(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kk,
Wah.. you are also early bird...
I woke up to feed and now my boy just fell asleep...
How to know if milk gets into baby's ears?
I got a brochure about the taimaobi. The seal looks "o biq" to me... :p Very "chinese"...

Lyn,

Wow, u are so early too!! My girl woke up for her feed at 6 am. She slept at 1130pm. Looks like sleeping hours are further stetched liao
Hope she maintain this way

I felt cold easily too, during confinement. Normally i can tahan air con at 24 degrees, but i felt cold that time at the same temperature. Must wrap whole body up with blanket hahaha.. so different from pregnant time.

lyn,

u see the ear wet lor heeee.. the milk will seldom go in lah actually if we are fast enough to wipe off. We cannot dig the bb ears at this moment, so just have to be more careful

i threw away the brochure liao heeee... didn't make any taimaobi also. My girl didn't shave bald during her first mth. We just trimmed a little off every mth until 4th mth then shave her bald.

tinklebell,

congrats... looking forward to hearing your birth story

kk, lyn

morning... i woke up early at 5plus today too... going to church later for my girl's bb dedication ..we dedicate today as her full mth day.

re:po yue

for me, this does not really bother me...in fact me and hb ROM in the lunar calender june and held our wedding dinner on lunar 7th mth. our parents are generally open minded and din object to it

hi all !
congrats to those who have popped !
my baby girl arrived on 14th june at 1145am. 3kg, 51cm :)
Natural w/o epi.
Was back hone since Fri, but very busy trying to figure out what baby wants when she cries, etc ...

Also, having sore and cracked nipples now !! so sad. What do you all do to help it heal ? when i wear my clothes over, it chaffes the nipple an makes it worse.

Also, what do you do with the EBM ? Bottle feed ?

helo kite

I think I am in the same situation as you. After breastfeeding, I tried to pump after half an hour. There is no milk at all. So sad!

kite

As i am breastfeeding, I dun spend a lot of time burping him. I only spend about a min or so. Even if he doesnt burp, I put him down to sleep. I hear that breast milk is easier to digest as compared to formula. Hence, if you are bottle feeding, you need to spend much more time burping him. I wonder if my information is correct.

hey lyn!

Goodness 100ml from each breast!!!! That's amazing. I can only manage about 20 - 30 ml each side. How did you manage that? How often do you feed your son? How old is your son now? Mine is about Day 11.

Hi! Thanks for all the well wishes.
In pain now due to bad engorgement and having a bit of problem controlling my bowels

Anyway, will be glad to share my birth story:

11PM 14 JUN Checked into TMC and was lead to the labor ward. Changed, nurse made me clear my bowels.

0000AM 15 JUN Gynae came; checked cervix... already 3cm dilated; broke waterbag... so painful i screamed ... asked for gas... felt like i was in outer space but it kind of lessened the pain. Gynae left. Before he left, he said to see me in the morning. Most likely to take ard 6 hrs for bb to come out.

0030AM Anaesthetist came. Adminstered the epidural successfully at one go. *PHEW!*
In between
So bored... went to sleep zzzz

0405AM Felt pain on my right buttoks. Nurse said it is due to bb's descend but seems like she is leaning more to the right... so asked me to change position and increased epi level to 7. Contractions have become rythmic.

0600AM Felt pain on lower tummy... called for nurse. Checked and said bb head can be seen. Called for gynae to come. In meantime, nurses were getting ready for the birth.

0630AM Gynae arrived.... nurses made me push v hard.... gyane mentions that bb is in a weird position... will take more pushes to force her out. opps!

0647AM Finally, one last push and BB Fiona was born.

gina,
water bag burst, still can walk..tat time when my water bag burst, I even bath and wash clothes before walking down to take cab to hospital...

re: burping

my son either burp immediately when I hold him up or he dun burp..so if he dun burp within a few pat at his back, I'll just put him back to his bed to sleep...

re: cord spirit
to clean the cord, u got to clean the area underneath the cord...muz be dare to do it...dun worry abt hurting baby...

after the cord dropped off, as long as there's still blood at the belly button, will still need to use the cord spirit...only when the belly button is completely clean, then can stop using the spirit

Morning ladies...

