(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi Volf!

Haha, i was clearing up my wardrobe yesterday and found that i dun even have much space to keep my normal clothes! Chiam liao, so i still got to hang most of my normal clothes in the wardrobe, together with my new maternity clothes. If i continue to buy somemore, i really dun have space to hang them liao! I am even thinking of buying those kind of metal bars from ikea to hang my clothes in the other room heeee...

Wow, how much did u spend? I told my hubby i dun dare to step out of the house next week. Else i will end up spending more. I think i have spent $1000++ on maternity clothes liao. Should stop liao hor? If not i feel really guilty. Luckily the clothes i bought from spring and cloud9 can be worn even after delivery because they are bbdoll style.

Currently i have 9 dresses, 4 tops and 4 skirts to be worn to work. Hopefully enough! Another 3/4 pants and tube top is for casual.

Hi K Ong,

i remembered that was one time i felt like u did yesterday. I thought i was in my well window already, but ended up vomiting again. But not for long. I hope it is the same for u too

So u are now in ur 14th week loh? Should go into a "perfect" well window soon

All ur gynae pretty generous with MCs! I was only given one 3-day MC for my spotting in my 6th week and i didn't utilise that.

Hi KK - I spent nearly $700-800 alrdy for 11 pcs of clothes. For office, I only got 2 work pants. Will still wear my normal office shirts, till tumm grows bigger, then got to buy those maternity shirts. Am saving the 2 dresses I got for CNY so dun hv to buy again. For casual, I hv 3 3/4 pants. Told myself to stop buying for a while leow ..until tumm grows further. Frens say no pt buying all at one go cos body shape changes...I better go visit my gf to see what she can pass on to me man..thankfully, all the clothes I bot can be worn after delivery cos they all look super normal.. v unlike maternity..heehee.

hi celeste,

haha..ya,i koe..went to the salon b4 but didn quite like it..my tummy quite obvious lah..coz i got tummy b4 pregnant mah..me now 15week5days..my next appt is 28th..whos ur gynae..? will u ne joinning the aqua fitness?

Angeline,

if you are at your 15weeks 5 days.. think we are about the same.. but how cum your due date is mid june? mine is 6 june leh... my gynae is Gordon Lim from Glen E... And my next appt is 27dec.. hehe. we are about the same hor...

mind telling me your age then i can keep a look out for you next time when down stairs.. hahahah

Hi all..

Anyone now can we eat peaches or apricot? have been eating quite abit and was abit guilty now.. dun know can eat or not hor...

Celeste,

I think should be ok to eat peaches and apricot. My mum offered me some peaches yesterday but i never eat because i dun have love for peaches heeee... i never hear anyone say cannot eat these two fruits.

Just had dim sum lunch at prima revolving restaurant. Had Hashima for dessert. Yummy!!

Tonite going to boil my bird nest again

hi everyone..

haven't been logging in cos busy.. how's every1?? every1 shd be in 2nd trimester now.. all feeling better?

wow.. saw that there are many new members.. hi hi to u gals.. i m snail and now in 14 wks, edd shd be 15 june.. bb gender not sure yet.. only noe it next wk.. can't wait..

saw u gals start bird nest yet?? i haven't started but hopefully start to soon.. besides bird nest, any tonics to eat? tks alot..

hi cookiemz,

me too..now still waiting.but do u koe wat help will all these exercise do?easy delivery?etc? hav u bought ur swimwear? i got nothing to wear..

hi celeste,

yah..i oso dun koe leh..aft each scan,the paper puts my EDD..is ard mid june leh..anyway,my next apppt 28..this morning vomit agan.jus finish my 2 slice of bread wif cheese n a glass of milk..5mins later,it all came out.wonder is it due to the milk!!haha..me 25...r u working?

hi kk,

do u koe if we can take hashima? coz i got a few bottles from Eu Yan Sang...last time used to take it quite often but now no more..i toook 1 botle last nite but dun koe y mow i find it got a fishy smell...dun koe how to describe tt..last time i dun hav any problem..

