(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

sugarbun,
i tot u were wearing specs during Fri class - then last week's class like u were not wearing specs leh. My memory haywire liaoz... yah, tink ur hubby quite recognizable - he's quite tall rite?
Yah, i seldom turn ard - luk at instructor most of the time ah... Okies, i try to recognize u next time - hope i say hi to the rite person

sugarbun,
eh, how did u noe i went to make new specs y'day?(!). haha, *kidding*... I really did visit the optician y'day, cos my current specs CMI liao... She told me hormones change - and not accurate to take degree for eyes for us preggie ladies. She recommend taking degree one year after we give birth ah... I heard oreadi abit xian, cos i've to waste $ on a new pair of specs - prob it may last only a few months to a year...

any of u ladies also experience blur vision? ;)

okipoki,
tink u've to start the exercises liaoz if got numb leg. Me leg so far so good... Back s'times ache if i sit too long, and my worst problem now is my itch around my tummy... haiz...

tinklebell: am almost 23 week weeks now

dont worry, if driving, sld be more comfortable than flying IMHO ...

I drive up to KL quite often wif hubby too cuz he is malaysian
so need to go back and visit relatives ...
heehee

sugarbun, matchedgal,
i also experience blurred vision, so uncomfortable at times! was thinking to buy a new pair this friday, but i've also heard about the pregnancy hormone cause havoc temporarily, so still unsure.. sigh.. what should i do?

matched_gal,
I didnt wear specs to any of the class cos i see better with my contact lens. The specs a bit blur liao though only one year, maybe it's due to my hormone change as well. So at the end, did u make a new pair of specs yesterday?

My hubby, ya he's quite tall

Okipoki,

I dun hav numb leg, but my hand did, especially when i wake up. My gynae told me this is because when we sleep, all fluid will flow to our upper body caused the numb feeling. He just told me try to stretch my hand
I guess u experience the numb leg with same reason while sittng n standing, perhaps u want to do some stretching exercise or massage as mentioned by matched_gal on ur legs.

Mum2B,

I agree wth u, quite uncomfortable. Now i dun dare to drive at nite cos really cannot concentrate. Maybe we can go make a cheaper one just in case we only used it for less than 1 yrs. Wat do you think?

morning ladies

K Ong, did you buy alot of things during your SHA trip? No problem with 5 hr flight?
I'm planning to go Melb in mid Mar.

mum2b, sugarbun,
actually my vision blurr i duno whether bcos of preggie or bcos i stare at PC more leh... But anyways, my current specs can't wear anymore (my good old pair has been wif me for 3 years, so sad) - so i had to make new ones. Yah, y'day i bot a new pair of specs. On hearing (from my optician) that preggie hormones do cause the degree measurement to be 'inaccurate' (dat's y they recommend only making a good one one year after giving birth), i chose a pair which is not so ex ah. So one year down the road, if my degree change, can make a good/more expensive one. Actually it's up to you whether you want to change specs now - but for me i've no choice, cos my current spec cmi liaoz...

okipoki,
hehe, hard for me to describe here leh (eg turn feet toward you & away fr you). Btw, u signed up for any antenatal class? They usually go thru' the exercises and tell u it's for wat purpose...

KOng, most likely we will not go for the desaru trip unless my SIL can change that to weekend.
We'll most likely go to Korea on 23rd March but it's 6 + hrs flight. hope it'll be ok. Did they stop u for the doc's certification? i checked with the airline they mentioned 8 mths then need doc's cert but i think better to get hor?

BTW, do u gals feel v hot lately? somehow i just feel so hot everyday even though hubby tells me he's so cold

mum2b, sugarbun, matchgal, yes... i do notice my vision seems to be a bit poorer. i'm wearing those CRT lenses at nite. In the day, normally i get perfect vision but these days, i feel that my vision is not as good.

tinklebell,
think to play safe, better get a doc certification wth u when u travel. My gynae always give me one, and the airline crew always ask me who many months liao.

