(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

amy:
wow lol. 10 boxes of milk bags! u intend to use it to store BM inside freezer using the milk bags after u go back work?

Kite, ya, as i intend to BF till one year, will store the EBM in the milk bags inside the freezer. when i go back to work, will pump and store in a cooler bag with ice, then bring home and freeze.

i_panda:
let say during 3mths maternity leave, no need to use unless lazy to climb fr bed at nite to BF, then wil store. hmm also in wat situation then u wil milk bags? sorry for e qs. btw i also bot Avent VIA cups.

Amy:
oic me also intend to do that way. Pump at work into the milk bag, then bring back home n put inside freezer. But at office, i wil put e milk bag inside office fridge first, then transfer to cooler bag bring home. Where u bot ur cooler bag? can i use thermal bag (those use to keep warm bag as in preserve the temp) if i put the ice packs inside e thermal bags?

cos my bb wil be taken care by my mum at her hse so i intend to keep it inside freezer first. also i plan to BF at least min. of 6mths as gd for bb, hopefully i can ask my mum stays n bear w me for 6mths for BF.

i panda, playtex bags are sold at Motherswork. 118 ml cost $12 (100 bags). you can also write the date/time of EBM on the bag itself. the 260 ml ones out of stock lo...

peng,
time flies..we were tlaking abt trip and next moment, u already back...envy envy...

kite,
I only got 2 pack of the avent milk bags...dun intend to start using until I go back to work...

during the first 3 mth when on maternity leave, I'll use glass bottles to store the milk and chilled it...only start to freeze milk at start of 3rd mth to store milk for fedding after going back to work....

kite, even when BF direct, if too much milk, can empty breasts after bb feeds enough, so can empty direct using pump into milk bag. only when breasts are emptied will our brain produce more milk for next feed. again, nx feed, if got leftover after latch on, can express and store again.
remember supply = demand, hence when there is adequate output (sucking, emptying via pump), there will be adequate production.

re: breast pump
BTW, has anyone here gotten the Medela PIS? I saw it at the fair and was really impressed by how quiet it is. I'm just wondering if there is any lobang anywhere wh sells cheaper than $699. I'm thinking very hard whether to get it or not cos firstly, it is quite expensive and i am not sure if i will have no3. Other considerations is that the pump runs on 8 AA batteries, compared to 2 for the dual pump.

hmm... realised older folks not so keen on BF. my mum and MIL said BF till 3 mths can already liao. no need 6 mths or 1 yr... else mother tired and health might diminish. next time they say this again, i gotta ask them to be more supportive. really... older folks not v sensitive.

just went to my neighbour's one mth party. she wanted to BF, but "not enough milk", so her MIL told everyone in the neighbourhood she don't have enough milk, bb kept crying at night... so insensitive. my MIL heard, so came and tell us. so last nite, hubby gave MIL a mini "lecture"... ask her to be more sensitive, cannot go around telling the neighbours abt our personal issues...

Amy:
playtex bags at motherworks always hv stock? just in case Avent discontinued the milk bags. Guess i wil go n stock up more on avent milk bags by this wkend b4 the taka bb fair ends on 19 Mar. Freezed BM can store up til 3mths rite, but i dun intend store too long most wil store til 1mth cos scare e antibiotic n nutrients wil gradually decrease as days go by.

if let say after start work, will u all stil latch on ur bb BF? cos me abit difficult as bb wil be at mum's place. if i stop latch n only pump, stil got milk anot? heard the milk supply wil be lesser cos bb latching can stimulate e milk flow better than pump.

those older folks so terrible, think they not so educated enuff like today. i m surprised that my mum and MIL also did not breastfeed me n my hubby leh, oni give FM.

Okasan:
Oic same here, wil start to use when go back to work. How r u gg to attach e milk bag w e pump? some said pour fr milk bottle to bag, some say attach w pump. but i thinking put the bag inside normal milk bottle. not sure its work. when u pump at work, how are u gonna to store e milk bag? wat r e steps u gonna keep e milk?
me pump at work, wil store in office fridge, then go home transfer to cooler bag, then bk home transfered to freezer. if i m gg bk to my mum's hse where my bb is, wil transfer to my mum's freezer.

once start work, i m afraid if stop latch my bb n oni wkends, scare the milk supply wil be lesser even though i pump.

