(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

morning ladies~!
401042.gif

morning ladies

hidora,
yuppies...i heard that breastfeeding u tend to feel hungry faster...supposed to eat more also....aiyo..donno how to lose the weight also..haha....but i try my best not to put on too much...supposed to be easier to lose bah? *lol*

poohy,
u only gained 6kg so far at 31weeks? So envies!!!

Celeste,
I guess dont go and think too much bah...like wat Mrs Wong at my antenatal class said. No matter u end up natural, epidural, c-sect or watever u have not failed lor...cos u have tried ur best liowz

Actually I seem to start getting a bit "scared" when I suddenly think that i may pop within another 2mths time! *lol*

Good Morning!

Wasnt feeling well the past few days. I was down with flu and somehow i was v tired and found it hard to breathe. I went out yesterday i then realised that i couldnt walk much...take a few steps and i'm breathless. However, i needed the weekend to do some of my purchases. Went to a few furniture shops and finally bought a bed yesterday- those 3-in-1 kind for $700+. Luckily today i feel much better (except that i have a sore throat due to eating too much Famous amos cookies) but am feeling quite sleepy cos i woke up at 3 plus last nite and couldnt sleep.

Paula, wow your work seems quite hectic har? i cant imagine going back to work after 1 mth. I still hope i can take more than 3 mths leave (heee!!!)

I think epidural is administered thru the spine. For my first delivery, the anaesthetist made me curl up like a ball and then administered a large needle thru the spine. There is also the drip to connect the dosage to the body (but i cant rem whether it is the thru the hand or spine). During the delivery process, they will adjust the dosage as suitable.

Duffybuff, thanks for the link on the milk bag bulk purchase. I just realised that we can also tie the milk using rubber band... in that case, no hurry for me to buy the milk clips.

Jojo, u collecting BW this Fri fr JP? i received an email fr Lynette but u know wh part of JP?

Mspiggy, i really hope to BF for at least 6 mths. I failed to do so for my first child after 2 mths bec of anxiety and was too tired. I was very disappointed. so this time round, i've made sure i got the nos of frens who r pro-bf'g, the links to bf'g websites as well as a good breast pump. Hopefully, i will succeed this time round.

Morning Mommies!

Tinklebell,
Yup.Had received the mail from Lynette too. Will pop the question to her later. Same as you, i failed terribly for bf during my first child. Same as you,had read up alot on bf, print out instruction how to bf,release engorgement blablabla. Sure we can do it this time.Didnt want to see my bb suffer just like my boy when he was only few mths old and was sick till dehydration and was admitted in the hospital for 1wk.Btw,we also can add in our bf for the first one in their formula,do you know that.So lets do it. Jia YOU!!

mspiggy,
Saw the thread on the delivery chart posted earlier.If im not wrong,hidora edd is on 25 june as well..

Poohy,
I think we all envy u so much leh.Only 6kg by week 31.We all are like teletubbies liao.Haha!!

Anyone feeling anxious over the delivery now..can't imagine its another 70 to 60days due.Sometimes even imagine all sort of possibility during contraction or water bag burst..haha...

tks okipoki for the info.. ok then i juz keep the no n dun call first..

yeah.. me too worried abt the delivery.. hope it dun happen in office otherwise very malu..

poohy.. really envy u.. only 6kg at wk31.. gosh think i double ur wt gain liao..

btw, any1 know how to decorate a mose basket for bb? i got 1, but realize that the basket is so big.. have to put lots of cushions for the bb.. any1 know how is the bedding like? Where to get? what i need to put inside the basket to prevent bb from rolling abt in the big basket? Tks alot!

peng,
when u get the mose basket, it doesn't come with all the cushion, etc? thought those I saw come with these?

maybe u can buy those baby comforter set (not those for cot one) for your mose basket?

Paula,
Epi is administered thru the spine. You curl up and between contraction, hold still while the anesthetist jab at the right place in your spine. Then the needle is connected to a drip to control the amount of painrelief. The other one on the hand is to induce the contraction.

My first delivery was during the weekend. Think this time not so lucky leow, may kenna during work.. Haha, so exciting..

I managed to bf my first kid for 6 or 7 mths till she had teeth and started to bite.. But she was on solids from 4 mths plus onwards.. Think this time round, I cannot continue bf when i come back to work after the 12 weeks leave cos of project schedule. So I will try my best to bf fully during the leave and stock up on frozen BM using the avent milk bags.. Last round, I always have about 3 bags of frozen BM in the fridge as backup.

