(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

okasan,

Dun remind me how xiong it is to get 2 sets of everything. My mom have decided to babysit our bb. So we will be putting the cot with her. Then, on weekends we will moved back to hb's place. So might hv to get a playpen, else bb no place to sleep.

And I got the following things to get 2 sets of.

1) Bathtub
2) Sterilizer (thinking to get one, then weekend use boiling methods, or sterilizing tablets)
3) Baby wash, powder, etc (No car from woodlands back to pasir ris.. If gotta carry the lotions and everything, it would be so heavy)
4) And a lot others on the list..

hidora,
those essential items, no choice loh...got to buy 2 set, else if baby come back home, nothing to use...steriliser, actually when baby is older, dun need to sterilise the bottles so often..so maybe can just get one for your mum, then u use hot water to sterilise at home....

for sleeping, alternative is to have cot at your mum's place...then just buy one mattress for your own house for baby to sleep? then u no need to get playpen or another cot...

okasan,

I was also thinking of just getting the mattress. But I got a very mischievous cat at my MIL's place. If mattress is on the floor, she will surely go sleep with bb. I dun even want to imagine that. Haha.

Ya, I think I will just use boiling method, then can save on one sterilizer.

okasan, previously i had a playpen but it broke. We didnt put a steriliser at mum's home bec she used the traditional method of boiling in a pot of water. Since i got an extra hand me down steriliser fr SIL, i will put it there. Other things like bottles and pillows, i prefer to get new ones for hygiene purposes.
I also feel that sleeping on mattress is a good idea. But my mum's house has a dog, so i cant place her on a mattress.

Amy,
Tinklebell is rite.No hurry to find a maid.You have to find one that you feel comfortable with.Maybe the agent is just trying to earn your money while you are still hesitating,they scare you run away or find other agency.

Starfish,
I feel heartache when seeing your bubbly girl and imagine her crying.That must be very hard on you.Hope she will understand you soon.

hidora / tinklebell,
since got pet at home, then not advisable to let baby sleep on mattress on floor....better to put baby inside cot or playpen...

okasan:
thanks for e link, i m gg to order from there too for the normal beansprout pillows. how abt u? hmm that pic so dark ah n i actually adjust e brightness/constrast to the max n thot saw e pillow same design as e bolster?

tinklebell:
what did i remind u of 2 items? hehe

hidora:
me just call up Motherhood regarding the babyplus magazine. and she said it wil be given to u FOC upon delivery together w the bag of love n she actually ask me where m i gg to deliver n i told her thomson n she told me need to request n remind the hospital for the bag. hmm probably i wil try asking during discharge. if dun hv, its alrite one

so steriliser, i dun intend to get 2. 1 set wil put at my hse. And for my mum's place, she wil use traditional type, boiling kind.

tinklebell/hidora:
i also keep a dog, so i plan not to let my bb slp on e mattress on e flr, scare of e fur.

kite,

I think parkway medical group not included for the freebie anymore.. hmm.. nvm lah.

Ya, fur is always a concern for mummies. But at least dogs wun jump, my cat always like to jump onto the bed. And my hb who doted on the cat so much said it's ok. Now I'm worried got playpen. the cat will also jump into it. Grrr...

tinklebell, yes, also getting CL. in fact, would like maid to arrive one week after CL.

hidora, yes, ordered the healing spray. smells nice...
will bring to hospital with me.

the warming wash smells like ginger and lemongrass...

okasan, hidora, ya.. two sets of everything... very ex hor? i got 2 playpen, 2 mattress, 2 bathtubs, 2 prams... for sterilizer, hoping to live with one. sterilize at my place, then bring bottles over...

also, CL and maid coming in June, also need 2 single bed and mattress... aiyo... very soon my place will run out of space...

kite,
I got the beansprout pillow liao but not from here...my mum diy it

at the thread I give u, u can ask linsaw to email u more pics...very nice, got pooh bear, disney characters, etc...

on the motherhood goodie bag, we giving birth in june, by then, still have meh? goodie bag looks good

hidora,
I'm going to try utilise the BWs again, maybe when #2 is 2mth+, but ADD those cheap $2.50 waterproof coverings. Aiya I have nothing nice to say abt BW... except when my gal was 10mth, I brought her for studio family photo- she in just BW diaper (with disposable diaper INSIDE hah!), HB in BW shirt (his shirt also got problem after washing, but not noticeable in photos).
398033.jpg

medusa,
the pic is very well taken! nice leh...which studio? u ever take studio pic when preggy? I'm thinking if I should go loh, now only left less than 2 mth, if dun decide fast enough, baby pop out, no more chance to take preggy pics *LOL*

Medusa,

You are one chio chio mummy! You daughter looks really adorable in the BW.. Hee, guess that kinda "make up" for the uselessness of the BW.

