(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Little Kelly sent her greetings...
444158.jpg

Hidora, my midwife told me that its true that epidural will help to speed up the dilation process.

To mummies who are going to pop: if you have severe backache, its a sign of contraction too. Not all contractions take place at the belly. Mine was a backache. By the time I was in the hospital, I was already 3cm dilated

Re. Baby's Jab
KKH is offering this 6-in-1 jab at S$450... hmm, anyone of you opting for this jab? Wonder if it's medisave deductible...

Lyn, Kelly weighs 2830grams at birth do you mind updating the table? Thanks!

Mummies, geez, I think I think I am feeling really down couldnt get to sleep despite staying up awake for the whole of last night kept on have the urge of crying.

Re. Chinese names for babies
I consulted two masters to name my baby girl and both masters came back with a pillar of destiny. Year 2006 is a fire dog year. Babies born in June (and in particular, during afternoon) will have two or more fire elements in their pillars of destiny. Hence, its important to ensure that the babys Chinese character has a water element to it thats what I was told. You could check it out at worldoffengshui website too just go to Pillars of Destiny and punch in your baby details and you could have brief a insight on what are the elements thats lacking in her life

Re. Engorgement
Hee, Im lucky thus far no issue with engorgement yet. Before I express, I would used a hot towel and massage my breast. It has been useful so far

gina,
it's ok to let the cord touch the water....after the cord drop, there may be some blood clot or bleeding for a few days, which is ok...just keep applying the cord spirit till the blood clot cleared completely...then u will see a nice little cute belly button

ya, I also keep the cord in angpow...no particular reason, just keep for keepsake purpose

gina,

The umbilical thing.. i ask my mum when she is back from her china tour this wed.. sometimes my mil funny funny.. so whatever she say or do, i got to consult my mum too. SKully grow worms then die liao.. i kept it in the wardrobe drawer!

My mil told me that time my hubby's one.. she lost it in the end.. sigh!

Morning MUMMIES!!

444206.jpg

morning!

kk,
dun think the cord will grow worms....my mum still keep our cords with her...saw a few times, the cords are in good condition after 20+ years...

when put the cord into angpow, muz first ensure the cord is dried lah...

Hey Paula

My sympathies! What kind of confinement lady is that? Did u engage her from the agency? Can you send her away and get another confinement lady? Have you talked to her about her attitude?

My CL is quite a nice lady. She is supportive in my breastfeeding. At night, she is the one who looks after my baby. I express my milk for her to feed my son in the night so that I can rest well. It has been working for me. I feel a lot better now, physically and emotionally.

My only problem is about her agency. I would like to extend her services for a week before I move back to JKT. However, her agency is very unhelpful. Gosh, really can't stand the agent. He talks incessantly just to justify his reasons and refuse to help me out. He can't even help me to find a new nanny for a week.

Morning ladies !!

Yesh, I am still around.. but realised that since last nite I still some some discharge with some blood streak.. was wondering is it normal (abit like menses). No contraction tho' !!

re: umbilical cord
my mum also keep my umbilical cord inside the ang bow till now.. there is this old saying that the baby wont get tummyache easily...

hello Serene

I am so envious of you. So much milk! Are you supplementing breastfeeding with formula? How old is your bb now?

Hi Paula,
The rashes on the bb's body is heat rash. My bb also has it but mostly on the neck. I agree with missk, maybe you should send her away and get another one.

re: umbilical cord
My CL said after it dropped, should dry it for another few days before putting inside the angbow, else will have smell.

Paula

I totally understand how you feel when you said that you feel like crying. I feel the same way too. When I came back from the hospital, it was terrible. I felt so engorged and lost although I had a confinement nanny. When my son cried, I found it irritating. Can you believe that? For the next few days, I didn't feel better. I continued crying at the slightest thing. I even begged my hubby not to go home (we stay overseas). I was so scared that I couldn't do without him.

Well, I am glad I am getting better now. To pick myself up, I started visiting the forum. Gradually, I feel better. Althogh I won't say that I am emotionally strong now, I am definitely much less of a wreck as compared to last week. My hubby left this morning. I didn't cry at all. I guess I am on the recovery path.

