(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Amy,
I remember water cannot drink too much also lehz...its in moderation...like 2-3 litres a day is gd enuff...too much also cannot one. So dont drink so much wor.

okasan,
ur appt with Dr. Adrian this morning or evening?
Nope...so far he never comment on my weight gain and he only took my weight once only...haha

okasan, oh ya, drypers ...how could i miss that out? slightly more absorbent better than Pet Pet but also more expensive. Can buy if u dont mind paying more.
btw, what was your pre-pregnancy wt? now i weigh myself on the weigh scale...it's a scary 60!!!

re: diapers
we will most likely use fitti pemium for nights and prob pet pet for day.
also, u can ask your relatives and friends to give u diapers as gifts if they say they donno what to get u. we did that for our son... so in the end got lots of free diapers to use

Good morning gals!

Hi Tinklebell,
How much weight are we suppose to put on in the third trimester? Is it 1kg per week? I also have weight gain problems since my first trimester... so my gynae suspect that I will get gestational diabetes.

I also do meet people leaning on the pole on the train and cannot hold properly. Usually it's the very young people, or old uncles...

Hi celeste blur,
You only gained 6kg rite? I already gained 6.5kg at 23 weeks. I dare not weigh on my weighing scale at home... :p Next week is my check-up, dunno how much I have gained this time... haha.. but my tummy getting bigger and bigger by the days now...

lyn, if i am not wrong, 1kg per week for 3rd tri is the norm for most pp. yes, i'm more worried abt the health problem that will come along. Previously, after 32 weeks, i simply grew and grew and grew (even though i didnt really eat much then).... to the extent that i have HPB which came with botherline case of pre-eclampsia... one of my legs swelled and hurt so badly that i had to walk with a limp and had to go for ultrasound of the leg to rule of Deep Vein Thrombosis.

celeste,

pampers premium series is the best lor.. the price tell it all liao... dun try the other one ok... it is plastic kind... a lot of people complain with cause rashes! I never use that for my boy before becos of all the bad review... my boy only use pampers premium, nepia and mamy poko. Never use other brands. I feel more at ease with these brands.

as for the cloth diaper, i also cant remember leh.... maybe u search for forum for comments... those mummy who use cloth diaper can advise much better

tinklebell,

i dun mind if people dun give up their seats... what i cant stand is the way they still push u and then if there is ever a seat they will try to rush and push u to reach it.... and i absolutely hate people leaning on the pole when the mrt is crowded... how to maintain balance lah.. so selfish.

tinklebell,

for me the water retention only came after i deliver my bb.... for more than 1 week, my legs swell so big like elephant!
its very uncomfortable and painful to walk... but my gynae told me must walk more ... and lift leg up on pillow when lie down to curb the water retention.. so i walk a lot (go shopping)...

i think today at 10pm Arts central showing supernanny... forgot what its abt but should be quite nice for parents and parents to be...

lyn,
I gained 6kg the last time i weigh on monday...today donno wat weight liowz...haha
But I was "meaty" to begin with, maybe got more fat storage thats y never gain so much? Hehe

poohy,
tat time at Taka fair i got a pack of Drypers....might get another pack of diapers from the Expo if its cheap
Okies...will not get the red color Pampers one...thanx for the advice

morning mummies ! it's so cute how our conversations change topic day to day !!! sometimes i feel like i know you all very well already ! haahaaa
anyhows, anyone going for the Isetan sale ? i feel very active this week, like must go shopping and walking !!
oh, someone also mentioned sld buy those button down type of pjs right ? for breastfeeding, esp in hospital. where are you getting yours from ? My friend said mothercare can get, but how much is it ?

poohy, we also tried red and orange color pampers... dont find it good... a bit flimsy... for the same price, i rather get pet pet or drypers.

on weight gain: my gynae does not seem too conerned abt weight gain. My sis put on 20 kg for her first kid, and gynae never say anything !!

can i ask what sort of bra you are wearing these days ? I got 3 new ones last week, but now they seem quite uncofrtable ... maybe i sld get the nursing type, it is softer right ? Cuz also, my nipples are itchy, so the seams on the bra rub against the nipple, making it worse ! sometimes can see skin peeling off ... a bit worried ...
bought the avent nipple cream on Sat but like got no difference, maybe will try medala if this does not get better ...

