(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Okasan, so i see. Maybe next week when I see gynae, bb will be over 1 kg.

Gillan, ur bb weight abt the same as mine. i think as long as bb growing and kicking well, we dun have to worry too much abt bb's weight.

ya, dun need to worry abt the baby's weight as long as baby is growing and moving....coz weight also depend alot on the genes, etc....

Amy
383259.gif

yeah! good if can pay lower price
383260.gif
...what time r u meeting on 18-Mar (sat)? Can meet 2-2:30pm there? I got antenatal class at 4:30pm. But i am only getting the pram (either red or toffee colour), is it ok?

I'm back! Wa.. I hate shopping, you wun even know time flies so fast.. I went out at 10.30am, and now it's already near 3.30pm!

Anyway.. here are the updates! Btw, it's so packed there! And I thought today will be better since it's a working day.

Early bird freebies..
- Comment - sucks!
- one little box of nestle cornflakes that you get on the airplane
- one KK hospital junior club booklet. Not very informative I would say
- one Attack liquid detergent plus softener sample (2 x 30ml)
- one pack of tissue paper

Friso freebies - I got it when I walked pass the Friso fm booth and after writing down a registration form for their Friso club.
- Comment - good!
- one cute little cyan bag which contains
- a pair of mittens
- a cup for toddlers
- a notepad
- a "Nutrition during baby's first yr" booklet
- a 338 pges book titled "All my loving - every parent's guide to bringing up a child" (flip thru it, seems very informative!) But it's published in 1999 lah. Guess is still useful thou.

No other freebies. Got one photoframe when I walk pass the NTUC Income booth thou.

Besides the above, the baby fair is so-so I would say. I was overwhelmed by slimming centres and insurances companies! So many of them, esp the slimming/ facial centres. And they are at the entrance somemore, cannot siam. The insurances companies got HSBC, AIA, NTUC, Prudential, etc.

I bought the sarong sling from MIM. It's cheap there. Got the basic cotten one. It's only $36 plus an instruction cd-rom. Sam, the founder is also there to teach you how to wear the sling. She said that for beginners, it's best to get the cotten, batik or silk. Cotten sateen is rather slippery, but the colours are nice. Price for batik and cotten sateen are at $40, and silk is at $45.

I got the Mozart Effect - music for moms and moms-to-be. It's priced at $25.90. Original price is $29.90 at Borders. Said to be good for bb's brain development..

Then other than that, not much. I saw alot of Nuk's product on offer. As well as Pur products.

Saw two brands of diapers. EQ and Pureen. For EQ, they are selling at $5 for 24 pieces (small size), and Pureen is gng at 2 for $32, or 3 for $45.

Cam car seat - $150

Baby Jogger 3-wheel stroller - $499

Baby Safe Infant Pillow - $14 per piece, or $25 for 2.

GD English kit - $400; Chinese kit - $380

Babywell milk expresso - $348.
(It's a milk / water dispenser cum sterilizer all into one. Think it's good if we have stop bfing and gng fully on fm. www.babywell.com)

Can't think of anymore, guess that's abt it. Will not be gng again since I also dunno what to buy from the Nuk, Pur bargain.

p/s: can someone tell me why maternity pads all comes w/o wings?

Hi Gillian,

Your bb is not small at wk 24. My gyane is very particular abt the mummy and baby's weight gain. She said by right, bb should only weight 600g at wk 24. But bb's weight is also determined by genes. So if you were a big baby, most prob you will hv a big baby too. One thing my gynae is worried is that if the baby is too big, there a need to go through caesarian.

For me, I'm not too worried if baby is big, just not too big like over 4 kg. I myself was a 3.9kg baby.

Hidora, wow... no wonder my gynae mentioned my bb slightly big, at 24 wks, more than 600g. I dun think I am a big bb, but what if hubby is a big bb? he was a over 4 kg bb.

I panda, just PMed you.