Mummies/Joy,

Comments Pls.?

Last sat, went down to Aprisin showroom to view the Graco Playpen n Pram. My decision sort of finalised.

Graco Playpen:
I wil be getting the Graco Playpen, either the black or blue one (both r similar except blue one more features). But most likely i wil be getting BLUE one cos it comes w the entertain unit for bb (5 classical n 5 nature music n etc).

Graco Pack 'n Play Playpen ($289, UP $339)

384713.jpg

Features:
Removable full-size bassinet with quilted bumper pad provides cozy nap-time space
Washable quilted sheet for babys comfort
Enhanced electronics unit entertains and soothes with:
o 2-speed mattress mounted vibration
o 5 Classical songs and 5 soothing nature sounds
o Night light to illuminate controls
o Check light shines on baby's sleep area
o Timer settings of 5, 10, 15 or 25 minutes
Deluxe diaper organizer provides diaper stacker, refillable wipes container, and storage compartments for all diaper changing necessities
Indoor canopy with detachable soft toys provides shade and amusement
Folding changing table for quick diaper duty
Push-button fold makes folding easy
Wheels with locks for better mobility in the home
Unique swept frame makes functionality stylish
Mesh on four sides improves air circulation
Easy to store and transport in handy carry bag
===============================================

Graco Bassinet Pack 'n Play Playpen ($250)

384714.jpg

Features:
Full-size removable bassinet for naptime anytime.
- Folding changing table for quick diaper duty.
- Nightlight console with music and vibration soothes baby.
- Folds up fast with push-button fold.
- Wheels with locks for better mobility in the home.
- Accented with elliptical aluminum legs.
- Easy to store and transport in handy carry bag.

================================================

Graco Pram:
I intend to get the Graco Mosaic Stroller rather than the Graco Citisport EDT Stroller.

Graco Mosaic Stroller ($279, UP $329)

384715.jpg

Features:
* 3-Dimensional, compact fold for maximum portability
* Multiple-position, reclining seat for childs comfort
* Large, easy access storage basket
* Detachable head pillow
* Combination 3 or 5 point harness
* Removable, padded armbar
* Canopy with peek-a-boo window
* Padded ergonomic grip
* Robust, stylized frame for maximum durability
* Automatic storage latch
* Front swivel wheels with locks & suspension
* Accepts Graco Auto Plus Infant Car Seat

==================================================

Graco Citisport EDT Stroller ($229, UP $269)

384716.jpg

Features:
* Ultra light, aluminum frame makes getting around a breeze
* 5-Point harness for safety
* One hand fold for on the go convenience
* Multi-position reclining seat provides comfort and support for your baby
* Removable canopy
* Removable versatile waist pack
* removable adjustable infant head support
* Removable seat pad for easy cleaning
* Automatic storage latch
* Front and rear suspension with lockable front swivel wheels for a smooth ride
* Large storage basket to keep the day's gear

Kite, not sure whether Playtex will always be in stock. they were discontinued for awhile, like avent. could be final batches, not sure.

as i am arranging to work from home 2 days a week after i deliver, i will be able to latch bb on directly 4 days a week, and maybe pump 3 days a week at work. also, will allow hubby to bottle feed bb sometimes, so that they can bond as well.
intend to keep a mixture of latch and pump, hopefully milk supply will stabalize then.

kite,
the bags are good as they can be use straight away, don't hv to sterilise unlike the Avent VIA cups. I also got a few VIA cups (FOC from the Avent Express Steriliser & the Avent Pump). EBM can be stored in the freezer for max 3mths, so if your supply is very good, the milk bags will come in very handy.

I also intend to express the milk into the bags after i go back to work. Maybe put inside office freezer 1st, then when going home, put inside the thermal bag (the bag which comes free when we purch the Avent pump). The avent salesgirl said that the thermal bag can keep the milk cool or hot for 3 hours only.

