(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Peng, my girl fren who has been using the medela dual pump strongly recommends it. She feel that the comment from PIS users is that PIS is quite fragile. i have avent manual pump. i bought it a bit late so i didnt have a chance to explore it's usefulness. by then, not much milk left. i think it's better to have a manual pump for standby... u know lah...electronic stuff sometimes can go cranky one.

peng,
Did the sales ger explain why only 3 times? if more than 3 times, what will happen? smoke will come out?

yeah, as tinklebell says, always good to have a manual pump as backup.. nvm knows when u cannot find a electric socket or u forgot to charge the batteries for electric pump.. I have used the dual pump, PIS and avent manual pump.. I used avent manual pump the longest.. The medela pumps were loaned to me from friends.. I dun like the dual pump, cos like not enough power for me.. Then the PIS uh.. broke down on me once, lucky for the manul pump.. Yes, quite painful on the hand to use it.. but used to it after a while..

oic.. tks for the advise..

yve, the sales ger din reall explain y.. juz said can't. maybe motor will get spoiled..

wow.. u buy so many pumps.. manual pump, i scare i lazy cos so tiring.. haha..

but noted u gals points.. then i better think twice abt buying PIS. Btw, generally how often do we pump per day?

Oso is it true that thomson hospital sells PIS at a wholesale price when u give birth?? Any1 noe how much? Tks

peng,
no lah.. the dual pump and PIS loan from frens.. i only bought the avent manual pump..which at first i also loan from fren..

If u gng back to work, pump 2 times at work.. once at lunch time and another time at 4 or 5pm.. at home and weekends just latch direct.. I really missed the times when i dun have to lug a big bag of hot water and fm when i was bf direct.. If you dun wan to latch direct, then have to pump at least 6 times a day. Think Poohy can share her experience on that..

Quite frus today... my CEO commented that this yr i take 9 days mc altogether wh he feels is quite a lot. Of course i didnt tell him i am pregnant lah...that will be 3 mths maternity..think he will die of heart attack! in my mind i was thinking you'r a ceo of a big listed co and u are so micro abt such things... sigh. i told my immediate boss that and he also agreed and told me dont bother... first time in my life i meet a ceo so ngiao abt mc
...wonder if anyone got such experience.

tinklebell,

wah u must be really senior position! Your ceo even bother to comment on your mc record!
My boss and div head are very understanding and never commented on such things. But of course taking more mc will put us in an inevitably infavourable position if we ever are compared with someone with equivalent achievement .... but my CEO/chairman wont be bothered by such things... dun think he even know me hahaha
dun think he even know my div head personally....

tinkerbell/poohy/okipoki,
guess wat - i juz went jb (city square) y'day(!). Hehe, i went quite early and didn't really meet wif traffic jam. Went via 170 & reached there ard 11am, after lunch went to shop ard. I woked ard in circles for 3 hrs but end up didn't buy much
Abit regret go city square, cos there are not really many maternity shops (only one next to SEED) to start wif - the clothes din really appeal to me too
Went to "World of Cartoons", and dat's about the only place i bot bb stuff from - the rest (like anakku) didn't appeal to me leh. Got lots of bb clothes, but i din buy. Only bot necessities like bath mat, bottle, etc. Sourced ard for rompers, but didn't find the ones i wanted ("unisex"-coloured wif buttons infront).

Actually, the variety there is really minimal as compared to here. I even went to the Customer Info to ask whether there's any maternity shops, but was met wif a rude "dun have"
But if any of you want to go, can have a luk at the cot / playpen over there - quite cheap it seems, but have to have a car otherwise duno how to bring back here. Not sure about the quality of the cot / playpen tho. Here are the few places i adventured to: Maternity wear next to SEED, baby stuff: FOS, World of Cartoons, Poney, Anakku, REJECT shop, etc. Actually lots of places have bb/toddler clothes, but i didn't buy yet...

Well, happy shopping if u go there(!)

