(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

medusa, i come back v early - by 6pm, i would have reached my mother's place. by the time i reach home after dinner at my mother's place, it's around 830... need to bathe, pack my stuff for the next day, BF my girl and watch a bit of tv to relax... time flies so fast. before i know it, it's 11pm!

tinklebell,

Not crying lah, I just saw a maid carrying a baby sitting at the drop off pt area below yr blk....around 8.15am....there's a lady behind, is it you? Maybe I've seen wrongly?

no lah, not me...i'll be at my work place at that time. But could be my maid waiting at round abt for my hub. so angry with her today... she spilled hot water on my bro's dog! accidentally lah but HOT WATER leh! poor dog

Ok gals,

Chat with u gals again tmr. I've to pack n go now. Rushing off to pick up my new camera! Becos of my son, i've sold the old camera and bought a new one!

tinklebell, my EBM always "lumpy" if refrigerated or frozen. Even if expressed fresh and left standing at room temp for half hr, will coagulate leh. I need to swirl after warming. Wah, sleep so late PLUS nite waking, really not enough sleep leh.

mummies who work, do you prepare your EBM into bottles the night before ? Or on the morning itself ?
Just wondering how u working mummies cope ...

tinklebell

i am current on full EBM...so at 5 am, i got to wake up to express, wash up & sterilise. Then at 6 plus, my gal wakes up for her feed. At 7am, got to rush her off to babysitter before heading to office....sigh...every morning its a rush.

okasan,
**high five**
I also think the way you think...
I wanna let my boy build up his own immune system and good for him in the long run..
hmmm... 6 months old... then gotta take a few more steps if you wanna "dunk" him in the water... I bring my boy to condo pool

Amy,
Ya... I think if stay at home should be fine
I will be very cautious of letting Aloysius play in indoors playground too...
Are you going to start Jake on semi-solids soon? haha.. I am waiting for Aloysius to turn 4 months. I will start with oatmeal... but dunno can or not

Flashcards: one card one second
For me, each session 15 cards, so 15 seconds. One of the sessions consist of 30 cards, so 30 seconds

Eh... Is your maid literate, and able to follow instructions? kekeke.. you can bring your maid to the workshop to let them teach your maid how to flash... If cannot teach English, can teach Chinese or Malay
. They do sell English, Chinese, Maths, Malay, Encyclopedic cards... I am contemplating of getting Malay set from them :p. For Maths, I flash to Aloysius, once in English, once in Chinese.. kekeke...

You gotta read to Jake loud and clear what you are showing... Can learn the details from the workshop... You gotta say out the word when the word card reach the front. Need a bit of practice and someone to show you the "know-how"... Say out the word is build up auditory sense, see the word is build up visual sense...

poohy,
hmm... Where to get lecithin? In capsule form? Or in food form?
How much is the SSO babies prom? sounds very interesting...

mtdt,
Wah... thank you very much for the lobang... kekeke... I am interested in the little swimmers...

okasan,
You making your own flashcards also? Where did you buy the cards? How much? I am looking for cheap "lobang" for blank cards..

medusa,
Yes... you are very right... babies outgrow very fast. You know, I bought one that looked big. Now, it's just nice already... Think I gotta go down to get another swimwear soon. Ocean paradise also has thermal suit. I went to Suntec, forgot the shop name, but mostly for gals and quality not as good...
At the shop in Paragon, also has thermal suit at 50% off...
Maybe you can go there and see... but I think dun have infant size.. might suit your elder son.
Better not go to heated pool, plus it's indoor.. it's worse..
Wow... Irvin is so chubby and cute in the bumbo seat.. really looks like "tow kay"...

Serene,
$70 can get brand new one like Okasan's lor..

okasan,
Plus the chlorine in the air cos it's heated pool...

tinklebell,
Wah... chocolate ice cream so fast ah... I am also scared my parents in laws will feed Aloysius the not so healthy food...
Think I am gonna lose more weight too.. I am sleeping late to do my work.. cos day time gotta play with Aloysius.. very busy and no time for my work...

Serene,
Which camera have you bought? I am thinking of getting a new digital camera. Can recommend? I am thinking of Canon...