Amy,
ya lor, my MIL also like not very supportive of BF. cos that day we talk about whether bb will sleep with CL during the 1 mth, I said 'then how i BF if bb sleep in the other room?' She said something like "u wan to BF meh"...i was like ???
Think they scare i will be very tiring, hv to wake up middle of nite to feed baby. Think i have to work our something...

amy,
agree with u on that older people dun seem to support bf till too long loh....coz during their generation, they were "brainwashed" that bf is not good for baby, only formula is good.....so now they still have that thinking....

I also don't understand why some people can be so insensitive, go around telling other people abt personnel things loh...got one auntie told me her daughter so unhygenie, never change pads often during menses..I was shocked not coz of the daughter's unhygenie habits but rather coz she can say such private thing abt her daughter in front of a stranger loh....so insensitive to her daughter's feelings.....

Hi Tinklebell, I am actually from the July MTB thread. May I ask which PIS model is selling at $699? Nowadays, I only see the PIS advanced (which is the latest model with 2 phase expression). This is retailing at $739 (I checked with Robinsons and also at Mums & Babes at the BB care fair). It can be used manually, battery operated or as electic pump.

As for lobangs,
1. here's something for you to consider: according to my colleague who delivered in Jan '05, Mrs Wong from TMC highly recommends the Medela PIS and if u buy from TMC Parentcraft (cannot be from elsewhere), they can buy it back from you at $300 cos there is a list of ready 2nd hand buyers. I am not sure whether this scheme still applies but u may want to check it out. Do note that FBI / SBI discounts do not apply for Parentcraft purchases.

2. The Breastfeeding Mothers Support Group (BMSG) is also have members' special. Discount for bulk purchase, otherwise members get it for $649. There are also breastmilk storage bags on offer.
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/indexshoppingcorner.html

3. Lastly, I saw at babycenter website that the Medela breastpumps are on offer. The PIS Advanced is abt US$320 which after conversion is S$510-$520. However, no shipping outside of US. So if you know of anyone going to the US, maybe can consider piggy-backing??
http://store.babycenter.com/brand/medela?boutique=&stage=all

kite,
I bought the avent kit for the milk bag...so will just pump direct into the milk bag loh....save trouble of transfering, etc...

during maternity leave, I'll express out whatever leftover milk from feeding into glass bottles and chilled them....

I bought the avent manual pump that come with the cooler bag kit, so will be using that loh. it has a thermal bag, ice pack and

after going back to work, I intend to do it this way:
1. morning before work, try to direct latch on
2. pump twice in office (lunch and tea break)
3. direct latch on in the evening after back from work
4. direct latch on for night feed

so there'll be a mixture of pumping and latching on....hopefully can maintain the supply...I'm more worry abt not able to pump at office coz if dun pump during the day, definately will affect milk supply in the long run loh....

Tinklebell - re the Medela PIS, I saw that someone is selling this for $400 and that's it's only 2.5mths old. Maybe you can PM her if you do a search under Marketplace, should be able to find it. All my friends say that it's worthwhile investing in a good pump if one is serious about breastfeeding. I'm going to borrow my friend's and see how.

Ladies, also reading this book by Gina Ford "The new contented baby" on bf and how to plan a routine for your baby so that they can sleep through the night. It's quite useful and #1 bestseller. May want to check it out.

Kite - I think the playpen will come in useful. The blue one looks nicer ! Did you test out the Mosaic stroller - was it heavy ? I think weight of the stroller is an important consideration. The Citisport is prob less bulky and easier to use in the malls. Will you be taking the baby out for long walks in the park, if so I think the Mosaic may be more sturdy. I plan to use my Graco for the park as it has big wheels and then get a lightweight one later for shopping malls. Anything above 8kg is a no-no for me.

Hi Amy,

My mum also same thinking of ur elder folks regarding BF. Say health will diminish and the mother will be tired. Plus difficult for them to take care as bb not used to FM.

Due to my work, i only intend to BF for three months *keeping fingers crossed* I have heard of too many stories about not enough breast milk. My colleague who just gave birth already told me she no milk and she is trying to get some pills from nature's farm. Another ex colleague of mine only had milk for 2 mths and another colleague of mine only had milk for 1 mth. So for my case, i am not too confident about myself haha.. since i am already mentally prepared to BF three months or less, i think i won't get too demoralised when the time comes and i have no milk.

