(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

need to ask for yr advice.. my friend's selling her medela breast pump.. she used it only for 2 mths cos she can't pump during her work.. so decided to stop. what do u all think of getting 2nd hand pump? my hubby said it's sound unhygenic to use a 2nd hand one.. what u all think?

hi hidora,
thanks for yr info! ya think better to buy one for myself.

duffybuff,

this is what milk storage bags look like.

377198.jpg

- For collection, storage and freezing of breastmilk
- Special plastic retains breastmilks beneficial properties
- Sterile & disposable
- Easy-open pour spout
- Labeling area for recording name, date and time
- Individual bags are sterile

tinklebell, wow... your bb so cute.
so attached to you (and your breasts).

Re CL hongbao, i think one before she start work and one after she start work is the norm. Re amt to give, my colleague who recommended me the CL said abt $68 or $88. i am thinking $48. also have to buy her return bus trip to Kuantan when she completes her time with me.

Duffybuff, yes, i agree that 2nd hand pump not a wise choice. not very clean. however, why are hospitals renting out pumps then? those pumps have probably been used by many mummies, maybe some with breast infection??? i have two frens volunteered to lend me their pumps, one had nipple infection and gave up feeding, one had Hep B. of cos, i kindly said no. hence, be careful of second hand pump. you are not sure of the medical history of the previous user and how the pump came abt.

Re no. of milk bags to buy - ai yo... i am embarassed to say - my hubby KS... got me 5 playtex milkbags and 10 avent milk bags. he wants me to be a milk factory. but, if you think abt it properly, you normally express 3 times during the day, and latch on at night, so 1 day = 3 bags, 1 mth = 90 bags, breast feed for 10 months = 900 bags...

hi amy n tinklebell, yeah.. never realize this until i have attended the lessons..

Yes, Amy.. at first i oso thot i can outsource the bathing to maid/ MIL, but after hearing what Mrs Wong said, told myself no matter how tired will bath the bb myself everyday.. hopefully i can do it ultimately.. Mrs Wong's lessons are really great!! Really learn so much from her but hopefully can rem all those stuff..

duffybuff,
better to get new pump...most pumps out in the market are not menat for multi-users....there might be some germs in the parts of the pump that cannot be sterilise...however, if it's hospital grade one, then different coz hospital grade pumps are design for multi-users....

amy,
those hospital pump are different...the designs are such that all the parts that can possibly be infected can be sterilze...beside, when u rent pump from hospital, u still need to buy a kit...the kit contain those parts that must be new for hygenie reasons such as the funnel, etc...

but for normal pumps in the market, please dun use 2nd-hand...

hidora,
how many milk bags to get depens on how long u intend to breastfeed and whether u will bf after going back to work...coz milk bag is mainly for u to store milk..but if u always latch directly, then no need too many bags since u will store less milk....

377213.png

Anmum milk:
Alamak i didnt notice hv to finish consume after 2mths! The wordings is so small. Hmm so far i bought during end of Dec, stil left 1/2 tin leh, how to finish cos mine is big tin.

So far i only bought the milk bottles. Going to settle steriliser (cos taka tat time out of stock), playpen/bbcot/, pram and car seat but still doing research.

Celeste Blur:
wow u bought Pigeon disposable breast pads? tis brand gd? hmm which period we actually use it exactly? afraid e milk wil leak and thus can see through from ur clothes? My fren told me better not to buy so many white tops, wait milk scally leak, not so nice.
Ya the Graco playpen seems good. I might be getting this playpen. Between the Graco Citisport EDT Stroller and Graco Mosaic Stroller, i might be getting Mosaic but scare too big n bulky leh.
Graco Citisport EDT Stroller:

Features - Ultra light, aluminum frame makes getting around a breeze - 5-Point harness for safety - One hand fold for on the go convenience - Multi-position reclining seat provides comfort and support for your baby - Removable canopy - Removable versatile waist pack - Removable adjustable infant head support - Removable seat pad for easy cleaning - Automatic storage latch - Front and rear suspension with lockable front swivel wheels for a smooth ride - Large storage basket to keep the day's gear.

