(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

MOAP,

how regular are your contractions? Are u given any medication? Me too got very frequent contractions throughout my 2nd trimester. Nowadays too. Last time, for my boy, also same case... my gynae din put me on bedrest.. but i was given 2 medication to try to curb pre term labour... one is sulbutamol and the other is stronger.. which i also forgot the name offhand hehee..

okasan,

Doc wan me to rest. he gave medicine to take but i never take cause he say the side effect of the med is heart beat become very fast then hand will tremble...i hear liao also scared...where got the guts to take..

dor,
if u scare baby outgrown, then buy s sizes....s sizes can also be use on newborn

think u can buy 1-2 pack for newborn now....if u bf, baby will poo more often and need more diaper change loh...

but personally, I think it's good to hold off buying newborn sizes coz if your baby is born big size, he/she can wear s size striaght away

tinklebell/celeste/MOAP,
has dr adrian ask u gals which hospital you wanna deliver and the ward preferred?? I'm wondering when he will ask....haven't make the decision to which ward I wanna...

celeste:
I also have not taken my GD test. so I checked with my gynae, she said depends on indv cases. they will monitor your blood in urine, if ok, then no need to go for GD test. sfsg...

MOAP,

think thats the medication my doc gave me... ya thats the side effect but it din happen to me leh.... i still feel ok after taking the medication... nefipidine or something like dat.

dor,

i bought 3 packets of pampers premium newborn, 4 packets of nepia newborn and 4 packets of nepia S size. This is significantly lesser than what my boy used to use... cos my boy uses pampers premium 1st month, 2nd mth onwards uses nepia newborn which is slightly bigger cut than pampers newborn and ... only 4th mth then uses S size... He very small at the hip area hehee... now going 1 year liao still using M size. Depends on size of bb lor... When my boy was 2mths onwards, he uses 1 packet of nepia newborn every week. So 4 packets lasted 1 month only. I am expecting my girl to be slightly bigger, so only order 1 month supply of nepia nb.

okasan,

i did ask the nurse abt it. Then she reply that she will ask when we are on 32weeks. I will choose TMC and 4 bed ward. cause heard that TMC only got i room with 4 bed so chance of upgrade to 2 bed is high mah...Hahahha day dream....

Yah having contraction now will lead to pre-term labour.

MOAP,

subultamol is the milder medication I took in my first pregnancy during the 2nd trimester... coming to end 2nd trim and 3rd trim, i begin taking nefipidine because the subultamol like no help. In fact my contractions were painful and and very very frequent (definitely more than 10 times a day) in my 3rd trimester... till i also not sure the nefipidine got help or not... that's why till i deliver my boy that day on 37th week, when the ctg register a drop in bb heartbeat, i was quite surprised, cos those contractions were what I had been experiencing almost throughout the 3rd trimester leh... but my gynae still wanna to break waterbag and deliver because worried bb stressed.

This pregnancy, i have contractions quite frequently too... sometimes its painful. I am expecting it to increase in intensity and frequency as I progressed the 3rd trimester like the last time... maybe my womb just more sensitive lah hehee

Poohy,
u bought so many pack of NB pampers ah.
i only bought 2 pack 's' for drypers..coz NB mah tends to shit often..then 3 pack 's' of nepia.Do you think i should get nepia NB huh..

moap,

ya ya the TMC always upgrade people who book 4-bedder to a 2-bedder! my gynae also said that to me last time and many of my frens were upgraded
For me I choose 1 bedder all along... for this pregnancy too. cos i wanna have more privacy .. and i got strange habit of wanting the toilet all to myself hehee
My hb stayed over with me too for my first pregnancy. I want my 1 year old boy to stay over too this time round if its allowed... want the entire family including our newborn girl to be together right from the start...

poohy & okasan

thks for the advise. oh my god.. use so many pampers... faint.

poohy, u got use mama poki NB b4? are they the same size of Neipa NB or S or pampers premium NB?

