(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

lyn, my pain is a dull kind of pain. Not very pain but uncomfortable. It's at below the uterus.
hee ..ur hub also a star wars fan? same here! And i have an ugly star wars poster (of Darf Vader...sorry dont know how to spell that) hanging in my house, cant wait to remove that! see already also can kenna nightmare. only my son can appreciate that poster. sometimes i secretly hope that my son will one day use a pen to vandalize on it so that i will have excuse to remove that! kekeke

I'm back at my mom's place. Arh!! Home Sweet Home!

okasan,

My mom is doing the confinement for me. So just treat it that I'm coming home earlier.

I dun understand leh. People like my best fren's mom, my mom's fren all worried over my health. It's like everyone around me except my own PILs. Must go and recall when did I step on their tails.

lyn,

Dunno leh. Maybe adminstrative work since I have been doing that all along. Er, got half day one, but must search in newspaper. Mostly admin kind too.

K Ong,

Your colleague is really insensitive leh. I got one ex colleague, who tried 4 times to get a girl, but always got a boy instead. See, some people want girl also dun hv! What's wrong with ger. At least ger can go shopping with mummies mah. Then imagine your have lots of boys, then in the future you will hv lots of DIL-MIL prob. Lol

kk,

Tau Kee and fu zhu not the same meh? I thought one is hokkien, one is chinese? Er.... Anyway, I was wondering the taukee or fu zhu got use any "shi hui fen" or not? Cos it's should be similar to tou hua/ tofu/ tau kua/ tua po etc rite? I think all these except soya bean milk all needed "shi hui fen" to make them harden. Then shi hui fen is not good for bb leh.

K_Ong,
Haha, when i told ppl i am expecting a ger....some will say like "Orr"...like tat....but actually me a bit farnie also, i was hoping my first child will be a boi then 2nd one a ger...but since its fated that i shld have a ger then i shall leave it as it is
I will still dote on her as i wld if its a boy. Hb seems ok with a ger but i donno if he secretly prefers a boy first boh....hmmzz....tok bout "traditional" thinking...i tink i am one of them :p

tinklebell,
hahaha... I forbid my hubby to display all those posters and figures around the house. He got so many those "scary" looking figures. Some limited edition, but I dunno how to appreciate. I told him not good "feng shui". kekeke... good, valid excuse...
So now all collecting dusts in the storeroom.. hahaha...

hidora,
Tau kee is made from the top of the soya bean milk. You know when you boil something, got a layer on top? Tau kee is made from the top layer...

Celeste
Alot of ppl says 1st child is girl is better/easier. Girls more mature and can help you, listens well, help u with the younger bro or sis when u have yr 2nd child. I saw example on my colleague and cousin, 1st one girl, really better, very guai...I always believe it's a blessing to have a girl, thought i like a boy (to play with) haa. but judging on how i love my parents, i know it's true that having a girl is more of a blessing!

tinklebell,
Sometimes I am scared that my wound will just split open halfway when I am walking... cos usually I feel the pain when I walked too fast... Nowadays, tummy big big I cannot see the wound.. so will ask my hubby to see :p

okipoki
that means it draws a balance, that's good! My gf even worried next time, his son won't have many female classmates (not enough girls of same year)....no girlfriends!

Hi Hidora,

ya ya, shi hui fen not good for bb. Somehow at one time i gian over tou hua in my 1st trimester. Then i ate on few occasions until my mil asked me to stop hahahaa... i know it is no good lah, just that i gian zia :p

i dunno fu zhu got shi hui fen or not. Hope not! Last time i do boil on my own. I love it as dessert

Hi Serene,

Girls seem to be more filial than boys. Not to say boys are not filial, just that girls are closer to mums' hearts. U know, sometimes i am the one who suggests to my hubby to fetch my in laws out for meals on weekends. And i would cook things to bring over too. At times, when we are shopping outside, i would suggest buying some desserts over. U see, girls make good DILs too!! HAHA!

Hi Hidora,

I think tau kee is those more yellowish ones used in cooking.. especially in stewed meat. My favourite! Fu Zhu is nicer white coloured ones used in desserts. Hokkien call fu zhu tau kee meh??? Heee.. not sure.. i know cantonese called fu zhu something like "Fu Zor".

hi mummies.
Long time no post. hehe been busy w work.

