(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Fi,
Yes! It's Brown Rice Paradise! Thks. Hmm, i'm not sure, once i manually type, it will auto convert to the smiley face...

tinklebell,

Re: brown rice

After the brown rice is grinded to powder foam, do we need to cook it over fire or just mix with hot water or milk to stir well and serve?

Fi,
she bought this small grinder.. no brand one but it is quite good. occassionally u see them selling the grinder outside markets or supermarkets.

I think u can also use those kitchen food blender if it is meant to grind food. Just put inside and grind til powdery.

To cook, we use those small earth pot, add water , few teaspoons of powder (depends how much u want to cook) and cook at low heat, stir until the powder dissolves. The amt of water to add depends on how wet u want the rice to be. after cooking, u can add EBM and stir. My son took brown rice for abt a year and he is v strong and fit so i would really recommend brown rice to new mummies.

Serene, i use the abv method to cook my brown rice but i am not so sure whether the same method can be used if u get ready made ones. i suppose there will be instructions on the pack.

Fi, wow so expensive vs those nestle or heinz brand cereals! but it's organic so probably that explains the price.

To add on to the cooking method, u have to let the brown rice cool down a bit before adding EBM cos if too hot, will destroy nutrients in EBM.

Serene,
i dont think i am going back for the 6 mth post natal visit. nothing special to consult him leh. haha! u want to take slimming pills? last resort i suppose. but i heard fr my hub that it is so popular these days even with ladies who are not v fat. i heard that most ladies can lose 2-4 kg in a mth but i suppose u cannot take that long term. It's still back to diet and exercise once u have lost the wt.

hi mommmies,
lately my bb refused to drk milk only drink 130ml compared to the 150ml every 4hr interval.. now he's 4mth+. not sure if this is normal.. he kept playing with the teat and nibble the teat. any advise why this is so?

re: brown rice
i hv started giving him the brown rice w si shen powder fm Eun Yang Seng since he was 3mth+.. he likes it very much. but i hv stopped for these 2 wks cos he was down w fever & still on antibiotics.

hi tinkle & fi,
i checked w the eu yang seng sales.. they said bb can take that fm 3mths old onwards. What i did was.. boil 2teaspoons of the brown rice with si shen powder with equiv amt of water(same amt tat i use for making milk) and then add in scoops of fomula.

si shen powder is gd for digestive system and improve appetite.

tinklebell,
I will try to maintain the good habit of exercise and watch my diet too but becos i put on too much already so perhaps the pills can speed up the process of losing the weight before it's too late, i may get stucked with these extra kgs! Gosh! Can't imagine! Really scared!

tinklebell,

u don't need to specially go to Brown Rice Paradise to buy it. Selected NTUC also carries it (at least Junction 8) has it @ $6.80.

General question:
Is there a difference between brown rice cereal (which is what HT is selling) and the brown rice powder that u mummies are talking abt? I get the impression that cereal is totally separate from the brown rice powder based on your discussion..

MTDT, vivi and i interested in BJG on Sat 1 - 2 pm slot. They can open a class for us if we can get one more mummy. You interested? Actually, 3 in a class is good leh.. we get very good attention leh... Ha ha... wanna consider? I am only keen on one term, just to start him on socialising.

Re cereal - how do we prepare cereal for bb? i got one box each HT Brown Rice and Oat meal (wheat free) for bb Jake. Will start when he is 6 months. Nowadays, he always playing with his milk... even BFg... just this morning, he bit me... cos he playing again, pull in pull out...so sad...

Re: brown rice flour with shi sheng

I've seen those prepared brown rice flour with shi sheng selling in chinese medical hall. I'm not sure if they're fresh compared to our self do so dare not buy.