I hope you will feel better soon.

Here's my birth story. Hope it doesn't scare you guys.

2nd June 06 (Friday)

5pm
Went to gynae. Did another CTG test and there was no contractions signs. The previous CTG test done early in the week, there was signs of contractions.
Hence, gynae suggested to induced.

5.30pm
He inserted the pill to open the cervic and advise to admit to hospital by 8.30pm as the pain will kicks in in 3 hrs time.

8.45pm
Admitted to Mt. A hospital

9pm
Nurse brought me to the delivery ward. Got myself changed and lying on the bed watching TV.

9.18pm
Gynae came and checked the dilation, only finger tip....

10pm
Inject with epi

10.20pm
Gynae burst the waterbag. Then I slept throughout...

3rd June 06 (Saturday)

8am
Nurse came in and told me can call Doc.

8.30am
Gynae came

9am
4 pushes and my BB popped out.

10.30am
When nurses wanted to get me changed and to let my bb latch on the 1st time, they opened up the cloth and found me bleeding profusely. My uterus is not contracting. They immediately called for my gynae.

11am
My gynae rushed back from clinic and told my hubby that I need to go for emergency ops. Rushed to op. theatre, they did blood transfusion. (Heard they used at least 8 pks of bloods)
I could hear them saying losing another 200-300ml of blood, etc as I'm still on epi.

1pm
I was out and in CCU for monitoring.

4th June 06 (Sunday)

Gynae came and said I can go to Maternity ward.
Admitted to maternity ward in the morning. finally I can see my bb. The nurses still monitor me to see if I'm still bleeding badly.

Stayed for another 2 days in hospital... My hospital bill came out to be $8K plus after medisave deduction.

msnanas,

So are u feeling ok now? Wishing u a fast recovery!

Initially i thought only c-sec will come with complications. Didn't know natural delivery can have such complications in the end too

paula/serene: thanks for your comments.

Paula: which bottles/teats are you using ?
sorry to hear abt your confinement lady problems, just ignore it. it is better to take good care of yourself (emotionally!!) too !
As long as she takes gd care of baby too !

serene: so do you "combine" all the milk together?
i mean, what if i can express only 20 ml, then another 20ml at another time ? Sld i refridgerate both, and when i feed her i combine both ? otherwise 20ml seems very little

more questions :

breast pump: after using for one sitting (ie, both breasts), can i just cover it or od i have to sterilise it again ? (just asking la, not that i am lazy :p)

steriliser: Do you have to air dry the items after sterilising in a separate container?

i am also very emotional these days, my right nipple is sore (from incorrect latching at hospital - the silly nurse just positioned baby at breast, said "wow, good" then left ... resulted in sore nipple for the last 4 days
) so i have to use a nipple sheid to feed her. And i walk ard the room topless to air the nipples.

left nipple: cracked and bleeding at the tip (duct ?) so when she suckled yesterday thewre was blood flowing out. I freaked out and started crying

Now i only express from my left breast ...

hi K Ong
saw your posting here by chance. not sure if you know who i am! u sms me last nite. =)

let's see if i can help with your qns.

BM expressed during separate sessions should be in different bags. but when you heated them up, can combine.

Pumps only need to be sterilised once a day. BUT do wash the funnel and parts after every expressing session. No need to air dry in a separate container.

have you tried leaving a little BM on the nipples to keep them moist? i think that helps for cracked and sore nipples. think it's rite to let ur left nipple rest a while till it heals. but continue to pump coz it mite get engorged or the supply mite dip.

anything just sms me ok?

so how is the cup/bottle feeding now?

hi kk,

Tks. I'm getting better now. =)

K Ong,
You can try the nipple cream. I used it during the first few days of BM coz my nipples are sore and bleeding too. I think that it does help to soothe the pain.

Hi K Ong,

Just to share some opinions here

For teats, i would recommend using wide necked bottles as it may minimize nipple confusion. My bb sucks the same way from her bottles as my nipples. She loves pigeon bottles. She rejects NUK bottles which until now i still dun understand why other babies are so comfy with NUK bottles yet the milk flow is so great for her that she can choke or get her whole neck with overflowing milk.

