(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Kite: bought my cot for $250 (cot only) plus $30 delivery and assesmbly fee.

Kite: You got mail.
Oh yea I went Sakae yesterday despise not feeling well but cos I can't go foodcourt. Standard really drop a lot. I dun think I eat a lot of their sushi nowadays, mostly their popular sidedishes. and yea i avoid raw meat too.

Kite: the cot can be converted to playpen, and can be used till 5 years old, as can then be converted to bed. I chose this cot cos it has 4 levels of adjustment, so when baby is less than 6 months, can place at highest level, so no need to strain the back when carrying baby in/out of the cot (those cots at mothercare are quite low, and can strain the back if not careful). Second or third level is when baby can sit up, so safer to place the mattress lower. Fourth level is a play pen.

Still, I might get my own playpen. My fren advised that baby should be left in playpen during the day, and cot at night, so baby can diff between day and night. One is for playing, one for sleeping.

Pinky: hee hee... today i work from home. going off for my detailed scan now.

Yes me working. Lucky got this forum. If not will be bored to death. Today office very empty. Boss on mc. everyone else dunno go where. I lazy, if not can go out shop shop also....

Amy: Happy scanning and seeing baby!

Didn't know buying cot also so exp. Maybe checking this out after CNY.

Starfish: Ha ha good for you. I'm mostly busy at work but today not much mood to work besides I got to work till 830pm tonight sia.
Ha ha you can sneak out to shop??!!! ha ha I sneak out also no place to go!

hi mums,
what do you eat for a snack during teatime ???

i have been eating old chang kee curry puffs the last 2 days ... think i sld eat something else today :)

pinky pink:
Oh no, they make you work so late. Got pay OT or not?

I am in sales and marketing, so out for meetings very often so ppl will just assume I'm out for meetings when they do not see me in office lor. But I must be ready to answer my boss if she calls me on my mobile when I'm out lah :p

Hi Pinky,
yes i m working. Used to be very tired during 1st tri, now feel okie. usually nowadays i slp at 11pm. if slp too early, wil wake up in e middle of e nite n cant slp cos slp at 11pm just nice.
Dunno leh after i hv sakae sushi, now i m feeling abit funny, feel nauseous, dunno y.

Hi Amy,
wow the $250 babycot u bought seems very worth leh. u bought it from where?

Hi k ong,
usually i eat biscuits for snacks.

hi josephine,
i eat salmon skin, ebi sushi n others like fried n takeshi tofu, soft shell crabs, fried chicken, salom skin hand roll and etc. just avoid raw ones.

kite,
=P""" I'm feeling my craving for jap food coming now... hehe...

k ong,
i usually take almonds, if not, biscuits/sometimes sinful snacks (eg potato/tapioca chips) for tea, hehehe... I also had craving for curry puff & samosa some time ago, and got my dad to go all the way to mustafa to get me some (cos i cudn't find yummy ones nearby) hehehe... Actually food wif curry potatoes in them (whether it's indian / japanese curry) really appetizing...

hi matched_gal,
this morning i was craving for jap food thats y i jio my colleague to pei me go eat sakae sushi but now dun feel that gd after eating. dunno y.
i love currypuffs w sardines inside.

kite,

maybe u ate too full dats y not feeling gd? duno whether u like ginger tea - but it helps me feel better when i've a full meal... once a while, not too often of course...

currypuffs wif sardines(!)... my fav also, but quite 'rare' over here leh... duno y i dun really like the crust - i like the filling only... hehe... sardines are rich in calcium actually ;)

I really envy you ladies when u still have the craving for food. Eating to me is a ritual and don feel like eating much food nowadays. Just eat for the sake of eating.

CNY is around the corner and I am not done with my shopping yet. Tummy is growing fast and I am still feeling sore about the clothes I could wear everyday.

Felt my little one kicking me a few times especially during the night time. It's amazing how a little life could survive swimming within.

Well, my colleagues are commenting that I begin to walk in a different way now. Haha.. Guess it will be different when the waist line goes straight. Geez..

I have started on my second tube of Better Stretchmark Removal from Natural Source (Jan promotion at 2 for $70). Seems alright with no marks now. Anyone knows when the marks are suppose to form. I am kiasu and got my friend to get a bottle of Clarins oil for me too. Thinking of applying Clarins at night and NS in the day. Haha.. Again a reflection of vain pot..

BTW, Metro having a one day 20% promotion tomorrow. Anyone going? Saw the Sping website and the clothes look good. Should go down to take a look some day.

I am still thinking of whether sign up for any antenatal class or not? When should we start, duration and how much it costs?

