(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hi tinklebell,
you're better than me... i bought 2 bags only

Just a check with u. Do we really need to get those avent bottle meant to store the milk storage bag ?? Erhmm u gers know what I meant. Hehe !!

hello tinkerbell,
i also kenna backache in the office and shift here & there in my seat. That is until 1 or 2 wks back when i bought a cushion to put at my back. Now better oreadi. Maybe u shd try dat...

hi angeline,
ur rashes (appearance) sound like mine leh. Yah, better to see gynae / GP for them to prescribe cream for you. Mine is quite ok after a few times i put the cream on (went to c GP first)... I stopped my stretchmark cream for a while (cos didn't want to 'mix up' medication cream)...

hi carebear,
my bellybutton never 'pop' leh... it looks like it's going to 'close up' soon... Hmmm... And the skin beside the belly button looks kinda 'loose'. Wonder if my whole tummy skin will 'loosen' after delivery. Yikes, can't imagine...

okipoki
my frd was using, she told me dont need to. can just transfer easily into the bag, and pour into milk bottle when baby needs to drink.

tinklebell,
I very sad oledi....cos i kept hoping i wont exceed 10kg...but judging from the weight gain for past few weeks dont tink i can keep to it...i give myself 12kg bah....*sigh*
I also feel that its getting quite uncomfy to sit down in office especially if i am wearing pants although its maternity pants, but i find that dresses are still more comfy

Yuppies, tomolos appt with Dr. Adrian
u remembered correctly this time...hehe

okasan,
yuppies...visiting Dr. Adrian tomolos evening

okasan and tinklebell,
at least u gals got a printout....he never gave me any printout for the past 2 visits....also dont really know what he is scanning
kao_angry.gif

I hope this time round he gives me a printout and a nice and clear one...*sigh*

mspiggy,
I actually asked the Avent promoter at the Taka bb fair whether Avent going to stop producing the milk bag...but she told me the UK side always like tat...sometimes say wanna stop production then later they will decide to continue again...so its unconfirmed whether they will stop producing the milk bags
but i bought 3 boxes juz in case ;)

okipoki,
I know which one u mean, i saw tat at the Taka bb fair...u put the milk bag into the storage bottle and attach the bottle to the Avent pump so that the milk is pumped directly into the milk bag rite?

But the lady told me can also pump into Avent bottle and transfer into the milk bag although a bit more troublesome...but i shld be using this method though

celest,
realli? my frd been searching for them for quite long. she actually placed orders from web before. let's hope it will stay... else very ma fan!

mspiggy/celesteblur,

so basically if we are not using "that bottle" we can use any avent milk bottle to do the transfer. If we want to feed the BB then we transfer back is it ?? Thanks for the clarification.

Gers,
My bellybutton also never pop up.. Infact, is flatten.. Haha btw, mine kinda darken at that area leh.

okipoki,
u referring to the "dark line" on tummy? Or?? Me armpit & breasts have slightly 'dark' areas too... duno if they will go away after delivery...

hi lyn,

i read some of shichida's book in the library.. its mostly translated by taiwanese. Can buy the english version direct from japan but must sign some non resale agreement. anyway, most of his book do not detail the method used.

i practice some of shichida's method too.. but some of his method are derived from GD and many other methods like tony buzan's mind mapping. Some parents whose kids are in shichida class recommend tony buzan's book brain child to get a better understanding of the right brain training, multiple intelligence approach. I do some of each as I have time and my boy shows interest.

