(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

medusa,

how to see if the piles is of what degree ??

my gynae prescribed proctosedyl and it helps.. i took daflon too... and i also apply some anusol ointment to make sure it lubricates and do not become inflammed

Dor,
Yea loh. We will be moving to back to my inlaws place in August ... so tat my MIL could take care of the little one in daytime and me during nighttime.

Paula,
I also dunno leh. Its a new piece of flesh grow in between the tear. I suspect its due to the stitches din close the epi wound properly. Already 5 wks ler and I still couldn't stand or walk for more than 5-10mins coz its get sore down there. He told me monitor, if still the same after a period of time, I can go back to him to cut that piece out. Then gotta spend $ again..

Gina,
Your CL dun stay overnight ar.. How much you pay her?

BFing mummies,
do you notice if your breast skin is very dry?
I find mine is

maybe too much massaging & hot towel massage.
any idea if there is any cream we can use that is safe?

Hi Paula, oop only 2 pack S, is ok then u will need it wan.. do u hve the contact to order? can PM me?

regarding UTI can see normal GP right?

dor...

dr terence tan was the PD that did the check for both my children in the hospital. But for vaccination, I bring them to my family doc GP... much cheaper.. consultation also cheaper
Both my children took the 6-in-1 jab

I dun really wanna go back to terence tan for jabs because the queue is simply too long. No point and it will subject the children to unnecessary exposure in the clinic while waiting. And the jabs are the same everywhere hehe.. i only bring them to PD when they are very sick.

hi gina,
so coincident.. my bb boy chinese name oso Yu Xuan.

re: BF/ BM
i oso hv problem with not enough BM. so far, out of the 6-8feeds/ day, i only gave BM for 3-4 feeds.. the rest all FM. i hv decided not to fret over the BM issue & make myself so stress. so long as i hv,i'll give. if really dun hv, then no choice. but at least my bb still hv the chance of hvg BM.

missk/ tinkle,
though there's saying that it's no good to giving pacifier but i hv no choice & resorted to giving my bb one in the 4th wk. i only give so to avoid giving our nipple as pacifier. lucky thing is that so far he only suckle pacifier only before he goes to sleep. and when he's abt to fall asleep, he'll spit the pacifier out. at times, when we give him, he doesn't even want.

hello ladies,
is your babies drinking alot now?

my boy just 1 mth... he drinks 110ml every 2 hr. is it too much? coz he will spit some if he doesnt burp well.

Paula..yah i am sharing the nepia order with kite...already call to place my order..delivery will be tomorrow afternoon...

Gina..bb Yu Xuan handsome leh...

Kite...nepia already ordered...c ya on sat..btw i started to bathe my gal this week...but my mum will stand by to watch and give instructions...

Mspiggy...wow your boy drinks so much...my gal is 1 mth 3 days old and she is drinking 90mls every 3 hours...

Just brought my gal to see GP downstairs...her BCG jab at the backside has an infection...now red and swollen like a pimple...doctor gave me an antibiotic cream to apply...no wonder she is super cranky today...sob sob

hi mummies, popping by to say hi...

spicegal... my bb's BCG jab also red and swollen like a pimple. i have been ignoring this and tot it's normal. should i see a GP? is this why bb jake is so cranky these few days?

anyone knows how many nepia seals do we need to exchange for the $10 NTUC voucher? I have used 4 bags of nepia NB, threw away the bags without cutting out the seal...

amy, according to the GP...its infection with pus..if its only a red dot on the backside its normal...but today the red dot turn whitish and the surrounding area is red & swollen like a pimple...my gal is very cranky today and always cry very loud...she is usually not like that...i think the infection is painful..i see liao very heartpain..

tinklebell,
My boy just keep showing me he wanna suck. My sis carry also search for her nipple.. lol... my hubby carry, also search for his nipple... hahaha...

amy, spicegal,
My boy also like that! His BCG site red and swollen like pimple and keep crying and crying... then wanna carry to sleep wor...

medusa,
yalor.. pump and massage, pump and massage.. initially I thought no more milk already. But after resting for a while, lots of milk came out...

