(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kite,
I read that as a start, semi solid is just for baby to try, not to replace the milk as meals... I might be starting with oatmeal with breastmilk..

Angeline, cheer up. Jake also had eczema on his face, ears, and feet. His neck and armpits are also very dry - some reddish rashes.

Last Fri, when he had his 5-in-1 jab, PD gave him steriod. I applied lightly for 3 days, and it's all gone. His complexion is very good now. Just some rashes on neck now, which I applied QV moisturiser for him twice daily, after bath.

This morning, I saw lots of dried blood stains on jake's left ear. Nearly got a shock.
He has been scratching his ears these few days. I din apply anything there, hope it'll go away soon.

poohy,

so sad hor..whenever i c other bb w/o rashes,i feel so envy n happy..dun koe where gone wrong..my mom ask if i got eat prawns during preggie..i said yes.she say not suppose to eat leh

lyn,

yup..pd say his rashes quite bad as got liquid coming out..got to treat else will dehydrate...something like tt..my gal oso dun like drink water..i spoon feed her the water everytime..

celeste_blur

my mil oso wan me to give honey..she even bought me honey.but hor,mon i got ask PD leh,he say better dun give coz not easy to digest for bb.

kite,

got intention to go skin centre..if still doesnt get well,will ask pd to refer..yah,i on TBF.PD oso told me to stop drink milk n see.he say drink soya..anyway,he oso say to avoid seafood,chocolate,peanutsmilk,etc

hmm,its not bodywash..its a kind of solution to wash her wounds,then follow by the cream.i oso got check on solid.in fact,i v KS.already buy a few at home liao loh.but hor PD say cannot start any solid coz skin sensitive.he say to give BM as its least reactive

angeline - dun be sad..
monitor further.. think try Gaia or CB. heard many good comments on them.
i also heard if skin senitive or family members hv history of allergy, better dun start semi solid at 4th mth. wait till 6th mth. at the mean time, watch wat u eat as u TBF.

honey in water - PD says will cause them to hv sweet tooth in future. also not good might cause weak teeth leh. so better check before giving. i also just started giving my boy water. everyday only 20-40ml. :p

gripewater - anyone giving? how often? how much? dilute with water or not? thinking of giving my boy this too. :p

semi solid - anyone bought? heard EYS brown rice powder quite a good choice to start? also healthy times or something rite? any recommendations?

honey :

read in books not to give honey during 1st year. cos may cause dunno wat in some babies. heehee
this mummy bad memory, only remember cannot give honey but cannot remember why.

but older generation will say can give. Last time my CL ask me to give some!

angeline,

agree with sunflower, pls dun give honey to baby before 1 year old! I learnt from other mummies they read from books that it can be fatal if they cant digest properly or allergic response or something.. whatever it is, honey is the thing i wont give my children till later ....

Good Morning!!
brought Fiona for her rotarix 2nd dose last night... hiaz... she lost wt leh... now only 7.5kg... used to weigh 7.6kg when i brought her for her HEXA 3 weeks ago when she was 3 mths
**sob sob**

re: steriod cream
i wont recommend using that long term cos it will thin the skin....even for adults.
if using ... only can apply a very thin layer.

Angeline,
correct lor... if u r bf'g, must avoid milk and all products that can cause allergy. my newphews had v bad allergy and eczema too.. cannot eat soya, cows milk, goat's milk... even the milk had to be specially imported from Mead Johnson fr Netherlands.... only 2 Asians order that milk and they r one of them... and only when they were 5 or 6 did the allergy go off... but they still cont to drink that milk.

previously, they used to see a PD fr NUH quite good in pediatric skin condition... cant rem his name now.... but they couldnt follow up with regular treatment cos they were living in europe. but when they were in spore receiving treatment, the condition did get better.

my girl also lose wt leh.

Angeline,
I think must avoid seafood, milk and peanuts for yourself... I read about peanuts is no good for preggie cos it grows underground and has a mould layer. Seafood cos it's "toxic".
I also read not to give honey to babies.

amy,
Is there any reason why Jake scratch his ears? Maybe monitor today and see if he scratch again.

wah... looks like steroid cream very commonly prescribed by PD... Steroid is no good for liver too... When liver is no good, a lot of health problems will come...

tinklebell,
0.1kg only leh... Not a lot mah... It could be error in the weighing machine
Plus measuring weight at different times of the day will be different.