A relative of mine BF her younger son for 2 yrs and currently still latching on. Can imagine? But the son is weak in his health. This is partly because he rejects all other foods cos being too used to BF. He will always wait for mummy to come back home to feed him, instead of taking porridge or any other proper meal. And moreover, my cousin-in-law dun take any nutrients herself. She doesn't eat meat and only take vegetables. She looks undernourished herself as time goes by. So i would suggest mothers here who intend to BF for long to take care of own health too, by continuing to take in nutritious food. Then the bb will truly benefit from BF.

Because of all the real life cases, my mum herself encourages me to stop BF after 3 mths once i get back to work haha..

kk,
it's true that mummy's health will be affected if she bf but never take care of the nutrients intake loh....coz the nutrients in the milk will be taken from mummies own body if the food intake is not enough....that's why everywhere in the world, mummies can bf their babies regardless of survival condition loh.....

a lot of my friends also din bf successfully loh...a few of them who manage to bf for 6 mth or more are stay-at-home mums....that's why I'm also worry abt continuing bf after returning to work....

kk,
me same as u....prepared to BF for 3 mths...then during tat time if heng got milk supply store up another 3 mths of milk as EBM. But i think not easy to store much...*sigh*
Cos I think once return back to work very difficult to have those regular timing to go and pump..imagine if in meetings etc, u cant possibly tell them u have to go n pump....and prob all those work + nite time care for bb will take a toll on the health and hence reduce milk supply too

So I only bought a manual pump from Avent....to use for time being

Amy:
cos my bb wil be taken care by my mum at her hse, so wkdays i cant latch my bb, therefore oni on fri, sat n sun. the rest i hv to pump out, heard else wil hv engorgement.

i_panda77:
for the VIA cup, 1st time no need sterilise but once used, hv to sterlise. though packaging say can used for 4 times but Avent staff said can use til 6 times. So u bought the Avent bottle kit? seems like u all most bot the bottle kit. hmm.
confirm the avent thermal bag we purchased fr the avent uno pump can be used a cooler bag ah? at first thot its thermal bag who can oni keep milk warm. cos i intend to buy a cooler bag, that means no need buy a one liao. so u intend to put ice pack inside e cooler bag? so oni allow 3 hrs, after work, must cheong back home n place inside freezer. lol

Okasan:
u bot the avent milk kit so everytime u wil use the milk bottle rite? what does it contains inside? cant remember well. worth it anot? hmm seems like u all bot a milk bag kit leh....me not sure want to buy anot leh. Maybe i shld open up 1 milk bag n try my method, if troublesome or cant, wil buy the kit by sunday b4 taka bb fair ends.

ur bb living w u after u start work? e most i ask my mum comes over n live w me for another 3mths when i start working. at least 6mths of BF is already gd for bb liao.

actually my office there no lactation room, think wil find a changing room or those clean, airy toilets to pump.

ya if dun pump at work, sure engorgement one. somemore if busy w work, worse. the most can pump is during lunchtime.

Joy:
yes my hubby n i like the Graco blue playpen. cos black color not so nice for bb. hehe. But graco playpen not very big leh, oni 26" x 38", then bot the BBsafe mattress at tis size, just nice.

At Aprisin, we tried putting both strollers inside our car boot n both r fine. Graco Mosaic is more stable n hardy. as for e weight quite ok cos hubby said if i go out alone, he dun let me use e pram unless we go out together when driving, then wil use e pram. For graco citisport, abit small n abit unstable. so we choose mosaic over citisport

kk:
heard to hv more breast milk flow, eat more fish.

I went on Friday morning and got back yesterday(or rather this morning at 1am).
The night bazzar very interesting. but a lot of repeat items selling there. But the little shops along the streets are nice. If you are still there on sunday, they have a sunday flea market at one of the roads, think it is called Tapae.
all sorts of things sold there. Street close from 1pm till midnight.

