(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

amy,
if baby wearing cloth nappies, you can buy those waterproof nappies cover to help prevent leakage...on top of that, what u can do is to put the rubber mat just below the buttok area, instead of putting the baby to sleep on the rubber mat....

coz the rubber mat is really very uncomfortable loh.....

btw, how much cheaper is the milk bag at taka compare to babymall?

re: liquor/DOM

actually there's no norm for the qty of liquor u drink during confinement....must also depend on how well your body can take....I have friends who only finish 1 bottle and friends who can finish 8 bottles.....more impt is to listen to your body....

if u are breastfeeding, can still take liquor, but must cook with food/soup loh so that the alchol will evaporate away...please don't drink directly if bf....

Angeline,
try not to scratch your tummy...my friend scratched her tummy during pregnancy and now she got terrible stretch marks....get your gynae to prescribe u some lotion to ease the itchness.....

hello ladies,
hvn't been in here for the past week - was down wif flu & cough - until now, hv not completely recovered cos i dare not take too much medication (worried got side effects). Seems there's a flu bug going ard ...

anyway, talking about tummy itch, i've been hving quite serious itch ard my tummy too (worse, it happened the same time as my flu
), and it's been disturbing my sleep. Called my gynae, who asked me to get medicine fr GP for the time being. Can use cream/medicine (fr GP) sparingly only... Alot of 'restrictions' to medication since we're all preggie...

Angeline/Matchedgal,

No too sure ur tummy itch is due to stretching or your skin is dry. My gynae recommended me to use Cetaphil soap/lotion (meant for dry skin) for bathing. It really helps alot cos it moisturised the skin.

Tiger Balm is a no no no !!

hi okipoki,
I've been using Cetaphil too (since first trimester), after my gynae also recommended. Got sensitive skin dat's y...

for my case, my GP says it's itch induced by pregnancy... not due to diet/dry skin... He said my case quite common amongst ard 70-80% of the preggies, and not related to stretch marks... he also assured me the itchiness will go away after delivery (to which i looked quite shocked - does dat mean i've to bear wif it for 3 more months?!)... haiz... anyway, now it's becoming better after i put some of his cream. Oh yah, he also advised me to keep in cool environment. Which i tink one of the reasons i made it worse cos i cudn't on the aircon cos of my flu recently... Now better already, so i've started to on the aircon at nites when it's hot...

i did ask him whether can put 'hongyou' to stop the itch, but he said not to... ;p

kite,

how big is the picture from TMC? Gotta be black/white/red and big. At first, no need to say anything, just let your newborn baby look at the picture... maybe place beside bb on bed for him/her to see.

For newborn, its mainly for brain and visual stimulation...

The reason for flashing cards at age 6 years and below is for brain stimulation lor... if u flash fast enough, it will activate the right brain, training their photographic memory, help them gain reasonable vocabulary and encyclopedic knowledge. The vocabulary will help jump start them to read on their own.
Read up glenn doman's book before u start... its important to understand the philosphy and reasons behind this flashing card method so that u will not stifle the learning appetite of your bb etc...
Besides, GD not only emphasis on flashcards but also emphasize on their physical exercise program on helping baby to crawl, creep, cruise, brachiate early. Each of such activities serve to grow different parts of the brain meant for different functions in life. Can get his books easily in the library... but may need to reserve cos they all very popular.

okipoki,
u mean cannot use tiger balm on tummy? Cos that time for my backache i asked gynae can use tiger balm boh...he said can use for backache lehz?

poohy, i didnt know u can make your own flashcards... will try that if i have the time. We used to make use of those red-white and colourful freebies given by some milk companies. As my kid grows older, we bought some education flashcards fr bookstores. Now at 3, he doesnt seem to be interested in flashcards anymore

peng, enjoy your trip. I feel quite tired these few days bec of aching bones after carrying my son on Sat... hopefully, i will feel better by the time i go for my trip... fastum gel kind of help. applied them last nite and i feel slightly better this morning. i think i need a short break fr all the housework and work to relax myself.

matchedgal, i also notice that my skin itch when i feel hot (esp ard the breasts and not so much on my tummy). I feel better if i take a bath or switch on the air con. so far, i only feel the itch while i am at home. in office, no such problem. i suspect it's bec of the heat and prespiration.

