(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Pauline / fondue,

I did engage a confinement lady. Basically, her duties are to cook for us, look after baby and some simple houseworks. Some CL will cook for your hubby & MIL as well (if MIL stays with u during confinement). My CL stays at my place as she is from Indonesia.

fondue,
u need to decide if u want a CL for the day only or u need a stay-in CL who will also help u at night....

CL basically cook your meal (some will cook for the rest of the family, but some don't), take care of baby....not all CL will do housechores so got to check with them...

okasan,
I didnt get any bib will & purchase those BB handkerchief instead.

True, must state those T&C with CL before engaging her.

okipoki: so u have choosen MAH ?
cool ! me going to deliver there too.
They have already sent me a pre-admission form, to fill in and fax to them ... it's all very surreal ! 2 1/2 more mths !!!

My tummy has not grown much though ... waistline still ard 35-36 ...

Issit the growth spurt will kick in during the last 2 mths ???
I dread having to take the MRT when i'm so big !!!

okpoki,
ya, will be using handerchief too...but was thinking baby look cute in bib *LOL*...

k ong,
baby gaining fat during the last tri coz their organs already developed by then....that's why baby's weigth gain is slow at the initial stage but within the last tri, can jump from <1kg to birth weight of 2.5-4kg

K_Ong,
i think i already started growth spurt for my tummmy....past 2 weeks alone my tummy increased by bout 3-4cm! Now oledi reach 39 inches

And i wonder my bb change position liowz anot...cos she seems to be kicking me around the ribs/chest area these few days...*lol*

Wonder anyone mentioned this in recent msgs... nepia diapers on offer at ntuc yesterday for one week.. worth buying? I think $27.95 for 2 packs. Intend to buy medium sized...

Hi Celeste Blur, my tummy also around 39-40 inches. i am more concerned how much it can shrink after delivery haha.. i so worried i can't fit into my skirts and dresses.. then dunno what i should wear to work after 3 mths.

Hi K Ong,

Oh yes, u can expect a growth spurt soon. i am going 34th week next week. Tummy seems bigger and bigger. And i realise i can't really fit into my maternity skirts liao!! Seems pretty tight leh. Now can only fit better into my maternity dresses. I think i have to keep all the skirts liao. Dun think can wear comfortably already. Today think my bb protests because i am wearing skirt and it seems a bit tight for me... heeee... the bb kicks so much today!

Ladies, recently heard that dun drink coconut juice too early as it is super cooling and may cause leg cramps in bb. One student's parent told me today to drink only a few days before labour. She say will cleanse the bb. I guess i won't drink anymore for the time being.. maybe wait until 3 weeks later when i go into my 9th mth.

Hi Gina,

How's ur recovery from ur fall? Aiyoh, my knee cap still pain pain sometimes, when i walk up and down the stairs.

Hi, Fondue,

Yes, I have booked a CL for the month of June 06. She is a Malaysian and is highly recommended by one of my friends. I was told that it's good to hire CL through WOM recommendations.

BTW, for those who have booked CLs, would you be stocking up those confinement items that might be needed then or you will leave the marketing to the discretion of the CLs?

hi kk
me ok though still trying to get over the fall
kao_scared.gif
same with my bb here, hubby says bb and I have the same character haha... my bb is less active since I fell, but he moves at his own free will everyday, just not so much as b4. he use to be a v v active bb! i think it's ok that he becomes quieter, as long as he is healthy and happy. imagine going for a roller coaster ride even b4 u r born.. haha... some of my colleagues even laughed when i told them abt my bb's roller coaster ride... humpfff.
how much weight have u gained so far? i only gained abt 5 kgs... worried bb might be skinny... i dun eat a lot and i prefer vegetarian to meats. wow at 34 weeks it will be v soon your bb pop... me at 26 weeks, counting down

392165.png

Morning ladies!!

k ong,
yup have finally decided on MAH. Ooh I think my gynae's nurse will settle for us when we do the selection. Probably on my next appt then will inform them on my choice.