K-ong,
Congrats to you.. wow u are another one that encourage me to go w/o epi
meanwhile, do take care..

okasan
i oso keep telling myself..die die must do it..but hor..still..now think of it..i still shivers..wah piang...by that tiem i really have to hands on dunno how...*faint*

lyn,
i hope i can hold her in my arms by next week
u mean still can celebrate full mth but not giving out cakes nor eggs right... hopefully, she is guai guai to listen to me to come out soon.... thanks

then my #1 my mum always complained that the nurses dunno how to tie the cord...not nice lah...not centred lah...very difficult to clean lah..wah..this time hope thigns will get in better hands..hahaha...at least make it easier for me....1st tiem handle cord...

dsiitan,
u muz hands-on...not as bad as u think....for me, I take care of everything myself since day 1...dun wanna rely on any help coz when u are on your own, the mother instinct will set in

hi all...
Finally confinement is over... hohohohoh.... had the full month celebration yesterday and its real tiring.... aiyo..... from now on can wash hair and bath as and when i like liao ..

Just for your refernce, i ordered jacksplace full month coffee walnut cake with 2 ang gu kuay and 2 red egg..@ $10.70. the cake not bad lah.... quite nice.... and as for buffet, i ordered from Mum's kitchen... everyone commented the food is good..

Okasan,
Yah.. me same as angeline did not was hair since delivery... and for me.. worst still.. did not bath!! just use hot water add those white rice wine and clean the body.... can you iumagine..

Angeline,
What milk bottles you using? I got a few pigeon brand bottles which i got inside some gifts sets during the full month thingg... and 2 bottles i got it free inside the steriliser that i bought prevously... so if you using pigeon brand, i dun mind giving you.. if not wasted leh... As for the nepia NB, if i need, i will buy frm you if you have left ok... lata i PM u my HP # or u can PM me your HP #.. hehe

celeste,
wow, u can tahan not washing hair and bathing?? cool!! I really peifu those that can do it...I bath and wash hair at the hospital right after I delivered...hehe...

so good, your confinement over liao...me not counting down to the end of confinement too...left a few days more....

Okasan,
You pop on 20 May hor.. earlier than me... 23may,.... but my full month celebration yesterday.. so i take it as full month over.. can bath and wash hair.. haha...

As for washing hair... i am those type that wash haireverydy last time.. but after delivery, everyonr say cannot wash... and moreover i sleep in aircon room.. and i also admire myself can tahan and dun wash hair lor... hahaha...

celeste,
yours is 23 may..then confinement should be over on 23 jun leh...I also thought maybe I should just consider my confinement ending today since I'm having full mth celebration today....then again, confinement or not, not much diff to me as I already bath and wash hair

okipoki...i prefer mamypoko NB to pampers NB cos i find that the material is softer and more absorbant...my gal likes to be clean...when she wears pampers she will cry everytime she poo herself...but for mamypoko, she sometimes can sleep for hours without realising that she needs a change of diapers...

Kite...my gal's umbilical cord dropped this morning after her bath...

TMC PD Dr Koey told us that hiccuping is normal for new borns...so not much to worry...my gal hiccups almost after every feed..as for burping...my mum sometimes takes 30-45 mins to burp my gal after every feed...

Serene....i have tried cakes from both Choz and Melrose Place...i personally prefer Choz cos i think their cakes are nicer and packing more presentable...as for melrose place...their cakes are sweeter and packing quite common..

dsiitan...use the cord spirit dab on cotton balls to clean the area around the umbilical cord, then you can apply cord powder on the cord to prevent infection and to dry up the cord faster...

Lyn...i also feel cooler now as compared to pregnancy days...so now evey nite i can sleep with the fan on...during my pregnancy days...i must on the aircon otherwise cannot sleep..

