(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Good morning ladies!!! Another long week to go
really looking forward to my maternity leave

Amy, i have PM u the Rainbow vacuum cleaner contact.

morning ladies!

re: baby cot

i was at bb kingdom on sunday morning too! My SIL and us went together to buy our baby cot. I ended buying a baby cot for my boy it cost abt $279 for walnut/cherry color and $329 for white color before further discount... We bought 3 of those white color cots... its 4 level convertible. My current white one is the one displayed with DREAMI cartoon... its slightly smaller with 3 adjustable level and selling at $319. I bought the bigger one for my boy... and then his current one will be given to his baby sister.

Both cots can convert to little infant bed (they have a display of it) and sleep up to 5-7 years old depending on their sleeping pattern and height. Afterwhich, they can be converted to day bed or sofa for them to sit and read their books in cosy corner...
Now both my babies got their own cot liao

btw, ladies, maybe u wanna upgrade the mattress to more breathable ones like babysafe or at least those with holes .... less hot for the bb to lie on

we ponder on buying playpen but also decide against it as find it small and restrictive to be used as a play area ( we currently used the haenim baby play room). As a bed, when bb start to be very mobile... it feels unstable. And most importantly, when your baby grow older into the 2-4 years old range... even if can sleep inside also cant get in and out on his/her own cos the side panel cant be replace with bed guard.

we consider mattress but we are not confident of being able to vacuum the floor daily... so worried it will be dusty for our little ones to sleep on mattress. So the baby cot which will be multipurpose suits our needs the most...

Morning ladies.

Re: cramp

kk/tinklebell/kite - Strangly my 1st 2 cramps I had previously I dont feel the pain. Is only this round the pain will really terrible. My hubby did apply those heat rub but the pain is still there. Anyway, I will wait patiently hoping it will go off in the next few days. Thanks

Re: Pram

I have yet to get any pram... Any recommendation ?? Saw a few range like combi, lucky etc. Quite blur....

Re: Milk bottle / Breast Pump

Any recommendation on both ?? Hehe !!

poohy,
if your kids dun reject baby cot, then good loh...my friend's son refuse to sleep in baby cot at 6mth, so she has no choice but to let him sleep on mattress....

poohy,
the bb cot that u previously bought for ur boy at $319, is it pine wood or cherry wood? I am thinking if i shld get pine wood or cherry wood one

okipoki,
Milk bottles i might get Avent ones....actually have a small and medium sized one already cos I bought the Avent IQ steriliser and it comes with some freebies
....as for pump, am thinking of getting the medela mini electric but havent buy yet

okipoki,
for breast pump, u looking at electric or manual?
as for strollers, it depends on your preferences loh...some factor to consider when buying are:

1. weight of stroller (impt if u don't drive and need to carry the stroller, if drive, then no prob)
2. size of stroller (whether can fit into car boot, etc)
3. stroller can carry up to what weight
4. suitable for infant (if u plan to let your infant use the stroller, then must consider getting those that can fully lied down one)

okipoki, poor girl... i can imagine how painful your pain is. Try to massage your calf regularly... hope it helps.

re: milk bottle
i am thinking of using Nuk. I have lots of Avent bottles at home... anyone wants let me know...my boy boy doesnt like the teats.

re: breast pump
I have the avent manual pump... it's not bad but only thing is that it is manual so it's quite tiring pumping... will have it as a standby. am thinking of buying the medela electric dual pump or the PIS. my hubby keeps telling me the PIS is a waste of money if i dont pump for more than a year and if i dont have no3
i think max i can pump is ard 6 mths... no3??? yesterday hubby ask me abt it ... errr ...just strike me that i am not that young any more ...cant afford to space out too far
hope to have but see how it goes lor.....aiya maybe i'll just buy the dual pump instead.

tinklebell,
the medela electric dual pump still not tat bad rite? Think it costs $200+? I know the PIS one is really exp...bout $600+...so that is definitely out for me....hb felt that no need to spend so much on pump alone

Morning ladies

Cot- I advise basic cost, no point spending too much in case baby outgrows. Mine is basic and convertible to junior bed.

