(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

tinklebell: i just check the dumex pregnancy timeline, and 3rd tri is at 27 weeks ??? strange right ? A bit early ??

hehee, i used to work with MI ... so cute, u use their call sign instead of the whole name ...

anyone seens Isetan's little tots fair brochure ? thinking of getting the co-sleeper to put in my bedroom for the baby ...

still have not decided what travel stroller to get ... does anyone here drive a 2 door ? Need to know if got problems installing the infant car seat into the back seat ...

tinklebell
heard from my friend that the handicraft is cheap and nice. like shoes, bags, and this "momo" brand of cotton bags range with cute cat design (copy from taka jap cat design).

Bought a "mo-mo"diaper bag for a colleague when she gave birth. Quite pretty

tinklebell,
I think i prob will bathe after like 1 or 2 weeks...i dont tink i can ever tahanz for 1mth not bathing...can die from the smell and uncomfy feeling...haha
Heyz, Chiangmai i heard is a nice place...quite cooling also....
....shld go...but if air tix for u and ur son is oledi $800+, seems a bit exp? u taking SilkAir?

Amy,
I got received the flyer from robinsons but not going....cos hb needs to work late tonite...and i tink they will prob have another storewide 20% sale b4 June bah...cos robinsons quite frequently got thise 20% storewide sale thingy one

gina,

hmm,the problem is my next appt is 24th..still long way to go.haha.have to REN liao..

okasan,

hi..i normal try not to scratch lah but usually when i asleep,the itch will come n i will scratch it in my half asleep state.hehe

Angeline:
no prob
Well so far touchwood, my tummy quite okie. Think the itchiness on our tummy is also due to our placenta as i heard. so far my nipples feel itchy n sometimes my legs, other than that, quite alrite.

Poohy:
Each flash card size something like e size of birthday card. N the picture n colors are all very loud n big one. ok? on the card got state for 0 to 3mths/ 3mth to 6mths.....Wow seems like wil get GD's books from library.

mspiggy:
me too after shower, my nipples wil feel itchy, i think it bcos of the shower foam we using, too dry liao, therefore try not apply too much foam to that area. i use nivea moisturising cream if itchy n it helps.

Carebear29:
hehe nice to hear u came back fr Dr. YC. I like her clinic, very cosy w soothing music. so u r 3 wks ahead of me. hehe. wow ur bb weigh 1 kg now! heavy ah? did she say abt ur bb's weight n urs? for me, she asked me control my diet n allow 5 more kg to go n thats it cos me petite size. my bb's weigh at 530g at 23wks.

Ya must not get pregnant for 1st 3mths after e jab wor, so must listen to her. so hv u decide which bed yet? i told her wil decide on next appt. so ur bb's head turn down liao? my next appt wil be next mth, April fool, 3 more wks to see bb again

Hi Josephine,

Ya!! I think i am down with pre natal blues everyday! Sometimes middle of the nite i will wake up and dream of myself in the delivery ward, bearing the labour pains. And then also worry, if i am on maternity leave for 3 mths, dunno what will happen to my students.. will they be in good care in the relief teacher's hands? After i go back to school, will i still have the rapport with them? Etc etc... SIGH!! i am counting down now.. but the more i count down, the more i get worried.. what if i give birth much earlier than EDD.. etc etc...

Hi Gina,

Yesterday no lunch for me
Only cookies which are leftovers from CNY and i brough them to school

Today yes, decent lunch. But so tired.. now still busy setting mid year exam paper

angeline,
no need to 'REN' lah, can get calamine lotion from any pharmacy, v cheap also. actually after taking shower, my itch gets better. now skin recovering and itching is almost minimal. the last 2 months or so, suffered from scratches and scars all over my upper arms and legs coz of the terrible itch. so I guess it will pass, dun worry.

kk,
wow think your schedule more hectic than mine... must eat fresh and healthy food ok? cookies only have empty calories, at least eat buns or bread with filling. dun suffer your little one... you teach in a sec school? mine pri.sch. this 2 days v tired and overwhelmed by the marking load. can't really cope but gotta hang in there. me will miss my kiddies when I go on maternity. yesterday 2 little girls from my P1 class came to hug my tummy and put their ears on it trying to listen for bb... am quite surprised by their affection and felt a bit sy...
today another little girl asked if there is a bb in my tummy, I said yes. They even asked why is my tummy so big at the beginning of term this year, haha
kids are v sweet, esp little girls... hope I can haf a little girl next time
kao_babydust2.gif

btw anyone giving birth at KKH and attending its antenatal course? I signed up for TMC's class but may want to attend KKH's class also as I am giving birth there.