moap,

for the newborn nepia, its slightly bigger cut than pampers premium nb... it really depends on your own habit of changing diaper and your bb's size
Maybe u can take your older girl as a gauge and compare with the size of your nb girl ? that's what I do.... my mum and me change diaper very liberally be it soiled or not... want to provide airing to the bb's bottom and prevent nappy rash (kia si)... so we really uses a lot of diapers... that's why i am quite comfortable buying so much newborn diaper... besides my SIL is also delivering her twins at the same time I deliver my bb... so prob worst come to worst just pass to her to use lah
wont waste mah...

sunflower,

i think someone posted on the number of pieces in the nepia packets... i cant remember offhand... only remember right now newborn is 60 pcs.... i think my memory failing big time
and yes now the promotion is $14 per packet of nepia diaper regardless of size but order in a box of 4 packet

dor,

i only use one sample of mamy poko nb... hmm its qutie small leh... cant remember the size comparison liao .. maybe i ask my mum hehee her memory better than me. But i find mp too bulky leh... but its good to hold urine... my boy uses mamy poko pants m size now ... quite good
but i still love nepia the most

I bought a carton (8 pkts0 of Pampers Newborn cause having twins mah. Sure use quickly in a month. Also buying 4 pkts of pampers Size Small cotton care since there's offer now.

Gine - I had a fall too back then and was really worried. Hyne said as long as I don't have spotting, tummy don't feel really hard or have any cramps, Baby is fine and I don't need to go back for scan or see him. of course tummy hurt even though I landed on my bum. ope this helps alleviate your worry. of course, still safer to call your gyne tp scan. If you explain your situation, they will usually squesse you in. Mine did.

mother_of_a_princess,
oh, if u choose 4-bed, almost sure u will get the 2-bed one

I cannot decide between 2 or 1 bed loh...if I finally decide 2 bed, then I'll also opt for 4-bed so can upgrade free

okasan, he hasnt asked me re wh hospital and bed? I'll be taking TMC 1 bedder. Like poohy, i also like to have more privacy esp since i will be bf'g... not convenient to have neighbours visitors hanging ard. hubby will stay in with me if he can.

kite, i'm going to korea this evening

tinklebell,
ya, I also dun like sharing room with a stranger...also my friend told me before, if the roommate has a lot of visitors, will be very disturbing...similar, if we have a lot of visitors, also disturbing to the roommate....

very keen to take 1 bedder as well...but hubby most likely not staying overnight...so dun know if it's scarely to sleep alone or not...hehe....

okasan,

heheh... wont be scary wan lah.. imagine staying in a hotel room alone when u go overseas.. almost same thing... just that its safer in the hospital
And also got tv mah.... and u will be so tired .. u also wont bother abt scare or not liao... plus if u r bfg, your bb will come very often or even room in ... another thing is... first nite, the nurses will come in regularly to check on u... take temperature, etc.

Wow so much movements in the morning.

Anyway, hows lunch ??

Tinklebell,
Enjoy ur hols...

Gina,
Hope u doing ok !! Must be xtra careful especially nowadays the weather is so weird.. a moment rain & the other so sunny.

Kite,
I also have some brown discharge but gynae said that I have walked too much. But to me I dont seem to have leh.. anyway, is it advisable to check with ur gynae.

hello

how's every1 lunch?

Tinklebell, so good.. going for hoils.. me oso feel like going again..

hmm.. i oso thinking of 1 or 2 bedded.. want 1 bedded at first cos wan hb n bb to stay with me, but c that TMC always got upgrade, so if i take 4-bedded n upgrade to 2-bedded for free, i can save $1k+ i think, so thot more worthwhile to try for 4-bedded.. but dun like to share room with other pple n hb can't stay..

Feeling sleepy after lunch
390737.gif

Seems like u mummies don't have swollen feet..aiyo the more i look at my feet...the more i 'gek sim'
390738.gif
. Have to ask my gynae during next week checkup liao...don't know if its i walk too much or i eat too salty

tinklebell,
me also taking TMC 1 bedded. Hubby strongly suggested i take that..better also, so that he can stay with me. Enjoy your holidays..
390739.gif

I cut this out from the lady from Nepia that email me.

'And we have Home Delivery Service
$14 per one pack for all size, minium order 4 packs, you can mix the size.

