(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

tinklebell,
ya....still trying to get used to motherhood now. Imagine my sil now helping me with confinement from 8+am to 7pm everyday i oledi like no time to do much stuffs. My main duties only feeding my ger and washing n sterilising the bottles all these and jin busy liowz...cannot imagine after confinement how my life will be like...*sigh*

Paula,
okies, i will go n measure my ger when she wakes up...juz finished feeding her juz now....*sigh*

MOAP,
hmmzz...then i tink i might sell the cotton sling and get a silk one if i can handle the sling with bb well enuff once i get used to it

spicegal/cookiemz,
wow...so looks like all our babies are similar....wants ppl to play with them sometimes after feeding...*sigh*...but so busy with all these things where got time to play with her. Everytime after latching her on i will go n pump milk as EBM for her....where got time to play with her...*sigh*

cookiemz,
wow....not bad...u latch ur ger both sides 15mins each ur ger can sleep 5+hrs. I try to latch my ger and she suck n sleep on and off. If i wanna latch till she is full, i need at least 1 hr!
So now i set timing latch each side 15mins, so total 30mins of latching and give her ebm after tat to satisfy her...*sigh*

hello ladies,
do you let ur babies sleep on their tummies? i just tried it today and realised he sleeps better this way.

mspiggy:
today i just let my baby try slping on her tummy for awhile. dare not let her slp for so long, hv to keep watching her.

hi mummies:
i fully latching her n realised sometimes while drinking my milk, she wil choke at times. i read fr internet that its my milk forceful, let down too fast that she cant handle it n tend to choke. Any ways to handle tis?

btw yest my baby really freak me out. after finished latching her, she vomitted huge vol. of my BM b4 i burp her, so worried.

cos whenever she cries, i always let her drink. i suspect i overfeed her? or got wind?

cookiemz,
haha! i always complain to him that i hate to work mah... donno why that day he suddenly told me that next time i want i can be sahm. luckily he still loves his job too much to be a sahd...kekeke
but sahds are increasing in numbers nowadays hor :p actually would be gd if one of the parents can stay at home to look after the kids.
But then again, nowadays the expenses v high hor... esp with kids and maid.

tinklebell,

our line very stressful, always good to take a break
if you become SAHM, still can do freelance work, that's what i will probably do if i become SAHM. my hubby wan to be SAHD, but i doubt he can look after baby, he's not the hands on kind of dad, so i dun allow him to quit. haha...

okie.. going for my 6 wk postnatal checkup.

cookiemz,
how to do freelance? i work at home my boy will be keying in things into my spreadsheet when i am not looking... so frustrating!

cookiemz...i am no longer BF my gal...nipples too short to latch on also..

Celeste blur...just changed and fed my gal..pooed a lot and after changing immediately wanted milk...but she did not finish her milk only drank 30mls out of 90mls..then did not wan me to burp her...kept crying and showing that she wanted to sleep..pat her till asleep and put her down on mattress...now eyes open big big again..

mspiggy..ya my mum also say bb tend to sleep longer on their tummies...but better to do in the day only cos at night we will be too asleep to watch over her..scared she will turn her head halfway and kanna stuck face down on the mattress..

kite..sometimes she cries not becos she is hungry mah..sometimes she wants a change of diapers...sometimes too hot...sometimes too noisy..sometimes simply want people to carry...when my gal is hungry...she will breathe short and fast and open her mouth wide wide..then turn her head around like searching for nipple...

tinklebell & cookiemz...so good ah you can think of being SAHM...my hb dun earn a lot so i have to carry on working otherwise life will be quite tough...i loved to shop and buy things so cannot imagine life with only 1 income...sure cannot take it...

spicegal:
i just let my bb slp on tummy for awhile cos she keeps wanting to lift up her head, afraid strain her neck. so turn her over.

hmm when she cries, her mouth wil keep open n close action so i bo bian hv to latch her on immediately. So my mentality is when she wakes up crying w mouth action, she is feeling hungry.

sunflower:
me too stil deciding whether to highlight bcos of chemcials. e most wil trim my hair n steam my hair (hair treatment), hair treatment shldnt be a prob rite? me too. but once we at polyclinic, baby crying. we went to breastfeeding room n i BF her. hmm or if u got car, can do it inside car or private place. so how u intend to feed her in public?

Gina:
since u just deliver, dun pump first, fully 100% latch ur bb if possible to establish your milk ss first. after establish, then pump. my bb also got heat rashes. quite like quite common.