K_Ong,
Isetan one is private sale or open to public? Btw Isetan got bb stuffs? I always tot Isetan not much bb stuffs one....

As for button down pjs, i am planning to get them from the chinatown market there...I remember seeing it during CNY....those short sleeve 100% cotton with 3/4 shorts ones costs only around $12.90 if i'm not wrong
Quite cheap as compared to those that u see at dept stores and quality wise not bad

KOng, i know this shop called Isrinda or something like that sells button pyjamas and the price is quite reasonable. <$10 if i remember correctly. They have quite a few outlets in spore. I'm sure mothercare will have but mothercare's pricing is more on the expensive side. Anyway, if u are at home, i feel that it doesnt matter whether u wear button pyjamas or not when u bf. in hospitals, they should provide clothings right?

tinklebell,
3rd trimester will start from 28 weeks rite? If 1kg per week then, it gonna be another 10kg? faintz...
You mentioned about your legs swelling, is it due to water retention?

KOng,
I am too lazy to go for sales nowadays... :p I think the pyjamas, we can get from anywhere as long as we can fit it... dun have to be from those maternity shops cos the price will be on the high side there.

celeste blur,
It's private sale...

celeste_blur: go to www.isetan.com.sg
it's invite only, my friend can give me a coupon to enter.
but there is a flyer for little tots fair next week, u may be interested in some products there !

ok, i check out chinatown and isrida !

tinklebell: dunno lei ... i think hospital only give u the gown to deliver in !!! and it's the button behing type right ? i mean tie behind ...
i see my sis wearing her own gowns for her 2 pregnancy ... and decent looking ones la, cuz her friends all came to visit ! haahaa

lyn and K_Ong,
Hmmzz...its private sale ah, then i think i will skip this
Cos I think i might get some stuffs from the Expo fair this Sat then more or less my shopping list would be at least 80% complete then can wait till later stage then slowly buy the remaining items

k ong,

hehe i remember the gown at TMC given for delivery dun even have button behind wan leh
Its some form of tying... at least for TMC, we wear our own pyjamas or watever u want after delivery. I din buy pyjamas... i just get my shirt wore during maternity and a pants to wear. easy rite
ehehe after delivery our tummy still quite big wan... so might as well save money wear back the maternity shirt... can button down to bfg if want also
at home i wear tshirt and shorts..

Hi kk, I got heartpain too. Ever since first tri, not much of vomitting then, just bad heartpain. And the stomach acid that churns out always burn my throat...

Hi tinklebell, but you are only 60kg now! I'm a hefty 68kg already. Really no eye see! And wat? 1kg per week is normal for 3rd tri?! Wouldnt that be 12 kg in total for 12 weeks? 68 + 12 = 80kg?! OMG, really no eye see!

Hi K Ong, if you are staying near pasir ris dr 6, there's a shop here that sells the button pyjamas for $6.90. Long sleeve with long pants. I just bought one this morning. Stretchable material. Not too bad. I saw the mothercare one, if i remembered correctly, it costs over $40. Else you can try John Little, for long sleeve w long pants it's abt $21.90 Else you can go to the wet market where they sell clothes, can get cheap bargain too.

I heard from my sis that heartburn are caused by eating too much chilli ??... is it true ? She is warning me not to consume too much chilli. She said there is nothing much u can do till u deliver your baby

Re: weight gain.

Quite strange.
In the morning, I weight as 57.5kg
In the evening, I weight as 59.5kg
Imagine just a day, I can gain like 2kg ??

Hopefully, when seeing gynae tomorrow I can use his weighing machine as a gauge.