Some pp say women's skin feel best while they are pregnant but i dont think it's the case for me. i noticed that the skin on my legs and hands are so rough.
not sure whether it's caused by pregnancy.

morning mummies:
i m curious to know how heavy is ur bb at 23wks? yest went for gynac appt, at 23wks, my bb ger weigh at 530g, heavy or light?

hi tinkerbell,
me itched both tummy & around breasts... dat's y at last i 'buaytong', went to c GP... Same here, usually when i perspire it itches most. When in aircon it's not too bad. But can't be in aircon the whole day tho, cos scared skin will be dry & also flu will get worse. On the other hand, can't apply moisturizer cos when i apply, itch bcomes worse...

Actually my skin wasn't dat bad (since i got preggie) till last month, when the itching started...

i cant' imagine when confinement time comes. Tink it's gonna b worse (can't bathe often during the day/on aircon often)
Btw, dat time during ur confinement, did u use anything to 'calm' ur skin?

tinklebell,

of course can do your own flashcards... its just picture or words printed on a card only mah
hehee.. But there are specific specification to the card size, word size, color of the object in the cards when its meant for different age group. At first the words needs to be at least 3 inch in height. very big! There is also guideline to help to keep bb interested...

my boy also used to be very happy to see my english/chinese and maths dots cards... but when he become very mobile recently, he starts to turn away at times when i show him the cards, i then start to introduce encyclopedic picture cards and he started to take interest again. And in between such picture cards set, I will slot in a few set of corresponding words to the picture flashed. To add favour to the chinese program, I started to diy and flash san zi jing characters... it more rythmatic so he likes it more
Gotta change and be flexible as they grow to keep their attention... and must flash very fast and keep adding new materials else they will be bored

matchgal, strangely, my skin suddenly became v glossy and nice when i had my confinement.
i did my confinement in Dec so it was cooling. I still continue to bathe but with water boiled with "Da Feng Chao". I didnt use anything much to calm the skin...just occassionally applying baby lotion. Opps, it seems like June is a v hot season hor?

Poohy, i am intersted to find out more abt Chinese Flash cards. Any good websites to recommend? Even my son's teachers commented that his mandarin is quite bad. i need to push his learning curve before he goes to K1.

matchgal, strangely, my skin suddenly became v glossy and nice when i had my confinement.
i did my confinement in Dec so it was cooling. I still continue to bathe but with water boiled with "Da Feng Chao". I didnt use anything much to calm the skin...just occassionally applying baby lotion. Opps, it seems like June is a v hot season hor?

Poohy, i am intersted to find out more abt Chinese Flash cards. Any good websites to recommend? Even my son's teachers commented that his mandarin is quite bad. i need to push his learning curve before he goes to K1.

tinklebell,

i dunno of any good website for chinese flashcards leh... but i dunno whether u heard of the zhong hua zi jin ? it consist of 4000 commonly used words written in to 4-phrases chinese poem. I bought a copy of it myself to make into flashcards to show my boy... but have not started yet...

i am doing san zi jin flashcards myself as a start to give him a slight favour before moving on to zhong hua zi jing and qian zi wen (i like this classic a lot).

if u wanna flash cards, it will be single character by single character per card. Then follow by 1 card containing the entire 3 word phrase (in san zi jing) or 4-word phrase in zhong hua zi jing or gian zi wen.

These classics are great as they teaches morals, history, geography, astronomy etc.

