(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hi carebear
thanks now i know gotta sterilise almost everything... tiring, me been washing and washing this few days... yeah think all in this thread have popped except me heee... my EDD last day of June.

okipoki,
Do you massage and pump? Gotta massage and pump, massage and pump... then will make the breasts soft after pumping.
I feed my boy Friso-Soy. Only managed to finish 1/3 of a small tin. Gotta throw away soon.. cos he's now on TBF

Mum2B,
As baby drinks, the milk will leak and leak, then I know I got lots of milk for him. Sometimes when he "lost" my nipples, I can see jets of milk coming out and keep leaking. I find latching baby on will have more milk than pumping.
Baby will be sucking and swallowing also when there's milk. Gotta keep on latching on. If you want to increase further, I find that pumping on top of latching on is a good way. But gotta pump every few hours religiously. I pumped to stimulate even there's no milk. I massage and pump till there's milk...

poohmum,
Your wound got pus? Becareful wor.. If you got fever, better see your gynae immediately. Do you clean your wound daily?
I clean my wound and apply cream daily. It's better to cover the wound with waterproof dressing before shower to avoid water getting to the wound...

missk,
You going to KL without baby? hee... it's very nice to shop in KL too
Enjoy your shopping...
I think my boy is drinking more now. He can suck my breasts from hard till soft now.. lol... and suck for half an hour each feed. When I pump from hard till soft, I can get about 100ml... So I suppose he can drink 80-100ml.
Do you wanna join in the list?? I just realised you are not in the list.. Or maybe I have missed out your post.. What is your bb's date of birth, EDD,Weight, name, which hospital?

Gina,
Very soon you will see your baby already
End of June is coming
Have you got everything ready? Packed your hospital bag?

You going to KL without baby? hee... it's very nice to shop in KL too :) Enjoy your shopping...
I think my boy is drinking more now. He can suck
Hi Lyn

Wow ...100ml from each breast? Cool. I still can't attain that. I feel that my MS is rather low today. I dunno why. When you talk abt massaging and pumping, do you stop the machine then massage then pump again? Sometimes, my MS stops after 7 mins. How infuriating!

My bb is born on 8th June 2006. EDD: 26th June 2006. Weight: 2.76kg. Name: Jechoniah Kristanto. Hospital: GlenE.

missk,

I massage first before pumping. Then when I am pumping, I hold the pump in one hand, and massage using the other hand too.

There's once when I was pumping, there's no milk at all, not even a single drop. Then I pump and massage repeatedly, suddenly lots of milk came out in jets.. lol... I was surprised...

Oh, you also gave birth in Gleneagles. Did you attend Sister Hor's breastfeeding class? I follow her massaging method. hee... I was still at Gleneagles on 8 June... lol... I was discharged on 9 June...

I have updated the table

hi lyn,
thanks for the advice. indeed it's v tiring to pump every 3 hrs on top of latching. sometimes cannot tahan n just too tired n end up v little milk wen pumping. it's my day 9, n my milk is still v miserable. pumping for 45 mins (for both breast) until nipple enlarged n sore n only got 10-30 ml

re: baby ddry peeling skin
is it normal? what to do, can apply baby lotion/oil or must by vaseline?

re: baby girl's v discharge
for mommies w/ bb girl, how do u clean bb's v? my bb has lots of whitish discharge in between the v lips, n been trying to clean w/ water when bathing her. but problem is no enough time to clean completely as she gets chilly n crying if left naked in the bathtub too long.

btw, what time do u gal bath ur bb? do u set a fixed schedule?

missk,

Today is my day 5 & managed to pump abt 40ml on both sides. But was pretty painful lor... I will try tonite see if the supply will increase or not

Lyn,
Yup did massage but not sure did i do it correctly or not.. but how offen do u pump ?? every 3 hrs or as & when ??
So envy u can TBF ur boy... wonders when will it be my turn

mum2be,

i bathe my girl when she wakes up every morning, before her first feed for the day. I dun bathe her for the rest of the day because scared she regurgitate her milk.

Then in the evening i will wipe her body once, and same thing around 9 pm when i am changing her into her long sleeve shirt for sleep

Hmmm, for cleaning her vagina.. what i do is i just wash thoroughly during bathe. Then every time i change her pampers, i will wipe with wet wipes. If poo, then will wipe with wet wipes, followed by cotton wool in warm water. Then apply nappy rash cream. Actually she only poo 1 or 2 times a day so this is only done 1-2 times a day

Hmmm my girl dun have the white discharge at all.

