(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

morning lok,
really? not too sure... just overheard it over the radio on my way to office.

what causes your tendons to be inflammed?

Lok

Yap, it's really so coincidental. I had not been keeping in touch with the rest, but saw 'pek chek' on the streets a few times though.......:p

Hi Tinklebell,
RE: Nepia
NTUC still got that promo? ya....I saw dignus is selling at $14.70 on website.
And thanks to Jaslin mommy who confirmed that Nepia (main distributor) price is $15. Thanks.

RE: Bishan build-to-order
It's small units loh.....not suitable for family with growing children lah. Even those in Jurong West and Sengkang got those 5-rooms unsold, they convert into such 2 room units. More for senior citizens who stay by themselves.

mspiggy,
Got build to order? where? my brother may be interested. hiaz... i am not allowed buy new HDB flats. anyway, tks for the infor.

lok,
i also never go to acjc... decided to go somewhere else instead. we r going to have a bbq next fri at your place downstairs.... maybe will meet you
my sil/ bil booked the pit for the mid autumn festival. in fact, we r in gardens almost every fri. maybe we have met before since you stay in the same blk as them

chenoa,
donno whether the ntuc promotion is still on...but i still like to buy from dignus cos they send to your home... so dont need to lug the heavy diapers around... for min purchase $50, they will send the items to your home.

Tinklebell,
ya...free delivery is good. But I also have a lot of NTUC vouchers (received as gift) to utilise, and all in big denomination $50 leh. Very hard to use... if $10 or $20, then I'll spent q. easily.

tinklebell: can i ask what size ur girl wears for nepia?

mummies: what hospitalisation insurace are u/have u bought for ur little ones??

Initially she doesnt like the bumbo, i decided to let her sit again this morn and try...but her head will slant to one side, cant really support her head fully..
She sat there for 1/2 hr watching Tv!!!
I know many mummies' bb also likes to watch tv at this stage..amazing hor.. bb know how to watch tv...hehe..
\
tinklebell
How's ur bb doing ? How many weeks now? Drinking how much milk and how heavy..

by the way got my bumbo from chinatown $70 cheaper...
BB Zelia is quite small only 5.3 kg @ week 13

Here's another pic, sunbathing @ East Coast Park
530088.jpg

stephanie,

r u still staying in the east? I am now staying in the north, next to Bishan park. ha ha, i remember pak chek --- she changed a lot hor! let's not bore the rest with our JC days -- u can send me pm at [email protected]

tinklebell,

which pit? then i can take a peek & attempt to guess which one is u!

misspiggy,

Dunno. seeing acupucturist now and it usually happens to caregiver of newborn (probably due to the carrying). need to rest or else it is very difficult to recover (esp as the bb gets heavier)

brought my son for the 2nd jab for 5-in-1...heard may get fever so right after the jab, I gave him paracetamol syrup to prevent fever...but in the evening, he still got fever....but the next day, his fever subsided....

serene,
ya, I agree with your hubby abt attending the playgroup at too young age...

fi,
I also play silly games with my son...he prefer human interaction than toys

tinklebell,
wow, your supply very good leh...I also go lazy when I'm tired....sometimes, after work, really tired so I'll miss 1-2 pumps and just go to sleep early...if everyday only 4-5 hours of sleep, sure become zombie....

re: breastfeeding

sometimes, I'm wondering why I'm still bf-ing now....esp when tiredness get over me, I felt like stopping bf and just give my son formula....inner me will keep having tug-of-war, whether to continue or not....

the time spend on expressing milk, washing and sterilising the pump can be used to rest or interact with my son....forumla milk is also as good for baby...and bf means watching my diet which I'm often get gulity coz I'll fell to tempation and eat junk food or drink caffine-drinks....

but then, bf is still the best...am glad I'm still bf-ing my son, and I hope to do it until he's 6mth old....

kk,
my son also like to sit in his car seat...he will look out the window to see the scenery...but hor, whenever the car stops too long, he will show some unhappiness...haha.....

okasan,

My ger also down with slight fever the 2nd day after her 3rd mth jab. I didn't feed her the medicine after she was back from jab. Didn't know that may work. 4th mth jab and 5th mth jab all ok.. no fever

Wanted to give her rotavirus doses.. but PD say too late liao as she is in her 5mth mth already. The 2nd dose must be given 2 mths after the 1st. So too late to administer already

Ya, mine love to look at scenery above her heehee.. and will make noise when her daddy stops the car. Then i will say her silly girl, how could daddy keep on driving forever heehee..

YJ say hi to okasan auntie!

530283.jpg

kk,
your girl so cute....she can now hold things liao..

the 1st jab on 3rd mth was ok for my son, but the 4th mth jab which he had this week wasn't ok...hopefully the jabs after that will be ok too....but although he's down with fever, he's still alert and playful...laughing whenever we play with him...so we din bring him 2 see doc...

okasan,

she can hold things, but hasn't learn to grab them yet. But today i observed her to take the initiative to play with the three little balls on her walker

Yup, my ger although down with fever that time, was alert and active. No sign of fever on her face haha.. guess it is very slight, that's why.

kk,
I read a book before that say fever is not a disease, so when baby has fever, more impt is to observe the mood/look and not the temp...as long as baby is feeling good, then fever is not a cause of worry

thanks okasan for the info. I am very nervous cos I will be bringing my son for his second jab soon. And three days later, we'll be taking a flight to Singapore. I hope he will be fine.