Hi Peng,

Can start taking bird nest in ur 4th mth i.e. 16th week or so

Hi Angeline,

Sure, should be OK to take hasima. Yesterday i ordered that for lunch dessert. Nowadays for dessert, dun have many choices. Can't eat mango pudding. No-no to melon and sago. etc etcc... end up in the menu there is only bird nest and hashima that i can eat. Bird nest too expensive, cost $40. So take hasima which is $15 heeee...

last time u also take hasima from eu yan sang? Maybe now there is a change in appetite so u can't take it liao. There are certain foods which we love to eat before pregnancy but we tend to dislike during pregnancy. That's normal

u gals going for kk for the aquaaerobics?? i am interested but i am not kk patient, can?? Any1 knows whether TMC has this course too???? How much and when is it?

Tks KK for the info.. can't wait to start eating bird nest.. haha.. can eat hasima too... okie.. yummy...

KK: yah the feeling is terrible, esp when i tot it was all over. Now i have a phobia of eating ... cuz i'm afraid it comes out again. I guess i have to tahan this period. When did yours subside ?? Aftr 14 week ?

Hi Ladies - for those who dun wanna boil birdnest or no time or lazy to do so, there's a very gd Brand called Dragon Brand Birdnest at Taka Basement. It's nicely bottled, and is very concentrated. You take 1 teaspoon per day. Not v sweet too. I love it ...they are hvaing a 15% discount with UOB cards now.

Hi Dor,

Cos i heard cannot eat mango, so i dun take mango pudding as well. And i think they also put agar powder into the making of pudding so not wise to eat?

Hi K Ong,

Yooo, just go ahead and eat. Try not to have the phobia ok?

Yup. mine more or less subside around week 15. But on and off still feel a bit nauseous. Must take the right food lor

Hi dears - do you know what brand of baby laundry detergent is gd for the bb ie. non allergenic, non perfume etc? I read in other threads that Kodomo is no gd...but when I looked through the shelves at Carrefour yesterday, it was only Kodomo? Wanna wash some bb rompers I bot fr Mothercare..

Angeline,
You are a young mother-to-be.. really envy... me 30 liao.. dun tell me i am the oldest here.. sob..sob..

volf,
how much is the concentrate birdnest? I am taking the Lo Han Kar one at the moment...

kk,

yah..true true..btw,y cant eat mango pudding?melon sago?

celeste,

no lah...25 considered normal liao....many of my frens already got 1/2 kids already..the trend is getting younger...

today is our 1st yr wedding anniversary. hehe Time really flies

anyway, just wondering can i take yogurt during pregnancy? thanks.

hi Celeste - 1 bot (2.5x the size of a small BRands' Essence of Chicken) is about $60-$80.. there are difft range. But qlty is v gd. And no lah.. am the oldest here la at 32 and this is my 1st child.....so u are not the oldest lah.

Kite - Think can take. Nurse actually asked me to take it when I was constipated... except that my bb dun like.. so I ended up puking almost immediately..

Hi volf,
i m interested to buy a bird nest u mentioned. can last til how long? when can start drinking bird nest? just 1 to 2 teaspoons daily rite? not too liang? only Taka hv tis outlets ah? sorry for so many qs.

anyone drinking red dates drink daily? heard that good for complexion? wat is e effect? thanks.

Was fedup with my ante-natal classs at KKh last week. Felt like its a waste of money and time. Was disappointed . Last week was my first lessons.

They started the class by running through subjects like " how baby is conceived" .. I mean, most of the ladies there are already on their 5-6 mth. Do they really not know how babies are conceived??????

then the lady started rattling off on a whole bunch of stuff which I have know. Most of them are real basic stuff like keeping yourself clean (i.e. nathe everyday." It almost sounds rediculous listening to her. I mean, we're in the 20th century. pray tell me if there is any women who is pregnant who does not bathe everyday just because she's pregnant????