Tinklebell:
Very fast the gal got an answer from the boss. The letter I got from the doc states I am fit to travel till 20 March only

poohmum

kite,
the pack ($15.90) contain:
- a bottle holder,
- 2 blue tinted silicone teat for use only with avent disposable system (1m+)
- 10 clips
- 10 storage milk bags
- 1 spare platform base
- 10 stickers to write date of expressed milk

The avent staff told me that they are clearing stock..so if u want better get one kit now.

Hi Amy,
Wow.. 10 boxes of milk bags... I thought I already have a lot at 7 boxes... lol... I was "forced" to get 7 boxes to make up expenditure of $100 for their free delivery... kekeke...

I also think older folks dun support or encourage breast feeding of babies... Some confinement lady also dun like breast-fed babies cos they poo more often and the poo more watery, hence not easy to clean...

Re: milk bag
People told me that I will need to pump out the excess milk if got too much.
Actually I was wondering if I am going to latch baby on, and store the extra in the freezer. When am I going to have the chance to use those in the freezer?? The Avent salesgal told me to use the milk to wash my face... lol...

Gerber milk bag is like zip-log bag and slightly bigger. But very expensive at about $1 per bag.

Hi Kite,
Wah.. the playpen looks nice and stylo...

kite,
yes, the avent salesperson told me can keep warm or cool milk. I visited Avent website, it mention that "All AVENT Bags are specially designed to transport AVENT Bottles and Cups and uniquely feature the thermal efficiency of 3M Thinsulate". http://www.avent.com/uk/en/travel_products.php

I haven't open the thermal bag & see, will go back later & check. Don't think i will put ice pack inside the bag...maybe will try using it & see how lor

lyn,
ya lor, the Gerber milk bag very ex. I also got 2 box..bought it when Metro got 20% disc. So actually i got: 6 box Avent & 2 box Gerber....lol

i_panda77:
even though u all bot the avent milk bottle kit, stil buy the clips from ikea rite? think 10 clips inside e pack not enuff. so far i dun dare to open the milk bags cos all the bags are sterilised kinds. hmmm....most of e stuffs stil nicely plastic packed, cant bear to open up. i oni open up the breast pump n thermal bag.

Lyn:
lol BM use to wash face, wow expensive stuffs manz. even use milk to bath, already consider luxury leh. Since u bot the avent milk bags n ikea clips, did u buy the avent bottle kit?

wow gerber milk bags so ex but convenient that its sealable.

hehe i like the playpen too, try it at e showroom n its quite hardy n stable but one thing dunno y Graco playpens are abit small. anyway hopefully bb wil like the playpen we choose for her

thawing frozen BM:
how u all gg to thaw the frozen BM? I m thinking of thawing the BM inside the fridge first or place it inside a bowl of warm water. heard its not gd to thaw at room temp. remember to use thaw milk within 24hrs else disposed.

Milk Bags:
one thing good on Gerber milk bag is its self-standing by its own. For avent milk bags, i dun think so. if use clips, not sure will leak anot since its not sealable.

hi Lok
thanks for your sharing on those valuable info abt medela PIS breastpumps. find it v useful.

kk,
after reading what you shared, i think it's really true that bb should be weaned from total breastfeeding after 6 months else will not be taking in enuf nutrients for further growth. ususally bf up to 6 month is recommended, after which semi solids should be introduced gradually. I will try bf for 6 months if possible, otherwise must at least bf 3 months, directly or with EBM..

ladies fyi there is a public forum on breastfeeding called "Raising a bright and confident child" on 23/4/06 http://www.abas.org.sg/abasforum060423.htm

can i check for those who will be attending the antenatal class at TMC starting 18th mar,have u all get your 'bottom' already? i remembered the lady told me tt we have to wear comfortable long pants/bicycle pants for the 1st 3 lessons as got some stretching exercises.anyone bought already? me haven buy yet.wondering where n what to buy.

hi angeline,
yes me starting tis sat too. i will be wearing those elastic n stretchable maternity cotton pant. the one i bought was from Perfect mum during 1st tri. The pant can adjust the waist band n its very comfortable. Until now most of e wkends, i m wearing this pant.

384880.gif
Re: Breastfeeding SOS

Breastfeeding is the safest and healthiest way to feed babies.