Geez, there's so much to worry and find out on pregnancy. I really should learn to relax and enjoy.. especially when CNY is nearing.

Cheers to motherhood!

Hi Amy,

I saw the lucky baby cot at kingdom. ANd i also saw it everywhere else. Very sweet!!! So tempting to get a cot that time, but we insisted on getting a playpen with bassinet. But now we wanna get a cot too. So we will get that one. The last time we saw it, think it cost more than $250

U ladies really tempt me to go eat sushi tonite heeee.. but i am dropping by kovan tonite to collect bak kwa, and the sakae sushi outlet there can be really crowded!! See how...

wow, seems like topic is on CNY angpows? :p
mi also every yr average have to pao $250...haizz..this is my 2nd yr of "losses" liowz...next yr finally can "recoup" my losses...haha

toking bout clothes....yesterday afternoon was at chinatown doing a bit of CNY shopping....saw the clothes like kinda "depressed"...cos all those nice nice normal clothes cannot wear liowz...can onie wear maternity clothes for CNY...*sighz*

Today went for my detailed scanning. All loom good, but becos of my placenta blocking the view, they can only vaguely see her lips. Doc thinks it is a gal but not too clear to confirm. Doc ask me if I had feel movement of the baby. Acutally I not sure. How does it feel for those who have felt it? Does it feel painful sometimes like you having a tummy ache? Doc say within 2 weeks if I dun feel movement, I shd go back and see her.
I find this strange.

Poohmum

hello poohmum,

which week are you in rite now (if i may ask)? BB movement i felt is not pain, but like something "knocking" inside... sometimes it's milder - like "flutter-flutter" butterflies in the tummy... maybe u can try lying flat before you go to bed - can feel the movement better then

matched_gal,
ya i think i m too greedy liao kept ordering. I dunno i eat until so full until i stand up to walk. stil burping n feeling full now, seems hvnt digest.
Sardines is good, once in a while, wil buy those sardines can from NTUC.

Hi cyberbabe,
my boss also commented i walked differently like very careful n slow hehe i didnt even know myself. really? metro got 20% tmr ah but oni 1day for members only?

hi kk,
last nite hubby n i went Chinatown jalan jalan n bot CNY goodies, very crowded too. We tried to queue up for Lim Zhi Yuan bak gua but they closed the queue
so end up we bot Mei Zheng Xiang bak gua.

Hi celeste,
me also went Chinatown yest but it was evening to nite time. Luckily when we gg home, it started to rain very heavily. Really crowded until i got no air to breathe.

Hi Poohmum,
how many wks are u now? i m now 4th mth, dun think i can feel it. Btw my last visit, my bb was hiding behind the placenta (so cute) and end up oni can see the head n body, bottom blocked by placenta. hehe so cant tell gender also.

hi kite,

yap. metro 20% for the public but for one day only. pretty last minute. I know someone from SKII dats why I know.
... does Metro have anything for preggies like us?

ya kite, glad you enjoy yourself! me have craving for jap food too!

snacks: i used to eat biscuits too but maybe too heaty, now switch to fruits like grapes, peaches!

ya when the tummy gets heavier, we will start to swaddle side by side, not a pleasant sight. Used to laugh at my friend say she look like a penguin, think i also look like that soon!

hi cyberbabe,
oic thanks for e info. Actually Metro got not much on pregnancy section. but sells quite alot of bb's clothings n there is a small section on pregnancy stuffs. since 20% tmr, no harm gg there to hv a look. usually i wil go compasspoint one.

hi josephone,
i enjoyed til i want to vomit, think wil not eat jap food for sometime. i think i wil bcome a watermelon cos me petite size somemore n not tat tall

wow during office hrs, u bring ur own peaches n grapes ah? i oni store biscuits, oats n milo inside my office drawer.

sometimes i buy after lunch, or i just put on my desk, when want to eat then wash... now got some tiny mandrin oranages from Taiwan also very nice! should have more fruits prevent constipation

Hi Matched-Gal,

Am in my 20 weeks now... Nowadays I feel the stretch in my tummy and sometime slight pain like cramp. No knocking feeling leh... How ah?

When is the earliest can we feel the movement?
Poohmum

poohmum,

tink earliest is ard 16-18wks. I got this off a website:
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/personal/116.html

But first-time moms may experience as late as 22wks:
nc26-16%2C00.html,http://parenting.ivillage.com/pregnancy/0,,nc26-16,00.html

Dun worrie, listen to your gynae - since he says wait 2 more weeks (till 22wks)...

Btw, my gynae did mentioned that my bb is "very active" type... so maybe dats y i felt the movement earlier? I also duno y leh... Was waiting very impatiently at my 18th wk oreadi, then juz one day lying flat, suddenly felt it...

