(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

MOAP,

Is your bb very big too? How come want to get an induce? I understand from my fren that at wk 37, her bb needed a steroid jap so as to help the lungs matured.

MOAP, wow... induce in week 37? how do you feel about this? i am hoping bb will come out himself before week 38.

how come you wanna induce early?

I saw this from another forum.

For mummies who plan to store cord blood, is this really true?

*For myself, I won't be storing cord blood.

From what I was told in birth class, to gather cord blood for storage, the cord must be clamped immediately or quite soon after delivery. The cord would not have stopped pulsating, and some believe that it is better to clamp and cut after it has stopped pulsating as the "final exchange" closes and open some valves in the baby's body. The open/ close valves as the baby body functions differently in the womb as vs out when born.

Also, the other thing I was told is that the pulsating cord actually contains about 1/3 of the blood meant for the baby's body.

So for me to deprive my baby of 1/3 of his body blood even before he's ready to face the world.... If I already know he is born healthy, I won't take that chance to lower his immunity in the start.

That's my personal opinion*

hidora
yup i agree... don stay with in laws! esp MIL!
if don see so often, less conflict and appreciate each other more...

i only see my MIL once a week, when i'm there, always sulking face black black.. hubby say i never "give face" haha. but cannot help it, her comments are usually very irritating..

Josephine,

Hehe, luckily i'm moving back to stay with my mom soon. Really less meeting = less conflicts = more happiness. My MIL is actually quite nice, just that her remarks ah... at times I really couldnt take it. But I also cannot rebuke her. Haiz..

Aiyo...

My craving for bubble tea still there leh... How ah how? Should I step out and buy.. but sun very hot leh.. Dilemma..

hidora,

i don no weather my bb is big a not leh..gyna never mention anything.. my bb weight 1.7kg at wk 30 n 1 day.. hey you don scared me leh... coz i did ask gyna when is the best time i can delivered then he say week 37 lor but never say anything about steriod leh.

amy,

i also hopping leh....coz induce hor might need longer time leh...
i wan to induce is because i don wan to waste any more mc coz i don have much mc left leh.

hmm.. confused liao... heard that bb shd be at least 2.5kg when born otherwise alot of complications cos too small.. that's why tried to eat more durians to make bb bigger.. 2.5kg is still considered small according to the books that i read..

btw, juz want to do a survey.. as a consumer, what kind of applications would u like to have if u can use your mobile phones to purchase things or pay payments? for e.g. transfer $ to your friends or book a cab via SMS.. any other payment services u expect from a phone?? want to do some research on this.. So can pls help me by telling me what kind of payment services u want from a hp?? Tks alot

Amy,

check with you something . did the little dreamer courier contact you for the timing or they just sms you and ask you to contact them instead.. bad service they are having.

those comin into 3rd tri, try to avoid durains.. u will sure expand. if u r petite in size like me.. dun take the risk cos the sugar content and ur bb cell will double and will hv a diffcult delivery.
my ger is abt 1.3kg @ wk 29. me gonna to see gynae tomm. shall update u gals again

MOAP,

I got this from a website.

"...the fetal lungs have matured and are producing enough surfactant--generally at about 37 weeks of pregnancy. If delivery cannot be delayed, the mother may be given a steroid hormone, similar to a natural substance produced in the body, which crosses the barrier of the placenta and helps the fetal lungs to produce surfactant. The steroid should be given at least 24 hours before the expected time of delivery."

Maybe that's why your gynae said can induce at wk 37. Guess it all depends on individual. Maybe during then, my fren's bb's lung have not matured yet. But just check with you gynae abt the steroid jab.

peng,

The pregnancy book I was reading said bb's weight shld be above 2999gm. Else it's considered small leh.

wow, all the durian talks...please do eat in moderation...at last tri, we shouldn't get too heaty coz delivery will be difficult...remember to drink cooling drinks to balance the body.....

my bb is very very small! last week (week 31st) i just had my regular checkup & doctor estimates my bb to only around 1.1kg.

i'm getting very worried, any ways to let bb grow faster & fatter??

really appreciates..

MOAP, TMC didnt send me any letter. BTW, what letter is that?

Your princess so cute sticking out her tongue. :p Pei-Fu u can handle your pregnancy and bb at same time. Remember to rest well. U feeling better now?

tinklebell,

u going to gave birth at TMC or which hoapital??
letter to comfirm the bed lor. i also have not recived the letter leh..

yah i feeling better..i find that i can't walk more then 1 hour if not i will get painful contraction..and i realised that my contracrtion only comes in the nite..
No choice leh i have to ja ga my gal also mah..i taking care of my elder gal myself during weekend..

moap,
wow, your girl so cute, stick out her tongue

shan,
as long as your gynae don't comment abt the size of the baby, it's alright...coz some baby gain weight faster at last tri...

tinklebell,
the letter from tmc is to confirm u deliver there...so if u have not send the application to confirm which hospital u delivering, then u wun have this letter....me haven't confirm yet coz dr adrian hasn't asked me yet leh...

