(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

tinkerbell,
haha, no i don't(!). I bot the ones either canned or ERIN cuppa soup, or i ate the ones served at MOS burger/pastamania ;p Had a real craving then (during first trimester) for minestrone. But realized too much salt intake may cause water retention, so cut down on minestrone nowadayz... ;)

Only had energy to cook in the last 1 or 2 weeks. So far, i cook simple soups which are tomato-based. Dun hv recipe - juz go by my 'intuirion' (luanluan lai, hahaha). Learnt how to make beef balls last weekend - did a random search on yahoo for beefball recipe ;p End up i made beefball soup for myself ;) Some of the beefballs i made were fried & top-up wif tomato gravy (recipe i also got fr the net leh ;p)...

matchedgal, same, i also got craving for minestrone soup! haha! i bought a can of tomato juice hoping to cook the soup but til now, no action...am simply too lazy to do it.

celeste, although the portion can b used for ard 5 times but dunno leh Cord Blood told me due to restrictions in SG so it can't be used for multiple times. waiting for govt to give green light...

tinklebell, mi too.. i read tat article.. that was what made me take up the banking plus my hubby smokes.. *touchwood* but itz just in case..

hehe the posts on food , i daren't even talk about mine coz i keep eating junk food, somemore if i take veg, i puke out immediately .. so i m like on a meat "diet"..

doll, same too! i cant eat green vege ... or fish... the look of it makes me want to puke. somehow i just love beef nowadays though i wasnt really a beef eater previously.

tinklebell,
hmmzz...get wat u mean....wow, which means if 2 kids and both wanna do cordblood banking...means at least around $500 spent annually for the kids on these alone....*faint*

doll,
wow, i didnt noe they got the restriction in SG such that can only use once? Hmmzz, hopefully they change the rules then can get to help a lot of ppl

tinklebell, hehe issit !! i also love beef nowadays hehe , my intake of bef previously was also very little.. but hor.. i dun realli like chicken now.. so mainly pork & beef.

i thought i was some werido coz my 1st bb, i was a total health nut. i couldn't swallow anything wif oil. i kept eating vegetarian food.

celeste, ya loh.. hopefully they can change the rule imagine can only use 1 time so wasted.

matched gal: ya sakae std drop, service also drop. Don go to the one at bukit batok, everything also sold out, and food have to wait 45min!

sigh i'm 18wk liao but still no bb movt leh.

kite: nowadays have to eat lotsa of steam fish which i hate! i like garoupa (wedding dinner style) but too ex to eat too often. sigh these days all my meals revolve around whether it good for the bb... not what i like to eat... always complain to my hubby why everything also for the bb, so unfair!

ya it's raining here in the west, sigh, time to knock off soon!

ok gals thanks for your concern, i shall curb my sashimi cravings till after bb arrives... but! after bb arrives, if doing breastfeeding, also everything cannot eat! looks like have to miss my sashimi for a year!!!

Hi Josephine,
me too i love steam fish like seabass too, yummy meat very tender & juicy. so long i never steam it. maybe tis wk wil boil ABC soup w seabass. Seabass fine to eat rite? not too high mecury?

Hi Josephine,

Not to worry.. i only experience slight movement of bb in my late 19th week. Now the bb is super active, playing everyday. And got distinct timings. Very fun heee...

For me, i still eat what i like. Luckily i dun eat too unhealthy normally else chiam liao.

I like sashimi too! But then for sake of bb, got to sacrifice lor

Hi Peng,

At first I only feel slight movement in week 19 and it is like going across from left to right, very very light touches. But slowly till now, can feel parts of my tummy jump up suddenly Heee.. and at times i try to figure out which part of bb is punching me.

Just happened to see this forum while surfing the net. I'm also gonna be a mommy too in June.

My expected due date is 20 June 2006.

I'm pretty excited to know that I'm not alone when reading through the previous postings.

I think I'm into my 19 weeks liao. My last scan was when I was 16 weeks 0 day and baby was 10.05cm big. I can't remember when's my next gynae appointment but its after CNY.

I love sashimi too! But not now cos I can't take fish smell. Oh yea, I like to drink soups. I take yong tou foo everyday. Can't tahan oily food except fries, chips, carrot cake (the hong kong dim sum kind) occasionally.

My tummy is starting to grow. But I think people only see me as having fat tummy cos when I take public transport, no offer of seat and gana pushed and squeezed.

Hubby and I have decided on TMC for my delivery. We are looking at the 1 bedder. My gynae is also at TMC, ACJ Women's clinic. Dr Caroline Khi.

mums-to-be who have felt bb's kicks:
is the feeling below the belly button ?
cuz our uterus is still at that postiion right ? it has not moved upwards yet ??

