(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

lyn, no lah, think it's my fat genes she inherited :p

spicegal, dont worry... diff bbs grow at different pace.

serene, my hub drives a silver mpv..but its a toyota wish.

tinklebell, your baby is such a dear, waited for mummy to be back to latch on and be close to you. Know what? That day, I put my son to my breasts and he seems to have forgotten how to such...haa! But i really miss those days during the confinement mth when i was breastfeeding him, he's so close to me and the way that he sucks so well really makes me feel very warmth and close to him. Actually, i've tried squeezing my breasts that day, there is still some milk though i've stopped bfeedg him for 2 mths plus! One of my girlfriends who is still bfeedg her 9mth old baby told me, though i've stopped but the milk will stay there for some time... She even told me that one of her gf who stopped for mths, decided to resume back, still able to... So i was wondering, maybe if i want to start bfeedg again, the milk will come back again....

tinklebell, oh yes, it's a toyota wish not stream. i always mix up the logo. When my tpt turn out the carpark today, i saw one toyota mpv drove down fr the carpark. Yr hub wore glasses?

tinklebell, both your son and daughter are not fat, but just so lucky of them, belonged to the healthy bah bah category.

lyn, your Aloysius has a healthy build too.

stephanie,
Maybe at at inclined position, not 100% sit up... Can just try and see... I started to put my boy at semi-sit up position... now is 100% sit up position since last week. Is there any head support inside your pram? I am using Aprica and I do use the head support just in case his head knock to the side...

serene,
yes can... u can try to BF again. u have to try it when u are with bb the whole day. have to massage your breast and everyday, get ur bb to latch on every 3 hrly. at nite, pump every 3 hrly. heard the milk will come back. And must take lots of fish.
ya, my hub wears glasses. u saw him? our car no is 131.
Can give mrs wong a call... think she can help u with suggestions.

tinklebell: hahaaa, not fat la , chubby ! which is good ! mine is 7.2 kg at 3 mths, also considered 95 percentile !!
How much EBM is your DD drinking ?

Is anyone using the Avent compact bag ?
Not sure if I need to put ice cooler packs in the bag if I'm using the main compartment to transport the milk ...
I pump 2 times at work, and store in Avent bottles, so trying to find a handy cooler bag to put all the bottles plus the pump in !!! The coleman coller bag is too small :p

Morning routine: wake up to nurse at 7. Prepare EBM into 3 bottles. Wash bottles to bring to work, sterilise pump to bring to work. Wash up. Eat brekkie, go to work. Tired !!!

lyn..
hoping to start the swim session with my boy soon.
last weekend so rainy.. too cold to start.
didn't want to give boy a first bad experience.

tinklebell

u mean its possible to relatch baby after a break of 2 mths? For me, i am currently on total EBM cos in the initial stage, gal cldnt latch properly and was always hungry. I had thot of letting her latch on again, in order to stimulate milk supply but not sure if she knows how to suck.

btw, if we were to latch on baby every 3 hourly, have to standby with EBM rite? otherwise what if our milk supply is not enuf?

serene, i paid $540 for the camera. The camera was a gift from my hubby.
with free memory stick but no bag. I got a white one. My old camera was the Sony Exslim. I also have a HP camera, but very very slow. This T10 is very good, and can take video clips as well. Had fun taking videos of bb jake.

Mummies, can i ask you something - do your bbs 'bully' you? i have observed that when i look after bb jake, he drinks less and sleeps less. always wanna play and wanna latch on, din want bottle. but when my mum looks after him, he drinks all his milk (180ml) and sleeps well (1 hr in the morning, 2 hrs in the afternoon. How come? I did everything as per my mum's method, still fail...

amy,
Is it Jake is not used to it? For me, I look after Aloysius usually. When my hubby is home, he will "bully" him. Sure will want him to carry to sleep. Then my hubby put him down, he will sure wake up and cry... For me, no problem...
I dunno is it coincidence. When we go out for dinner with my hubby, Aloysius will want to be carried. He will stare at my hubby and cries in his stroller. When I go out with him, I just put him down in the stroller, and he will fall asleep while I eat...

Amy,

Errr, i guess babies do recognise pple at this stage.. my ger drink less when my hubby feed her.. she will fidget here and there, purposely slide down his laps, etc etc.. and also she wants dad to carry her because he spoils her totally and then she will do things like regurgitating on his arms and also saliva hahha.. for me, very seldom such problems will occur :p

serene,

Actually what ur colleague say about bf may be true.. guess wat.. i can still sense that my right breast is engorged at times.. and that side was the one which produced more milk than the other during my first 2 mths. But i just ignore lor, because i dun intend to start bf all over again.

Aiyo... then Jake is really bullying me... how come? when i am at home, he din want the bottle, only ocassionally. will cry when i give him bottle, so gotta give him breast, then later switch to bottle. when it's sleeping time, he wants me to carry him, will cry till i carry him. for my mum - she just put him down and pat pat, he will zzzzz... how? watch him cry?