I also had piles. What's the symptom for stage 4 that warrant surgery?? At one point when I was super duper stress at work, my piles got so bad that blood can keep dripping till like menses. But now ok already. But I feel like getting rid of it.

sunflower,
Maybe it's the water that caused the dry skin? I dun use hot towels. Only massage and pump...

hi mspiggy,
did yr bb cry for milk or u feed him when 2hr interval? if u feed him based on time then u can try to feed him only when he cry for milk? like u said, it can oso be becos of burping, try to burp him longer.. no choice lor, hv to be patient.

lyn...ya my gal today also..crying during feed...crying during bath, crying when diapers wet...crying when sleepy..super cranky lor...so after i saw the swollen patch immediately bring her see doctor..very kiasee mummy...

spicegal... my boy also crying non stop... yesterday from 7 am till 7 pm only slept 30 mins. have to carry, also cry. give milk, din wanna drink from bottle, only want breast. wonder how he can cope after i go back to work...

amy...you have to start training your boy to drink from bottle liao...cos i heard some bb not used to drinking from bottle..in the end starve for whole day when the mum go back to work...very poor thing lor..

My gal is usually not so cranky..she is like that today cos i think the infection is giving her pain...that's why she is crying so much...

moap...you have to monitor your bb's feeding..if she is asking for milk more frequent than usual...maybe you can slowly increase her intake...my gal used to drink 60mls every 3 hourly during the 1st 2 weeks...until 2 weeks ago when she cries for milk every 2 hours..then i up the milk to 90mls and now she is back to 3 hourly feed time..

kite,
well, i hv tried to rest as much as possible & hopefully the supply will increase. i tried to drink the longan tea as much & eat as much fish too. However, my gynae said the papaya soup actually doesnt work.. probably can try lor

ohyah, we cant eat any choco yet hor but ur friends didnt comment anything on that ? The packaging is indeed very nice

gina
hmm epi wound on ur back or the stitches u are refering to ? u shld continue to eat ur painkiller cos the nurse told me is ok eventho' if we bf. i think life without my CL is really tough i can imagine that. Ehh ur CL is local is it ? by right is advisable for u to rest more... is true.

hello MOAP

My son is 1month and 4 days. He's drinking abt 100ml EBM. Tonight, I will give him 120 ml because nanny says that it's not enuff for him. I am not sure about the amount to give. Is there a table we can refer to?

spicegal,
My boy drink milk halfway also will cry... carry also cry... sometimes I tot it's the pain kind of cry, but I did not know where pain. I thought tummy pain. Maybe it's the BCG site pain.

amy,
Gotta start to give bottle as soon as possible. I am thinking of pumping and bottle feed once a day... At least, someone else can help to feed when I am not free or not around...

duffy,
my boy will cry for milk. i feed on demand but then i also scared will be too much for his little stomach.

Found this fr the TMC childcare book:

Age Feed/ml No of feeds per day
0-1 wk 30-60 7-8
1-2 wk 60-90 6-7
2-4 wk 90-120 5-6
1-2 mths 120-150 5
2-3 mths 180 5
3-4 mths 210 5
4-5 mths 210 4
5-6 mths 240 4
Abv 6 240 3

mine is coming to 1 mth and she has been drinking on average 120ml every 3 hrs since last week... but if i dont give she yells non stop!! so cannot follow by the book also

hiaz... i also wonder how to cope when i go back to work.

hi duffybuff
hey so coincident...
do u call your bb by name? i call mine bb haha...
msnans/okipoki
my CL local, engaged fron agency coz the m'sian one i booked earlier played me out shortly b4 i delivered loh...
this local one costs $1900, $500 pay agency, the rest poy nanny when her job done... exp i know, some more she works from 9 to 6, like office hrs, never stay overnight... now i regret cos after 6 i very jia lat... but now better coz my boy wakes up on average 2x at night to feed and change... in the 1st week, he would wake 3, 4 times and cry, v stress...

now my epi wound pain bearable, i think my gynae cut away my piles when sh mend my epi wounds cos now i dun feel the piles there, just that my anus muscles a bit lax... feel kinda strange... but now i dun bleed when i pass motion, unlike b4 giving birth my piles always bleed after i go loo...

feeding wise, my bb drinks abt 60ml, but last 2 days he suddenly drinks up to 90ml, but vomit milk after that... so now i give him 60ml 1st, then if he wants more, make another 30ml for him. i follow the TMC feeding guide closely. so now bb 2nd week can drink up to 90ml loh...

bb's heat rash on the neck seems like getting worse... dunno how, CL says bb under 1 month cannot bathe twice else easy to catch cold, so i just wipe and change him in the evening...

my breaastmilk ss getting lower, only can pump 3 times, morning i can get 70ml, afternoon only 50ml... but i will persist.

spicegal,
yeah eveeryone say bb yan dao but my MIL says my hubby also handsome when he was a baby but when grow up so ugly wahhhahaha :p hope my Yu Xuan stays hunky even when he becomes a man

Hi kite,
Yes, 2 days b4 my CL left, i already tried bathing my baby, so far so good. Luckily my bb was big enough, so makes it easier for me to bathe him.