Hi KK

does your gal regurgitate her milk often?
My son seems to throw out his milk and it usually occurs whenever i am feeding him. My mom and mom in law doesnt seems to have such "problem"...makes me feel so sad..wonder if its me or its so "qiao" ...now i got abit of "feeding" phobia..very scare feed him he threw out again..

A lot of bb love NUK but not suitable for my girl leh.. it leaks.. sigh, i bought NUK bottles and all giving to friend liao.. luckily pigeon steriliser came with 2 free milk bottles.. and my girl accepts them.. so now i stick to pigeon wide necked bottles liao.

soh,

Dun worry dun worry.. it is the opposite.. i feed no problem.. my hubby feed lotsss of vomiting out hahaha.. my mil feed also sometimes got vomiting :p

When u feed, make sure the whole neck of the bottle is covered with milk. So that air won't get into bb and he won't vomit out milk easily liao

For mine, i think she has umbilical hermia, so tends to lead to spitting out of milk due to weak stomach valves. But if she dun drink too much and sit in upright position for long and doesn't stretch and "gek" herself too much, everything is ok

Hi KK

haiz..that is my son prob lor..he likes to stretch, scream, kick and gek...then for me who has not handle bb b4..bor experience on how to handle him properly...maybe that adds to him throwing out..

Sometimes i will wonder if my mil thinks i am stopid anot...how come feed my son he vomit..makes me so stress..(T.T)

hi msnanas
I remebered on 3rd, i wanted Henry to induce me. But Sharon said he is goin for a emg opt. so i didnt go n see him lor.. keke. hey which ward did u stay? me at 325B. mayb we hv meet each other, did u attend any classes huh..keke.

I dun think u r the lady sleepin beside me cos she comes in later than me and she snores all the way thruout the sleep....hahaha

My ger is takin Friso. Sharon's bb also takin that. She said is good, so i followed lor..keke. Urs is a boi or ger huh.

okipoki
how is ur massage? good not.. keke. My ger is usin Nuk teats lei. But i find the flow quite fast or she suck real hard. Me thinkin to change to Avent lei...keke. It really leaks huh. Mayb i tried later.

mum2be

my mom bathe my ger after she wakes up. sometime she is fed before bathin time, so i wait abt 45 min to bathe her.

for the white discharge, there is initially. but now dun hv already. i use those cotton bud dipped w water n tenderly clean there. same as kk, if she poo, will use wet wipes n then cotton wool w water to clean .

hey kk
does ur ger sweat alot? mine hor.. every feed, the back of her head wet. haha.
u still got change her into long sleeve, u on aircon izzit. my ger wear the same clothes till nxt bath lei... sometimes, she got the sweat smell, i put baby powder..LOL
now when she drinks hor, she will cough once or twice or when burp also lei. i m not sure if she is hvin cough not... i see her cough n her face gek till so ke lian, me see liao, so heartpain lei.

hey gals

re: rashes
does u gers hv rashes or itchiness on leg n hand after delivery. I dun noe why i kenna lei. now hor, my leg very ugly
got scar liao...

soh,

Be confident and u will do well!! Heeee.. u know, when i first start bottle feeding my bb, i dun even know where to put the teat in her mouth.. and my holding position of the bb is wrong i think.. my hubby corrected so many things. He started bottle feeding earlier than me.

Dun be stressed out by ur MIL!! I know, they are always constantly observing us, DILs! So just hide all flaws and show them u can make it

Dor,

Friso really have great service. They sms me once say they wanted to deliver the sample to me. I thought they wanna make house visit, so i replied say i dun intend to switch milk powder at the moment. Yesterday one lady called again and said they will send one sample over. She updated all my particulars and say if any queries can call them directly to ask
She mention friso is not made from coconut. That makes me wonder some other milk powder comes from coconut??

Haha, definitely!! My girl sweat a lot, especially during hot weather. She sleep, and when she wake up, i carry her her sweat will make my arm wet. And i think sometimes she is tooo hot, so cry. She prefer the master bedroom as i suspect it is cooler.. me feel the same way too.

Ya, i on air con in the room heee.. but even if we dun on air con, only on fan, we will still change her into long sleeves. We feel that night time may be cold and also to signal to her that it is night time soon, so she better sleep early hahahaa...

