(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

re: braxton hicks contraction

ya me seems to have bhc very early on in my pregnancy... at least 1 mth ago started liao... for my previous pregnancy last year, it was also abt start of 2nd trimester where my bhc started... and it keep increasing in frequency and intensity .... till my gynae gave me 2 medication to try to prevent pre term labour. At the 3rd trimester, my bhc is already so intense and frequent till its very painful for me... and on the day i was to deliver my boy, i still thought it was the regular bhc i had.. cos the feeling is abt the same... that's why din even realise me in labour and 2 cm dilated on week 37.

re: breastpump

me got the medela dual electric... wana get the ameda cos of the great comments but well.. dun wanna waste money liao.. cos i spend more than 1k just this month on flashcards and other education material for my boy
so for my girl, i prob only buy the milk bottle and clothes also reuse... hehee.. more worthwhile to spend on education ...

Medusa, Avent Cannon sells BM bags too. They are located at Gateway East, along beach road, level 32. Maybe you can ring them before going up. These are their last batch of BM bags too.

Amy,
So Avent not coming up with anymore milk bags? *faint* meaning everytime we do EBM have to pump directly into bottles and then transfer to milk bags?

I also have tightening feeling at my tummy before...not sure if it's braxton hicks...it felt so tight, I can hardly stand straight, but it's not painful, just tight feeling....

u all prefer to store EBM in milk bags? I was thinking of getting those glass bottles from
TMC to store EBM instead of buying milk bags....

sponge,

hybermart & baby kingdom may not neccessary sell cheaper...sometimes, the selling price is the same as robinson, etc....but hybermart & baby kingdom has a lot of choices compared to other departmental stores when it comes to stroller and cot/playpen

Oksasan, i was told that we should be careful with the use of glass bottles. firstly, they cannot be used more than 3 times due to the breaking of glass fragments. also, when stored in the freezer with cap on, the glass might break. hence i tot it's easier to get milk bags cos they are sterilised, more convenient, use and discard.

celeste, if you are not using milk bags, you can also store by pumping into avent via cups, which are disposable cups, used up to 4 times, however, these cups are quite expensive. alternatively, you can pump into avent bottles or milk containers, which are also quite expensive, and requires sterilsation. milk bags are more economical, about 15 cents per bag.

BTW - i have some glass bottles for EBM. Anyone interested, let me know.

amy,
I see...din know the glass bottles can only use max 3 times...I don't intend to freeze EBM, just wanna chill the EBM....what u say is true, glass bottle still need to sterilise....

Okasan, ya lor. Also, you will need to get proper plastic caps for the glass bottles, each cap cost abt 70 cents. however, if you are not freezing the glass bottles, maybe it's ok to use them? if you like, i have a bag of glass bottles which i can pass to you.

Amy,
i know Avent now got another type of cup thingy, then can attach the pump directly to it. The cup is not those disposable types....so i guess if there's no milk bags for it i might have to get the cups...but disadvantage is have to sterilise it bah

But u have any idea y they are discontinuing the milk bag productions?

Celeste

Those via cups can only be sterilised up to 4 times. you will need to check the instructions on the cups. unless you get the bottles, else you cannot use it repeatedly.

Re milk bags, i guess cos milk bags are cheap, and will cannabalise into their via cups, hence they are discontinuing the milk bags. if you interested in milk bags, motherswork sell playtext milk bags, as good as avent, but in 118ml. maybe use two at a time if you milk supply is good.

also, ring avent cannon, they might still have some leftover stock of milk bags. i was there last week, they mentioned still have some stock.

Celeste

Yes, it is stated "VIA pre-sterilised Cups are ready to use straight from the pack. They can be re-sterilised, used several times and discarded when showing signs of wear and tear". If you check the product in the shop, it stated on the box, up to 4 times. This was what i recalled, as i was considering getting this initially, but realised cannot be used long term and is quite expensive.

wow, in that case, it's really ex to get those cups....coz only can use 4 times....

amy, thanks for your offer. I don't think I'll collect glass bottles now...coz still early

Avent bm bags-
those are definitely my most preferred storage. Glass bottles abit kankor when u build up more, plus ltd capacity, plus must buy caps. But gd for a start... oh geesh I wonder I've kept mine!

KIDSMALL IMM said they'd have new stock coming in Wed or Thur, do call to check if interested

Allo ladies
it's been awhile that i hv posted. been busy w work. wahahaha.. u gals are really into the shopping mood getting prepare for all the purchase. I hv yet to get anything lei. Only started to see milk bottles last wkend. Thinkin to get Nuk one.. which suppose to hv the best teats, rite. Any gals getting Nuk too? Do share w me,okie

For the rest of the big items, I hv yet to start lookin.. do give me some tips cos i m almost at the top of the EDD list. :p

Update on my gynae visit last Sat. Everything is fine. My ger ger is abt 600g now and is kicking actively. Me in Wk 25 and i do feel tightening of the tummy area sometimes. cos bb head position is down so i think she shld be pressing my bladder or so.

take care gals. will try to post more often..hehe

Gers,

Thanks for the advise on the pram/milk bottles/pump. My friend has advised me to get a manual pump (probablly Avent) 1st & later invest in an electric pump as some mum might not be able to produce milk.
If Avent is not going to have production in the millk bag, it is still advisiable to get Avent pump ?? Btw, how much is KIDSMALL selling the milk bag per pack ?

okipoki,
it also depends on how much milk u intend to store...if u only store a few bottles, then u can just pump direct into the bottle instead of milk bag

think storage of milk is more a problem when we need to go back to work but wish to continue bf loh...if not, during the 1st 3 mth, no much worries abt how to store milk

okipoki, u need not store the breast milk in just the milk bag. in fact, i was ignorant of the milk bag until i read the postings on it. What i did in the past was pump direct into the bottle and freeze the milk in the bottle. worked well for me then.