As for steriliser, i am using pigeon too. After sterilising, i just leave all bottles, pump, etc inside the steriliser. After each bottle feeding session, i will wash the bottle with pigeon detergent, then place inside steriliser again. For pump, same thing. After pumping, wash and then keep in steriliser. I only sterilise everything 2-3 times a day.

For EBM, u can express, store differently (cos u have to remember the dates of expressing in case u have too much to pump out), and then mix together to warm up for bb's feeding.

Paula,
How r u getting now?
BB Kelly looks so sweet and feminine
Looks more like u or yr hubby?

Seems like your CL is really the extreme... hiaz... i suppose it'll do u good to fire her and get another one.

I agree that postpartum recovery is the hardest. I also felt so unhappy esp yesterday. My breasts were so sore and hard! And i had problem controlling my bowels. My hubby says it could be temporary (if nothing goes wrong) or permanent...asked me to call my gynae but i simply refused... didnt even want to talk to anyone... was extremely depressed yesterday
We'll see how the problem goes.

I'm feeling a little better today. At least the "friends" we have here can hear me out.

My CL is quite ok so far... she keeps encouraging me to BF and helps me to relief my engorgement.

msnanas,
Wow! your lab was short but the aftermath is really scary!!! I hope u have recovered by now. Take care and dont walk too much.

Okipoki,
Still around? Take care... i think yr bb should be coming out soon. Dont wonder ard too much, ok?

Celesteblur still around? never hear anything fr her.

friedbandit : heehee yes sweetie, thanks, was stressing too much last night to reply your sms.
i managed to feed on my breast wif the nipple protector, and expressed from the bleeding breast and after i ensured no blood in it, kept it in the fridge for use (in case today it bleeds

KK: Sterilising items. Just to clarify: So you keep sterilising each time you open the steriliser ? Cuz it says once you open it, you must re-sterilise the items again ? I'm using the avent one.

EBM: ok, thanks for clarifying the bit abt mixing milk and feeding.

Bottles: I have nuk (yah, it was highly recommended by ppl) as well as avent, but i'll only try it as a last resort ...

tinkle,
thanks am still around... today stay at home liao & dare not go out. hehe !! anyway, i am still having the show but w/o contraction so gynae said wait.

K Ong
think it wld be silly for me to tell u not to stress. but stress does cause BM supply to dip. i think u're doing fine. BFing is generally not easy for most, some blessed pple have no problems. it'll take some time for everything to stabilize...maybe abt 3mths? in the meantime, don't give up! dun worry if it doesn't seem enough. Baby K will simply demand more frequent feedings. This in turn will stimulate more pdn...in time. hang in there!

msnanas,

Congratualation, finally can see your bb. And I'm glad you are feeling better now. =)

okipoki,

At least you are hving show liao. I still dun hv anything yet.. Aiyo, I think tonite is gonna be a long nite for me...

hidora,
gynae said show doesnt mean soon leh.. he said most impt is the "pain" that come.. so waiting and waiting... for u confirmed tonite mah right

Missk,

Yes, I did. She wont listen if you talked nicely to her must show her black face then she will do something about it. Soh1ful left me a contact for Mt E Nursing Agency in the forum last night do you want to try contacting them to see if you can seek help for one week?

MsNanas,
Hope you are feeling better now do rest more.

KOng,
Kelly is using Avent bottles. Im thinking of switching it to Pigeon though she has been sucking the teats very loudly during feeding times and Im not too sure if thats a good thing or not. Re. expressed milk, I mixed the expressed milk with formula milk when my output is low in the first two days lei..

Tinklebell,
Our friends said that Kelly looked more like her daddy though her eyes looked like mine. Haha. Have you removed your bowels yet or are you having runs? If its the former, try taking Parrafin or Fybrogel Physically, Im feeling fine now just that Im having the occasional needle-poking pain at my V-area Im worried that it might be urinary tract infection but when I called up KKH yesterday, they told me that its normal cos the wounds are healing and the antiseptic effects of epidural and pain relief tablets are wearing off monitoring the situation if still the same, Ill head down to their 24 hour clinic.