Oh u got put baby powder? Actually not advisable to put leh.. PD also say cannot put.. scared the powder goes into the nose, then the lungs. So must be very careful if u are using bb powder

Wahahha.. my girl cannot wear the same clothes to sleep lah.. she spit milk until smelly smelly leh :p i cannot tahan when she sleep beside me that time haha.. now she sleep on her own on the mattress, so her smell dun disturb me that much liao :p

Sometimes my girl also cough as she drinks.. she choke lor.. but after 1-2 times ok liao.. she cough, she dun really gek lor.. hengzz yoo..

Ohhh this morning lor.. i itchy fingers, want to test out whether pigeon Y teats can be used on her.. in the end she cough and drink until so pitiful heee... so i got to change back to S teats which she has been using.

OHHH u remind me.. no wonder my legs so itchy right after delivery.. but luckily, during confinement only and it is during the period i dun bathe hahahaha.. so i thought because lots of dirt, that's why itchy :p

missk,
The M'sia sale is in Aug i think.

Mum2B,
The dry peeling skin is it on the head and eyebrows? If so, apply bb lotion overnite and wash it off the next day.
If its on the body, then can ignore it. Its normal.

Dor,
In the morning, I was moved to 324B while waiting for the single bedded to be avail. Were u already staying in 325B that morning? Maybe we were really sleeping next door! haha
448795.gif

I couldn't attend the classes coz I was too weak and phobia of excessive bleeding again!
448796.gif

My CL did told me that if bb sweat till his clothes is wet or damp, best to change it else will fall sick easily.

Mummies:
Do your bb get choke very often?
My boy always get choke when I BF him and also by his own saliva!

Morning ladies !!

Dor,
The massage was good, see later when i remove the wrap whether tummy will go smaller or not

Haiz, my ger kept crying the whole nite.. drink very fast & alot..worst she doesnt want to burp.. then cries. I pity my CL leh..

Good morning ladies!

Mum2b,
What pump are you using? I am using Medela mini electric. I find it very good and easy to use.
I apply baby lotion for the peeling skin.

Okipoki,
Dun worry too much
Jia you oo! On my day 5, I had bad engorgement but dunno need to pump, then on day 6, my supply went down till no more engorgement and baby not satisfied after latched on. I supplement with Friso-Soy till Day 9K It was very painful to pump initiallyK Now, I find latching on even more pain than pumpingK

Dor,
My mum will bathe my boy after his feed. I tried to follow what was taught at the hospital to bathe before feeding. But my boy will cry and kickK So now I feed him first, then bathe, then he will guai guai enjoy his bathK
I have itchiness too. But on my neck and tummyK I think its due to the heat. Last week, I got rashes on my neck and breasts. I think I might be sensitive to the herbs for bathingK

hey lyn

No, what a pity. I didn't attend the class. I would want to learn the correct method of massaging. I dunno what to do, so I just kept pressing on my breasts. Perhaps I would look for her when I send my son for HepB check-up.

I just expressed my milk. So sad, only abt 30 ml from both breasts. Btw, what's your time interval between each pumping session?

lyn,
thanks for the advise... this morning my ger cried very loud.. trying to latch her but she "rejected" me
My CL said maybe the way I carry her she is not comfortable.. so probably when she wakes up later I will try the lying position. Anyway, I woke up at 4am this morning till now.. haiz !!

1 hr!!! Was the MS flowing continuously?? I just expressed for abt 20 mins on both breasts. Could only produce abt 25 ml!!!!! Sob Sob!

I tried massaging and pumping, like what Lyn suggested, but it was no use for me. So discouraging!

morning mummies, it's rainy day! kinda cool... maybe all the babies here can sleep longer..

hi lyn
yeah u r right my bb may come out anytime liao... just now when woke up i went to the loo and had this sensation of something gobbly and jelly like passing out... saw a huge glob of yellowish gel on my pad. is it the mucous plug? read that mucous plug is colourless... how come mine yellowish... dunno if it's thrush or some kind of infection... I didn't dare insert the pessaries my gynae prescribed in the 37th week and now i am worried may pass the thrush to my bb... would it be alright to use the pessary now?

hello gals...

Me now wake up to eat :p before my MIL reach... scared later i go hungry again... i paisei to eat when she here and she suppose to cook for me.. guess she also dunno wat to cook and cook too late...

missk,
not really... is in droplet form so i must be patient enough lor
well, i just pump out whatever hopefully it will replenish & yield more later
so far my average is abt 40ml on both after an hour.

i pump as i massage & kept doing that... dun be discourage cos me too not going to give up

gina,
yeah but my bb got jaundice leh so waiting for the sun to be out... else tomorrow when visiting the PD i am afraid they might need her to stay

btw, the mucous plug need not to be colourless... mine is sorta yellowish/brownish.. I dun suggest that u insert the pessaries if not why dont u just give ur "gynae" a call to comfirm is it safe or not...Good luck to you... standby loh !!

missk,
Did you watch the breastfeeding show then?
Massaging the breasts:
Massage from the outer towards the areolar. The breast milk are stored in the whole breasts around the areolar.
Make circular motion at one point or any hard region of the breasts.
Then stroke from outside towards the areolar.
Massage this way for the whole breasts.
Shake the breasts.
Pump or feed.

