(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi okipoki,
Baby oil shld be ok. I even tried to use my facial cleansing oil to rub but hor no use lor :p
Heard some pple comment that it will goes off aft giving birth.

Re : Cleaning milk bottles
Anyone knows if we can use normal dishwashing liquid like Mama Lemon to clean baby's milk bottles? Or must buy things like those Pigeon bottle cleaner liquid?

kk,
u teach in a girl's sch? Ur students really very cute....will still put their hands on ur tummy...haha

sugarbun,
I am planning to use sling...got 2 frens using slings now telling me its gd and very convenient
But must ask them to teach me how to use it...haha

poohy,
Nepia diapers are gd? Where's the place where we can buy the diapers? And they even do delivery? Any delivery charges involved? Thanks

hi celeste,
pigeon bottle wash is 'edible' in a way, so in case we didnt do a good job is washing the detergent away, it's still safe for babies.

MTBs, correct me if i'm wrong.

tinklebelle/okipoki: heehee, my waistline only 1" less than yours la ... also, maybe cuz i wear dark colours so look smaller lorr !!!
anyhows, i think this week got growth spurt, see red marks ard the tummy already ... better start applying stretch mark cream.

Forgot to buy Mustela yesterday, cuz Robinsons had 20% ... getting very blur and forgettful these days ...

The dark line: dont worry, it will disappear one ... my sis disappeared after her first pregnancy, then appeared again in 2nd pregnancy ... a bit funny right? one dark line running down your tummy ...
Also, i read somewhere, need to shave pubic area, in case they need to cut you ...
so do you have to shave in preparation ??

poohy, me too... survived on the supernatural childbirth book for my fertility treatments.
We conceived on our first try of SO IUI.
Been praying for bb's health everyday, and our Lord has kept him safe and sound.

God is good... blessed us with such a wonderful blessing, and I have faith He will see me through a supernatural delivery. And yes... my colleague went thru the stitching with no painkillers too...

hi mspiggy,
u too? Yah, i was tinking, bb still need to grow for 3 months - if i eat less, scared not enough nutrients for bb growth leh... But on the other hand, i've switched to eating beehoon this week instead of rice - hopefully don't feel so bloated liaoz...

hi poohy,
3rd trimester i'm expecting it to feel more & more cramped inside. Am wondering if small meals might help, but duno wat to eat for small meals leh...

MOAP, the consultations usually chop chop hor...hmmm... i donno if 1330g is considered big or small... i thought normally <1kg at 26wks?

celeste, i think can use mama lemon... last time i also used that for my son... just gotta rinse properly.

celeste,

me using baby milk bottle cleaner... its milder leh. Still using it now... at first i use pigeon bottle cleaners... but i find it too diluted and finish too fast liao.. especially in the first 1-2 months, u washed milk bottle every 1-2 hours.. can imagine how fast the cleaner will go... so i switched to use tollyjoy which is cheaper and not so dilute and can use longer hehee.. works well and i like the smell. Pureen one not bad also cheapest i think.

for washing bb clothes, also use cleaner meant for bb... generally to prevent allergy from harsh chemical used in our normal cleaner ... we still use it now...

mspiggy..

hmm maybe its bb pushing against your gastric .. hehe
me too feel bloated ... and sometimes feel like sitting straight is very tough .. very uncomfortable cos tummy big mah... but still gotta endure cos i gotta feed my boy his milk every night.. and he will rest on my lap/tummy area... worst thing is he drink so slowly ..sigh hehee

Anyone intrested to share to buy the nepia newborn pampers a not... wanted to shared is because last week i just order 2 's' ans 2'l' never reliased that they have newborn... i staying in hougang.. who want to share..

okipoki, you can slip the milk bag cover over the pump and click on the pump. it fits nicely, just as it fits the disposable bottle holder.

re: bird nest - i have been taking two bowls every week. hope it is ok.

matched girl, me too... these few weeks, i've had indigestion, even when i drink water....

sugarbun, i intend to use the sling for bb. heard it's better than the bb carrier.