Peng,

I saw the Medela PIS pump at one of the shops at KKH selling at $639 the other time...mabbe u wanna go there and take a look cos there was a offer at that time but it was like 2 weeks back...not sure if the offer is still valid now

Hi ladies, I have been so busy that have not been in for long long time. Am 16wks now. gained total of 800gms. IN case some of you forget me... this is my 2nd preg. #1 is coming 18mths now. Am still breastfeeding him.

re: breast pump
I bought the medela PIS when I had #1. It's good because it's not noisy as compared to the double pump. Basically, I calculate the cost like this. Baby formula 1 tin $25 can last 1 week. 1 month cost $100. If you have the determination to breastfeed for at least 6/7 months, it should be worth it. Especially so if you count all the benefits of breastfeeding. Then think about selling the machine... maybe example you sell at $200-$300 or more... should be worth it if you are persistent in breastfeedig. For me, the push factor of breastfeeding my kid besides the benefits of breastfeeding is the cost of the machine. Hubby bought it for me and said if I don't breastfeed for at least 6 months, I have to pay for the machine. ehehheee... :p I hate to lose my $$ mah! ehehheee...
Oh! I also very scared of the manual pump...

re: pumping schedule at the office
Used to start pumping when I just finished my maternity leave at 10am, 2pm, 6pm then I go home.
Then when kid was about 4months, I relaxed and pumped at 12noon and 6pm only.
Was still pumping twice a day until I found I got pregnant... of course there were very busy days in the office where I only pumped once.

Hi Emily,
Yes long time no see. was wondering if you disappeared...

Have yall gone for a checkup around 15 or 16 weeks yet?
What does the obstetrician check for at this time?
eg. only just measure & check for heartbeat and maybe scan for gender?

How are all the the rest of the MTBs missing in action: Muffinmocha, Poohmum, Okasan2b, luvflower, etc to name a few. How are your pregnancies coming along?

Emily, Muffinmocha & Peng,
Im with Dr Tseng of TLC. Are yall still with TLC? Will you be signing up with their package? What does the package include? And what is the discount if we sign up with the First Born Incentive?

Emily,

wah u gained so little weight ah! So envious... me at least 2-3 kg liao...think I ate too much... Me too 2nd pregnancy... my boy just turned 9 months on Wednesday....so active now

here's my boy .. wishing all the aunties here Happy New Year ...

353169.jpg

fondue,

are u with dr Paul Tseng ? I had heard that he is very pro natural birth... my gynae may be leaving singapore so I am exploring around first in case he really leave. How is your experience with Dr Tseng ? How is his charges ?

<center><font size="+1"><font color="ff00ff">Hello gals! Happy New Year 2006!</font></font></center>

<center><font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">June 2006 mums-to-be</font></font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="aa00aa">Name</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Gender</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dor</TD><TD>01/06/06</TD><TD>Henry Cheng</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mattew Lee's wife</TD><TD>01/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ryue</TD><TD>03/06/06</TD><TD>LC Foong</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>FongYang</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookiemz</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celeste</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>Gordon Lim</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MotherOfAPrincess</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>muffinmocha</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yve</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffybuff</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>KL Yam</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>miz_hopeful</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohy</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>CT Yeong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl?</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohmum</TD><TD>11/06/06</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>K Ong</TD><TD>11/06/06</TD><TD>Dr Lim</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>EVAMTB</TD><TD>13/06/06</TD><TD>KH Chan</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peng</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy?</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline Goh</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl?</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tinklebell</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emily</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>luvflower</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>FongYang</TD><TD>??? </TD></TR><TR><TD>happysunflower</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>Peter Chew</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl?</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>spicegal</TD><TD>19/06/06</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>celesteBlur</TD><TD>20/06/06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC/MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fondue</TD><TD>23/06/06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chantelle Tay</TD><TD>24/06/06</TD><TD>KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Teo</TD><TD>24/06/06</TD><TD>SM Chua</TD><TD>??? </TD></TR><TR><TD>hidora</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Volf20</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>Suresh Nair</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilfeets</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>Fong Yang</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>rms</TD><TD>26/06/06</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>kite</TD><TD>01/07/06</TD><TD>Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>medusa</TD><TD>14/06/06</TD><TD>Dr Yang</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milim</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>??? </TD></TR><TR><TD>snoep</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>??? </TD></TR><TR><TD>okasan2b</TD><TD>17/06/06</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>??? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Arieslim</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>okipoki</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>Henry Cheng</TD><TD>??? </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></center>

hi fondue, do u mean TMC?? Yes, I am still with TMC, dr caroline khi.. delivery package, think quite standard, abt $2-3k.. oh yes, i have also just learnt abt 1st bb incentive.. understand that u need to pay $98 for 2 yrs membership if u r using ciitbank card to pay.

with this membership, u get to enjoy discounts on your oscar and other tests, anenatal courses, delivery packages.. i should be joining it to enjoy discounts, but too bad i have already paid for the oscar and detailed tests, so can't enjoy the discounts for this.. sob sob...

