(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi poohy,
Thanks for the tips... hehe... I am also hoping to have a natural birth without epidural. I gotta get rid of all the painful stories that I have read and heard. Gotta have the courage for it...
What type of excercise did you do? Can share? How long was your labour?

poohy,
am reading your birth story now..thanks for sharing

I heard exercise can help to make labour easier...what exercise u do?

okasan,lyn...

actually i din do specific exercises... but i did do some squatting and lots of housework... cos I wanna make sure the house is clean before bb arrive, so I participate in cleaning the house and washing the toilet personally 1-2 weeks before I give birth.... It was quite a lot of work.. but i think maybe it did help. and shopping a lot (walking) did help too i guess haha... oh btw, I took raspberry leaf tea too.

Actually most of the labour .. the active stage only lasted mainly 2-3 hours i think. You can be in labour for a long time but the contraction may be longer apart and not as intense... only till the last few hours then it will become very intense and close

poohy,
thought we shouldn't squat too much at the later stage? my mum tells me to walk more, but don't squat....heard before that raspberry tea can be useful too....maybe should try too..hehe...

your boy very cute....really peifu parents who have the discipline to update their baby's blogs

lyn,

i wasnt that brave... its the grace of God. Besides, our mums and previous generations did it so easily too... last time also not much of a pain control concept and they manage to do it too... so we can too if medical condition allow
Maybe its heritable ... my mum gave birth to me (first child) in 2 hours upon arrival at hospital. For my younger brother, she gave birth to him almost 5 min upon arrival at the hospital.. couldnt even reach a proper delivery room in time... and he was borned in breeched position. My mum always tell me... if we wanna have a short and fast delivery, cant be lazy (unless medical condition disallow)... gotta exercise and be active throughout our pregnancy... then u will get to enjoy the "fruits of your labour"

okasan,

dunno leh.. i did read up a bit on exercises to help in delivery and squatting do help... can also help bb engaged. I did walk a lot too.. shopping mah haha

How to help your baby into an anterior position

There is a lot of talk nowadays about how to get the baby to enter the pelvis in an anterior rather than a posterior position. This is called 'optimal foetal positioning'. You can encourage your baby to take up an anterior position by making sure that your knees are always lower than your hips:
Sit on a cushion in your car to lift your bottom up
Check that your favourite chair doesn't make your bottom go down and your knees come up
Take regular breaks and move around if your job involves a lot of sitting
Watch television on all fours for ten minutes every day
Scrub all your floors and skirting boards our grannies used to say that washing the kitchen floor was a good way of preparing for labour. And they were right! When you are on all fours, the back of your baby's head swings to the front of your abdomen.
Incidentally, you don't have to worry about getting your baby into position when you're in bed. When you're lying horizontally, your baby is not being pushed down into your pelvis. It's when you're upright that he'll enter the pelvis either in an anterior or a posterior position.

Getting ready for labour

If you are expecting your first baby, you should start to adopt the lifestyle described in the previous section at around 35 weeks of pregnancy. This is when your baby sinks down into your pelvis, and this is the time to get his position right. If you are expecting your second baby, even though the baby won't engage in your pelvis until later, it's still wise to try to keep his back facing the front of your tummy from about 35 weeks.
Sometimes women have a lot of niggly pains for several days before labour really starts. These can be very exhausting. However, the pains might well be due to the fact that your baby is trying to turn from a posterior position into an anterior. The best way to cope is to try and get as much rest as possible during the night, and during the day to remain upright and active, leaning forwards during the pains. Eat and drink regularly to keep up your strength. And don't despair. Nature is getting your baby into the best position for birth.

poohy,
wow, your mum super leh....Mrs wong mentioned before in one of the antenatal classes that if we wanna estimate how long our labour will be, we can look at our own mothers....

for my case, jialat liao!! coz my mum delivered me after 20+ hours, and at that time, she also never have epiqural...hopefully I dun have to be in her situation...

ya, exercise help in labour coz all those experience mummies will ask me to walk more now...hehe...