The photo looks great! How much did you spend for the photoshoot? How many shots are there?

Amy,

Thanks for the product review! Hee, now I also want to order the healing spray. But maybe in May since delivery is so fast. Btw, what else you got from them? The heating shampoo and shower gel? Anything else?

I hv ordered the beansprout pillow from linsaw in her 1st bulk purchase. Will be collecting it tonite... keep u posted on the quality & workmanship

Re: Listening to baby music

Any of u all listening to those classical pieces or bb music? Recently I tried the Similac music CD that was given free. Realised my bb is quite active when i play this CD as compared to those classical pieces that i bought from those music stores. *lol*

celeste,

I'm listening to the Mozart Effect cd. Erm, dunno whether bb like it or not since we always play it b4 sleeping. But I know we fall asleep very fast upon hearing it. :p

okipoki:
alrite keep me update as i m gg to order tonite or tmr.

Okasan:
actually Linsaw emailed me and its actually from beansprout website, no need email e pics to me
if order thr her, got 15% discount.

celesteblur:
yes everynite, i wil on FM92.4 on my laptop n listen.
bb wil respond leh.

hidora,
so u will leave the music on or before u go to sleep u will switch it off?

Hehe, i realise sometimes if the music piece is quite light-hearted and chirpy kind, bb will suddenly kick when the music starts...jin cute...

kite,
FM92.4 is also classical music? Me quite like Gold 90.5FM cos i quite like the oldies songs...hehe, but bb doesnt seem to respond much to those kind of songs...haha

celeste,

Ya lor, played it for the whole night. My bb dun respond to music leh. Or maybe classical music makes him sleep even more. Hehe. Then I seldom on music, cos I can't concentrate with music on. Erm.. he responded to Ice Age 2 thou. Lol.

hi Medusa
ya really nice pose! your whole family very photogenic! how much does it cost for a portrait like this? how old was your bb then?

Thx for the compliments, but makeup & photography is deceptive lah.

When I was preggy with #1, my amateur gf took preggy pics for me.
This time with #2, I was considering http://www.isabelledelcourt.com/ - check out the b&w pics, wld be nice to have pics of my tod hugging my bump. But... abit pricey and I certainly ain't thin
!

I went photo-mad with #1, tried quite a few packages/ different studios.
398073.jpg

^ Peter Pan studio. The Eastshore hospital allowed the sales to approach post-delivery mums. More than $100, can't recall exact. 1st session (of NB) taken 2 days old at hospital- comes with lots of tiny prints u can gift relatives, and 1 large print. 2nd session (family) taken 6 mths old at their studio in Little India area. I find the NB pic abit cheesy but funny :p , while the family pic lousy (I don't think the photog is a real photog!).

398074.jpg

^ Kids Pictures at http://www.kidspictures.com.sg/main.html . Mine is the "6mths package, $500" http://www.kidspictures.com.sg/services.html so I brought her in every 2 mths for 1 yr, they bound into album and got it ready for her 1st b'day party
- each session 2 pics (colour or b&w up to u). Photog does alot of Anne Geddes styles but u can opt for more sophisticated b&w styles. Soft copy optional and additional cost.

398075.jpg

^ PictureMe studio (Suntec City next to cinema, or, UE Square). Think ~$200, can't recall how many prints and size? Expensive if u top-up for more prints, so don't lah- select more stringently ;) and if u want copies for relatives/ wallet/ put in office, cheaper to bring in to scan at Kodak. Photographer skill so-so, the appeal is it allows u ALOT of family members (most studios charge for extra person in pic), many permutations (as long as ur baby can tahan, mine cldn't tahan long session, so no solo shots of her!). Soft copy optional and additional cost.