Besides flashing cards, I do show my boy photographic memory cards too... eye training, and soon i will be adding sawako foreign language cartoon liao. At times I will also play alphawave relaxation cd. But now am way too busy just doing my own other bits and chinese cards...

when my boy is older, i will do memory linking cards with him too.

though i have the original gdbaby enhanced kits, i still love to do my own so that I can show my boy whatever i feel like showing ... besides, the cards in the kit will never be enough if u r serious abt this method... its just the beginning to give u time to prepare your own.

to know more abt shichida method, can also read on the wink kit from usa ... the producer used to be a master shichida disciple and she develop the dvd to help in practicing these methods. Alternatively talk to other experienced parents who are serious abt shichida method ... they will have a lot to share on. I learnt alot from them cos my son is not attending shichida class... i find it more cost effective to train him myself. There are some fundamental difference in shichida method and GD method... though they are some similarity too.

ya i am going to start visual training once my bb is out. This should take abt 1mth plus. Then it will be maths dots. I am planning to start with maths dots to gauge her receptivity and visual ability first then follow by english after 1-2 week... then chinese after 1-2 week. Wont start all at once.. dun want her to feel too overwhelmed.. and easier for me to track. Btw, do note that for GD, physical training is the cornerstone ... must emphasize on physical training like crawling once they are borned
We can use any words from 0-3 months... but mostly start with frequently used words for baby... like mummy, daddy, milk etc. The main thing is to make sure the words are BIG enough.

Matchedgal,
Not the dark line (linea negra).. Infact, my dark line is not very obvious. To others, they might thought that I didnt clean my belly button. Hahaha...

opps, okipoki, $13.90 is it? i must have mixed the prices all up... lousy memory these days

matchedgal/ okipoki, the dark lines dont seem to fade after pregnancy leh. That's why i dont even dare to wear clothes that reveal tummy after 1st preg ...quite malu

celeste, i think your wt gain is very good already.... hee hee i dont think i can achieve the 12kg target... i give myself 15 lah
later hope to lose all bec i still got unlost fats of 3kg fr 1st pregnancy! pp who bf for at least 6 mths tell me it's the best mtd to lose wt.

Re: Baby Fest @ Expo
Feel like applying half day leave on Fri to the fair, crazy hor?

Mispiggy,
Re: no. of milk bottle to buy.
Are you gg to buy some other things like steriliser or breast pump, usually those item are packaged wth some free bottles. If you are on BF, perhaps you need to have some extra bottles for expressing the milk. Your milk supply might be increase from time to time even though u let ur BB latch on, in between the feeding time, u might need to express it as well to avoid engorgement. If you intend to freeze the milk, u can use the milk storage bag which Taka is having a good price now @ 20% lower compared to the market. Think 2 package are more than enuf. I oso get 2 boxes but wth no discount
FYI, My sis BF her dd for 1.5 yrs and she only used 1 package.

K Ong,
i am thinking to buy the lo hang ka concentrated bird nest to eat as well. Dun know it is useful for BB or not?

I went to Robinsons yest too, managed to get the convertible car seat for new born up to 4.5 yrs old. So happy to get it caused i aimed for quite some time and some more got 20% disc and 5% rebate, i save a total of $100. Yest sales is definitely worth to 'cheong' down :p

CK Tang also has the milk bag wth 20% off, but the sales end last sun. I was there on last Sun and the sales person told me.

Lyn,
U really a good mummy hor, read so much books on how to teach ur BB, think I really need to start as well

Tinkerbell and Matched gal,
I oso hav backache, but it happened on my right. Maybe i used to carry my bag on right shoulder that why the old pain come back
Think I might need a good massage on my back liao. In fact, feel that the massage that hubby learn from the antenatal class is vry useful ler...can ease my pain. Maybe u gals shld try it out as well

Re: About the hollow milk bottle that hold the milk bag.
It's quite useful lor. I hav one as my sis pass down to me. I scared the milk will be contaminated when we transfer the milk from bottle to milk bag

Hi Celest_Blur,
Perhaps u inform Dr.Adrian that u want to hav the photo printout before the scan. Ask him to give u a nice one?

Anyone started to read story book for your baby? I only tried for few time. There is one time my hubby read till i fall asleep...hahaha

Anyone experience wth pimples breakout? Strange ler, I hav it on my back and the top of my tummy got a few too...

okipoki,
hehehe, i tink maybe different people got 'dark' areas at different parts of the body. Duno if it's due to our hormone changes...

tinkerbell,
arh, never go away after preggie? haiz... like dat next time hv to throw away some of my clothes liaoz...

matchgal, donno leh.. sadly mine didnt go away ... i think i must have overstretched myself in my first preg .. hehe ..that time i gained 20KG!

hi sugarbun,
yah, me got shoulderache too. I try to rotate between right & left shoulder for carrying handbag nowadayz... Else right shoulder veri 'siong', hehe ;p The antenatal class massages do help
Juz dat my hubby s'times no time to do back massage for me leh...