Amy,
no lehz...the one i bought from ntuc income is also like a savings kind of insurance...its considered as life insurance but also cum savings kind...by the end of a certain age i can get back a lump sum of $, or perhaps i might have got the terms wrong? And also, after paying for a number of years at a certain breakeven point, u can cash out ur policy if u decided to discontinue with it and get back the principal u have paid + a bit of interest
...and this policy also covers some illnesses, death, disability blah blah. I am having such a kind of policy now, but prob its not phrased exactly as life insurance, maybe i shld go home n check

Actually i read from Biz Times before an article stating...ur liquidity shld best be 12mths of ur combined income lehz
not only 3-6mths

As for Tiramisu, me not eating frequently so i tink small amount is fine bah...hehe

okasan,
UTI sounds scary, i think i must go and read up on it...although i neber kenna before *touch wood*

hidora,
seems like the Friso freebies are much better than early bird freebies
But I think i will still make a trip down to have a look

Thanx for all the info

hi hidora:
wow thanks for e update on e bbcare festival.
Ask u, does e bbcare festival at expo sell those Avent/pigeon steriliser or other bb stuffs? so far, this fair or Taka bb fair better? more on bb stuffs? cos i intend to buy bb clothings, nappy, pigeon bottle detergent, pigeon clothes powder, milk bag n etc. Does all this selling at expo, or just simply alot of those slimming n insurance co? thanks.

Hi Amy,

If your hubby was a big bb, chances that your bb will be big is also high. My hb was only a 2.5kg baby, but I was a 3.9kg. And obviously bb followed my big big genes. So I think maybe your bb followed your hb's genes.

Hi Celeste,

Yup! So if you go there, must walk to that booth and see whether they still give out freebies or not. ;p

Hi kite,

Thanks for reminding. I forgot to update on that part. I cant seem to find any Avent/ Pigeon stuff there. Saw some cot and playpen on discount thou. Also saw the sarong stand and sarong gng for 300+++. Erm, for milk powder, I only see Friso and Nestle.

For bb clothings, there are abt at most 5 stores I think. For cloth nappy, MIM got sell. Didnt see any milk bags. For detergent and powder, think it's the pureen brand or something. Oh, I saw Medela there too. PIS for $699, not really cheap.

Hi Hidora,

Thanks for the info! i will look out for friso booth then haha.. will be dropping by on sunday morning. Tomorrow really packed with activities with gynae appointment first in the morning. Now my visit is once per fortnight liao.

Just got a mailer from popular. Bookfest is held in the hall beside. So there is one more thing that excites me and hubby

Hi Gina,

Me teaching in co-ed secondary school

So far i have received 2 bb gifts from students liao. 4 of them shared a gift. They bought 1 set of bb clothes for me. I have bought the same set earlier on so now i have two sets which are exactly the same heee...

Another gift is given by another girl. I only taught her for this term and she bought a gift for me. So sweet! And it was a lucky baby set of pillow and bolsters
It is the design i fancy so long ago but didn't buy

Hi kk,

How I wish my gynae appointment is once per fortnight too! Then wun have to wait so long to see bb. =)

Yup, saw the bookfest too. It's at Hall 5A. Saw a lot of people came out with big bags of books, the bargains must have been good! But I didnt see what kind of books they have lah, not really a book lover. ;p

I went to the Watson 15th anniversary sales that is just besides the bookfest. Quite alot of things there on sales. Maybe you would like to go there too. =D

Hi Hidora,

Before u know it, the appointment will come in once every two weeks haha! Time really flies!

My hubby loves chinese books. So the fest will be an attraction to him
Me lazy to read dunno ever since when. Maybe in contact with books everyday until i develop phobia liao heee...

Really? Watson also holding fair.. wow, looks like there is great amount of shopping to do this weekend liao

383326.jpg

May I know if it is a better choice to buy the disposable undies at about 5 pcs for $5 or the Sorella cotton undies at 5 for $5? I thought since they are the same price, maybe cotton one will be more comfy and have better support and I can buy and wear now, then dispose them durin confinement if they are dirty?

hi all !
was at motherhood suntec last evening.
if anyone is looking to stock up on avent nipple cream, it's on offer there at $12, very good price !!!
got a leg cooling gel (mothercare) at $9.
some baby items on 30% off but i will use hand me down, so didnt buy any bby clothes

Pebbles, personally, i prefer cotton ones, more comfortable. i also bought the sorella ones, 2 boxes (10 pcs) for $9.90. However, the downside is the undies are bit tight, so need to wear more often now to stretch it out. disposables will be bit roomier in terms of fit.