Last sat at Antenatal classes very fun. lol Mrs wong asked all hubbies (instead of mummies) how to hold, bath n change diaper of a newborn by using a doll.

Wondering tis sat wat topic wil she touch on. 5th lesson we no need wear elastic pants liao cos no exercise anymore rite? most on hands on?
Then last 6th lesson wil be held at tis singapore ger sch on a wkday. Wkday abit rush since hv to go after work.

Hmm dunno leh, i just feel like tis yr, alot of bb gers around me leh. 2 of my colleagues also bb gers hehe. They said bb gers more easy to get than bb boys. they also said bb ger as 1st child wil very good n guai leh, can help out mummy

402943.png

402944.png

kk:
my mum also boil Fu zhu + yi mi (barley) once a week for me as a dessert, yummy. Mum told me good for bb's skin n complexion. She didnt put Gingko cos she told me Gingko abit Du2 Xin4 one.

however i didnt not drink red dates drink. Its good that u drink it often as ur bb's cheeks wil be rosy. Cos my fren drinks it wkly n her bb boy's cheeks rosy n complexion very nice.

kk,

Er I think hokkien just call it tau kee.. Haha. Normally go market and buy, then they ask you, which type of tau kee you want? The meat kind, the desert kind.. Hehe...

Kite,

Gingko got du xin? I think excess is no good, but taking a bit shouldn't have harm

Drinking red dates drink make cheeks rosy? I read from another thread that taking red bean paste makes cheeks rosy heee... so i have taken that dessert for 2-3 times. That's good news if red dates make the cheeks rosy too!

I dun dare to take barley leh. My SIL tell me not to eat. My mum got put barley when she boil qing teng. But i didn't eat the barley. I heard in initial months, barley can make the placenta drop or something like tat. It should be ok to drink in later stage hor?

kk: yah, eat so much horr ?!!!! haahaa, but i think it's ok la ... only 8 mroe weeks to go ... at the most put on most weight during this period, then lose the weight after the birth lorr.

Okasan/Lyn: thanks for the info! where can i get the fu zhu from ?? Medical hall ? yah, i think it's not the same as Tau kee, tau kee is harder right ?

What is lian zi ??

kk,

Barley make placenta drop? That's so scary. I only know cannot eat/drink the grass jelly.

I read from some mummies that red dates prevent jaundice. That's why I'm drinking it. But it's even better if it can also make cheek rosy. Bb will be so cute.

hehee, i emailed my hubby and see what his reply wwas :

hoho, you'll be bigger than me soon

K Ong,

lian zi is lotus seed. Round round one. But I think inside also got the heart (like ginko) which you must take out, Else it will be bitter.

K Ong,

Your hb is so cute. Well, my hb said the same thing 2 mths back. And when I went for my 28 wk scan, I was already officially bigger than him.. >_>

hidora: ahh ok, i like lotus seed ! will add that in my soup !

yar ... heehee,s ometimes when i sit on the floor and cannot get up anymore, i will call for him to pick me up from under my arm pits, and he will be like, wah, so heavy,

as for fu zhu n tau kee, i wil ask my mum tonite whether got different and where she bought.

For me every wk, i wil drink the fu zhu + barley n cordyceps (separate days) wkly. so far i oni drink these 2 drinks boiled n prepare by my mum

As for barley, mum said can drink. Barley when boil very long, its heaty. And when its boils for a short while, its Liang. lol.

Gingo as told by my mum, better not to take. Even e news said b4 gingo can oni take i think less than 6 else du2. so my mum dun allow me to take.

Hi carebear,

bb kingdom and hypermart should be opened on sundays and all public holidays. Check it out

K Ong,

U 8 more weeks to go.. me the most 4 more weeks hahaha... chiam liao.. i heard my colleague say the most lose 10 kg after delivery. That means i have at least 6 kg to shed then. i am back to my old round shape before marriage
All my efforts in trimming down are gone down the drain again

Got to start from square one again

But i also heard that breastfeeding will help us trim down very fast. Hope it works wonders on me! Skully no milk hahahaahahaa...

