(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

duffybuff

i am just curious...how then did u apply for your ML? u mean u have already applied for the 8/12 weeks starting from this week?

my coy expects me to fill up the ML form before i go on leave. prob is, i dun even though when my ML will start cos not sure when bb will pop

duffybuff,
u r on ML bec you keep getting contractions is it? ya lor, waste your ML. But if u go back to work, do u feel ok? ur gynae has any plans for u? i agree that it's very irritating to keep waiting and waiting. last time i also took ML 1 week in advance thinking i will pop but nothing happened

steffi/ tinkle
my gyna gave me 1 wk MC to rest at home but my co said that so long as if i take MC 1 mth before my edd then it's considered ML liao... so it's only for this wk.. if next wk i plan to go bk, it's still ok.. but next wk will be even nearer to my edd so think i will be even more tired.

actually dun want to take leave this wk but since i'm hvg regular contractions and gynae said it's anytime cos bb's head really low. so i took this wk off. and of cos feeling very tried too..

tomw i'll be gog to my gynae again for check so will c how lor.. if the chk shows no sign of 'popping' yet then probably i'll go bk next wk. dun want to waste my ML. well just take it that i take this week for a good rest lor. what to do.. my bb playing games with me.

duffy

for me, my coy dun allow us to break up the 8 weeks, it has to be a continuous stretch..so if i just take 1 week and go back to work next week, they will still consider next week as ML.....

Tinklebell,

Haha, my school is finally good in this sense.. if we pop, our hubbies can pop by the school to apply leave on our behalf. So we will never waste our ML :p

Oh ya, and recently the school get back to me say the third mth can be taken separately from the 2 mths. Siao, now i am even more confused, dunno my ML until when.

Stephanie,

I thought that is the standard policy? 8 weeks cannot be broken up. Whereas the third mth can.

kk

Yap, i thot so as well. But in Duffy's case, she took 1 wk mc this week (considered as ML cos it's 1 mth before EDD) then she may go back to work next week. So effectively, she is breaking up her 8 weeks ML?

steffi,
i'm taking this wk from my 3rd mth ML cos the 1st 2 mths must be taken in 1 whole stretch whereas the last mth (3rd mth) can be taken/split in block of weeks. but must finish the 3rd mth ML wihin the next 4 mths after the 2mths ML.

kk,
ya.. but sigh.. oso waste of my ML lor.. cos bb still reluctant to come out.. so no choice lor. if still dun come out then hope that next wk i'll be fit enough to go work lor.. cos really get tired easily now

tinklebell, i find that the HK disneyland is far cry from those in the US/Paris. Didn't really enjoy myself there as much. US is the best so far.

Lok,
u have been to hk disney? i also heard that it is not as good. i went to the one at paris and i didnt think it was fantastic...so so only. didnt even see mickey mouse or donald duck there.

kk,
my fren who is also a teacher was on hospitalisation leave 1 mth prior to her delivery. H/e, the hr said she has to treat that as ML.

duffybuff
nvm la.. u wont enjoy such quiet life when bb comes along lei. i m startin my ML nxt wk cos my due is nxt fri, 2 jun. when is urs huh? But i still wan to ask my gynae to give me MC from nxt mon to thurs.. and try my luck whether my co treats it as ML or MC lor..keke.

everyone,

thanx again for all the well wishes
been real busy all day and night long hehee... guess it will be sleepless nights ahead liao... at first from hospital and back first day, she was feeding 3 to 3.5 hours apart but yesterday night onward suddenly wanted to be carried and feed every 1-2 hours .. and cant even finish her feed .. hehee i slept on the sofa with her from 3am for fear she will wake her gorgor up... my hb took care of her before that... anyway been a busy day :)

hope i can lose all my weight soon... i gained 9kg throughout this pregnancy and got 4kg left right after... so hope to shed it asap

tinklebell,

my milk flow not in yet.. still colustrum
I din really latch on much... too busy juggling between my boy and my girl... i slept at most 3 hours every night... and i dun sleep in the day... cos gotta take care of them myself at night... my hb helps me a lot.. but i try to get him to sleep if i can else he will be a zombie the next day lol

anyway i feel a sense of loss right after giving birth to my girl... same feeling as my boy... i miss the preggie feeling and the feeling of expectancy when waiting for their birth... wish i can have a 3rd one soon but... i think it gotta wait else my boss will faint if i go ML 3 consecutive years....

