(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

congrats Hidora and ah blur!

msnana, oh didnt know MAH retail pharmacy selling so cheap. Thanks for the info!

tinkle,
Yes i do feel traumatic...but at that moment, no choice just let them do whatever to me liao haha. Yes i can see yr son looks very well build, healthy look. That's good. Yes feeding every 2 hrs is very tired so that's why the PD asks to increase to 3 oz (90-100ml) so that maybe feed him every 3 hrs, at least not so tired but i think my son so used to his timing liao, diff to change...will slowly increase for his case i guess. My Cl told me during the nite, he drinks every 1 1/2 - 2 hrs, more tiring, guess i'm going to have a hard time when i took over.
Oh yes, 1 week is still painful, my hubby actually bought me a float, it does relieve yr pain when sitting. I rest too little and sit down too much so my pain lasted about 10-12 days. U must rem to wash/clean everytime u go toilet. Besides the anaeseptic wash and cream that adrian gave u, u can wash yr wound with salt warm water.

tinkle,

i never asked for gas mask till 3plus.. what lau heng Adrain only did 1 "VE" for me..then no more..but after gave birth he push my tummy till so pain..almost faint..but if i have a chance to gave birth again..i will still choose him..ur wound still pain ah... got tell him a not?

hi k ong
You can go to the nursery room and ask the nurse for the glass bottles. I got about 50 glass bottles from them already. Each time they gimme about 10? Buy the cap bottles from the pharmacy at MAH. You can use the water boiling way to sterilise or the steam steriliser. Jus store in the freezer if you want it for future use but remember the expiry date

hi tinklebell

Hey you also kena pushed on ya tummy by the nurses? Me too leh, they like pushed like no one's business and darn PPPPPPPainFUL.

dsiitan,
dont worry bout the weight gain. It is only an estimate.

btw, gillian_teo has popped already also. I think she popped on 17th june if i didnt remember wrongly

Serene,
Haha, pushing not easy wor...especially if the bb got a big head! *lol*

I feel like washing my hair also...but must try to ren...mabbe in another 2-3 days i will wash my hair....now already almost cannot stand it

tinklebell,
I tink VE still okies...i was still asking adrian if i can tahanz the VE and bursting of waterbag does tat mean i can get thru delivery w/o any pain-relif...u know what he replied? He said "This is only 1% pain compared to actual labour!" *pengz*
And yes, both nurses pushed my tummy to get bb out! But i tink tat is gd....bb gets to come out fast!

MOAP,
trying to cope with bb..last nite bb making a fuss! Kept crying, then me and hb tried all ways to appease her. End up she is hungry! *pengz* Imagine i fed her at 10pm, then 11+pm then 12+am she was screaming again and this time me fed her a bit of FM. My breasts a bit engorged now, trying to latch bb on and off. So far only managed to pump out an additional 60ml of milk to store in fridge...other times i latch my ger on...

kk
okie.. i will give her more today. like 90ml. my FM tin got say wt btw 3-4kg shld drink 90ml n 3 scoop of FM. I scare to heaty for her then giv her 2 n 3/4 scoops.. mayb too dilute hor.

i gv her barley water lei. 2 days back, she got alot of eye shit. after yest feed her w barley water (instead) of water mixed n FM. Now i find she got mild cough. so worry.... btw, wat is the norm temp for bb huh?

ah blur
congrats to u

tinklebell
now my ger feed is abt 3hr. used to be 4hr lei.. i think i underfeed her, that's why she wakes up at shorter interval izzit. but at night, she can koon the whole nite.. w/o askin for milk. only 6am like that, she will cry for milk lor

tinklebell,
lovely Fiona pics- eyes sooo big! My Irvin is 6 days old today, eyes still squinting not fully opened up yet.

spicegal,
lovely pic too! Aiyoh, I see all these delicate gorgeous newborns... wonder how come my #1 and #2 never came out looking like that. Instead mine always sumo-wrestler, eyes can hardly open type, LOL!

hidora,
welcome back. How to pronounce Isaiah? Woah... heaviest bb so far in thread and u managed naturally!

dsii,
TMC din give netted undies to me, so standby ur own in case? Or ask them for it. Mine 2-bed ward n c-sect.
hmm my gynae said bbs put on after 36th wk... he also said my bb din seem big at 39th wk, but at 40+wk, he said suddenly grown alot. Came out elective 3.8+kg lor, if overdue longer, shld b even bigger. I cldn't be induced cos bb high- gynae felt induction wld fail for me
. H/e, I am on the short side :p , I know another mum who is big-sized and delivered 4kg bb in a QUICK natural birth

kk,
i din even get enfalac lah. Cos i bf + glucose supplement. I shld have asked, sigh. Ended up bought own enfalac- supplement abt 30-45ml a day, the rest in tin I intend to give my elder daughter.