What I do is when I pump, I will make circular motion and massage the lumpy part. Then stroke from top towards areolar, or side towards areolar and bottom towards areolar...

You get what I mean? Hope you get what I mean from the description... Jia you! You will sure have milk... dun give up

Another thing is I asked the lactation consultant while at hospital how often do I have to pump. She told me the more I pump, the more stimulation, the more milk I will get lor... It's true... cos when I pump to stimulate at 4am for two days, the next few days, I will get engorgement at 4am... Our breasts are so smart...

okipoki,
Jia you! Wah... you can pump out 80ml ah... Very good already leh... Gotta keep stimulating then milk will come. Maybe tomolo you will get this much in a shorter time...
Last time I also pump for one hour each session...

Hi gina,
Yalor... today is a rainy and cooling day... hee.. temperature good and comfortable for us doing confinement

Maybe you should call your gynae to ask...

hi gals...

oki - u r back! how's things?
so fast u can express 80ml liao? tat's good...
but u expressed BM, then when latch on bb, bb will hv milk to suck??

i seldom express now... only express after latching my boi, mainly to "empty" the boos.
so each time only miserable amt.

is tat correct? i rather my boy latch and drinks then use bottles.

pump - wat pump are u gals using? am considering a medela mini or ameda duo.
anyone hv any comments on these 2 pumps?

hey okipoki

How do you massage? I tried reading on the net the correct way to massage then I realised that I am doing it all wrong. Till now, I still dunno how to massage. Should I continue what I used to do?

Hi msnanas,
After medisave, I still have 2 paid abt $10K by instalmt, sian ... how long was your 2nd ops? Under GA?

I heard bbs choke easier on water-feeding or their saliva (unfinished milk tat they retain in their mouths). My boy chokes and regurgitate often too, sometimes, me & my mum have to change our tops 4 - 5 times as he threw out over our shoulders when we try to burp him ...

okipoki,

You get 80ml for an hr of pumping!!! I'm not so religious, I simply just couldn't sit there and try pumping for so long. I'm getting 80ml in 10mins BUT I pump only every 4 - 6hrs, cos trying to establish a stretched routine as I'm returning to work in July liao ...

I'm too up from 3am ... arghh ... it's raining outside, such great weather to sleep but my boy kept waking up to cry and refusing to be put to bed ... as I'm afraid that he would threw out his milk if due to excessive crying, I've to pacify him by carrying him ... now so tired & sleepy ...

Mum2B:
The baby's dry skin is normal. The general advice is to leave it alone. I was rather anxious as my boy had it, I was tempted to apply baby cream on him, but CL told me to wait. True enough after < 2wks, it goes off, now his hands (1mth 1wk old) is soft &amp; smooth ...

msnanas
I was only pushed to 325b on the 4th evenin cos i delivered at 3plus pm.. rest in the delivery room for an hr, then pushed back to normal ward.

gina
i had the jelly stuff (yellowish one) u describe also. that is so-call the lining from the womb.. i had my ger abt 4days later. so u shld monitor liao if ur show comes or contraction or waterbag burst. Dun insert any pessary without ur gynae instruction, okie.

lyn
i also didnt attend the breastfeedin session lei. that;s why i m so stress over milk supply last time.. now i can only express 25 ml niah... gettin lesser n lesser liao

carebear29
whh..80ml in 10mins... i think i only achieve that once so far in my expressin time..so good. keke.

Hi Lyn,
I got rashes after the delivery too and I went to see a dermatologist, advice is to avoid the herbal bath (Da Feng Cao).

<u>Baby Car Seat, Stroller &amp; Playpen:</u>:
Hi mummies, any recommendation for these 3 items, pls?
kao_confused.gif

I remembered before our deliveries, some of you already bought the Playpen, such as Graco, etc. Can advise how much and where you bought it?

poohmum,
my son also used to drink every 3 hours then now turn to 2 hours...

there's a formula for the amt of milk required for babies:

(weight of baby x 150ml) / no. of feeds per day

with this formula, it gives u the amt of milk to be required for baby per feed....this was told to me by a PD...

my baby was overfed if based on this forumla...but I can't reduced the amt of milk coz if he's not full, he can't sleep loh...