Stephanie,
your daily routine similar to mine...I woke up at 5am to feed baby coz he slept thru the night without waking up for milk..then express milk, steriliser my pump to bring to work...by 7am, I got to rush out to bring my baby to my mum's place....

feed my baby last feed at 11pm..thanks god he slept thru the night, so can have quality sleep..but I can only hit the bed after 1am coz got to express milk, sterilise and sometimes, finish off some housechores...

tinklebell,
wow, u also wake up at 5am...me too...although I only get to sleep at 1am, ie. 4 hours of sleep, I din lose weight to my dismay....instead I ate more than before...all thanks to my mum lah...she everyday also prepare delicious breakfast and dinner, so difficult not to eat more

serene,
to me, as long as got use before, even if it's once, I consider 2nd hand...then u don't buy from her loh...coz at $70, u might as well get a new one...somemore can choose colour...

lyn,
I haven't start making flashcards, no time...I din buy those 11"x11" cards...I intend to use A4 paper...I don't follow rules strictly.....beside I think it's the wording that's more impt than the paper...

wow, u flash so many cards at a time...

lyn, dun think i will introduce jake to cereals or other solids yet. will wait and see. maybe after 6 months? my maid can read and write, and she always read newspaper and sometimes will update me on what's happening, cos I dun have the time to catch up on the news.
my maid taught her son A-Z by 1 year old. Quite capable hor?

I managed to get the 1000 pc flash cards for jake. was so happy - told my mum just now. mum got more work to do lo.

camera: i just bought the sony T10 in white. seemed quite cool... now can take more pics of bb jake.

Stephanie, wow... you must be v tired... every morning wake up so early. i am only partial bm, tot that was quite tiring - pumping at work and at nite before i sleep.

k ong, every nite i will sterilise the bottles and pump, enough for the next day. in the evening, my maid will also help do one round of sterilisation.

serene, i am sure if you wait, you will be able to get a bumbo for $50. think that is the market price for 2nd hand bumbos.

sunshine, i got the flash cards from as BP in the marketplace. Glenn Domain also sells these flash cards. the workshop for flash cards is organised by GD as well.

sunshine,

you got mail

mtdt:
where you get the nepia and little swimmers samples? i'd like to try that.

serene,

you didn't manage to get the $55 bumbo?

sunflower - littler swimmers are from huggies.
nepia - given by my fren. i also dunno where she got it from.

sunflower,

Re: Bumbo seat

I haven't got a reply from the seller yet. Maybe i ask too low a price and she is probably mad! ha! I ask for $30. Well, barganing starts from a low figure...Perhaps i'm not very keen on it now, so if no reply, just forget it.

Re: Camera

Amy, i've bought the same camera as you, Sony T10. I saw it since 2 wks ago but didn't buy it during the COMEX show cos i haven't got a buyer for my old camera. My old one was Sony P10, sold it to my colleague for $200, i lost quite alot, bought for $799 2 1/2 yrs ago. How much did you pay for the camera? I paid $530 with 512MB memory stick.

lyn, I think both sony and canon is good brand for a digital camera. But i must say that sony has more designs to select whereas canon's designs all almost the same... Besides the technology, i go for the cosmetic look as well. Moreover, my old camera was sony, so really used to the function. If asked my opinion, SONY is my choice. I went down an authorised dealer today to get the pink colour. Many of the dealers had no stock of pink colour in singapore so i was lucky to get it. Oh yes, lyn, this camera is real cool, it has the anti blur technology, which means it can take moving object at still image, the photo will not be blur. For eg., when we take pics of our babies, their hands and legs usually are moving, thus our pics turn out blur but this camera can make miracles, really great! Also, my old camera's speed is slow, whenever i had taken 1 pic, i had to wait a real while to take the next pic and also the capture shuttle is slow, when my boy smile, i snap but the camera will capture a few secs late thus, the picture turn out with no smile! But this camera is fast! How fast? I did not compare with other brands so not sure. But definitely faster than my old camera 5 megapixels. Now this new T10 is 7.2 megapixels, very sharp and clear!

okasan,
You are very well taken care of... Sometimes, I do not even have time to eat breakfast and lunch...
Not many cards already. Shichida method flash more cards! Imagine my friend can flash for half an hour continuously at 1 second per card.... that's a few hundred cards at one go...

amy,
hmm... Your maid quite capable. Good good... Then you can consider "outsourcing" the flashcards sessions to your maid sometimes... lol...
Can Sony T10 take video and capture sound?

sunshine,
I got my flashcards from GDbaby and I am entitled to attend their workshop
I belong to the KS group :p so I will attend a few times... kekeke.. or email or call the boss when I meet any problem... :p

Serene,
Wah... Sony T10 sounds good
Thank you for sharing
$530 with 512 MB... Any other freebies?

Been so busy, gg to start work tis week.

Okasan,
me intend to pump twice at work instead of 3 times. Now already stress n scare my ss wil drop. Btw i heard its normal to drop over time rite? normal rite? How much u getting per session? I think when start work, wil be like u, oni pump 4 times daily.