For those who want to purchase Babesafe item etc.mattress, infant pillow, new born pillow and so much more shld make a trip down to expo for the baby fair festival. Really can save a lot, i think shld be >25% discount.

Hi sunflower,

I started visit my gynae once in a fornite aft 28 weeks.

Hi Pebbles,

Buy the cotton one, more comfortable.

I visit my gynae yest @30 weeks, my gynae is worry abt my high blood pressure. He want me to come back next week to monitor my condition.
Any mummy experience this before in the previous pregnancy? can give advice? The HBP could caused low in amniotic fluid as well. It makes me quite worry. Furthermore, suddenly getting flu.

Anyone has bot the wrist type HBP measure machine? I saw one from the Babyfair festival gg for $79. Not sure it is as accurate as the arm type not? anyone can give advice?

Hi Gals

Went to the Expo baby fair last nite after work, I must say the fair is really not very exciting. Agree with hidora that there are lots of insurance companies and slimming centres hawking their products. NUK was worth it, about 30% cheaper than some places. I bought 2 of its feeding bottles (both latex and silicon) to try out. Pureen was also slightly cheaper than JL. Popped over to the Watson fair next door, well, it seems like a huge normal Watson store to me, nothing spectacular. You can actually get some of the sales stuffs at the normal Watson stores.

Hi hidora,
My gynae has also advised me on not having a huge baby if I'm planning on a natural birth, coz I'm petite in size and its gonna strain me bonkers to have a huge baby.

Hello... finally got some time to read the postings
it's a hot afternoon.... just watched some k-drama vcd ... hubby n son disappeared to buy some spare parts for his car...i'm gonna doze off soon if i dont do something else.

re: bb fair@ expo
I'll probably go to Expo ard 4 plus. the diapers sound cheap... hmmm ... will prob stock up some. since NUK has 30% discount, will prob check on that.

re: maternity pads
Just to share with u gals that there r 2 kinds of maternity pads (just in case anyone is deciding wh type to get)- one the loop type and second the stick on type. It seems that only the kotex maternity pads (the one with pink packaging) comes with loop. I was wondering how to wear it and finally the midwife who was helping to deliver my son shed some light on this. U see, u are supposed to loop 2 pieces together to form a long piece... and then u tie them and wear them like g-string...(i think it is not necessary to wear panty if u are wearing the loop pad coz midwife didnt ask me to)... it really looks and feels weird and i personally dont like the feeling of wearing that.

pebbles, if disposable undies cost 5 pcs for $5 n the Sorella cotton undies at 5 for $5, then, i feel that it is more worth it to buy the cotton undies. They are more comfortable.

tinklebell,
thanks for sheding some lights on the mystery of loop maternity pads! hehe.. I've also been wondering how am i suppose to wear that thing. btw with what should we tie them like g-string? is it provided inside the pad package?

Hi Sugarbun,

How high is ur pressure? Mine had always been 140++/80++ for my previous visits. Today was strange.. dropped to 123/73. Wonder why. But i am glad it has dropped. Hopefully it maintain this way subsequently. When my pressure was high, my gynae did not comment anything on it. Amniotic fluid was ok all along during detailed scan and also, subsequent scans.

Seems like a lot of good buys at bb fair. Will definitely make an effort to drop by, no matter how tired i am tomorrow haha..

Hi SUnflower,

I started seeing my gynae once per fortnight when i hit my 29th week two weeks ago. By right i should be in my 32th week now. But then dunno why the gynae measured the head during my last visit and now i became to be in 31st week only. So my EDD is recently postponed from 1 May to 11 May.

