(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

oh dear poohy, so sad to hear that.. poor gal.. u take care n help me give joelle a big kiss.

Wow, i m impressed!! a gymset at home?? How to do it? can share? Poohy, can also share with me what's the size of the chinese flashcards shd be? where did u get the cards? I am interested to do the chinese cards. Tks

re the bjg class, so nice to c all of u.. finally can attach the face to the names..

i find it quite suprising that my bb really looks at the card n he can actually crawl already.. i noe last wk he shows signs of wanting to crawl.. but that stupid boy crawl backwards instead of fwd haha..

poohy,
I suppose Joelle recovered fr her UTI.
Now she twisted her neck? aiyo so poor thing

Hiaz.... children this age r v fragile... one of my friend's maid twisted her bb's arm recently too. My heart really sink when i hear such news

poohy,

oh dear.. hope Joelle will be ok after taking the medicine.

wow... gymset? hee can show.. I'm in process of doing up my baby's room now.

re: joelle's neck

I am very concerned about her neck cos the onset is very sudden. Normally torticolis/wry-neck should be there since birth... and normally that can be corrected by therapy which happened to my son... its a painful process for us parents cos gotta stretch their neck apart by force everyday and endure the crying.

But joelle's neck seems to have a very sudden onset... I am concerned abt it because fear it may indicate more serious problem... hope today we will get to clarify it with PD.

re: gymset

I had been discussing with carpenter on the brachiation ladder for a while liao... then it occurs to me i can build in a slide with different height and a swing into the brachiation ladder... so i am still trying to draw it out for the carpenter... estimate it will cost abt $3k i tihnk... hope it wont cost more than that...

had been procrastinating this because of the space it will take... but think it will be nice for the children to play with...

Good morning gals!

Hi kk,
Your gal really cute leh. Her chubby cheeks so cute, feel like kissing her!

poohy,
I'm sorry to hear that yr gal has twisted her neck, but how did that happen? Is it becos that you didn't support her neck properly when u put her on exersaucer, stroller etc? Poor gal, i hope it's nothing serious, hope she get well soon. That time, my son born with his right foot slight twisted, the angle pointing side way...he was bandaged for a mth after we went to see orthopadic, luckily after the 1mth bandaged, his foot is back to the right angle, if not, he needs to do physio too. Don't be too worry, i've heard from the orthopadic that babies at their young age are very flexible, even if there's twist etc, could correct back easily. After the physio, she should recover very quickly! God bless joelle.

tinklebell,
I brought my son for 2nd dose DPT jab last sat. His weight is 8.2kg at 4th mth old. He weighs 7.3kg during 3th mth. The nurse says that his weight falls under the 90 percentile, a big baby, also advised better to give solid when he's 6th mth old, anyway he's well fed now.

re: maths flashcards

hunnypoo, i dun really follow strictly to glenn doman's book on maths because as a working mum, its difficult to follow that tight schedule
What I do for Joelle in maths is, I flashed 10 maths dots cards a day. Starting with 1-10 etc. I flash the cards 1-3 times (depending on how free and how happy she is) each day. When its the 15th time she see the card, I retire the entire set and flash 11-20 and so forth. Once she is done with 1-20 dots, I start equations with her. So each day, u will still have the 10 dots cards for quantity recognition. Follow by Addition (then subtraction, multiplication and division). I show 9 addition equation to her daily. Sometimes more if i have time. Once I complete 14 days of 9 addition equation, I move to subtraction. Joelle has just started subtraction few days ago. The same follow for the multiplication and division. But each time, u have more cards to use after introducing bigger quantity as the days goes by with the quantity recognition dots cards flashing. Once she finish division, I will move to 2 part equation and so forth. I do not intend to incorporate problem solving yet ...the first 1 year will concentrate on inputs mainly.

This is the GD style of maths flashing. If u like to follow vvvv strictly to GD style of cards retirement, then u need to read the book its more precise in explanation.