Graco Mosaic Stroller:
377214.jpg

Features - 3-Dimensional, compact fold for maximum portability - Multiple-position, reclining seat for childs comfort - Large, easy access storage basket - Detachable head pillow - Combination 3 or 5 point harness - Removable, padded armbar - Canopy with peek-a-boo window - Padded ergonomic grip - Robust, stylized frame for maximum durability - Automatic storage latch - Front swivel wheels with locks & suspension - Accepts Graco Auto Plus Infant Car Seat.

K_ong:
sorry i dun hv the price. In fact, its FOC for us. Cos we use points to exchange for the playpen n pram through company, good hor? hehe. So might as well make full use. But one thing i cant see e product in real life so asking her for feedbacks.

Joy:
seems like i shld take the mozaic but scare too bulky? Wondering local got this brand n model to see in real life? Thanks for e link. but i heard Graco pram material made of plastic?

Tinklebell:
seems like i sure get the Graco playpen w/o 2nd thoughts liao.

Dor:
my mum doing confinement for me. Hmm hvnt really think how much to bao for her ang bao. u?

Amy:
thanks for e info on milk bags. wil buy 1 pack to stock up first.

peng,
for maids mabbe u can send them to learn bah...but for moms/mils i dont see the need to do it cos they are experienced as they have taken care of us when we were babies

Amy,
I think ur PILs prob have the same worries as my parents bah...and prob cos nowadays a lot of the news on the BKK thingy over Thaksin

Hmmzz...for pigeon disposable breast pad bb hypermart still selling at $8.90 ah...cos i saw KidsMall selling at $12 last sat....mabbe bb hypermart havent increase pricing yet

mspiggy,
I shld be going to the Taka Bb Fair but prob not on Sat...cos it will be very crowded

duffybuffy,
I dont think i will get 2nd hand breastpump....i most prob will get the avent manual breastpump first...reason being the one-time cost is cheaper (about $80 range)...cos i dont even noe if i definitely have a lot of milk anot...so dont wanna spend a big amount buying a gd pump..scarly end up not much milk wasted

Re: Milk Bags
All of u planning to use milk bags? I am thinking of getting more glass bottles from the hospital to store the EBM

Taka bb Fair - anyone know whether the fair is still on Sunday? would like to check out when i am back.

peng - yes, i agree. initially also tot of asking maid to bathe bb in the morning, while i do the evening bath. but now, better wake up earlier and do this myself lo...

okasan, true... the no. of milk bags depends on your BF period and whether EBM or direct. hmm... maybe i can open a milk bag shop down the track...

Wah Kite, so good... can exchange playpen and pram... see dr discounted rate, mother help with confinement... you so lucky wor!

Something to share with you all, kee kee...we being fickle minded parents to be (as usual), changed our Maclaren XT and Quinny Zapp strollers to the below set by peg perego:

377221.jpg

Got all 3 items.
collected the diaper bag, but infant seat no stock, must wait till March...

kite,
Was told by my fren this brand is gd...she is currently using it

Was told if u r breastfeeding one...the milk may leak...so its like as long as u r breastfeeding most prob have to use the breast pads? Haha, I never asked in detail was only told will need to use it...hehe :p
As for the stroller....if u might be going out by urself and might be taking public transport...then i think its best that u get a medium-weight range kind of stroller....not too light cos might not be so stable but not too bulky as in difficult to fold/carry if required

tinklebell, yes - $48 x 2.

ya, pigeon breast pads, price still the same at hypermart and kingdom.

celeste - milk bottles cannot use more than 2 - 3 times. be careful of the glass fragments. maybe easier, get milk bag - no need to sterilise.

BKK - do you gals think BKK selling pampers premium at a cheaper price than in Sing? hmm... if NB is less than S$12.50 (TMC price), then can buy hor....