Playpen- it's gd for safe confinement of baby while caregiver goes to the toilet/ kitchen.
Alternatively can get a play-yard if u've the space.

I have 1 cot-convertible-to-junior-bed, 2 playpens (1 each at IL's and mum's), 1 play-yard (at my own place)... :p .

Am selling off 1 playpen cos I won't be dropping by mum's anymore. It was on sale at $100, am selling it 2nd-hand great condition, used for 3mths only and used at my mum's place only (got it for my girl's 1st b'day), comes with changing bassinet, mattress, different height adjustments, can't recall the brand but it's blue colour, no pic sorry.
$45, self-collection at Bedok Reservoir area, pls PM me!

okasan, u do have a point there... that was what happened to mine boy. at 6 mths, he refuses to sleep on the cot anymore! it was quite big and bulky and we have problem even finding a place to keep it in the storeroom... luckily a friend was interested in it and we managed to find the cot a new home
mine was also convertible to bed but then it was too small even for my 6 mth old son who like to roll abt. eventually, we thought a cheap good old method of using mattress was the best solution. til now, he's still sleeping on the mattress.

last nite, we were planning on how to rearrange our rooms. seems like my master-bed room is already so packed ... just have limited space for even a playpen...was thinking to getting rid of my dressing table... but hubby protested...hmmmm .... then no choice lor.... have to squeeze the cot in somewhere.

Hi Okasan,

Ya! The rocker i heard is very cooling for the bb and the net is something like modern type sarong, so the bb head can be round

Hi Kite,

My idea is if i buy cot, what if the bb reject it when she grows older? Then it becomes a white elephant. And cot takes up more space than playpen. BB can sleep in playpen maybe for 3 mths, then transfer over to normal mattress adults sleep on. With the rocker. I think that's what my mil going to do at her place when she takes care of her. Next time, bb can play in the playpen. If dun wanna use, can fold and keep in storeroom
Save space

tinklebell,
actually your hubby is quite right loh...coz unless u really gonna use the PIS for long time, else not worth buying...so ex

kk,
we both think alike....I prefer playpen coz can store in compact manner unlike cot....anyway, my bedroom also not much space, can only put a playpen inside...

kk, avent pump only accepts avent bottles. Most Pigeon bottles (except those with wide neck) are same size as other normal bottles. so i think pigeon pumps may not necessarily need pigeon bottles.

re: breast feeding
i heard of some pp who do not have breast milk (somehow... but not sure why) ... so is it too early to invest in a pump? but if dont get it now, then it is too troublesome to go out to get it during confinement. actually, i prefer to get my stuff earlier then during confinement.

okasan, true lor...

tinklebell,
it's true that some women don't have milk at all...I have a friend who was so eager to bf her baby, but simply cannot coz no milk at all...and she was very upset abt it...

since u already have a manual one, maybe use that for the time being?? if after delivery and sure going to bf for long, then buy one after confinement?

I'm thinking of getting one manual one first...but I prefer to latch baby directly...so the manual pump is only standby in case cannot latch on...else, if can latch on, I only need to use the pump when I go back to work, which is 3mth later

good morning ladies.

RE: pumps
I heard good reviews abt Amede breastpump. It's comparable to PIS but the price is abt half of PIS only. I'm consider getting this.

okasan, i had quite a bad experience letting my son latch on last time... he was a hungry boy who had no patience to wait for the milk to flow out. and he always had problem finding the correct latching position...and would cry non stop when he cant have his milk. that's why, kind of have a phobia of direct bf'g now
i hope my girl is not so impatient.