Tks Emily and celeste on the tips on pump..

Here, wishing all of you Happy New Year and smooth delivery next yr haha..

Hi Ladies!

Have been busy since yesterday, working non-stop, setting test papers and worksheets and preparing lessons for next week. Have been skipping two lunches liao... unhealthy rite!!

Seems like all appetite is good. That's a good sign! For me, appetite seems to be changing again. Tends to get full easily, and hungry easily too. But when hungry, no idea what i like to eat. There seems to be nothing that interest me now. Hopefully i can pick up my appetite with a jap sushi dinner later
Really need to relax and put my work aside, although still got piles of work to do. AARRGGHH!

Hi Fondue,

For my 15th week, gynae also check normal measurements through ultrasound scan. Gender can be known if ur bb cooperates

Kite,

I guess it is normal to tempt for fast food like BBQ chicken wings and french fries. Those were my favourites ever since i was prengnat haha.. but can't eat too much cos they are considered fatty.

Ur weight gain seems good ya? I only gained around 4 kg in my 19th week. I wonder whether my weight will drop when school reopens next week. Dunno have time to eat or not!!

Luckily bb always cooperate. When i am doing serious work, she will be quiet. But when she know i am relaxing, watching tv, resting, she will start kicking
And sometimes kick non-stop haha!

kk,

u only gained 4kg ah ! that's great too! hehehe... as long as its less than 10kg throughout the pregnancy i think is a good achievement liao.. i must start to control and not eat too much carbo.... anyway i am counting on my 2 babies to help me burn my fat.. hehehe i figure looking after and chasing my boy and my baby2 in times to come shd help me slim a bit...

Poohy,

I told a colleague i gained 4 kg and she said "so little????" hahaa.. so she asked me to eat more eat more during staff buffet lunch in school yesterday.

i think she must have gained much more when she was carrying her 2 kids.

Hello ladies - went to see bb today! bb was so shy - kept using both hands to cover both parts. We saw something which looked like his wee-wee again..but doc said shd wait for next detailed scan to confirm. In anycase, was so happy and excited to see bb again!! Also passed my Oscar test with flying colors...yippy. When asked abt weight gain during pregnancy, my doc said that based on my height and weight, I shd put on 0.25kg per wk ~ 1 kg per mth.. so that works out to be abt 5 kg by wk 20...

ya lor... he wld use both hands to cover his eyes / face ... then later move both hands to cover down there. Aiyo.... but actually v v cute ...
the next visit is on 20 jan... so long more. Went to Tangs after that to look at bb stuff. They are having a promo on Avent and Nuk Sterilisers... Hey kk- you bot the wide neck Nuk bots rite? I didnt seem to be able to find those at Tangs leh. They only sell the normal bots labelled 0-6 mths (1) and 7-12mths (2).

Experienced mummies - care to advise: What type of teats are better. The lady was explaining latex teats last only 1 mth and can melt. Silicon ones are hardier.. what shd we get??

Hi Volf,

Ya ya, i bought the NUK wide neck bottles. Oh, i bought mine at kiddy palace. I remember seeing them again at kids mall at suntec. Hmmm, come to think of it, i didn't even see NUK bottles at all at shops like metro and OG. Not sure about tangs and robinsons. Haven't been shopping there. Missed all the discounts as i heard pretty crowded and queued very long at cashier heee...

If u manage to get them at higher discounts, it is good because they are really expensive! I was hesitating to buy or not, in the end decided to buy because wide neck bottles seem to be easier to wash.