okasan,
my mom gave birth to us arnd 1+hrs after reaching hospital....so i better pray that I am like her...*lol*

celeste,

actually can start now if u want ... on a lower dosage.. maybe 1 cup a day...
later on as the pregnancy goes into the 35th week, can become 3 cups a day etc

poohy, thanks for sharing your blog. very touching. really thank God for all the blessings He has given us...

wow poohy, u'r great! i cant tahan the labor pain..ouch ouch....u have such a fast labor. i hope this time round, i'll have a fast one too. my only worry is that i stay and work quite a distance fr the hospital... not sure if i will reach on time if contractions come. i read your blog ... i'm impressed by the effort u have put into it.

hi lyn
my bb also in breech position now (28 wks). a bit worried, but i am sure bb will turn in time. bb now 1 kg

poohy
love your bb samuel birth blog, v heartwarming. hope your next bb also smooth delivery w/o epidural. u r brave!
me havan bought cot, saw your white cot, quite sweet. btw where did u get those blue cot bumpers? do they come in a set (ie surrounding the entire cot?)

will go natural if possible, unless bb breech at birth. wanna see what it's like to really give birth, haha. taking epidural though, dun think i can withstand excruciating pain...

hi all !
nowadays cannot sleep early ...dunno why ... tend to sleep at 1ish ... and wake up at 745am ... then feel so sleepy during the day !

realised i have bought too many baby clothes !!!

what detergent are you all using ?? cannot use normal detergent right ??

morning ladies

poohy,
Your labour story is really very touching. U didnt even take Entonox? I wonder how i can do w/o any pain relief at all...cannot imagine shaking and shivering....

As for raspberry tea, okies i think i prob start taking when i am in week 32 bah

tinklebell,
this is ur 2nd bb so i tink it shld be easier to have a fast delivery...
cos i heard subsequent deliveries normally faster and prob not as painful as 1st delivery

Poohy, thanks for sharing Samuel's birth story.. It was really touching & heartwarming.. u are really brave, kudos to you

Good Morning!!

KONg,
Urs is a boy or girl? I have been buying girl clothes as and when i see that it is nice. Some of for 1 year old... haha... too nice... cannot resist the temptation.

Last nite, while i was clearing my store room, I realised i got a big bag of hand me down clothes to wash and havent started on that... good thing there r many public holidays these few mths.. will take these time to wash.

I bought Pigeon detergent. I think can use normal detergent lah... just that u gotta rinse thoroughly - else sometimes bb can get rashes bec their skin is more sensitive. For my son, we used bb detergent until he was 2 mths old, after which, we used the normal ones - just that we dont make the solution concentrated. Normally, I will soak his clothes in hot water first before I wash them.

Celeste,
I hope to have a fast labour this time (but not too fast also lah... later have to give birth in the cab or ambulance jia lat)... hee hee.

Lots of housework to do this weekend! Also have to wash my curtains and bb beddings!!! ***So tiring**

Also got a sec school classmate's wedding to attend... havent seen her for ages.

gina, celeste

thanx... I think most of us will wanna opt for natural delivery if got choice and medically allowed. When your turn comes, u will find the strength for it... Though I was determined to go for drug free delivery last time... right till the last min, my heart was still there debating whether to scream for epidural hahaa... i can only thank God that I din need it after all.

oh i bought the blue cot bumpers from kidsmall
ya it came in a set plus the pillow, bolster, bedsheet

celeste,

i took the oxygen for abt 30 min towards the end i think. I dunno whether it contains entonox cos if it did it din help one bit for the pain. But the midwife saw my bb's heartrate dropping so they shuff the gas mask to me and made me use it to increase oxygen rate...

tinklebell,

ya hope this time will be a faster and smoother delivery than the last one...

morning ladies,
went for my checkup yesterday afternoon. now 29 weeks.. bb weigh abt 1.6kg and mum total gain 7 kg. everything's ok.

Hi Gina,
I think it should be ok for baby to be breech at 28 weeks. I found out that baby will turn down at around 34 weeks
. I believe my baby will turn down... kekeke... if not, I will ask him to turn down one week before delivery

Hi KOng,
I have been having disturbed sleep lately. I wonder is it baby preparing us to be awake at nite... hahaha...