Hot? oh yes, vry hot this few day. cannot sleep w/o air-con on. hubby also commented vry cold :p last nite try to be hero, not to turn on aircon, but wake up at 3am feel like sleeping in the oven...almost *pengsan*

mispiggy: no, didnt buy much, only walked and ate ! heeheee
it was 5hr to Shanghai too ... going there was ok, felt really good, but coming back, had some water retention so was a bit uncomfortable. try to seat near toilet and dont wear tight shoes cuz your feet will def expand !!

tinklebell: yar, my gynae gave me a letter to certify fit to fly for the next 2 mths. Actually, the ground staff/ flt staff didnt notice that i was pregnant, maybe cuz i was wearing a white shirt which covered my bump. But better get the letter just in case

K_Ong,
That time u went Shanghai rite? How was the flight cos like bout 5 hrs without much chance of stretching urself...uncomfy boh?
This morning saw the papers SQ got promo at $98 to Taipei! But was at seminar, juz reached office not long ago and tried going in to book...no more empty seats at all *faint*
Am thinking of considering going for self-drive trips to Perth instead....still thinking

mspiggy,
u going with whole family or just u and hb alone?
Me going with hb alone...wondering if its boring going self-drive with 2 person only...Melbourne is out for me cos i dont wanna take a 7+ hrs flight wonder if i can tahanz...haha...so the next nearest is Perth....which is bout 4 hrs flight only

But one bad thing bout Aussie now is the weather is quite hot

hi celeste and mspiggy

wow... so nice, going to Oz for a holiday? my hubby has taken leave for the whole of next week. still not sure where to go. Oz a bit warm now, Korea too cold. maybe end up going to Bintan.

Amy,
Yuppies...Oz is hot now...tat time i went for my HM also in March kinda hot also....but that time was late March so it was not as hot as SG yet

Bintan...hehe...going to Banyan Tree ah...they got the 3D2N romantic package i think...hehe

Celeste, ya, i also saw the SQ taipei promotion.. but it's only for mid week travel... anyway very worth it right?

Heard fr my fren that OZ is very hot now... and got a lot of flies leh.... if u like the sun ok lah... but i dont really. we will prob go next Sept as a family when bb is > 1 year old.

Hi Ladies!

I also had the problem of blur vision. When went to food court, cannot see the board clearly haha... but that was in my early trimester. The problem went off after some time. Vision back to normal after that.

hi celeste and amy,
me going with family. will take it easy as already been to those places of interest. yap agree now it's abit hot... but guess end of mar is not too bad.

celeste blur: yup ! went to shanghai !
5 hrs was ok la, still can tahan.
we took the morning flt, so slept most of the time. went toilet twice and took the opportunity to walk ard the cabin.

the flt back was more uncomfortable. maybe cuz it was the evening flt, so by that time, drank quite a bit of water. calves started feeling heavy and tight abt halfway thru the flt. went toilet but didnt relieve the uncomfortable feeling in the calves. maybe it was due to high level of salt in the food while i was there as well. cuz can still feel a bit of water retention today (and my flt back was on Sun)

now, trying to eat bland food for my meals to rid my body of excess salt :p

ms piggy, wow... so fun. hope you enjoy your trip. i studied in Melbourne for 6 yrs. enjoyed my time there. will bring baby there next yr prior to his one yr old birthday. looking forward to the great food and weather then...

mspiggy, ya, maybe should just go to bintan, more relaxing hor? okies... will make my booking over the next few days lo...

sugarbun, matchedgal,
yeah, good idea, maybe will get a cheaper one for the time being.

tinklebell,
eh sorry ah, what's CRT lenses?

hi has any1 done the research on the cost of employing a maid?? any agency to recommend for good maid?? tks alot..

hee hee.. i will be going to HK in 2 wks time.. hope to have a good rest..

hi josephine
hehe so we both seem to have booked the same time slot on the same day. see ya on 18 march.
I have booked a confinement lady, a malaysian recommended by colleague. haven't met up with her yet though. can we really go without a confinement aunty? don't know can cope or not... hubby is just there for emotional support, don't suppose he can help much...

Mum2B, CRT lenses are one kind of contact lenses which u wear at night while sleeping. It will shape the curvature of your eyes such that when u take them off the next morning, u get perfect vision for the day.

Peng, wow, finally your hubby allows u to travel... that's great! i'm also looking for a maid agency... my ex-maid has gone to hk already so i'll be getting a confinement nanny for 1 mth and after that then i get my new maid in. I saw on the net this website www.maidlibrary.com.sg they seem to have a good database of maids from various agencies. I heard a lot of bad comments of some of the larger agencies. i think it'd be good to look thru the quality of maids first. i like my previous agency but i just couldnt find their namecard anywhere

gina, i'll probably book my confinement nanny this week. better to have bec it allows u to rest well during the first month and relief u of household duties. unless your hubby or parents/ in laws/ maid can cook and do all the housework, if not, i feel that it is better to get a confinement.

