(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi all..

Am getting super tired latetly and bad constipation. Anyone got any solution? looks like my MS is back again too... now am as tired as b4.. like in the 1st trim.. really goin crazy...

Arhhhhhh..............

Anyone have the same prob as me now... in my 17+ weeks now...

medusa,

can keep me updated on your consultation with dr paul tseng ? if there are info on his charges etc would be good ... but i wanna know his style etc. I am seriously considering switching to him cos my own gynae may go overseas...

Hi poohy,
I did not know there's water birth in Singapore. I have seen documentaries on water birth when I was overseas
. It seems like a good option to reduce labour pain. It looks gross though when the pool of water became red when baby comes out. During labour, both mum and dad will dip into the water. Mostly are naked...
Do you know how big is the water tank for water birth in TMC?
Episiotomy seems to be a very common procedure in Singapore. Part of the reason for episiotomy is to prevent tear. Tear can be very ugly and difficult to repair sometimes. My friend who gave birth in UK had 7 stitches for her tear.

Hi poohy, tinklebell,
Wow... it really sounds scary. I think I will go mad without enough sleep.
The breasts engorgement seems like a nightmare. Now I already cannot stand the breasts pain at night already. Cannot imagine how I will be like with the engorgement at night.

Re: Urine leaking
I think I am starting to have urine leak lately
I can feel water below anytime, especially when I stand and walk a lot. I dunno what is it exactly. I dunno is it just a feeling or really urine leaking... I put panty liner now, but it's not wet. I would think if urine leak, the panty liner will be super wet.

Hi okasan,
Thank you for the update
. I have updated in my list

Hi celeste,
I am still very tired, but not as tired as in the 1st trimester. If I eat something wrong, I will get nausea at night nowadays.

Hi medusa,
What is inside the supplement that is causing the baby to sleep longer?

yah medusa,

Maybe you can help all of us check where can we get that medicine... and how it works.. then we can see to it.. hehehe

lyn,
it's just omega oil supplements- my guess is it replenishes nutrients in our postpartum body to produce thicker BM. That's just her experience (that her bb sleeps longer) though.
With my #1, I was rather annoyed by all the unwanted comments that bb was starving- BF bbs fed more frequently mah, and I think it's natural that bbs "search" for the breast even when carried by other people. Some of those relatives felt awkward and immediately said the bb was starving lor. :p

tks oaskan for your tips..

celeste, i oso have cramps on the side of the tummy.. in fact today went to c gynae urgently.. it's normal as long as the pain is at the side with no bleeding or fever... it's cos we are expanding and it's pressing on our organs and ligaments.. juz have more bed rest..

hee hee.. today more or less cfm it's a boy cos very obvious.. haha.. can start shopping already.. going to have detailed scan near CNY, perhaps will go shop after CNY..

lyn, i oso have urine leak.. juz keep on going for toilets whether have or not, though most of the time feel very full..

Yes, TMC has the water birth facilites. I have gone to c.. it's like the size of normal jacuzzi bathtub.. can squeeze abt 4-5 pple i guess.. u can tour tmc facilites at abt 2.30pm everyday, including sat.. think it's that timing.. pls call to cfm..

that day when i went, i juz booked abt 5mins b4 that timing. They would bring u to show u all the wards and delivery rooms etc so that u can decide which type u want to book.. but they have only 1 water birth room, so if u want, u have to pre-book early, i guess..

I am also scared of the confinement period.. i oso dun noe whether i can cope or not.. thinking of getting a maid, but thot of spending the $ better for children's education.. so now still in dilemina..

is it good to have bb taken care by nanny or mil?? Both got pros and cons, dun noe which 1 to choose..

tinklebell, thanks for the info. will check out OG at people's park. will be going down orchard these few days, so maybe I'll drop by OG @ orchard to take a look as well

Peng,

what time is the hospital tour at TMC? thinking of going as well. but heard from other threads that if you miss the timing, the reception people will not bring you for the tour, unlike Mt A.

Hello gals - are you going to tour TMC this wkend? Never thought that I shld tour the hospital... but hearing all these, it may be a gd idea..so me and hubby know what to expect....hey, but is the tour also included in the TMC antenatal class? If so, then no nd to go?

Hi Peng,
Congratulations on having a baby boy. So good... Now can shop for baby's clothes already.
I dun feel my bladder is full usually. I feel pain instead of full or urge to go wee. Dunno normal or not.
Are you going to have a confinement lady? I am thinking of not having one cos I have no room for her to sleep already. All my rooms occupied... After reading what the second time mummy went through, I am getting nervous and worried that I cannot cope. Last nite I told my hubby... he asked me not to worry too much now. I think my hormones getting me nervous yesterday...
I know someone whose blood test showed a high risk of down syndrome baby. It got me nervous too cos my gynae gonna do blood test for me this Friday. I might choose not to go for the blood test since no matter what is the results, we are not going to abort the baby. It will only cause more worries.