I heard 3rd tri is the time where our tummy will expand very fast. Currently, my tummy is abt 37" liao... cant imagine how big will it grow. Nowadays, my hubby has start to send &amp; fetch me from work. I tend to get tired pretty easy..... sigh !!

pauline,
I didnt stock up any yet.. will depend on what the CL needs then ask hubby to buy. I dont intend to let the CL do the marketing. Heard some unpleasant stories on CL doing marketing.

kk,
which ntuc got sell nepia? I never sell the brand at the few ntuc branches in my area...if $27.95 for 2 pck, even cheaper than the $14 per pack, plus at ntuc, can earn linkpoints...hehe....

coconut drink dun drink too often..heard my friends say once every 2-3 wk for 8mth onwards...u mean u drinking now? u in which mth? me just cross over to 7th mth, so haven't start drinking...will drink when I'm in end of 8th mth

pauline,
better to get your hubby to buy the things the CL needs...when it comes to money, it's sensitive...to avoid any possible unhappiness/disputes, better not to let CL do the marketing.....

yesterday, manage to buy some baby stuff at a good deal coz kiddy palace at Lot 1 is having 30% reno sale....think I am 80-90% done with the baby stuff liao

for those staying in the west, u may wish to come down to kiddy palace at lot 1...but hor, come as early as possible...coz the staff are packing up all the goods in preparation for the reno, so the later u go, the less things u get to buy....

I went once on thur, lotsa things to buy, then went back yesterday, lot of shelves already empty coz the staff pack them up liao....think this weekend, even less things on display to buy...

okasan:
wow wat u bot?
yest i also went kiddy palace but at compass point. i cant tahan my itchy nipples cos bought the Avent nipple cream, very good helps to sooth my itchy n sore nipples. also i bot a mini fan for my bb to clip on her stroller when gg out.

kite,
only lot 1 got reno sale coz they closing on the coming mon for reno....I bought mittens, booties, socks, rubber mat, diaper changing mat, brush for washing bottle &amp; teat and some other bits and pieces...mostly small purchase coz the bulky purchases already done during taka fair....save quite a bit coz of the 30% discount

the mini fan is the one that's foam like? u should buy it during taka fair...coz taka fair offers the best deal...think everywhere sell at $9.90, but taka fair that time sold at $15 for 2...we bought 2, one for stroller and one for playpen

Hi Gina,

Oh, u are having a bb boy? BB Boys very active!! Haha.. mine moving violently ever since this morning. I guess she enjoyed all the cab rides! This morning went for gynae visit. BB is healthy! Gynae looked at the umbilical cord, water bag and placenta position
Didn't know the weight though

I have gained 14 kg liao!!!! I eat normal meals leh, dunno why gained another 2 kg after my last visit 2 weeks ago
No wonder my tummy ballooned so much. And recently got so many pple tell me my tummy looks like i am having a bb boy
I tell them not to scare me, because i am mentally prepared and also bought things for bb girl!!

Yah, will be in my 34th week next week. Dun wanna bb to pop by earlier than expected because i still have loads of work to clear in april.

Hi Okasan,

I didn't know that packaging is nepia brand of diapers. It is orange in colour and has one bb cartoon on the packaging rite?? NTUC label as nepia on its advertisements in the papers on thursday.

i wonder whether should stock up on medium sized now.. what do u think? i think per pack around 48 diapers.

i thought all branches of ntuc should have?? Mine is rivervale mall branch at sengkang

I am in my 33rd week liao lor heeee... i drank coconut drink once last week.

Hi Kite,

I got a mini fan for my bb girl too
from bb kingdom when i bought the stroller that time. The fan also comes with fanciful blinking and flashing lights

kk,
dun stock up on medium size...heard other mummies say nepia cutting is bigger...maybe can buy small size loh....dun remeber see nepia at the ntuc branches here...nevermind, coz dun intend to buy yet, just curious to know how it looks like

u in 33 wk, no wonder...forget u are may mtb...hehe....

just finish washing and hanging out the baby clothes to dry...phew! next weekend will aim to wash another batch of clothes....

btw, how do u mummies hang baby's clothes? they are so small...if use adult hangers, cannot fit in, if use baby hanger, the hangers are too small to hook onto the bamboo pole....now I just use cloth peg to hold the clothes on the normal hangers.....

Hi Okasan,

Ohh then cannot buy liao.. because there is no S size leh heeee.. only M and L sized.

Aiyah, i cannot wash my bb clothes yet.. because havent' got those storage containers from mil. So after washing, also dunno put where heee...

okasan/kk:
i hv bought 2 mini fans, 1 for playpen n another 1 for stroller. Both are made of foam one and got blinking n flashing lights

NTUC got carry nepia but only from size M onwards. Nepia dun carry NB/size S in ntuc.

Me too hvnt wash bb clothings. those new clothings we/MIL bot, i keep them inside the bb wardrobe inside bb's room. Then those hand downs one i keep aside in e carrier.