Lian Zi is lotus seeds
Nice and chewy. But there is a method to deal with them such that they are more delicious

Fu Zhu can get from supermarket. NTUC got sell for example.

Hidora,

Oh for sure, grasss jelly cannot take. And best not to take agar agar, and any other jelly like substance. But i naughty recently, take almond jelly once heeee...

I think i am one of the ladies who mention red dates prevent jaundice hahha.. this is what my auntie neighbour told me.. her daughter jaundice serious.. when she carry her son, she take lots of red dates and her son is perfectly ok!!

My colleague say codyceps help prevent jaundice. i told her about red dates. SHe say she did add red dates to cordyceps, so her daughter turn out perfectly alright. So there may be truth about red date and jaundice.

I drink red dates drink almost everyday! Sometimes my mil boil for me. This is the best because it is home made. if not, i will get from supermarkets and chinese herbal shops. Lazy to boil myself :p

Kite,
Really ah? Drink red dates weekly baby come out rosy cheeks? kekeke... I drink every few days trying to "bu" blood... :p hopefully my baby come out got rosy cheeks...

kk:
my mum said cant take red dates daily, take oni once a week cos wil cause alot of wind inside stomach wor.
my fren takes once a week oni.

really? cordyceps can prevent jaundice ah. i taking mostly once a wk else once per fornight. when i was a bb i got jaundice too. scare bb wil hv.

Kite,

medical research very funny. Last time they say gingko makes the brain smart. Then these few years they say gingko got poison. hahahaa.. but i still take, but not too much and not too often liao. Come to think of it. I did not touch any gingko at all ever since pregnant because i dun take desserts within this period. I normally only use gingko in my desserts. And it goes very well with fu zhu. Since i dun take fu zhu now, i dun take gingko.

Some believe barley can take, some dun. Some say chrysanthemum works. We have discussed this before ya? haha.. i take chrysanthemum but not barley. But recently my mum tell me to stop liao, because chrysanthemum is yellow and might cause jaundice in bb :p

My SIL watch a taiwan program on tv and it says cannot take barley.. so i also dunno...

Kite,

red dates cause wind??? No wonder why sometimes i let go gas so often hahahhaa.. then i tell my hubby why i have so much wind in my tummy.

My colleague very pro-cordyceps hahaha.. she loves cordyceps a lot. It makes bb bigger and stronger??

Serene,
ya...i heard that normally 1st one ger she will take better care of her younger siblings
Hope this is the case....BIL first one also ger, 2nd one boy...then the jiejie really got take care of her didi one

kk,
actually u noe wat most ppl say nowadays...they say "boys are more like married out" becos their wife will tend to stick to their mother's side then their hb will follow....haha...donno true anot boh :D

kite,
I think this coming Sat's class is more on breastfeeding

hidora,
I was officially bigger than my hb when i was around 24 weeks! Haha, i tink my hb is quite slim for guys...he is only 30-31 inches at the waist!! *lol*

kk:
in fact mum told me later stage, our body very heaty n warm, hv to take something cooling but not very cooling type must balance.

Tats y she oni boil fu zhu + barley (cooling) and cordyceps (abit heaty) to balance it out

so far chrysanthemum, i dun dare to take cos too liang to me. LOL

kk...
Wah.. take red beans also can have rosy cheeks baby ah? hahaha... If I dun take red dates drink, I will boil red bean with black glutinous...
I have been drinking barley fu zhu since third trimester starts... On average, weekly. Depends on my mood and what I feel like cooking.. Sometimes twice a week. Usually when I boil, I will have to finish the whole pot of dessert myself... My mum told me she drinks barley fuzhu daily before she gives birth... hmm... I dunno if it will really make placenta drop... I know cannot take barley in first trimester.

KOng,
Fu zhu can get from medical hall. It's the flat kind. Tell them it's for desserts kind...
hahaha.. Your hubby so cute...

kk,
Lian zi is chewy meh? The ones I got not chewy leh... I will put lian zi in my barley fu zhu or my red bean soup... I read that lian zi is good for pregnancy. Red bean soup also good for pregnancy.