Hi Kite,

Me and hubby went to chinatown too, think on tuesday. A lot of pple!! We went there and managed to find one china guy who write chun lian and we get one pair of chun lian for the main door

Then i also bought some taiwan muah chee. Actually that time eat until sian already, but this time dunno why, the urge comes earlier. Maybe wanna buy something sweet for CNY heeee..

Hmm, we dun really like mei zhen xiang bak kwa and also lin zhi yuan queue too long liao, so every year we buy xiang wei brand. I dun like to eat bak kwa ever since young, but my hubby like. So he is the one who finish up all. My pregnant colleague told me that she has been getting nose bleed because she ate bak kwa haha.. she didn't know what cause her nose bleed at first, but after she ate some bak kwa yesterday, she started to nose bleed this morning again. So i guess we shouldn't take too much bak kwa too, else it is heaty and also contain certain herbs.

Hi Poohmum,

Yup, like what some ladies here say, it is like fluttering movements in the tummy. Very pleasant feeling, no pain at all
As time goes by, it is even more fun!

Hi Celeste Blur,

Talking about clothes.. the worst thing is, this year clothes seem to be so much more beautiful than previous year hahaha.. maybe i cannot wear that's why envious.

Ang pow.. waiting to recoup next year too.. heeee... i tell hubby next year we sure bring bb out to collect ang pows :p We go round Singapore heeeee... every year average we gotta set aside at least $400 for ang pows.

Just did my detailed scan yesterday. Baby's very active, but baby is large for gestational age, with his fetal biometry nearer to the 97th percentile. A bit worried cos doc said might be diff to deliver via natural birth. Also, need to screen for diabeties on my next visit. Now, must cut diet, but seems like diet plays a little role here.

Poohmum, maybe you can try lying flat on your bed, and pay attention to your stomach. you might need to concentrate hard in order to feel baby's movements.

Kite, i got my cot from bb kingdom at Kaki Bt.

Tomorrow will buy some new year goodies from Carefour, but too bad, not for me, must watch my diet, will be buying for in laws as gift.

Hi Amy,
interested to shop for cot too.. do u hv the address of bb's kingdom?

hee.. suprisingly i this preggie dun hv much craving.. no particular food that i really love or hate.. strange.
but well not a bad thing either.. at least my hubby is the happiest cos he dun hv to drive around to buy food for me.. hee

i'm going for detailed scan next week.. not sure if can see bb's gender by then...

i just came back from the Robinsons sales. Bought some bb stuffs and bras n panties.

Bought BB stuffs: Avent 3 x 260ml wide neck milk bottles that come w/ silicon teats (reduce colic) $16 after discount, Avent Milk Powder Dispenser, 2 Avent Silicon Pacificers (0-3m) and Avent Milk Bottle Brush.

Bought 2 no wired bras and 3 sorella lycra panties. All the above stuffs got 20% + 5% discount plus i got $80 robinsons vouchers. So only pay $10 extra

Was searching for TBS cocoa butter lotion for stretch mark n most outlets out of stock but managed to grab 1 tub, $18.90 after discount.

I know that steriliser does usually come w small bottles so i bought big bottles instead first.
Since i bought the Avent 3 big bottles (260ml), i was thinking of getting either Avent Steam Steriliser or Pigeon Rapid Steriliser. Heard Pigeon one can allow any brand milk bottles or even Avent wide neck bottles to fit into it cos it doesnt hv any slots /dividers, right? n Pigeon is cheaper than Avent? Might consider Pigeon...

Which breast pump is recommended? i thought of getting manual pump, issit better than the electric one? electric one sounds ex. Maybe i wil buy the Avent breast pump or any other recommendation? If i buy other brand pump, i hv to transfer from to Avent bottles as usually other brand pump bottle wont fit Avent rite? Dun intend buy now scare if no milk how?

Regarding the teats for Avent bottles. I m afraid what if my baby doesnt like the silicon avent teats, which other brands can fit into it? I see there is different range of teats like for 0mth, 1mth, 3mth n 6mth n etc. need to change so many times ah. hehe

Hi Amy,
so did u manage to get to know ur bb's gender during e detailed scan? cos gynac told me i wil know during my next mth detailed scan.

Hey,
tonite i gg to taka shopping again hehe. tty all later. seems like i hv not shop enough even with this morning robinsons sale

harlowz kite,

re stretchmark cream (u were asking abt which brand my gynae recommended me earlier): it's called 'percutalfa'. Hmmmm, tink maybe not a veri popular brand. But seems quite gd to use - not oily. It says on the tube cover - "helps prevent & reduce stretch-marks". Hopefully it's true for me ;p Gynae recommended after i showed her my rashes...