Serene/ tinkle- abt Feeding amts,
My 6 days old boy guzzling quite alot- I latch hrly plus lotsa fluids and nursing supplements, can feel my milk supply generating (almost engorged) and then he empties it HOURLY! Poo also alot.
Thing I realise is- different bbs have different patterns. Some can handle big amts in longer stretches, others prefer small amts more frequently. So don't worry unduly.

c-section,
anyone has gd contact for postnatal masseuse good in this? Pls PM or post here, thx a mil!

BTW a TIP:
after c-sect, there's a thick padding on wound. after gynae checks u in hospital, will remove and leave only a thin padding with waterproof plaster.
when u r home, u may want to use any unused maternity pads (eg. hospital's looped ones if leftover) to cover the wound yourself (no need to tape, just hold in place and put binder over it). it will cushion and prevent any unexpected creasing- it HURTS if u crease at your wound cut hor! HTHS!

ahblur,
Big-headed bb and naturally! Can't help feeling a little bit sad I couldn't. But oh well, production wrapped up liao, hehe.

confinement rules,
I dun follow the bathing/ washing rules. Wash my hair and body as soon as I am able, and then daily. It's impt to my mental well-being, or I'd be a bigger Groucho.

pebbles,
Wah, u got so many ar. Dunno can one time get so many or not. Now I only pump once a day coz scared not enuf bottles.. hee..

My tummy also kena pushed by the nurses till one small area of my skin kena scratched and bleed. Dunno which nurse keep long nails. =/

serene,
I checked the price of the 5-in-1 and 6-in-1 jab at kidslink liao...for 6-in-1, it's $110 per jab + $30 consultation fees amd for 5-in-1, it's $75+ per jab + $30 consultation fees....

I bought my baby to polyclinic for vaccination....hep B 2nd and 3rd dose is $25 (can use $20 of medisave)....5-in-1 package is $297

Okasan,
Oh, so the chart of price that the nurse showed me at kidslink is not correct lor....hmm??? Thks for sharing the info. Is it true that jabs taken at polyclinic will have high chance of having fever? Is waiting time very long at polyclinic? U went to CCK polyclinic yah?

Medusa,
dont feel sad bout it, most imptly our babies come out liowz

MOAP,
yuppies...and a bit engorged still...trying to massage my breasts...and pumping takes donkey yrs....cos the milk supply only beginning...*sigh*

serene,
I walk-in at cck polyclinic...waiting time is ok, not very long...nurse told me if I made appt, waiting time will be even shorter....

they have one area purely for vaccination, so dun have to worry abt baby getting close to sick patients....

jabs at polyclinic is the same as anywhere else....so it shouldn't have high chance of causing fever...

btw, the nurse told me hep B 2nd dose shouldn't cause any fever at all....

for kidslink, I went to the clinic to ask personally on the pricing...should be correct...coz I was wondering how can the clinic offer such low price

lyn,
I ever asked my friend why she not worry abt supply not enough since she never express out milk after latching on to empty her breast...she told me she can never express out using pump...but when she feed her kids by direct latch on, her milk will "gush out" one loh.....so far, her milk supply very good, can feed both her kids till 1+ year old each loh....think it's the demand and supply theory....so if directly latch on, actually dun have to worry abt baby not enough...that's how nature works

medusa
thks for the encouragement...im a big size mummy...so think naturally my bb will be big bah..so now..just hope my bb will come out soon..cos me oso very tired liao..with such a big and heavy tummy...hahaha...

hmm..maybe like tinklebell had said...c-sect dun get those netted panties bah...

Hello Mummies...

Medusa,

Erm, I dunno how to write how to pronounce Isaiah leh.. something like eye - say (pronounce with z instead of s) - ear. Lol

Re: Milk supply

I still dun hv much milk coming in, is that normal? And I've hving very sore nipples.. How? My bb sucks so hard..