Tinklebell:
i think ur milk is fine. Sometimes mine also like beancurd, just swirl it n it wil be fine. very sayang to throw away leh.

Swimming:
hey u all bring your babies for swimming ah, so fast? Btw i dun dare to bring my ger. Cos my cousin when she was a baby, my uncle brought her to swim then she got ASTHMA! Til now she is Primary5, she stil hv asthma. Poor girl! She need to bring her barang always in her school bag in case. So i dun dare to bring my ger til she is older.

k ong:
usually i wil latch at nite n its really a tiring job.

Stephanie:
ur schedule looks tight. Guess u hv lack of slp. I think i wil be like u. gg to start work tis week n planning to wake up at 6.30am to express n then 8am go work. its really tiring manz.

lyn,

There is no other freebies except what is included in the standard box, the cables, cd, wrist strap. Actually this authorised dealer that i've gone to, had thrown in a carrier bag (canvas type) but price will be $540. If you like the canvas bag, it's worthwhile to take it at $540 cos i've seen the bag selling at sony gallery for $15, you saved $5 for that if only you like the bag. I don't want the bag so i paid $530.

I had almost checked the price islandwide and $530 seems to be the best/last price!

Wow Serene...the Sony T10 really sounds good...very tempted to buy liao...cos I have problem with my nikon now...slow in capturing my baby images..

kite,
Oh... Swimming can cause asthma? I thought it's the opposite? I only read about the chlorine in heated indoor pool causing asthmas.. other than that, swimming should help asthma...

Good Morning Ladies!

okasan,
oh dear... 4 hrs of sleep only? poor thing. u stay with ur mum? haha..my mum also likes to make nice and warm food for me. During my ML, she will walk over to our house to cook lunch for us... hee hee... i think it's the food that makes us fat! now, i'm thinking of switching to eating brown rice and wholemeal bread. It's less fattening.

Serene,
yes, i agree the antiblur function is very good. my olympus camera also has this function and i find it v useful esp when i take pics of my girl.

Stephanie,
i know what u mean by the "morning rush". Luckily my hub doesnt need to go to work so early. so he will settle the kids with the help of my maid. I usually get my morning call at 5am, BF her..cant sleep after that... then after that around 6am, i will express, prepare the milk and put it in the fridge, wash up the pumps..by 640 i gotta leave home.

Amy,
wow A-Z by 1 year old? that's fast!

lyn,
Ya lor... my father is like that one
argghhh. nowadays always buy ice cream and yakult for my boy. he's a bit on the fat side now.
Hiaz... it's kind of hard to work in the day time at home when u have a bb. even with a maid, i had to wait til my girl is asleep to do my work during my ML.

Medusa/ kite,
U think my milk is ok? but i cant help feeling suspicious that it is bad leh...it's the first time i see the milk coagulate like that... even when i swirl it, it doesnt dissolve... it looks as if it has turned bad. anyway, i threw the whole bottle away liao

Just sent my girl for her 6-in-1 last nite... good girl...didnt cry. She weighed 7.6kg at 3 mths, measured 60cm...my hub says big wor since >97th percentile... scared she will be overwt next time

tinkebell,
Wah.. your gal is 7.6kg at 3 months ah... What did you feed her? Is she on total breast milk?

sunflower,
Hope the pages can help you to start your swimming session

morning ladies

i am back in action ;)

Stephanie,
I'm also on morning rush everyday. My hb says its like fighting a "war" every morning. 6am i wake up and feed and pump my milk. Then by 7am we leave the hse to leave my bb with the babysitter and its off to work. Haha. Then knock off at 5.30pm, i quickly rush home to fetch my ger from babysitter then feed her when i reach home and then must "wipe" her then have to settle myself, dinner, bathe and then sterilize the stuffs....aiyo...after finishing everything at least 8.30pm liowz

tinklebell,
ur ger is big woh! My ger that time at 2mths is 5.4kg and the GP already said she is at the 97th percentile...haha

celeste blur

yah lor, it's wartime every morning and evening.Though i knock off at 5.30pm, got to wait for my 'driver' to fetch me (cos pumping barang too bulky)..smetimes he has to work OT, so will fetch me only around 7 plus. Then got to rush to nanny's place.

My gal's feeding times are not constant, smetimes 7pm, smetimes 7.30pm. If its 7.30pm, i will either have to rush her back in time to feed her or face a crying gal in the car........Then after that, it will be putting her to eat, cook dinner, before i can have my dinner at around 8.30pm to 9pm......