Paula:
wow u force her drink water, my hubby also force her but i never, i just let her be. my hubby said must train her drink else next time she wont like water. how u force her? lol
CCK kidslink is at CCK central if not wrong. me intend to bring her to see PD for her rashes on face.

Lok:
Hope u r doing well! wat is e weight of ur bb currently? so Dr. YC suggest u gg for natural?

zita27:
yes we need to pat or stroke unti burp else they wil puke one. Hv to be very patient, i bo bian also, sometimes very tired. sometimes i carry her n let her rest on my shoulder, she tend to burp in tis way.

Hello Kite,

i will be admitted tmr for priming then induction. Amniotic fluid getting seriously low but cervix still shut, so must try to open it up. Hopefully induction works but I have a feeling may end up C-section. BB's estimated weight is 3.38kg.

kite,
my boy also fuss alot like yours yesterday! also spitted out milk before whenever he cries i feed... overfeeding liao

my boy also keep lifting up his head... then i realised that must carry him till he half asleep then put him down to flip him over. works better.

spicegal,
yeah will only let him sleep on tummies in the day.

Lok:
hope u hv a smooth delivery, take care. Remember to post ur baby boy photo here n update ur birth experience
wat is priming btw? that time my fluid also low, thats y induce. e symptons of low fluid was my weight dropped n i suspect fluid low so went back to Dr. YC. wat is e level of fluid? mine tat time abt less than 5. Dun worry u can hv natural birth. ur bb is gd weight at 3.38kg but +/-. Bless u.

mspiggy:
mine also but not spit its more like puke. after puke seems hungry, cried again w mouth action n i latched her again. After latching, puke again, cry again n whole nite history repeat itself until 3am.
Btw e puke is b4 burping her. i really dunno wat to do.

kite,
milk flow alot, remember reading somewhere can try let bb be on top. but not easy position.

sometimes my boy choke also. then I try to shift his position to more upright instead of lying flat.

hair treatment is conditioning.. should be ok. sigh.. still not decided. may cut instead.

I thot of running to car to BF also. hee hee but imagine having to run to car each time. my boy is frequent drinker.
guess must learn to BF in discreet in public and be abit more thick skin! :p

btw usually u all change diapers after feed? i very probia to change after feed, abit she wil leak or puke milk even though i burp her n let her sit upright for 5 to 10mins.

sunflower:
wow on top position, how ah? usually i let her lie horizontal position while drinking. maybe i try adjust upright positon to prevent her fr choking.
bo bian hv to ren since my highlight all run out. maybe hv to nice cut first, so messy. hmm i also never buy any nursing tops or clothings. maybe can go exit hehe i was thinking of any places which is isolated n private. but of cos not rest room, not very hygenic.

Kite,

we are having the same problem leh... she will get choke when latching on...then every time cried and after feed puke out in large vol ...i also don no what to do leh.. imainge after she latch on i still can pump out 200ml of BM ..

i have tried out compass point nursing rm...what lau inside got no air-con...then somemore i think no cleaner clear the dust bin...and the whole rm stinks and stuffy... imagine i bf my bb with the smell of shit...and sweating like hell..

updated on 12 Jul.