Breastfeed exclusively (no other foods or drinks) until 6 months
Continue breastfeeding when other foods begin after 6 months
Breastfeeding after 6 months gives babies:

Powerful protection from bacteria and viruses
Important nutrition
Feelings of comfort and security when baby begins exploring the world
A way to reconnect when mom goes back to work
Why not let baby take the lead and decide when & what it comes to weaning onto solids? This method by Gill Rapley is interesting and really takes away the first away the first step of semi-solids that we know of, at a pace when baby is ready.

Just as each pregnancy is a personal experience, so too is breastfeeding. In fact, I find there are typically 3 groups of moms:

1. Those who love it from the very first latch, never have a minute's pain and were practically born to nurse;

2. Those who have a hard time with sore nipples/milk supply/latching and find it hard to imagine that they'll ever love it; and

3. Those who decide that they are just NOT going to do it at all - it's not for them.

I DEFINITELY believe that "Breast is Best", but I know that it doesn't work for everyone.

For those of you who decide to give it a try (which I hope you do!), make sure to give yourself a chance to "settle-in". Although breastfeeding is a NATURAL process, it may take longer than you think to get used to it.

And speaking of Natural...

As "natural" as nursing is, I know that I had TONS of questions. For example, I wanted to know if I had to prepare my nipples. I also wanted to know WHAT it would feel like and if it would hurt? And most importantly, I wanted to know HOW to actually feed.

Here's a list of TIPS that I would've loved when I was preparing for my job as "Dairy Queen"!

5 Basic Breastfeeding TIPS for Mom:

1. When your breasts get engorged for the FIRST time (hello milk supply!!), apply a cool compress, like frozen vegetables. You can also try washed cold cabbage leaves (but don't leave them on too long they can drain your milk).

2. Drink LOTS of fluid. I know you've heard this before, but your hydration level REALLY affects your milk output. So aim for at least 8-10 glasses of water a day.

3. Keep AWAY from spicy or garlicky foods, especially at the beginning. I slowly started introducing more foods at around 4 months and found it worked well

4. DON'T wash your nipples with soap - warm water is good enough

5. If your nipples get IRRITATED and SORE, squeeze some breast milk on to them and rub it in.

6. RELAX! Stressing out WILL affect your milk supply, so do your best to "go with the flow"!

What to WATCH for in Baby:

1. Make sure your baby is latching on correctly from the VERY BEGINNING - this will ensure good eating and prevent sore nipples. Just in case you don't already know, a good latch means a wide-open mouth like a yawn over your areola.

2. Expect to feed A LOT. New babies eat at least 8 times in a 24-hour period. And don't worry if your feeds feel like they're REALLY long in the beginning, they DO get a lot shorter as your baby becomes more efficient at feeding!

3. When your baby is born his/her stomach is the size of a walnut, so don't panic if you feel he/she is not drinking a lot. Aim for small, frequent feeds (this info REALLY helped me out!). If you're at all concerned, don't be shy to ask your doctor!

4. Make sure your baby has LOTS of wet diapers to keep hydrated. A baby should wet at least 6 diapers per day.

Breastfeeding is a wonderful gift for both you and your baby - don't be scared!

http://www.pumpkin.com.sg/articles.php

Hi Lok, thanks for the very useful info on Medela PIS. As for the $699 offer, i saw it at the BB fair Medela booth on sat evening (not sure wh company is selling it though bec i only notice that the booth sells Medela stuff). The set also comes with a manual pump to convert the PIS fr auto to manual. Actually, what is holding me back fr purchasing is that it may not be that worth buying (if u compare the price diff viv the dual pump). Besides, the battery pack requires 8 batteries instead of 2. It's still one of the options in my mind besides the Medela Dual pump and Ameda pump.

If u are purchasing fr US, u can ship via Vpostusa. They will give u a US address so that u can ask the seller to ship to that address first.

So, if TMC sells the pumps second hand, does it mean that it can be used for more than 1 person? I thought Medela itself and some breastfeeding groups doesnt really recommend this pump for multi users.