Oh yes, about water...
My MIL suggested Ribena... I dun think I will add anything to the water. Cos I dun want Aloysius to have a sweet tooth, and I believe taste is acquired from young... will not be easy to change the taste buds later on in life...
Cham ah... My PIL waiting to feed my boy with ice-cream

lyn... 3 weeks she never grow leh

so young can drink ribena meh?
hiaz... my father also waiting to feed my girl with ice-cream... last time he fed my boy with ice cream when he was 4 mths!!! aiyo!!!

tinklebell,
My MIL say add Ribena to the water
You know la, older generation people, everything also can one... Think I better dun feed my boy with water in the presence of my MIL...
My PIL is used to drinking sweet packet drinks. I scared they feed my boy with that next time. Those drinks got too much sugar plus preservatives and colorings...
Actually I am quite scared to start semi solid, cos that will mean lots of junk food coming from the doting grandparents...
I am very particular about the food for my boy, cos food will affect his brain's development...

Amy,
my son likes to rub his ears when he's frustrated. It bleed a couple of times coz he rub till it crack. PD asked me to use the steriod cream.

Told my mum abt the side effects of using steriod cream, but she still insists on using it coz its heal faster. Sigh...

re:solids
I have started Brian on heinz rice cereal.. Had a hard time finding it though, cos it is always out of stock.. Finally saw it Whitesands NTUC and I quickly grabbed 5 packs... He is taking one tablespoon each time. Use a little warmed BM to mix. After he has finish the cereal, feed him the rest of the bm.. He seems to be taking it well, except that he poos a lot more frequently now.. at least once a day and the poo stinks!

i think the steriod creams PD give is usually v mild.
Do bear in mind not.. DO NOT use it on infected wounds cos the wound will get worse.

lyn,
oic....okies...
I still tot babies by default first 6 mths normally wont fall sick one.

kite,
I don't think its organic cereal. But the one that i bought "First Rice Cereal" for baby's 4 mths and above does not contain sugar and dont contain milk also. So I dont tink it contains FM cos it states u need to add in ur own milk to blend it

Angeline_Goh,
Then maybe u check with ur PD? Wat my mom suggested was like put 1 teaspoon of honey into the water (maybe like 40-50ml) and let the baby drink
But I havent tried it yet cos my bb still willing to take like 30-40ml of water a day. And I am giving her EBM now and it contains more water also. When I start giving her semi-solids then i will try the honey method

re: eczema
aiyo...seems like got a lot of children got skin problem hor
is it bec cannot take bird nest during pregnancy?
my hub ban me fr taking bird nest ... always warn me not to take....but once in a while i still secretly took. (hope he doesnt read this)

If really bad, i suggest u bring yr kids to see a pediatric dermatologist instead of normal PD.

tinklebell,

I think the weight lost could be due to the jab. Rem i have mentioned earlier that after jab, my baby seems to shrink....I haven't weigh him yet since a mth ago when he's 3 mths old but visually i can see the shrinkage in him leh...not so bah bah like b4 leh! My mum told me after jabs, baby will lose some weight. I'm bringing him for another jab again this coming sat and will be able to know his current weight then.

tinklebell,

u know of any pedaetric dermatologist which is good? Joelle constantly has skin problem too... poor girl.. her body is always covered with rashes and very dry
I dun take bird nest AT ALL throughout my 2 pregnancy... in fact i only took bird nest once last week cos my auntie brew for us and insist we take only... so cant be because of bird nest lah. BTW, why your hb said cannot take bird nest huh??

Angelina,

My boy is 4.5mths old, he also suffers fr Rashes since 2nd mth(previously thought was eczema, coz it was v serious type, liquid also came out aft scratching, saw a few of PD, also no help, the cream tht given only able to relief his condition (itchiness)...

Actually told from a very experience PD, it was due to mother's hormone which is still in baby's body, rashes only will be dissappear when hormone gone...and it takes abt 6-8 mths..

Lucky my boy's situation become better now, last time his face fulled wf rashes, now only can see around the mouth area..much much better..

Poohy,
My hub has allergic skin so since bird nest can cause allergy and asthma in kids, he warned me not to take just in case the same condition is passed on to my bb.
Can see Prof Hugo (NUH).... very popular pedaetric dermatologist...sil says he "saved" her kids

lyn:
any difference between oatmeal n cereal? Cos there are some babies actually start either 4 or 6 mths, quite confusing.

