(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

k ong,
yah, at last i asked my gynae to recommend stretchmark cream. Dun dare to use any cream liaoz, cos my skin sensitive type. I've really sensitive skin - last time my makeup artist spray water on my face for my ROM, and oreadi got red-red ah, but after awhile no more... ;p Hope my bb's skin not as sensitive as mine...

Hi pinky,
one thing if buy from normal shops scare wont last til 3rd tri?
I hv 100% aloe vera gel inside my fridge leh. maybe i shall try cos last yr went sentosa n got sunburnt.
hmm eh can u email me and we shall further discuss how shall i get e receipt from you. Thanks.

Hi matched_gal,
abit FAN on the clothings. if buy fr maternity shops, real ex. really broke. if buy fr normal shop, the sleeve part doesnt fit me well. look abit funny.

Lyn: I am not petite - 50 kg pre pregnancy, now, week 20 and 5 days, I've put on 4 kg.
And thanks for adding me to the list. Doing my detailed scan today at 5pm.

Kite: Re nipple cream, Avent is good. Since week 16, I had some yellowish substance on my nipples, hidden within the nipple, so funny. I have to remove them once in few days, else it will look very flaky. Any other mummies with such experience?

Re stretch mark cream - I tried palmers, which gave me skin rash. It's available at Guardian Pharmacy for abt $20 if I am not wrong. Now I am using Clarins Oil ($58), soothing and smells nice. Also using Natural Source (bought during 30% sale). Will buy Mustella when there is 15% Robinson sale.

Pinky: I gave hong bao 1st yr after wedding. I think better prepare, else some kids run up and ask you for it.

tinklebell: wow.... your hong bao must be very big! I only spent less than $250 on hong baos....

hi amy,
the avent nipple cream can get rid of e itchiness? yellow substance? did u consult ur gynac abt it? seems not normal? me not too sure too.

i thinking buy clarin oil but quite ex hor. how long can it last? Mustella good? hmm so many brands in e market, aiya so headache, dunno which one to purchase.

pinky,
me also gave out angpao 1st year after marriage liao leh... muz keep some 'spare' ones wif u/hubby, hehe

kite,
me also same... i didn't want to spend much on clothing... But at last seems like have to liao ... pocket dry liao, cos hv to budget for bb stuff also... sigh!!

tinkerbell,
u're a 2nd-time mummy rite? did u save on maternity clothes during ur first maternity?

Kite: Hmm yea tat's one thought. so i'm buying separates. skirt can wear like hipsters. tops right, i buy those stretch-able ones. those i have which i can still wear them now right r very loose on d tummy. got one i wore and my friends thought i was pregnant le ha ha so i dun wear them till now ha ha. i was thinking of buying big tees or cotton shirts.
have a few like knitted tops which is comforty to wear still.

let me know if aloa vera works ok? hee hee

btw, do u gals feel very cold nowadays? i do leh. very scared of cold!

peng: i dun think i felt bb lor. jus some stirrings here and there. not sure if hungry or stomachache or jus bloated. ha ha.

tinklebell: hee hee good lah i also like new notes. but cant bear to use one leh.

amy: yea i will change and prepare some if case i meet kids. i'm ok with giving actually. i think it feels good to be able to bless the little ones.

Amy:
I also find white flaky things on my nipples. So every few other days I clean lor. Should not be anything serious rite? Maybe the body trying to get ready to produce milk?? (i hope...)

Other than to prevent itchness, is there any other purpose for applying nipple cream? If mine not itchy does it mean I no need to put?

kite: i think the yellow substance on nipples is colostrum, but will check with gynae later. Re itchy nipples, i am not sure whether avent helps. i used it cos of dry nipples.

these few days, i have rashes appearing at the back of my legs and near my ankles. very itchy and unbearable. sometimes i am awaken by my own scratching at night...

i am on my first bottle of clarins oil, i think 2 bottles should be able to last the whole pregnancy. the salesgirl said apply liberally, but if you apply too much, it can be quite oily, as the skin need to absorb the oil. so now, i apply frequently, but moderately. sometimes, i shower off, which is also recommended.

Re mustella, heard the baby products are good. Intend to buy the whole range of bath and body care for baby.

Starfish: yes, the substance should be colostrum, first production of milk - hard and yellowish substance, which I normally 'pick' out from my nipples.