Oh.. think I better buck up with drinking red dates liao.. hahaha...

oops, so many things are forbidden food? aiyo i took grass jelly, tou hua... "liang" is it?

lyn, i also cant see my wound now. It's below the uterus. ard 10cm. i dont think it will burst lah...but i also have the same fear as u.

KOng, i was bigger than hubby in my first pregnancy. I hope not this time round. Anyway, my weighing machine is spoilt. I think i stepped on it too often so that's why it stopped working...***HIAZ*** not a good sign.

Celeste Blur,

Yah lor yah lor, that's what my mum say also hahaha.. so my mum say good good i have bb girl hahahaa...

My colleague's hubby very cute.. he dreams of having a girl. He told my colleague he dun like boys. He say girls more filial to parents. So he ru yuan yi chang, got a girl

Haha, my hubby belong to the not so small group. His waist around 34". Now i beat him liao hahahaaa.. my waist around 40" liao leh. Aiyoh, think also scared.. dunno can trim down or not

celesteblur:
hehe which time slot is ur class? if u are 4.30 to 6.30pm class students, maybe we can see each other cos we always wait outside for last class to end. so no need to wear tracking pants liao hor. but pants more comfortable heehee. Mrs wong really workaholic hor lol

kk:
tats wat my mum told me not good to drink red dates daily, oni allow once a wk enuff liao. everything must eat moderate.
Ya i also heard cordyceps can make a bb bigger cos it helps to bu "qi". tats y i m scare my bb is big for my petite size. hehe maybe i wil ask my mum to boil maybe once per fornight instead of wkly
see how.

kk,

Bfing helps to slim down, yes.. But hor, bfing also makes you more hungry.. So must be careful dun overeat.. Hehe.

Why cannot take jelly like thing? Pudding consider? I like jelly jelly stuff leh!

Er, my mom said cannot eat papaya and pumpkin too. Cos her fren's fren's DIL just gave birth. Then the bb has very bad jaundice. Then they think it could be due to the pumpkin and payaya. Very high intake of those during pregnancy.

Celeste,

Your hb and my hb can fight to see who is slimmer! My hb's waist also abt 30" - 31". At good times, 32". I feel so fat standin besides him now. And his frens even told him I walked like a penguin! Argh!

Tinklebell,

Tou hua cannot eat because got shi hui fen.. like those they say materials used to make concrete.. not good for adults too! Grass jelly is liang, so cannot eat, especially in 1st trimester.

Kite,

Oh ya, my mum told me to stop taking tonics liao. She say if not bb will have jaundice. Dunno from where she hear the theory from hahaa.. so no more black chicken, no more sea cucumber with dunno what herbs for me liao.

Ya, now must take more cooling stuff, but not toooo cooling either lor. And my mum told me to eat more plain food, dun eat fried food liao. But i still eat what i want :p

Lyn,

Hmm, think i say wrongly hahaha.. it is not chewy.. it is crunchy hahaha... when i buy dessert from outside, the red bean will come with lian zi.. nice nice!

Home cooked lian zi.. they say must boil lian zi with "gi" (hokkien) - one of the materials used to make "gi zang" (hokkien - one type of dumpling, yellowish in colour). The lian zi will turn out to be very very crunchy.

But recently very heaty, so i dun dare to take too much red beans. I wanna boil red bean soup, but scared too heaty leh. Can or not ah actually?

tinklebell,

Hmm.. your weighing machine broke.. Sorry, but I can't help but laugh at your words..

kk,

my waist is around 42" now.. like one big watermelon...

Kite,

wahh then i cannot take cordyceps liao.. now my bb already 2.9 kg and i weigh so heavy liao. I think the weight good enough for my bb girl liao, dun wanna her to grow like king kong size. My nieces and nephew now says my tummy looks exactly like watermelon

Hidora,

It is true cannot take payaya. It has somehow become a known fact that payaya causes jaundice. But i didn't know pumpkin causes jaundice!! Pumpkin supposed to be very healthy food and helps to cut down sugar in diabetes patients despite the sweetness.