<table border=1><tr><td>Mom's nick </TD><TD>Bb's nick </TD><TD>Bb's sex </TD><TD>Bb's DOB </TD><TD>Lovenest </TD><TD>Bb's PD </TD><TD>Jab @ ? </TD><TD>Milk - TBF or FM(Brand) </TD><TD>Pump use </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline </TD><TD>Celest </TD><TD>Female</TD><TD>26-May-06</TD><TD>Farrer Park</TD><TD>Dr Ong EK @ TMC SBCC</TD><TD>Jab @ PD</TD><TD>TBF</TD><TD>Medela Mini Ele </TD></TR><TR><TD>dor</TD><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>Female</TD><TD>04-Jun-06</TD><TD>Upper Thomson</TD><TD>Dr Terence Tan @ Mt A</TD><TD>Jab @ PD</TD><TD>BF + FM (Friso)</TD><TD>Medela Mini Ele </TD></TR><TR><TD>Duffybuff </TD><TD>Jeriel Tay</TD><TD>Male</TD><TD>01-Jun-06</TD><TD>Serangoon</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Jab @ Poly</TD><TD>BF + FM (Similac)</TD><TD>Medela Mini Ele </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fondue </TD><TD>Reuben </TD><TD>Male</TD><TD>23-Jun-06</TD><TD>Thomson Hills </TD><TD>Dr Ong EK @ TMC SBCC</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF</TD><TD>Medela PIS Adv </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel </TD><TD>Jared </TD><TD>Male</TD><TD>15-May-06</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Jab @ Poly</TD><TD>FM ( Dumex Mamil Gold)</TD><TD>Medela Mini Ele </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hidora</TD><TD>Isaiah</TD><TD>Male</TD><TD>20-Jun-06</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Dr Lim Kwang Hsian @ ESH</TD><TD>Jab @ PD</TD><TD>BF + FM</TD><TD>Avent Manual </TD></TR><TR><TD>i_panda77</TD><TD>Josh</TD><TD>Male</TD><TD>04-Jun-06</TD><TD>Bukit Timah</TD><TD>Dr Ang AT @ TMC</TD><TD>Jab @ PD</TD><TD>90% BF + 10% FM </TD><TD>Avent ISIS Uno </TD></TR><TR><TD>jojo </TD><TD>Vanny </TD><TD>Female</TD><TD>12-Jun-06</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Jab @ Poly</TD><TD>TBF</TD><TD>Medela Mini Ele </TD></TR><TR><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>James</TD><TD>Male</TD><TD>20-Jun-06</TD><TD>Old Airport Road</TD><TD>Dr Terence Tan @ Mt A</TD><TD>Jab @ PD</TD><TD>TBF</TD><TD>Avent ISIS Duo </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>Yu Jun</TD><TD>Female</TD><TD>21-Apr-06</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>Dr Ong EK @ TMC SBCC</TD><TD>Jab @ PD</TD><TD>FM (Wyeth Gold S26)</TD><TD>Medela Mini Ele </TD></TR><TR><TD>Missk </TD><TD>Kristanto </TD><TD>Male</TD><TD>08-Jun-06</TD><TD>JKT</TD><TD>Dr Yip YY @ GlenE</TD><TD>Jab @ GP</TD><TD>BF</TD><TD>Medela PIS Adv </TD></TR><TR><TD>MOAP</TD><TD>Ginelle</TD><TD>Female</TD><TD>23-May-06</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Jab @ PD</TD><TD>TBF</TD><TD>Avent Manual </TD></TR><TR><TD>msnanas</TD><TD>Caden</TD><TD>Male</TD><TD>03-Jun-06</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Jab @ Poly</TD><TD>TBF</TD><TD>Medela Mini Ele </TD></TR><TR><TD>mspiggy </TD><TD>Wesley </TD><TD>Male</TD><TD>13-Jun-06</TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD>Dr Koh @ SBCC</TD><TD>Jab @ PD</TD><TD>BF + FM (Frisco)</TD><TD>Ameda </TD></TR><TR><TD>MTDT</TD><TD>Zavier</TD><TD>Male</TD><TD>15-Jun-06</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>Dr Keoy SS @ TMC</TD><TD>Jab @ Poly</TD><TD>TBF (standby-Enfalac A+)</TD><TD>Medela PIS Adv </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mum2b</TD><TD>Felicia</TD><TD>Female</TD><TD>16-Jun-06</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>Dr Simon Ng @ Mt A</TD><TD>Jab @ PD</TD><TD>BF + FM</TD><TD>Medela Mini Ele </TD></TR><TR><TD>okipoki </TD><TD>Chloe </TD><TD>Female</TD><TD>20-Jun-06</TD><TD>Dover</TD><TD>Dr Lee CY @ Mt A</TD><TD>Jab @ PD</TD><TD>BF + FM</TD><TD>Medela Mini Ele </TD></TR><TR><TD>Paula </TD><TD>Kelly </TD><TD>Female</TD><TD>05-Jun-06</TD><TD>CCK Cres</TD><TD>Dr Sam @ KKH TPS</TD><TD>Jab @ GP</TD><TD>BF + FM (Similac)</TD><TD>Medela Mini Ele </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohy </TD><TD>joelle </TD><TD>Female</TD><TD>22-May-06</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>Dr Terence Tan @ Mt A</TD><TD>Jab @ GP</TD><TD>BF + FM (Enfalac A+)</TD><TD>Medela Mini Ele </TD></TR><TR><TD>soh1dful</TD><TD>Darrell</TD><TD>Male</TD><TD>30-May-06</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>Dr William Yip @ GlenE</TD><TD>Jab @ PD</TD><TD>BF + FM</TD><TD>Avent Manual </TD></TR><TR><TD>Spicegal </TD><TD>Jerica Ong Ke Yu </TD><TD>Female</TD><TD>08-Jun-06</TD><TD>Jurong Eest</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Jab @ GP</TD><TD>FM ( Similac)</TD><TD>Medela Mini Ele </TD></TR><TR><TD>syen27 </TD><TD>Brian </TD><TD>Male</TD><TD>23-May-06</TD><TD>Pasir Ris</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Jab @ PD</TD><TD>TBF</TD><TD>Avent Manual </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tinklebell </TD><TD>Fiona </TD><TD>Female</TD><TD>15-Jun-06</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD>Dr Keoy SS @ TMC</TD><TD>Jab @ GP</TD><TD>TBF</TD><TD>Ameda </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