RE: Avent milk bag
I bought the Avent milk bag for $13.20 per bag from Taka baby fair.

Hi sugarbun,
I'm getting hand me down sterlizer and manual pump from SIL. Hence need to get bottles. Unless my baby is co-operative to latch on, else we meed more bottles right?

Celeste/ Okasan, maybe 5-6mths is difficult for the machine to take the whole body of the bb already, that's why he only gives us the limbs as souvenir. kekeke
anyway, i feel that those pics that come out of the machine is also quite blur.

tinklebell,

u gained 20kg in your first pregnancy ah ? That's a lot ? din your gynae raise any objections ?
I gained abt 11-12 kg in my first pregnancy. I lost most of it within 1 month. By the time I was back at work after 3 months, I lose everything and was lighter than before by 1 kg. The key is just not to eat too much lor hehee.. I bfg my boy for 1 month plus only...

this time ... i eat more!!
I already gained 5 kg so far liao...3rd trimester will see a fast increase in weight normally... i feel so scared that my bb will be very big sized and i cant lose my weight.. cos i eat too much junk food and lots of rice... i am a rice person... eat very little other stuff but rice must be a lot then can! hehehe.. Just yesterday i ate 1 entire big packet of calbee prawn cracker plus half a packet of twistee! imagine how guilty i felt right after eating them!

tinklebell,

i think they can actually zoom out rite to see the entire body of bb leh... anyway at least your gynae give u a printout ... mine din give me any printout of the scan for 2 months already
I dun have a decent pic of my bb at all so far and its all very blur. Last visit even better... din even do ultrasound scan... just talking abt it make my blood boils liao. This coming one, I am going to demand one even before start scanning.

okipoki,
I also hav dark area lor, think hav to use 'chlorox' to whiten it next time :p

matchedgal,
got to ask my hubby to carry the handbag for me when he is ard :p
My hubby not everytime massage to me ler, maybe once in a week
The pillow placed on the chair doesnt help me at all

Joy, the bb safe mattress I got cost $169. got a 20% discount plus 5% rebate from the Robinsons sale last night. Also got two bbsafe cib bedsheets as well as mustella shampoo foam for NB, relaxing bath, as well as massage oil. Very happy with my purchases.

I_panda, my pp pram cost $455 (20% discount) for 2006 series. I am taking the red system. But hubby also interested in the black one.

Thanks for the info on the itch. Just got some cetaphil lotion to sooth my itch on my tummy and legs. Rashes marks everywhere...

Carebear, my bb also on the bigger side. Also worried that bb will grow too big. Now gotta control my diet. Now I'm 27 weeks 3 days, put on near to 8 kg.
I am going for natural birth w/o epi... maybe gotta start my preparation now... eat less, exercise more...

Okasan, no worries. I forgot to bring my vouchers yesterday... I have $80 in vouchers, maybe will see when I can use them.

Celeste, ha ha... luckily I arrived at 6.15, was in the queue... pop up to bb dept and "chop" the mattress. Only saw 3 left when I was there. Another daddy also "chop" one mattress.

Re: pumping milk

Can also pump st into avent milk bag, attached within the avent pump. More convenient, can store st away. No need to transfer from pump to bag.

Tinklebell, if you are not feeling well, I suggest you dun go to Changmai, since you will be going to Korea. When I was in BKK, walked abit, tummy hard, like carrying a rock. Need to go back to hotel to rest. Slept alot. Hubby went out at night by himself to night markets and had dinner himself.

K ong, was at Robinsons yesterday, they have heaps of avent milk bag on the lower shelf. $16.50 for the bags (before discount). The milk bags at taka selling for $13.20. Spoke with staff from Avent Cannon, they also mentioned this will be the last batch of their milk bag, as production has ceased. If you go to the website, you will no longer find milk bags as one of the listed products. Hence, maybe you should get enough for your breastfeeding needs, just in case.