The Avent manual pump is not too bad in terms of stimulating milk flow... but it's tiring for the hands. The reason why i want to buy the medela pump before giving birth is bec i hope to get it at a discount when there are sales.

tinklebell,
i see...I'm also worry abt latching on...but will just try and see loh...

true that if u buy now, at least u can buy during sales...if wait till after delivery then buy, u may have to buy at normal price...

u are in a more advantage position than us coz u are not first-time mum...based on your first pregnancy, if u find expressing milk ok, then maybe u can go ahead to buy the medela pump loh....

Okasan, there will be a JL sale on Tuesday for card members. 20% off storewide from 6.30 pm onwards. Maybe you can use your vouchers there.

Gina, yes, hubby should attend 3rd and 4th class at TMC. However, 1st and 2nd class also impt, as we practised stretching techniques which hubby can assist you with, as well as games for playing with baby.

Celeste, which model of MacClaren stroller did you get? I got the Techno XT. For car seat, I got Maxi Cosi Cabrio. We also got a Quinny Zapp for our Maxi Cosi. That was planned according to our infant care needs. But now, we are getting a maid, so might not get the Zapp.
Save money...

Also, re baby cot from Baby Kingdom, I paid $250 for cot only (white). The cherry wood cot should be cheaper. You will need to top up if you want their cot bedding accessories and mattress. Their mattress quality is not very good, babysafe is better, as it has holes in it to prevent SID.

Tinklebell, thanks for your Rainbow contact. He will be bringing the vacuums to my place this Sat.
Re your avent bottles, do you know you can change the teats to the Pigeon P teats S or Y? It fits the avent bottles. My fren too, her baby rejected the avent teats, but is ok with the pigeon teats.

Poohy, i got my cot from Kingdom too, the white one with 4 adjustable heights. I am now waiting for Robinsons sale to get the babysafe mattress.
If there is no sale by May, I will start a thread for bulk purchase of the mattress. Will keep you posted then.

Medusa - interested in your playpen. Just PMed you.

kk - yes, avent pump must attach to avent bottles.
i guess it's the same with pigeon.

okasan,
i actually heard that first few days there might not be any milk flow, but must continue to let bb suck to stimulate milk production....donno true anot also...so its like i heard must have determination to keep trying....

then hb's colleague was telling him manual pump is gd if u have a lot of milk...i also donno how true it is...otherwise i will get the avent manual pump.

mspiggy,
This Amede pump u mentioned can fit all milk bottles or need special brand of milk bottles?

Re: EBM

Any mummies interested in EBM? I just bought 10 boxes of Avent Milk Bags from Kids Mall at IMM (100 bags, 240 ml). These are limited out of stock items. Avent will not be producing anymore milk bags after this batch. Mummies who are interested in EBM can considering getting these. It's very convenient, as you can pump direct into these bags using your Avent pump, then can store st away. If you like, you can also get the milk bottle holder to hold the milk bags, meaning, you can pump, store the bags, and when feeding time, insert bags directly into the bottle holder to feed, no need to sterlise the bottle further. Good for travelling.

I also got Playtex Milk Bags from Motherswork. However, they are in 118 ml, might not be useful when your milk flow increases. Playtext Milk Bags also goes well with Avent pump.

Hi Ms piggy, thanks for the link. so they also allow trials. I dont really know of anyone using this pump at the moment so i dont really know if it is good. seems like Ameda could be quieter than Medela. wat is the cheapest he is willing to sell?

Celeste, indeed, manual pump is better, as has a better gripe, but can be tiring. My SIL survived on a manual pump and she is still breastfeeding, bb is now 14 mths old.

amy,
the JL sale on tue is for card member only right? I got vouchers but not their card member...so can still go huh?

celeste,
ya, for the first few days, no milk..only colostrum which is what an infant need for the 1st 48 hours...

RE: Ameda pumps

My hubby's cousins are using them, forget to check with them if it can fit all bottles. But I know one of them using NUK bottles now.

As for the price, I did call him earlier he's offering me $290. He mentioned it will be better deal if there's 10 orders or more. But I didnt ask how much will that be. If more people keen, maybe I can call him again.