Stephanie, can relatch... my girl used to be on EBM cos she had difficulty latching. Then later on, after my confinement mth, i latch her latch again and she is ok with it and likes to latch on esp in the later part of the day. u try lor.
Mine is usually ok and satisfied when i latch her so i didnt have to prepare EBM... i suppose every bb is different... u'll only know after a few trials and error.

KOng, your girl also quite big. Mine drinks around 100ml-140ml every 3 hrly except at night before she sleeps - if i bottle feed her, she will need more than 150ml cos after drinking 150ML, she still doesnt seem full and i will have to latch her on.
Who looks after your bb for u?

kk, re milk, mine still leaked milk 2 yrs after i stopped bf'g. i didnt think it was strange so i ignored it. later on i told my hub he panicked cos breast not supposed to lactate after so long and even suspected could be some growth in the brain (the pitutory gland or something like that) so asked me to go for a blood test, luckily blood test was ok.

mine was after 1 mth. but still, i dont latch her on all the time. when we r out, she will be bottle fed cos i still havent mastered the art of graceful latching.

tinklebell:
wow leak for 2 yrs. hmm, hv to be careful n monitor rite.

stephanie:
Perhaps u can try to latch ur baby, who knows she might take. for my case, its different. i hv been exclusively TBF my ger for 1st 2 mths since birth, i didnt pump at all n express it out for 1st 2mths. And also she is the one who causes my milk getting low after 2mths, cos e breasts sensed she drinking that amount n i take for granted never pump n ss decrease alot. Now i m back pumping n ss normal again n i oni latch her at nite. Agree that latching on helps to empty better than pump cos i actually dun like pumping out n my pumping skills is real lousy. usually after pump, i wil try to let her empty for me... i feel better in tis way.

Actually BFing is not easy, is tough n tiring.

Issit true that over 3 to 4mths time, the hormones which regulate the milk ss wil drop n thus milk ss wil slowly drop? true?

tinklebell, kite

if i were to let her latch on, do i still haf to express the excess after each latch on session. how to i maintain/increase the supply?

amy,
I think Jake wants you to carry... And he misses your warmth in your absence. That's why want you to carry when you are around. Maybe you carry him when he wants, and hopefully he will have had enough of the warmth from you. It will be very heartache to watch him cry leh...
For me, I think Aloysius got enough of my carrying ba... There's a time when I need to carry him from morning till nite... And do my housework and cooking with him in the sling. I read that babies want security, warmth and love, so they will want to be carried. And it's better to satisfy their emotional needs... I follow "attachment parenting" which can be seen as pampering baby here...

Yesterday, Aloysius woke up during his nap and I slept quietly beside him. He woke up to look around his surroundings and slept again after a while...
No need to pat or carry him... Maybe I have carried him enough ba...

lyn, yes - me too find it hard to let him cry. somedays, he is a good boy, will sleep by himself or pat pat him, he will sleep. some days, he can be bit sticky... want me to carry him to sleep. but my hubby does not approve of my action le

Stephanie:
yes u hv to pump out e excess if ur baby didnt finish nursing. Thus it wil send signal to your brain that your breasts is empty n thus more milk wil come in n faster.

But now ur milk ss already very good rite since u pumping at work n home?

do u hv msn? maybe can chat over there.

Kite

nope, coy doesnt allow msn

not true. milk ss will reduce if we pump exclusive. heard that latching is the best way to maintain ss.

lyn,
my baby's neck not stiff enuff yet can put in sitting position ah? Whenever I try to put her in pram i put in lying position then she will 'complain' one

Serene,
I also dont latch on my ger anymore liowz...have been only doing pumping for the past 3+ weeks. Now when i try to latch my ger she will choke n refuse cos i think the milk flow is too fast for her cos she is used to the bottle liowz

tinklebell,
seems like our babies big drinkers. My ger drink bout 100ml every 2 hr. If its 3 hr interval normally must give her at least 130ml then she will be full. For the last feed at nite i normally give her bout 130ml, if she is not full then will give her another 40ml which makes it bout 170ml. Haha. I've calculated she drinks bout 900-1000ml a day!

Stephanie,
Its not really true that ss will drop if u stop latching. I've stopped latching totally for bout 3+ weeks and only pump every 6 hrs but my supply seems to have increased a little woh

Celeste blur, wow... your gal drinks so much milk. my bb jake has been drinking less and less milk these few days, although he can take 180 ml for breakfast, 3 hrs later lunch - 180 ml. Tea time, about 140, dinner, about 150. In total only 650 ml (of cos, sometimes he cannot finish his milk). Then he goes to bed 7 pm to next morning 7 am. In between, I BF him once and feed him another 120 ml. So total intake in 24 hrs is only 700 ml. Less than your gal...