Okipoki, you meant the avent disposable bottle holder? I got two of those, good for traveling, put milk bag in, can drink direct from the bottle. No need to sterilize the bottles. Those on sale at taka are also limited stock, as you can see, they no longer come in the original boxes. However, if you are at home, just snip off the bag from the bottom and transfer into milk bottles to feed.

Poohy: u mean we put on more in last tri ???!
oh dear ... haahaaa, i hope to maintain my weight gain ...
4 - 5 mth: i put on 6 kg !!!
then 5-6 mth :abt 2 kg ...

Hi mispiggy,
Ya, in that case u will need more bottles. My sis passed me all the milk bottles that she used to express breast milk.

k ong,

i dunno leh but i tend to have more weight gain in the last trimester ... bb fast gaining weight mah
Hopefully all the weight gain was to my bb...

i find those avent bottles very good for storing milk for 24 hour consumption... i got quite a lot of them
If you are not going to freeze the milk for longer term consumption, for the first 1-2 months prob dun need milk bag at all. When I was bfg my boy previously, i din use milk bag in the first month... cos i throw them away if he dun consume after 24 hours.

re: bbsafe mattress

if there are quite a number of you who wanted to buy this bbsafe mattress, its possible to contact the supplier for a bulk purchase discount...
There was one such bulk purchase few months back...

Thanks Amy. $169 - is that the 52' x 28' one ? Am eyeing the 50' x 28' which is $159.

Did my gestational diabetes test today and so glad everything is clear. So after that decided to go and shop for baby stuff. Bought some rompers/tops & a nappy changing mattress from Mothercare. 10% discount if you have TMC FBI Card. Also TMC has Desitin Creamy on sale $18 for 2 tubes 2oz for TMC Card.

For those who have used Pampers Premium - is it necessary to use the new born type or can get the Small size ? TMC also having sale for both.

I bought Nuk bottles - all my friends says it's closest thing to the nipple. Got a big and small. And also got 3 free avent bottles with the sterlizer so wont be buying anymore until I know which one baby prefers.

Amy : arrghhh, i didnt see any milk bags !!!
i tot i saw one, but it was for like a sleeve to feed the baby ... *sigh*
maybe i cldn't bend down to check out the products on the lower shelf ... :p heeheee

besides, my hubby was impatient, and just wanted to place order for the cot and go for dinner. Were u at the somerset outlet ?? i was there at abt 7 plus ...

joy,

think at first bb sure will use the newborn size for pampers premium... at least first week. Subsequently depends on the growth rate of your baby. My boy wears newborn pp for 1 month... and then i switch him to newborn nepia for 2 months... he only change to S size when he was 3 months plus... small buttock lah hehee... even now as he is turning 1 year old, he is still using nepia M size only
Me going to buy 2 boxes (8 packet of 60 pcs) of newborn nepia for my coming bb ... they are having a $14 per packet sale now ..
Nepia is as good as pampers premium in my opinion.... its cottony and feels very comfy...

forgot to add, the diaper can keep for 1-2 years safely... so no harm buying some now if got sale
Pampers premium is really exp especially the newborn... so if got sale, good to stock up. At first bb may poo and pee more becos taking breastmilk mah..

Poohy, yes my ex-gynae commented that i grew into a big elephant! **paiseh*** I gained a lot after the 32 weeks bec of v bad water retention. (was like 1 kg per week!) my legs literally doubled in size! After birth, i lost only 5kg but within 1 week, i lost the other 5kg. then after all the dieting and exercise, i lost total of 17kg... remaining 3kg is boy's gift to me lor. kekeke

ur gynae didnt give u any pics? oh yes i rem u mentioned that he just uses a doppler and didnt even scan right? hmmm.... how come?

i also like to eat junk food...bought 2 bars of calbury chocolates fr watsons last week. so fattening but somehow i got craving for that lor. now, i dont really like to eat rice... usually dinner i eat only half a bowl of rice and i'm full. in fact, just looking at the rice makes me full. if i eat too much rice, i feel so bloated and cant sit properly after that.