Hi okipoki,

Hmm, I dunno leh. I saw my fren wore the long pants pyjamas during her confinement. I think if you are going to sleep in air con room, it might be better since dress will ride up?

okipoki, ya ya .. i also noted... morning my weighing machine shows 58kg plus then at night 60kg!!! so we swell 2kg at the end of the day? so not only i have this prob ...***phew***

hidora,

I think at home with top/pants is ok but I doubt in hospitial will be convenient. Imagine u hv just given birth &amp; "down there" is still in pain u need to draw up/down ur pants for toilet. Hehehehe...

Ermm just my personal view lah

tinklebell,

Oohh I thought I am weird, I guess is norm then. Lucky !! I think the weight taken in the morning is much more accurate than evening.

Hi okipoki,

Hmm, make sense too... esp in the case of caesarian. Nvm, I can go grab one from the shop again.. Hehe.

lyn, my leg swelling was due to water retention. It appears to be genetics bec my cousins also have this problem when they are pregnant.

poohy, so u are the opp of me... my swelling disappeared few days after i give birth. Was also to wear normal shoes after 5 days.

KOng/ Poohy, so TMC doesnt provide proper clothes to wear after birth? ok, will put one set in my delivery bag. Seems like must pack a lot of things in the delivery bag leh

Hidora, i'm quite short lor so 60kg seems a lot for my height.

Anyone using Cordlife? yesterday i had a discussion with one of their reps. Seems like they have a talk next wed in Camdam. i'm quite keen to see their lab too but too bad hubby couldnt make it next wed... will prob go down sometime in Apr. They say once u sign up, they will provide u a collection kit. Supposed to bring the kit along when u deliver and give to gynae for the collection. If u have TMC FBI or SBI card, then u'r entitled to $50 discount for 9 years.

hidora,

yeah u are right, especially in cases like caesarian even worst. me too looking out, i think those pasa-malam have but abit childish type with pictures.

sugarbun, my SIL is passing me her sling.
she said cotton ones better than silk ones, as silk ones can slip off due to lack of friction.

I drink 4 l at nite, and wake up abt 2-3 times per nite.
used to it lor... luckily can sleep again after my toilet trips.

Lyn, hee hee.. ya lor, bb is big hor? i eat normal meals lei... but got small tea breaks in between here and there... sometimes supper, hence the weight gain of near to 8 kg now in week 27 4 days.

re cloth nappies: i got tollyjoy as hand me downs, but bought lucky baby and pigeon BN. 30 pcs in total.

re shaving: can try bikini wax?

i panda, i got my pp pram from bb hypermart. 2 mummies are organising a bulk purchase, if there are 3 parties interested, can get 20% off, which works out to be $455. if you want, tag on their purchase.
i secured 20% from bb hypermart on all my purchases - pp pram, infant car seat, diaper bag, Philips bb monitor.
cos i am a frequent customer there... hee hee...

tinklebell, have you tried sealer? my SIL swears by sealer. just got one pack NB to try. also, quite cheap.

Re: button front pj - do we need to get one pc or can two pc also work? i am thinking of getting a one pc button front, till abt knee length pj dress. but v hard to find lei...

Re sling:
can it be used on new borns? For indoors or outdoors usually? Actually i'm quite blurr (sorrie for my ignorance)... Duno what's the use of sling - izit for easy carrying of baby if arms too tired? Anybody can enlighten me?

Re : Sling
Yuppies, slings can be used for new borns...in fact i was told its quite gd...
...cos other bb carriers is more for when the bb's neck is stable probably around 3-4 mths bah....got frens using sling now they said its gd to "hide" when u are BF in public or nursing room...hehe
Will seek their opinions on silk or cotton sateen is better....cos got frens using either of these

And yuppies, its gd becos u free up both hands when using the sling, can carry stuffs or go shopping

tinklebell: not sure abt tmc, my sis delivered at MAH. But those ppl i visited so far seem to wear their own.

Yah, i think nightgown easier to put on, esp if tired after labour !!! (of course hope we all have easy and smooth delivery heehee)

heehee, finally, something to shop for mummy ! a nice nighgown !!!

celeste,
oh i c... Then better to get a 'stable' one. If two hands not carrying bb, then the sling has to be strong enough to support bb's weight rite? By the way, does the sling look similar to the 'carrier' type (like a "backpack", but it's used to carry bb infront)? Saw some in departmental stores, but mostly not cotton/silk ones...