Btw, how many days does the fever last? U used a thermometer to measure? What kind of thermometer?

my bb oso has fever everytime he takes his jabs.. but his mood is ok..

okasan, dun need to be upset.. yeah..bf is best for bb.. if we can do it for bb, continue to do it..

think abt it, most of us have mgred to bf for abt 4mths.. isn't it a great achievement considering that the last time b4 our delivery we are talking whether can bf or not? so we shd continue to encourage each other...

missk, my son's fever can last for 2-3 days.. but once he takes the medicine, the fever subsides till 6hrs later.. u might want to try braun theremomter. really good

How are all of u? i just started working last week, been feeling very tired! 1st 2 days at work was horrible. cant pump well due to new environment.

This week slowly i then start to adapt n adjust back to workplace. I pump 3 times at work. Some of my colleagues was wondering how come i MIA. Hmm i thin soon or later my whole department wil know cow now oni 3 to 4 ppl who are very close to me knows.

Then when gg back home, i never pump liao, just latch. cos really very very tired. by e time reach home, always collapse on e bed.

Same here, i got bad engorgement on 1 of my breasts b4, really painful until cried, really low morale that time. but just look ahead n forget abt e past.

I just pump 3 times daily tat is at work. Initially when i start work, i try to pump during middle of e nite, it was really tiring n torture to hv lack of slp. so now whenever i feel uncomfortable at nite, i wil just put my ger on my breasts. Then go work n pump.

At work after each pump, i can feel very dehydrated, tired, hungry n sometimes head abit giddy (weak). For bfing, must really take alot of vits. i take vit c, fish oil, multi vits n calcium tablets daily. also i can feel my teeth abit loose liao, quickly take more calcium. i cant drink milk cos my ger allergy to it.

oh ya i bring 3 bags to work everyday, very heavy, hv to ask hubby to fetch me to n from work. i bring my lunch box to work too, everyday eat e same, fish n minced pork w rice as prepared by my mum. quite touched.

long time not logged in. been v.busy.

kite: good to hear that you are pumping well and getting used to it at work. kekeke.... my colleagues call me milk-cow whenever i start my "second job". remember to drink more fluids at work.

Mel, mine is 15wk now. She was 7.6kg when she was 13wk. I'm not sure how much she weighs now. Drinks ard 120-150ml per feed. Doesnt like bottle... so i suppose she drinks more when i nurse her.

Lok,
I dont know which pit they booked. if u see a pit with lots of children, it's us!!!! my hub has 3 other siblings... each one has at least 2 kids. my sil/ bil who stay there have 2 gers. maybe u know them :p

okasan,
same here... i also have the same sentiments as u. moreover, my mum keeps asking me to give her formula. she says so that next time my ger will not reject formula. anyway, i still hope to bf for at least 6 mths. but i try not to stress myself, if really i have not much milk, then will switch to formula. my supply good? donno leh...everyday i will try to have fish for lunch and my mother will prepare lots of fish for me for dinner.... perhaps it helps.

kk,
YJ's looks v happy

missk,
mine had fever after her first jab but she was ok...still her normal self. fever for only 1 day.

Hi missk,

Mine is cordi thermometer, from bb kingdom. Price reasonable and works ok so far. It can measure both ear and forehead temperatures. It is best to measure the ear temperature as forehead temperature not accurate, tend to give lower reading.

Kite,

Jia you!! My colleague's bb now 7+ mths and she is still pumping well at work. She still manage to get 2 medela bottles of BM for every pump! And she pump quite often in a day. But she also complain to me actually BF not cheap too. She invest a lot in her diet, by eating cod fish, and other types of good fish to give her ample supply of BM flow. And she suspect due to high intake of fish (also considered seafood), her toes can't heal and she still feel painful till now. Think her toes and toenails are affected due to pregnancy and she kena after confinement.

YY say good morning to all aunties!

530605.jpg

My girl hasnt passed motion for 5 days already... anyone experienced that? she's on TBF so usually poo at least once a day. i'm a bit worried.

missk,
my son's fever subsided the next day...he only had fever in the evening after the jab and by the next day evening, he had no fever...

I heard if let baby drink "lin liang" prior to the injection, can prevent fever, but I never try...