If u wanna go enrichment class, the one i know of that teaches zhong hua zi jing is www.yuquan.com.sg

matchedgal,
could it be ur skin stretching? U tried applying stretchmark cream?

tinklebell,
my leg is also quite dry nowadays...especially lower calf there...donno izzit becos i am wearing more knee length dresses now and the legs are more exposed to the dry air-con
Cos I dont have the habit of applying moisturizer

kite,
my bb was 495grams at 22wks 2 days
I tink 530grams is normal range also

my skin is bad during pregnancy too. my face become drier... especially near to my mouth area. And I have lots of breakouts at my chest area

my breasts also itch especially after shower.

Volf - very sorry to hear about your loss of baby Zachery. Be comforted to know that baby Zachery is now with Jesus, in His loving arms. One day you and your hubby will be reunited with him in Heaven, where abundance of milk and honey flows.

Let us know how we can help. Will keep you and your family in prayers.

dear volf,
so sorry to hear abt the loss of baby Zach. Rest assure that he's safe and sound in heaven.. take good care of your health and pls do not give up.

Youngnutrition.net
I just went to sign up there, and apparently, in week 27 you officially enter your 3 rd trimester.
That's in 2 weeks' time !!!

tinkerbell,
wow, u're so lucky. Thought most moms' skin very jialat during confinement cos of the hormone-changes. Anyway, hope June won't be too hot... The weather quite unpredictable these dayz...

celeste,
i applied stretchmark cream, but the itch still continued. Applied more and itched more(!). At last gave up, went to c GP... Thank goodness it's much better now under aircon...

matchedgal/celesteblur,
Cetaphil is really good. Arh so fast u gers encounter itchness.. Oh god, nowadays the weather is super hot. How to endure when June is even hotter.

matched_gal,
Me also apply stretchmark cream almost every nite...so far no itchiness....so its still quite okies
But GP prescribe u any creams to prevent the itchiness?
And yes! I cant bear with the weather these few days...its been really hot for me

okipoki,
Nono, i havent encounter itchiness yet and i hope i wont...me now using Avent/Mustela stretchmark cream so far so gd

celeste blur,
I should be the one who is blur...actually is Angeline & Matchgal that encountered itchness.

Am also keeping my finger x & I am using clarin oil.

Dear Volf,
Hugz hugz.. Am sad to hear abt your loss. Pls do take good care of your health and do a mini confinement. Be strong and do not give up.

volf, please take care of yourself now, ur bb is in the safest hands of our Father. Let go and Let God, as He has greater plans for u & ur hubby!

Yes, June is super hot season! No fan no air con? Are u girls going to follow strict confinement rules? I find that it's kind of hard to accept some of the practices such as not bathing for 1 mth leh

celeste,
yaps, the GP gave me some cream (can't remember wat name), but he said hv to use sparingly only... so far quite 'effective'... itch not as bad as last week liaoz...

tinkerbell,
tink i won't be following the rules so strictly, but still - don't think everyday-aircon during confinement is good. For me, bathing is a must everyday, else i dunno how i can get by ah... don't think bb wants to smell a sweaty mommy too ;p

Hi Ladies!

I just returned from my gynae check this morning, bb is 26w3d old & weighs 1kg!

kite:
I'm not sure if Dr YC's d most ex. Btw, today she gave me a list of paediatricians to consider liao and next visit I need to pay the delivery fees of $800 ... How's ur bb checkup?

Yes, sama sama ... she advised me to take Rubella & Hep B jabs too, to prevent d 2nd bb from any risk, but must NOT get pregnant during that period, else bb'll definitely be infected (scary!!!) My friend who recommended me to her took her jabs imm after her confinement.

I was told - Pigeon prodts r considered of gd quality & slightly more ex too. Guess if bb (unknowingly) has sensitive skin, it's safer to start wif such range. Only powder form laundry detergent available at Taka bb fair leh.

hee... me too! previously i also bathed and on air con... in fact hospital rooms and delivery wards are all air conditioned... even though i bathe once a day during confinement, i still find myself very smelly leh... somehow perspire a lot esp during b-f'g sessions....
my mother always scare me with this and that old folks theory
.... i suppose just do as what fits u best lor.

