(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

tinklebell,

Hmm? The contact lens actually gives you perfect eyesight in the daytime? I didnt know got such things leh.. Then if you dun wear, how long does it takes for your degree to stablize so that you can go make a pair of glasses?

mspiggy,

Thanks! Was thinking need to bring a set for each day or not.

duffy,
my wound heal ard 3rd week.. first few days i can sit well, not pain.. den maybe sit too much .. i felt sore n pain .. den during 1st checkup which is a week after discharged, gynae gave mi a type of antibotic cream to apply.. den apply liao.. few days .. coming to week 3.. no more pain liao.. and stitches dissolved too..

hidora,
hee hee ...something new .. have been wearing them for 2 years liao! want to go for lasik next but my hubby not v for it
Donno if BF'g can go for Lasik or not?

if i dont wear for 48 hrs, my eyesight will go back to "normal". but so far, if i remove my lenses at 6am, even until midnite, i still can see perfectly.

Tinklebell, i am a firm supporter of Lasik. Did mine 3 yrs ago and was so happy after that. Made perfect once again
Nowadays the technology for myopic correction is so advanced and common --- no different from those to correct cataract and like putting on braces. It should not have an effect on BF'g. They will dilate your cornea with some solution to whether u r suitable. For the actual surgery, I don't remember taking any oral medication. Only thing was eye drops and an eye shield.

tinklebell,

Ya ya, how much is it? And if you wear them at night, you not scare that you rub your eyes, then the lenses accidently cut your eyes? Or it dropped out?

*vainpot peeking out* lol

Lok,

I wanna do it too.. But very exp for someone like me who is not working. =( so gotta look for alternatives.

Amy,

i also don no y leh??? maybe must keep expressing the milk in a few hrs time lor even tot ur bb not drinking..i sometime will let her latch on...then i think the flow too fast liao then she get choke.. jia lut leh...i don no my bb got gain weight a not leh?? coz she is on total EBM..sometime 80ml then sometime 100ml..

hidora,

bring 1 set is enough..

hidora
ya..me another vainpot..hahaha...wear specs or contact lens really very troublesome...lasik very ex i think...few k per eye?? haiz...u oso a SAHM???? sama sama leh

tinklebell,
your contact lens sounds interesting. my hubby very keen to do lasik.. asking me to do with him next yr

hidora,
i think dont need to bring for the day time.. just for going home.

MOAP,

Hehe, thanks. I was really gng to pack 2-3sets of booties n mittens. ;p

dsiitan,

Ya lor, lasik is so exp.. 2k plus, dunno per eye or for both. But still exp lah! I have not been working since I got pregnant cos my contract ended. Then I'm also doing my part time studies, dun think I can cope with a new job. But hopefully I can find a job after confinement period. Cos very cham leh, gotta depend on hb for money. Then see nice things also dun dare to buy. =|

Lok,
I hope to do Lasik soon. U did yrs at Eye Centre?

hidora/ dsittan,
It costs $1400. each set can ard 3 yrs.
But i lost one side previously and had to pay $400 for replacement

actually i think lasik more value for money.

hidora,

i see as a long-term investment --- pay upfront and reap the benefits over the long term. Buying specs and contact lenses/solutions also cost a lot of $. In my case, i couldn't wear contact lens and dreaded the idea of wearing glasses on my wedding day. So after thinking abt it for 5 yrs, i decided to go for it. Cost me abt 6K+ in total (included pre-checks and post consultation) 'cos i went to Dr Jerry Tan who is the pioneer surgeon. I didn't mind paying so long as the surgeon is good. Nowadays, I heard it's a lot cheaper with the intense competition.

okipoki,
wow envy!!! how i wish i had perfect eyesight. had that until JC. Worsened after i started to work

Lok,
$6k!!! my bro did it for $2k plus 1 yr back (for both eyes) and he said can pay by instalment.
He told me there is a more expensive one... but when he asked the surgeon, he said only software difference. gosh!

celesteblur,
true lor.. now only need to watchout diet & no need others medicines at all. but i need to monitor after birth too.

MOAP,

You are another one with perfect eyesight?! Argh.. envious!

okipoki,

I'm not a bookworm nor crotch potatoes leh.. Dunno why.. maybe look at guys too much.. haha

tinklebell,

2k plus for 2 eyes ah? Hmm.. maybe when I start working, got spare cash, then I will go do it.

hidora,
haha! your eyes starring too long at the wrong things? must relax it!
Yap! he did it for $2k plus, comes with 1 yr warranty. And 1 week MC.

Lok,
I heard that it is not advisable to go for Lasik when BF'g cos the curvature of the cornea is said to be different bec it could be affected by hormonal changes. U may have to do a correction again later on.

moap,
aiyo, u another lucky girl

tinklebell,

The news last night said got new techniques for lasik. Supposed to have fewer side effects. But the cost is 10% higher.

tinklebell, okipoki,

The two of you expecting girl girl rite? Must remember to tell your girl dun go staring at the wrong things wor.. ;p

tinklebell,
the david beckam hairstyle was 'styled' by the nurse..haha

Will be bring my baby to TMC tmr for checkup. My CL said baby looks like got jaundice...I hope not too serious..

tinklebell,

Dr Jerry Tan is probably one of the most expensive one around and he's in private practice. I did Wavefront Lasik and did it before they started releasing all the prices and everybody undercuts each other. Pre-check alr cost me abt $400. The surgeon fee itself is abt $1.4K per eye. There are other fees like rental of equipment which cost $1K each time. But I'm happy with him. His clinic is very packed every time, making big bucks! SNEC is cheaper but I heard if you request for senior consultants or head of dept then, it will be expensive.

