(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hey ask u all opinions on Graco Items. Hubby n i looking at these items. any comments on Graco brands? good anot? Pls. give me some feedback/comments.

1) Graco Bassinet Pack 'n Play Playpen:

376871.jpg

Features: - Full-size removable bassinet for naptime anytime - Folding changing table for quick diaper duty - Nightlight console with music and vibration soothes baby - Folds up fast with push-button fold - Wheels with locks for better mobility in the home - Accented with elliptical aluminum legs - Easy to store and transport in handy carry bag.

2) Graco Citisport EDT Stroller:

376872.jpg

Features - Ultra light, aluminum frame makes getting around a breeze - 5-Point harness for safety - One hand fold for on the go convenience - Multi-position reclining seat provides comfort and support for your baby - Removable canopy - Removable versatile waist pack - Removable adjustable infant head support - Removable seat pad for easy cleaning - Automatic storage latch - Front and rear suspension with lockable front swivel wheels for a smooth ride - Large storage basket to keep the day's gear.

3) Graco Mosaic Stroller

376873.jpg

Features - 3-Dimensional, compact fold for maximum portability - Multiple-position, reclining seat for childs comfort - Large, easy access storage basket - Detachable head pillow - Combination 3 or 5 point harness - Removable, padded armbar - Canopy with peek-a-boo window - Padded ergonomic grip - Robust, stylized frame for maximum durability - Automatic storage latch - Front swivel wheels with locks & suspension - Accepts Graco Auto Plus Infant Car Seat.

hi k ong,

Ya, they said best consumed after 2 mths. The print is pretty small on the tin!!!! The milk tasted weird after I drank 2 mths later. Luckily I left a bit. My sis actually offered to give me her anmum which she could not finish about half a year ago, luckily I saw the info.
Since you bought 2 tins, gotta be hardworking to take 2 glasses a day
)))))

kite,
metro warehouse sells lotsa stuff from household to clothes, etc....will have some baby stuff lah, but dun expect too much loh...

last year I went to the metro sale, also din buy anything....so crowded...

K_Ong,
As long as i dont put on weight at other areas, i am okies with putting on weight around tummy area only...haha...

As for Anmum i think i have a tin of it, my fren gave it to me....quite okies to drink actually...cos its chocolate flavour one...hehe...but i dont drink everyday, sometimes drink HL milk sometimes Anmum

medusa,
u so cute ah...use the ikea measuring tape...tat one so small...haha

okipoki,
my fren told me can get glass bottles from the hospital when u deliver and buy the bottle caps...so i not planning to get any milk bags

Amy,
great...enjoy ur trip to BKK
....me cant go for trips liowz...when i told my parents i wanna go for a trip...they "scolded" me and say pregnant want to travel ah...and tummy big liowz..so dangerous
....so sad...but hb promised me to try and see if after confinement his sister can help us take care of bb a few days then we go for a short trip to relax ourselves...hopefully can

Carebear,
Welcome

pebbles,
huhz...best consumed after opening for 2 mths ah...aiyo...i better go n check...i tink mine opened for bout 1+ mths liowz....only finished like 1/4 of the tin only...haha

pebbles,
I also bought 1 small tin of anmum during my first tri, drank and vomit all out, so never drink again...if really muz consume by 2mth, then my tin of anmum is wasted liao...lucky only bought small tin else heartpain...

celeste,
u thinking of travel after confinement? think it's harder than travel now...coz when your baby is born, u will not feel at ease leaving baby in singapore for a short period...hehe....

my friend went malaysia when her baby only 3-4mth...she calls back every now and then....she regret going for the trip coz she found it very tolerating as she kept thinking abt her baby...

Hi Good Morning!

Wow so many postings over the weekend... took some time to read them.

Went to the bird park yesterday. The weather was really nice and cooling. my son enjoyed himself v much, esp at the loft where the colourful birds flew around us

Carebear29, Hi! Welcome to this thread.

Kite, so good that mum is doing confinement for u... can save on the hefty confinement nanny fees. My mum told me she cant do all these and ask me to engage a confinement nanny
too pai seh to ask my MIL.

Amy, did the Gynae say what they lumps in your armpits are? No need to go for further checks?

Poohmum, I have heard of quite a few pp with GD. However, 2 of whom i know were asked by Gynae to deliver at 36-37 weeks all via ceasearian. After birth, the diabetes disappears.

KK, kite, i will also need to get a bed. We went to Bukit Merah... they were quite a few furniture shops there... we'd probably settle for a bed cum pull out.... we saw this brand Magic coil selling for $500+ (comes with 2 spring mattresses, divan and headboard)... other brands are v expensive. We'b probably settle for that. Previously, i just settled for a sofa bed fr Seahorse for maid bec it takes up less space.