Re:nanny or MIL
In my opinion, I think it's better to let MIL look after the baby if she's willing to. Afterall, it's her own grandchild
. She will be better to your baby than the nanny cos a nanny is an outsider. Of course, when there's more interactions with MIL, there will be more friction.
I might choose to look after my baby myself, or my MIL, or my parents. I haven't really thought about that. Currently, I will look after baby myself
. I do believe in early bonding with baby and baby's early education...

Peng,
congrats on your bb boi
so after detailed scan u can start buying boiboi stuffs liowz :D
hehe, tomolos i will be seeing my gynae, so will ask him bout my cramps also...then will ask bout discharge, cos i seem to have some discharge *sighz*

Btw, any of u gals planning to go for antenatal classes? I am thinking of signing up for antenatal classes at TMC ;)

am thinking of going for the antenatal class at TMC too. Gynae suggested I go at wk 28 ~ end Mar 06 period.. so we dun forget what we learn. When do you intend to go?

Celeste Blur - the 14 Mar one sounds gd. Are you planning to go wkend or wkday? I will prob go for wkend, but not sure Sat or Sun or the timing....maybe the Sun 10.30am-12.30pm one... u?

volf20,
14 March is a Tuesday....so that means its a weekday class? Hmmzz, that means only Tuesday classes are available? A bit confusing???
I am planning of either on Thur/Fri nites or Sat afternoon bah

morning gals!

I also want to sign up for the antenatal class at TMC too....afterall, being first-time mum, good to get myself more prepared

but I haven't confirm which hospital I want to deliver...if deliver at TMC, antenatal class will have discount loh....

volf20,

hospital tour is included in the antenatal class.....so u need not book a tour if u wants to go for the classes....

for my case, I'm choosing between TMC and MHA, so will need to book a tour to take a look at both hospitals before deciding....

hi celeste blur - i jus called TMC. The dates on the website are for 2005, not 2006. There are classes during the Mar period, and they start fr the wk of Mar 13 - 14 Apr. Everyday also got class. I chose the class conducted by a famous Mrs Wong (Snr Lactation Consultant). Will start class on 18 Mar (Sat) 2-4pm. Mrs Wong only conducts classes on Wed and Sats. Other days are conducted by other lactation consultants.

okasan,
that means we will be given the TMC rates only if we confirm we are delivering there? Otherwise will pay normal rates?

medusa,
u going to ur new gynae tomolos?
Hehe, me going for appt tomolos evening, but the clinic assistant told me to be prepared to wait....guess will be a long queue tomolos, cos my gynae this week i think only open on thursday nite for consultation....*sighz*
I wonder when will i be doing my triple test

Triple test will draw a lot of blood boh? If yes hor, i better eat more red meat today...haha

volf20,
so you already called to make the booking? Hehe, blur sotong me, I never noticed the year is for 2005...haha :p
Yeah, my fren told me Mrs Wong is good, I think I will be signing up for the March 18 class too

Hi Celeste - Aiya. Me too sotong. Din realise until lady on the phone told me. If you want the class, shd call soon to book cos classes by Mrs Wong are very hot. She said we book the right time cos it's 2 mths before we deliver in June mah. Wah - are you going for the 2-4pm one too? If so.. gd, can meet u leow

hi hi..
tks for the congras.. yes, the tour is part of the anenatal course.. i have signed for tmc anenatal course starting in late jan.. want to go early cos of the exercise part, so can start doing it.. plus i scare later stage i scare i am too fat or sick to move. haha..

celeste, u oso have discharge?? have u known ur bb gender?? hearing your symptoms, i suspect u have a bb boy.. haha.. cos ur symptoms r veri similar to me.. the white discharge is due to hormornal changes.. it's ok as long as no smell or funny colour..

yes, lyn, if mil can take care of bb, that's good.. but i scare she is too old for it. If that's the case, i would have to employ a maid, meaning to say, my cost wld go up.. much more than if hire nanny, so i am abit concerned.. plus as u say, more interaction means more friction.. Moreover, my MIL is very active and always has her activities and travelling, so if let her take care of bb, she would be "locked" at home, so abit feel paisay to take away her freedom though i am very sure i would bring bb home every nite and wkend

volf20,
I think I should be booking for the 2-4pm slot too
Hehe, yeah can meet u liowz....

But actually can we book first, and if really later need to change the dates can change boh?

peng,
ya ya, i got discharge but its a bit funny, sometimes seems like got a slight tinge of yellowish color or what, asked my gynae before, he said if there's no itch or pain then its okies...

I still donno bb gender...going for appt tomolos, hope can know the gender by then :D

Celeste, u also going to visit Dr Adrian tomorrow? me too... will be after work
btw, how u find the place? i feel a bit uncomfortable with the other sick patients around leh

tinklebell,
u also visiting Dr. Adrian tomolos? Me also....also after work!! Wat time u going? u going to the CCK clinic rite?
Hehe, if u scared of those sick patients for the 24-hr clinic, u sit outside lor...at least the air is not like inside cos outside is more like "fresh" air...haha

yes, going tomorrow after work... apptm is 615... hope can reach there on time. hee hee...agreed, outside more "fresh air".

tinklebell,
hehe, i may "bump" into you :p me shld be reaching there around 6.15-6.30pm also bah, prob register liowz then go for dinner with hb....cos the clinic assistant told me tomolos queue will be long....

tinklebell,
cos if i didnt remember wrongly, the lady told me the clinic only open on Thursday nite for this week, thats y must be prepared to wait

Celeste Blur - I think shd hv some flexibility on the dates /timings... but try to confirm the date and time lor. I also worried last minute cannot make it for the date & time.