Amy,
if u wanna do some shopping + eating, then i think BKK will be a better choice...bintan is only like resort only for rest n relax...

tinklebell,
i am okies with mid-week travel, actually targetting to depart on wed/thur one...but no more tix...so sad

As for Aussie, got a lot of flies? *faint* Cos i went to check the archived weather reports for March period it is around 18-29 degrees range, so i was thinking might not be so hot to travel?

mspiggy,
since u going with family shld be quite gd n relaxing
especially self-drive, i think its better to have more ppl then can take turns and got more things to yak on the road ;)

K_Ong,
is shanghai nice? As in very crowded boh? I suggested to hb on Beijing and Shanghai before but he say very crowded there so he not really interested in going. What bout the food, shopping or sightseeing? Got lotsa stuffs to do?

peng,
I might be hiring a maid...still toying with this idea...but mom was telling me maid can get quite soon, so if unless cant really find a nanny then i will get a maid

sigh.. i might need to employ a maid cos my mil thinks she can't cope alone..

hmmm.. tinklebell, just to confirm on the monthly cost.. for an indo maid, abt $250+ govt levy of $200 (if got children under 12 yrs old) right? How abt the agency fees? What's the mkt rate?? Do u think it's better to get the maid b4 u r due so that we can teach them first?? or later? if later, how late??

Celeste, I am still weighing the pros and cons of getting a nanny too.. headache

Hi Ms piggy, re: Ameda breast pump, i heard feedback from my friend that it is quite fragile. are some of the parts made of glass?

peng, if u have an indo, the min salary now is $280+200 (if got children under 12 yrs old). If not, u pay $295 FWL. Agency fees depends. Indon is normally cheaper. i asked around, it's in the range $188 to $300. BUT if ur maid is not transfer maid, she will also have to pay agency fees (this ranges from $1500 to $2200 - Fili on the higher end bec of the more expensive airfare). The amount will be prepaid by the employer but will be dedcuted from their salaries on a monthly basis.

We dont think we want a maid so early bec very leh cheh to have another person in the house. moreover, nothing much for her to do now that my son is quite independent. I'll be getting a confinement nanny so during the first mth, if plus the maid, my house will be quite cramped. H/e, if she is helping u out during confinement, then it's good to get her in early. i hope to arrange for her to come in the later part of my first mth so that she can also learn fr the confinement nanny. Then after that, i have another 2 more mths to train her. Since she is new, i dont think i want her to handle my bb... her role is more of helping out in the household chores.

Celeste, if u are not getting a confinement nanny, it's good to get the maid early so that u can train her. U going perth is it? ya, if it's 18-29 deg, it's is not that hot... hmmm can consider lor. these days i just feel so hot even though it is windy at night. i can switch on the aircon without feeling cold. (usually i will be the one complaining that it is too cold) hee hee ....i think for me, i prefer to go somewhere where i can enjoy cool breeze

Morning
375167.gif

any mummies here getting
375168.gif
stroller?

Me went to BB Hyperstore & BB Kingdom on Sunday, saw Peg-Perego stroller, liked it very much but quite ex...$460-$480...but can sit till 4yr old.
So 1 yr $100+....so quite ok rite? Ha haaa....

Here's the pic....

375169.jpg

Celeste: Yes, Shanghai is really nice ! haahaa. i was there last yr, so quite familiar with the city area. This time, just stuck to walking ard, meeting friends and eating ! The food is sooo good, xiao long bao !
I didnt think it was very crowded, but just take precaution and walk slowly, make sure hubby walking behind u, when going up stairs, etc ...

I was also there for the weather, cold and nice ... so basically also a r&r trip rather than shopping/sightseeing trip

Water Retention: Does anyone know if the calf cramps are due to water retention ?? I am suffering from water retention since my flt on Sun, and last night woke up with bad bad cramps in my calves
was sooo painful ...