serene,

i went back earlier so that the home environment will be more conducive and better for my boy... else he cant crawl in the hospital so a bit restricted..
We can stay just 1 night actually but then was informed that if dun take the package of 3d2n will not be able to claim medisave.. so we just go along and take 3d2n lor..
What details in the bill would u like to know... ?

kite,

u can choose the PD, they will ask u when u admit... but if they dun, or u din specify .. then normally i think gynae will have a tie up with a PD ... And we need to pay for the PD... mine was dr Terence Tan and its about $155 for the 2 morning plus right after birth checkup for the baby. The PD takes care of your bb while gynae takes care of u lor

i think another way is to get MC from GP.. maybe take 2 days MC, then go back to work 1 day and then take again.. but i think the company will kill us..hahaha

Hello Mummies/Mtb.. i woke up with yellowish discharge this morning.. is it a sign of labour beginning soon?

have been experiencing pain in lower abdomen @ night for the past 2 nights.. wenta my gynae for checkup yst & he inserted something into my V but he says i'm not yet dilated..

i asked him how does contraction feels like as i'm a first time mummy and he says i will know when the time comes.. =( so i think i need extra help here..

my EDD is 2nd June..

poohy,
I wish to see my bb soon... but i think i will really dread to have lack of sleep... arggghhh.
hee hee ...BB No 3? I have no plans for that for the time being. Getting old ... donno if i will have the stamina.
Dont worry u will lose 4kg very quickly. i saw your blog... u dont look like u have just delivered... looks so slim...envy.
Any English name for Yi-En?

shan,
yesterday duffy gave a link to an article... it kind of gives u an idea how contraction feel like and how to differentiate false and true labour. But i agree it is v difficult to differentiate the two. www.drspock.com/article/0,1510,4566,00.html

poohy
u delivered at Mt A, izzit. U took 2 or 4 bedder or single? How is ur bill size. My assigned PD is also Terence Tan. Btw, wat brand of FM are they givin now?

hi shan
i m hvin the same EDD as u. Wher will u b delivering huh? me at Mt A. well i also do not hv any idea how a real contraction is like. I also hvin tight tummy along w backache. Is this contraction?

poohy,

Really envy u, only left 4 kgs to shed off. I think that's easy, so dun worry. I just don't understand why i put on so much??? Is there really so much water retention in my body???

As for the bill, i was comparing yrs with kk's and though kk's is C-sect but also stay in 1 bedder....hers is alot more...yrs is very cheap. Just wonder what's yr bill break down. Sorry, i know u r now busy with taking care of yrself and yr baby. Perhaps when u r free, can u share the breakdown of bill with me? thks.

Tinklebell,

Oh really? Ok then i must take note.. next time cannot end up taking leave 1 mth before EDD. Else really lugi!

Hmmm, i read rather bad comments on HK disneyland in the forum just now. So i tell hubby maybe give it a miss. We just go eating and shopping heeee... if feel bored, then pop by disneyland and see got tickets or not. If no tickets, then so be it. Dun think will do online booking now.

Stephanie,

Lucky my school accept my gynae MC as normal MC when i was on MC for 4 days before induce.

Dor,

Haha, if i practise ur method, i am going to get warning from VP and HOD liao :p

Poohy,

WOW, u looking into #3 liao? Ya, easier for u because u deliver both babies so fast! Mine caesarian, somehow puts me off having #2 liao. Got to think twice before i try.

thanks tinkerbell.. this is really useful for me.. =D

Dor.. i'll be delivering @ raffles.. but told gynae i wanna go Mt A cuz its very near to my place & there's no one @ home every afternoon.. so if suddenly wanna give birth, Mt A very near only..i also have backache & BH contraction.. haven been slping well for the past few nights.. =(

can i join in this chat? Am currently 36w and 6 days..have scheduled for C section on 2nd June. But not sure can tahan till then anot...alot of strain and pain at the pelvic area..have been on 2 weeks MC already..