For those mommies that are planning to bf, must be determined, esp during the first week when they feed every 2 hrs.. You hardly get any sleep at all..

Paula,
Epi is administered thru the spine. You curl up and between contraction, hold still while the anesthetist jab at the right place in your spine. Then the needle is connected to a drip to control the amount of painrelief. The other one on the hand is to induce the contraction.

My first delivery was during the weekend. Think this time not so lucky leow, may kenna during work.. Haha, so exciting..

I managed to bf my first kid for 6 or 7 mths till she had teeth and started to bite.. But she was on solids from 4 mths plus onwards.. Think this time round, I cannot continue bf when i come back to work after the 12 weeks leave cos of project schedule. So I will try my best to bf fully during the leave and stock up on frozen BM using the avent milk bags.. Last round, I always have about 30 bags of frozen BM in the fridge as backup.

For those mommies that are planning to bf, must be determined, esp during the first week when they feed every 2 hrs.. You hardly get any sleep at all..

hi okasan,

no leh cos it's a gift from some1, juz a thin pc of cloth around the whole baset...

sorry, any idea how's the comforter set (not cot type) looks like?? juz a comforter plus the bumper sides?? any idea where to get it? tks alot

Tks Yve for your encouragement regarding bf.Will take note to store up bm if the flow is good for bb when return to work.

Morning Mummies,

Re Confinement Wine:

Ingredients (can half the ingredients)

1kg of glutinous rice
40gm of hong qi mi (can get from medical hall)
40 gm of jui bin (can get from medical hall)

- Cook the glutinous rice in the rice cooker. But put more water so that rice is mashy. Abt 1 cup rice to 1.5 cup water.

- Let the rice cool totally, divide into 3 potions.

- Grind the hong qi mi and jiu bin seperately. Shift the grinded hong qi mi and jiu bin through a net. (Like how you would do to the flour when baking cake)

- Divide the above into 3 potions too.

- Lay one potion of g.rice in the glass jug. Then spread one potion of hong qi mi on top of the g.rice. And one potion of jiu bin over the hong qi mi.

- Repeat for the other 2 potions.

- Seal the jug and leave it for 3 days. After which, use a wooden spoon/ chopstick to stir up the mixture eventually.

- Seal it again (tightly this time, can use tapes) and leave it there for 1.5mths.

What you will see:

- You will see water (wine) starting to form in the jug. And some rice starts to float up. (Basically rice on top, wine middle, rice below) Then after some time, as more wine comes out, the rice op top will drop to the bottom. (If you didnt see this, means something is wrong with the process)

- Then after 1.5mths later, when you open the seal, you will see a thin layer of blackish red fermented stuff on top. Just scoop that away. Pour the wine into bottles and keep in the fridge.

- The wine should taste sour and sweet. If it's sour, means too much water used when cooking the rice. But if you leave in the fridge for many mths, it will turn sweeter.

- The residue behind (hong zao) can be used to cook hong zao chicken/ pork. Or give away to people.

Just used one weekend to try this out. See whether it works for you.

Hi kk,
Almost every visit I will have blood test. Alternate visit for haemoglobin and diabetes. Nowadays, every visits will have haemoglobin test.
I think big baby is good now... kekeke... Easier to look after and handle. I did a search on weight gain and read about it. After weighing the pros and cons, seems like I will now prefer to put on more weight than not enough weight... kekeke...

Hi celeste,
Why not opt for natural birth with epidural? Once your contractions start, just admit to the hospital and opt for epidural... And it will be almost completely a painless experience...

Hi Mspiggy,
I will breastfeed my baby for as long as I can
Minimum 6 months

Hi Paula,
Epidural is definitely from the spine, not on other places. There's an epidural space (a small, little cavity in the spine only) where the medication gotta be administered. The hand drip is for emergency just in case your blood pressure goes too low.