Re: organic food

Tinklebell, I think NTUC @ BP has the organic section, can go and see. I went there to see 2 wks ago but didn't buy any cos still waiting to start brayden on solid much later...maybe when he's 5 mths old, anyway he's still drinking milk well now.

hi amy,
sama sama.. my boy also play with the bottle teat now.. pull in & out and bite as well.. probably they are teething soon and gums are 'itchy'.. heehee.. so i hv difficulty feeding him too.

hi serene,
i'm not sure abt those brown rice powder at medical hall but i definitely trust those sold at eu yang seng.. at least they are reputatable.
so i bought fm them & bb has bn taking once a day since he was 3mth+. so far so gd.

Lok,
you'r back fr your holiday!!! enjoyed yourself?
If i am not wrong, cereal already contains milk cos u dont really have to add milk to it ... just add hot water and stir. Some pp h/e do mix it with milk.

Lok/ Serene, thanks for the info... will check them out

Serene,
1 tin of 900gram can make about 30oz x 6 days of milk? 1 oz = 30ml? I am calculating how much milk my ger will drink if she were to be on FM. Haha
My ger demand is bout 900ml a day. So its also arnd 30oz?

serene,
my mil expects to feed bb on cereal very much later... but the package indicate that we can start when bb turns 4th mth
probably starts when she is 4 & half mth.

re: walker,
if i place my ger in her walker doubt her feet can touch the floor.. still find it too early. my mum said bb too early on walker but mil thinks otherwise. haiz...

fi,
my mil problematic lah.... haiz !!!

tinkle,
i guess it will be safer if we place them in the walker later. ultimately they will still know how to walk.. is juz a matter on how early or late nia.

celesteblur,
Yes 1oz about 30ml. To be exact, about 28.xx ml. So your gal drinking almost the same amt as my son.

okipoki,
In the market, not many brands had cereal that is for 4 mths, except only Frisocream and Heinz had it. The rests are all from 6th mth onwards. I think I will try giving my son Heinz cereal when he's 5 mths old.

re: walker
Some walker can adjust 2 heights. Hmm, is yr gal tall? Now u mention about it, i will ask my hub to bring out the walker tonite to let my boy try see if his legs can touch the floor though he's quite tall. My mum thinks my boy has been lying down too much, so abit lazy, till now still can't flip. She think i should let him sit walker so that to train his strength to speed up his process of flipping, crawling etc. To me, is ok if my son crawls or flip abit later than other babies, but my concern is more of entertaining my son...so that he won't be so lazy, always lie down.. haa!

re: walker - i have a walker at home, but din really use it. heard using a walker will impair bb's rate of learning to walk. dunno le...

anyway, bb jake started on his jumperoo - his feet can touch the ground in his jumperoo. and he is starting to have fun jumping... i think he prefers his jumperoo more than his exesaucer.

Hi mummies...

Serene/Okipoki/duffybuff,
my girl also started on the grounded brown rice with si-shen when she is 4 months old...we only feed her once a day..normally in the morning..she simply loves to drink that...

Re : walker...is it good to let bb sit in walker? I read somewhere that its no good for their legs development leh..

Amy & Duffybuff,
My girl is also very easily distracted during feeding time and she will play with the teat and smile at us or look around left and right...so nowadays when we feed her, we try not to talk to her or even look at her...lol

Serene & Tinklebell,
I just started my gym session 2 weeks ago...visit the gym every Tue, Wed & Thu during lunch...did brisk walking and some cycling over 1 hour...hope to quicken my weight loss..

So far the oto trimax has tone my tummy area, but still got a lot more kg to lose..

serene,
is it, i didnt know frisocream starts from 4mth. in the supermarket, only saw heinz leh.

not sure is my ger consider tall, when she is week 14 she is abt 63cm. my ger cant flip too but she loves to be sitted upright. my mil's idea is to strengthen her leg but i think otherwise...

spicegal,
i also heard from somewhere walker is not good for leg development... however, come to think of us most olden days children went thru' walker isnt it & we still can walk properly.. hehe !!

ur ger quite small size hor...

okipoki...ya lor..my gal very small size leh...she still drinks 120mls every 3-4 hourly..haiz...hopefully she will pile on more by taking brown rice...