Angeline:
I also suspect during pregnancy, i eat Jap Soft shell crab as its my fav. I didnt take bird nest at all cos my mum disallowed me to drink as might cause phelgm/asthma. So bird nest is NOT e cause of eczema. I think more towards prawns, crabs which r quite toxic.

For me, i avoid total dairy n ingredients which contains milk solid. Do read e ingredients carefully b4 u buy. Also i avoid soya milk too, it can cause allergy as well. U might want to try avoid milk, soy, peanuts for e timebeing n see whether is there improvement. so far how is ur diet like? me everyday stil eating e same as confinement (fish) cos my mum cooks for me daily, really thanks to my mum.

celeste blur,
Ya... by default first 6 months wont fall sick.. kekeke... now 4 months already leh... Gotta start to train to drink water already... cos after 6 months, they will start to build their own immunity.

tinklebell,
I also did not take bird nests during pregnancy too
And I avoid seafood as well..

poohy,
Do you wanna try a showerhead that removes chlorine from the water to bath Joelle? Chlorine can cause dry skin. And the added Vit C in the water can make skin smooth too. I bath Aloysius with water from the showerhead everyday, especially after swimming too... It's about $200... If you wanna find out more, can email to [email protected]...

I am thinking of getting an exersaucer for Aloysius since he likes to sit up now. Do you know anyone selling theirs second hand?

tinklebell,
when will eczema occur? But I did hear b4 take too much birdsnest during pregnany bb might get eczema. So that time i only dare to take birds nest a few times only.

Angeline
My nephews saw Prof Hugo fr NUH.

Mspiggy/ celeste,
I donno... the bird nest thing has got controversial views... not sure who is right or wrong.

tinklebell,
yuppies...cos some ppl say the birdsnest depending on whether its "clean" anot. If u get those that are not so gd and not "clean" enuff can cause allergy. But if u eat "clean" ones shld be fine.

I thought bird nests can give babies very good complexion? Nowadays got fake and real ones... very scary.. Later pay a lot, still get fake one, eat already no good, also jialat...

MTDT,

r u the 1 who post alist of the Family room/bb changing rm location in another thread? if yes,can i have them oso?anyway,for the cereal hor,i got both EYS n HT..hehee

honey--yup.PD oso say cannot give till 1yr old.i oso read tt cannot give n tell my mil but hor,she insist i give say her fren granddaughter oso got nothing aft having honey.haiz..so i purposely ask the PD in front of her.

oso hor,when she my ger rashes like tt,she keep asking me to stop BF n give FM saying it is my bm problem so i oso ask pd on this n he say bm is the best for now..haha...so bad of me hor..

tinklebell,

pray hard tt shes not 1 of them tt needs special milk..else hor v shiong on my pocket.esp when i sahm now.u got let her take rotarix? i still tinking leh..by mon got to decide liao coz most prob her 4mth jab then..

yaloh 0.1kg only leh..tt day when i brought my ger to a GP hor,they weigh her its 6.7kg leh..but when go to her PD,its 6.23kg??

lyn,

ice cream?i jus had 1 jus now..hehe..anyway,ur pil give ice cream,u koe wat mine give? they gave her drink 'teh' a few spoon..end up,she burp out some of it..haha

yve,

how u make the cereal for the heinz har? jus 1 tblspoon? n add some warm BM? dun need to cook? coz the EYS need to cook abit leh..

birdnest--my mil make birdnest every 2 weeks during my pregnancy leh..dun tink its due to this bah.coz many ppl take oso..

anyway,tink her rashes got better..at least now not having yellow liquid come out..dried up n turn brownish liao..jus hope tt when she recover wont have any scar..n her milk intake seems better now.drank 160ml this morning out of a sudden..hope her stomach can take it..coz slowly increasing back.maybe will give her 120ml 2nite n c if she can finish as well..

Hi Angeline,
I'm a July mummy and read abt yr post. My elder girl got sensitive and eczema, sometimes hives.My young bb also have sensitive skin too. My PD also advised me to bf exclusively. For me, I watch what i eat as my bb reacts v quickly to the food that i eat. She will get rashes with pus inside all over until it is cleared from her system. Those that she is allergiv is those already mentioned.I would add on eggs too. For my girl, fresh milk that i drink will cause a really bad reaction. Others like peanut butter, nuts,soya too. no choice i watch what i eat as my older girl already got sensitive skin, nose, asthma, ezcema. Oh yes, for my girl, once we gave her birds nest and she broke out completely in rashes the next few hrs. So, it really depends from child to child.(my girl 4 yrs old)
Actually, Gaia or the CD cream is good to treat the redness and rashess.I use them on my bb now when she has problems. It helps a lot.