Hi Tinklebell,

Yup, i heard my colleague say normally if the fair going to end, they will sell all their stock at much lower prices. So will be a good idea to go in the evening

We will still drop by the morning as my energy level drops exponentially through the day hahahaha... but guess we won't be early birds since the door gift is not really that attractive.

hi kk,
hope you have been eating well
your kids are thoughtful to get you bb gifts. my kids are too little, just hope they won't continue to make me mad too often by not handing up homework on time
kao_frustrated.gif

sugarbun,
I bought the blood pressure machine as well as the bb thermometer from the bb fair. dunno accurate or not but got 1 year warranty. got the blood pressure machine for my dad actually. the bb thermometer is easy to use, can scan both ways, forehead and ears. free gift from my purchase is a travel sized hot water flask, not bad. can be used to carry hot water for milk feeds later when weaning bb from breastfeeding

also bought MIM sling but colours really limited. the cotton sateen range left with only wine (reddish purple) and green. finally decided to get the green one cos of the discount (abt $6) and cool colour. saw the demonstration on how to use it but still looks a bit complicated... hope I can get a hang of it when I start using it.

yeah bbsafe products are worth splurging on cos of the discount. I got a set of bb bedding, v nice but still ex after discount lah... $99...
the beauty salons quite irritating... keep pestering me to try their facials... hmm...
btw those of you who are avid readers of Chinese books, bookfest at expo is worth visiting. lots of good childrens' books (reasonable prices too).

Hi Hi ...

Gosh, thks tinklebell! Finally, a mystery solved. But, doesn't it means it's even more ex, since we've to wear 2 at one go ...

Natural/C-section:
Hi Okasan, celeste. Yes! Yes! Yes! I'm all for natural! Can't imagine if need to csec, esp since I've booked the massage lady! Don't want to delay the massage, I'm aching all over now ... looking forward to a good rub!

Still, to share, my colleague just popped a few days back @ TMC ... a prince
However, her delivery is not as smooth, she was admitted about 5am and opted w/o epidural. Dilated too slowly and baby begin to show signs of distress in late afternoon, so gynae strongly advised to go by csection at abt 7PM. Another good lesson for us to be mentally prepared and have contingency plan.

Edu Plan/Insurance:
Coincidentally, today my hubby & I just spoke on getting edu plan or a form of saving insurance plan for bb, the issue of inflation and increasing cost of living should not be overlooked.

Nepia diapers:
I bought 2 packs of S64 Drypers @ Taka bb fair, but seemingly the comments of Nepia is overwhelming! OK, will plan to order from supplier after wk34, since the delivery is only 2 - 4 days.

BB/Hubby:
Dear ladies, have any of you noticed that our hubbies' expression of love & excitement for the bb grows with our tummy! Hee ... Isn't it amazing that we can all fall so deeply in love with our bb when we haven't even met ...

Emoticons:
Ladies, how do you upload those cute emoticons, other than those provided on this site?

Enjoy your blissful weekend!
kao_love.gif

gina,

me too..so bek chek with the citispa salesgal..keep pestering to try their luckydraw...not 1 but 5! n they r rite at the entrance so u cant avoid them. anyway,find the fair reali disappointing.tink taka's much better than them.now looking forward to the motherhood in may.

angeline
yeah now i remember, it's citispa (sales promoter in purple right?) said my skin v bad need facial or else will age a lot after giving birth... haha... thought my colleagues been commenting I glow from pregnancy.
think the may motherhood fair wud be better but i will be too heavy then to really shop
kao_smile2.gif

btw anyone got inverted nipple problem? think I have... will ask my gynae to check next week during appt. worried will not be able to breastfeed directly.

Hi KK,
My blood pressure is ard 129/84, everytime my gynae took a few time to confirm, cos he say it could be i rush to clinic early in the morning that caused the blood pressure abit high. My amniotic fluid is fine during the detail scan but my gynae commented on yest scan that it seemed to be on the average but on the lower side range.