Hi Joy, thanks for highlighting the thread. I just saw it. I suppose if TMC approves of 2nd hand pumps, it should be safe to use one. In that case, i really dont mind buying a second hand one.

i_panda, thks for the emoticons link!
384885.gif

Celeste,
WHAT! $15.95 for 2 packs @ NTUC! Alamak! How come? Got cheated on my 1st diaper purchase! Sian! Will order Nepia thru supplier during my confinement, friend who used to use Pampers Premium highly reco it.

kite,
Heh, no worries, short memory is a privilege for us preggies!
Me in 27wk, taking TMC 2-bedded 1st, if need be rather upgrade upon admission. (In case of complications, God forbids, can save a lot).

Don't intent to buy pram/playpen yet, will buy after confinement, prefers to put baby in the pram and check the visual effect :p ... so haven't start shopping ard, so can't offer advice. But what you chose, sure looked sleek and matching ...

Antenatal Class @ TMC:
Okasan/Celeste,
I've just completed my Ante class w/TMC under Mrs Wong. For me, I paid for it w a chq only on d 1st lesson. As I was quite busy then, so told ParentCraft die die must reserve for me ... they did!

Hi Angeline,
YES! You must wear comfy pants EVERY lesson, cos most of d exercises/massages she's teaching required us to open our legs wide, and not forgetting there're a lot of couples so w/o pants, it's impossible to follow thru. Even wk4 onwards, she did revisions w/us so still need the pants on.
The room @ TMC is also very cold at times, so bring a jacket/cardi, else really can't concentrate ...

Thanks Lyn!
Count: 17 gals, 22 boys! ;)
Yap, you bet, I'm breathless, sometimes, when I speak to my colleagues, I've to signal to them to wait, before I pant and continue my sentence. Haha ... Imagine, I'm in sales, so on the phone all day long, the clients always asked me, "Are you ok?"

So, ladies, we must practise our breathing (learn @ Ante Class) daily to enlarge our lungs so we can huff & puff the BB out ...

Baby's movements:
Are your BB active? Mine's kicking & boxing a lot, I even can play touch with him ... Enjoying every moment, cos when he's out, we won't have such feeling till the next BB ...
384886.gif

kite,
i opened my thermal bag liao. The booklet inside the bag says "For storage of cold expressed breastmilk/formula OR pre-boiled HOT water for up to 4 hours. DO NOT store BOILING/VERY HOT water as this will cause the lining to melt. Not recommended for storing cow's milk"

Ya, will prob get the clips from Ikea.

carebear,
my bb also v active nowadays..he will wake up at certain time of the day, 10plus at night & move about. Sometimes one side of my stomach will 'bough' out...so funny. Then i will ask my hubby come & see.....he will then talk to bb
384895.gif

Cow's milk!??! Ha ha ... such a funny pc of instruction!

i_panda:
Yours too
Good! Mine is very active in d aftnoon & wee hours! I haven't been sleeping well for past few weeks as I'm a light sleeper, so when he starts his stretching, I wake up ... everyone says it's a "good training" in advance for my night feeding frenzy when I popped!
384907.gif

i_panda77:
thanks for the BF info, very useful

Carebear29:
did u ask Dr. YC that whether u can upgrade to 1 bedded even though u choose a 2 bedded ward now?
Wow u finished the Parentcraft lessons liao. how big is e classes as in how many couples? all lessons interesting? last lesson (6th) wil be conducted at a school, need to travel there for e talk hor. thanks for reminding, wil bring a cardigarn there.

They said if bb active at that timing, when bb comes out, bb wil also be active tat timing. If bb active at nite, then jiat liat liao, wait every nite sure active one lol

384930.gif

Storing EBM at work:
i m still very concern regarding how to store EBM at work. Cos scare the milk turns bad or sour fast n cant last. My office fridge seems to hv no freezer, just a normal fridge. If lets say i pump the milk into milk bag, store it inside office fridge (lunch time til gg home time abt 5hrs), then when gg home, then transfer to Avent thermal bag which can keep its temp for 4hrs. Travelling time ard (1hr). So after 6 hrs in total then reach home, wil then transfer to freezer. hmm cos as i understand once u store in e fridge (instead of freezer), has to consume with 48hrs. like tat first store in fridge, then 5 to 6 hrs transfer to home freezer, wil e milk turn bad? i m thinking of buying the ice sheet from MIM into my thermal bag instead of ice packs which need to store it inside freezer. the ice sheet is those kind of reusable cold ice which wont melt one.