Amy,

what colour u get for your PP stroller? Me also thinking of getting but haven't buy yet...is this the 2006 model? Saw your postings in another thread, the price u state is before or after disc? I may not be getting the infant car seat cos i intend to get one that can last bb until quite old
377231.gif

to follow up on celeste's suggestion re stroller -if you are going out yourself, can try the sarong sling. my nephew loves to sling in the sarong up to 8 mths old. according to my sis in law, better than baby carrier, cos bb not constantly in a sitting position in the carrier, better ventilation for bb boys and prevention of UTI for bb gals.

i_panda, i am getting the red one, exactly the one posted above. the prices i quoted are after 20% discount. this is the 2006 model.
remember to neg a little...

kite,

keep me inform aft your visit to the gynae about the numbness.i didnt feel tt much when lying down,onli when sitting then will have this problem.its quite uncomfortable.thanks ya! :p

thanks for yr advice on the breast pump. ya think i better get a new one for myself..

as for stroller, i oso bought the peg perego one.. red& grey colour. i paid $480 at baby hypermart.

Amy,
u mean those hospital glass milk bottles also can use more than 2-3 times? this one neber hear my fren mentioned lehz....i tot glass bottles no limitations unless its like quite old liowz then u throw away? I shld check with my fren again

For the Peg Prego stroller that u got...i saw tat at bb hypermart before...but tried it and realised its quite heavy tats y i didnt get it...cos i tink its difficult to bring it out by myself

Celeste - yes, the PP i got is quite heavy - 8kg, but it's sturdy and stable. anyway, will only use when go out with hubby. when i go out for short trips by myself, will use the sling.
else, will drive, so can take my time with handling the stroller while getting in and out.

glass bottles - yes, i was told by the lady who passed me some bottles that i should only use 2-3 times. i think i read this in another thread as well - re freezing and how the glass will break. better check with your fren.

amy,
dun buy diapers at bkk lah, so troublesome to carry them back coz very bulky...not much savings anyway...should buy more baby clothes...hehe....

celeste,
if u don't intend to freeze the milk, then glass bottles is ok...coz only when freeze the milk, some bottles may break....but for normal chilled milk, no prob with glass bottles....

as for how many times can use, I think glass bottles concept should be the same as milk bottle mah...if the milk bottles can be sterilise so many times, why can't glass bottles?? doesn't make sense that plastic bottles can be sterilise more than glass bottles loh....

UTI seems to be a very common illness for baby girls these days huh? been hearing people around me saying their daughters got uti and how huge the medical bills are, etc....

okasan, hmm.... where can buy bb clothes in BKK? any suggestions?

Ya, agree with the glass bottle theory. i also tot glass bottles should be better than plastic bottles, and should be able to reuse for as many times as we like, as long as we sterilise and use properly. maybe it's to do with freezing, if we don't freeze it, should be fine.

Kee kee... we mummies very paranoid... good to be able to discuss these issues here...

amy,
me never been to bkk, can't recommend...but I know there's tons of clothes to buy for baby loh over there....if I got chance to go, sure wanna go shop shop there.....

Kite - you can call Aprisin which is the agent for Graco and Aprica to view the Mosaic model or to check which dept stores carry it. My stroller has plastic trays for parent and child but maybe bec it has to be removable. Otherwise, the rest is aluminium.

end of monday/FEB already! so busy at work today!

Celeste: i was also looking at breast pads over the weekend! but i dunno when to use and use for how long? after we give birth/get back to work?

amy: how much did you pay for the very very nice PP set? the diaper bag cost quite a lot. i'm prob getting the car seat, and pram only.

Taka Fair: mummies, if anyone can confirm there is such a fair this weekend, let's try to meet up on saturday morning (less people) to yum cha @ Crystal Jade? Initially wanted to organise afternoon session,but typically taka very crowded what you think!?

Josephine: Good idea ! But I have dental at 12pm !
Will meet you all when I am done. Will be next door at Wisma. Will there be any further discounts wif Taka card ?

Amy,
yuppies...if u driving or going out with hb together then PP's weight is quite okies
I might be taking mrt or even if taking cab occasionally when hb is working so must make sure my stroller is not too heavy....haha...