Milk Bottles
Yesteday, i went to kiddy palace to get some more milk bottles. Bought the Nuk ones with Rubber Teats. I'm choosing Rubber Teats bec i thought they will be softer for bb... Only problem is that they may change colour v fast due to sterilizing and needs to be replaced frequently. anyone using Rubber Teats as well?

Looks like most of u have already bought a lot of things.... i only bought bb bottles. i hope to buy a dual breast pump soon and shortlist a maid by end Apr ... still evaluating wh brand of B-pump to get and scouting ard. i realised that most of my son's things are blue ... i wanted to get pink stuff for my girl but somehow i feel they look quite mismatched. Opps... sorry girl, i just hope u dont mind blue.

okasan,
its not i dont wanna travel...but my parents objected to me travelling...they r worried if anything happens on the flight or overseas then jiatlat
Even hb whom agreed to the trip is a bit worried also...cos that day when we went suntec for the travel fair he asked me if i will be comfy throughout the whole trip and on the flight...*sigh*....he said if anything happens *touch wood*...everybody will blame him...

I think if his sister agrees to help take care of bb a few days i shld be fine with that...cos his sister super experienced in taking care of babies...so bb will be in safe hands...except that donno she can help out anot

Re: Disposable Breast Pads
I was told the Pigeon Disposable breast pad pricing has increased liowz?
Last Sat went Carrefour at Suntec...saw got promo at $8.90 per box of 36+6 pcs...then i bought 3 boxes at one go....then later went up to KidsMall, saw them selling at $12 per box...wow!

Celeste, u thinking of travelling after birth? Heee .... other than missing ur bb, one other thing i could think of is that if u r bf'g, u will get engorged breasts if u dont express out the milk.... first 1 mth, i find the breast very leaky (heee... feels like a cow).... can be a bit troublesome to travel.

tinklebell,
Bring the pump and pump during the trip? Haha....haizz....i dont have a choice...cos my parents "scolded" me for thinking of travelling during pregnancy

Maybe they also worried in a sense that if i travel there's only hb around....not as in a whole family got more ppl to take care of me...
...was quite upset...but wat to do...

Either that or maybe wait till bb turns 1 yr old next yr June, then bring bb along for self-drive in perth....as June's weather is great there...juz to self-console myself lor...haha

wow, u all even bought breast pads already! Actually i like the washable types but not easy to find leh. Last time i used mothercare breast pads... got one whole big box but i find that it becomes v smelly after only a while. havent tried other brands. Anyone seen washable b-pads before? so far i dont seem to see them anywhere... the ones i had last time were given FOC when i bought a set of b-pumps from a warehouse.

celeste,
ya, pregnancy go travel also worry coz afterall, not at own country....

tinklebell,
me din buy a lot of baby stuff, only settle the playpen and stroller...still have plent of things to buy...am looking forward for the baby fair..hopefully it doesn't disappoint me

tinklebell,
I bought the breast pads becos i was told prices has increased liowz...my fren told me pigeon dispoable breast pads is gd cos it uses those adhesive tape to stick to the bra
tats y i bought first...haha

Btw, I've saw a lot of washable types but i tink its kinda troublesome and not cheap....u can try kiddypalace...i've seen it there before

Celeste, ya lor, my mother also scolded me when i told her i am going holiday... but when i told her my in laws also going and that i am not going to the moutantains and the snowy areas, then she says she fang xing. Maybe u can bring your mother along lor :p Talking abt holidays, i still havent booked for my tour

Celeste, Pigeon brand is good? hmmm... maybe i will buy one pack to try.... i went kiddy palace at JP yesterday.. didnt see the washable bp... will keep a look out for them.

What your mum says is quite true also lah... somehow there will be some risks involved to travel overseas.... u'r in foreign land where u'r not familiar with.

okasan, i hope to buy some stuff during bb fair too. yesterday i told hubby abt it... he said, hope this time it's correct (bec last time i thought the bb fair was in Feb so i told him let's go bb fair and then was disappointed when they was no fair..haha)

celeste,
better option will be go travel when baby is 1-yr old loh...me also most likely doing that...now too busy with work to take leave for short getaway....

tinklebell,
last time u use washable one, one pair enough meh?? I'm not sure how much disposiable pads to get....washable one very troublesome, got to wash and hang dry right? think kiddy palace at lot 1 got sell coz I remeber seeing them on the shelves...

okasan, i had 3 pairs but i threw them away coz after keeping them in the cupboard for a long time, they have discoloured. just wash and dry. The ones i had dried almost overnight.