And he's drinking so much now, This morning was every 2hrs - 60ml, now he chg to 1.40mins! And drank 50ml. I dunno how to keep up with him.. Gonna see how fast my can of FM gonna finish.

moap,
yap, told him abt the pain... gave me antibiotic cream Danzen and ask me to take synflex instead of panadol. I'm quite scared of taking that painkiller leh cos i think it was the one that caused me to have diarrhoea... anyway he said to cont taking leh
think i will eat with some antacid lor

Yap, he's a nice Dr. If i ever have no 3 and still staying at this area, will still go to him
But dont think i will have no 3 liao
getting old and bones aching liao
u still young, can have more :p

Serene,
polyclinic has 2 kinds of jabs - 5-in-1 and 4-in-1. 4-in-1 is FOC and high chance of fever. 5-in-1 has lower chances of fever... but some kids still get mild fever.

okasan,
polyclinic waiting time ok nowadays? i brought my son there for his hep B previously and had to wait v long

maybe now the situation has improved. kekeke my hub used to work there and he said liken it to be like a production line... target is to see 1 patient for 6 min or less :p

Medusa,
Haha, her eyes open big big only in the photos... and i took more than 20 photots in a stretch ...only less than 30% her eyes were opened.... most of the time, she is sleeping ..Zzzzzz only wakes up for milk or when she poos.

re: tummy push
only TMC practice that? or is it normal? aiyo .... so painful leh

re: wt loss
how long to get back to original wt? hiaz... still got 7 more kg to go and i noticed even my shoulders r so big and meaty
waist 34 inches
buttoks 40 inches
**pengsan**

pebbles: heh thanks ! wow 50 ah ?
so u go there very often to ask issit ? 5 times ? heehee
so must sterilise the bottle and buy the bottle caps from pharmacy and sterilise too ?

Hidora: i have sore and crack and bleeding nipples !!!
p[ain !
try to express some milk on to the nipple and air dry

tinklebell,
4-in-1 at polyclinic is NOT free...it's $260 for the package....5-in-1 is $294....

ya, waiting time is quite ok, not very long...if got appt, even shorter waiting time...

Finally get to hv sometime to post little Chloe's birth story

9.30am Very bloody show - called gynae & advised to go down his clinic

10.20am Did CTG test & gynae aske whether we want to induce.

11.45am At Mt A delivery Suite & was given to clear bowel

12.30pm Administered epidural

1.00pm Drip for induction

1.40pm Gynae checked 3cm dilated

2.30pm Nurse checked 6cm dilated

4.00pm While catching a nap nurse checked 9cm dilated & wait for waterbag to burst

5.52pm Gynae came to burst waterbag in 2mins

5.58pm After 3 pushes little Chloe is OUT !!

Here are some pics of my ger at Day 3.

447946.jpg
447947.jpg

okipoki,
wow! Chloe has got v nice big eyes n double eye lids.... v pretty

okasan,
har? not free ah? i still thought it is foc. there is one kind of jab free right? cos nurse asked me if i wanted that or i want to pay for the better jab....donno wat is the free stuff but nurse told me it will cause high fever so straight away i told her no.

Dor,

My girl temperature is around 36.8 degrees.

The amount required by bb on the milk tin serve as guideline only. Sometimes their feeding just go haywire. So we have to adjust accordingly ourselves
Not worry on this

Try to feed the bb with water too. It may help to bring down jaundice and also help bb to poo poo better

okipoki
aiyo..see the eyes ...double eyelids..and the eyebrows...wah piang.....beauty leh......must look more often so my boy will hv this kind of sharp features too..hahaha

tinkle,
yeah lucky she has it... hehe else will be a disappointment since both of us hv double eyelids. Some say she looks like daddy..

dsiitan,
haha see more angmo ppl... sure hv
*LOL*

Dor..i stay in Jurong East leh...dun mind to buy over the 2 tins from you but still on confinement leh...how to collect from you?

Hidora..congrats...you bb really very big...hehe..for nappy rash cream, i am using desitin also...so far so good...

Ahblur..congrats brave mummy...really pei fu you can tahan the pain

Kk..TMC also never give me the netted panties...maybe we are on c-section that's why they never give...

hidora...your boy sooooo cute...btw...just curious are you japanese? cos your boy looks like a jap baby...hehe

okipoki...your gal got pretty eyes and lots of hair...

hidora...your boy sooooo cute...btw...just curious are you japanese? cos your boy looks like a jap baby...hehe

okipoki...your gal got pretty eyes and lots of hair...

okipoki,

What a blessing, ur bb has double eyelids!!