Shichida has a 65 days maths program. That is even better for us working mummies.... but so far I dun do that yet. I plan to complete one cycle with joelle with GD and see how..before seeing if i should do the 65days maths program. Basically instant calculation is a premise of the right brain. Thus the 65 days maths program flash every single cards once only each cycle ... aiming to train and invoke the instant calculation ability of the right brain and not to really teach maths per se.

depends on wat u like to achieve with your child..
Right now I am more into teaching the maths concept.... but maybe i should try the shichida one on joelle hehee... but if i have time ... cos too busy liao... following GD hor... for 2 children somemore.. vv busy leh... imagine each day i need to sort out 18 equations.. (9 for joelle, 9 for samuel) ... just sort the cards also take out so much time.

peng,

u can either buy the chinese flashcards or write/print yourself. I bought my main set of chinese flashcards 2nd hand... they are from gdbaby. Anyway, if u wanna print or write yourself... the size of the words should be big... but really it depends on the eye sight of your chid. 3-4inch height for chinese character is a good size lah i think. The bigger of course is better than small. The instructor at BJG yesterday uses at least 4 inch i think... but well u gotta consider the distance and number of babies she need to flash to.... for us at home, considering the distance between us and our bb, i think 3-3.5" would be good. The words will get smaller and smaller as times goes by with their eyesight getting better

I do san zi jing by printing myself... i think someone sold the san zi jing she print herself previously in the market place but i din buy cos v easy to print myself plus.... its insufficient and i dun like the font used. To me, the font used in the chinese character is also very important... remember babies look at the words as a single image and dun dissect the strokes. Plus anyway we will need the couplets card so might as well print ourselves.

serene,
wow Brayden is big! U taking 6-in-1 or 5 in 1? his wt never decrease right? i hope my girl will gain wt again.
my girl had very massive poo poo last 2 days!!! must be accumulated over the past 1 week!!! so wet and smelly!
aiyo.... how did yr bb twist his ankle after birth? sim-tia!

Stephanie,
heard from other mummies before that frozen ebm taste fishy that's why from the start, I din have any frozen ebm coz heard some babies will reject frozen ebm coz of the smell....

tinklebell,

my mum told me it's normally that some babies lose wieght...that's why it's impt that they gain wieght during the 1st 3 mths coz once they start injection, some babies will lose appettie, etc...

my son when he went for the 1st 5-in-1 jab, he lose appettite for 2 days, then back to normally...then when he went for the 2nd jab of the 5-in-1, he has fever for a night and back to normal...but so far, he never lose weight....but his wieght gain is decreasing each mth...

poohy,
oh ya, talking abt the font, remeber I asked u before the chinese font u used for the cards and u say will check and get back to me?

me really lazy...till now still haven't start flashcards...too lazy to sit in front of the pc to print....

okasan,

ya i also feel v tired these days to do much printing cos my son wont wanna sleep till quite late so by the time he sleeps, i also feel v tired already. But once u get started on the printing.. u will have the momentum.

poohy,
ya, i guess so too...once started, will have the momentum....partly also coz I haven't setup my new printer so procastinate so long....

re: BJG

mummies, just checked with Annie - she can start a Sat class for us - 1 to 2 pm. As long as there are 3 mummies interested, we can have our own class. But we cannot get April, as April's slot is full for this term. Anyone interested? I am interested in the Sat 1 - 2 pm class. Need 2 more mummies. 10 lessons for $350, and we can have 10% discount off if we have 3 mummies.

poohy, sorry to hear of joelle's neck. no wonder yesterday you seemed pre occupied. is she ok? how did you know her neck is twisted? how can you tell?

re gymset - the ladder looks fun. how long do you think bb can use the ladder for?
maybe can DIY?

tinklebell, okasan, kk,
I took the 5-in-1 jab. Hmm, my son is not very chubby leh but i think maybe becos he has got big frame and his bones heavy like me and my hubby!

tinklebell, the orthopadic says is due to the sitting position when he's inside my tummy. Maybe he sits with the ankle bended for too long, that's why his right ankle slight twisted and pointing slant upwards...Yes, it's very xin tong when i see him with bandaged since in the hospital and he was with it when i brought him back home...luckily it was back to normal after the 1mth bangdaged.

amy,
Your son looks very steady, fit and healthy! That's good! U mean he has already began to crawl? So fast?

amy,

nice track u have there? can share what material u used to do it? u din buy from lawrence rite? that one too exp liao hehee... I am still thinking of building a track for joelle... if i ever have time ...