Gee..i didnt know if we take MC 1 month prior to due date its considered ML as well...keeping my fingers cross my company dont practice that..else very lugi..

Congrats to all mummies who have delivered..me counting down to mine as well...=)

tinklebell,

we are still thinking of an english name for yi en... maybe will call her joelle or rachel.. gotta see how... now planning for her baby dedication in church on full month day.

dor,

i delivered at tmc... bill is $1.1k plus after medisave for 3d2n. they give all kinds of FM... just tell them what u want them to give... I asked for enfalacA+... same as my son's FM

serene,

no prob abt the bill... the bill looks like this:

normal delivery 1 bedder 2 days - $1778
companion - $75
drugs/medicine - $20.80
medical supplies - $63.20
ward procedures - $60
gynae charges - $550 (medisave claimable)
PD charges - $165

grand total plus gst $2811.85 (before medisave)
payable cash after medisave = $1111.85

kk,

ya me same as my mum... we normally have shorter labour time... but gotta be able to bear with the pain lor... hehee... its very intense... having a 2nd child or subsequent is really unlike the first... when u have your first... can be more focused.. with a no1.. especially such a young one like mine, imagine i was trying to cope with labour pain and gotta carry him around in the shopping centre hehee..
I always believe pain is something we can try to raise our threshold to...

yve,

Congrats!!!

this week seems v popular for bdays.. next time all your bbs can celebrate their bdays together!

Hi soh1dful,

Welcome

Hi Stephanie

yah..was recommended by my gynae to have C section..coz he said i belong to the petite kind and my hip is rather small..so he is worried i might not be able to deliver naturally. Decided not to take the "risk" ..scare wait end up bottom pain and tummy pain and not to mention additional medical cost as well.

okipoki:
not forgetting me wor. i shall be the last one in this thread. 1 july 06.
hopefully stil got time to do my things cos seems like alot of things not done yet.

Poohy:
thanks for e info. Cos my gynac already ask me to confirm a PD. actually i wanted to choose a PD as recommended by my gynac near my hse in e west but then i m afraid outside gynac wil come n check on me. so instead i shall tell my gynac that i wil take a PD from TMC n then later switch to outside one. wat do u think?

kite,
ohyeah... we will be "fighting" with each other liao. hehe !! just came back from my gynae's visit, bb is 2.44kg @ week 35.

okipoki:
hehe did ur gynac say anything?

wow my appt wil be 2 wks apart, urs seems to be 1 wk apart? mine was 2.2 at 34wks 0 day. i wil be seeing my gynac at 36wks 0 day.

kite,
no leh, he didnt say anything & bb is at the appropriate weight lor. aiya my next appt is 2 weeks later which is my week 37. ohh i hv done my swab test so result next appt then know. also gotten my admission letter from Mt A.

okipoki:
ok shall keep each update since our EDD almost the same
my appt wil be next fri, wil be getting e swab test results too.

kite,
yeah no problem... guess we are the 2 poor mummies waiting for our gers to be out !! by then our neck will be very long liao..

What kind of newborn toys do u all buy for your bb? those for 0mths one? i want to decorate the pram n playpen. i m referring to those colourful ones. did u all buy? if yes, where usually?

okipoki:
hehe but at least can do some of the stuffs. me seems to be busy always. u? me going to Motherhood exhibition on next fri, 2 june. u going?

tinklebell,

Yah, it was a last min decision. Hubby and I had booked a trip to Bali and we were supposed to go 2 days after the bombing incident, so we changed to HK instead. The only thing gd abt HK disneyland is the food (vs. the others)

Kite,

Heee, i dun invest in toys at the moment. I also not sure what to buy. Yesterday i showed one toy to my bb girl, obviously she is not interested.. only interested in milk and being carried around hahaha..