Good Morning,

Poohy,

u got a short labour.. while i went thru 15hrs of labour but also without epi..cause in my heart was thinking y oldern ppl can do it.. then we can not meh.. so i only use gas mask..

tinklebell,
Hehe...but I heard if waterbag burst liowz hor...must quickly rush to hospital, dont dilly dally liowz....*lol*
Actually when shld we start washing bb stuffs? Bedding wash so early okies? Cos till the time we deliver still arnd another 8 weeks....hmmzz I am thinking of starting the washing of stuffs prob around week 32?

poohy,
Now must start training my will-power...haha...everyday keep telling myself I can go it...*lol*

mspiggy,
ur bb's weight gain and ur weight gain is gd

Celeste, I have a bag to store the beddings... i think it should be ok to wash earlier. i was thinking if i dont wash now and if bb comes out earlier, then there will be no beddings and clothes to wear. kekeke. Also, towards the later part of pregancy, i am afraid i will be too tired to do more housework. Just clearing the storeroom and some of my cabinets to make more space last nite already so so tiring

Good Morning,

Poohy,
Read your story on the samuel's birth,it is very touching and most of all..that is a very short labour for first time mummy. I took almost 12hours to deliver my boy then.
Hopefully,this time will be a shorter period.But of cos not as fast as what Tinklebell had mentioned to delivery in the cab..hehe!Still going for non-medical aid this time round too except maybe the gas mask.

Re: Maid
My maid arrived last nite.I think after the first maid,my hb seems to be very pro in it.He do most of the talking.Most importantly is to hightlight to the maid on boy/girl relationship.The moment my son sees her, he likes her so much.Maybe cos they can communicate,he was so excited the whole nite.Hope this one is ok for us.

Hi poohy,
Thanks for sharing your blog. BB Samuel looks so chubby and cute!!!

Btw, I like the baby cot. Where did you buy it from?

jojo,

hope we all have short delivery this time round
I hope can be within 2 hours but who knows.. maybe even longer leh.. hehe

mspiggy,

the baby cot, i bought it at baby kingdom previously. Recently I bought a slightly bigger cot.. white color too from bb kingdom to ugprade Samuel and to place bb Yi En inside the older cot... I like the white cot a lot too... looks so sweet.. the good thing is samuel is able to sleep inside a cot all these while ... i certainly hope it will last till 5 years old..

tinklebell
I've already washed up all my baby's stuffs, i'm at 31 wk now. haha, i kiasu.

mspiggy
when i'm at my 28th week, my baby weighed 1.2-1.3kg but i've already put on total of 11kg that time. Now i'm at 31st week, not sure how much baby has put on? Waiting anxiously for my appt this week.

Hi MOAP
U r very brave, going through 15hrs w/o epidural? My cousin went thro 15 hrs also, but halfway throu, she gave up, asked for epidural. I think i will opt for epidural for sure, dun think i can bear the pain cos my cousin told me is 100x more painful than the monthly menstrual cramp.

celeste
i agreed with tinklebell, it's better to do all the washing and preparation early. u might not know, in the later stage, we may gets very heavy, tired and can do so much hsework liao.

tinklebell,
I think i better wash early also..cos need to transport the stuffs over to new hse. That time i was thinking of washing at the new hse then thought of no washing machine there yet...*lol*
And every week like mainly only got sunday to sun the stuffs, so i tink its better to start washing earlier hor?

moap, ur mc thing settled already? wow! 15 hrs without epi!!! admire u!

jojo, so good.. ur hubby orientate and brief the maid? dont think mine will do that. he thinks orientating and overseeing the maid is the woman's stuff.

celeste, wash as and when u have time lor... my house got limited bamboo poles and no sun... so it takes longer to dry.

good morn gals
it's a cool mornin today

poohy
saw ur blog.. hmm actualli it's good to hv a online diary to keep track n look back all the wonderful time n capture the special moments.
make me feel like setting one up..keke
i love ur white cot too.. where is bb kingdom? which wk r u in already? me now Wk 32. think i shld pack my bag n do all the washing soon..keke
now tends to be 'jie pi' wans everything to be clean n tidy. is that mother instinct? hehe

btw where to get raspberry tea? they are in form of tea bag or wat.. so blur blur lei.. hahaha

ms piggy
wah... ur bb is on the big side huh... keke. my ger only 1.6kg @ wk31+.