Tape:
Newborn 60's, up to 5kg
Small 54's, 4-8 kg
Medium 48's, 6-12 kg
Large 42's, 9-14 kg

Pants:
Large 30's, 9-14 kg
X-Large 26's, 12-19 kg

If you order before 12:00 noon, then next day can deliver, after 12:00 noon, then the day after tomorrow,
if order on Friday afternoon, then the delivery date is Tue.

Hope this helps

Thank u girls.... am so happy ....counting down ... 3 more hrs to go before knocking off.

but today seems like got a lot of work to do

Me ordered the nepia, shared it with a friend, min order of 4 packs b4 they deliver. I must say they delivered it with great speed. I placed my order b4 12 noon and got my orders the next day. I got a pack of Newborn (60pcs), and a pack of Small (54 pcs), they charge $14 regardless of sizes. But I was told that the $14 offer is till end of Mar, after which, it will be $16. And they don't provide samples for us to try. As i have never had the chance to try Nepia, so cannot really give any comments, but i have received some good reviews about it being economical for its pricing. Hope this helps.

poohy,
what u say is true...beside, by then, I should be very tired and will be sleeping whenever possible...hehe....

think I'll take 1 bedder then coz prefer privacy...also coz I wanna baby to be on total bf, so will have more privacy in 1 bedder during bf...

can't imagine when bf, the roommate got visitors talking...sian~! better stay at 1 bedder

So stressed today! Still in school.. like tinklebell, work still uncleared.. dunno want to continue working at home tonight, but anyway bringing my book back. SIGH!

Busy until no lunch for me. Only cookies

Hi i_panda,

Ur swollen legs.. is it due to water retention? My colleague suffered from serious swollen legs too, cannot walk so got 2-3 times take MC because of that.

My gynae will always check for swollen legs on my checkups. So far so good

Hi Kite,

Hmm, i also had some brown discharge during 6th or 7th mth, i can't exactly remember. But mine is not discharge flow, i wipe it then i see it. And it only happened 2-3 times when i wiped, after that no more liao. I was worried but I didn't see the gynae. Everything was ok after that.

Are u still having the discharge?? I think it might be due to taking too much cold beverages on one day itself??

Hi Gina,

Do take care ok!! I fell on the stairs in the school before and until now, my knee cap still never recover leh! I dunno is it bb too heavy or i dun have as much calcium as before to heal fast. SIGH!!!!!!

gina, take good care.. keep us updated of your gynae's visit.

i_panda, i oso have swollen legs and hands recently.. i think i got it since my HK trip, think i walk too much.. will be asking gynae this sat

hi mummy,
i need ur help. i wan 2 buy 2 bean sprout pillow for my new god daughter.i heard from my sis saying this is good esp for new born baby,that y i m thinking to buy 2 for my cute god daughter. i need a bulk purpase so that i can get a 20% off from the normal price.normal price $9.30 n 20% off will be $7.40.i need 8 more in order to have this 20% off. any one interested pls e mail me @ [email protected] thanks.

Nepia: Price increase!!?!
Thanks, Joy/Dor ... oops now ... OK, I will order by next week then ... $2 x 4pax is a saving of $8 ... I'll mix& match then.

Thks, okasan.

Gina & all mummies ... do take care of ourselves now ... as we proceed into the 3rd tri, we'll be heavier and may be not so swift in our reflexes.

I must share a really bad experience lately:
Few weeks back, me & hubby was driving to NorthPoint, at the roundabout area, about less than 10m away from the carpark entrance, as usual I (can't wait to) unbuckled my seat belt. (I admit I was rather complacent too).

Who knows!!! An auntie just crossed the road WITHOUT even checking if there's oncoming vehicles!!! My hubby had to jam brakes! So, my butt lifted off the seat and my hands hit the dashboard (reflex actions) and worst! my kneecaps hit the front board.

That instance, I went into a daze for a while, before I suddenly burst into tears uncontrollably! He quickly parked his car and started consoling me and checking if I'm hurt. I cried becos I just realised the close brush I had and the precious in me could have been hurt too ... thanks God it's just some bruises on my kneecap and redness/pain on my palms.

