(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

missk,

hmm maybe your boy confused with day and night. Make sure when he sleep in the day, there is some sound or noise in the environment (not total quietness) and its bright... and at night, make sure its dark and do not talk to him as much as possible. Maybe this will help him differentiate day and night... that's what i do for my 2 children.

wah i seriously got problems with burping my gal... but sometimes she dun burp, i dun care too just put her back to sleep... no choice..

ANd how to increase BM? I have stop pumping and latching her since day 20.. now she is a mth old... but this morning i tried expressing, still can get abt 30ml.. but abit little hor.. thnk for the past weeks no demand, so no supply... how to increase supply huh??

poohy,

Yah lor, regurgitation problem in babies can clear once they reach a year. Hopefully it really clear by then for my girl.

poohy/missk,

I think some babies can be trained, and some cannot.. mine cannot haha.. but she is getting better.

So missk, do give ur bb some time.. mine took around 6 weeks to really sleep longer hours at nite, although she still get haywire at times. Guess wat last nite? We broken another record. She refused to sleep till 1230 am after her feed. She is sleeping non-stop till now!!!!

celeste,

Perhaps u can try different methods of burping ur gal. i also face difficulty in burping my girl too. Previously need as long as 30 min!

Now she is better. May burp immediately if she is fed in an upright position. But if she doesn't, then we leave her to sleep. When she wake up, we carry her up and she will burp herself

kk..

Thank.. will try to feed her in upright position.. but u know lah.. old people dun like to feed i upright position... they say no good.. but dun care.. i will ry...

Kite,

How much weight did ur girl gain compared to the time she is discharged from hospital?

Babies suffer from regurgitation will spit milk after almost every feed. Sometimes little, sometimes as much as a few mouthfuls. Can even spit out half the feed! And can see their umbilical cord popping out slowly from their navel.

re: expressing of milk

mummies who latch on babies directly, don't worr if u cannot express out milk...I have a few firends who latch on their kids for more than 1 year but they can never express milk out...only thru latch on...

think it has to do with the let down

poohy,
your pics all quite well-taken...u using those bulky camera huh?

your girl is cute...where u buy those nice caps? I can't seem to find nice caps for my boy...so sian...

Kite,
I will have a buffet tea to dinner on 22 July. Think I will have lots and lots of guests. The weekend before, I gotta go back "niang jia"
I forgot what it means, but I just follow what my "shifu" says. When will you be having your baby's full month?

Chinese 6th month is "po yue" this year. Since my baby born on an auspicious day, I follow not to celebrate full month. Cos if baby born on auspicious day, and celebrate his full month on a "po yue", will "po" his luck. 6 June is an auspicious day
I dunno if you believe or not... but I do believe... I will just follow whatever is easy to follow

Have you showered? hee... yesterday I showered in herbs
and went to see my gynae and bring baby to PD.

I stimulate my breasts by pumping many times... Then I god too much milk. Cos now I already got 10 frozen packs of milk in the freezer. Then when engorged, I tried not to pump, now milk supply decrease already... Now, I will pump two bottle of 60ml to keep in the fridge for my hubby to bottle feed at nite. I will latch on my boy as much as possible.

missk,
My boy also drinking at most 60ml per feed now. Today is his 15th day...

mspiggy,
Hope your baby will be discharged soon...
I was suppose to bring my boy to PD on day 7, but I did not after asking around my friends. And I read that jaundice will peak between day 4 to day 10. I brought my boy to PD yesterday, at Day 14
His jaundice was 10.4

Luvflower,
CONGRATULATIONS!
Your boy is born on a very auspicious day...

MOAP,
Your gal is so chubby now... Looks so cute... Your boy and gal looks alike...

Poohy,
I do let my boy sleep on his tummy
wah.. your boy is so smart... can crawl so far already. hee... I am still lazy to "train" him to crawl :p I dare not bend down, so put away the idea of using the crawling track for now. Only let him crawl on the bed and put my hands at his feet.
My boy is not interested in the big checker board already. Now, I switched to smaller checkers. How about your gal?

Spicegal,
Your gal is very chubby... I hope my boy's face will pump up soon...

soh,
I have been drinking herbs with "dang gui" daily and total breastfeeding my boy. So far my boy is fine

Paula,
Yap... Babies born in June (summer month) in fire dog year, have lots of fire in their "ba zhi". Fire means bad temper. I calculate my boy's name on my own
"Gold" in the name also good. Cos "gold" create "water". "Water" destroys "fire"...

luvflower,
How's your breastfeeding getting on??
If no milk, better to supplement with FM. I supplemented my boy from Day 1 cos I had C-section as well. This is to prevent baby's dehydration and getting jaundice. Even in hospital, my baby cannot latch on very well, and the nurse told me to pump out and feed to prevent jaundice

poohy,
thanks! I'm feeling better now. Just that the stitches r getting painful cos i ran out of panadol.