I am in my 17tyh week, still cannot feel any movements

feeling very bloated these days, and look like i am fat rather than pregnant :)
heehee

maybe cuz my bump is quite high, rather than below the belly button

Hi K Ong,

I feel bb movements everywhere in my tummy leh.. belly button level.. below belly button... sometimes she punches/kicks above belly button... other times she punches/kicks on the right side of tummy

hi josephine, think besides eating what u like to eat, u oso need to eat food that u like.. hee hee.. cos heard that if u crave for something n dun eat, ur bb next time drool.. anyway u got to make yourself happy during pregnancy..

hello.. pinky pink, welcome to the thread.. i am also seeing Dr caroline khi.. she is real nice, isn't she?? I am also going into 19 wk but EDD is 15 June..

Yeah, kite, think my bb is growing very rapidly.. usually it is either at the exact or slightly bigger than the actual length for that particular wk.. but then still dun noe yet till only when near delivery to noe whether bb is big..

agree with peng...it's more important to stay happy during pregnancy loh....if you too unhappy, it's bad for baby too....so instead of always eating food for baby, it's ok to eat food you like although it may not be healthy food...but of course, try to avoid food that is harmful to baby like alcohol.....

I also eat a lot of "empty calories" food...food that's yummy but not nutritious enough like cake, ice-cream....

tinklebell,
yeah...i heard of parents trying for another kid juz to save the other kid...so sad story
(((
But last nite after discussion with hb...decided not to bank cord blood for 1st child, cos we still wanna plan for 2nd child soon...and if finances allow, we will do cord blood banking for 2nd child. *sigh*

pinky pink,
Welcome

hi peng,
at least ur bb is growing rapidly. so good. do keep me update on ur bb height n weight

Hi k ong,
saw the website but the clothings seems very ex. in USA $ rite?

when u all eat bak gua, do u use oven to heat it up or eat it when cold cold? i m abit probia abt cold food n bacteria.

Btw all along i hv a abit of freckles near my high cheeks since young. I just realised there seems to 2 to 3 more growing. Oh dear. i hv been faithfully using skincare n sunblock. i guess during pregnancy, pigmentation tend to be darker?

Morning mummies!!

I was at my gynea last evening.. I passed my blood tests.. and am now 20 weeks.. which means 50% done.. so happy.. really counting down to D-day..

Morning gers...

Kite, I dont use the oven to heat it up nor did I place them in the fridge. So far, the bak kua wont last for 3 days lah.. tsk tsk !!!

Freckles: so far mine still maintaining... me too had it since young. Keeping my finger x.

K ong, the price indicated in the webby are very ex.. if convert to SGD will be super ex.

With regards to the cordlife's fees, I called them up yesterday and they say it's $1470 (w GST)leh.. It's also stated on their website that it's $1400. The $1200 comes from FBI or something?

Anyway, Stemcord's fee is $1207.50 (w GST) and annual fee is $262.50 (w GST)

I understand that Cordlife store the blood in 2 potions, while Stemcord stores it in 4 potions. Stemcord was saying that if the potions blood can be used various times depending on the amt needed each time. Eg, this time you only needed 2 tubes, so you have another 2 tubes left for further use.

But Cordlife rebuked that saying by stating that R&D is not so advanced now that you can spilt up the potions to used. Meaning if you need the blood from Cordlife, they would use the 2 tubes they have at one go..

Erm.. I'm not sure which to believe leh... Any comments?

Heh okipoki,

I like your "the bak kua wont last for 3 days" part.. Same same, I loveeeeee bak kua. So finish very fast one..

Kite/Okipoki: yah, that's why i only look at the ones on sale ... heee
abt USD 60 for a satin dress. I was thinking of sending it to a friend in the states and then ask him to bring back, otherwise shipping to SIN is a hefty USD70 !!!

Yve: congratz !!! i have that feeling too, like halfway done.

Is it true that first borns tend to be premature ?
I need to calculate a timeframe in order to tell my boss. My Mat leave requires me to go on leave 1 mth before due date ... and i dont feel like i need to be staying at home that soon...

Are your employeers all asking abt due dates yet ??

hi K Ong - How come you nd to go on maternity leave 1 mth before due date? Company policy? Wah - like tat you hv 1 mth less with yr bb right ?! Usually the safe period for yr bb to be born is ard 37 wks onwards...our EDDs are calculated based on 40 wks...

hi hidora, woah.. i also saw their webby. itz really $1400.. hmm now i really need to dicuss with my hubby. Cordlife also told me the same thing. they said itz not possible coz of the high contamination. cordlife 2 portions is 20% 80% i tink. 20% is for testing/research purposes..

