(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi matched gal,

Yup, I saw the pyjamas at Mothercare, and it is exp! So I just get those cheap ones since I reckon I wun be using them for long. When my figure gets back (it better!), I will be back to wearing lingerie again as it's more comfy. Hmm, think I need to check with the nurses what to bring to the hospital.

hi tinklebell,

Ya, it really looks difficult to use. I read the instruction and still catch no ball. But alot of people say it's good and better than carrier. So still thinking to get or not. If get already dunno how to use will be really wasted.

Hi Sunflower, hope u enjoy chatting with us

Hidora, a lot of pp tell me that it is good but i think in order to see it's usefulness, u must first master the technique of folding the sling. hee... u know what i use it for? when bb is naughty and doesnt want to sleep, i place him inside and rock him to sleep. my kid used to find confort in sleep inside the sling during the 2nd mth of his life.

Re : Sling
Actually I am wondering hor....the sling can use for babies up to how many months? Becos when bb starts tossing n turning around like 3-4 mths then they wont really stay still in the sling as they cannot kick their legs freely?

Hi Sunflower, welcome

Celeste, i still see kids 1 yr plus in the slings. I guess it's really up to individuals how long u want to use the sling. For me, i dont really know how to use it gracefully so i didnt use beyond the second mth.

Thanks. my EDD is 19 June. delivery at TMC.
Planning to sign for the prenatal class though. have all of you completed the class?

Hi tinklebell,

So true. If cannot master the technique, then not useful anymore. But well, can still use it for bfing or rocking baby to sleep as per you suggest. This sat I think I will go down to the baby care exhibition since MIM is hving a booth there. Then maybe decide should I get it or not.. Thou seeing how they do it is definitely gonna be diff from how we do it.. *shrug*

Hi celeste,

According to the website, the sling can be used for older child too. As the leg can be positioned so that they dangle outside the sling. But in theory and practical always diff.. lol

tinklebell,
1yr+ still put in sling...i guess it all depends on the comfort level of the bb and mom bah

hidora,
Hmmzz...sounds gd....but i heard one fren mention before babies will be more comfy in carriers and facing outside when they are older like 5-6mths onwards

But of cos if sling can use till the kid is old enuff to walk then better...dont have to buy carrier

Sunflower,
my EDD is 20th June, delivery at TMC too
So who is ur gynae?
I signed up for the antenatal class at TMC starting 18th March

Celeste:
my gynae is Dr Choo WL.
hmm.. thinking of going down this week or early next week to sign up for class too. hee don't know if able to join your class.

hidora,
but from this pix, i tink if the bb is bigger then must use one hand to support the hip area? Otherwise the cloth sling is "heavy-duty" enough to take the weight of a big bb?

Sunflower,
Maybe u call and ask them if the dates are available anot....cos the last time I heard my class is already full.

Hi celeste,

The website says can hold up to 15kg without support. But seriously if my kid is 15kg, he better walk instead of getting me to carry! Lol

hidora/tinkerbell,
Hmmm, yah, luks like we've to get used to putting it on if we really want to use it. One thing i've noticed though - it uses one shoulder/side & not two (like carrier). Means all the weight is on one shoulder/side instead of two. So more 'siong' if one side rite?

Hi Sunflower, welcome!

Re sling, my SIL used till bb is 9 mths, too heavy then, converted to bb carrier, Ergo brand, heard it's good for bigger bbs.

Hi hidora, kk,
The heartpain is due to the stomach acid? How does it feel like? Is it pain in the chest area or sharp focussed pain?
This morning I got pain, and I almost fainted again. This is the third time I am experiencing it. I get sharp, focussed pain at one spot in the chest, then slowly become giddy and cannot see for a while... Then I just rest and drink water and it will go away. I wonder if it's becos I am dehydrated... or something else... The last two times, I tot maybe it's the bra, but today I was not wearing bra when it happened...

Hi okipoki,
For weight measurement, it's best to make comparison at the same time everyday. For me, I can weigh up to 1kg lighter in the morning than the evening. So I gave up weighing myself at home now :p.