My gal also cannot flip yet...same as your gal, she likes to be carried in sitting position...

spicegal,
Yes, some of the mummies here had mentioned earlier that walker wasn't gd for baby's legs development but then again, in the older days, only walker is avail. There is no exesaucer or jumperoo then...but many of us are ok.
I only know that my son is very fortunate now, he has got both walker & exersaucer, pass down by my cousins and he has got 3 strollers (2 were pass down)....

You mix the brown rice watery and feed yr gal using bottle? You boil it with small flame also? Did you mix milk in it or just water?

spicegal,
Re: gym
Wow, you were quite 'on' also huh? Good! I'm trying hard to exercise everyday too! Skip yesterday cos haze was bad.
Just hope that the haze will go away soon!

Serene..no choice leh..so fat like anything...really very low morale...moreover thinking of trying for # 2 next year after CNY so have to lose some weight now lor..hehe..luckily found a gym kaki...so can motivate each other...

some latest pic of my girl.

547263.jpg
547264.jpg

Serene,

I put 1 teaspoon of grounded brown rice into same amount of water for milk and boil over flame for about 3-5 mins...must boil thoroughly cos the brown rice is raw one...then after that pour into milk bottle and add water if water has evaporated and milk powder...i normally give 1 less scoop of milk powder cos already substituted with brown rice powder...then cool the mixture till warm before feeding...

i havent go into "yan jiu" of feeding my ger with brown rice... thot for a good start shld try with cereal isnt it ? keke...

spicegal,
my ger milk intake has lower liao.... probably she is tired of milk..hehe !!

spicegal, my oto trimax is collecting dust at home and everyday my hub will nag at me to use it cos he paid for it. But no time to use leh
if only i had bought it earlier. Jerica is so cute! she doesnt look small though.

serene/ spice, wow! both of u r so on! still got time to go to the gym and to exercise... so envy!

okipoki..ever check with the doctor...she say so long as my gal is happy, drinking milk regularly and not ill, then its ok even though she is small for her age...

Tinklebell, initially I also find no time leh..but now I set a standard time to use the trimax, after my gal sleeps at 9/10pm, I will start using it from 10pm to 11pm, 20 mins on tummy, 20 mins on left bum and 20 mins on right bum...have to be disciplined lor...can use it while watching TV or ironing so can save some time...hehe

spicegal,
Your gal is very cute!

I also feel very low morale! No nice clothes to wear, everyday been wearing the few pc of clothes only! No longer can dress up pretty like last time! sigh! Very sad!

I have same thought as you, if i want to try no.2 in the next 1-2 yrs, i need to lose some weight, if not, i cannot imagine my size by then!

okipoki,
Same thought as you, if i start my boy with solid later, i will start with cereal 1st b4 giving him brown rice and porridge since i've already bought the heinz cereal and perhaps the bottled food too.

Serene..ya me too...only left a few pieces of working and casual clothes to wear...go shopping also cannot get nice clothes cos so fat...

Then some of my colleagues are starting to tease me over my weight liao...really very sad lor...so now very determined to lose weight hopefully by Christmas...

tinklebell,
I'm not at all disciplined but i'm trying hard, best to be disciplined. I tell myself that i want to do sit ups, legs liftings and skipping everyday but i didn't also. sigh!

spicegal,
Exactly! Same thoughts as you, hoping to lose some wt by xmas and can wear some nice clothes to take pics with hubby n son! sob sob! People around me also commented that i never lose weight sigh!

Okasan:
Wow seems like u cant wait to finish BFING? me too! i m feeling so tired everyday, lack of sleep! i cant wait til dec too, stil hv 1 and 1/2 mth to go til 6mths. Me everyday very sianz n tired leh. Since i went back to work, my life like totally change, hv to pump n lack of slp

Then after i stop i wish to bring bb to go for a holiday! cant wait. plus celebrate my bday too hehe