381870.gif
kite,
doc didn't say bb is big leh...that time went for detailed scan, its abv average. If bb too big, still can go for natural birth, rite? Hubby said the red colour pram 'bu nai kan', so maybe will choose the toffee colour.

381871.gif
Amy,
the PP pram cost $480 from Hypermart. U getting which colour? Or like me, still deciding?

381896.gif
Re: Itchy Skin
381897.gif

You may notice faint red streaks, otherwise known as striae, or stretch marks on your tummy, hips, buttocks and breasts. Lots of women have very itchy skin as well pregnancy hormones can make your skin drier and stretching over a growing bump doesn't help. Rubbing on creams may make you feel more comfortable and help soothe the itching but it won't get rid of stretch marks and is unlikely to prevent them. Stretch marks are typical at this stage of pregnancy and will fade to silvery white marks after you give birth.

Is it normal to itch all over during pregnancy?
About 20 per cent of all pregnant women have some kind of generalized skin itchiness. Hormones and your stretching skin especially over your growing belly are probably to blame for your discomfort.

About two-thirds of all pregnant women will get red and itchy palms and soles, a condition experts think is caused by an increase in oestrogen. It usually disappears straight after delivery.

How can I get some relief?
Apply moisturiser or try a warm oatmeal bath (some chemists sell them ready-made or you could just wrap a handful of oats tightly in a muslin square and dump in in your bath). Heat rash can intensify the itching, so wear loose cotton clothing and avoid going out in the heat of the day.

I've heard that itching in the third trimester could be a sign that something's wrong. Is that true?
It depends. Some women develop harmless itchy bumps on their abdomen, thighs, buttocks or arms in the last few months of pregnancy. A cream to ease the itching is all that is needed for this.

In rare cases, severe itchiness in your third trimester can be a sign of a serious liver problem called obstetric cholestasis. In this case the itchiness is very widespread and often includes itching of the hands and feet. It may also be accompanied by nausea, vomiting, loss of appetite, fatigue, pale-coloured stools and jaundice. Make an appointment with your doctor or midwife if the itching is very widespread. A blood test can be carried out to assess your liver function. If the liver is affected, you may be given medication, but it may also be necessary to deliver your baby a little early.

gina,

dun tink mine is recovering,in fact tink its spreading.i just tried to apply a sebamed lotion as it contains calamine..hopefuli it will work else will give my gynae a call n c what can be done.din tink mine is stretchmarks..coz its not streak but round round type

i_panda77

thanks for the info on the itch..

Hi, my itching is on the belly-button, btw, have any of you ladies' belly-buttons start popping out slightly?

Kite:
Yap, my bb is M-L size, whereas I'm XS size ... haha ... she asked my hubby not to force feed me anymore... Since the last 2 sessions, I can sense tat she's "mentally" preparing me for Csection, in case bb too big. Thks goodness I remembered u say she stitches well, a consolatn above all. ;P

Yes, decided on 2-bedded liao, I'm scared of being alone. (Anyway, I was told you can choose to upgrade upon admission.)

kao_shy.gif

I'm all prepared for natural, but as there may be possibilities tat my bb may be bigger than I can handle, I need advices on Csection, any of u here have gone gone Csection on previous pregnancy?

<font color="0000ff">Amy,</font>
sorry, only see your post this morning...was busy with work yesterday afternoon, so din come in at all...

anyway, thanks for willing to help me....I will wait for the 20% sale for public coz I need to use up my vouchers which are expiring soon.....

<font color="0000ff">re: confinement</font>
I'll still bath during confinement...my mum already got me the herbs for the bath....even now, I sweat a lot, can't imagine how much sweat I'll have during confinement loh...if dun bath, I'll dare not go near anyone even hubby...hehe....

as for aircon, I seldom on my house aircon, so not going to on aircon....but will still on the fan loh, else can't imagine how to survive the hot june weather

<font color="0000ff">i_panda77,</font>
if baby too big, better to go c-section instead of natural...got read a recent article on this?? got this lady that gave birth naturally to a big baby and got herself injured badly.....forget the actual content liao...poor memory recently....

best to take your gynae advice...dun insist on natural just coz u want it loh....

but I do know of friends who gave birthe to big size baby naturally...but they themselves are rather big in size too....