Amy, i'll see abt it first. i am still ok with walking but not sitting down. my backache comes if i sit for too long or if i sit down after a meal. usually i feel better normally after a walk or doing some housework. Strange right?

U going w/o epi? brave girl... u attended the hypnobirthing sessions. my gf recommended. she says very effective.

KOng, you look slim already despite being pregnant... **envy envy**...

re: avent milk bags
BTW, do we need to buy the clips for the milk bag?

Joy - yes, i got the 52 x 28 mattress.

re: bbsafe mattress

there will be a 20% if you buy at least 5 pcs of the same item. interested mummies can consider organising a bulk purchase. just that delivery will be a hassle.

k ong, i was at the centrepoint outlet.
was there between 6 - 6.45 pm. had to rush off for my antenatal talk.

tinklebell, hee hee... yes, will give total natural birth a try. am also reading up on supernatural childbirth. i passed my colleague a book on this, and she gave birth to her first bb w/o epi, w/o gas, in 2 hrs, induced. and she has a very low pain threshold... she tears when given injections...

Thanks Poohy ! TMC selling NB Pampers $12.5 for 36. How much is Nepia and can only order through the agent right ?

Tinklebell - I have been looking for clips for the avent milk bags as well. Cant find avent ones. Wonder if we can just tie it with normal clips ?

amy,

hey me too survive on the book supernatural childbirth. Its a very very good book. I used to read it when i was going thru my previous m/c, fertility treatment and just 1 week before my boy's birth. I was completely basing on faith for my first birth. I din go for hynobirthing or such sessions but the book helps a big deal in my faith building to trust God for it. I think basically u gotta be determined and persistent. I din use any epi or watever pain control for my boy's birth... all natural ... my gynae din even give me any pain control when he do the stitching! i wonder whether that is the norm. Anyway, it was such huge satisfaction right after the birth... i feel like i never done something more satisfying than this. I really hope to go thru the same natural childbirth again so must pray and do exercise hopefully my girl turn head down anterior

joy,

nepia newborn is 60 pcs per pack at $14 if u buy it from the agent at 4 pack per box. I had been buying this brand for long time... hehe love it so much cos its so like pampers premium...

but i think still need to use pampers premium for 1 week -2 if ur baby is very small size... cos the pampers premium cutting is the smallest follow by nepia which is only very very slightly bigger.

newborn nepia are not sold in ntuc leh last i know but i may be wrong... if u wanna buy it retail, can get from those japanese store like seiyu. But generally people will order from agent cos much cheaper mah. they do delivery to your door step. if u wanna try out, can call the agent to get a sample newborn pc

mspiggy,
I asked the Avent promoter lady there and that was what she told me...I also believe they might still continue production with milk bags becos if they use the cups instead i think they might "lose" quite a bit of customers as its quite costly n troublesome to use the cups instead as need to sterilise etc

okipoki,
Yuppies...but there might be one disadvantage though....thru the process of pouring the EBM into the milk bag, some air bubbles might also be transferred...meaning the milk might contain some "air"...i also donno how to explain it...haha

tinklebell,
So i must work hard n try my best to BF! Haha....at least during the 3 mths ML try to BF, hopefully can lose all the weight gained...*lol*
And ya, mabbe this time ask him can give me a "proper" printout of the bb boh....*sigh*

sugarbun,
Haha, i must remind myself to get a nice pix from him tomolos :p

poohy,
the last pix that my gynae gave me was around 16weeks or so.....the pix also blur, i can't even make out the bb shape! Haha...maybe they shld "upgrade" their scan machines liowz :p

Amy,
Wah...u power...even in the queue at 6.15pm liowz...haha, but gd for u..managed to get the stuffs u want

Re : Avent Milk Bags
I was told no need to look for the clips....can use cable ties...i read this from somewhere one

matchedgal,
suppose is due to our hormone change.. hopefully will go off after birth.

sugarbun,
really ? can clean off ar !!