Re : Cleaning milk bottles

Mrs Wong said can use Mama Lemon to clean baby's milk bottles. But i got pigeon, as it's made of some vegetable substance, and is edible.

re: nepia

celeste.. no delivery charges
their number is 62262650 .. give them abt 2 days for delivery
if wanna buy retail, can go ntuc for bigger sizes like m, l, xl etc ... if want NB or S size .. gotta go those japanese supermarket like seiyu

amy,

ya i conceived my boy thru first try of so-iui too last year after we lost our first bb which we conceived after 1.5 years on clomid and metformin. God is good indeed... we went from feeling hopeless to having faith in Him again and again for these miracles...

matched gal,

my hb told me his colleague eat those small calcium cracker ... seems to help with bloatedness

moap,

why dun u buy 4 packs of newborn instead ? should be able to finish mah ? else u can just sell it off .. $14 is a good price
Me going to buy 2 box of newborn and thinking of buying 2 boxes of S. but worried later my house becomes warehouse cos i like to buy things in bulk and now my house is full of such boxes. hehee

Re: Cleaning Milk Bottles
Hmmzz...if can use Mama Lemon, then i tink i keep to that...cos i think its troublesome to buy the bottle cleaner specially for cleaning milk bottles.
So it also means all those teats, pump accessories we also use Mama Lemon to clean also can?

Re: Cloth Diapers and Nappy Liners
Which brand is better? Cos I saw got Pureen, TollyJoy, Pigeon etc. Wondering which one to get cos i might juz get them from the Expo fair this week

poohy,
For bb clothes all these i will get the bb detergent....is pigeon powder detergent is better?

celest,

better do some research on the cloth diaper ok.. i think if i din remember wrongly tollyjoy like no good leh .... causes lots of linxes to form! and then all the clothes got white linx
my memory quite bad and i dun really use cloth diaper so cant remember abt my previous research but i think some brand not that good...

i cant remember which detergent i used.. shd be pigeon i think
Normally my hubby is the one who got all these grocery and then do the washing... so i dun really remember...

poohy,

hahah ur hse become warehouse.... then when your warehse having sale must let me knw leh...i scared my hubby nag and nag leh if i buy 4 packs of it..i think 2 pack should be enough coz my gal use 2 pack of pampers newborn then after full month switch to size 'S' pampers cotton care...so i tot maybe can share with others mummies lor.

Today finally got a man gave up his seat to me.... those ugly singaporean will look at me as if i am fat till my tummy is big..

MOAP, my bb was 730g at 24 weeks. Will be seeing gynae next week (28 weeks). I expect his weight will increase to be more than 1 kg then.

diapers: i only got one pack (24 pcs) sealer for bb. should be enough hor, given i will be using cloth nappies in the day.

MOAP,

ya ya my boy birthday coming!!! yours leh?? i am busy planning his birthday party stuff... thinking of buying him a 3D cake leh. His dad and me everyday busy going through his thousands of photos taken so far to do a 1 year special dvd album for him so that we can screen on his birthday party... I am trying to print out my 1.5 year old blog into a book to commemorate also.... how r u going to celebrate your girl's birthday ?? I saw on one of the forumer's site that she had printed a journal for her boy's birthday and its very nicely done .. so i may wanna do that too... u may wanna consider www.pixart.com.my

me doing ok... heartburn too!!!!! and braxton hicks contraction like nobody biz as usual. i feel so sleepy most of the time dunno why

MOAP,

u so funny hehehee.. throughout my 2 pregnancy so far, no one ever give up their seats for me... i am very lucky if they dun push me... some even put their body on the handle bar and i cant even hold on to the bar properly...

amy,

u going to use cloth diaper ? hmm that's good... can save alot of money!!!! hehehe.. have u consider using bumwear or those kind of cloth diaper? I wanna use it this time for my girl leh but my hb dun want... cos later my mum taking care of my 15mth old boy and then my newborn girl.. still gotta wash cloth diaper .. she will die man hehehee... so i gotta buy more disposable diaper when its cheap... cos she use diaper like nobody business :p

amy,
me been feeling v thirsty though drink too much and feel bloated.... yikes. But important to drink sufficient water, i read somewhere.

mother of a princess,
wat does heartburn feel like? Is it due to eating too big meals?

poohy,
calcium crackers, hehe. Sounds yummy. ;)

MOAP, 1330g at 26 weeks seemed a little big to me. Did your gynae plot the percentile of your bb? My bb is considered large at 20 and 24 weeks. Will see how he goes in 28 weeks. That's why i am now trying (hard) to control my diet...