I went for my fetal growth scan yesterday. Baby Kelly is small ... 1.5kg at 32 weeks ... seems to be smallest here ... Booked my 'hotel room' for the hospital stay too. Yea, we got that extra S$450 from govt and I used it to pay for my room.

serene,
hmmz, then i tink i better start washing this weekend
Especially since Friday is a PH! Yeah

Paula,
'hotel room'? U mean u oledi decided on which class of ward to stay in during delivery?

Poohy, how much did you pay for the baby cot at BB kingdom?

Celeste, I have started washing BB's bedsheets, blankets and towels yesterday. The next load of washing will be tonight which comprises of her mittens, botties, socks and bibs ... the last load will be tomorrow where all her clothes will be washed.

Hi poohy,
yeah I like white cots, looks so clean and bright!

Hi Serene,
I'm on the big side even before preg hence weight gain might not be so much now.

Hi Dor,
Gynae didnt say my baby is big, she said normal. Anyway, as long as our babies are healthy

tinklebell,

My previous gyna also surprise that i did not take epi...coz induce birth is more painful ...

Mc thing haven settle leh..Tonite goin to see DR Adrain instead of next tue because of the mc thing also hope to see my bb again..don no how much weight has she gain??

yesterday went to si ma lu to buy some confinement stuff.. i bought 3kg of longan , 2 kg red dates, 1 kg black dates, 1kg dang sheng and don no what bei qi???? total cost me $69... ithink quite worth it..if buy at hock hua..i think it will cost $100plus.... mummies can consider going there to buy confinment herds...

Paula,

i will be giving birth at TMC . i think we will be the first few mummies to pop at may hor...

Dor,

1.6kg at wk31+ ...consider big meh... then my gal consider as gaint size liao lor... cause she weight 1.7 at wk 30 plus 1 day...hahahha...

MOAP: yep! I'm preparing myself that bb might pop out sometime in May 06... feeling so breathless today,

Dor: my gynae said that bb should be 1.6 to 1.8kg during the weeks of 31 and 32. Your should be considered okay.

Hi MOAP,
do you have a list of stuffs to buy for confinement? i'm quite lost... my mum will help me with confinement and i dont think she knows too.

Paula,
Ya lor...cos i was counting...many things to wash...cot set will prob take up one whole load of wash and take 1 day to dry. Then got cloth nappies, bb clothes, towel etc...*faint*...tink i must allocate at least 4-5 weekends to finish washing everything

MOAP,
The hospitalisation leave thingy that Adrian gave u, did he indicate inside as hospitalisation leave? Or he put as only unfit for duty?

Celeste,

is just like normal mc put as only unfit for duty leh... When i recived the mc from the nurse hor.. i aready knw sure cannot want.. cause i working in SAF.. all doc need black and white want..sian.. if he don't have the hospitalisation leave mc that means i have to go back to work aready..

My mum bought a lot of herbs for me for my confinement liao.. stuff until my whole fridge full of herbs and nothing else i can put haha.. and my mum say haven't finished buying everything *oh gosh*

And she also ordered herbs for bathing too. Bought 25 packets. $2.80 each. Wow, seems like confinement stuff not cheap nowadays!

Sigh, feel very different these few days.. super tiring.. comes with cramps sometimes.. i think Mondays are always very bad because it is the day when i have the worst teaching schedule (10 periods almost consecutive) so can imagine i stand more than i sit. So tiring!

Oh yah, my mum told me to stop taking chrysanthemum liao, else bb has jaundice. True??

kk,

old ppl belived that if we consume too much yellow stuff thing bb will get jandice...true or not..i not sure..wah your mum bought the herbs for bathing ah...very ma fan... so some mummies include myself have bought confinement bathing stuff from litte dreamers. u got to take care of yourself.. don stand too long..if can sit down a while