Amy and okasan,
As for the cracking of glass bottle...yes my fren said one of hers cracked once mabbe becos she put in too much milk or wat...other than that it is fine to place in the freezer as long as u dont store the milk up to the brim

and ya lor...i also tot glass bottles can sterilise more than plastic bottles....maybe i check with my fren

Hi tinklebell,
washable breast pad can easily be found. I saw avent brand, think about 2/4(cant remember exactly how many) pairs in box. A lot of other brand as well, maybe u can try kidsmall or departmental store. I m sure taka BB fair will definitely hav

Re: Breast milk storage bag
Think Avent has replenish the stock as I can find it everywhere.

Amy,
Dun think u need so many milk bag. My sis just ask me to buy one box avent and she say can use for long time. Most of the time we let BB to latch on initially, if they refuse to latch on, u will usually express the milk into the milk bottles for BB to consume. Dun forget that when you buy breast pump, there's storage bottle (similar as milk bottles) that come wth it, u can store it inside to keep in the fridge for same day consumption. Unless u really hav lot of milk supply, else I dun think u need 900 bags in 10 months

Hi, thanks!

Can call me Carebear / Ling.

My gynae is Dr Yvonne Chan @ TMC, am expecting a boy, 1st pregnancy so a little jittery. Due on 10 Jun.

I just had my GD Test (Gestational Diabetes) last week & got the result on the same day. Thank God, it was normal but the experience itself was enough to deter me from the sweet stuffs for baby's sake. Gynae said usually GD Test is done after 28wks, but as my baby seems a little bigger, so she rather me test earlier. Need to draw 3 tubes of blood over 2.5hrs + an awfully sweet glucose drink tat the nurse forced me to finish within 5mins in order not to affect test result.

Hi Amy,

My SIL just came back from BKK, she bought a few outfits for my baby, I'll ask her for you where she went shopping.

Celesteblur:
Hopefully the stroller shld be fine. Cos if hubby busy, i wil drive him to the destination n wil then take the car n drive. So hopefully will not be using public transport.

Okasan:
Care to share what items u intend to stock up at Taka BB fair? i stil not sure what to buy except steriliser. Wondering how cheap will the stuffs be?

Milk Bottles:
Exactly how much is really enough? so far i got only three 260ml Avent wide neck bottles.

Tinklebell:
Regarding e Graco playpen, the one i m interested does come with a bassinet pack. Seems not bad hor.

Sarong sling:
when i m outside, saw alot of mummies using sarong sling. so cute n nice, like very close to bb. sarong sling meants for bb from 0 mth to 8mths?

Angeline:
sure np, wil keep u update on the numbness thing. seems like only both of us encountered this feeling.

Dor:
let me know again after u ask ur sis. me also no idea how much to give.

Carebear29:
hey we are seeing the same gynac leh! Dr. Yvonne Chan. how u find her, quite funny hor. Hmm when is ur next appt? mine next monday

377480.gif

Joy:
thanks so much for the company name to view the Graco stuffs.

Wow the Graco stuffs i m going to exchange using company points seems not cheap but anyway it wil be FOC
hehe

K_ong:
Here is e info. The price of the Graco stuffs i m interested are:

1) Bassinet Pack 'n Play Playpen (Usual Price: $339, now selling $229)
http://www.aprisin.com.sg/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2_8&products_id=238

2) Citisport EDT stroller (Usual Price: $269, now selling $229)
http://www.aprisin.com.sg/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2_9&products_id=247

3) Graco Mosaic Stroller (Usual Price: $329, now selling $279)
http://www.aprisin.com.sg/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2_9&products_id=428

I might be getting Item 1) and Item 3).

Seeing through the web is not enough, wil be going down to take alook at the real stuffs before confirm.

377489.gif

re: breast pad

kiddy palace is also selling the pigeon disposable pads (36 + 6 pc) at $8.90...

as for washable breast pads, I found avent brand one with wash bag, 6 pcs for $18+, another brand (forget if it's pigeon or tollyjoy) is selling at $4.50 for a pair...there's also other brands like gerber, etc....quite a lot of selection for washable disposable pads...

btw, do we need to use breast pads for as long as we bf? or only for the initial stage where the breasts are leaky??

kite,
I have no fix list that I want to stock up during taka fair....I already know roughly what are the price of some items, so when I go there, if I find any good deals, I'll buy...if there's no good deals, I may just go home empty-handed...hehe....