So far, I have gained abt 7 to 8 kgs. will be seeing my gynae this weekend hopefully he wont comments much on my weight gain.

Amy,
if we can pump straight to the bags, is there a "lock" that clip the bag to the pump ?

poohy/ amy, i have that book too but i havent started reading that. was given to me by my cousin. ok, if it's good, i'll start my reading tonight.

Hi Tinklebell,

Me craving for chocolates too! In fact i take chocolates throughout my pregnancy till now.. heeeee.. kind of guilty but the temptation is there. Now every nite i have to eat around 2 pieces of chocolates heee...

Hi K Ong,

Can start eating bird nest once u have reached 5 mths or so, bb will absorb by then
Hmm, as to what time u have to eat it.. some say eat it before u go to sleep. Others say eat early morning without breakfast so that bb can absorb better
For me, i eat before i sleep, so that i won't have to go on empty stomach the next day just because of bird nest heee!

I am finishing my bird nest soon.. the most 2 more rounds. Going to stop intake liao, since i am in my 8th mth liao. I only take bird nest once per fornight

Hi Gina,

Ya, me in secondary school. The kids here also very funny haha.. some very close students keep putting their hands on my tummy. ANd the weird thing is, the moment they put their hands, the bb stop moving.. once they remove, the bb move vigorously again heeee...

Nowadays the bb very violent. When she moves, i can actually feel slight "pain". But of course bearable and i feel so happy about it

hmmm... i also wonder how to use the milk bag tog with the pump...maybe i'll open up one piece to test tonight.

okipoki, u must be v slim before pregnancy...u also look so slim leh even though u gained 7-8kg.

sugarbun,
hehe, yah, my hubby also bcomes my 'handbag-carrier' when he's wif me ;p Sometimes wish my handbag were not so heavy... But alot of tings to put inside, juz in case i'm not feeling well lah...

Re weight gain,
jialat, i've gained about 7-8kg oreadi. Don't tell me the 3rd trimester is gonna b worse(!). Actually my appetite has died down recently - feel like puking when i eat my normal share. Seems like stomach has lots of 'tings' inside - very cramped. A completely different feeling when i was in my 2nd trimester (good appetite). Anyone has the same feeling? I've juz entered my 28th week...

tinklebell,
not exactly leh & nowadays i really ate alot. haha cant compared with k-ong who doesnt look preggy to me.

okipoki,

I m just kidding lar...chlorox is the whitening detergent for laundry :p
But read somewhere in the forum, one mummy has tried to use cotton wth baby oil to rub it off...probably can give it a try.

Hi poohy,
For nepia order, can we get 2 packs for NB and 2 packs for S size. Is this still consider as 4 packs that entitled the offer?

hi matched_gal,
i recently feel the same way as you... feel so bloated after my normal meals. and i'm only 24 week now. i hope it will not affected baby growth.

sugarbun,

ya ya can mixed the sizes in 1 box. All sizes are $14 per pack... the offer is on for purchase by box... so each box is $56. I just order one box on monday and they delivered this morning
Going to order 2 boxes of newborn and maybe another box of S size... the person told me can keep up to 3 years.

re: bloated after meals

think its normal to feel this way cos our tummy growing so big. As the pregnancy progress, the condition will prob worsen. Last time when i carried my boy during the 3rd trimester, I always feel my tummy like going to explode after a meal. Its so uncomfortable as the pregnancy progress at times i wish my boy come out asap ehhehe

i just came bck from taka fair... not much things but i bought a avent manual breast pump that comes with a bag which cost $112.90.
Mothercare maternity pad is only selling at $3.can buy.. My gyna also Dr Adrain...then always scan so fast don even don wat he doin.
Last friday went to see him he did a scan and told me that bb weight 1330g which is at 26weeks and 4 days..... but never say big size a not leh.,..anyone knw huh...
i think 3 tri start at week 28

hi poohy,
re: bloated after meals
the problem is i havent reached my 3rd trimster yet, and dont think my tummy is that big.