I just went to did my detail scan yesterday... everything is fine except the gal who do the scan comment that my bb is too active...very busy chasing after the scan thing...

Lyn,

please help me update i am having a princess...

Re: Stretch Oil

Thot of sharing this wif u all: I am currently using this Earth Mama.Angel Baby Stretch Oil (Natural, Absorbable Oil for Expectant Bellies, Bottoms & Breasts). I personally find it not bad, not oily.

Wordings on the bottle:
The luscious blend of organic herbs & oils in Stretch Oil encourage your skin's innate elasticity & help prevent itching & stretch marks for growing bellies without leaving you feeling greasy. Twice daily, massage onto your growing belly & breasts. In the last few mths of your pregnancy, pour these yummy oils into a warm bath & massage them into your perineum to encourage stretching before childbirth-naturally.

The shop is called 'Mom Essentials'. They have a retail outlet at KK Hospital #01-22, & at Suntec City Mall #03-K03 (opposite Toys R Us).

Visit their website for more products.
http://www.starhealth.com.sg/Product.asp?Category=Earth%20Mama%20Angel%20Baby%20Series&Rnum=21205812

i had done my final scan today.. yes, 100% cfm that it's a boy.. bb very active, but super cooperative, mgr to take many shots at all angles of the bb.. glad that bb passes the test with flying colours..

pinky, i asked dr khi abt the stretch mark cream.. she said the topicream is good enough for us.. so i think i will continue to use it.. but she commented that stretchmark actually depends on your genes.. if your mom has it, u tend to have it but the extent got to depend.. but anyway good to apply more..

in fact just wondering how many milk bottles do i need for my bb? big and small bottles, how many? since i hv the 3 260ml big bottles, i shall go n buy the small bottles one, if yes, recommended how many ml ones?

in the beginning is using small bottles rite, then when do i start to use the big bottles, for?

do u use pacifiers for ur bb? when? neccessary? i bot just in case.

hi matched_gal & panda,
thanks for e info on stretch mark cream.

hi peng,
congrats on ur bb boy!

Hi Kite,

So far i only bought 2 big and 2 small bottles from NUK. I bought the pigeon steriliser and i think it comes with free bottles too. I dun intend to buy anymore just in case bb dun wanna use them. When the time comes, then get my hubby to run out to get others :p

I heard and also read that pacifiers are no good for bb teeth development. My colleague used pacifiers when she was a bb and she needed braces. Her 2 nieces not using pacificers and teeth very nice but another niece who used pacificers have not so perfect teeth. Nevertheless, we bought one pair of avent pacifiers as my hubby liked the cartoon on them :p But dun think will use them :p

Hmm, i am wondering whether i should get a pump afterall. I will be breastfeeding my bb for 3 mths only. After i go back to work, i will stop. Within that 3 mths, i will mix the milk with formula milk as well. Perhaps rent from TMC then i no need to spend on pump liao.

kite,
dun need to buy so many bottles now...remeber that you may also recieve bottles as gifts leh...so buy too many, end up wasted. nowadays, so convenience to buy baby stuff, so no need to worry abt not enough...if not enough, just get hubby to go out and buy loh

kk,
if you dun intend to breastfeed for long, then renting will be a good option loh....

I also intend to rent from TMC to try out first...if breastfeeding goes smoothly within the 1st mth, then only will I consider buying one since I intend to breastfeed longer, even after I go back to work

Okasan,

Yah rite, rent first hor? Then see how heee...

Just came back from marketing.. wah sei, so many pple at the supermarket.. but that really creates the mood for the new year.

Can't wait for CNY to come.... can have few days of break at home
Haven't been sleeping enough and rest enough since school reopens.. sigh!

Re: Number of milk bottles needed
Really depends on whether u are into breast feeding. If u r, may need a number of bottles to store EBM. at least around 4 to rotate around. the rest can pack into milk bags. otherwise, your freezer will pack up very fast.
One bottle will be needed to feed baby everyday.

If baby on formulae. need 2 bottles. one for milk n one for water. not good to mix the 2. usually the big one for milk n a smaller one for water.