Talking abt mum's body build vs newborn's-
Just to share, I'm plump/ fat but short, supposedly considered "small-built" (I think relation btwn height and birth-canal/ hip width).

#1 was 3.6kg (above average), 52cm length, 36cm head circumference (above average- think 90th percentile). I tried natural, ended up emer. c-section, which IS more expensive (and some hospitals even more more MORE expensive)!

For #2, I *switched* gynae to one famous for VBAC (vaginal birth after c-section) to hopefully try and succeed in natural. Do note that VBAC success rate for most people is VERY HIGH. But he said mine really must wait-and-see-how nearer EDD. Cos of my "small-build", #1's "above-average wt" (#2's are usually bigger build unless mum takes DELIBERATE attempts to control diet... in fact he banned me from durian totally, and discouraged from carbo/ ice-cream), and most importantly, BABY HEAD CIRCUMFERENCE (#1 was much bigger than usual, this is usually genetic... sometimes u can have a 2.8kg light baby but 37cm head, also end up c-section cos can't fit through birth canal). Another issue is if I'm to try for VBAC, he discourages inducing birth (which I did at full-term for #1) cos body may not be ready for birth process. He wld wait til natural labour occurs even if overdue- which presents another issue... overdue, bigger mah, and baby skull not so malleable.

End of the day, aiyah, as long as baby is safe, will just *try* and if c-sect again, bohbian lor. But if natural, wld be better in terms of quick recovery lah.

Durians & Black chicken soup works?? Thanks..

Hopefully will bb grow bigbig & fatfat.. i dont mind to be more xinku..

medusa,
wow, your girl's head really round round loh...thanks for sharing the info on the head circumference vs the birth canal...

moap,
ntuc got sell green husk one meh? how it look like after de-skin?

for your first one, u start drinking coconut when? I intend to drink at mid or edn of 8th mth...

MOAP,
LOL, yahlor. I tot she looked prettier when she lost abit of wt after a few days, hehehe. Athena's 17 and a half mths already
!
398519.jpg

okasan,

ntuc got sell .. after it deskin it become white colour lor...i think is $1.10 for 1.and not those you saw at parsa malam the small brown colour shell want. i also forgot when i started leh...i think 36weeks then i start to take 1 per day...

medusa,
head size is genetic mah...I also got a friend who has big head...her mother told me when she's a baby, she kept falling on her head coz her head too big for her small body *LOL*

moap,
oh! u mean those white one are the green husk coconut...I thought those are the thai small young coconut....i see.....

wow, u take 1 coconut per day! not too much huh? I was still thinking I'll take 1 coconut every week or forngihtly....

Medusa,

From my hubby. But my hubby only got 1 leh.. my gal got big eyes big single eye lid. lucky never follow my hubby if not i faint ... small eyes..

don no my #2 will look like who??
sca li got double eye lid but no dimples...

MOAP,
my #1's looks takes after my HB alot. I carry her forr 9mths, but ends up like my HB instead, hmph! :p Except her eyes single-lid (she got occasional double-lids!), and hair wavy. We suspect wavy hair is from... my mum! It's interesting to see how the looks play out.

To console me, everyone telling me #2 will look like me. We just hope for normal and healthy baby lah

MOAP,

Your daughter's dimples are so deep! So pretty!

Medusa,

Wa, you really took many pictures of your daughter when she's a newborn.. Good for blackmailing in the future. Lol.

That's one major complaint from one of my fren. Said carried her son for 9 mths, in the end all look like daddy, even the toe nails look like his..

medusa,
they say that if the first kid look like daddy, then the second one will be a boy...and vice versa....your no #2 is girl or boy?

okasan,

Really very cute one. Some babies, we can still try and figure which feature looks like who. But for my fren's son, the features are so obvious that it's from the dad that you wouldnt even need a second glance.

hidora,
ya...my friend's son also...no need to say, see already know they are father and sons....

I got another friend, her baby got a few features inherited from grandparents coz both parents also dun have...so interesting...they called it "ge dai yi chuan"...

hmm... after all these, i am glad.. cos i thot my bb is small.. but really hope he is at least 2.5kg when born cos dun wan him to be small..

black chicken soup?? bb will be big?? i have been drinking abit only cos my body can't take bu.. hmm.. maybe shd drink abit more.. but hee hee.. hopefully after taking all these food, the fats dun go to me, but to him.. haha.

medusa and moap.. all ur princeness so beautiful.. wow.. next time grow up alot of suitors..

MOAP, ya... little dreamers won't ring you to confirm your order. the courier guy - Bob, will ring you to arrange.