Scary! Now I make sure I buckled once I get ON the car and unbuckled ONLY when hubby has parked!!!
390937.gif

hi okasan/poohy/tinkerbell/kite/medusa/zLilfeets/okipoki/kk/peng,

thanks for all your concern
i am back from KKH. yeah they really tried to squeeze me in when i called to say i had a fall and could i see my doc at the pte suite. at least no need to queue up at A&E to see other doc... so scared wud be trainee doc.

my gynae was v concerned, asked how i fell and did i land on tummy etc. then she advised not to wear shoes w/o friction soles, even mentioned Crocs. but i dun think i want to wear crocs... will def get myself a pair of good walking shoes over this weekend. then she scanned my bb. bb's heartbeat could be heard loud and clear, tho din see bb moving abt much. doc checked bb's head, body and then my placenta, said everything alright.

i have a feeling that bb is frightened and shocked by the fall (my colleague says bb had a roller coaster ride...) cos from a v active bb he becomes a much quieter one this 2 days... food/drink/working on laptop/mozart music used to make him excited but last night and whole of today till just now he has been v quiet. can still feel bb move this 2 days but v little and v light... .

just now i really sat myself down and talked to bb. told him i know he's been scared by the roller coaster ride but mummy will ensure she walks slowly and carefully from now on and will not frighten bb this way anymore. said mummy will protect bb and bb safe in womb and will not be hurt... even sang a chinese nursery rhyme to bb abt being a brave bao bao... and u gals know what, bb starts to move and kick like b4 again! am feeling so comforted and relieved

i think we shud never take any fall/ abnormal signs for granted and must really for the sake of our bb go and check with gynae if we are particularly worried abt anything. so kite, better check with your doc abt the brown discharge ok? anything can happen and we as mummies must ensure all is being done for the well being and safety of our bb. agree with medusa, now only bb and us are the top priority, the rest can wait.

hi carebear,
thanks for your concern
bb shud be fine now.

kite,
heard cannot drink barley water. try not to drink too much liang cha...

kk
after the fall, my upper right arm v painful... dunno if it will heal. heard pregnant ppl's joints v loose, hope the injury is able to heal. my knee also bruised and grazed.. painful.

hmm.. carebear... thank goodness bb and u both safe. yeah can imagine the shock abt the scare... yeah safety precautions must be taken. me also try my best to be extra careful after my fall... we are not like b4, can chiong here chiong there liao. now must be v slow and steady... never forget we got a big tummy in front and our centre of gravity is shifted. now safety first for bb and mummy.

morning ladies

okasan,
Dr.Adrian havent asked me yet.....but i think i will opt for 4-bedder since they will most prob be free-upgrading to 2-bedder ward
Dont wanna spend so much $ juz for the 2 days stay in the hospital

sunflower,
oic....everytime i noe got the urine test maybe urine test so far quite okies tats y gynae never ask me to take GD test bah

poohy and MOAP,
how do u all know if the contractions require u to see gynae n take medication? For me the day b4 i had quite a number of times when my tummy feels tight on and off but its only tight like a few seconds to at most 10 seconds then it will relax by itself, but within tat day i think it happened at least 10 times
But yesterday everything was okies....only like 2-3 times tummy felt tight. I wonder is that considered Braxton Hicks only or contractions

gina and carebear,
glad to hear that everything is fine for u gals

celeste,

braxton hicks is contractions
Just that this type of contractions are normally not supposed to be increasing in intensity and not supposed to be regular.... when u reach the time you are going into labour, contractions at first will feel like braxton hicks contractions. It will be regular ... eg, every 3 min.. etc and will increase in intensity as the labour progress. When u reach the state, u can time the contraction happening every x min non stop, u are going into labour

hmm i dunno when need to take medication leh... but i described to my gynae and they will make a judgement whether need medication etc
If you are concerned, tell your gynae lor

dor,
thanks for the info on the nepia diaper

gina,
glad to know your baby is fine...ya, I guess your baby inactive coz of shock too