moap - i read tat to prevent bb from puking milk, hold bb at 30-45 degrees angle for abt 30mins.

btw anyone been to kidslink clinic @ SK? wonder how's the PD there. heard tat their 6-1jab package is only $400 (including consultation fees) price seems quite ok.

kite
read from book:
"You lie flat on your back and place baby on your abdomen at the breast so that he has to suck uphill. as the rate of flow slackens to normal you can then raise yourself to usual position."
I've never tried this. - thought abit too tough.

or maybe if pump out a bit first can ease the milk flow pressure?

kite,

priming is to try and get the cervix to efface which I think is the stage before dilation. Cervix very stubborn!! My fluid level is only 2.9cm, that's why YC is worried.

mspiggy:
yaloh but i tink i dun intend to give any gripe or pearl powder to my ger.

MOAP:
Ya u r not alone. Just now my ger vomitted all my BM again. I see my BM all over my bed n floor, so wasted
sigh. ur ger vommitted is b4 or after burp? how fast she finished drinking? she finished drink quite fast abit 5 to 10mins n i can see alot of milk ard my aerola n then next she vomit all e big vol of milk once finish n just b4 i wanted to burp her.
i m getting worried so i wil be visiting the PD soon. u?

MTDT:
my ger vomit even b4 burp. once burp, she got no problem liao. but its b4. tats y worry. its like all the milk she suck, all vomit out like merlion.

sunflower:
actually initially i did pump but nowadays very lazy n busy so no pump, prefer direct latch so that she got more to drink but e more she has to drink, like more problems. sigh

Lok:
2.9 is very low. mine tat time abt 4.5. Ok u take gd care of urself. hv a smooth delivery.

spicegal:
Thanks wil see u on tis sat
gd that u hv started learn how to bath. me stil hvnt, gg to learn soon. Too tiring n busy to start now.

Okipoki:
as for the papaya soup u must take 3 days continuously. i hv been drinking daily or on alternate days as sometimes not easy to find unripe green papaya. u can also drink milo, warm plain water. more fluids intake wil help. just continue latch ur bb on, it wil help stimulate ur milk. my colleagues never comment on e food, oni on packaging.

gina:
my ger bath once in morning n at nite wil wipe her body n face n change to her nite wear. try to wipe her w soft cloth after each feed. my bb got alot of rashes on face too.

kite,

same lor. just before burp...mine also 5mins to 1o then she will unlatch and i carry her up for burp then she will look like merlion puke out all the BM..i aready bring her see PD a few times then never say anything leh.. i think my gal even worst then yours leh... her milk cum out frm nose also.

moap &amp; kite - after unlatch, how u carry bb for burp?

try to dun do big movements...
put bb on 30-45degrees first. suppose to let milk go down. after bb settle down, then raise bb up to burp. try to keep the back straight. easier to burp.

my bb also hv lots of heat rashes on his forehead/face/eyes!!! how? cali bb cream is the answer? where to get?

MOAP:
oh dear, come out fr nose ah. i think our ger drinks alot. how old is ur ger now? mine is 5th wk old. it just happened yest, so scary. tink our gers drink alot or fast drinker n results in puking like merlion? so wat i was thinking, maybe we shall stop 1/2 way n burp her n then let her continue drinking. but if i interrupted 1/2 way, she wil scream for milk one. difficult to burp also. sigh. when did ur ger's case start?

Sarong Slings :
I came across this info on non-adjustable slings. Item 1 looks good. Anyone wants to share the 'buy 1 get 2nd 1 at 50% discount' promotion with me?