Your EDD keep changing ya...now we only diff by 1 week

Re: Baby fairr
I also bot the sling and paded nursing bra from MIM. The paded nursing bra is good and worth for money cos only $25. For those who want to make purchase at MIM store, do bring along the voucher
mylene posted on Fri. Here is the link.
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/MIM-News.html

Do bring a few copy caused u can separate ur purchase into $50, then u only hav to pay $45. For $100 purchase, only pay $90. but they might required 2 voucher fr u. I only bring 1 and argue wth them saying that there is no mentioned cannot used for multiple time ma, then they let me use lor

Gina,
The blood pressure machine promoter told me that Guardian is selling at the same price till end of this month, but dunno wth the free gift not. So i dint buy on the spot, want to consider first.

I also bot the cotton sateen sling but wine color
, never really go n see the demo, hope that i can follow from the CD attached.

Went to the the BBfair @ Expo yesterday after visiting my gynae. Was pretty disappointed with the range cos it was really crowded with those spas & insurance booths.

Anyway, I bought the MIM cotton sateen sling as well.. same colour as sugarbun - wine colour. Not much colours left for selection. I also bought one babysafe pillows, NUK pacifier, mozart infant CD etc. Went to ikea sales after expo & bought a drawer to keep BBs clothings.

Dor,
Was surprised to see you... So did u manage to get any stuffs from there ?

Hi Gina,

Luckily my classes were pretty good this year.. i only have 1 Sec 3NA class for physics and they are driving me crazy!! They just dun listen and pay attention. There is nothing much i can do. I derive pleasure from teaching other classes

Yup, recently there is lunch for me haha.. because not too busy due to end of term. This coming week u enjoying ur break? I have workshop for students tomorrow, followed by course on Thursday. Hopefully i enjoy free moments for the other 3 days

Hi Sugarbun,

Ur blood pressure seems to be normal mah heee.. average person is 120/80. Urs is only slightly higher, not really significant rise actually, compared to mine. I have to be more beware on my blood pressure because students make my blood boil everyday haha.. perhaps gina share my sentiments on this ya? Teachers often end up with high blood pressure easily if we are not careful. We are also burdened with lots of work and face extreme stress at times

Wow, all of u bought cotton sateen sling from the bb fair. That will be out for me as i already gotten one from BB kingdom. i guess there is no big item for me to buy. Just looking out for diapers and other small things which are good to grab.

Yest went to the BBcare Festival at Expo, not that great. In fact, taka bb fair is better. Anyway i went Expo and Taka yest n bought some stuffs.

383893.gif

Stuffs i bot at BBcare Festival @ Expo (total spent $89):

1) BBsafe mattress that comes w the mattress cover - $65 (UP $80+)

2) Disney Baby "Winnie the Pooh" Receiving Blanket w knotted matching cap in pink colour - $13

3) Mdm Pureen Maternity Pads - $2.90 each if remember. Bought 2 packs.

4) Pureen Changing Mat (51cm x 75cm) - $5.20.
(Very Light, PVC material, Convenient for outside usage)

Freebies: Like hidora, got Friso free gifts (a $120 discount voucher on rustic nirvana, a notepad, milk powder dispenser, pair of mittens, a 300+ pages of the book which hidora mentioned, very very worth it)

383894.gif

Then went to taka again.

Stuffs bot at Taka BB Fair: (Spent total $153)

1) Pigeon Rapid Steam Steriliser - $87.00
(free Pigeon 2x 200ml milk bottles, hand & mouth wipes x 2, Mumcentre n Today's Parent magazine)

2) Pigeon Rubber Changing Mat - $9.76

3) Pigeon Nipple & Veg Liquid Cleanser (700ml) - $15.12

4) Pigeon Nipple & Veg Refill - $10

5) Pigeon Laundry detergent (1kg) - $6

6) Avent Milk Bags - $13.20

7) Baby Looney Tunes (Tweety bird) top n bottom - $5

8) Pigeon bb Long Pant - $3.30

9) Benbeni Cuttie Bearly BB short sleeve top - $3.90

Freebies - Little ones raincoat, utensils for bb (fork, spoon, cup, plate n bowl). This week freebies is better than last wk one
383895.jpg

i_panda77,
actually whether natural or c-sect depends on mummy's size. For me i m petite so gynac advised me that my bb cannnot be too big cos me opt for natural, best thing is dun eat too much, just nice can liao. Yes toffee color is nicer.