Gd morning Gals,

last nite could not sleep at all.. nw headache aready.. juz nw went to SPC petrol station to buy bread and saw haagen dazz ice cream.so bought i tub of melon ice cream.

paula,
we have the same EDD.

good morn gals

how's everyone? my hubby commented i m eatin too much..wahaha.. but i m always hungry lei..keke.

re: Baby cot
hv u gals got them? ANy brand or places of recommendation

hey lyn
wah.. can see ur boi "balls'..haha. wat a description :p
have u bought ur cot? me now then start lookin hehe. i think other mummies had already bought most of their stuff?

hi okipoki
so u also takin the 2-bedders har? Henry wont ask u such qns one la... think the nurse will ask u when u are ard wk 30 and do the admission thingy for u. I hv already rec'd the letter of admission detail for Mt A. Need to fill up & fax the pre-admission form 1 day b4 u admit . Sometimes, i wonder how do i noe i m goin to deliver on that certain day not..keke

lyn,
I am hoping for natural and maybe with penthidine only. Cos epidural I heard that u most prob can only start walking around the next day...cos the medicine effect will only wear off around 12 hrs or more? U will feel like the legs no strength to walk arnd...maybe even to toilet also a bit difficult

Hi dor,
I am also hungry very often nowadays. hahaha... My cravings seem to have changed now. Recently, I am craving for bananas and apples again...
My gynae showed us the "balls" on the scan... hahaha... My hubby and me see already also cannot tell... hahaha...
I have a hand-me-down baby cot
. haha... I have not been shopping lately to buy things for baby. Quite lazy and busy to shop for baby lately...

Aiyo.. all the counting down in number of days making me very "kan cheong". I wish I have more number of hours per day.. kekeke... I still got lots to do before baby comes out...

Hi celeste blur,
I am deciding between completely natural using "tai jiao", or opt for epidural. I might not be able to take epidural cos I had back surgery before...
When I told my hubby I want to go for completely natural using the "tai jiao" method, my hubby dun believe I will pull through... kekeke... I think maybe my hubby also scared he will cry also when I cry.. cos last time after my surgery, I cried the whole nite and he cried... now he scared to see me in pain already...

MOAP, wow more ice cream for u! just last nite, my hubby was nagging at me ...say i should eat too much sweet stuff blah blah blah
u also have prb with your sleep>? last nite, i also... i couldnt sleep after i woke up at 3am! went to the kitchen and wanted to have a drink and saw a BIG LIZARD there! yucks!

Hidora, thanks for the receipe.

Dor, you r not the only one who is eating and eating lah... looks like we all here r tempting each other with our food cravings! hahaha! i ate one pack of FA cookies for supper and ended up with a bad throat!!

I wanted to weigh myself last nite but realised my weighing scale is spoilt! Aiyo... donno if is it bec it couldnt take my weight anymore.. haha!

I'm going for my checkup later this afternoon.... hope my weight gain is not too drastic.

I weighed myself last week... already put on 8 kgs!

lyn,
My hb already thinking i will definitely "scream" for epidural....*lol*....i told him i wanna try natural w/o epidural he was like doubting me....*sigh*

tinklebell,
u r not the only one cannot sleep after waking up at nite...last nite i woke up at arnd 4am go wee wee, then i took another almost 30mins to get back to sleep...cos bb was so active at nite....*sigh*

kite, i had some unusual discharge in week 16, long strains of colorless, gluely discharge. No smell, only lasted two days. i was concerned and checked with my gynae. she did a pap smear and found out that was Strep B. Took some antibotics then, cleared off since. however, to play safe, need to put some medication in my drip during delivery.

Poohy, wow... your bb turned down, congrats... you must be really excited... bb coming early... when is the estimated day if it's week 37?

I am now week 32, another 6 weeks to week 38... maybe bb will come early? can't wait...

celeste blur,
It's very difficult if our hubby also doubt us hor? kekeke...
I know to go through without epidural, we gotta be mentally prepared for the pain. And also be mentally prepared for the epidural temptation which the hospital provides nowadays... And need to have the determination for wanting to go through without epidural.
The nurses will keep popping into the labour ward to ask if you want epidural and they are not going to give us any mental support when we opted out. The nurses will also try to say things to encourage you to go for epidural. That's what happen to my friend... The only support is the hubby...

kk, me too.. had coke and ice lemon tea very often, almost everyday when i am out. stay at home, drink less fizzy drinks... had steamboat at my place yesterday too. ate alot...

i also have BH, but recently, felt bb's movement more... the movements are slow, but very forceful... his legs will portrude out of my right tummy, and i need to stroke him to get him back in place...

Err...don't know if you al mummies will believe or not. I did not had epidural during my first normal delivery. Hehe! Cos i have slip disc history,so the gynae advise is not to have any jab or else my backache will worsen when i grow old.But overall i still can tahan the pain leh..afterall i think mine is still lucky,i've only got backache thruout the whole nite. :p

So cheer up! Things may not be as bad as you thought.