Hi K ong, my 1st one was 11 days before my due. average is ard 2 weeks. but 1 mth before ur due date is a bit extreme.. usually 1 week before due is pretty norm. ya my boss already asked my due date.my boss is already finding someone to cover me when i m not ard so i m suppose to train this person by june..

hi K Ong
i also find it strange to take leave one month b4 due date. take 1 week before due date enough already la.

my boss ask me come back after 1 mth mat leave! as he is too stingy to employ part-timer to help out when i'm not around ... sigh

really got this "basic" requirement? hmm will check with HR...

i will go back on half day basis, or work 3 days take 2 days off..

he don't want to hire partimer, that's the PROBLEM
!!!what a miser!!!

so long never post here.. been busy
so now the topic is cord blood banking ? I prob hope to do that for my 2nd bb too ... in case I dun have any other children anymore... I din do for my first and feels a bit regretful..

i went for detailed scan yesterday... everything was normal... and I am going to have a baby girl! Looks like more of us having girls hor!

so sad I cant reuse my boy's clothes liao... and my pocket going to burn liao cos all the girl's clothes are sooooooo sweet!

my SIL going to have 1 boy and 1 girl. So at least I feel more glad... cos got one more boy to play with my boyboy... and a girl to play with my girlgirl

Hi Hidora, wow price increased already for cordblood storage? was $1.2k 2 mths ago! **sob sob** nevertheless, i still think i will opt for Cordblood storage.

Hi Poohy, congrats! it's good to have a boy and a girl... hope mine is really a girl
i love those girl dresses. my hubby find it strange that i always look at them but i simply love to have them. so if i have a girl, i think i'll really spend a bomb dressing her up!

k ong,

it's so weird that your company's policy is to take 1 mth before due loh...then what happen if a lady happen to go premature at 7th month? so weird...

thought maternity leave is only for after delivery then count..before due, the leave taken is considered personal leave....

Volf/Dolly/Josephine: Yah, it's stated in the HR guidelines. If i dont wanna go off early, I have to get a letter from Gynae certifying me fit to work for that period. Also subject to boss's approval for such an arrangement.
Strange huh ?
I will get my "finalised" EDD during my 20th week scan just after CNY, and will let Boss know. She wants to get an intern to cover me !!!
Oh well, her choice I guess...

Haiz, 2005 and 2006 means a total of $200 difference... Why our salary nvr increase leh?

Anyway, what do you mummies think should be my criteria for choosing a maid to take care of the baby? I have been hearing about pros and cons for both indo and filipinos maids.

Would you think a married maid is better since she will be taking care of baby? Would having prior working expriences in Singapore be an advantage or a disadvantage? How about the age? Should she be young like 21 or older such as 30+?

Oh ya, have you all decide on which breast pump to get? I'm considering between Avent ISIS manual, and the Medela Harmony manual... Not sure which is better. Maybe if we can come up with a bulk purchase or something? ;p

hidora,
maid muzt have experience in taking care of baby, exp infants loh...but sometimes they lied abt their experiences...I heard of maids who claim to know but in the end, dun even know how to bath baby, end up cause baby to catch cold...

a few of my friends' maids are mothers...they tend to be more caring towards my friends' children coz they miss their own kids at their homeland, so they sort of divert the love to their employers' kids loh....

as for indo or filipinos maid, I think it boils down to whether the maid can communicate effectively with you...which nationality, I dun think it's impt....

I will not be buying breast pump so early...most likely will consider the need to buy after delivery....my friend bought one before delivery, but she din get to use it at all coz she cannot produce milk at all...so waste money loh...

Hidora

I do not trust leaving baby with a maid and no one else at home. However, if no choice, I think a maid with no prior working experience in Singapore will be better. If possible, negotiate for no off days.

I intend to place baby at an infant care centre. Have visted a few centres over the past few weeks. Will be booking one soon.

Hidora

Re breast pump, I bought the Avent ISIS Manual. My sis in law used it till her baby is one year old. She claimed it's good, but tiring though. If all works out with breastfeeding, I will upgrade to the Avent ISIS IQ DUO. I also bought the Avent IQ Sterilser and milk bottles.

Spring Maternity Brings to You - Lunch Time Special Again

Lunch Time Special
361846.gif

15% off storewide for Spring Privilege Card Members

&

10% off s torewide for all other Mums-To-Be

20th Jan 2006 Only
12pm to 3pm
Terms & Conditions Apply

Lots of Chinese New Year Arrivals

Suntec City, Happy Kidz #03-21B/C
Causeway Point #03-36 . Century Square #02-27

Hi K ong,
"What is the maternity entitlement of a pregnant female employee?

A pregnant female employee is entitled to absent herself from work for 4 weeks immediately before and 8 weeks immediately after delivery, totalling 12 weeks." (couresty of MOM) i guess ur company is using the loophole.. in my case i intend to take 1 week before delivery then have flexi arrangement for my 3rd mth leave.. coz i will b placing my 2nd one in the centre so with all the vaccinations, the extra leave will come in handy

hi amy,currently i m using this COMBI SAVVY SOHO model. then car seat is safety 1st enspira.

i will hav to buy another car seat coz my 1st one is still too small to switch to booster..

Hi i_panda,
I think you have updated me your details for the table yesterday. However, I cannot access what you have posted yesterday. Can update me again please?