Jaundice:
Heard that its very common in newborns but so far ppl dont know wat is e main reason for causing it. When i was a baby, i also got mild jaundice n need to stay in hospital under the light for 2 to 3 days as told by my mum.

I mean TOUCHWOOD, i m thinking of e worst scenario whereby since its common n if it happens to the bb, how m a mummy gg to BF her bb during the 1st few days which is e most critical period where milk flow comes. Hmmmm.......

i_panda77:
i hv to dismantle the motor of the pump n the s/n is at the bottom of the motor. let me know if u cant find.

Hi kite,

I asked d staff but not Dr YC, say upgrading is not an issue, only thing is availability, but so far so good. I was also told (this time by friend) sometimes, the 2nd bed is also not occupied, so can have whole room too. Anyway, I'm prepared to stay 2-bedded cos I just don't dare to sleep alone.

EBM:
It's fine to store in normal fridge temp @ work, no need to freeze it, it's the duration it stays out of the fridge that determine the deterioration of the EBM. The advice given was to let bb consume the EBM expressed during the day that night, and what you expressed during the night, can be store readily in freezer for longer-term use.

Jaundice:
You'll learn the truth about it at the Ante class better, I'm no good at explaining, but briefly, it's not caused by intake of ginger or carrot, it's due to the surge of red blood cells going to the liver that causes the yellowish color on the skin. It varies from BBs to BBs, and situations, such as it's more common in premature bbs, etc. It only surfaces only the 2nd or 3rd day.

Btw, you raised an interesting qns, yes, can we still continue to feed our bb EBM when he/she is still hospitalised? But, what I know was some mummies opt to stay another few days in the hospital so as to be with bbs and BF him ...
It's called Mum's Retreat under FBI ...

Getting late ... ciao ...sweet dreams, mummies!

kite,

how much u bought yours? was thinking to wear my 3/4 white pants which i got from spring maternity 1st.

carebear29

thanks for the advise..not gota search for jacket/cardigans liao.not sure if i can fit into all my previou's.must wear for all lesson? they onli say 1st 3 lesson leh..lucky u tell us..

morning ladies

Re: In the Womb show on National Geographic Channel last nite at 10pm.
Juz wondering if anyone of u all watched this....it was really very interesting...shows how the bb grows during the stages from week 25 onwards and there is even a small section on the lady giving birth standing up and leaning against the bed! So miraculous! I watched liowz donno y felt so touched....
kao_love.gif

Carebear,
paiseh...dont scold me hor...my typo error...its 2 packs of drypers at $24.95. But if u are those NTUC member still got the 5% rebate annually on ur purchases rite? So its like cheaper by bout $2+ bah
....but still felt a bit cheated no doubt...haha
As for the antenatal class, i think my seat is still reserved too, cos i called ParentCraft yesterday and told them my name, they told me to bring the cheque and pay on the first lesson

Angeline_Goh,
I never buy any strechable pants for exercise one....wondering if i can still fit into my last time Giordano elastic drawstring exercise pants...haha, tonite i go back and try

Good morning gals!
Wah.. You gals are very early... I just woke up.. :p Gonna start doing housework later...

Hi Celeste blur,
That show is very good rite? hee... When I was TTC, I already saw it. I recorded it in my hard disk recorder...

lyn,
Yuppies...tat show is really very great......but hor the part on delivery i half watch half dont dare to watch...cos i see the head coming out hor...i was like....omg, can stretch so much...a bit scary...and my hb still said delivery doesnt seem that scary wat...*faint*

Celeste, Lyn, what a waste... i missed the show
.... standing up giving birth? wow! not something practised here right? But i recall one of my friends who had gone as part of the medical support team to East Timor. He mentioned that he was surprised that the ladies there give birth on all fours! What an eye opener!

BTW, are u gals going to bring a video cam into the delivery room? we brought ours in last time... the shots were very memorable. However, the gynae did not allow us to flim the part where the bb is coming out... would have perfected the film if we did.