Hee hee... I am waiting for the delivery of my baby cot. Bought from Baby Hypermart, with four levels of adjustment... $250 (cot only) plus $30 delivery and assesmbly fee.

Hi pinky,
i always feel cold and got either a sweater/cardigarn besides me. I m too scare to catch a cold cos ended last mon i got fever n runny nose. so must take care of ourselves.

Hi Amy,
usually when wil we encounter colostrum?
Hmm maybe i wil try the clarin tonic oil but heard got diff. feedbacks, it works for some ppl on their stretch marks while some dont.
This oil to be applied daily in e morning, once only? y need to shower off, else no effect liao?

Kite: yes, morning only, but I apply morning and night, as my tummy feels really tight at night.

Not sure when we will encounter colostrum. Will ask my gynae when I see her later.

just wondering...isn't it more wasteful to buy normal clothes now? if you buy maternity clothes now, can wear thoughout..but normal clothes can last only a while and you will need to go back to materntiy clothes someday....beside, normal clothes that are bought during this period may be too big for you after delivery or out of fashion trend liao...

Kite, Amy, Bo-pian!
parents, parents in laws and gps already $800... my MIL and FIL got lots of brothers and sisters and a lot of their children all not married even though late 20s or 30 plus still have to give lor. And my hubby got 3 other siblings. Each one got at least 2 kids... every year i sure loogi one lah... next year, hope to get back :p

Matchgal, i didnt manage to save on maternity clothings bec those clothings i bought last time look quite or-bit by now
in fact, i just added up my maternity clothings bill... ard $800
nowadays, clothings are so nice and pretty, unlike last time.

hi amy,
thanks. heard any brand of shea butter is good too for stretch mark?

hi tinklebell,
wow really a bomb ah. maybe next time u can go overseas during cny. hehe
btw do u apply stretch mark cream during ur 1st pregnancy and do u hv stretch marks after ur 1st bb?

tinkerbell,
wah, then next pregnancy i muz prepare to spend too, hahaha... ;p Tink can't avoid. My hubby keep asking me to buy, but when i tot of oni can wear 9 mths, i veri xian... Guess can't be helped - comfort most important i guess...

Kite, yup, heard even body shop shea butter works.
I guess it's up to ind preference. Even heard no pt applying stretch mark cream, as it's hereditary.

Tinklebell - I also spend abt the same amt on ang paos. Th bulk of it goes to parents lor.
Then got lots of young cousins and kids... looking forward to 'recouping' ang pao with baby next yr. Heard it is pantang to give to unborn child.. so I think this yr may not get any for baby.. sigh

Hi Amy - I also saw and liked the cot from Bb Hypermart. Wanted to buy it too but havent checked out the cots from Robinsons etc.. Is it better? I liked it that its made of finished wood and has 4 levels. Let me know? Am keen to get that too.

Kite, one year we went overseas ...also must tong-pang the ang pows... so no point lor. anyway, goodness it's once a year or we will be dead broke! waiting for next yr to recoup all my losses
heheheh
btw, what is the average marriage age nowadays?? my hubby got lots of cousins all not married leh... is it the trend to marry later these days?

Hi pinkypink,
I am growing out of my normal clothes. I still can wear many of them, but the tummy is showing and I looked a little bit fat and ugly. I still yet to find new clothes for CNY. So far, got a new maternity top from Thyme and two maternity pants. The rest are old clothes...

Hi kite, peng,
People tell me to get from Mphosis, or those babydoll dresses or tops. Or go to far east plaza to see. So far, I am getting the babydoll tops. I think MNG have, but the cutting is too low for me.
When I see other shops, and went to the maternity shops, I find there's not much difference in the tops in terms of cutting. The front and back of babydoll maternity tops are the same length, same as normal babydoll tops. Only diff is the price you pay for the quality...

Hi kite,
I bought my bra extension from Paragon Metro at $2.90 only.

Hi tinklebell,
Wah.. So good.. got bonus to spend and buy for baby...

Kite,

Me to suffering from itchy nipples and tummy as well. At times got waken by the itchness. Anyway, as mentioned previously I applied Johnson Baby oil. Tho' some stretchmark cream indicate can apply on breast but didnt say nipple. Thus, I dare not apply my stretchmark cream to the nipples.