398076.jpg

^ "i" dash "studio" (they dun allow me to post the name here???) at Bugis. ~$100 on promo. U *don't* get ALL these pics here, this is just a tiny proof for u to select. Largest print in the package is 12R or something, troublesome to frame up. Then some smaller prints I forget the quantity & size. U can have solo pics of ur bb too, we didn't bother lah. I found them "ok" but have heard quite a few complaints from other mums abt their service. Soft copy optional and additional cost.

With #2, I'm hoping another Kids Pictures $500 package, BUT, bring him for 1st session at maybe 1 wk old (if he's healthy enough). To see more "changes" captured throughout the year. Then maybe a PictureMe package when he's 6mths- cos can have solo pics, nuclear family pics, extended family pics, sibling pics (#1 and #2 together) at a lower cost (if I stick to number of prints provided in package and *don't* top-up).

Medusa,
The pictures look nice! I especially like the ones by Kids Pictures. But seems like its quite costly too. Dont think my hb will agree to these shoots...he will prob use his own digital cam and video cam to explore instead *lol*

Celeste,
yah, pricey, but abit biased if I didn't get any for #2. So I think I'd yisi-yisi send him too. As for family pics, I tell u, the grans get *so* excited, LOL!

Medusa,
Haha....cos grans normally dont get to do photo-shoots? Hehe :p
And yeah, if u did it for #1 must do for #2 also, otherwise when they are older they will complain that mommy/daddy is unfair....*sigh*
Maybe if i get an unexpected windfall or something then i will let my ger go for this kind of photoshoot too *lol*

Medusa,

Wow, that's a lot of studios and photos! I like the Kids Pictures one most. But it's really costly. =| Hmm, dun think my hb will agreed to it too. Haha, most prob will use the digital cam and experiment himself.

Hi okipoki,
RE: beansprout pillow
I've also order from Linsaw from the 1st bulk order, but I havent receive her email regarding collection. Did she call you or email to you?

Hidora,

Postpartum Healing Salve

Herbal salve for postnatal healing. Apply this soothing ointment often on perineal bruising and stitches. Heals soreness and aids in skin cell regeneration. This product will also ease away pain from episiotomies, caesarean cuts and hemorrhoids.

The healing balm comes in 20 ml only, hence should be used maybe twice a day or after bath. For the spray, you can use after each urination.

BTW - i intend to bring all these products with me to the hospital, so that i can start using them once i deliver.

Amy,
juz curious...i know the hospital will give a bottle of medicine to apply for the episiotomy already. My SIL told me to buy one more bottle from the gynae, cos the one hospital give is not enough. So how come must get the healing balm? And izzit medically proven to be safe?

Amy,
LOL, that's Athena at 2 days old lor! Very different right? So must make sure u snap more pics at 1-2 day old, while the bb is still red, gong-gong looking, and bloated! Can blackmail... LOL!

Mspiggy,

She did dropped us an email.. alternatively u can refer to her thread & she mentioned to give her a call. Her mobile is: 93886032, better sms her or call her now.

Medusa... oh i see... she looked like a distant relative of mine... you dun happen to know of a distant relative who lives near West Coast, do you?

Celeste, dunno whether the one given by the hosp is the same. just tot buy one more, just in case. anyway, my fren mentioned one bottle from the hosp will be adequate. but i guess it's up to the individual how many times you use/apply the medicine.

Amy,
Oic....but my SIL told me must make sure we dont stinge on the medicine...she said make sure we wash the wound there everytime we visit the toilet...and its better to get another bottle. Then the wound will heal very fast
I guess i will juz heed her advice since she had done confinement for a few relatives before liowz

celeste, oh i see. okies, might get an extra bottle before i discharge.

medusa, hee hee... came to one conclusion, all newborns look quite alike.
but your ger ger looked so diff when newborn and now... now very cute...
newborn bit blur blur...

Okies... gotta knock off now... going to collect my VS purchase... and deliver some DVDs....

Hi, Gina.

Ya! Easier to maintain once they did the "spring cleaning". Think I will feel happier too ... I will start arranging the bb stuff after the cleaning is done.

Btw, I've called a few cleaning agencies, to share, I find: -
- Just Relax not bad, pricing breakdown clearer.
- Amahsonwheels is very ex.

Once I call Spick n Span and CareXpress, I'll update you again.