Maybe my hormones are going craxy and so I am a bit impatient but I can really be putting in more work at work then have to rush down for a class which makes no diff to me. *sigh*

hoepfully, next lesson will be better cause its a dietician etc speaking. if the info is so general, I will no bother to go anymore. I already know most of the theory from books or the gyne already.

do you ladies have the same experience?

Can last in the fridge for a few mths once opened. 1-2 teaspoon a day is gd. That's what am taking actually. It tastes soo gd, I can actually finish the entire bot in 1 go ...Think there's 1 outlet at Marina Sq, 1 at Taka Basement, 1 at Fook Hai Bldg. It's not cheap but the qlty is there. If you are thinking of the Brand's or Eu Yan Sang type of birdnest, rest assured it's many many times much better & less sweet! In fact, I heard the rich tai tais buy this brand quite a bit...
http://www.dragonbrand.com.sg/Product%20Information%20Brochure.jpg

Hi Lilfeets - My gf attended an antenatal class 2times when she was last preggy & then stopped. She felt it was too basic and not worth the time, effort & $. Said that if you hv been reading up on yr own... the class is actually quite useless. I've not signed up for myself... but am am only interested in how to det. labour, braxton hicks etc....what to do then etc... all of which my gynae will be able to help me leh... so not sure if I shd attend. Can imagine yr frustration.

Hi Kite,

I have been taking yogurt and also, Yakult/Vitagen in my 2nd trimester. I read from other postings that it is good as it helps to prevent UTI.

i think it is better than ice cream lor, because ice cream lots more sugar and can make us fat too :p

Hi Lilfeets,

Do continue to update us on the class. I have yet to sign up any. Lazy :p

I will only attend if it is really useful to me. Else i wouldn't want to devote my weekend to the classes when i am already so busy with my work when school reopens.

Kite,

i think red dates drink is very good. Can add longans with red dates and boil. Supposed to be very bu. But i never been hardworking enough to boil the drink.

I read one posting this morning on bird nest. Aiyoh, pretty scary. The 2nd time mum ate too much when she was having her first bb and now her child down with asthma and bronchitis and all kinds of problems. Think we have to take bird nest in moderation, really.

re: antenatal classes

actually u can see from the topics that they are going to cover that it will be quite basic. Cant really cover much in such short time
I attended kk antenatal class for my previous pregnancy. Most of the time I just skip the classes cos if i know the topic that day is not interesting to me, i wont go. But the interesting ones are the breastfeeding, pain control, massage and breathing technique classes... and for some people, the last 2 classes.. where they teach you how to care of the newborn baby.

Actually even those info can be easily gotten from books or website if u had been constant in reading up. But, the midwives teaching those classes normally will tell u things in real life experiences which are valuable lor...

Volf20 - I didn't do much reading. The only book I have read is "what to expect when you are expecting" . I find the info really detailed and useful.

the class simply bored me to death. I wish it's more focused on the important things. Ok. maybe some couples don't read so have to go through the development stages of babies but to tell me how babies are conceived is rediculous! i mean, most women are already pregnant. this is ante-natal, not sex education class!

what makes it really bad is that the women who is doing the class is soooo irritating. She keeps asking questions but after 2 hrs and noone is bothering to answer your dumb questions, she should change techniques cause the class is just not the communicative or vocal type. Imagine being told that you need to bathe at least once a day! I don't believe there are people in Singapore who don't bathe daily.

I think they do cover massages for hubby to learn to massage their wives, practise breathing techniques as well as some exercises we can do so I guess those are useful.

Poohy - yeah. The only reason I signed up is because of hubby. Want him to have a better understanding and learn how to bathe baby etc. I do hope they cover that. Also want hubby to be prepared for labour etc. Otherwise, he will be so lost and I will then be angry with him.