Hi tinklebell, I'm also not tall, abt 1.6m only. Even before getting pregnant, I was already overweight..

Hi okipoki, childish design is ok mah since visitors will be looking at your newborn instead of you. Hehe.. I got a fren who even bought her cosmetic to the hospital thinking that she can dress up nice nice to meet us. In the end, she's too tired to do anything.

Hi Amy, for knee length buttoned pyjamas, you can try parkway parade if you stay near near. Got one shop on the second flr got sell. Abt $16.90 Design not too bad. Else John Little also hv. Unless you are talking abt those with button all the way till the hem, those I have not seen before yet.

hidora,
Do you stay at Pasir Ris too? The medicine hall at PR Dr 6 sells cheaper diapers and formula milk too.. I got my button down PJs at taka last Sat for about $20.. Big enough for big size me.. and very comfy..

Hidora, ya... i am looking for those dress pj, front button from top till the hem. i have one, which was a gift from a fren, cotton one, v good. thinking of getting another one. if cannot find one, maybe just wear a pj shirt. ha ha... then will tell my hb no visitors!

hi hidora,
Thanks for the link! Hehe... Hmmm, so actually sling not the same as bb carrier... sling softer &amp; can be used for NB... But looks abit difficult to put on tho... ;)

matched_gal,
Actually i tink most slings shld be stable....most imptly is u must noe how to use it in the right way then it wont "slip"
Sling does not look like carrier type....its more like those sarong sling? U seen ppl using sarong sling before?

Hehe, anyway hidora already posted the URL liowz...

K_Ong,
So seems like its better to get like 2 sets of pyjamas...one is dress one and one is shorts one?
I still prefer shorts but like u gals mentioned it seems gd to have a dress one too

hello ladies,
been busy this morning, finally find time to chat here.

so today we're chatting on slings and PJ? i'm looking ard for nice button-front PJs, either too expensive or quite expensive. didnt want long sleeves... scared will be very warm.

hidora, this is the sling i have but ... i find it very difficult to use leh. there is a technique to use it gracefully. If not, it looks like those sarongs those indonesian ladies carry.

about pyjamas:
i still sourcing around for gown-like ones leh. Bought one fr mothercare previously, but it was quite expensive (ard $40)...

the antenatal class at Mt A recommended to pack/prepare at least 2 nighties to wear when staying in hosp. If not enough, can always ask hubby to go back and get...

Hi yve,

Yup, me staying at pasir ris, near downtown east. And ya, I was checking the price for confinement items with that medical hall, it's much cheaper than some other medical halls. The guy told me for tonics and bathing herbs, about $100. I was reading other forums where the price is as steep as 300. Thou I'm not sure of the quantity lah. Cos for that $300, that person buys things by kg. Eg, tang gui 1kg, etc

Hi Amy,

Hee, that I cant help you. But nvm, good chance to exercise while hunting for it.

Hi okipoki,

I cant remember the name of the shop leh.. erm.. pregnant woman got bad memory.. Hee.. But if you go in from the main entrance, it's at the left side of the mall. It's a lingerie shop actually, the window display always got sexy bras and panties. But when you go inside, you realized they also got those not sexy one.

Hi matched gal,

Ya, looks difficult to put on leh. Think must have experience. I actually got a carrier from my fren, but I think a sling is more convenient. I saw my fren using it to cover herself and baby and bf in the restuarant during a gathering. And it seems rather discreet. But strangly, she only uses it for bfing.. Other times, she uses the stroller instead, even when bb is less than 3 mths old. I think if we are not confident in using it the right way, we wun dare to carry baby around in it.

Hi celeste,

Good excuse to go shopping mah. Can get a dress one, then a shorts one, then a pants one.. Hehe.. we must walk more, so it's a good chance here.

dear mothers

I just joined this forum not long ago. My baby also due in June this year. is it ok if I join you gals now, though so late..
;)