Poohy,

me too keep getting BH contraction...i think it is normal for second pregnacy lor...i will be celebrating my gal birthday this weekend as her actual day falls on weekday... i bought a cake from creative but not 3D cake ...i order some coin tin and chocolate with my gal pics and some wording on the wrapper for the guests.. and bought some party gift for the kids lor.. will have buffet cum bbq.

poohy, wa.. nobody give up seats for you? so bad... i get offers for seats on mrts and buses.
maybe they see my tummy v big...

yes, will be using cloth diaper. but i do not intend to use the covers... else will defeat the purpose of using a cloth diaper (more air circulation without the cover). also, will be getting a maid, so no need to worry abt changing and washing diapers. in fact, the more the merrier!

matched gal.. me too, drink alot of water... i take 4 litres every night... and this does not include my water intake during the day...scary hor?

MOAP,

ya think bb more than 1kg at this moment a bit big... maybe u confirm with your gynae again ... maybe hear wrongly... but then hard to say cos sometime bb trying to gain more weight now and later dun put on so much ...

Poohy,

For bb gals better use cloth napkin..won't get infection so easy. then after use just throw it into the washing machine will do.

matched_gal,
heart burn ...like some buring sensation rushing up to ur chest n throat very uncomfortable want. i aready cut down my food intake into small portion but still the same.

CelestBlur and Amy,
Hav u gals bot the sling? I read fr forum there are available from Mom-In-Mind and Bayb supplies. Bayb one got padding but more ex.

mother of a princess,
oh i c... tink i experienced b4. Tink i read b4 it's a common experience in pregnancy... Maybe eating slowly and wear looser clothing, may help?

matched_gal,

Do watever also won't help... must wait till bb cum out that day then will help....

sugarbun,

i would suggest to you MIM silk sling is better coz i having it mah...very very much cooling then bayb sling.
and bayb sling is very ex..

Hi mother of a princess,
Thanks for ur suggestion. Will see whether MIM got special offer during the baby fair this Fri

matched_gal and Amy,
I also feel vry thirsty and hubby is forcing me to drink a lot of water

Wow, amy u drink 4l at nite, u sure? how many time did u wake up midnite to clear ur bladder?

Hi Amy,
Wah.. You really drink lots of water... I usually drink in the morning. Once awake, will be at least 2 litres already... each day then got 4 litres.
Wah.. Your baby is big.. What do you eat normally?
Which type of cloth diaper will you be using?

Hi poohy,
Does your tummy looks big now? Most of the time, some kind souls will offer me their seats, but not the very young people or students. At times, I will have to stand. I wonder if they still teach "dao de jiao yu" in school nowadays...

I ordered one Shichida English book from my friend whose baby is going to Shichida classes weekly. Yet to get from him. Oh Tony Buzan... Ok I will look out for Tony Buzan... Thank you..
Oops.. What is visual training? Sorry.. I a bit mountain tortoise... :p
I got the book on "tai jiao" by Shichida. I finished reading once already.. Will read again and highlight what I should do. In the book, also teaches about birthing. They believe in birthing is very important.. So I am hoping for natural birth. I might not be able to take epidural, so I am asking baby to use his own strength to come out during birth and dun let mummy in pain for too long... kekeke... Got a story in that book said that work. Fingers crossed...
How to emphasize on physical training once born? Is standing and sitting considered physical training? How many flashcards to use for newborn? Does it gotta be different ones everyday?
I very "kan cheong" on the education part than buying his clothes, diapers, etc...

Hi KOng,
I wonder how to shave on our own with the big big tummy before delivery... lol...

Hmm, my gynae asked me to go on a diet too. At 24 wks, baby's weight was 741g. She said the correct weight shld be 600g. I'm trying hard to control my diet, but easier said than done. Asked me eat whole meal bread (2 slices) in the morning. Afternoon drink soupy stuff or soup noodle etc. At nite eat lesser too. Eat more protein and less carbo. And I thought I no longer have to go on a diet just for these 9 mths! Argh...

And I only have 4 more kgs to go before I reached my maximum weight gain. I put on 3 kgs 2 months back, another 3 kg last mth. Got the stare from my gynae when I went to see her last Sat.

Erm.. how many litres of water must we drink a day?

And which maternity pad is good? Any recommandation?

And which brand of diapers is good for newborn, any difference bwt day and night?

Hi Hidora,

For breakfast, i really eat little because it has been a habit for me to eat not so much for breakfast else i feel uncomfortable. For lunch, due to work nature, can't really eat much. For dinner, i can't control hahahaa.. sometimes will tend to overeat. That has been my habit too!