Hi Amy,
I also wakes up at nite to drink water after I go toilet

Ok, I finished a steam sweet corn and weighed myself. I am 54.8kg. Almost 3 weeks ago, I weighed 54.8kg at my gynae's... But it's impossible I haven't gain weight at this stage of pregnancy rite? Prob will weigh again tonite...

Yes, Ergo brand is good and quite easy to carry. my friends are using that and one of them has a kid who is older than my son and she can still use that. But it cost ard $200 plus. Can only use Ergo when bb's head support is there.

Hi matched gal,

Ya, it seems that the support is only on one side.. Probably that's why babies that are too big should use the carrier or stroller instead. Should be quite straining to our back and shoulder?

Hi lyn,

Sry, it should be called heartburn.. Forgot the term to it suddenly.

http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/pregnancy/prenatalhealth/242.html

Heartburn (also called acid indigestion or acid reflux) is a burning sensation that often extends from the bottom of the breastbone to the lower throat. It's caused by both hormonal and physical changes in your body.

During pregnancy, the placenta produces the hormone progesterone, which relaxes the smooth muscles of the uterus. This hormone also relaxes the valve that separates the esophagus from the stomach, allowing gastric acids to seep back up the pipe, which causes that unpleasant burning sensation. Progesterone also slows down the wavelike contractions of the stomach, making digestion sluggish. In later pregnancy, your growing baby crowds your abdominal cavity, slowing elimination and pushing up the stomach acids to cause heartburn.

Hmm, but I have not experience anything like yours in the sense where I feel giddy or feel like blacking out. Most of the time, I feel a short of breath and burning pain along the food pipe. In worse cases, the acid will churn out causing me to choke.

Could it be becos you just had your meal? Since heartburn usually occur after meals.

Lyn, hidora, i also experience heartburn. esp these few days, last nite, went w/o dinner, as cannot take anything, even after i drink water, i get this heartburn feeling.

Re: CL

sorry to bring this topic up again. just spoke with my mum, who initially din want to assist with my confinement. now she is willing to help as i am also getting a maid. she said she can also train the maid, but she will only be at my place mon - fri, for 3 wks only. do you think i shld take up her offer, or still proceed to engage a CL? bit lost.... but need to decide soon, as need to inform CL.

Re: education plan

any mummies planning to get an education cum insurance plan for bb? my personal banker just rang me. he worked out that for bb to go to a US uni, non ivey league, i will need S$400K in 2026.
siong hor? will be exploring some options on how i can achieve this savings by 2026.

Amy
382820.gif

but i have already paid a $50 deposit for the PP pram already...how? When they call & ask me to go down choose colour, don't know whether can still bargain or not....

Ah Amy!

Your topic has just reminded me again that my sourcing for CL is not done yet. Erm.. if you are taking up your mom's offer, can pass me your CL's contact? lol

400k! That would be 20k a yr, and about 1.67k a month. Wa, that's really a huge sum of money! I mean, some people dun even take home that much pay in a month. Siong!

hi amy

Metro has a wider range of those open-button pyjamas at about $10-20, cotton and very comfy, sometimes they have a nice range. I prefer the brand....eh I think it is Karmy. The designs were sweeter last time, white with small little flowers.

Amy, it's good that your mum is helping u... my mum told me straight away that she cant help and ask me to get a CL
it all boils down to whether your mum and u can cope with the bb or not.
U need to consider when was the last time your mum took care of a bb? Is she confident to take care of your bb? will u be too overwhelmed with baby care? are u confident in taking care of bb? who is doing the cooking? will u want to take confinement food? are u prepared to wake up in the middle of the night for the night feeds? Is maid competent enough to take care of housework? are u the type who cannot take mental and physical stress? (i say that bec some pp with lack of help suffer fr post natal blues)
Logically, with mum and maid's help, u dont need a CL. But if are not on a tight budget, can consider engaging one to reduce the stress on your mum and yourself.