I have double eyelids, my hubby dun. And bb looks like him, so wasted lor

I thought double eyelids may appear at later stage. May not be obvious now. But then hor, ur bb's double eyelids so obvious leh!! I think mine gone case liao

448015.jpg

tinkle,
So the 6-in-1 jab will not have fever? Wow u even go and measure yr waist line and hip line etc? I never measure but just weigh myself. Me worse, another 10kg to lose though i've lost 10kg. My massage lady just told me to drink applexxxxx (forgotten the name), a vinegar, an organic drink, can be found in NTUC, drink 3 times a day can help to slim down fast, am going to NTUC to check out soon.

okipoki,
I've gone to Jin Zhi Long for checking of my boy's chinese name.

tinklebell, dsiitan,

I also dunno look like who leh? 50% says look like hb, 50% says look like me.. I think must wait till he's a bit bigger then can tell already. =D

okipoki,

Your ger ger is really pretty! Double eyelids so obvious.

spicegal,

Ya lor, just went out to buy Desitin. Ppl confinement stay at home, I go out for the sake of bb. His rashes quite bad. =|

No lah, me not jap.. lol. He keeps reminding me of "la bi xiao xin" thou.

hidora,
Isaiah is adorable!
Quite a gd head of hair!

okipoki,
wah real beauty- agree eyelids are really stunning. Can smile at Day 3 already, wow!

water and jaundice,
actually, water not encouraged cos fills tummy up, bb less inclined to feed. The bili causing jaundice is best passed out of body via POO rather than pee, so u want to encourage feeding. More feeding = more pooing.
H/e, if bb on light treatment, can get hot and dry, some water may be needed. Or if u think bb seems constipated?

Miss me?? Hehee I have delivered!!
Okay, heres my birth story for those interested.

16/6 (Friday): Stomach feels weird. Contractions (if thats what they are) feels different. Backache with pressure on bottom the wanting to do big business type of feeling but nothings coming plus menstrual cramps all morning.

11am: Told boss I want to take the next day off coz have doc appointment plus husband is off. Boss said okay.

11.30am: Smsed my friend complaining that pain is different. She said sounds like contraction pains. Told me to go and see doc today coz my gynae will be on leave from tomorrow till 19/6. Fingers crossed Elijah dont come when gynae is away. Friend said better to check and see how possible it is that Elijah will be arriving when gynae is away etc etc

Called clinic to make appointment. Told them having cramps. They said clinic very full but come at 2pm sharp and gynae will see me.

12noon: Told boss that need to see gynae at 2pm coz contractions feels different. He made me tell him what it feels like. He also advised me on what real contractions would feel like m what a joke like he has gone through them before anyway, he said, this may be it!

2pm: Went to gynae clinic. Saw Gynae. He did VE. Said uterus still high should be more time. Okay, see you next week!

Went back to work g\feeling a little blue. Sob sob so it is still not it??

6.30pm: Left office for home.

9pm: Contractions more regular. About 15-20 mins apart. But still uncertain if it is it. Didnt dare to tell hubby. Just told him feeling is different today.

9.30pm: Hubby left for work. I watched TV. Ethan was playing in maids room.

10.30pm: Brought Ethan back to bed to put him to sleep. Noted that contractions about 15-20mins apart. Still bearable.

11pm: Ethan fell asleep. I feel that contractions getting more painful. Tried different positions. Ehehee. Prepare for real thingy.

11.15pm: Cannot take it. Want to do big business. Went into toilet. Still nothing. Timed contractions using mobile about 5mins apart. Smsed my birth supporter (i.e. friend) and asked if she can call me. She called immediately. She told me to go shower and change and prepare in case need to go to hospital. I told her too lazy. What if false alarm I still need to go and change into PJs before I can sleep? She talked me through a few contractions and helped me time them. We got about 20-30second contractions which were 5mins apart. I was determined not to go change yet so we yakked on while I had contractions. Then we heard he kid waking up so we hung up and she said shell call later.

I stayed in the toilet. Didnt want to go out to disturb Ethan nor the maid but wanted to stay near just in case Ethan wakes up. Continued timing the contractions. Was about 3-4 mins apart now.

17/6 12.15am: Friend called back and asked how things are she kept trying to get me to go change and go hospital. She told me that I was in denial labour! Heheee. We timed the contractions again and by now it was 3 mins apart. She asked me how long more I intend to wait. I told her if possible by morning when my husband gets off work. She told me shell call me again at 1am.

12.40am: I noted that contractions were getting closer at about 2-3 mins apart. I called the hospital. They put me to labour ward. I told them I am having contractions 2-3 mins apart this is my #2 pregnancy. They asked me to slowly get ready and make my way to hospital.