Abt the gaia soothing lotion: my friend's bb had a big woudn becoz she scratched at it all the time. it was bleeding with pus. The soothing lotion worked wonders, maybe becoz its consistency quite thick so protect the skin from other bacteria.also, the scarring is v little. now gaia sold at guardian pharm.

Do see this thread:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353640/512426.html?1158992390

kin,

i koe got 2 type of lotion..

1 is more thick n 1 more watery..my aunt whos a pharmasist in australia oso recommend the brand..anyway,i already order the California bb cream n try..
jus hope it will arrv soon..

Poohy,
re: skin problem
my sil mentioned that Prof Hugo introduced to them to use bacidin anticeptic and it helped the kids conditions to improve tremendously.
they went to skin specialist, PDs and many docs here and in amsterdam where they stayed and tried all kinds of cream mentioned but no help. only this bacidin helped treat their skin condition.
so far, i have not seen anyone as jia lat as them .. to be allergic to soy, cow's milk and goat milk.

re: eczema

bb jake's eczema has improved. only some red rashes on his pits and neck. i applied the steriod twice today. think better stop. can apply CB cream? or should i just apply QV moisturiser? Hmmm...

hmm.. really so many bb got rashes.. i thot mine got only.. dun noe y bb skin is so sensitive.. and dr seem to give only steriod cream n no other treatment for bb

tinklebell/lyn,

I definitely say no-no to ribena. Heard of horrible stories about ribena.. causing cough and phlegm, even in children, let alone babies. And cold food also no no now, no ice cream no matter how my ger stare at us when we eat it haha...

But i can be pretty adventurous in what i feed her. These 2 weeks, my ger has tasted a bit of kuey teow, a bit of zui kuey, a bit of mashed potato, a bit of snowskin mooncake skin and she loves lotus root soup! But then, her most favourite is still her milk, and recently she doesn't really reject milk anymore. She needs her feeds at around 2 hrs interval.

tinklebell,

thanx for the PD contact...
Next time joelle's skin got worst, i know who to look for liao

lyn,

the showerhead so exp think my hb wont want liao...

Good morning ladies, it's friday again! Weekend coming!

Re: rashes

That time, my boy's face got rashes too and someone ask me to apply a thin layer of baby lotion, i tried and it works. After 2 days, the rashes gone...not sure if it will work for you? But of cos for serious rashes, then have to consult doctor.

Morning ladies !! TGIF !!

Re: rashes

My ger also had it on her face. PD prescibed a cream for her to apply & within 3 days the rashes are gone. Yesh, it does contain steriod & PD had advised to apply a thin layer. Now, we have to wipe her face after every feed

Good morning ladies!

Hiaz... was quite angry with the Avent milk bags i have! The corners at the bottom leak for 3 out of every 5 pc that i am using... anyone has this problem?
Other than milk bags, r VIA cups better or should i change to traditional bottles for storage in the office. i didnt want to use bottles initially bec i find it bulky to transport around ... but now the milk bags r really lousy.

kk,
wow kuay teow and zui kuey?
btw, does YJ have any teeth yet?

Serene,
Yeah... finally friday!! cant wait for end of the day to come.
It's Mid Autumn Festival!!!

Yes! Happy Mid Autumn Festival!

Tinklebell, are you going to bring your kids out tonite to hold the lantern? Yesterday's haze was real bad! There's sunlight this morning, hope the haze is lesser today, thought want to bring my son downstairs to the garden tonite to see lanterns...in the previous yrs, i saw kids playing lanterns at the garden...

tinklebell,

So far, have you bring your kids to a fix PD? That time at TMC, the hospital has assigned, Dr Keoy to you rite? U went back to him after?

Serene,
i am bringing my kids to sil home for BBQ and to play lantern. yesterday's haze was terrible! i kept coughing the moment i stepped out of office. i didnt bring my kids down last nite due to the haze.

Serene,
my girl got no PD... Dr Keoy is in Bishan and TMC right? didnt go back to him cos too far. But so far never encounter major problem so no need to see PD.