Hee... I havent prepare to change money for ang pows... Worse come to worse, go atm to draw... I gotta give quite a lot. I have 3 siblings, each $100, then 4 nephews, each also $100... Then my hubby's 2 cousins, dunno how much wanna give.
I dare not go back to my hometown.. easily 100 ang pows no problem ah...

me coming to 19 weeks this weekend and suddenly this week, i see my tummy growing v much!!! scary! looks v fat in my normal wear so i wear maternity nowadays. donno is it i look weird..just now walked past my ceo and chairman, they all give me that weird look...strange

lyn, u are really generous... so far I only give $50 each for my niece and nephew only. The rest is like $10 and hubby gives $100 to her only little sister.

Gers,
I am in week 17 today... think i felt my baby movement last nite. There is this bubble feeling like floating just below my navel. So i guess should be the movement right ??

tinklebell, i have started wearing my maternity bottom and majority of my normal pants/jeans cant fit unless those with elastic. I guess after CNY, probably I need to start wearing my maternity top liao...

Volf20, I din check out the cots at Robinsons. Heard they are quite ex, though cheaper than Mothercare. I am happy with the price at bb hypermart, cos anyway, baby won't sleep in it for long. However, i plan to buy the babysafe mattress at Robinsons. Cost abt $160. Will wait for 15% storewide.

Lyn, wow, you so generous. Makes me feel bad, my hong bao for cousins and nephew only $20. $100 is what I give my parents.

tinklebell, i have been wearing maternity skirts since week 17. very comfortable, anyone, no one can tell they are maternity skirts. for tops, still wearing usual tops, baby dolls.
since no one in my company knows i am preggy, i feel quite shy to start maternity tops.

good afternoon mummies!
okipoki: wow you felt your bb move already! Good for you!

Amy: Cots at Robinson same as Hypermart. Sometimes Robinson got 20% off more worthwhile to get esp if you got VIP card (additional 5%). I'm waiting for taka bb fair in March to compare prices. hope to buy the one that can last till bb is 5 years old (also adjustable in many positions - from playpen, to cot, to full size bed...)

Ang paos: i also have to budget for $500 for everyone, hopefully can break even.. Hope to have more ang paos if i wear maternity clothes to relatives' house hee hee

Hi tinklebell,
I also suddenly grew two weeks ago... Like you, I was shocked too and suddenly so ugly in normal clothes, and suddenly like nothing to wear... So I panicked... kekeke... now still trying to doll up myself. I think I haven't settle down with my "new look" with a tummy... lol...

Last time, I used to collect big ang-pows... mostly 3-digits one. So now gotta give back... For my siblings, just pray that they will get married very soon.. hahaha.. then my baby collect back from them... For my these 4 special nephews, they collect big big ang pows one... stressed ah... $100 is small to them already, but I cannot afford to give more. The rest of the relatives should be $20. Not so close ones will be $12.
Sometimes I think, if I give big now, next time my baby will get big ang pow also...
I haven't think of how much to give my parents. Must give one ah? I have forgotten if I gave last year cos last year, CNY was two weeks after my customary.

U are all more generous than me! I give my nieces and nephews $10 each (i have 4 of them) and my in laws $48 each and my mum $68.

Hubby went to queue at bank last weekend to change new notes. Wow, he atually queued for 1 hr! Think this weekend the queue is going to be worse.

I didn't check out cots at Robinsons. WIll check it out if the price is comparable to other places. I bought a playpen with bassinet at Kingdom. But lately decided to get a cot as well. My colleague say more stable for bb to sleep in.

Okipoki,

Great! U have felt ur first bb movements! The movements won't be so great yet, u feel it once in a while. For me, from once per day to twice per day. Now it is many times a day at fixed timings

I teased my hubby say our bb wakes up whenever she hears the whole school sings national anthem hahaha...

Last nite she was naughty. Woke up at 4am to play till 5.30 am in the morning when i had to wake up for work.

Hi Starfish,

I am still having white flaky stuff from my nipples. Should be ok
Perhaps it is due to dryness too?

pinky, i am also using topicream.. but i thought the bottle got write stretchmark cream..hee hee. never go and read it.. haha.. tonite will go n check.. but i thought its quite good cos everytime i feel pain cos of the stretching, i apply on it and it works.. typicall i apply at least twice a day cos i feel very painful most of the time..

hi lyn, yes i heard of myposis and also doll dress.. but as what osakan said, i also find it abit wasteful to buy extra big normal clothes.. so i tend to look for those that is free sized..

i gave two types of angpao to parents - 1 in cheque with bigger nos for them to buy clothes and CNY stuff to give b4 CNY.. on the first day, i gave angpao with cash..that 1 not very big.. abt $50-100+ per person, depending on how much i have written for the cheque.. haha..