<font color="0000ff">carebear29,</font>
for c-section, I only know the physical recovery will be slower than natural loh and u need to stay in the hospital for a few more days longer...

Morning ladies

Carebear,
I will definitely opt for natural if possible cos the healing is also faster

Re : Yesterday's Robinsons 20% sale
Was told by my fren that the BbSafe mattress sold out when she went...*faint*

Good Morning!

KOng, I also have a pregnancy book by DUMEX which says 27 weeks. But i read some articles from US and it mentions 29 weeks. Personally, i thought it should be 28 weeks (28/4=7)... hmmm donno wh is correct.

Celeste, ya lor, i think $800 is quite ex but hubby seems to want me to go with him... i think i'll prob go lor since i've never been there before. Yes, will be travelling by Silk Air.

kk, dont worry, all will be fine... should take time to relax... i'm sure your school will make the necessary arrangements for your students.

Gina, your students are soooooo sweet.... i'm sure u must have v good rapport with them for them to do that to u.

okasan/ Celeste/ Carebear, i will opt for natural birth if possible. scared of operations
2 years back, i had a bikini cut operation to remove my ovarian cyst and it was almost a month before i could walk without any discomfort.

re: confinement

i dun follow confinement rules even though all my relatives keep nagging non stop becos of that hehee... i think my comfort is more important. I gave birth to my boy at 7+ pm and I bathed at 6+ am in the morning the next day, the moment the drip was taken off. That includes washing my hair and i din even blow dry it .... I bath and wash my hair at least once a day from that day onwards. The air con and fan are on.... else i cant stand the heat...

I din eat a lot of confinement food also, feel very heaty leh.... but my mum insist i eat at least one meal of confinement food which is either seasame ginger fish with rice or seasame ginger meat with mee suah. In the afternoon, I asked my mum to just buy me charsiew rice to eat ... hehee .. fill stomach and taste nice. That is the first 1.5 weeks after giving birth. By week 2, my hb was back at work and my stitches was taken off, so i follow his car to my mum's house everyday and we went out for lunch at jurong point everyday. Not much of a confinement but at least feel comfortable and happy

re: natural birth

ya me too will opt for natural birth anytime! I think my bb has not turn head down this time yet... makes me real worried... cos i dun want to go for c-section if possible... i think if natural birth and its 2nd time liao, should be real fast. my first one labour only 4 hours. I think if bb turn head down into anterior position (forgot which is the optimal), she may be out within 2 hours if no complications .. hehee can save money!

Tinklebell,

Say that you are thinking of accompanying your hubby to Chiangmai end of the month.
I am leaving for Chiangmai on friday for work and back on Sunday.I kanno go cos my boss cannot make it. So told boss I will go unless he allows me to bring my hubby along.. so hubby and i going together on Silkair... must really check out all the shopping..... if got time.

poohmum

<font color="0000ff">tinklebell,</font>
go loh..since hubby pay for the trip..hehe...I wish I can go for some trip too...but can't take leave off this month...sian~!

<font color="0000ff">re: confinement</font>
ya, more impt is to be comfortable...there are people I heard of coz tried to follow the confinement rules, in the end got postnatal depression loh....so best is to stay happy throughout...nothing beats more than being happy

<font color="0000ff">re: natural birth</font>
I'll opt for natural without epidural if possible...

tinklebell,
so nice...u get to go 2 trips....shld go since ur hb wish that u can go with him
Enjoy urself for these 2 trips before bb comes then will get busy again

Poohmum,
u also going chiangmai? So nice.....
...hehe, remember to shop when there's time hor

okasan,
I also wish i can go for trip......sometimes i thinking of being "rebellious"...go even if parents object....*sigh*

good morning ladies!

anyone going to the Baby Fest @ Expo??
I'm thinking of popping by on Sat morning. Hope the stuffs will be good. I still need to get lots of stuffs.