Re: breast pump
electric pumps from Medela n Ameda are good. but dun get the mini electric single from medela. its too weak n noisy. elecric pumps r better if u cannot afford to spend long hours pumping. need around half nhr for each breast. so if do manualy, need a total of 1 hour per session. around 3-4 sessions per day. your work may not allow to go away for so long. if use electric dual, time cut down to half hr only.
if get medela mini electric dual, will need electric connection. meaning if u pump in toilet cubicle (yes, i have to do that) or room with no electric outlet, then in trouble. they have a battery pack but its those unusual flat type, non re-chargable. medela PIS uses normal AA battery (total 8). i use re-chargable ones, need to re-charge them once a week.
Not too sure able ameda. its power is just good as Medela PIS, cheaper. but it comes in more parts. so need to take a while to dismantle to sterilise n put tog again. if any parts lost, die liao!!! I know Ameda pumps can be rented from those baby store, think its moms in mind.

Re: pacifiers
They r not as dangerous as mentioned. n bbs w/o them r no diff from those who r. my bb is not on pacifier but she ended addicted to my breast. need to suckle for comfort all the time. when i was home alone with her, i try to introdue the pacifier to her so i get away n do some work (she's around 2 months then) i realise she do not know how to use it n the pacifier keeps dropping out. at that point, how i wish she will take the pacifier. she oso needs me to fall asleep. took me til 1+yr b4 i can get her off my breast. now she needs her milk bottle to sleep.

From BMSG (breastfeeding mothers support group),

Medela Hospital Grade Pump Rental

A personal pump kit $68 needs to be purchased for all rental.

Delivery & collection charge = $30

Example of rental charges - Lactina Electric Plus for 30days, (rental + personal pump kit + delivery) $5 X 30days + 68 + 30 = $248.

Please note that hospital grade pump is more suitable for mothers that are separated from her baby for many days, e.g., hospitalisation of mother or baby.

For further enquiry or booking, please contact Sunitha Raman (see outlets).

Symphony
No. of Days
S$ Charges per day

Min 7 days
$10 / day

More than 90

Lactina Select
No. of Days
S$ Charges per day

Min 7 days
$9 / day

More than 90

Lactina Electric Plus
No. of Days
S$ Charges per day

Min 7 days
$8 / day

More than 90

Gers,

Was out shopping over the weekend. Managed to buy 3 baby doll dresses at Far East. For those who are keen to look for some.. maybe u would like to pop down to Far East.

kk,

Since then, I felt the baby movement very offen... very active baby. At least, I know she is doing ok inside my tummy..

Good Morning!

v tired today. was spring cleaning the whole house during weekend. can feel the bones aching now

Counting down to CNY! was wrapping the ang pows last nite just in case i dont have any more time to do that in the next couple of day. I like the Standard Chartered Bank ang pows... the dog is quite cute.

Bought pineapple tarts and hey bee hiam from this stall at Beauty World Plaza... i love their pineapple tarts and hey bee hiam...highly recommended... so many pp at the stall... biz v good.

hmmm... seems like a lot of mummies can feel bb movement already... i still cant feel mine.

Morning gals

Last Sat went Metro...cos got 20% storewide discount....was tempted to get the Medela Single Electric Pump...costs $178 but got 20% discount which is $142.40. Seems quite cheap hor...
Saw the bb TollyJoy clothes with "I love Daddy, I Love Mommy" printing...jin cute...but never buy cos i donno mine is boi or ger yet...so donno shld get red print or blue print...haha :p

Sat morning felt some bb movements again and placed hb's hand on my tummy...he said he got feel like a slight "pushing" feeling...donno izzit bb kicking or wat...hehe...jin cute :D

Then also went CausewayPoint and spent another $120 at Spring Maternity...*faint*...Saw a pretty flowery dress can wear for CNY and bought a working top also...haha

Hehe, forgot to update one more thing...also went KidzLoft at Tagore Lane there but like not much stuffs there and not tat cheap also

Btw, any of u moms already have infant care seats? Which brand is gd and reasonable pricing?

Celeste, u getting infant car seat? We got ours from Robinsons. Cant rem the brand though. I suggest u get those that can be used for infants up to 2 plus. No point getting those seats purely for infants bec firstly, most infants dont like to sit in car seats and secondly, in no time, u will need to upgrade to a bigger car seat. The price i paid was ard $300 plus if i recall correctly. We got it only when my son was ard 3 mths and as expected, he screamed and cried when put into the seat.

Celeste, my son also has the "I love Mummy and I love Daddy" shirt/ pants... i think we got it fr pasar malam. i didnt know tollyjoy also has. prob better quality.

tinklebell,
I thinking of getting those infant car seat that can last up till around 2 yrs old? Cos prob by tat time I may plan for 2nd kid and will get those booster seat for the older child then the younger one can re-use....haha, i tink very far hor :p....but the price $300+ like a bit exp...me planning to spend bout $150-$200 (max) for the car seat only...

Pasar Malam also got that shirt/pants ah...hehe, mabbe next time i take a look :D