on the milk bottles, it depends on whether u intend to bf or not loh...if going to go on formula, then will need more bottles, abt 6-8, for drinking milk and drinking plain water...

if bf, and directly latch on kind, then fewer bottles required coz only need bottle for drinking water and bottle for night feed (if no latch on at night)...

if bf, but is expressed out instead of latch on, then will need to consider storing of milk (normally got free bottles come with breast pump) and 2-3 bottles for feeding of milk loh...

on average, if u sterilise bottles once a day, u need more bottles depending on how many feeds per day...but if u sterilise the bottles more often, eg. twice a day, then u need less bottles to standby....

morning ladies

okasan,
wah...kiddy palace also $8.90...so seems like kidsmall is the only one pricing it at $12....hmmzz, nmind lah...since i neber got it at more exp price....$8.90 same price....haha

Re: Milk Bottles
I am not planning to get any yet...got one small and one medium one free when i got the steriliser...then am attending the antenatal class and my fren told me there will be another free milk bottle....and also will be using the glass bottles directly from hospital to feed bb....cos saw my fren doing tat...quite convenient...juz attached the teats directly to the glass bottle and feed

Re: Sarong Sling
I think if going out with at least one more person than its convenient to use sarong sling..otherwise i cannot imagine myself carrying a baby bag of stuffs and using the sarong sling...wonder how to drag so many stuffs out at the same time....*rofl*

celeste,
kidsmall sell at $12, so ex....anyway, me thinking of getting washable instead coz seem cheaper in the long run...any idea if we need the pads for how long? heard only initially it's leaky, but after that, not leaky, so dun need pads liao...dun know true or not...if need for a short while, then I'll get disposable, else I'll get washable ones, more econmical...

okasan,
ya lor....i saw at suntec kidsmall tats y i went to carrefour and saw $8.90 then i kiasu buy first liowz...and i heard my fren say the disposable breast pads pricing have increased...maybe not over the whole SG but maybe in some places only bah

me prefer disposable cos imagine if in office its more convenient also...if happen to need to change the breast pad dont have to like keep the washable ones in ziploc and then bring home...juz throw away after use...haha...and also i donno if i can BF for long...so no pt investing in washable ones cos i saw that they r not really cheap also

Good Morning!

Okasan, thanks for the info on breast pads. I think i will also get the washable ones as well as one pack of disposable ones for standby. U will need b-pads as long as u are still b-f'g. For me, the first mth was very leaky. Sometimes, may need to put 2 b-pads together to get better absorbency. subsequently was better. I have the kiddy palace discount card. If the item is not on sale, then got 10% discount.

Celeste,
re: Sarong sling
It is useful provided u know the way to handle it. I have one from MIM but i still havent learnt the technique to use it.

tinklebell,
I will get a sarong sling too...cos if not travelling by mrt...then its inconvenient to use stroller for buses...so its best to have sarong sling...and also for going to nearby places
But I guess must practise how to use it...haha

Celeste, i also know quite a lot of mummies who swear by the Ergo carrier. My frens who use it carry their kids up to 2 yr plus. Seems like also not a bad alternative. But can only start using that when bb's head support is there. It is less cumbersome to use than the sling.

Kite: thanks for the info !
Yahm, best to go and view it yourself, but like i mentioned, my sis has play pen, car seat and pram by Graco - all very sturdy. she's using it for her 2nd baby, so cannot pass to me to use :p

tinklebell,
the disposable breast pads is sale item at kiddy palace, so cannot have another 10% using the card...

if throughout bf, must use breast pad, then I'll get washable, save a lot...coz I calculate...if bf till 6mth, disaposable will cost me at least $80, and if like what u say, very leaky and need 2 per side, then even more $$$....but washable only cost less than $20 for 6pcs....but I'll also get 1 box of disposable for standby as well

Morning ladies

Disposable breastpads- I like Tollyjoy, cos it's thinner. Have to change really frequently tho. Pigeon is better quality, curved (less obvious creasing under ur clothings) but thicker- made me uncomfortable.
The difference is like pantyliner vs sanitary pad lor.