Hi tinklebell,
Hasn't chat with u for so long, how are you so far? How's your massage? Yr wound should be fully recovered by now yah? The PD prescribed detinox colic drop for my son. I hope it helps, just start taking it yesterday... Since last monday, i've gone to my mum's place every morning and only come home every nite. At least at my mum's place, she helps me, i can steal some sleep in the afternoon, also my meals are well taken care of. But i think i will stay home myself next week onwards. Everyday was busy and i'm not home, so didn't log on recently. When i got home at nite, has to bring baby to bed, wash laundry, steralize the milk bottles etc...

Duffybuffy,
Yea, I told myself not to fret over the lack of BM issue too but whenever I look at the little one, there is this maternal instinct in me that wanted her to have the best and in this case, breast milk. Hence, I do feel guilty at times. I wrote to the breastfeeding organization seeking for advice and they advised me to continue with the 3 hours pumping session and milk will come back after one week.

MsPiggy,
My girl is 5 weeks old. I fed her 80ml if she wants her feed every 2 to 2.5 hours and 90ml if she wants her feed at 3 hours.

Spicegal, Amy,
My gals BCG site also has an infection. There was discharge. When I called KKH, they told me its normal. Abnormal is when the site is really reddish and baby is having a fever.

Amy,
I didnt know that we could exchange Nepia seals for voucher lei.

Serene,
I was thinking of going to my inlaws place daily when my CL leaves me this week ... but the distance is really long and I'm not too sure if I can handle the little one by myself when I'm driving.

Seems like the May thread mummies are fretting over the issue of who's going to take care of babies after they returned to work ... I get headache wheneever I think of this issue.

Serene,
do u know if Dentinox colic drops is avail over-the-counter/ suitable for self-medication?
My boy seems v. colicky- tried auto swing, human hands (all the different carrying styles that's supposed to soothe!), music (the kind that's *supposed* to soothe bbs!). He only calms when he comfort-suckles, but it makes him worse after I unlatch cos he's *too* full/ too much air in him too!

He's 3+wk old, been giving 1ml Gripewater since 1+wk (tho not supposed to give under 1mth). These 2 days I'm tearing my hair out- giving him 1ml morning and night! We use ruyi oil as well as massage him whenever he's awake and calm.

Colic crying is v. frustrating.

Hi Serene,
The massage is good! Tummy feels trimmer but only lost 1kg.
Been busy this week helping my office pp close their accounts
half a day will be on the computer accessing office network.. sian... but things more or less finally settled.

Next week will be my turn to tear out my hair after CL leaves. My maid came last week. So far so good and helpful.

My girl also seems colicy. Hub says her tummy got a lot of air. I've asked him to get Infacol/ Dentinox to standby just in case she gets inconsolable.

Paula,
I'm also thinking of buying a MIM sling. Still thinking wh color to get.

Tinklebell,

The Beige Stripe color seems to be the most neutral ... my hubby can use it too. Thinking of buying it from Kiddypalace cos I might be entitled to 10% discount

Hi Paula,

taking care of baby is always a headache when we have to go back to work. so many things to consider and so many pple's feelings to take into account too :p

i will be putting my baby at my parents place and bringing her home every evening after work. i;ve started to do so since my CL left so that both baby and grandparents can get used to the arrangement. not too sure if my inlaws will feel that my parents are hogging the baby... but they stay so far away and are too elderly to take care of baby and my new maid is Very incompetent.. can't trust her to handle the baby alone at inlaws place

i bought a similar sling but could not get the hang of using it properly. my baby split a seam when i put her into the sling, so i'm abit apprehensive of its sturdiness. my mum said i look like a maid with the sling on!!! *@#$

Paula,
I was told to get the cotton range cos it is lasting. But i kind of like the sateen range. H/e, my friend told me it is not so practical cos the sling sometimes can slip out of the ring since the material is the slippery kind. I'll see how it goes. I have another sling...cant rem the brand ...Born something ... but that design is quite ugly so have not used it when i am outside.

hi tinklebell,

you still need to do closing during your confinement? wah.. lucky my office did not make me go back to help in the quarter closing, they hinted but i acted blur.. haha

how's your maid so far? mine is a gone case, i'm bringing her back to the agent once my 2nd maid comes in. sigh.. new set of problems

tinklebell,

my sling is bright pink, not batik.. i think my mum only see maids carrying toddlers in slings that's why she said i look like a maid when i tried it on