383897.gif

Carebear29:
Same here, i also S Size and she said my bb M size so okie liao, dont go to L Size else difficult so now try not overeat n Dr. Y.C give me 5 more kg to go since i put on 7kg already. I wish to deliver natural. I m stil thinking on the bed ward. Hubby said take 1 bedded ward since he can accompany me. see how. So when is ur next appt? mine on 1 Apr (Apr Fool)

k_ong/Sugarbun:
i also bought the Lo Hong Kar's superior concentrated quality Bird nest, 5 bottles for $300+ n free 1 bottle. But so far i oni consume once during 1st tri so my mum stopped me from taking it as bird nest not very good for bb, unless u r talking abt boiling then its better than e bottles. so e rest of e bird nest in bottles wil drink after i give birth.

Okipoki/ms piggy/celesteblur:
i bought the avent milk bags fr taka and i didnt bought the milk bags kit. Instead wil use a Avent milk bottle n then insert the bag into it. Once expressed liao, must pull out the bag. i hvnt try myself, dunno whether works anot. Wat methods u all using? if transfer fr bottle to bags, ya scare got bubbles n air leh.

matched_gal:
my MIL told me. If bellybutton pop out, its a boy. If belly button getting small, its a girl. Carebear29 hving boy if not wrong so hers popping out. Ours are bb gals, so getting smaller.

383898.gif

Sugarbun:
so u mean its better to buy the hollow milk bottle for the milk bags? cos i m thinking of inserting the milk bag into normal avent bottle n then pump into it. Which section of Ikea did u buy the clips? me want to get too.

Amy/joy:
the BBsafe mattress i bot at expo costs $65 (UP. $8+) n comes w a mattress cover. Saw alot of pp buying. How come u all bought the bigger mattress ah? cos at Expo, there is a bb cot n we took the mattress to place on it n just nice, so we used that as a gauge. Since my playpen ard that size, so we bot it. i intend to put a normal mattress underneath, then place e BBsafe mattress on top of it. The mattress really run out of stock very fast. y u all bot the bigger size mattress? issit bcos u all bot a bigger playpen /bb cot?
May i know how do u attach the milk bag w the avent pump? huh?

Lyn:
i gained 7kg. From 43 to 50kg. 5kg more to go as advised by gynac. total 12kg.
Tummy now 35 inches.

Celesteblur:
wow u settled at least 80% of the stuffs, care to share? me always find that i got alot more to buy lol

Insurance:
all my insurance n bb's insurance will be settled by my hubby cos he is a financial advisor. if u got qs or interested, u can PM me

Infant head pillow:
btw do u really need pillow for newborn? cos i heard that usually no need, just use those blankets n fold it into a square shape n place it under bb's head else if use pillow, head wil out of shape?
cos i m interested in the BBsafe pillow leh. any advise?

EBM Store inside freezer:
Since i got the avent VIA cups n milk bags, if let say i m gg to store the BM inside freezer after started working, issit advisable to use cup or milk bags?

Sling:
Me still deciding on buying sling or carrier.

Hi KK,
Ya, I agree wth u, teacher will hav to be more aware of the HBP cos dealing wth students expecially those noti type. I will check wth my gynae this week visit to see wat is his standard for HBP. Maybe he want the lowest BP to be slightly lower than 80.

Kite,
Why Lo Hang Ka not suitable/good for bb? Any reason?

I bot the clip fr Ikea Kitchenware department. It's multi color in a pack wth 2 diff sizes.

For bbsafe mattress, the one u bot is for Playpen. For Cot, there are 3 diff sizes and u need to buy based on ur cot size. cannot buy too small one caused there will be gap in btw and dangerous for BB. Too big will also cant fix in, so u need to buy based on the cot size lor. Thinks Amy's cot shld be the biggest size 28"x52".