What really gets me sooo irritated is she can't even pronounce the words correctly. *sigh* I am not being picky but how can you be in the healthcare profession and pronounce "Duerectic" wrongly??? It's simply appalling.

lilfeets,

haha ok i understand how u feel... that's i skip some of the classes mah. Anyway they do teach breathing technique during different phases of labour, how hb can help massage you... what stretching exercises u can do to help elevate pain and help u prepare for labour, definitely the last lesson shd teach how to bath bb. Oh ya, they teach u what are the different pain control options...

If you give birth in tmc, they give free lesson on breastfeeding and bathing bb.... with a real baby as demo
i think that is more useful since by the time we give birth... maybe forget abt what is taught in class liao. so the lesson right after u give birth is v useful

volf..

ya.. everyday in the afternoon, they will conduct 1 lesson on breastfeeding and another on bathing bb..

Tatz gd - I intend to deliver there. Heard also can get foc glass milk bottles fr TMC? Just nd to ask the nurses?

Yve - Hey you beat me to it...hheeehhee... What to do- married late... in fact a lot of my frens are not in a hurry to marry leh... all hv bfs, but no hurry .. I am 1 of the 1st few to get married and get preggy

Kite - I bot Jin Si Yan. Abt the 15% discount, u nd to buy 3 bots of Jin Si Yan at Marina Sq.

Hi Poohy and Volf,

Me also deliverying at TMC. Just request for change from 2 bedder to single room. Want hubby to accompany me at nite

That's really food if they conduct lesson on breastfeeding and bathing. I guess that's the only time i will take things seriously haha.. now still very lazy to learn this learn that.

<center>
348827.gif
<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">June 2006 mums-to-be</font></font>
348828.gif

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="aa00aa">Name</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Gender</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dor</TD><TD>01/06/06</TD><TD>Henry Cheng</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mattew Lee's wife</TD><TD>01/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ryue</TD><TD>03/06/06</TD><TD>LC Foong</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>FongYang</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookiemz</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celeste</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>Gordon Lim</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>MotherOfAPrincess</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>muffinmocha</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yve</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffybuff</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>KL Yam</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>miz_hopeful</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohy</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>CT Yeong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohmum</TD><TD>11/06/06</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>K Ong</TD><TD>11/06/06</TD><TD>Dr Lim</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>EVAMTB</TD><TD>13/06/06</TD><TD>KH Chan</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peng</TD><TD>14/06/06</TD><TD>Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline Goh</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tinklebell</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emily</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>luvflower</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>FongYang</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>happysunflower</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>Peter Chew</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>spicegal</TD><TD>19/06/06</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>celesteBlur</TD><TD>20/06/06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC/MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chantelle Tay</TD><TD>24/06/06</TD><TD>KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Teo</TD><TD>24/06/06</TD><TD>SM Chua</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>hidora</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Volf20</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>Suresh Nair</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilfeets</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>Fong Yang</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>rms</TD><TD>26/06/06</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>kite</TD><TD>01/07/06</TD><TD>Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>medusa</TD><TD>14/06/06</TD><TD>Dr Yang</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milim</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>snoep</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>okasan2b</TD><TD>17/06/06</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fondue</TD><TD>23/06/06</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Arieslim</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></center>

Poohy - In that case, shd we wait till we deliver than buy the breastpump? Heard some gals cant bf ... and that the lactation ladies at TMC will teach you how &amp; what models to buy? Shd we wait then? Cos if buy the Medela PIS, it's not cheap...

volf,

hmmm ya some people din manage to bf long enough... and indeed PIS is not cheap at all... maybe u can start with manual pump ... cos at least if engorged or bb dun wanna latch still can try pumping mah...

for me, i bought the medela dual pump electric... that one cheaper than PIS ... i think in TMC, if u buy the PIS from them hor... they will help u secure a fixed resale value leh..

Hi Good Morning ladies!

It's been some time since i chat here... been on leave for the past few days and wasnt feeling v well. Had been coughing non stop and having a terrible headache on the front. Could be sinus infection. Busy today lah... think i'll see doc for med tomorrow.