The only toy i bought is the one hanging above the playpen. U saw in photos rite?

And for full mth celebration, i didn't get many toys for presents too. Only around 3. More clothes sets given. Oh, i got a play-gym from my student. That one should be good for bb

kk:
oic. i was thinking of getting a few newborn toys those 0mths one. well, i m also thinking of getting a play-gym. hey play-gym seems not cheap ah. can let bb play on the playmat/gym. ur gym/mat must be very colourful rite?

kite,
me ar, consider quite eng nowadays cos my boss wont be giving me much work & most of the stuffs i already hv a back-up liao. yeah likely be going after work lor since i worked in the east area else will be going over the weekend

My Birth Story
Tues noon while eating lunch, got some pain.. ABout 10 mins apart.. Monitored at work till 2pm then called gynea to check what to do.. All these while, my colleagues more gan cheong than me, keep chasing me to go home, bath and get admitted.. Gynea say to see her at her Eastshore Hospital clinic immediately.. Well, she has a beautiful new office there! She checked my cervix (ouch!) and 2 cm dilated lah.. Stretched it (ouch ouch!) and asked me to admit lor..

So i waited at lobby for hubby to bring my bag and the admission letter.. Piangs, waited for him for 1 hour till 4 plus.. He got stuck at work.. The pain got bad, buay tahan leow, I just got admitted without the letter.. Went in and asked for epi immediately.. And midwife checked, still 2 to 3 cm only.. doc came and break waterbag.. Tot it is gng to be a long night..

at 7 plus, still 2 to 3 cm, put on drip to induce contraction.. at 9 plus, still 3 to 4 cm.. this time, the epi was not as strong as the first time, i could feel the contractions with some pain..

while watching FA cup finals between liverpool and westham, the contractions got worse and i had the urge to push (can feel some pressure down there).. Quickly call the midwife to check and she can see the bb head leow.. that was like 11 plus already.. midwife guide me to push a few times.. doc came, one push and ah boy is out..

Hi yve,
Congratulations!
Wah... one push only and your boy is out already...

Hi kite,
My baby was 2.21kg at 33 weeks 5 days... About the same as your baby

Hi poohy,
Thanks for sharing your blog. I see the "chuen jia fu"... So "wen xing"...

Hi Soh,
Welcome to the thread
Is there any reasons why you opted for C-section? I am also going for C-section

Wonders how is Angeline Goh and celeste now...

<font size="+2"><center>June 2005 Mommies' Club</center></font>

<center><table border=1><tr><td>Mommies</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Weight(kg)</TD><TD>Name</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>21/04/06</TD><TD>21/04/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>3.19</TD><TD>Yu Jun</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>13/04/06</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>1.63</TD><TD>Chanz</TD><TD>MtA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>15/05/06</TD><TD>20/05/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.91</TD><TD>Jared Hee</TD><TD>TMC(Natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>carebear29</TD><TD>19/05/06</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>TMC(C-section) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohy</TD><TD>22/05/06</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.9</TD><TD>Yi En</TD><TD>TMC(Natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>MOAP</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>3.43</TD><TD>Ginelle Tok Jin Wen</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celeste</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>yve</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.3</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>steffi</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>22/05/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>Raffles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dor</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>02/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>MtA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Paula</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>tinklebell</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Fiona Lee</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>AngelineGoh</TD><TD>26/05/06(?)</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect)</td></tr></table></center>

welcome soh

yve congras... so many mom pop this wk..

kk, i juz went to hk disneyland this mar... it is quite small, but enough to play for a day.. but food is reasonable priced..

hmm.. don't all the PD charge abt the same price in TMC??? seems like dr ong n dr richard charges r quite extreme..

lyn... err.. think u forget to put in my details in the table.. tks alot

yve,

Wow admire u, still can work till last min. U r steady! So epi is administrate too early huh? Is it very painful when epi not so strong anymore at last min? Btw, i always forget to ask the mummies, what does the gynae use to break the water bag? Painful?