Re:Infant head Pillow
BBsafe claim that this pillow is design so that baby head will not out of shape. u can refer to their website. www.babysafe.com.sg

Re:Hollow milk bottle
If u can insert the milk bag into normal milk bottle and connect it to breast pump, think u will dun need the hollow bottle. I never try ur method before

Kite - The BB Safe mattress I got is to fit the size of my cot which is 48x28". I also got the BB Safe sleep positioner. Dont think it's necessary to have a pillow for infant. Have you decided on your stroller yet ?

Hi kite/matched_gal:

Yap, mine's a boy and belly-button is getting more obvious. My next appt w YC is 3 Apr, hmm, too bad can't meet u there. My hubby's wkend r packed, so I can only go on wkdays appt. FYI, after 3Apr appt, I'll see YC 3wks later, then 2wks, 2wks ...

Your hubby's so sweet! My hubby's a light-sleeper so I rather he rests well @ home for d period I'm @ TMC, so he can help to care for bb/misc during confinement.

384046.gif

Dry Shampoo:
Have any of you ladies bought the dry shampoo?

Hi Kite,

My coilleague's belly button popped out but hers a girl. My belly button is in and mine a girl heeeee... so i think may not be accurate lor.

I have gained 12.4 kg so far and my gynae say i overweight by 5 kg
He only expected me to gain around 7 kg. Within these two weeks, i gained 0.9 kg. Think on average, i gained 2 kg per month in my third trimester.

My mum discouraged my bb to sleep on pillow. She say head will be flat. Anyway i guess i have a mix lor. Sleep on pillow sometimes, sleep on rocker other times.

Hey, i went to bb fair this morning. How come my friso free gift dun come with the book?? Got mittens, milk powder dispenser and notepad only
I read the forum yesterday and knew that it comes with a book but it slipped my mind this morning. So when i received the free gift, i didn't go and take note. Until i read ur msg that mentioned free book

Anyway did not buy anything at the bb fair. Spent around $30 at popular bookfest instead heeee...

i do agree with u that the bb fair is not really that great. And me and my hubby think it is pretty small scale. Didn't expect it to be such a small scale thingy.

And u have good buys at taka fair. The pigeon steriliser is really worth it. I bought mine at bb kingdom at $89 but additional free gifts except for the bottles. Also, the pigeon laundry detergent is cheaper than outside.

Hi SUgarbun,

Wow, to get BP to drop before average is not easy leh, especially if HBP is a very common trend among preggies.

kite,
mine is a boy, but my belly button din pop out, only get smaller....old wives' tale not 100% true...hehe.....

infant dun need pillow....but u can always buy the babysafe pillow for later use

as for freezing milk..I think using milk bag will be better than the cup if u wanna freeze loh....personal opinion loh...

the clips for the milk bag, u can buy it at any of those household departmental store at beighbourhood loh...I am using those clips to tie opened food packets all these while instead of rubber bands....ikea also got sell, just go to the kitchen accessories at the basement floor...ikea one comes with 3 sizes in a packet

gina,

you can still BF even though u got flat or inverted nipples....pls read below:

http://www.avent.com/uk/en/breastfeeding_niplette.php

The AVENT Niplette
A simple cure for flat or inverted nipples

Flat or inverted nipples can be a potential problem for women wishing to breastfeed. The unique and revolutionary Niplette, invented by a leading UK plastic surgeon provides a permanent cure.

Through gentle suction the Niplette pulls the nipple out into a small plastic thimble-like cup. In a matter of weeks of continued wear the nipple will stay permanently erect.

Ideally, the Niplette should be used before you become pregnant. However, if your breasts are not too sensitive, it can also be used in the first six months of pregnancy to achieve a permanent correction.

Alternatively you can use the Niplette for the first few days after delivery for a few minutes only before each feed. This will pull your nipple out so that your baby can latch on more easily and breastfeeding can be established.