Been busy trying to keep up with my girl's milk demand. She drinks ard 90ml per feed 3-4 hrly... sometimes still hungry. Each time, i can pump ard 80-110ml... been very tired catching up with her demand.

yr 2 kids look alike. mine too! my girl's features look exactly like her brother's!

hey poohy

That's exactly what I do. He sleeps the whole day despite us waking him up. How can we rouse him from his sleep? Any advice?

lyn

I am sooooo amazed. 10 frozen packs! Gosh! Absoloutely envious of you! How often do you pump? What's your typical day like?

lyn,
u seem to be v much into chinese astrology. u've been studying that for some time?

we most likely wont be having a celebration cos it's quite troublesome and i have a long list of pp to invite and my house is simply too small to accommodate all of them. we'll probably just distribute cakes and have a small gathering with my in laws.

Celeste,
i read that u can still increase your milk supply. Just cont to let bb latch on 20 mins on each breast and 2 hrly. milk will come back soon but u must be persistent.

Okipoki
I thought your waterbag broke? u mean can still wait? I always thought that if the waterbag breaks, u need to go to hospital immediately.

Hidora,
Tonite har? so exciting! **Jia You**!

I weighed myself today, lost 1kg fr yesterday. yesterday i had breast engorgement. U mean our breasts can contain 1kg of milk?? hee hee ... just wondering lah.

Hope celesteblur has delivered by now. Wish her a speedy recovery fr her labour

Lyn,

what lau ... u huh..... every mummies here know that i am having 2 princess leh...where got boy????

My freezer now got 30 over pack of frozen EBM which contain between 120ml to 140 ml.. now very stress was thinking what if my refrigirator break down..then i got to throw away so many pack of EBM.

tinklebell,

i also won't be celebrating my bb full mth..just gave cakes only..to troublesome.

wow Celeste!
Gong Xi! U'r so brave!!!
Rest well and take care ok?

moap
where u getting the cakes fr? i'm thinking of using choz.

missk,
I pump whenever I feel engorged. Now my MS decrease already cos I try not to pump for the last few days... I pump 60ml each session now then stop, cos my boy only drinks this much now.
That time my MS decreased and I start pumping religiously every 3 hours, even at nite for a day, then MS start to increase already...

tinklebell,
hee... I do read a lot on fengshui, ba zhi...

So far, I lost 8kg.. 6kg more to go... I also realise when I pump a lot of milk, my weight will go down more...

Morning Mummies,

Relief! My CL will be leaving today! Yesterday was the last straw for me. I was having a nap and when I woke up at 2pm, she has already cooked my mee sua soup. The mee sua soup was served on my dining table and it was dried. I asked her if she could reheat and add soup and asked what time did she cooked. She told me to eat it as it is!

Am down with urinary tract infection, visited the 24 hour KKH clinic last night and was prescribed with two medications. Now waiting for my urine report if serious, must got back to hospital again.

Kite, Lyn,

My grandpa said that baby full month celebration can be celebrated in advanced but not delayed. He said not ausipicous. I had initially thought of organizing it on 8 July 2006 (cos Kelly is born on 5 June 2006) but now Im bringing it forward to 1 July 2006.

Kelly is being introduced Formula milk as soon as she is born and Im feeding her both formula and expressed milk now. However, I did not express any milk yesterday cos I felt feverish and sensed something is wrong when I kept on experiencing needle poking pain at my V area suai suai, down with urinary tract infection. Will start expressing this noon again wonder if my milk supply will dip today.

Missk,

Could your baby be colicky? Kelly behaved like this during the weekend too and after applying some medication on the stomach, she seems to feel better and went back to sleep.

Celeste,

I burp my gal twice during each feed. When she consumed half of the milk, I will burp her. When she is done with her feed, I will burp her again.

Tinklebell,

Try getting a bottle of Mama Bottom Spray from Mum Essentials. You can order from momessentials.com.sg. By day 8, I have stopped sitting on float and now my stitches are all healing up the only pain that Im experiencing now is the needle poking pain thanks to urinary tract infection.

Mummies, KKH is offering this 6-in-1 immunization jab at S$450. I was told that this is offered in private clinics too ... anyone of you taking this up?

Paula,
i read in this TMC booklet that there is a 7-in-1 vaccinnation. I asked my hubby but he hasnt heard anything abt it before.
We'll go for the 6-in-1 immunisation jab.

mummies who are doing massage: how many hours to wait till you let your baby latch on? how do u clean off the massage oil ?