Yeah.. i also dun have colostrum.. hmm.. does it mean that i not likely have to breastmilk??

Josephine, the cot i bought is also adjustable in many positions - from playpen, to cot, to full size bed. BB hypermart has additional 15% for non white cots. I got a white cot, hence no discount - $250.

Lyn, i give hong baos to my parents on 1st day of new year. prior to that, i give my mum a cheque for new year shopping.

I think I am having colostrum also and makes my nipples very itchy. I try not to scratch though. I just "pick" on the dried yellowish bits when I shower, and use shower scrub.

amy: oic maybe this weekend i'll go and check it out. What brand is it?

Lyn: i give ang paos to parents first day of the year too, only$50/pax. wow gals give cheque to parents!! The rest of the family $10 each. Thank goodness i'm an only child.. but i have 13 cousins to give!!!

KK: the white flakes should be pk. I felt itchy too, so bought mothercare mipple cream $12.50 to apply daily. Now much better/

Joesphine, my cot just arrived. Very sweet. Oops, the cot i got was from Baby's Kingdom, not hypermart - Taurus Cot - White. They also have oak and cherry. There is additional 15% for the non white cots.

Lyn, similarly, i need to 'pick' the dried yellowish stuff out from my nipples, then shower. else the nipples cannot breathe! Ha ha...

Found out more abt colostrum from a book: colostrum is the first milk your breasts produce in the early days of breastfeeding, in the form of yellow and creamy substance as early as 20 weeks.

hi kk

ur gal moves/kicks at 'fixed' timings everyday? Mine doesn't leh... hehhee... mostly before i sleep or when i juz woken up, but during the day, sometimes it's in the morning (during my meetings), sometimes it's when my husband come & pick me up, etc... The last appt wif my gynae i asked her why the timings not fixed, and she says bb dun hv a gd sense of time (day/nite).. hehe...

matched gal, peng, not to worry. all mothers can breastfeed.
i think this colostrum thingy varies across individuals.

Hi Amy,
ya probably wil try the bodyshop one. aiya so confused. so many in e market. or i shld ask my mum whether she got stretch marks anot. forget to ask her.
how much u bought your cot? so good can transform into playpen n bed?
Not everyone wil hv dried yellowish stuff rite? me curious.

Hi volf,
i dun think ppl wil give angbaos to unborn baby. hmm so far i never heard of my frens mentioned. Think relatives understand one.

Hi lyn,
but those tops from mphosis can last? hmm i m confused. until now i m like strictly sticking to maternity clothings. Thanks. will pop by metro probably today again.

Hi okipoki,
wil buy bb lotion/oil to try out on my nipples. can apply to the whole of nipple hor cos scare not safe.... hmm so far no itchy on my tummy (touchwood).

Peng: Dun worry coz I read somewhere that it does not mean you cannot breastfeed if you dun have colostrum during pregnancy. Some get them only during later part of pregnancy. So no worries

Kite: I see. I am so scared of cold, I will wake up in the middle of the night and find my blanket to cover.

Lyn: Yea those kind of babydoll tops will do for me too. I dun think the maternity shops have nice bottoms for me. I think I look real fat in them. I found this skirt in metro right, the elastic band is the same as that from those maternity shops. Hee hee me too I didn't really shop for CNY.

Anyway for safe guarding I have one maternity top so if I bloat I can wear that and buy more clothings later cos I can still wear most of my own clothings now except my jeans and pants.

Really find that maternity clothings not worth to buy for the quality but I must agree that its really comfortable.

Peng: Got meh? hee hee I dun remember reading it anywhere. I think I still haven't experience much pain due to stomach stretching. I only feel painful on both of my legs cos my skin is very very dry.

I think all of you very generous in your ang paos leh. hee

So fast thinking of baby cot already!

i just came back from lunch on Sakae sushi. Eat until want to vomit. too full liao. used to find its my fav but now taste like abit changed. i stil take sushi but avoid those raw meats.