for the ladder, can use till they adult also can... DIY can!! but hard leh cos there is alot of sturdy wood required.

the tilt in her neck is vvv obvious
I am bringing her to dr terence tan for review tonite...

btw, bb jake is so handsome and so cute!

serene, hee hee... bb jake cannot really crawl, that's why we built him a crawling track. i just placed him on it just now, and he crawled a bit. will practise again later this evening. if i can let him practise at least twice a day, morning and evening, i believe he can crawl really soon.

poohy - hope joelle will get well soon. poor baby... will keep her in prayers.

re crawling track: we made the track ourselves. lyn gave us some tips. the base is a black yoga mat, same on the side. wood we got from ikea. tape with white duck tape.
hubby made this in 3 hours.

amy,

ohh its the same ikea concept ok ok... 3 hours can huh... my hb and me are really not hands on woodcraft people that's why before joelle was borned we bought the wood from ikea then return back hehee... maybe can do it again.. feel so sorry for her that she suffer so much these 2 months... maybe do for her as a gift
Where u get the yoga mat ? *me totally clueless abt yoga and its stuff...

poohy, have you started joelle on EK in addition to Eng, Chi, and Maths? Or are you just doing Maths? jake is now on Maths, next week we plan to intro Eng, then a week later Chi, I think. How would you space out the intro of Eng, Chi, and EK?

hi Mummies,

nice to see you all yesterday.

Poohy,

didnt know your gal had actually twisted... Was thinking that she enjoyed looking at her side. Hope all is well after consulting the pd for a peace of mind..

Amy,
im still thinking... Let you know again...

Re: Crawling track

Hmmm was still thinking of getting directly from lawrence. Cos like very diff to do...

Think wanna try n DIY 1st. If cant then maybe will consider buying.

amy,

ya joelle had been on EK in addition to eng, chi, maths. Maths she is on subtraction now. Chinese I splitted into normal chinese words and chinese classic.

I intro an additional program each week
Last time Samuel i spaced the introduction over a month but joelle is much more receptive and respond much better so I intro faster. For Samuel, I did not start EK till he was nearly 9 months old... no wonder he so bored.. for 9 month its all about words english and chinese hehee.. he lit up always when he sees the maths dots.

I started the EK early for Joelle because I wanna incorporate it as a form of image training. Normally the images are factual and in groups of 10. But a few times a week when I am not as rush in the morning, I will go through 200-300 fast images with her just to do image training. I do photographic memory too but not as often... cos really too much to do liao hehee... I am happy enough being able to do the flashcards and some physical training each day...

poohy, the yoga mat i got from plaza sing - a shop that sells exercise equipment. i went to spotlight initially, but cannot find what we want.

re: SM - poohy, when do you think is a good time to start? plan to start bb jake after his BJG term.

vivi: keep me posted k? really wanna send bb jake for class, plan to finish him on some social interaction class before formal teaching.

re: crawling track - how much is law selling huh? we made this for less than $100.

amy,

last i asked, gdbaby sells crawling track from japan at $600 or is it $400... cant remember. Better diy cos crawling track cannot use too long... more worthwhile to buy brachiation ladder cos really can use for long time.

SM... hmm well if u ask them, its always start asap. Go as soon as possible if u just wanna learn what they do so that u can do at home. If not, delay till 18mths and over. This is because home practice is v important so u can achieve wat they do v easily at home. Going earlier than that prob means u r the one doing the activities (especially for 9 mths below)... after 9 mths, then they will be too busy exploring here and there instead of sitting there nicely doing activities haha

Poohy, wow.. in that case, maybe i will check out SM. hubby's colleague sent his dd to SM at 4 months, now she is 2 yrs old, can read pri 1 story books.

Hello gals...
I have been rather busy lately... Getting a bit stressed up... :p

Nice seeing some of you yesterday during the BJG trial class.

Poohy,
No wonder you had a worried look on your face yesterday... Hope Joelle will get well soon. May God Bless her...
I wonder if baby can see the written flashcards at the BJG class. Do you think they can see?? Me and my hubby have decided that the class is not for us. I can do the flashcards at home and it's more effective. Have you been to Gymboree?? I think we might want to sign up for classes that have the facilities of a gym for babies... We need the hardware to complement..