For diapers, a trainee teacher (who had three kids at my age!!) told me to get pampers. She say it is the best and also mention not to save on diapers. Those cheaper brands may cause rashes, etc. The bb fair at expo is coming and she advised me to get diapers from there, cheaper by $3-4 at least.

For maternity pad, i just bought Mdm Pureen from kiddy palace. Dunno good or not.. i only know its the cheapest there heeee... anyway another brand sold there is Tena, which is more expensive. I guess it should be better.

For water, normal intake for me. I am no good in drinking water. ANother colleague of mine didn't drink much water during her pregnancy and it was ok for her. She took all kinds of beverages other than water hahaha.. cos she found water tasteless. She also took lots of junk like gassy drinks, tea etc.

Hi Mother of princess,

I suffer from serious heartpain too. It is really no joke, i feel so uncomfortable until i can lose my voice. Moreover i have to project my voice everyday at my students. Really not easy. ANd sometimes it is so "spicy" till the throat went dry and lead to temporary coughing

Ya, cutting down into small portions of food also no help for me. Recently night times no more heartpain for me. I wonder why.

MOAP, i think maybe the measurement was not correctly taken or did he mention that your EDD is earlier based on the detailed test done?
BTW, do u have difficulty using the MIM sling? i find it hard to use bec cant seem to get the right technique after many attempts.

Poohy, you'r right. nowadays pp dont willingly give up seats to pregnant women. Last fri i took the MRT and no one gave up their seat to me... worse still push here and there
somemore one guy leaned onto the pole and i couldnt hold it properly. Even on sat when i took the bus back fr town, the bus driver just drove off before i could hold on to the railings. my son was also not holding on to anything and i actually screamed (heee...quite pai seh)... hiaz... i just wondering what would have happened if both of us have fallen down.

re: weight gain
aiyo! last nite before i slept, i weighed myself ... wah piang...gain 10kg
****faint**** so fat! to think that just 1-2 weeks ago i gained 8kg. i think i better eat less or i will break my 20kg record this time.

kk, i also used Mdm Pureen in my previous pregnancy... quite ok lah. it seems slightly longer and wider than the kotex brand the hospital provided. But one thing i dont like abt these maternity pads is that they dont have "wings" and sometimes causes the underwear to stain. I'll prob buy one pack of maternity pad and use the normal heavy flow pad after finishing the maternity pads.

re: diapers
after trying out so many brands on diapers on my son, this is my feedback.
1) Pampers premium: very absorbent, can last thru the night but very expensive
2) Mummy Poko : very absorbent, can last thru the night, not as expensive as PP but a bit thick
3) Fitty Premium : slightly less absorbent that MP, most of the time can last thru the night. Good value for money
4) Pet Pet: good for day use but cannot last thru the night. cooling and cheap.
5) NTUC brand : a bit tough , cloth based so still ok, good value for money.

Morning ladies

Re: Diapers
Btw, i saw Pampers got 2 types...one is the premium (cotton care?) and another one in the red packaging....the red packaging one is much cheaper....i saw it at Kiddy Palace...S size selling at $11.90 for 48pcs...the cotton care one is really exp...tink its $20+ per pack?
Actually which one is better?

Re: Weight gain
I think i also going uphill very fast! Last nite for dinner alone...i took the western set pork chop, 5 sticks of satay + ketupat and 4 chwee kuehs!! Arrghh....scarly today gynae visit he say i put on a lot....*faint*

poohy,
Cos when i look at the cloth nappies...its like the holes in some are bigger and some are very small...does tat mean bigger ones r better? Cos supposed to have more ventilation...haha

MOAP,
ur bb does seem big at 26+wks 1330gram, cos i always tot 1330gram the bb shld be arnd 30 weeks liowz?

sugarbun,
I havent bought the sling yet.....will prob see if can manage to have any hand-me-downs...haha...if dont have will prob buy closer to my EDD

But I read b4 that MIM silk sling is better...cos not so hot?

tinklebell,
So far this week quite lucky...got twice got ppl let me have the mrt seats...but other times i still stand lor....haha

celeste,
u means Dr Adrian will comment on your weight gain? since day 1 to now, he never make any comment abt my weight gain although I gain a lot leh...now gain abt 10+ kg liao....