<font color="0000ff">celeste,</font>
well, if parents object, then dun go loh, let them have a peace of mind
...for my case, parents dun object, but no time....

<font color="0000ff">re: babycare festival @ expo</font>
not sure if wanna go all the way to expo loh...dun know if got good buy or not, else specially go there also not worth....

hi celest,
yes starts at 11am

hi okasan,
i need to check out lots ... so far, i've only bought Pigeon bottle cleanser and 1 Avent bottle for my baby. :p

how many milk bottles should we buy to standby? and which size is prefer??

re: babycare fest

there will be a overseas chinese book fair at the expo this weekend too.. so can go to the book fair at the same time
I am thinking of going to the baby care fest to enroll my boy into the baby crawling marathon contest (if he not cranky).. hehee

poohmum, wow! ur boss so good to let u and hubby go
remember to get the gynae letter to certify fit for flying. let me know after u are back on any good buys there. Jo mentions abt the "mo-mo" (the cat face) bags can be bought fr there... maybe can check that out.

okasan/ celeste, if i am not preg, i sure will go even if i am paying
but now a bit hesitant leh.... my prob is that i have prob sitting down for too long these 2 days, I feel that my tummy hurts when i sit down for too long esp after dinner esp if the chair is not comfortable... but gets better when i walk or lie down... i hope the plane ride wont be too uncomfortable.... cant cancel trip to korea now for sure bec it is a promotional deal and they have a "no-change passenger clause".... i just hope for the best.

<font color="0000ff">mspiggy,</font>
for bottles, depend on whether u intend to bf or use formula milk..if bf, then need less, if formula milk, then need more...

also depend on how often u sterilise the bottles...if u sterilise only once a day, then need more bottles for the various feeds throughout the day...if u sterilise twice or more each day, then dun need so many bottles..

maybe 3-4 bottles now is good enough...if really not enough, can always get hubby to buy...but dun buy too many bottles coz scare will be wasted loh....

also dun buy too many teats...buy 1-2 first to see if baby likes it or not..if dun like it, then not so wasteful.....

btw, if u buying breast pump, normally will come with milk bottles, so no need to buy loh...

I got 4 bottles now, all free from my purchase of pump and sterilisers....not planning to buy anymore

<font color="0000ff">tinklebell,</font>
if not feeling well, then rest at home...anyway, u already have one overseas trip, so good enough liao

is there a "best" time to take birds nest ??
i have not been taking for a while, thinking of buying the concentrate bottle to take daily now ...

also, my hearing seems to be super duper sensitive !!! get irritated by my colleague sitting next to me, cuz her voice is very loud and sharp ! ghaahaa, i am wearing ear plugs at work ...

Hello gals!
Sorry I have been rather busy... My laptop with the table crashed
I got itchy hands and just upgraded the windows patches and it made my laptop crash... Meanwhile, I will try to get those data back. Please bear with me...

Anyone of you going to expo this weekend?

Poohy, I am interested in the overseas chinese book fair. Do you know what time does it start? I wanna see if I can get any books for teaching baby

Do you make the flashcards yourself or buy? If buy, where to buy? I am quite lazy to make myself. GlenDonan has a website, but the flashcards are not cheap...

Hi tinklebell,
Wow.. YOu are going to ChiangMai... The place I wanna visit for very long already, but havent got the chance yet...

hi okasan,
thanks for the tips. am trying to be on total breastfeeding but then no sure if baby is co-operative enough to latch on. If not I also will need more bottles right?

hi K Ong,
there's no really a best time, but usually during 2nd trimster can eat more.

<font color="0000ff">K Ong,</font>
dun have best time for bird nest...but please dun drink daily....maybe once a week loh....drink too much, may not be good also...must strike balance...I haven't touch bird nest since preggy coz heard people say bird nest can cause skin prob for baby coz bird nest is only good for mummy, no special benefits to baby...but hear only lah, no proof

<font color="0000ff">mspiggy,</font>
u can get 3-4 bottles now...if cannot bf, then get hubby to buy later loh....better to buy when needed, rather than buy to stock and end up not using, too wasteful...

if baby dun latch on, u will need more bottles for expressed breast milk loh...esp also need to consider the storing of the milk...