hi amy

Metro has a wider range of those open-button pyjamas at about $10-20, cotton and very comfy, sometimes they have a nice range. I prefer the brand....eh I think it is Karmy. The designs were sweeter last time, white with small little flowers. I bought a few in the past with those buttons all the way to the hem from there too

hidora,
Haha..i tink i will force bb to walk! Otherwise wait primary sch too meaty kenna Trim-And-Fit club then chamz *lol*

tinklebell,
Wah! the carrier costs $200+ *faint*....tink i better reconsider getting it....or mabbe see if can get a gd 2nd-hand one

Re: Education
I dont tink i will ever let my kid go overseas for studies unless they manage to get their own scholarships...maximum i will do is try to sponsor their local uni fees
But that is not easy also....cos read before prob bout 150-200k for a kid's uni expenses + fees in 20 yrs time, then 2 kids also == 300-400k, think maybe I let kid take study loan instead....i still must plan for my own retirement...haha

Re : Insurance
Any mommies planning to get those life-insurance kind of thingy for bb? I am thinking of getting one for bb when she turns full-mth

i_panda,
The ergo carriers looks gd...especially the cushioning for the shoulder straps....but seems costly at average USD$100.

Re: Sling
My frenz advise me to get silk one for baby cos spore v.hot. but a carrier also seems good when baby older cos can see the outside world when go out shopping.
saw one baby happily taking in the wonderful sight as she faces outwards.
hmm.. so may get both

Wow.. you gals thinking of insurance already... I wonders if it's really necessary to get insurance... I haven't seen any advantages from insurance yet
I only know I gotta pay and pay...

Hi sunflower,

I think somewhere earlier in the thread, someone was saying dun get the silk one since it's slippery and may slip off?

Re: Insurance

Still thinking over it.. so many kinds of insurance.. health, edu, life.. @_@

Amy, we do have an education plan for my son but not much but we are also using other platforms of savings cos we dont really want to put too much commitment in insurance plan (it's a long term thing... if one day we cannot pay, it's gonna be a problem). ya lor... i read abt the report on education cost in 20 yrs time in the financial page in sunday times before. Even a sc based course in spore is going to cost half that amount!
Basically, everything costs money lah. I ever calculated that for us to retire at 50, we need to save at least $800k cash/ liquid assets ie ard $3.3k per mth
That's based on simple assumptions such as no inflation, straight line calculations. and assume u live til 80 ==> u n ur hubby only have $2.2k to spend per mth) On top of that, at least another $200k for each child's education... so that's more than $1Mil already
Doesnt look achievable leh.
That's why my hubby and i are very prudent on our decision on long term spending such as housing loan commitment. Now with the rising mortgage rates, a lot of pp will have to fork out more cash to service the interest. We prefer to have more cash and liquid assets in our pockets where possible.
I think some financial planning is necessary to maximise your financial returns. If u have spare cash, can consider putting into bonds, banks' preference shares, REITs (but be selective on the REITs)... they give higher returns than normal bank interest.
Insurance is another option but bear in mind that it is not liquid.

Hi lyn,

That's what I'm thinking too...

I see my mom pay until so cham... makes me wonder shld I get it..

But will be banking in the cord blood thou, I'm treating that as a form of insurance.

hidora,
I know I still gotta pay when I was hospitalised even with a few types of insurance! So, I dun see any advantage now... and I still gotta service the insurance dunno for how many more years...