I am finishing 100 dots with Aloysius soon. I am considering doing the 65 days program from Shichida
Haven't studied the program yet. But I have a feeling that I might need to buy smaller cards.

michelle,
When you wanna meet up?? High tea?? Shopping?? Wanna wait till Missk is back??

Amy,
Wow.. You made the track in 3 hours! I took 3 weeks... *blush* *blush* Majority of time is shopping for materials and ideas...
If you found out how to DIY the bars, share share with me ok? I also wanna make, but no time to explore now...

amy,

reading pri 1 book at 2 years old is achievable using GD method. SM is more about right brain training... if the aim is for reading then should concentrate more on GD method. right brain training associate with things like instant calculation, imaging, speed reading, photographic memory

Going to SM, u will find that they do alot of flashcards too.. so on the flashcard side ... if u do GD well, should be quite safe. Big difference is that in GD, they are particular abt the picture shown in EK being factual and there should be nothing in the background etc. And they dun encourage doing too much cards per session. But SM is quite different... recommended flashing as much as possible as long your child likes... and the picture can be cartoon image, clipart or anything under the sun

SM in singapore is abit too overpriced... and hyped up... plus quite a fair bit of secrecy since they do not have trial class and etc. But when I go for the class, frankly I din find much very major stuff that we cannot do ourselves.

amy,
You mean bb jake can go on his knees by himself or you had helped him? My son still can't flip by his own yet leh....

lyn,

no no... with the 65 days maths program, the GD maths set is sufficient
What makes u wanna do the 65 days and not follow thru GD?
Its attractive to do the 65days hor? But many experienced mum SG mum I know do GD method leh... so I would go for GD method first...
the 2 methods are v different but the SM method seems more inline with babies having photographic memory and capturing their attention by flashing once per cycle only. The most amazing thing is their equation is exactly the same for every single cycle...

u shared the exact thoughts as me leh... I also feel the things done in BJG is better off and more effectively done at home. That's why I sign my son up only because he likes Teacher April and their gym... hehee... any other teacher i wont consider. And I also think a gym class is much better!
In fact I value physical training above academic. I had not been to gymboree cos last time heard not so good review abt them but had been thinking of trying again.... but still considering cos i always told my hb... the money i spent on going to these gym class is better utilised by just buying the gymset ourselves and then they can train on it at home anytime they like... I always think that mummies are our babies' first and best coach.

btw mummies, if interested in both shichida and glenn doman methods, another one to try is www.mylittleintellects.com (hope i get the spelling rite)... I learnt a lot from the mummy who started this. But no trial class lah...

poohy, just rang SM. aiyo.. next class is Jan 07. i missed the preview 3 wks ago. the class just started 2 weeks ago. in jan 07, bb jake will be near 8 months... bit late. how ah? maybe just do GD for the time being, and try to do it well...

Lyn... i want to go for gymboree as well. why not we organise another trial session? the one at forum?

re: ladder - my hubby not keen on doing the ladder. maybe i can convince him. hee hee...

serene - hee hee.. no la... i gotta place bb jake on the crawling track. but he seemed to like it leh..

mummies, if we are interested in social interaction, why not we do a BJG like session ourselves? we can get mummies to volunteer to flash cards and sing songs?

vivi,
I think at this stage, not worth getting from Lawrence already, unless you wanna get it immediately. Cos baby gonna crawl very soon
I think a smooth surface, plus the technique of pushing baby's legs is enough...
hee.. maybe some other mothers have different view from me... I haven't been successful in getting Aloysius to crawl on the crawling track I made. He prefers my bed...

poohy,
Aloysius also likes maths dots a lot. hahaha.. it's me who cannot catch up with his pace... :p hee.. sometimes I feel like crying.. cos I got too much things to do, and books to read, and not enough time.

amy,
There will be a wait list with SM. I think it's more for getting enough babies of the same age group to start a group.
Lawrence's crawling track is $400+. Now they just started to sell "new-born kit" at $200+.

amy,

that's a great idea to do it among ourselves leh
more cost effective. btw, no lah 8 months is really not too late. In fact, what u see in BJG yesterday is about vvv close to wat's done in SM... just that SM got more small activities and have the ESP and speed reading (which by the way BJG also do speed reading...)