Btw when u all wash the bb clothings, wat kind of detergent u all use? e pigeon bb laundry powder?

me later attending my 2nd Antenatal lesson tonite

Hi Kite,

Ohh, then next time i will get nepia M/L size from ntuc once they are on offer

For playpen, i bought a hanging musical toy
Dun intend to get other playing accessories liao. I try not to pamper my kid with toys. I want her to be as intellectual as me, so i get her more books in the future hahaha! Zhi Ye Bing.. hee...

Sigh, hubby regretted not building the wardrobe in bb room during our reno for new house. So will only get the contractor in to build the wardrobe after my maternity leave.

I bought ABD powder for laundry. My SIL was using that for all her 3 kids. Cheaper than pigeon. Even cheaper if buy at CK rather than kiddy palace.

Wow, u ladies real energetic. Now i am going for my afternoon nap liao heeeeee...

So, will anyone of you opt for Natural delivery or with aid of pain relief? I believe our gynae will soon ask us that question?

BTW, did anyone of you have greenish-yellow color vaginal discharge?

So happy! Can collect our new car next wed liao
Know the car plate number just now.. buying 4D later heeee...

Hi Paula,

No greenish yellow vaginal discharge before.

Definitely going for pain relief. Gynae told me the 3 options - one drug which i can't remember the name (but not encouraged because harm the bb), laughing gas and also epidural. But we dun have to make the choice now. On the admission day to hospital then tell the nurses there

Cannot imagine without pain relief! Hopefully with pain relief comes with natural delivery. I dun wanna the case whereby take pain relief, still end up with c-sec which happens to so many preggies here

hi Paula

You have got to see gynea if you have yellowish greenish discharge. Me have it for more than 6 mths already and doc is giving me more pessaries to insert and also oral medication at this time as I am already week 30. Yeast infection will sometimes trigger early labour! My infection got worse after taking antibiotic when I had flu 2 mths ago.

kite,
I use normal detergent to wash the clothes now...then when near to due date, I'll wash the clothes again with baby's detergent....have to wash the new baby clothes a few times to soften the clothes

kk,
like u, I also dun have storage for baby clothes yet...but I just wash them now coz I intend to wash again when nearer to due date...hopefully by then, I will have found some suitable storage for my baby's clothes

paula,
ya, I know seiyu got sell nepia...but more exp...if u call the supplier direct, only $14 per pack

anyway, dun intend to buy now...now my house so messy with all the baby stuff, diapers can wait..hehe.....

okipoki,
now I machine wash the clothes coz too many...I just throw all the clothes I have into the machine to wash....

but when baby born, I'll handwash them everyday...reasons:
1. baby clothes too small, if machine wash, have to accumulate many days....

2. if baby throw milk, clothes will need to be wash by the day else very smelly, so no point machine wash...

okasan,

thanks. hmm probably i will do that but once baby is born dont u think is abit tedious to hand wash everything ?? very siong leh....

Hi Okasan,

BB clothes must wash so many times ah? I only intend to wash once leh heee..

Why not buy those toyogo plastic cabinets to store the clothes? I find that bb clothes hangers not cheap. So much more expensive than adult hangers. Anyway most of the clothes after not long will need to be kept liao, because bb will outgrow them very fast.

Yah, that time my second SIL machine wash the bb clothes dunno how many a times.. my mum (doing confinement for SIL) came home complain to us that my SIL waste electricity and water hahaha...

This thread so quiet today ya.. sigh, will get complete rest today, tomorrow starts another busy week
Will be on course for two afternoons and also remedials for another 2 afternoons. Horrible.

So happy! Strike 4D last nite after buying our new car plate number

Yeah pretty quiet today.. me to will be resting at home. Had a bad cramp last nite on my left leg. KK congrats for striking 4D, is a good start isnt it

Hi Okipoki,

Bought i-bet and it opened. Quite unexpected heeee... too bad the number did not come out straight.. hoping we strike again tonite haha.. greedy ya?

Oh no, try to do some stretching before u sleep at nite. And i heard from a friend that it is good to raise our legs up and lean them against the wall around half an hour before we sleep every nite. Maybe u can try.

I do get cramps previously. 2-3 times. Hopefully won't kena again.

Hi kk,

Hehe at least is something right ? Well, keep ur finger x for tonite

Probably will try your method tonite... quite jialat the cramp. Haiz now my calve still feel the pain.