I use pigeon themometer...normal thermometer also can, but the pigeon one that I bought has flexible tip so when put under the armpit, not so comfortable for the baby...

peng,
ya, months ago, we were still wondering if we can bf successfully..and now, we already did it for 4 mth

not really upset, but sometimes, when tired, one just tends to find excuses not to continue

wow, your son got fever for every jabs? my son only fever for this jab, already heartpain liao...

kite,
I make known that I'm bf-ing my son to everyone in the office, even the guys since day 1....they don't think I'm a cow, instead they thought I'm a wei da mummy

tinklebell,
ya, I also tell myself no need to stress abt bm supply...if one day supply go low, just give formula loh...formula also good mah, got a lot of nutrients...

my son can poo once every week..haha...don't worry...sometimes, they digest all the milk they take in, so not much left to poo....as long as the poo is not hard, it's not constipation, then no cause of worry...u may try to coax your baby to pass motion by holding the legs up and make the "en en" sound

kk,
my big toes have also been very painful since giving birth! what happened to ur colleague's toes? mine is a case of ingrown toenail, went to see doctor once and he asked me to let the nail grow, but it's very very painful process leh.. and it's been 3.5 months i endure those pain..

thank you to those who responded about fever! I have a Pigeon thermometer too but I used it to measure my temperature when I was sick. Can I still use it for my son? Btw, I put the thermometer into my mouth.

kk: 2 bottles of milk Wow! How did she do that? Goodness, isnt that 300 ml? That's fantastic. Btw, r u a teacher?

okasan: My fren took leng yan prior to the jab and guess what, her daughter developed a cough after that! She told me not to take it. Just eat a healthy diet. Seems like it works differently for different people.

mum2be,

Ya, i think she has something like ingrown toenail. How come like tat ah? Now not yet recover leh, and she gotta wear socks as protection everyday. That time she accidentally knocked into another cubicle *OUCH*

missk,

Yup, we are in teaching line

A lot hor? dunno how she get so much supply leh.. haha.. despite eating fish everyday during confinement, i dun get so much milk also. But of course, after that i stop intake of fish liao because dun like fish in the first place heehee.. think expressing and latching got technique also.. must persevere lor

Got pple say can feed pao sheng to bb before jab.. my mil did once and my bb down with slight cough and phlegm.. so after that no more.. only stick to barley water. But after drinking barley, that time after 3rd mth jab still kenna slight fever next day. So i dun think by eating anything special will help to prevent fever lor. It is up to individual baby

tinklebell,

my neighbour also has 2 gers (Daphne is 6 and i'm not sure abt Tammy). they always hv a lot of pple in their apt on fri nites... scarli, they are your bil/sil !

kite,

jia you! I'm also on TBF now but may hv to feed bb FM temporarily soon. U know why? Cos we want to go on a short trip and my mil's freezer cannot accomodate my frozen EBM! *sigh* never mind lah.

kite,

ur bb allergy to milk? how do we koe? coz my bb rashes quite bad...still trying to find out wat causes it..read b4 tt milk can b 1 of the factor..

Lok,
haha! they are my bil/sil!!!! Lynn is my hub's sister. My in laws stay there too. Tammy is 3 1/2... few mths young than my son. The kids have a lot of fun on their Friday nites. Apologies if we have disturbed u too much on Fridays.

haha.... it's really a coincidence... i am at their place every Fri since the day they moved in! But never met u before
U were fr MGS too right? wh class? i must have seen u before.

Morning everyone!

Tinklebell,

You gal never poo for 5 days???
My boy also didn't poo for 2 days, then on the 3rd day, he just poo a little....I'm also worried. These few days, I found that always never finish up his milk, he knows to use his tongue to push out the teat... He don't really like water also. I don't know whether is due to teething, that's why he don't finish his milk now....

Serene, hiaz..until last nite she still nvr poo but pass out v smell gas
mine also doesnt finish her milk ... ususally take 1-2 oz then push the teat out. usually i will split into 2 feeds for her to finish her 4-5 oz. mine keeps drooling saliva..think she is teething too.

tinklebell, same here, when my boy never poo, he also 'put put' alot and pass out smelly gas! Did u ask yr hub, will this be ok, not passing motion for 6 days? That's not normal yah? I rem the PD ever mentioned that as long as not more than 3 days.....?

Now, after every feed, my boy will push out the teat with his tongue and he will tuck in his fingers to suck. I think he prefers to suck his finger than finish drinking the milk. I had actually increased his milk to 6oz last week but now i ask my maid to reduce back to 5oz cos he always never finish, so wasted the milk!

Does your gal have dreams at nite when sleeping? Last nite, my boy 'cried' but he's actually sleeping, looked so sad! I think maybe he play abit too much.

serene, my hubby thought it was not v normal but some PDs say that for breastfed kids, it is normal even not to poo for 1 week... we will wait til one week and see.... so far her tummy is not bloated lor.
Ya, my girl will suddenly shiver as if she has fits when she is sleeping...sometimes she will cry for a while and then stop...think it's bec she has been playing too much with her bro during the day.... she slept only ard 1 hr in the daytime yesterday.

tinklebell,

Btw, do u know of any 'save as you earn' saving a/c now. I wanted to open a saving a/c for my son, does POSB offer the best? I have no idea of other banks, as when we were young, POSB seems to be the bank that we will go to.