wah...all 4 digits one..haiz....me poor woman...then i think its either i strike 1st prize or toto 1st group...hahaha..if not must wait liao...

hidora
ya loh...siong ah...so really jealous or envy those with perfect eyesight or like Lok loh...canjust spent $6K on the eyes..me hor...heart bleeding ah..hahaa

gillian,

oh u know tigger too ah... keane is abt same age as my boy
me not brave lah... many others did it too...

me in confinement food ...still eat all kinds of hawker food... last sunday i just had kfc... normally i take my favourite chicken rice or noodle... my mum also give up nagging me liao

dor, congrats... btw, will use of forcep cause a bigger tear or episiotomy cut?? u having any pain in the stitches??

panda,

press bb face on the forehead or chheck... see how yellow it is when u pressed... u will know whether bb got jaundice. another place is their eyes...

btw, forgot to inform u all that for those living near bukit panjang bangkit, a provision shop sells pampers premium newborn at $12.50 a pack... quite cheap if u need
i just bought 5 more pack last week...

dsiitan,

If I'm working, maybe I will still spend so much on comestic purposes. But not working definitely cannot one.. Somemore got a newborn coming..

I tell you something. My fren was asking us wat's the prices for movie tickets now, and we said it's 9.50 for weekends. Then immediately he turned to his wife and said: Dear, we cannot go see movies liao. A pair of ticket can buy us half a can of milk powder. Heheheh.

So nowadays, even if hb wanna bring me go eat any exp food, or go watch movies, I also dun wanna go.

poohy
near where?? whats the shop name? me also looking high and low for mamy poko newborn..but cant find leh...

dsiitan,

no need to envy lah. If i consider the cost of making specs every year for myself, actually the incremental is not that much. If u wear contact lenses, the difference is even less. Moreover, it's hard to quantify the intangible benefits like sheer convenience! Plus like what Tinklebell said, it's much cheaper nowadays. It took me 5 yrs to decide to do it (more because i was waiting for the technology to mature) and can save up in the meantime..

I have other problems too, haven't tell u how much I spent on my skin problems and braces. That cost me another few thousands..My frens was jokingly asking me which part of my face am I going to "rectify" next..

So health is indeed wealth (so lucky for okipoki and MOAP)...

hidora
hahaa..ya lah..u r rite...me got 2 kids ah..worse...now hor..what enrichment class lah..then sch fees..wah piang..all $$$

movies?? aiyo..dun say $9.50..last time i think $7 ah..my hubby dun go watch movies liao...he said can buy vcd/dvd better...can watch so many times..somemore..can pause when go toilet...tidbits cheaper too..buy at NTUC..wah piang...if hubby wants to bring u eat gd stuff..must go..not always at times..if u always dun want to go...sooner or later..u wont be going cos he wont be bringing u liao..so at times still must go one..hehee...own experience

dsiitan,

Hahah.. how true..ok, on my coming birthday, I will make him bring me go eat nice food. Lol. But sometimes a meal that cost over 100++, I eat liao very heartpain. Cos my family rather thrifty one. Go eat sushi for 50 plus, I can still swallow.. ;p

And hor, if my mom knows how much we spend on eating, surely get nagged by her. Say baby coming, all those money can buy this buy that for baby. And where got people eat food eat until so expensive one.. ;p

At least your hb still go buy vcd/dvd. For us, we just download off the net! Hehehe.. very pirated one. And you can always get the latest movies. Like my bro, he's downloading the Omen now. ;p

hidora
haha...u think got in sin?? no lah..he asked ppl to get from msia...hahaha..in ringgit one lah...at tiems we go to those dvd shop...he saw the price...he faints ah...

sushi ok lah..considers quite gd liao..thrifty is gd..but at times if hubby wanna pamper u..let him..if not become a habit..if u always say no...he more happy ah..then later u not happy liao..hehehe

dsiitan,

not mei mei lah. Just "restoring" to original state what carelessness destroyed. So prevention is always better than cure. In the past, only have to think of myself. Now, must think abt the kid and family. Will probably not spend this kind of $ in future. Though easier said than done. Take good care of yourself.

dsiitan,

That's why I prefer eating buffet. Hehe. 20+ to 30+ for one person and so many varieties.

How true hor. Later really become a habit then I will really be unhappy liao. I think I should let him pamper me more.

haha! i guess most girls r vain by nature or rather we want to look nice and presentable :p
i told my boi boi, next time be a plastic surgeon ok? so that u can help mummy adminster botox.. kekeke :p hey by then i will be 60 plus leh.. timing is just nice.

Lok,

I dunno how much I have spend on acne treatments liao. But for the sake of beauty, have to spend.

Then used to buy alot of facial products lah, make ups lah, hair products lah.

Then also spend on pretty clothes for clubbing, or go eat in restuarants every now and then (in the past).

Now I dun think I will anyhow spend liao. Always gotta think of the family first.

Is that one reason why some people prefer to stay single? Lol

tinklebell,

Wa! Idea.. I think I should tell my boy that too.

But do you realize how unfair time is to women? Some men at 40, 50 plus, can still look so charming. But women at the age, haiz..

Lok,
I dont dare to do Lasik yet...and i seldom wear contact lenses cos my eyes feel very dry when wearing contacts