KK, yea loh ... she has been choking ... poor lady ... I wanted to switch it to Pigeon but my CL refused saying that baby will not know how to latch on to new bottle.

Mummies, check with you: what's the shape of your belly now that you have given birth? Is it tender or hard? My belly is in the shape of a pear now and it's not tender ...

paula,

Ohhh should be ok lah.. my girl, i switch her from NUK to pigeon. And there was one time she also use tollyjoy for her water haha.. i love her flexibility

Since she is not coping well with avent, she may be happier if u switch her to pigeon

okipoki,

Will be gng to see gynae at 4plus later. I dun care, I wanna be induce tonite! Lol. Everything packed liao, cot set up liao, if she tells me to wait a few more days, I will be so disappointed!

hidora,
u mean ur induction for tonite havent fix yet ar ?? actually my gynae encourage natural & not induction... i keep telling my ger to send "pain" symptoms tonite so that i can carry her by tomorrow

i've delivered my baby girl on friday, 16-06-06. she was 3.3 kg, 48cm and healthy. however, i got no milk until now..
so confusing, tried to latch on n she seemed happy at day 1 and 2, but on day 3 she got crancky after b/f, showing that the milk is not enough, so i have to top up formula. the thing is when i tried to squeeze or pump, the nipple area is not even wet, let alone drip one drop of milk/colostrum! does it mean ill have no milk? now day 4, my breast feel fuller, but still not really engorged, and when i massage and squeezed managed to get a drop of milk (or is it colostrum?). however, when i latch on my bb, the breast doesn't become tender leh n she got crancky again n neeed to feed formula again..
how???? please desperately need help here.. am i doomed no milk? is my giving formula a good thing? what should i do to increase the BM? sorry so many qn, was trying v hard not too stress over this, but yesterday broke down..

hi all mummies,

I've just given birth last thursday via c-sect now resting at home. I have some questions here regards to expressing of BM which I hope u mummies can help me with.

Since this is my 5th day after labour, I hv yet to manage to express out my milk even though I hv already started to breastfeed my boy in the hospital.
1) I was wondering if my milk flow have not started yet or
2) there is something wrong with my avent electronic breast pump which I felt that its lack of suction.

Any mummies here is also using the avent breast pump ? can help with this ? I feel quite pressuried cos my husband will ask me if I hv enough milk or not but my CL did mentioned that its still early for the milk to flow in ? is this true ?

Please help.......thanks a lot !!

okipoki,

It's more or less fixed cos I told her I wanna go for induction instead of wait till 25th. Then she say ok, but she nv jot it down or anything. So praying that she wun forget. Haha.

hi mum2b,

Seems like i am having the same problem as you, for the 1st few days in hopsital, he seems ok to latch on (supplement him with fomula milk too) but after we came back from hospital yesterday, he seems very impatient to latch on which I think is due to he is already used to the feeding from bottle and thus loose his patient to suck from the breast which hv not enough of milk flow too.

My breats are full and engored and feel like rock leh but still cannot express out the milk. So I was wondering if its too early for the milk flow or there is problem with my breast pump......

k ong

Yes u can combine yr 20ml + 20ml. Each time i store in diff bottle after i expressed but my CL will pour the required amt to feed baby.

missk,

My baby is 90% feeding on breast milk (i express out and feed him on bottle) and 10% of formula milk now. Even with the amt of breast milk i'm having now, still not sufficient to supply to my baby's requirement. So he had 1-2 feeds on formula.

missk,
I do latch my boy... and pump
Sometimes I will pump and my boy wakes up after I pump. So far still ok, will still have milk... Today my supply go down already
. I drink lotus root with black beans soup everyday, and drink lots of milo too. Maybe that helps in producing milk

K_Ong,
CONGRATULATIONS!

The nurse taught me to press a bit of milk out and rub over the nipple. Then let it dry in the air first.
I also have sore nipples, cos my boy sucks very hard. But I try to bear with it... sometimes it's not so painful already. Initially, really must "ren".

Poohy,
Congratulations on your Yi En's dedication...

msnanas,
Congratulations!
Hope you are feeling better now... Wish you afast recovery

Tinklebell,
Hope you will recover fast fast