anyone here thinking of trying out Bumwear Cloth Diapers?

was thinking if the bumwear cloth diaper is really that good to use, maybe can try coz using less dispoable diapers can cut down cost significantly

hi kite, okasan and amy
thanks for your info about antenatal class at TMC. kite, my class is from 430 to 6 p.m. okasan, you are right, the course details are on the handout given upon registration. i didn't read it carefully enough.amy, think i will try to ask hubby to come.

talking about a tight belly, mine feels like exploding after a heavy meal. nowadays i tend to eat 2 portions of dinner cos i feel i may not be feeding bb enough. but the result is a bursting tummy. skin on tummy feels tight most of the time, wonder if i will get stretch marks soon due to over stretching.

wow seems like everyone is buying bb stuff already... i haven't started bb shopping at all. work is still hectic... is it too late to wait till 3rd trimester to buy?

hi gina
my class same time as you! i start on 18 mar, you too?

okasan, morning! i am thinking of buying this bumwear as it has cost savings, but very troublesome to keep washing as compared to pampers....

just realised that we are all due in 3mth time! how time flies! have you all booked a confinement lady? i'm thinking of not getting one, just order confinement food. and my hubby can take mornings off to help out. what you think?

Morning ladies !!

Dor - My next visit to Henry will be on 11th Mar my week 24

okasan, tinklebell - I do have the intention of bf after the 3 mths of maternity leave (provided got milk production). Milk bags will come in handy as I am going to be a weekend mum when I start working.

Gers,

Just to share.. Yesterday, I went for my 1st pre-natal massage & was quite amazed by the effect. Do u gers remembered that I mentioned on the pain in my calf resulted from cramp ?? Well, I woke up this morning didnt feel any pain at all..

Good morning ladies!

okipoki, am glad to hear that your calf pain is gone
where do u go for your antenal massage? every evening, i feel my back aching esp after doing housework... donno if massage will be good for the back?

Just received email on latest advertisement on bb fair:
BABYCARE FESTIVAL 10 March to 12 March at Singapore Expo Hall 5A.

Good Morning!

Matched-gal,

pai seh ler...i still didnt manage to recognise u, cos i forgot how ur hubby look like
hee..pregnant woman tend to be forgetful ma... Just wonder r u the one sitting opposite me in the antenatal class??? :p

sugarbun,
eh? were u at the Saturday class?
Where u sitting?
hv u started the exercises @ home? Me tried y'day, but halfway (actually after 5 mins later), i fell asleep(!), hahaha... ;p

Matched_gal,

Ya, i came quite late :p maybe chun chun 2.30pm. I was sitting on the left, think 2nd one facing the instructor. R u wearing green?

I tried the exercise, but not the whole set. My BB always kick me when i practise the Kegel exercise

Tinklebell,
Per session is $70 abt 45mins and I went to their shop located at chinatown. I think is still much cheaper than Rustic Nirvana (hope the spelling is correct).

sugarbun,
left? arh? we end up bside each other again? hahaha... me on the left too (instructor's right)... u too?(!) i was the first one infront ;p
me not wearing green, me wearing beige/lite-brown sleeveless top, hehe ;p

sugarbun,
actually i also can't rem wat u luk like leh... jialat... i hv this very bad habit of not recognizing people (even b4 i preggie). Worse thing is i dun remember names also... jialat...

hi matched_gal,
Super funny ler... r we fated to be sitting together but not fated to say high to each other???
I was saying my hubby how come he is forgetful as me cos he also cant remember ur hubby face...haha

Hi all !
Am back from Shanghai !
I had such a good trip, eating and walking quite a bit. The weather was nice and COLD too ... snowed on one day !!!
I think this is a good time for us mummies (5 - 6 mths) to travel, cuz tummy is still not that bug and can still walk decent amount of distance :)
Only problem i encountered was on the flt back, where my calves became very swollen
Was sooo uncomfortable ... read online that to get rid of water retention, sld drink more tea, cuz it makes you pee ... :)
will be slowly catching up on all your postings !!

sugarbun,
my hubby hv quite common look, duno how to describe leh - bespectacled, abit on the plump side (hehe ;p)... Me luk quite untidy wif my coloured hair only halfway (now dat i can't dye), and rimless specs... hahaha...

btw, that means, u were the couple sitting next to us? u wearing yellow top?
Apologies for not recognizing leh... I dinno u were in the Saturday class - tot some in the other days' class cos the last week Friday's class got many classes combined leh...

Hi KOng, envy envy
u seem to have a lot of fun in Shanghai. how many weeks are u now?

My sil has planned for us a trip to desaru on 16th March but hubby is not too keen to drive his car there after reports of so many robbery cases.

Seems like i have to postpone my travel plan to late march bec it seems like the only date when my hubby and i could make it. but by then will be 6 mths coming to 7

Hi matched_gal,
I think u r rite, i m sitting on instructor's right too. My hubby is wearing yellow top, i m wearing blue top

Me wth my long half rebonding hair, look abit clumsy lor :p anyway, everyone now look more or less the same...

sugarbun,
oh yah! ur hubby's the one wif the yellow top...
haha... Tink can remember oreadi
But hope i can recognize next time ah... Can't really remember wat u / ur hubby luk exactly like... can 'faintly' remember only... ;)

Hi matched_gal,

Me too cant remember how u luk like cos u seldom turn over ler
I dun even notice u r wearing spec but i think i can remember how ur hubby look like liao cos he most of the time facing u ma...

for those who wearing spec, do your experience poor vision at this time... I intend to make a new set but the optometry tell me hormone tend to change during pregnancy and the degree cant be accurate... Is it true?