1) Reversible sling but non adjustable. Buy 1 and get 2nd one at 50% discount. http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/BabyHugz-baby-toddler-REVERSIBLE-pouch-sling-carrier_W0QQitemZ220002944475QQihZ012QQcategoryZ3068QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

2) Non adjustable sling. Buy 1 and get 1 free.
http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/New-BabyHugz-baby-toddler-sling-native-pouch-carrier_W0QQitemZ220004639750QQihZ012QQcategoryZ117031QQrdZ1QQcmdZVie

Another web site also has non-adjustable slings but more expensive. http://www.gothemilkyway.com/shopdisplayproducts.asp?id=331&amp;cat=Slings

MTDT:
today even i was so gentle n caution in holding her upright fr latching, she also blah like merlion. ok wil try put bb 30 to 45 degree, for how long ah then start burping? yes i also realised keeping her back straight easier to burp. usually how u burp ur baby? me either stroke upwards and pat pat pat. or either put on my shoulder n burp, easier.

basically my baby's whole face rashes, heartpain. eh i heard tis cream helps as read fr forum, not sure how true. i also duno where to purchase tis cream.

spicegal:

i cant view e 2nd one.

tis one looks very sweet but quite ex. Tis material is made of cotton, wil it be hot for baby? i see using sling like not easy, like must hv skill to use. so when baby hungry, want to feed, no need to take her out fr e sling rite?
http://www.gothemilkyway.com/shopexd.asp?id=360

btw initially i was thinking want to buy a sling but then my colleague gave me a red carrier as a gift. Perhaps can consider.

hi mtdt
here's my bb's particulars:
Mom's nick:gina
Bb's nick: Yu Xuan
Bb's sex:M
Bb's DOB:30 June 2006
Lovenest : Tampines
Bb's PD: none at the moment
Jab @ Polyclinic
Milk - EBM and FM(Friso)
Pump use: Medela PIS

hi kite and all
my bb also puke if drink 90 ml of milk... so this 2 days reduce to 60 ml and he doesn't puke liao... he can puke while sleeping... the milk curds wud keep falling out of his mouth... yeah i saw my CL hold bb face to face at 45 degrees armslength, rub him on the back and keep talking to him softly... side ways hard to burp... i havan tried the put on shoulder way yet.
my bb's heat rash mainly on his neck... face got some milk spots... so now i wipe his moth after every feed wigh boiled water. CL says cannot bathe newborn more than once a day so in the evening i also wipe bb up but i find it quite tedious cos he will cry... and in th end sweat more... i findtalcum powder quite soothing for bb so i apply on his neck and chest and groin area after wiping him. makes him dry and cooler... his urine yellowish so i guess he is heaty fron the FM or from my confinement food (EBM). my mum say to feed bb water, i will try feed 10 ml to help him get rid of heatiness...
as for latching on, i got one short nipple and one inverted, bb quite frustrated when i try to latch him on so have to esort to expressing. today i only express twice cos got visitors and my schedule is interrupted..

2mr starting massage with maya, hope she is really good. i signed up 5 sessions 1sxt. if good then carry on.

kite:
can try burp your ger between feeds?

anyone of you started using the sarong sling lready? my friend told to practise using a soft-toy.

I have to start practising using it to BF my boy
soon so that when out will be easier to BF.

spicegal,
i'm very tempted to buy the sling too. I also like the reversible sling. quite unique and compared to MIM sling, it looks less cumbersome to use. Only thing is whether it is durable or not. R u buying?

gina,
u also going for the massage with maya? enjoy yourself

kite,

u can purchase the California bb cream from www.littledreamers.com.sg. They shld be able to deliver within a few days if there's stock or visit their showroom directly. If u are a member of Breastfeeding Mothers Support Group (BMSG), there's a 5% discount. The other brand u can consider is GAIA (www.gaia.com.sg) which I heard is good for bb with sensitive skin as it's organic and not very harsh.

Yah, 2.9 is very low. Actually YC ask me to admit yesterday but hubby very bz so choose today instead.

Ref: vomitting of milk
I checked the booklet that was distributed by SSBC during Dr Ong EK's talk as part of TMC's antenatal class. Quote fr pg 13 "You should consult your doctor if he has excessive spitting associated with poor weight gain. Recurring vomiting of more than half the milk feed, more than 2-3 times a day, is not normal and should be seen by the doctor".

tinklebell, i will buy if i can get someone to share the promo with me. cos i like the non- adjustable design, so much easier to put on as compared with MIM.

Are you interested? Its $48 per sling, 2nd sling 50% off at $24 plus $5 delivery charge. Total is $77 for 2 slings.