i just got a call fr my hubby saying he can go to chiangmai for a seminar, all i need to do is to purchase another airticket separately and can bunk in with him in a 5-star hotel there. I seriously pondering whether to go or not. the trip is end of the mth, few days after i come back fr korea. chiangmai is one of the places wh i always wanted to go during the past few mths but didnt have a chance to. very tempting leh...

tinklebell: yah! go enjoy while u are still mobile !!! otherwise, it will be third trimester soon !!!

anyone experiencing itchy nipples ??? mine have been so supper itchy for the last week
applied avent cream but to no avail ... sigh ...

wow tinklebell... go... should go. even when hubby at work, you can laze in the hotel, enjoy a relaxing long bath, order room service, watch in house movies.. so fun! furthermore, 5 star hotel lei! a good chance to relax and unwind before bb pops...

Robinsons 20% Sale - anyone going to the sale tonight? just wondering whether i can enter the store with just my Robinsons card, but no flyer. i have an antenatal talk tonight (my last one), will end abt 9 plus, hope to make it there in time to buy my bbsafe mattress.

K_Ong, by end march i will be 29 weeks already...so it's 3rd tri already...that's why i am a bit hesitant... but then it's only 3 days and most of the time i think i wont be doing much....

I get itchy breast and nipples too when i feel hot...esp at home

Jo, what is there to buy there?

Amy, ya, i guess if i do go, i'll probably be lazing ard in the hotel and the nearby vicinity until my hubby's seminar is over. But for $800 plus (son + my tickets + taxes)...not sure if it's worthwhile paying the price for it.

allo tinklebell

since u r 2nd time mom, how do u know when u r hvin the HB contraction? My lower tummy, think at the bladder position, is so tight since yest. Have prob walkin to toilet, juz cant stand very straight. But can feel bb kickin ther.. is that contraction or juz bb lying low ther?

tinklebell, wow... so expensive ah...? $800 plus... din know that... maybe gotta reconsider... would be cheaper if you use the money for a bintan getaway or a hotel getaway... on second tots... better stay at home lo...

just rang Robinsons, if you have the card but no flyer, they will let you in if the store is not crowded. And baby stuff, they have 20%. Might be in the queue at 6.00, hopefully, they will let me in and i can buy the bbsafe mattress.

Okasan - you keen? i can get you the play pen mattress if you like. i will leave the office at 5, so please let me know soon. i'll PM you my mobile no. now.

tinklebell, wow... so expensive ah...? $800 plus... din know that... maybe gotta reconsider... would be cheaper if you use the money for a bintan getaway or a hotel getaway... on second tots... better stay at home lo...

just rang Robinsons, if you have the card but no flyer, they will let you in if the store is not crowded. And baby stuff, they have 20%. Might be in the queue at 6.00, hopefully, they will let me in and i can buy the bbsafe mattress.

Okasan - you keen? i can get you the play pen mattress if you like. i will leave the office at 5, so please let me know soon. i'll PM you my mobile no. now.

Dor, u referring to Braxton Hick contractions is it?

I have been experiencing it since last week too. It feels like the tummy tightening. Braxton Hicks contractions do not have a pattern and they usually go away. Nearer EDD, if u feel this type of contractions at regular intervals and it gets stronger over time, then, it could be labour contractions. For me, i feel that changing my activities or drinking a cup of water helps to make the contractions go away.

BTW, when is 3rd tri starting? some books i read tell me 28 weeks... some say 29 weeks...am a bit confused.

Amy how much is the BBsafe mattress you are getting ? Btw do you think it's necessary to get this thing called "sleep positioner" for when baby sleeps in the cot - it's suppose to prevent SIDS.

Amy, ya lor, it's the airport tax that is expensive $114 per pax. plus hubby taking MI so we also have to take MI if following him. Tigerairways is much much cheaper though but we thought it's too cumbersome to travel separately. hubby says if we avg out only $270 per pax so still quite ok bec normally if u take Thai A, it will cost $400 plus with hotel accommodation and taxes... since he's paying i just keep quiet lor... anyway, i havent decided whether to go or not lah.