Stephanie,
At least u still have 'driver'. My hb sometimes works till 8+pm. So I have to take the mrt with all the barang barang for the whole 50mins trip
Then tabao my dinner and then need to carry bb, my barang and dinner home together. So now i bring my sarong sling to work also. Like that at least i have empty hands for opening my house door! Haha

Celeste Blur

If i were in your situation, must likely i have to go home, put down all my barangs, opening the windows and prepare baby's stuff before gg out again to fetch her....dun tink i can tahan with her weight and all the things..nowadays, when i carry her without barang, also sweat like mad...she is getting a bit heavy for me :p

lyn, she is still on TBM. But she doesnt drink much during the day. she will wait for me to come home and prefers to suck fr me instead.

MTDT, hee... havent uploaded her pics...but got a few bbs here r bigger than her...must be really v round and cute.

Celeste, haha... both my kids all around this wt...think they take after me cos my hubby belongs to the thin type. she was slighyly above 6kg at 2 mths...actually they grow v fast cos i just weighed her a week and a half ago and she was 7kg.

spicegal,

You can go to any sony gallery or authorised dealer of sony to test/try on the camera but if you are buying, don't buy from the sony gallery as it's more expensive, they don't give discount.

tinklebell,

Today, i think i saw one maid carrying a baby sitting at the drop off area too. Is she your maid and your baby? They wait for your hub at the drop off area every morning?
Your baby's weight looks very healthy. I think she's heavier than my son too.

Stephanie,
I also wish i can go back first settle myself before fetching her. But if i were to settle myself first, then it will be like 7.30pm before i go n fetch her. Dont tink my nanny will be too glad with it cos the hrs that i leave my bb with her oledi quite long. From 7am - 7pm
So boh pianz have to train my body muscle! Haha

tinklebell,
hehe...my mom oledi told me not to feed my ger too much liowz......i tink ur bb must be really chubby n cute!

kite, lyn,
swimming is a gd exercise for asthmatics. H/e, can "cause" asthma if bb/ tod catches a bad chill which accelerates into bronchitis etc. Cos serious infections weakens the respiratory system, more likely LEAD to asthma/ other problems.
So I'm usually very careful abt my kids catching chills. Another thing is, genes lah. If parents asthmatic, kids likely too. HB & I had asthma, that's partly why we insist on keeping our dog ard- supposedly kids exposed to dog dander from birth (or even at foetal stage in womb) are less likely to develop asthma. Although, kids who already develop asthma will have their existing asthmatic condition aggravated by animal dander.

celeste, wat abt bringing pram and bb to nanny's and leaving them there. So when u bring bb home, u can bring the pram. Pram can help with bb's wt as well as ur barang-barang.

medusa

i have thot abt bringg the pram to nanny's place too...but hor, what if my gal suddenly refuses to be in the pram and starts to cry, then i will have to carry her, push the pram and carry all the barang.

Medusa,
I've thought of bringing pram before also. But my ger not really willing to sit inside pram. When we put her in pram most of the time she will complain except when she is asleep
So I have to use sling to bring her back instead....*sigh*

serene, hee hee... i think u must have seen my maid and my bb. they wait for my hub at the pick up area every morning while he goes to pick the car up fr the car park.

Serene...thanks for the info...dying to get a new camera soon..hehe...but must 1st convince my hb otherwise sure kanna nag...

Tinklebell...what a chubby baby you have...my gal is considered skinny lor...she is not 'michelin' baby type..face is chubby but body skinny...she weighs merely 4.2kg at 2 mths...now dun know her weight cos her next jab is 4th mths, which is 2 weeks later...

medusa,
My family genes got asthma, though I dun have... So quite scared that my boy will get asthma... That's why bring him swimming after doing some reading up. When in the water, can expand the lungs (something like that) and their lungs will be more developed through swimming... My brother is asthmatic, and his doc asked him to swim more.

celeste blur,
Maybe you can try to let your gal sit up inside the stroller? My boy likes to sit up now and he will guai guai sit inside and observe the surroundings...

stephanie,
What about putting all your barang inside the pram? That's what I do usually when my boy refuse to sit inside.. I just dump my bag and the groceries inside and push.. kekeke... sometimes my stroller looks like a grocery trolley...

tinklebell,
Your milk very nutritious leh...

lyn

my gal will be 3 mths this thurs. her neck is still not very stiff at the moment. is it possible to put her in sit up position now? all the while i have let her lie down in the pram.

tinklebell,

Is your hub driving a silver mpv, toyota stream? Oh then next time, i must walk over to take alook at baby fiona.
I'm taking my colleague's tpt at your blk every morning. Usually i wait below your blk, didn't walk over to the drop off pt area unless it's raining.