Re: Craving
Too much tempting in this thread,finally surrender myself to the haagen daze ice-cream.Is the melon ice-cream realli nice.Being seeing you all talking about it.Maybe should try just 1 smallll tub..hehe!!

peng,
u know, kiddy palace got sell those comforter set (comforter, bolster, pillow) for baby to sleep one...think the comforter small enough to even use it on stroller as soft cushion....maybe those type can fit into your mose basket.....

re: mode of delivery

I'm going for natural without epidural...first, I dun like the idea of needle poking into my spine....secondly, I think my threshold for pain is quite ok....so I intend to try deliver baby without epidural...hubby also support me...

but of course, when I say I wanna go without epidural, there'll be people who say why so silly when u can have pain relief...but I think I rather endure the pain then to have needle poking into my spine....

Hi jojo,
Wah... Really admire you so brave... I had slipped disc before too... How's your birth story like? Can share?

Hi Okasan,
I hope I can have the determination for natural without epidural... kekeke...

Hi jojo,
Wah... Really admire you so brave... I had slipped disc before too... How's your birth story like? Can share?

Hi Okasan,
I hope I can have the determination for natural without epidural... kekeke...

Hi Jojo,

thanks for yr info abt bumwear.. saw it at the expo baby fair the last time but find the fabric too think.. so for cloth diaper, i still prefer the traditional one.

hi mspiggy,
i bought the peg perego stroller at baby hypermart.. tried and tested a few when i was there but still think that peg is the best as it is more durable and solid. haha my hubby said that peg is like mercedes and quinny is like BMW... the rest are considered normal saloon cars.. hahaha.. in fact i oso like quinny but really ex so go for a second grade car lor.. hee

Hi Okasan

I've diff thinking. I will take the epidural since im sure 1st time definitely not easy n will take long time. I dun wish to waste off the extra strength enduring the pain and by then is time to push, i've already lost all my strength or already fainted....thus may result to going for C-sect. That happened to 1 of my fren's sister so she actually suffered 2 kind of pain.

Also, during my antenatal class, the nurse told us it's better to decide ahead whether to have the epidural or not cos the anaesthetist is not around/attached to hospital all the time, when we really want it, the anaesthetist might be out for other appts. (They dun serve just TMC alone, they go around to other hospitals). Same for Gleneagles too, my friend delivered her baby there told me the same thing. She also choose to go w/o epidural but until cannot tahan already, she called for it, but she was lucky that she got hold of the anaesthetist who almost going off for his appt.

The nurse told us that during labour, not only the mother is tired out, the baby too, it's quite of a hard time for baby to go thro the birth canal esp 1st time. As the time takes longer, both the mother and baby will lose alot of strength and energy.

Hi Okasan

I've diff thinking. I will take the epidural since im sure 1st time definitely not easy n will take long time. I dun wish to waste off the extra strength enduring the pain and by then is time to push, i've already lost all my strength or already fainted....thus may result to going for C-sect. That happened to 1 of my fren's sister so she actually suffered 2 kind of pain.

Also, during my antenatal class, the nurse told us it's better to decide ahead whether to have the epidural or not cos the anaesthetist is not around/attached to hospital all the time, when we really want it, the anaesthetist might be out for other appts. (They dun serve just TMC alone, they go around to other hospitals). Same for Gleneagles too, my friend delivered her baby there told me the same thing. She also choose to go w/o epidural but until cannot tahan already, she called for it, but she was lucky that she got hold of the anaesthetist who almost going off for his appt.

The nurse told us that during labour, not only the mother is tired out, the baby too, it's quite of a hard time for baby to go thro the birth canal esp 1st time. As the time takes longer, both the mother and baby will lose alot of strength and energy.

lyn,
ya lor...but actually during my antenatal class, we were told that when the 2nd phase of contraction which is when dilation of the cervix is from 4-10cm (i think).....if oledi need to grit our teeth n bear with the contraction then its better to opt for pain-relief liowz....so i prob will see during the 2nd phase of contraction whether can tahanz boh, if oledi gritting my teeth then i will opt for epidural....*lol*

Hi Duffy,
yeah I went Baby Hyperstore yesterday and also fall for Quinny and Peg.