Once your milk comes in fully, the Niplette will not function. However, by then your baby will have become accustomed to latching on to your nipple and pulling it out for him or herself.

The permanent cosmetic correction can then be effected once breastfeeding is over.

Hope this article helps.

kite,
i am also small size leh..think i better ask my doc whether my bb consider big or small this coming check-up on 30 March. But hor, she never ask me whether i want natural or C-section leh.
I got my PP pram today, toffee colour. As for bed ward, i am taking the 1-bedded ward. In fact, i have already sent out my pre-registration form for the bed (TMC sent me the letter/form in Jan, i only sent out last week..hee).

Re: Milk Bag
I bought the avent milk bag kit $15.90 at Taka today. The pack contain
- a bottle holder,
- 2 blue tinted silicone teat for use only with avent disposable system (1m+)
- 10 clips
- 10 storage milk bags
- 1 spare platform base
- 10 stickers to write date of expressed milk

The salesperson said that if u don't want to buy the bottle also can, express the milk into normal bottle, then pour the milk into the bag.

morning gals

Re : Expo Mother and Baby Care
Went to the expo on saturday afternoon...woah...quite crowded. The BbSafe there got offer...the 28" by 52" cot mattress is only $125 (U.P $169), think its cheaper than Robinsons even with 20% discount. But I didn't get any cos I havent even confirm my cot size...haha, so dont dare to buy mattress

Bought quite some items there :
- MIM Cotton Sling ($36).
- Pureen Maternity pads ($2.90 for 10pcs pack adhesive), quite cheap, cos i saw kiddy palace was $7.75 for 20pcs pack. Pureen small pack wet wipes (20pcs per pack, got 2 packs for $2), Pureen bb pilcher for newborn ($2.30)
- Nuk teats and screw ring (2 latex teats for $3.50 and the screw ring is $2.70)
- bought $4.50 worth of magazine and got the goodie bag, the goodie bag is great! Got many things inside (Popular/CD-Rama voucher $5 no need minimum purchase, 2pcs sample huggies pull-up pants, 2 pcs sample huggies diapers, sample Pureen bb bath and shampoo, sample 2pcs tollyjoy disposable breast pads, 2 pcs pigeon disposable breast pad, a tin of 400gram similac milk powder sample (will be sent to us), sample 3pcs pigeon wet wipes, etc
- Bought BbSafe cot bumper set at $79.90, comes with the free latex pillow although wont use so soon until bb is no longer newborn...haha

That is all the stuffs i got at the expo fair

Kite,
Seem like getting the milk bottle kit for BM will be advisable if we want to prevent any bubbles. Hmmm, thinking....

celeste,
din know Pureen Maternity pads is selling at such cheap price at expo leh...I saw the booth, but thought maybe not much savings, so dun buy since I dun wanna carry the pads for the whole day....

Re : Nursing Bra,
I saw in a checklist that I downloaded...they mentioned Triumph nursing bra is best...but quite exp...then quite value-for-$ one is the Carrefour nursing bra...i havent gone to take a look but might go n buy soon....cos since can wear now also...haha....i dont feel comfy in underwired bras now

Saw the MIM padded bra at $25 at the Expo fair.....$25 izzit exp?

Re : Disposable Diapers
On Sat my SIL was telling me the disposable diapers best is Pampers and next is Mamy Poko....but both i think pricing more or less the same also.

Carebear29,
u bought the Drypers diapers at Taka fair? $12.95 per pack rite? Me so angry...yesterday went NTUC FairPrice and saw that they are selling 2 packs of Drypers at I tink $15.95 only. Aiyo, imagine NTUC offer even cheaper than the Taka Bb fair....*faint*

kite,
wow...if u want me to list down the items here a bit difficult...cos i printed out a checklist and tick according to what i have bought so far and...haha....cos i d/l the checklist from here also but i forgot is which thread liowz..maybe i can try n find the file and post it here

okasan,
I saw Kiddy Palace selling at $7.75 but donno izzit special price or still can use the card to apply 10% discount. But I thought even with 10% discount its not cheaper also...so might as well get from the Expo fair