I read from another posting that latex is natural and silicon is man made. Silicon may seem to be more expensive when u buy them off the shelves. But latex wear out easily and need to be replaced like every 2 mths or so. So in the long run, actually silicon is cheaper. Latex is softer than silicon.

i bought the NUK bottles with silicon teats. That time i do not know the difference between latex and silicon. i get silicon because they are transparent and look 'nicer' heeee...

Thanks KK. Will go Kiddy Palace to check it out. Strange thing was the salewoman was telling me the Nuk Steriliser can only be used with Nuk bots - no other types of bots..so I didnt buy. Will look ard more.

Hey KK - Do you look pregnant now at 20 wks+? I still dun look preggy. In fact, if I stand next to a plump gal in the streets, I still look slimer leh. Quite embarrassing cos when I go to bb section and start asking lots abt the bb stuff.. the saleswomen all stare at me. Hv you booked yr antenatal class at TMC? Wondering if I shd book for end Mar.

Volf,

Really? I saw the NUK steriliser at Kiddy Palace last week. Not cheap. I think around $120++. I think Pigeon brand suits all. I haven't decided which to buy yet. When u told me about NUK steriliser, I sort of confirmed buying that liao. But now the salesperson tell u can only fit NUK bottles... hmmmmmm....

Of course i look pregnant now haha.. i am now in my week 22. Got pple give up their seats to me on the LRT but i didn't sit lah because my place only 2 stops away from Sengkang Central.

How many weeks are u in now? Week 15/16? I only look preggie when i am in my week 20. I fit nicely now into my maternity clothes

I haven't booked any antenatal class at TMC. Hmmm, not all preggies find the class useful, so i dunno want to sign up or not. Somemore busy work schedule plus lazy plus dun wanna burn my weekends attending classes haha..

Moreover, got one lady (forgot who liao) say TMC hold breastfeeding and bathing lesson every afternoon for mummies after delivery. So maybe i will only catch those lessons after i have given birth :p

hihi...

so sad.. my morning sickness cum again for the past few days.... arrrhhhhhhhhhhhhhh...........

i heard tmc got very good antenatal classs... i tink i m goin too... hehe

matchedgal, u went to jb yesterday? i didnt go bec my hubby eventually didnt want to.

in the end, we went to marina sq and mustafa. nothing much at marina sq. first time i went to mustafa ... lots of multi-vitamins there...and cheaper than some of the other pharmacies.

poohy, my position not v senior lah ... that's why i dont understand why my ceo even bother to talk to me abt my mc record
i'm just a small fly in the organisation. but he will occassionally talk to me abt one of my staff's performance... and has been prompting me to sack her... i have been holding that back for abt a year already.... hiaz... put me in a difficult position. but i really dont like the attitude of this staff...very lazy and rude. it's just that i symphatise with her bec she is diabetic, grossly overweight and has a sister with cancer to support. maybe about the bonus payout then i will discuss with my boss again lah...very headache on such matters.
but if i dont, my ceo will constantly remind me to do it... he even said it could be bec i have a bad staff that is why i am stressed and end up sick... somemore say since i get flu so easily, i should look into my lifestyle maybe diet not healthy or never exercise enuf.... say wat he wants lah. i just dont feel like arguing with him.

Hi Kk - am 15 wks now.

For antenatal class, M only keen to attend the class at TMC is its by that lactation consultant Mrs Wong. If not, not sure I want to go too leh. Will start checking the end Mar schedules cos that's when am 28 wks and that's also when gynae suggest I go.

For Nuk steriliser - Will do more research on it. Otherwise, might buy other brands. Remember my frens using it with other bots leh. Dunno. Check more and let u know. Hey - there's a Taka bb fair in end Feb-Mar 06 I think. Maybe can wait till then? Will still be in time for u right?

Poohy - thanks for the tip on silicon teats. Will get that then

Malay Massage - I've booked my malay massage lady for 7 days. She will come abt 3 days after my delivery (if natural. Otherwise, 1-2wks if c-sec). Very happy with gf's recommendation cos $50 &amp; includes all oils, and binder and come to yr hse somemore. The current going px is $40-$70 and some dun include the cost of the binder somemore.

