes...I go take photo of the small containers I bought to store food...haven't use them yet coz dun intend to give my son any solid food yet...maybe will wait till he's 5 mth old...

kite,
Thanks. He was 3mths old in this pic. He had won the cutest baby contest with this pic also. Prize not attractive, only a $50 Robinson voucher!

serene,
if u intend to go genting in nov, then u have to book now right? coz sch holidays very packed leh....cannot wait till haze gone then book, too late!

serene,
i also thinking of bringing bb to Genting but i dont think she can tahan the long journey cos even sitting inside the car for half an hr, she will start to fuss

Maybe cruise will be a good idea?
anyway, v hard for my hub to take leave so even if we go for hol, will be with my parents.

vivi,
wow! so nice, i was just surfing thru several websites for holidays in japan! thought hokkaido is a nice place to go. i suggested to my parents for thhem to there in dec for hol but they say it's v expensive. is the place v nice as what many pp have described to me? i hope to be able to go there one of these days.
alamak! the more i type the more gian i want to go for holiday liao
aiyo... how much u paid for the trip? hmmmm .... should i start making my bb's passport? haha!

okasan,
i also must have my cuppa at least once a day..else brain like dead, cant function.

kite,
this is the one I bought..only $2 for 4 containers...it's sighlty smaller than our palm loh, abt 6cm diameter....the cover can close tightly which is good coz dun worry the puree will leak loh

547951.jpg

Hi tinklebell,

i went hokkaido in Dec 24 2 years ago also.. Winter time there. Super beautiful.. i like OTARU the most. Super beautiful. Once u been there, u will be dying to go there again.

I even forsake my Europe trips to go Japan again..

Hi Kite,

how cume gotta be careful with eating chicken??? I eat alot during pregnancy and now. Am also TBF.
IS it becos of allergies?

vivi .... alamak.... all these talk abt holidays making me envious. how's the temperature like in dec? u going japan with tour or on your own? i want to go fne but i think i may encounter language barrier.

tinklebell,

the hokkaido & Tokyo 7 days trip cost me $2400.

and the current Central Japan 7 days trip cost me 1900. i will be extending my stay for 2 days. so will be >2000. not too sure abt the price after extending cos hubby paid for it.

tinklebell,
ya, me also wanna go japan....maybe next year, we thinking of going without our baby, leave baby in singapore woth my mum....can have another honeymoon..haha....

vivi, wow, expensive for a 7 day trip. i rem paying 2900 to go to europe for 15 days...but that's more than double the days!

kite,
this is the "ice cube" tray that many mummies here bought to store puree..very ex...more than $15 for this loh...not worth...

but it's good coz each cube has a lid so you only taw a cube at a time without affecting the rest of the cubes on the tray...

547962.jpg

well,

in hokkaido, its coldest tempt is
<-6 deg c and tokyo less than 15 deg c. the tempt in tokyo in dec is abt the same as taipei in dec.

im joining tour.. becos transport in Japan super ex. Imagine, i took the jR train from Disneyland to Tokyo and it cost me abt SGD 18 per trip. to and from will be > $30.

PS: the prices (2400 , 200) that i mentioned are the package price.

tinklebell,
I'll miss my son too if I do that...but I thought it's also a good idea to leave him for a while to "recharge" myself