Missk: My baby also sleeps whole day and i cant seem to wake her up ?!

Lyn/okasan,

Haha, PD can't be cheaper. I was charged $75. i suspect $60 goes to consultation fees. Polyclinics only charge around $20++ for the jab from what i heard from colleague.

K Ong,

How many days old is your baby now? Doc told me that babies who are down with jaundice tends to sleep more and we need to feed them when it's feeding time.

K Ong,

So fortunate.. haha.. dun worry, if bb sleep, let her sleep :p

Mine ah.. want her to sleep she also dun want to sleep.. just now carry her upright on my shoulder then she willingly sleep after tat..

Now i hear some ringing sound.. i suspect she is wide awake again.. guess she is looking at the TV! So quiet..

congrats to u celesteblur, brave mummy u r!

okipoki and hidora,
how are u both? pop already?

paula,
your CL from hell really deserves the sack... the CL i interviewed gave me the impression that she is lazy. called the nest day say she wun have time to sweep and mop floor and wun wash adult clothes, some more ask if i can recommend her to my colleagues. got her from an agency cos the m'sian i booked 6 months ago played me out last minute.
i also got an air cushion yesterday, anyone tried sitting in salt water? they say epi wounds will heal v fast.

now washing the parts and bottles of the medela PIS pump my frd lent me. wonder if hygienic to re-use... but shud be ok after sterilising...

Gina,

Haha, yea, heard too much horror stores about CL. She gave me the impression that she is lazy on the first week oreadi just that I thought I can tong since we paid for her and ignore but it got worst when you choose to ignore and be nice she climb over your head. My hubby also told me to ignore her until I cannot tong and started crying everyday and thats when my hubby panic and decided that its time for her to leave.

No, I did not tried salt water but many of my friends swear by it. If you are worried about the burning sensation after splashing salt water on the wound, try buying a bottle of that spray that Ive recommended on the forum. My gynae recommended it and it work miracle.

Gina,

My mum went mad when she heard that my CL refuses to wash our clothes. She said that thats the basic chore of the CL and furthermore, we are not expecting her to wash everyday! Did your CL asked for S$100 for every marketing trip that she has to go on your behalf?

hi paula,
how's your baby jaundice level now? hope she's better.

i will bring my son back to review tomorrow. he seems yellowish still

gina,

Did the CL promise u that she would do the household chores? Cos i know some CLs really only responsible for cooking confinement food and taking care of bb only. Other than that, they are not obliged to do.

celeste,

haha..maybe we got passby each other a few times b4 downstairs..hehehe

RE: CL

paula--wah $100???thot u goldmine har...if she go everyday then broke man...for me,i didn gave my CL any $..coz money sensitive issue mah..so,its my hb who have to bring her to the mkt every few days n buy wats needed loh..how much u pay for ur CL?u gave her the full sum liao har?mine is pretty ex thot coz i got mine from TMC at a last min..got $200 surcharge somemore..haiz..so heart pain..

Mspiggy,

Yea, her jaundice level went down to 98. She is due for another visit on this Thursday. The polyclinic doc said that if her jaundice level goes down to less than 80, then she is fine and we wont have to go back for another review after this Thursday visit.

Angeline,

I paid her half a month summary. Just down when I gave her the red packet, she opens it infront of me

paula: ya, her level at day 5 is 12, so need to sun her but sun not out !
how do you wake baby ??
i tickle and talk but she fast asleep !

K Ong,
Don't have to wake her up ... just place the bottle teat in her mouth during feeding time and your baby will automatically sucks the milk. Remember to feed her when the time is up even though she is sleeping.

paula, how to interpret jaundice level 98? PD told me mine was 10.9 yesterday.

K ong, so sad today no sun! i'm also waiting to sun my boy.

hi all...

Can i join this thread? Actually from Jul thread, but had given birth to my boy on 15 Jun.

Paula - I read abt Kong's bb always sleeping... really huh? jaudice bb will sleep alot?
my bb now looks abit yellowish... but she is on TBF now. how to feed her?

mspiggy - same here!!! I wan to sunbathe my son!!!! stop raining in the morning... can rain in the PM! :p

then i hv to wake her up to bf loh...

aiyoh... how??
my PD appt is friday...
so i dun noe how "bad" his jaudice lvl is now...

MTDT,
try pressing her soles, if they are yellowish also then bring to her PD at once. i know that jaundice shows from their face first, then body, then legs and soles.

on 3rd day, my son's jaudice appeared and i brought him to see PD on day 4 and PD already said his level is 16!