Shoes also getting a bit tight, so need to buy new shoes this weekend

peng,
my mom trying to look around for trustworthy nanny now...but cos the date is still quite far away, the nanny she found does not want to agree yet...cos for my case, most prob need the nanny somewhere around aug-sep.
For maid, i asked my frens around...they said maid (salary + taxes etc) approx $600 a mth..then mabbe include her food, utilities etc prob comes up to $800 a mth bah

i_panda77,
I was considering the Peg Prego stroller also! But the 2 models i eyeing...one was too light...tats y dont seem to feel so secure bout it...the other one was too heavy...*faint*...tats y settled for the maclaren one...haha

K_Ong,
OoOo...so u r familiar with SH liowz so its quite gd...

ya lor...i tink cooling weather is gd ;)

tinklebell,
yuppies...if i getting a maid then i will get her to come like 2-3 weeks before my EDD, but it must be when i start my ML/leave...otherwise imagine leaving the maid at home doing nothing....*faint*...later she go out n mix around even worst!
As for Perth, juz asked my fren...she also said March got big flies!! haha....how come there got big flies hah?

Celeste: Yes, Shanghai is really nice ! haahaa. i was there last yr, so quite familiar with the city area. This time, just stuck to walking ard, meeting friends and eating ! The food is sooo good, xiao long bao !
I didnt think it was very crowded, but just take precaution and walk slowly, make sure hubby walking behind u, when going up stairs, etc ...

I was also there for the weather, cold and nice ... so basically also a r&r trip rather than shopping/sightseeing trip

Water Retention: Does anyone know if the calf cramps are due to water retention ?? I am suffering from water retention since my flt on Sun, and last night woke up with bad bad cramps in my calves
was sooo painful ...

Shoes also getting a bit tight, so need to buy new shoes this weekend

Hi Tinklebell,

Re : Ameda pumps
So has not heard any complaints from my hubby's cousins. But will check with them regarding this.

i_panda77, my hubby wants to buy this too!
Celeste: light stroller is good, east to bring around. many parent end up carrying their bb instead of put in stroller when go out, due to stroller too bulky and heavy. Peg Perego Prima i think can use one hand to open and close, which my hubby likes a lot! but quite ex hor...

tinklebell: i think you should get the maid in during confinement then she can learn from confinement lady how to bathe/wash/clean/change bb. If later then come in, you are all alone taking care of bb, and have to teach her how to do household chores. quite tiring and frustrating.

all of you getting confinement ladies? where to find? and really worth it or not, esp if you will breastfeed and take care of bb yourself at night. any one catering for confinement food and not getting nanny?

ladies i'm going to bali in Mar!! booked the SQ $98 air ticket offer yesterday!! tricked my hubby in agreeing to go! now he's quite pissed, but i think it's ok to travel la...

can't organise the taka fair meetup with all of you as i'll be in Bali, but let's still meet up soon before we give birth ya? are friday nights good for you all? like suntec/

i_panda77, my hubby wants to buy PP too!
Celeste: light stroller is good, easier to bring around. many parents end up carrying their bb instead of putting in stroller when go out, due to stroller too bulky and heavy. Peg Perego Prima i think can use one hand to open and close, which my hubby likes a lot! but quite ex hor...

tinklebell: i think you should get the maid in during confinement then she can learn from confinement lady how to bathe/wash/clean/change bb. If later then come in, you are all alone taking care of bb, and have to teach her how to do household chores. quite tiring and frustrating.

all of you getting confinement ladies? where to find? and really worth it or not, esp if you will breastfeed and take care of bb yourself at night. any one catering for confinement food and not getting nanny?

ladies i'm going to bali in Mar!! booked the SQ $98 air ticket offer yesterday!! tricked my hubby in agreeing to go! now he's quite pissed, but i think it's ok to travel la...

can't organise the taka fair meetup with all of you as i'll be in Bali, but let's still meet up soon before we give birth ya? are friday nights good for you all? like suntec/

celeste, tinklebell, peng, me also keen to employ a maid. plan to have her here at the end of my confinement period, as i have engaged a confinement lady. also, i will not ask her to bathe baby or look after baby, just do housework. my MIL has agreed to have the maid at her place when i go to work, so she can keep an eye on baby and the maid. the maid can also help out at her place. MIL will continue to cook dinner for us, so all worked out well. if MIL wanna go out, will ask mum to take over as back up. hee hee....no need to use infant care lo.

Celeste

the one i am looking at weigh ard 8kg...a bit heavy hor...but we got car, so shld be ok. Actually hubby very tempted to buy that day but i told him wait for the baby fair 1st then see, scally got sale how? But i doubt so hor...

Jo... wow... you going to Bali! How nice. We will be booking a package to BKK this Sat. Hubby said I will enjoy BKK more than Bintan.