Hey - 2nd time mummies: How do you know it's the bb movt? Am feeling v slight tightening and 'queases' on my lower tumm. DUnno if tats the bb movt. Am 16 wks.

celeste,
hmm if u r doing triple test too, perhaps get someone accompany u home after? I remember for my #1, I did triple test AND blood sugar test (blood sugar had to fast overnight, and draw blood twice for it alone)... this gynae says he'd do triple for me 1st, but wait-and-see about blood sugar test.

celeste, few thursdays ago i went too and was really crowded... but surprisingly, the wait wasnt that long (thankfully). only ard 30 mins.

volf,
I felt bb move very early on, at my current 17th wk, alot of movement liao. In 1st pregnancy, I only felt at VERY LATE stage. I guess more attuned to bb movement

tinklebell and celeste,

I'm also going to Dr Adrian tomorrow at CCK! but mine is in the morning....coz can take MC, better :p

celeste,

on the TMC discount rates for antenatal classes, I'm not very sure if the hospital requires us to confirm then we can enjoy the rates...got to call them to ask...but it does make sense for hospital to require a confirmation that we will deliver there right?

volf20,
okies, tonite shall confirm with hb....if everything okies, then prob will book for the antenatal class tomolos

medusa,
I wonder if tomolos i will be taking my triple blood test, cos will be wk16+ liowz....tomolos my hb accompanying me there, so i guess shld be fine?

tinklebell,
nite time appointment is always like tat one, very crowded...i went during morning before very gd, average waiting time bout 15mins onie

okasan,
u also seeing Dr. Adrian at CCK ah...hehe, seems like most of us seeing him at CCK :D, me appt is actually morning one, but I thought maybe just save up the MC lor

as for the TMC antenatal class, I believe they will want u to confirm delivery there before they give u the preferential rates bah....

For me I still donno i wanna choose TMC or Mt. A yet, so dont tink i will be confirming.

celeste,

same here...I also dun know which to choose..TMC or Mt. A....have you done blood test yet? suppose to do one tomorrow..but gynae din tell me what test is that...am I suppose to fast prior to the test?

volf,

do we need to make payment when we book the antenatal classes at TMC? or just leave name will do, then lesson starts then pay fees?

celeste/ okasan, u mean if u see him in the mornings, can get mc?
anyway, i cannot take too much mcs already ... blacklisted by my boss liao

tinklebell, he will ask you if you need MC if you see him in the morning...so far, I always see him in the morning and get MC....I dun need to save my MC coz I seldom fall sick... :p

volf,

at first, the bb movement felt like bubbling feeling inside your tummy ...
its very subtle... then slowly, it becomes much more impactful and u can actually see your tummy move or poke at from inside..

for the anenatal class, u can give your name first but got to pay b4 lesson starts, i think.. yes, if u deliver at tmc, the rate is cheaper.. if u can, join the first born incentive too. u would get 10% off the anaenatal cost.. for those who have not paid for the detailed scan,u wld also enjoy some discount with that incentive

okasan,
haha, now i am 50-50 as to whether TMC or Mt A., mabbe wait till i got chance go hospital tour then i will decide
As for the blood test bo lehz, the previous time i saw him he never say this time will do blood test....*hmmzz* Btw, i dont tink blood test need to fast one, juz eat as per normal bah

tinklebell,
ya, if u see him in the morning and he knows u r working one, then he will give u mc, otherwise u can ask from him, he will give one

I dont care bout blacklisting anot now liowz...planning to leave my Co. after i have delivered.....haha

peng,
u mean the first born incentive is like joining membership at TMC? Hmmzz, I havent done my detailed scan yet, mabbe i go TMC website and take a look

hiaz.. i am super sleepy. woke up at 2am last nite feeling hungry and couldnt sleep until i took some cookies. today the mind doesnt seem to be functioning. anyone got this prob of waking up in the middle of the nite then cannot sleep and have to search for food?

tinklebell,

hmm so far i dun have this problem of midnight hunger yet... just that i do feel high tide and need to go toilet if i ever wake up in the middle of the night. And my boy has been waking up almost every night now anytime from 2-4am for milk... and if i am "lucky", he fall right back to sleep after that, if not, he will keep climbing all over his cot and we gotta watch over him... the v last resort will be to put him in the bed with us ... its a queen size bed.. so we will be so squeezed... and even then... he may not sleep .... guess at his age now, he got so much energy and keep wanting to crawl, creep and climb non stop. Me too, at times feel v sleepy and tired, feel like going back to sleep... cos these days he even start to sleep later than normal ... climb all over his cot as usual