Morning Mummies!

Any comments on the Graco Playpen n Pram i posted yesterday? how u all find Graco brand? good anot?
376993.gif

tinklebell,
I see..was thinking how come 1 pair enough...of course have to throw them away, coz such thing cannot keep long....

kite,
not sure abt graco...but one of my friend did say it's quite a good brand...but I personally din do much research on the brand

tinklebell,
but at least u travelling with ur in-laws and ur hb is a doctor...so its like quite safe for u cos got more ppl taking care of u
so no worries

aiyo...if i can i would have brought them along...but both parents working and mom in her own biz...so cannot say leave for holidays juz like tat...*sigh*
my fren told me pigeon brand is gd...so i bought lor...hehe...cos she is using them now mah :p
u havent book ur tour yet? But u r going during mid-March?
Still got time...no worries

Last Sat I was at the Sa(tour) preview fair, almost booked the tour liowz...but was giving myself another 1 day to decide when that nite, mom called me at almost 11pm and say my dad scolded me for wanting to go trip...so sianz

As for washable breast pads i think not all brands have....and they are normally in a box of 6's or something like tat

okasan,
yuppies...that might be the highest possibility liowz....
....go when bb is 1 yr-old *sigh*

kite,
The graco playpen and the Citisport EDT stroller looks gd but is the stroller very light?

KK: wow, 8 more weeks to go for you. Must be sooo exciting !!!
I've been telling baby to grow well so that i can see her soon :p
Heehee.

Pebbles : Yah, I checked ... is 2 mths ! I better finish mine soon ! I dont drink fresh milk, so sld be quite easy to finish the anmum.

Kite: My sis uses Graco playpen and pram ! she seems to think it is a good brand, i think it's quite ex right ? Do u have the prices for the items you posted ?? Am interested in them too.

Currently, my plan is to move back to parents place for my mum to do confinement for me. So i have to get a new bed for parents place too. Not sure if i sld get a twin size for me, or to get queen in the event that hubby wants to stay over too ...

Kite

My friend who uses Graco strollers says they are good but not overpriced. She swears by the travel system and the infant car seat is a best seller. Have been doing lots of research on this brand and there are +ve reviews on amazon & eopinions re strollers. You can read parents reviews on the mozaic and citisport. The mozaic is the latest more upmarket stroller. I have a Graco literider which is slightly bulkly but sturdy but weighs about 7kg and can attach infant car seat.

www.epinions.com

Good morning gals

re: tummy size
wahh... i saw u gals all measuring.. so i went to measure last nite. mine @ 36.5". oh mine.. :p

Tinklebell
U also usin Nuk bottles... actalli how many do we hv to stock up? there is only 2 sizes rite. The one i bought is w the transparent teats not the yellow type. Ur boi used them b4? Any comments?

Celeste, i didnt go to SA fair... the discount looks good on advertisement but after calculating, i feel that it is not cheap also lor... and they are going to Lotte world but i dont wish to go to lotte world... i prefer Everland bec they have the safari... my hubby and son love to see animals.

Kite, Graco is quite durable. We have this hand-me down playpen... passed thru several of my nieces... still v sturdy. Only thing is that i dont have the basnet... no sure if we can just buy the basenet.

Dor, my son used Avent and pigeon previously. Havent tried Nuk before. He didnt like avent at all bec i think the teats were too hard for him so i switched all his bottles to Pigeon. Yesterday, i did a count, managed to locate 5 Avent bottles... will prob use them to store EBM. I thought maybe this time i get my girl rubber teats wh are softer. The transparent teats are those silicon ones. Actually i would prefer silicon to rubber bec they are more lasting. So far, i bought 2 big ones and 1 small one... i think i will prob get one more small one. 4 should be enough right since we wash and sterilise everyday?

tinklebell,
For packaged tours, i will normally choose SA(tours) cos went with them during one of my Gold Coast trip and Korea trip...they provide gd service and food although they are normally slightly pricier than other agencies

Everland got safari? I dont remember liowz..hehe...but i remembered i went to a indoor water themepark....with many kinds of hotsprings inside...jin shiok....

Re : Nail Polish
Btw, juz wondering...izzit safe during preggie to use nail polish and also the nail polish remover?

tinklebell,
do u intend to directly latch on your baby? if yes, then dun need too many bottles...4 should be enough...

btw, is it true that baby that's on bf does not need to drink plain water at all?

tinklebell, celeste,
everland got safari...but not much to see...only see the bears and their famour "liger", offspring of lion & tiger....

allo tinklebell

so far i only bought one small bottle to see if it fit into my niece avent's sterliser as she will not b needin them soon.then found my corlic has new Nuk bottles not used at all n he is passing all to me.. that's save me some $$..hehe
r u using avent sterliser or Nuk's?

hey gals
for those who's mom is doin confinement for you, how much is the Ang Bao to be? Any indication??