lyn,

if aloysius enjoys maths, u can flash him more equations
Should occcupy him for LONG LONG time...

actually the SM always seems like they got long wait list but is actually not lah. Last term my boy class only got 2 other boys with him... bored us to death... cos everytime the other 2 boys always late... first 15 min always me and my boy and teacher singing hehee
amy,

sawako cards is a cartoon with the main character called sawako. The conversation in the cartoon is translated into english, chinese, french, spanish etc. And then when u flash the cards, the Cd will play the conversation..
that's all.. mainly for training foreign language. Samuel dun like it
hehee

poohy, if you are keen, why don't we give our own home school get together a try? maybe each mummy come up with some activities with the resources they have?

lyn,

ya. i think so too.... was thinking wanna waste $ anot.... My hubby sure say no point getting 1 cos they will ultimate crawl.. I think, just use the method that annie taught.

Amy,
Yes... If the aim is for baby to read, following GD is sufficient.
I chose GD method with aim of reading too. I have the thinking that if Aloysius can read by 2 years old, he can read all the other books, and I can rest alread.. lol.. I think I will be gearing towards knowledge in science, mathematics, and general knowledge.
I have been shopping for books
After reading a book by Shichida this morning, I think I will continue to go to the library already... I dun think I can afford so many books...

poohy,
SM in Singapore hire all single teachers... lol... I saw their advertisement in Recruit two weeks ago... I think married and mothers with kids have more "ai xing" than single women... hahaha.. cos I been through these stages... :p
I wanna gear towards right brain training. Hence the 65 days SM program. And also after I finish the dots cards with GD program, I dunno what else to do already, apart from numerals...

ok gotta go.. Aloysius flipped and wanna be carried..

lyn,

same thinking as u... but to me, the ability to read is secondary, the love to read and the love for knowledge is the most important. Can read but no desire to read then jialat... Desire to read but cant read yet .. its a matter of time
That's why in things we do, we must never test, force and judge.. lest we quenched what is the most important of all.. the love to pursue knowledge and learning...

In all my effort, I would consider myself a success if my children have the love to read/pursue knowledge and learn new things... nevermind if they cant read very well yet but more important is love to learn...

amy,

your crawling track looks very good. wow 3 hrs to complete. hmm... maybe i should do it and add on to his room. sigh... don't seem to have enough time for the 101 things we want to do..
I've not even chosen the colour for his room wall yet!!!
does the base mat have to be very thick? how long is your crawling track?

ya.. good idea to meet for our babies to interact with each other. will need a big space to do this.

hi mummies ! thanks to someone (sorry, cant remember who) but i can access msn at work thru ebuddy !
pls add me: missseow @ hotmail.com if you are also free to chat !!

sunflower, the base mat is quite thick, like a good yoga mat, not the cheap thin ones. my mat cost $30.
how long is the track? not sure leh... hmm... maybe 1 m or more? but i do agree it takes up a lot of space. i left the track in my living room. bb jake's room no place lo.

re bbs interaction. maybe we can rent a function area? the last time, lyn suggested her condo and pot luck? hee hee... lyn, maybe we can also bring bb swimming?

poohy,
Yes yes.. the love to explore is very important. I forgot where I read from... :p either Shichida books or GD books... I assume when Aloysius knows how to read on his own, he will love reading, as long as his reading material keep changing... kekeke...
I think tomorrow I gotta change more cards for my GD program already.. Aloysius looked away today...

Amy, poohy,
Yes, can... can organise our own sessions for baby
I can book the function room at my place... Can go for swimming too
I dun mind doing flashcards since I already have them
But I cannot sing many nursery rhymes...

Oh yes, Amy.. I will join in the trial class for gymboree at Forum
Let me know

Have you heard of Julia Gabriel? I wonder if it's good. I dunno what do they do there though. I saw it yesterday when I was shopping at Forum...

amy

oh once they starts to crawl, then they won't use it anymore and got storage problem, huh? can convert to slide?? yours looks fun to slide down.
heehee can i just buy the mat & let him crawl on it! haha lazy mummy...