12.50am: Kept thinking and finally called dad to come and fetch me. Conversation went like this.
Dad, where are u?
Braddell. Where are u?
Am at home.
So, you called me for what?
Dad, think I need to go to the hospital.
Has your waterbag broke?
Nope.
Then you go hospital for what?
You want my waterbag to break for what? Break then later mess up your car, is it?
Okay u wait. Ill be there in 10-15 mins.
Okay.
Hung up. Went into room to put in last minute stuff into the bag. Wake maid up to tell her I need to go hospital. Called dad again and told him Ill see him downstairs.

Reached downstairs at 1am. Friend called and I told her Im going to hospital.

1.05am: Dad arrived. While on the way to hospital, had a couple of contractions.

1.15am: Arrived at hospital. Was taken to delivery suite immediately. Chased my dad to go to my home to take care of Ethan. Was asked to change into hospital gown. Gave urine sample.

1.20am: Nurse did VE check. Was 4cm dilated. Wow! Your membrane is paper thin. Very very favourable. For this kind once water bag burst baby will be delivered. Very good. Very favourable. Dont worry.

1.30am: Went to toilet after taking the med and was asked to remove bowels. The show appeared a big blot of thick mucus with steaks of blood. After that, had a couple of very painful contractions. Wow! Think about 4 of them while I was there. So painful that I had to cry out and groan. Came out of the toilet after a contraction and went to bed. Immediately, another contraction hit. It was so bad so painful. I bussed the nurses. They came almost immediately. They told me they want to do another VE coz seems like my condition has changed dramatically.

My husband called at that point. I told him, am 4cm dilated. Nurses screamed no wait!! 8cm!! I told husband no, not 4cm 8cm are you coming or not? Husband said, I cant. Am working. At that point, another contraction hit real bad and I told him bye and hung up. I cried. Nurses consoled me and they quickly called the gynae. They called the replacement doc. Gave me the gas. Taught me how to breathe next thing I know, I knocked out and things seemed to be in a dream. I remember hearing the nurses said they called the doc coz patients situation all of as sudden changed dramatically. Then they said something like they called the replacement doc and found that my gynae hasnt left the town yet and hes on his way.

I was aroused think nurses took off the gas mask. They told me Dr was here. For a moment, the thought of disappointment swept through me. I thought I had dreamed up the 4-8cm bit and that I was only 4 cm and I have to start all over again. Then, I saw my gynae smiling at me and I realised that it is for real!

Gynae and nurses started telling me to push to get baby out. I tried. Wow! The pain!! I asked for water throat was dry. Nurses told me, Okay, one more push, when baby is out, well give you water. Grrr.

I tried pushing again. Wow! Pain!!! They told me its supposed to be like that. Just do it.

After 3 pushes I told doc Give me the epidural! Give me vacuum whatever! Just get the baby out.. I dont want to push anymore. Doc said, No, its going to be worst if use vacuum. Ull tear even more. And theres no time to have epidural now. Come push one more time.
You all always said one more time and baby will be out. I have pushed and pushed and still I have to push one more time? Nurse said, Just push. You dont push it will be worst. Baby will be stuck there. Doc said, U see, feel babys head is halfway out already. I touched and felt Elijahs head.

2.16am: Okay, one more push babys head is out. Blow blow blow babys body is born. HURRAY!! Doc passed baby to me. They waited for cord to stop pulsating before cutting it in front of me with baby still in my arms.

2.30am: Husband walked into the delivery suite and saw Elijah.

okipoki
congrats, your Chloe is quite a beauty
hope your epi wound not so painful now... can sit on float and immersed in warm salt water for abt 20 minutes, thatz what my colleagues advised. so how is confinement?

serene,
polyclinic only have 4-in-1 and 5-in-1...no 6-in-1...different bet 5-in-1 and 6-in-1 is that the baby has 1 jab less to suffer if 6-in-1...

tinklebell,
I also heard my friend say jab at polyclinic is free...but apparently when I went there for hep B 2nd dose, the nurse explain the package they have and she never mention anything that's free loh....

okasan & gina, elijah is 3.6kg 52cm. His elder bro was 3.82kg and 52cm. Yeah, hubby missed it all. He was shocked when he walked in and saw baby in my arms. He thought he was in time. heheheeeee....

hey Celeste

I totally understand what you mean. It has happened to me. Pardon my frankness, I get really irritated. Now, it's getting better. For each feed, I try to feed him till he rejects my breast. At night, I give him EBM.