Lyn,
My husband helped me take a look a the wound and say it is ok. But the pus seem to dry up already and I do not have a fever.
I usually dry it after my shower. Do you wear abdominal binder throughout the day and night? I feel when I wear it then I can walk better.

By the way, have you started taking DOM or even the Sheng Yu Jing that is meant to be good after C-Sect?
Poohmum

carebear29

really cant bath w da feng cao.. then how..wahhh. my mom ask me to bath for 40 days. sometime, my breast also itchy lei.

MTDT,
I am using medela mini electric. I find it does what I want so far, though a bit noisy...

Dor,
I was told the more stimulation, the more milk... That time when I was stressed of the milk supply, I stimulate till pain still continue to stimulate every 3 hours leh... At nite also woke up to pump...

Carebear,
If avoid the herbal bath, how to bath?? Can bath in normal hot water?? Or did you wait till confinement over then bath??
I gonna have my next bath tomolo morning

I bought the stroller already, but haven't use it... So can't give you constructive comments...

poohmum,
I do wear the abdominal binder throughout the day and nite. Sometimes I remove it to air cos the heat causing itchiness... I will wear it especially when I sleep too.
I still can walk properly without the binder now. I have no more pain already
Are you still feeling pain??
Hey, I think I might have missed out your posting for the table. Can update me? Your baby's date of birth, EDD, gender, weight at birth, baby's name and which hospital?

I dare not take Sheng Yu Jing this time. Last time I took and I get keloids. This time, my gynae cut the old wound and stitch nicely already... So I dare not take.
I haven't started DOM too cos I dunno if I should drink cos I am on total breast feeding...

Carebear29,
My 2nd op takes 2hrs and on epidural, so I'm still semi-consious during the emergency op. I can feel the cold pack of blood running thru my body and was feeling so cold!!
My hubby din know can pay by instalments and the nurse din tell him... so bo pian, gotta pay one shot full lump sum.
Do you think it will happen again for the next preg?

Even BF, he'll get choked also. Then my CL will come and ask me issit I din massage the breast first.... sigh.

I dunno which is good coz frd gave a used graco travel system. But I do know there is a place which I feel that some of these items are cheaper than bb hypermart and bb kingdom. Website: www.aprisin.com.sg

Dor,
ic...so we not sleeping next door but maybe our bb were! heehee

MTDT,
yeah am back.. just heng heng managed to get 80ml but on average is abt 30 to 40ml lor
well, my ger started to reject my breast lor cos she is used to FM (where the flow is faster).. i hope i can establish enough flow comparable to FM then i will try to latch again
meanwhile, i must work hard to build up the supply...

i am using medela mini electric (friend lend to me).. to hv faster yield get the double

missk,
i suppose the link posted by MTDT shld be useful.. dun anyhow wack cos u might waste ur "bullet".. *LOL*

lyn,
i will keep it up... keeping my finger x !!

carebear,
dun made me envy leh.. i took 1 hr &amp; u take 10mins.. wah rau !! hahahahaha....

re: NUK bottles
so far those bottles i have dont "leak". According to my CL, they leak if the teats are not pulled properly or if they r not used on NUK bottles. And the indent on the teat must be on top when feeding bb.

re: how to get more BM
I think drinking lots of fluid before expressing helps. Usually i get +-150ml of milk fr both sides when i pump 3 hrly. Just now, one session i was late by 1hr but i only managed to pump 65ml in 30mins
got a shock! thought my MS is going haywire! Then after that i drank 4 cups of red date tea and pump 2 hrs later... milk supply increased to 160ml in 10 mins. Amazing!

re: bathing
I heard fr my friends that some of them boil "chang mao"/ lemon grass(those leaves u use to cook curry) for bathing. Havent tried that though.

re: massage lady
Anyone got good massage lady to recommend? Episoptomy wound painful can go for massage?

oki,
Dont worry, today your 5th day only... am sure u can TBF your gal.
The nurses told me to cup feed bb or syringe feed her if she has nipple confusion.

MTDT,
Me using Ameda dual... so far so good... now i am 11 days after delivery and can pump an average of ard 150ml in 10 mins fr both sides per 3 hrly. Only problem i find is that if u use batteries, the running cost is v high! 6 batteries in 3 days!!! now i switch to using electricity.