Hi all MTBs,
I'm fr the July MTB thread. Happen to see you all talk about the MIM sling and ergo. I'm having no. 2 and would like to share my experience about the sling. I carried my no. 1 girl for slightly over 2 yrs on the sarong sling basically becoz I'm a mum who travels alone and moves around on my own a lot. My gal have been in the sling since she was a few mths. And partly becoz of that, I was able to bf her for 2 yrs becoz the sling is a good cover up. The MIM sling is v v strong(have not tried other brands though) and reliable. The only not so reliable thing is our backs. If you get the position of the rings correctly on, you should be v comfortable and you NEED NOT hold on to your bb for support. ie. both hands free to hold bus railing/ shopping bag etc.Once your body get used to the sling, you should not ache so much. I carry my gal in the sling as long as 2-4 hrs straight at abt 10-12kg.(Yes, even to toilet) After that I switched to an ergo. For ergo, the support is on the hips which relieves the stress from the back.or shoulders. However, it is quite bulky and not so convenient to put on/adjust or take off compared to the sling.And, i think it lookslike a backpac to me, not as elegant as slings.
If you have problems learning, go to www.momsinmind.com.sg, they always schedule babywearing workshops with your babies . If you are desperate, you can contact SAM from MIM, they can help you anytime.
For ERgo, there is another website, www.mummysmilk.com. by lulu. She been selling for a no. of yrs already. I bought mine at ard $170 last yr. For Ergo, you can't face the bb out while in the front, that is the down side. So, my personal favourite is the sling coz I can put my girl to face front, the side, sleep position even so I can eat in peace with 2 hands while bb tied to sarong. Ha Ha.
So, hope my sharing helps. For the cotton sateen sling and the cotton sling , cotton sateen sling looks good (the one that was featured here)and goes on very smoothly. The cotton ones, the cheaper ones are also good(I own 1 cotton). Don't worry about the heat or anything. IT really doesn't matter/ All equally cooling for the babies. I've friends who own all the 3 types.All the types feature are v cooling. Its just that babies will perspire a lot too. Cheers!

lyn,
I tink life insurance is the only insurance that we will be getting for bb for the time being...becos i dont believe in tying too much $ in insurance also....and life insurance covers most of the basic stuffs and can also take it as a form of savings for the bb

tinklebell,
we too juz started our serious financial planning these days
Juz took up a Foreign Currency Fixed Deposit (USD) with DBS....return rates are much higher...
...but of cos there's the risk involved too. And I found out that fundsupermart.com got a new CashAccount feature which u can bank in ur cash and use it to either juz park there or buy unit trust when u want. The return rates are average 2.25% which is much higher than normal savings accounts rate and for withdrawal of $ its only T+1 day

lyn, ya lor , i also gotta pay the entire bill when i went for my opearation
I learnt my lesson on "excess"... must read the fine clause lah... wh i think we usually dont bother.

kin, thanks for the feedback on MIM Sling and Ergo carrier... will bear that in mind

Hi kin,

Thanks for the feedback!

Hmm, any mummies gng for the baby care exhibition? Was wondering going in early will entitle me to any freebies.. ;P

hidora,
There are goodie bags to be given out at the bb care exhibition at expo
Me planning to reach there at 11am...haha...but partly becos i dont wish to squeeze with the crowd which will prob start in the afternoon.

hi hidora and celeste,
i might go early too becoz has something on in the afternoon.

i think the goodies bags are for the 1st 1000 visitors each day

mspiggy,
hmmzz, i think if i reach there at 11am dont think there will be a queue of 1000 ppl bah....hopefully...haha....

So I may also bump into u there since u r going early?

Hi Celeste, mspiggy,

You are gng tmr? I'm planning to go tmr too, and reach there at 11am. Wanna meet up? ;p

Anyway, saw someone on the forum hving bulk purchase for this set of beansprout husk pillow and bolster. Like quite nice leh, no engraving lah, but it's $25 for two. And if she managed to get enough orders, it will be $20 for two.

I'm thinking to get this or the beansprout-pillow.com one.

382916.jpg

hidora,
Me not going tomolos...going on sat morning..cos need to work tomolos

As for beansprout pillow, my fren is helping me to get...

hi celeste and hidora,
i'm going on sat morning.

hidora,
RE: beansprout pillow

there's another bulk purchase going on, it's by Linsaw. Cost $17 for the 45X15 size and you have chose your own pic and wordings on the pillow.

Hehe, then if I go tmr, will come back and do updates.

Re: Beansprout pillow
Yup, I saw that thread. But the pick up pt is not convenient for me. So most prob will order from the website if I want it. With extra casing, it will be $28, more expensive than the bulk purchase by $4. But I reckon for me to travel to her side to get the items, it gonna cost me more.

I'm interested in the bolster set above leh.. But not sure if it's useful. Hmm..