Hi Okipoki,

Just bear with it. That time i cramp, took around 3-4 days to recover. Actually before pregnancy, i often suffer from cramps. Think drank too much cold stuff and sometimes cooling stuff liao. Hmmm, we also have to know what food we cannot eat. Some pple cramps because they ate oranges. Some because they drank too much chrysanthemum. So try to avoid the food that gives u cramps.

For me, before i sleep, i will try to bend my legs instead of stretching all out. And before i sleep, exercise my ankles in rounds and stretch them too.

Hi kk,

Hmm come to think of it, I had chrysanthemum drinks yesterday during dinner &amp; a few cold drinks as well. Guess I better cut down on such drinks &amp; stick to my plain water.

Actually I do raised my legs on the pillow but seem like it doesnt help much. Anyway, will definitely try ur method tonite.

Hi Okipoki,

If wanna take cooling drinks like chrysanthemum, perhaps take it in the day. Try not to have cooling drinks at nite before sleep

My friends also advised me to raise my legs on the pillow. But the pillow always end up on the floor haha! Cos i kick things out of bed every nite, even my bolster. I dunno why, it also ends up on the floor despite hugging it to sleep. Luckily i never kick my hubby out of bed too heeee...

okipoki i have cramps every other night since first trimester. Have tried many things, like taking calcium tablets, raising legs, stretching, cover with blanket... all no use! asked gynae, he said cramps due to additional weight your legs cannot take it. Hubby thinks it's due to last time i wear high heels...

This week i tried wearing long pants to sleep so far last 2 night no cramps, you may want to try. But these days so humid, quite miserable..

My bb boy weight also seem too light, only 750g @ 25 weeks. Hopefully when i see my Gynae on 10apr bb weight will be better!

Quite enjoyed the anetenal class by Mrs Wong yesterday! she went thru diff stages of labour pains, what we should do.. and what med/help is there for pain relief.. Also, she empahsized that our "dream labour" may not come true (some pp MUST have natural birth or other funny labour).. so at the crucial time, do not argue with gyane, take his expert advice, as we all have diff tolerance for pain, and diff body size/shape/condition. Also, she brought us up to a ward and showed us how to handle a new-born. She's very skilled!

KK congrats on the 4D! can buy more stuff for bb room already!

okipoki,
ya, handwash sound quite tedious...but hor, no choice..coz if baby spit milk on the shirt, will have to wash it asap, can't wait for days before washing all....

also, when handwash baby's clothes, not as tedious as handwash adult clothes due to the small size...

anyway, when baby is born, u will understand why handwash become very natural....

when baby older, can use normal detergent to wash the clothes, then we can actually mix the baby clothes with adult clothes and wash in washing machine

kk,

wow, congrats for winning! what a good start with your new car

ya, I did consider getting toyogo plastic cabinets for baby clothes...but in the end, we decide to get prpoer wardrobe or chest of drawers...ya, those baby hangers are SO expensive....I'm not buying any of those....that's why I just use clothes peg to hold the baby clothes on hangers for drying...

for hand-me-down clothes, I intend to wash once now with normal detergent to ensure the clothes are clean and another time with baby's detergent...

for new clothes, I intend to wash maybe one more time, coz new clothes aren't as comfy as hand-me-down clothes...by washing a few times, soften the clothes

Hi Josephine,

Haha, i didn't win much and moreover, almost bought all the bb stuff liao. I try to stop shopping for bb for the time being. Will need to spend more money in the later stage after bb is borned, for sure.

My bb pretty small sized at week 19. Only 295g. Dunno how much does she weigh now. But her kicks really tremendous nowadays. Violent. Kick until i feel so tired

Hi Okasan,

Yup, initially we wanted to buy plastic drawers, then my hubby suggested buying wooden ones. Later we decided to have built-in wardrobe, so we decided not to get anything at all for the time being. Just make do with mil's plastic containers
Save money

The bb hangers really look cute! But too expensive liao, so never buy heee...

josephine,
wow, u mean mrs wong cover how to handle baby so soon in her second class??

agree with u, her class is very interesting...never worry abt falling asleep..

last time, I ever accompany my friend to one of her antenatal class at kkh when her hubby couldn't make it....the setting was classroom style, very boring...

but tmc one is relaxing, coz we actually seat on mattress and have pillows....

kk,
i see...but how to do built-in wardrobe after baby is born? so noisy...

we also never do anything in our bedrooms that time when we reno...but we have no intention for built-in coz we were thinking if in future have kids, good to buy those ready made so we can shift them to fit the need of the kids....