Quinny too bulky and exp! So next choice is Peg. We like the P3 model. Mostly we get that but will try to find out more first. I'm going to Metro baby fair later, not sure if they have Peg??

serene,
ya, I also heard of mummies who tahan many hours of pain, only to end up having emergency c-section, hence enduring 2 pains instead of one...

but well, if I never try, I know I'll keep wondering if I can do it or not....at least try liao, if really cannot, also no choice loh...

anyway, the priority when giving birth is to have baby safely delivered out...wat is the final mode of delivery is not impt anymore...afterall, all mummies are brave mummies, regardless natural delivery, with or without epiqural or c-section....
401412.gif

re: weight gain

i think its heritable. My mum also din gain much in both her pregnancy. For me ... last pregnancy, i also gain at most 9-10kg. The thing is I eat alot of rice... much more than my hubby.... and i take coke almost every meal... plus ice creams ... I told my hb now better take more... later after give birth liao cannot take too much cos if i gain weight its very noticeable.

amy,

ya i was so happy to hear my bb has turned on saturday. I suspected it but was glad its confirmed. In fact, my mood so good I ate 2 bowl of rice to celebrate for lunch hehee
Me a rice person. I did some exercises for the last 2 weeks like raising my bum area higher when i lie down and going on all fours for abt 10 min... i hope that's help bb to turn... but now i a bit worried later bb turn back up... hope she wont be so naughty.

re: delivery

me looking forward to a drug free natural delivery again this time round!! Hope it will be even shorter than my previous one ... I will never opt to have a c-sect.. unless bo bian. cos i really cant imagine going on GA or epi... scared later the drug dun work lah hehee

duffy,

the aprica must be rolls royce liao for its fabulous price tag! haha... I got a quinny zapp to go with my maxi cosi infant carseat... looks very cute but i find it too heavy. The weight stop me from buying a buzz which i like too. The most expensive buggy all purpose use from birth kind of pram/stroller in singapore is the STOKKE. Its 2k in price tag at motherswork. Very very nice and light weight... but tooooooo exp.

Personally i never like peg... cos its too heavy for me too! I just am very scared of anything heavy even though we drive ... thus i went for combi... but found that combi a bit small leh when my bb grow up... but its sooooo light at less than 3.8kg. And even then, I find it a bit heavy leh hehee

re: labour duration without pain control

one of the thing u can do to shorten labour is to do some exercises beforehand to make sure u help bb into optimal birth position and engaged. The other thing u can do is to believe that you can go through the labour without pain control and dun be so tensed up .... the reason why some people experience long labour hours is partly because of the position of the baby and your own nervousness... when the pain of contraction come, u will tend to tensed up your muscle causing the dilation to slow down. In my first delivery, I focused on making sure I dun tensed up my lower half of body with each contraction.

Delivery/labour that lasted too long might cause danger for the baby and mother. That happened to my sister, it was an emergency one due to circumstances happened - the amt of blood lost nearly clogged the baby's breathing! Our family got scared off that time! Doctor asked whether to save mother or baby, which one priority if chances can only save 1.....Luckily both are fine in the end but my sister really suffered alot!

I hope all of us here has a safe and smooth delivery, be it with our without epidural or c-sect.

okasan,

my active labour for my son was less than 4 hours. I was not in active labour but 2cm dilated when admitted... so first hour was just waiting for gynae to come break water bag (cos he suspect bb in distress due to heart rate drop in ctg in the morning at his clinic) and going thru all those routine enema and stuff.

my active labour start when my gynae came to break waterbag at 3:45pm and i was 3 cm dilated. At 7:22pm I gave birth to my son.

can read my son's birth story at http://poohybaby.blogspot.com/2005_03_01_poohybaby_archive.html

prams-
I like combi. 3.8kg or 4.2kg ones. Check that wheels are "smooth", easy to manoevre, not the kind that bump abit and then locks itself.

Full canopy if possible (less distractions when bb naps).

Not neccessarily full-recline for newborns cos not many people wld bring absolute newborns out (but shld be ALMOST full recline so bb can nap well instead of sitting position).

1-hand operation/ closure in case alone with baby, need to hold bb 1 hand while using other hand to close pram (cos some cabbie dunno how to close/ open pram, then u just ask cabbie to put in boot for u).

hi poohy

Thanks for sharing with us your son's birth story. It's so touching and you're really a great, brave mother!

It's so lucky that you dun have to go thro episiotomy, i was told that all asian women can't escape from that as asian women's skin r not so stretchable as the caucasians. Also, i didn't know that breaking the water bag can be painful....what i heard from the rests of mummies are we don't even notice it when doctor break the water bag...?