Celeste - hang in there ya?! Poor u...try to monitor wat you eat..sometimes cld be the food-bb may not like it ;)

hi volf,
wow so fast u booked the post natal malay massage liao? hey the massage has to be done quite soon after delivery then got effect? if that case, if i m interested, shall let u know.

so cute, saw ur bb's wee wee again lolz.

hi Kite - Ya. Me vain that's why. Kan cheong so book the massage lady leow since gf swears by it...
Let me know if you keen.

Celeste, i just checked around.. market daytime rate for confinement nannies for 28 days is $1200.

i am thinking of getting a maid and my mother insisted i get a confinement as well wh i think is not necessary. sometimes i wonder if i am the one giving birth or my mum... she seems to like to make all the decisions for me

volf, $50 for massage lady is quite cheap leh. Hiaz... donno if i can afford the time to do massage... my No1 sticks to me like glue.

feeling moody today lah... so much housework to do... house so messy... my son also looks so messy too and my face looks so ugly with a big pimple on the cheek!
**sian** wat a bad way to end my year.

kao_kiss.gif

been MIA for a long time....MS over soon, so feeling more energetic these days...few weeks back, was so tired, I just want to sleep and do nothing else

can I check if you gals got do blood test before? can we eat prior to the test?

coz of the sale, been so tempted to start shopping for baby's stuff....

kk,

from TMC website, TMC will have the Hands-on Baby Bath Demonstration and Breast Feeding Talk at 2-3pm each day...but u can only choose either one of the talks each day after you delivered since both talks are conducted on the same day

btw, saw some real cute baby clothes yesterday when I was shopping.
but I'm not sure what size to buy for newborns. I was told not to buy those newborn sizes coz baby will outgrow them soon...so should I buy baby clothes for 3-6mth instead for newborn baby?

anyone tried golden wellness pre-natal massage.. they say mssage when u are 5 mths pregnant..dun know is it safe... feel like going... cos backache now leh...

celeste,

think u should check with your gynae to see if you can go for massage.

also check with golden wellness if the massager is trained to massage for pregnant women as certain area of our body should not be massaged when pregnant. also check if they have those beds specially for pregnant women..those beds with a hole for the belly one...

Hi Oksasan,

Thanks for the info. If that is the case, i will sure attend the session on breast feeding as my mil is able to teach me how to bath the baby

I bought a mix of clothes, for newborn (not many), 0-3 mths and 3-6 mths. I wanna doll my girl up when i bring her out
Mine all come wtih nice pictures
For those plain white ones to be worn at home, i didn't get any as i have hands-me-down for them

Hi Oksasan,
Thanks for your advice.. I wll chk with them before i go for any massage i gues...

Any idea can we eat Rose apple? Have been craving for that and have been eating quite abit till i now worry.. anyone can advise?? hehe

By the way i went OG yesterday and bought some new born clothes and mittens &amp; booties.. got 20% discount.. think those of you who are interested in getting some bb stuffs or bottles.. and go there see see cos 20% can save alot if buy alot of bb stuffs..

Enjoy..

Celeste,

Since u have already eaten, then dun worry! Haha..

Today i went shopping at tampines metro and isetan. Wow, a lot of bb stuff on discount too. Think both storewide 20% but metro discount only apply to blue price tags.

I also bought another 2 set of bb clothes, for 6-12 mths (kiasu ya? Heeee...) then also bought face towels, bath towel, hair band, booties, etc. Great shopping trip! Wat a way to kill stress after working so hard for these 2-3 days

Btw, when u all go shopping, do u happen to see something called the diaper cover?? What is it for and is it necessary? There are lots of nice ones at kiddy palace, but dunno need or not, so i haven't bought any yet.

kk,

Think if we usuing pampers then dun need... think that is more for those using clothes diapers. get what i mean?

kk,

Think if we usuing pampers then dun need... think that is more for those using clothes diapers. get what i mean?

Happy New Yr all MTBs

volf, oh wow, u booked postnatal masseuse already! I haven't decided.

kk, i rec Pigeon Large purple steriliser

kk, volf, my #1 rejected all other brands except Nuk latex... may want to standby. Esp if u intend to bf, it's closer to human nips, less confusion for bb. Just from my experience, I notice that frens' bbs who were weaned from latching earlier were more receptive to other brands/ silicon. Mine took silicon only after weaning from breast some time.