Hidora, har? papaya also cannot take? i take almost 1 slice per day!! if i dont i get bad constipation. ***faint***

kk, use same ingredient as making concrete??? wah piang! serious ah! First time i heard of it. then i better dont take so much. Soya bean drink ok right?

lyn:
hehe i also taking fu zhu + barley, good for bb's complexion, mum said bb wil be fair fair, not sure how true.

For me i dun really drink red dates, dunno y maybe too lazy. maybe i shld start to drink abit. but guess too late liao lol.

kk:
so far me never take red beans cos dun like e taste. LOL so far i never take other tonics at all, oni cordyceps.

kk,

Dunno leh. The mother's MIL also say pumpkin is very good, so keep asking her to eat. I mean, if papaya caused jaundice, I think pumpkin will also ba? Since both yellow yellow. Now I'm thinking sweet potato will cause or not.

Hmm.. the lian zi better dun cook with the 'gi'. Since it's also yellow.. Aiya, just avoid those yellow yellow things, and eat more red red things. =D

hidora, ya..spoilt liao ...the scale cant move...and the scale stayed at 60kg. so must be me lah...no one else at home is 60kg

Tinklebell,

Funny thing now is, i dun have constipation at all! I dun take much fruits and vegetables nowadays, but yet i dun face constipation problem which i will sometimes face before pregnancy.

Everyday payaya?? Take in moderation haha! By the way, do u all take watermelon?

Haha, u sound so cute.. i must have scared u! Soya bean drink is ok!! Errrrr, i think safe lah, since everybody say soya bean drink is good and i drink that everyday!! I am so diligent in taking anmum milk anymore.

Kite,

Oh u dun like red beans? Wow, they are my favourite hahahaha... do u take green bean soup then?

Hmmm, looks like i have to get some fu zhu dessert over the long weekend liao

tinklebell,

All this are hearsay lah. You know lah, chinese alot of this cannot, that cannot things. If you hv been eating the same food for your first child, and there's no effects, then think dun hv to worry so much.

Shi hui fen is similar to cement. Just that they say it's edible cement.. soya milk dun hv.

i also never take papaya cos of its color.

kk:
i started to drink cordyceps since 5th mth onwards where its a good time to bu. since i just hit my 3rd tri tis wk (28wks), my mum wil tell me when to stop taking then. hehe

Actually I think there's something wrong with my weighing machine too.. It's always at ard 63.. make me so happy, tot my weight nv go up until I went to the gynae.. Stupid machine. Lied to me, made me eat more..

kk:
i also started to take fu zhu + barley from 5mth onwards. b4 that i never take anything special. only fr 5th mth hehe. i like green bean soup but mum said liang. best is to drink more plain water
cos some dessert too sweet not so healthy.

Hidora,

Then potato will cause jaundice?? heeeeee... all yellow leh!! And i even boiled potato soup with carrots and onions tonite for dinner.

After my mum told me about chrysanthemum, i link yellow stuff to jaundice.. so i link potato to jaundice too. But i still gian to eat potato today, so i cooked potato soup :p

Yooo, then i also ate tau suan before, which is yellow yellow too :p

HAHA... eat all red red things.. hmmmm...

Tinklebell,

I gave up on my home weighing scale liao.. it always stop at 60 kg too hahahaahaha.. so i trust the gynae machine more than mine :p

It is always the same... show me same reading whenever i step on it.. but when i go to the gynae, there is increase in weight

kk,
my hb mouth says he want first child ger but donno inside his heart is it true anot lah...haha...but i can see that he is looking forward to the arrival of the bb although now he doesnt seem to play with my tummy much cos he keep saying "bb come out then play with very fun..."....hmmz :p
but he is doing a lot for us also...like the renovation he is taking care of it almost single-handedly cos preggies not supposed to go supervise reno stuffs

but now hor when i see the gerger clothes outside so cute and so many accessories i am quite happie with having a ger also...*lol*...contradicting ain't i? :p

kite,
I am attending the 2-4pm slot one
I tink no need to wear track pants liowz
. But last week at the class i feel a bit stuffy donno is it cos too many ppl cramp inside the small "classroom" or izzit i didnt sleep well

hidora,
my hb also bery bad now...he keeps poking fun of me saying i will very soon "waddle" like a duck when i walk....*angry*....haha