K Ong...congrats to you...you can squeeze some milk on the nipple and apply medela purelan cream or avent nipple cream to soothe your nipple after every feed...also try to air your nipple before you wear your clothes...

okipoki/spicegal,
hehe, i see if can cham xiong with my mom/sil whether occasionally can on aircon boh :p

kk,
hmmzz, wat u says makes sense also
Maybe i will bring my ger for polyclinic jabs instead. Cos if we book appt we normally dont have to wait long rite?

tinklebell,
congrats on the arrival of ur ger
Now left me liowz...haha....tomolos will be inducing if my ger still dont wanna come out....*sigh*

Dor,

For caterer, i used Mum's kitchen... food is good.. but portion abit small.. have to order exact number i think... try their mee siam.. its better than their laksa...

Celeste,
All the best to you tomorrow!!!
Must be veeeery excited.... can imagine that. Once u see your girl, i'm sure you'll feel like all the trouble u had during the 9 mths pregnancy was worth it. Me trying v hard to cope with b-engorgement now. Hiaz... real bad... I was using my Avent pump this morning... express until hand pain
i suggest if u still have time, go and buy an electric one. Just tried my Ameda pump for the first time...felt that it was quite good... hope it will serve me well

KOng,
Congrats! Finally your bb has also arrived!

Serene,
I think my dd looks like her dad.

Hidora,
Finally har? All the best to u too

talk abt being left on the "shelf"... guess left with me & gina lah. me too hope i can pop on tuesday... keke !!!

hi tinkle and k ong, congras to the arrival of ur bb...

Lyn, wow!!! 100ml from each side even after latch on.. envy u...

talking abt bb's jab, any idea how much 5-jab and 6-jab cost??? When to take?? Tks

Dor,

your baby birthday also on the 4-June, rite? SAme as my boy. I will be using Select. Now busy with the full mth party. U too?

Dor,

i ordered from continental delights for my full mth celebration. Food not bad, but serving small. So must order exact number or even order extra. Different from celeste, continental delights' mee siam not nice, so dun order that.

Oh ya,

John Little is hving 15% storewide on all sales items again. Last day tmr.

Pureen wet wipes is selling at 4 packets (100's) for 11.80, then after another 15% d/c, it's only abt $2.50 per packet.

Then Kiddy palace, Tom & Stef hving 20% d/c on regular items. Today last day. So if you all need anything, better go see fast!

tinkle,
Thanks for sharing your birth story. Luckily u opt for epi from beginning, if not u be experiencing more pain as for yr case, u still feel buttock and lower tummy pain even after admin. epi. Agreed with u, once you see your darling, u will feel everything is worth while for the last nine mths and happiness and joy is undescribeable.

Clesteblur,
U going to induce tomorrow? Don't worry, everything will be fine and over soon and you will get to see yr bb very soon. Enjoy the precious moment of seeing your new born to this world. It's really unforgetable! Good luck.

spicegal,
Thanks for sharing your comments on the full mth cake for both choz and melrose.

tinkle,
Your gal looks more like daddy? So she's daddy's girl.
So far, my baby's mouth looks like daddy, nose looks like me and eyes like daddy more i think. I think overall, he looks like daddy more...not too sure also. The features will change again i guess.

tinkle,
Rem to massage yr breasts so that your engorgement won't be so bad. I'm using avent manual pump too, agreed that hands are aching but with the thought of expressing more milk for baby, endure and endure.... My neighbour uses electric pump told me she already adjusted to lowest power but still painful so perhaps the manual one is better in control. I manage to pump more one day after another. Yesterday i've pump total of 535ml. Hope today i can break yesterday's record.

Hidora,

The website is a good one! The packaging are all very sweet

To mummies who have popped, congrats!!!

To those who are popping soon, waiting for ur good news and birth story to share

443930.jpg

ladies..
just a check with u... just now i hv a sudden gust of water & realised is abit brownish.. so went for dinner. i think is the mucous plug but is not the clear type leh.. also abit brownish. so what shld i do ?

okasan
ask you, when we bathe bb b4 cord comes off, can let the cord touch the bath water? what abt after the cord drops? me kinda scared abt the cord thingy... dunno how to deal with that... btw kite and kk, why must keep the cord in angpow after it drops off? err... can't we just throw it away?

celeste,
didnt call leh cos i dun feel any contraction yet just tummy abit tight nia and not painful.. i will see later tonite how 1st.