Celeste, me too, i also normally go with SA for my packaged tours... but prob not this time round. see how first lor...going end march so no hurry.

hee hee ... my 2 guys at home just like to see animals, esp the old one... so since i am going there, might as well go everland to let them see their animals... i dont really like safaris...thought it's quite smelly.

okasan, i had quite a bad experience with my son latching for BM. I think i will try again with no2. Hopefully, this time, it is better. Ya, was told bb doesnt need to drink plain water but we still give to wash off the milk fr the mouth.

Dor, i have the older model of Pigeon steriliser. It fits all bottles. Hopefully it is still working well ...then i dont have to get a new one

tinklebell,
then better to standby bottles in case cannot latch directly...but 4 bottles should be enough...if not enough, still can get hubby to buy, no worries

hv u heard of the bottle babybfree? the bottle has a valve in the centre that stops air from entering the bottle hence baby will not suck in air when sucking milk. and there's an indicator that will change color if the temperature of the content is too high.

when i bought my baby cot at baby hpermart, the sales demonstrated the bottle to me and i exchanged the free toy with this bottle.. think it's quite a good technology. and the bottle is those tinted yellow bottle.. apparently made of better plastic compared to those clear bottles.

any one heard of this?

any1 consider sending their maids or moms/ Mil to attend infantcare trainings at TMC? Any idea whether it's good.. hmm.. after attending the anenatal course in TMC, i realize that our caregivers oso have to learn the right ways of taking care of the bb even though the parents learn how to do cos we have to wk.. so most of the time the caregivers are the ones that look after the bb..

1 interesting pt to note, ladies, juz learn that next time dun let ur maids/ other woman to keep holding ur bb in such a way that the bb face the women's breasts cos the strong smell of the breasts would form a bonding with them.. so the exclusivity shd be with u only so that ur child would be close to u only

Kite, milk bags at Motherswork - Tanglin Mall or Great World City, cost $12 for 100 bags, 118 ml. Avent bags might be better - $16.50 for 240 ml, 100 bags - at Kids Mall IMM or Suntec. 10% with citibank card. Please ring to reserve before going down, as the stocks are limited.

Tinklebell - lumps in armpits, my gynae said might be breast lumps, and that i shld monitor the growth.
nothing said after that.

Washable b-pads - check out avent. saw some on sale at hypermart.

Celeste - when my hubby told my PILs that we are going to BKK on Wed, their face changed. wonder what they are thinking... anyway, asked them to come over to water plants and feed fish while we are away.

Pigeon Disposable breast pad - i saw it selling for $8.90 per box of 36+6 pcs at BB Hypermart.

Re: Disposable Breast Pads
Any suggestions on whatt brands are good? So many brands out there... dunno which one to buy....

peng, no intention to send my maid or MIL to training. i think i will teach them along the way. might also need to teach CL how to bathe baby. Mrs Wong's demo was great, learnt alot.

And yes, after the TMC class last Sat, decided that i will bathe baby twice a day, and not let maid bathe baby, and will instruct her not to carry baby at her breast too often. for bottle feeding, rather MIL do the feeding than maid. Maid is last resort.

Amy, maybe ur in laws are worried abt the situation in BKK, given all the protests to oust Thaksin since last week.

Peng, mrs wong is right... somehow child has a special bonding with the caregiver's breasts... since young, i will cuddle by son by my brs every now and then.... even til now, my son loves the brs - cuddles... just recently, he told me that one side is him and the other side is his meh meh..hahaha..... so sweet

re: CL
i called my CL just now to discuss the list of things i expect her to do so that we wont have any misunderstanding when she is here... wow she asked for min $100 ang pow. $50x2. is that the norm? what is the mkt rate for ang pow? used to pay my ex-CL $60 but only end of her stay here.

Btw, how many milk bags should we be getting? How long can 100 pieces last us?

Also for the milk bottle that duffybuff is talking about, pls be beware that there are imitations to that bottles. The imitations will not have the purple tip heat sensor.

Anyway, the original milk bottle is hving 20% discount in Metro I think. Avent milk bags too. I saw that in the century square metro.

Hi tinklebell,

My CL didnt state that must give ang baos. But the person who intro her to me said must give her two. But the money is up to us to put.