Hmm... Okasan, not sure whether can still go. I know at Robinsons, they will have a closed door sale for card members, not sure whether JL will do the same. Maybe you ring them to check?

Amy,
I got the Techno XT also...cos can use from newborn up till 25kg...and can fully recline
...got it at $305...how much did u get urs for?
I was told cherry wood more exp than pinewood wor...but i guess pinewood is gd enuff mah...
..the one i saw at bb hyperstore is $199 for the bed frame alone

as for pump, will gather more info from frens see whether majority say manual better or electric better

Re : Baby Cot
Seems like many of u gals got the bb cot from bb kingdom....is the bb cot at bb kingdom cheaper?
Last Saturday I only drop by Bb hyperstore, shld have gone to bb kingdom also since its at the same place....but was rushing for time so didnt go

okasan,
i still tot colostrum is only like 1st day, after that might have milk oledi...so it will last for a few days ah...

Celeste, my Techno XT cost $319. How come yours so cheap? Same store - BB Hypermart rite? Hmm...

Amy,
The salesperson told us its $319 with delivery included, then i asked if dont want delivery got cheaper boh...then he said if no delivery is $305...then since we drove there tat day, so we brought back ourselves...saved $14
...ya, also from bb hypermart at the kaki bukit one

Celeste - I see. Then I'll collect all my stuff from them. They din tell me no delivery cheaper. What color did you get? I got cornflower.

Amy,
replied ur email and gave u my mobile for easier contact too.
Thx for the BM bags info, I think I'd go stock up later!

breastpump,
I used Avent manual for #1... err, was just telling my gf that and she was amazed I managed to manual pump some time. No joke using manual ah. Either direct latch or electric pump, better.
For 1st time bfg mums, perhaps just wait and see, not too late to buy an electric pump when things more settled post-delivery.

Medusa, thanks for your email.
If you are getting the BM bags, please ring them to reserve prior to going down. Their no is: 6563 7677. You will need to be quick, cos only the IIM outlet sells the BM bags.
If you have a citibank card, you get 10% off.

Mummies, have any of you experienced hardening/stiffening of your tummies? My gyane mentioned it could be Braxton Hicks. But, i read that Braxton Hicks normally start in Week 30. I am only in week 25, and i experienced these hardening/stiffening about 10 times yesterday.

Amy, now that u mention it, i recall that i have experienced the tightening of the tummy area since late last week. i'm only coming to 24 weeks.... quite uncomfortable but it comes and goes.

I also have this problem of getting back ache if try to get up after lying down flat on my back for too long.

Amy and Celeste - do you intend to use padding on the Techno XT for your newborns ? Cos I also reserved that stroller but not sure if new born can be put on it since it looks so flat and not cushioned.

Joy, yes, I will use an extra head rest as well as the winter padding on the Techno XT stroller. The padding cost about $90 plus. It looks quite nice as it can also act as a blanket.

BHC-
I never experienced it, even in first pregnancy. This time also nothing, but I get body aches (lower back, hips) when I walk, or turn in my sleep.

tinklebell, yes, i read on this link: http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/pregnancy/childbirth/156.html that Braxton Hicks start as early as 6 weeks, just that we only really feel them at mid trimester. The feeling is quite uncomfortable, as you cannot really walk fast as you feel like you are carrying a stone...

Back ache, me too... since last week. I also have some lumps in both my arm pits, and when i asked gynae, she mentioned that these are breast lumps. Although they are small (two on left side, one on right side), they posed as a discomfort. Also, they seemed to be growing...

tinklebell and Amy,
I also have tightening of the stomach once in a while....but i tot that is like stretching of the stomach becos stomach growing bigger...so that is actually braxton hicks?

Joy,
me not intending to get extra padding, cos i asked the salesperson and he told me the cushion is enuff for newborn liowz...no need to get additional ones