mspiggy,
heehee, then mabbe i try to reach there at 11am cos i read that they have goodie bags with some vouchers from LearningVision

okasan,
ya lor.....haizz...i juz be a gd gal and hope that during ML they agree to let me go *sigh*

tinklebell,
yes! If i am not pregnant i will defnitely go for trips without any hesitation

Nowadays starting to feel heavy also liowz....juz weighed myself yesterday and i've put on 6kg at 25 wks

okasan/mspiggy:eek:k thanks :)
will take in moderation ... was thinking of popping by taka to get the avent milk bags, cuz i cant find it at tangs or robinsons ...
so wanted to buy a bottle of lo hong kar too ...
maybe will buy but wont take everyday !

went to robinsons sale yesterday and bought a cot ! settled on a mahoghany one. one item down ! haahaaa
Still deciding if i wanna get a bassinet for my flat, cuz will be doing confinement at parents home and possibly get them to look after baby when i return to work ... my flat is soooo small, a standard size cot will tkae up too much space

mspiggy,

ya i hope to go for the marathon crawling cos my boy can really creep/crawl very well! but that is provided he not cranky... if he cranky... he might not be cooperative hehee
feel so excited abt it!

re: bookfest

lyn, the bookfest is 10-19march 2006 at expo hall 4 and 5. daily 10am-10pm.

hey me too wanna see can buy any good books for teaching my son or not hehee
Sure will have very rarely seen good teaching materials... so spare lots of time to browse hor

for the GD, i buy the GD kit ..... its vvvv exp original price... go to the baby care fest.. they will be there... u can browse what they have. I bought their english/chinese/maths/encyclopedic program 2nd hand... so its much cheaper but still v costly. I also DIY.... i bulk order custom size artcard and print direct from my printer myself...
Can share more info if u if u r interested.. but u gotta let me know whether u wanna dwell into english, chinese, maths or encyclopedic program

re: babycare festival @ expo
I hope to go on Sat evening... will be going to my SIL's house to borrow her winterwear... Expo not too far off fr Punggol is it? if convenient, i will pop by.

ms piggy, i bought 4 bottles for standby. no harm buying now cos can keep for later use. i bought 3 tall n 1 short Nuk bottles at Robinsons... quite cheap and they give 1 pack of wet wipes free, banded with 2 tall bottles; the other pack i bought comes banded with the bottle wash. I also will use the bottles to feed bb water. actually they dont need to drink water lah but i am afraid of bb getting mouth thrush so i will let her sip some water after every feed.

KOng, i didnt take much bird nest this time round. I have a few bottled ones at home but of course if u have the time, nothing beats a freshly made one.

On sat, i still saw quite a lot of milk bags at taka. They cost $11.30 if i am not wrong. Quite worth it.

Celeste, u put on only 6kg? i already put on 8 kg 1 week back (at 25 weeks).. could be more this week... sob sob
i cant really eat much these days ..tummy gets uncomfortable and i hate to sit down in the office cos i still cant find a comfortable position... i think i should bring a pillow to the office for better back cushioning.

Tomorrow is the appointment at Dr Adrian's right? Hope i remember correctly this time

tinklebell/celeste,
u two seeing Dr Adrian tomorrow evening? I put on more than 10kg liao....hehe...think I gain most of the fats...

yes, okasan, seeing him tomorrow evening. i hope he gives me a decent print out of my bb this time round..not just the limb.

tinklebell, during my last visit, he forgot to print for me, so I asked for it....he also give me a print-out of the baby's belly...haha...it's as good as not having one....

K Ong,
better go taka to grab the avent milk bag, heard they no longer going to carry it and they are clearing stocks now, it's while stock lasts.

avent milk bag is one of the cheapest i know.

Hi Poohy,

I bought a GD book from Borders... very expensive... I am also reading a few chinese books by Shichida. Pretty interesting read... I will go to the bookfair to find more books by Shichida. Do you read Shichida books? I think I will go to the book fair first... If I still got energy, then go to the baby fair...

I am interested in English, chinese, maths... A bit KS hor? Are you going to start once baby is out? What are the words that we can use at 0-3 months?

ms piggy, i got 3 packs on sat... i hope it is enough.

oh my, i feel so sleepy now... really regretted taking the whole bowl of mee rebus just now plus 4 servings of fruits.. having backache now
i feel terrible sitting down but it's weird if i walk up and down the office...