Despite that, i managed to spend some time shopping for christmas stuff for our christmas gathering at our home. my son has been feeling v excited too. cant wait for weekend to come

Hi Tinklebell,

Do take care and rest well, so u have more energy for the christmas celebrations

U having any gathering at home? For me and hubby, although we did not do up our place for christmas, we are looking forward to it as there will be family and also, friends gatherings
I get a chance to meet up with my group of uni friends, whom i have not met for quite some time already.

Hi Volf,

Me very confused over the different breast pumps too. Will delay buying until the very last minute. I heard we dun need it until we have given birth. Moreover, they come with warranty, so not wise to buy early lor. Same goes to sterliser, if u intend to get one.

hello morn ladies ... am feeling rather fresh this morn cos I konked out at 830pm last nite...hahhah..

Welcome back Tinklebell.. do rest well... the flu bug is ard esp during this festive period.

Will be out for dinners with frens starting this Fri.. and then family xmas dinners with my side &amp; hubby's side....
and of course midnight mass.

KK - Same here. Think we wait till later then buy the pumps cos they aint cheap. In any case, if you nd it urgently when at TMC, can rent for a while, and then send hubby to go buy... For steriliser, am quite set on getting the Nukk brand. My sis has kindly agreed to sponsor that for me - abt $90 I think.. she will buy later during the GSS... for me, I can wait for the GSS cos delivery only end Jun lah. Thanks Poohy for your advice.

volf,kk,

ya lor try to buy after bb born... or during the GSS or the taka baby fair next year. For me, I had wanted to express milk right from the start, that's why i bought my electric one earlier during a sale
I feel that if i latch bb on, there will be problem of nipple confusion and weaning to bottle feeding ... that's why i had opted to expressed bm right from the start. This way, bb can have the goodness of bm, hb and other family members can also have a chance to bond with bb...

tinklebell,

do rest well and take care!

Hi Poohy,

And, i also heard that nipples can become very painful and bruised if bb sucks hard on them. Is that true?

Hmmm, ur idea sounds like a good one. U mean, u pump out the milk, then place into milk bottles and then feed the bb with the bottles?

In this case, how many times did u do pumping a day? After pumping, how did u store the milk? Heeeee... sorry, i am really very ignorant in this aspect. Like to get some really real advice from mummies.

Hi Volf,

My christmas will be busy too! This Thursday is Dong Zhi, so first round of steamboat at my in laws place. Followed by friday get-together dinner as my hubby's grandparents coming from malaysia. i will be ordering a log cake for another in law gathering on saturday evening. Not forgetting friends' gathering in the afternoon too. Sunday will be having dim sum lunch with hubby's grandparents and cousins, followed by christmas gathering with hubby's friends

For steriliser, so far i haven't seen the NUK brand. I have only seen pigeon and avent. I heard pigeon is compatible with other brands, even NUK. It was on offer at OG 2 weeks ago but i didn't buy cos i thought i wouldn't need it. My mum and in law has been saying to use traditional method of boiling. But that to me, will really waste a lot of time. What is ur opinion on this?

Where to look for the NUK steriliser?

By the way poohy, should i really get the steriliser? I dun wanna it to end up as a white elephant in the house heeeee... after having spent so much on it.

Hmmm, and if i use poohy's method of feeding, i can't wait till GSS to get the pump liao.

kk - pumping out the milk is a way but latching on the baby directly is susposed to be more effective in stimulating and increasing milk production. No machne can duplicate the exact suckling of babies. that's why a good pump is necessary.