Sunflower: I latch on bb Jake during his nite feeds and early am feeds. From 9 am to his bedtime at 7 pm, he drinks by the bottle. Of cos, weekend it's a different story.

tinklebell,

Thks for the info. But frankly, I dun like the idea of expressing milk in office...i find it troublesome and embarassing! Becos my company is not a female friendly environment. Besides me, I've 2 male bosses and 1 driver. Yes, i'm the only female! This is one of the reason why i stop bfeedg! I think i'm not a good mummy! Besides, I'm using a manual pump, i had hard time with it that time. The electric one is so expensive. I'm not confident that i will make full use of it so didn't buy...

amy,

U had quite a good buy too at $540. Many out there are selling the list price $599 or $550 etc.

kk,

Me too, that time when i bf, my right breast also produce more milk than the left but i think i did not work real hard on bfeedg so i had never had any engorgement feeling before......that's why milk produce also not sufficient for my son.

amy,
its becos ur boy is very guai
he can sleep from 7pm till 7am in the morning tats y he drinks lesser milk. Mine will only sleep around 11pm and then at most she will sleep till 6am in the morning. There was once she broke record and drank 220ml in one single feed! Sometimes i also donno y they can suddenly drink a lot at one go. *lol*
Normally i bring my ger to the nanny i have to bring bout 600+ml of milk for the 12 hrs that she will be there. Most of the time she finishes all the milk and there wont really be any leftover...*pengz*

any idea where to get those cloth books - colour books.. my boy starts to stare at newspapers and magazine when we are reading.. heehee so thinkg of getting him some interesting & colour books.

duffybuff,

Are you interested to get softsound clothbook? These colour clothbook comes with sounds too! It's more interesting than normal clothbooks without sounds.

duffybuff, i saw some at MPH. quite nice... especially maisy.. very colorful. but i think the selection is wider at Kino.

sunflower,

I've already got reply from the mummy who's selling her bumbo for $55. She's not willing to let go at $30. Anyway, i'm alright, decided not to buy anymore since my son already 3 1/2 mths old now, soon he won't be able to fit into the bumbo...

serene, dun think she will let go at $30 if it's near new.
ya lor.. anyway, if brayden big size like Jake... 5 months cannot sit lo!

Celeste Blur

Not sure leh...my expressed supply seemed to be fluctuating....in the morning it is higher, in afternoon, slight reduction. Sometimes weekday, supply can be very low...weekend, slightly higher..not sure if its becos it is more stressful to pump in the ofc.

btw, how did you manage to increase your supply?

Ladies, do you know how to read the percentile thingy in the health booklet? My gal weighs 5.9kg at 3mths and Dr. Winston said she is under the 70th percentile ...what does it means?

Amy, my gal has been drinking lesser milk these days too. Wonder if she is teething or unwell ... she has crying quite a bit and LOUD when it's time for bed.

Duffy,
I got three clothbooks at home. I brough one from Kiddypalace. It is in red and black color and the brand is Kidstool. Less than S$10 bucks ... I hanged it in the crib and my gal like to grasp it and flip the pages and make noise. I tell my hubby that she is reading story to us whenever she does that. Quite funny.

Stephanie,
I also donno...i didnt take any extra things to increase the supply. But I realise one thing. If i drink more fluids then i get more milk.
Maybe u try drinking more water?
Stress might be one issue also. If u r stressed out then u might get lower supply. When i am very busy i get a slight decrease in supply too.

Paula,
I think as long as ur ger is above the 50th percentile should be fine

hi serene,
yes.. where to get them?

hi paula,
wonder if those u mentioned the same as serene.. so i can get it from kiddy palace ah.. ok will check it out.

tinklebell: hahaa, yah, big size baby girls we have !! My girl usually takes 140ml, but when i started work, i prepared 160 - 170ml (just in case) and she finished it !!! So she's taking 170ml each feed - abt 31/2 hrs each time.

Stephanie : Mine too, like less supply in the afternoon ... think it's stress and tiredness ...
Not sure what to take o increase ss ...

Amy: so good, your boy can sleep from 7pm ...
my girl will play till 9 plus then i try to put her to bed. Need to nurse her and rock her to sleepy and she will cry a little ...
wont go to bed till 11 plus ... I am like a panda ... cuz i sleep at 1 and have to wake up to nurse at abt 4 ish plus change diaper, and then 7 again for work ...

K Ong

My gal also sleeps ard 7.30 to 8 pm....then wake up for feed and nanny change at 10.30 to 11 pm....thereafter another feed at 4 plus.....i get to sleep from 11 pm, but still kena panda eyes, cos got to wake up at 1 am and 5 am to express...........

btw, when u change diaper at 4 plus, wld you baby become aroused and difficult to get back to sleep? some books suggested not changing during the nite

amy,

i think gentlerevolution is the official press in usa for glenn doman's products.. eg. flashcards and books.

The reason why its cheaper is due to 3 reason. First, its in us dollar, and transportation of the flashcards (heavy) had not been taken into consideration. Another reason is because the flashcard is normally the basic/deluxe package which is not exactly the same as the enhanced one by GDbaby. The enhanced one by GDbaby has cards with much bigger fonts and visual stimulation cards catering for younger babies with poor eyesight. The cards from gentlerevolution are significantly smaller... I have one set previously so I compared also. Plus there is less cards. However, in terms of quality of card itself, I think gentlerevolution definitely have a better quality.... the card used by GDbaby is of poorer quality from what I see. Last reason for major price difference is because local supplier did a fairly big price mark up I heard.