You don't have to buy a brand new PIS Advance medela pump. You can try the sale thread to see if anyone is selling their PIS. Most go for about half the price than buyig a new one. I have decided to buy my own PIS even though I an unsure if I can breastfeed successfully. My fren said in the past, there's no such thing as powder milk etc and women managed tobreastfeed so we really have no excuse that we can't. I think it's because we have more options these days and don't want the hassle and pain of breastfeeding. it's not easy though, she said but must be determined lor. She said that it's tough in the first 2 months or so and very painful but once things gets established, our breat will get used to being suckled, they will "toughen" up and it'll be easier. My cousinin-law fully breastfed her two babies and the first one for a full 13 months. Hope that encourages you.

kk,

ya if bb suck hard etc, at first your nipple maybe not used to it ... will be bruised etc. Can apply those nipple cream which will definitely help. But even if u use a electric pump, if the suction too strong, also will have this problem... so far I heard that the Ameda Lacactline pump and medela PIS are quite gentle in this aspect. But even with the medela dual electric, there are 3 settings which u can set the suction power according to your needs.

oh ya, I expressed the milk out, pour into a bottle. Each time you expressed, the milk will be stored separately into a separate bottle... cant mix cos u need to date the bottle. You shd be able to store the milk in the fridge if not immediately consumed by bb for 12 hours (i cant remember exact) and after that if still not consumed, will have to be frozen.

In the first 1 month, I pump every 2 hourly. I pump abt 30 min on each breast each time i pump. The trick is to follow the bb's feeding schedule... maybe each time after bb finished drinking milk, u pump... so that you can simulate bb's demand mah. In the first few days, the milk not in yet... so its the colustrum. Those are thick sticky liquid... so what i do is i pump and use a spoon to feed to bb... (not alot.. so no need to use bottle feeding...). I also supplement with FM. My bb started with bottle feeding right from the start. So i never had problem of nipple confusion, trying to wean him to drinking from bottle when i have to go back to work. In terms of closeness and bonding, he still bonded v well with us.

For sterilizer, I din get any. The sterilizer is indeed important becos in the first 1-2 months, bb feeds 2 hourly... after each feed, u gotta sterilise the bottle... so u are constantly sterilizing bottles depending on the number of bottles u buy. I din get a sterilizer becos i got a philips food steamer at home... so all along i used that to sterilise. Works v well for us and no need to waste money to buy an extra gadget which also do the same thing.

oh if u cant wait till OSS, then u can wait till taka baby fair in feb/march i think... and on and off, there will be sale .. so can look out

lilfeets,

actually i dun understand why people said u cant simulate the milk flow as well with pump... mine was real good leh! In fact hor... by using the pump diligently, I was able to stimulate more than enough milk for my bb right from the start
But that's my own experience lah. The key is, the frequency of pumping.... it works the same... i am very diligent in sticking to pumping 2 hourly and at first i even pump 30-45 min per breast each session. U cant pump straight 30 min at first on each breast... it must be incremental (u will find instruction when u get the pump)... maybe 5 min on Left breast, switch to right breast 5 min, then 10 min on left breast, switch to right etc

In any case, I agreed, we will definitely have enough milk flow... it really depends on how diligent u r in pumping regularly and of course must clear any engorgement and blocked ducts which will be common at first... gotta endure some pain lor.

I supplement with FM cos I know I wont bf for long... so i dun want my bb to have problem switching and giving my mum (his caregiver when i return to work) a hard time. That;s why .. in the first month hor... I give him 1 feed of FM a day ... just to let him know its taste

In any case, though a lot of articles and research are saying that breastmilk is the best etc giving the bb antibodies etc.. but my family not v pro bfg leh. hehee.. my mum never bfg us at all. The thing is, me and brother and all my cousins (never bfg before) are v healthy and seldom sick. We also do not have any particular allergy etc. My boy is also v healthy all these 9 months leh... he seldom fall sick even though i bfg him for 1mth plus only
Its not the pain of the bfg that deter some people like me, its the feeling that if i have to spend time pumping when i need to go back to work, i will have even lesser time to spend with my son... this is the main reason that helps me decide to shorten my bfg career hehee
I think my wholehearted attention is more important to him than breastmilk. It makes me a happier mummy and in turn, have a happier bb.

If not sure abt whether will pump for long... can really rent the ameda lacactline pump .... I really heard great reviews from mummies on this pump... its as gentle and quiet/efficient as the PIS with a lower price tag.