(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi Ladies, thanks for your concern
... hopefully the cough will subside by christmas... been coughing for 3 mths on and off already.

Hi kk,

Yes, we having a gathering at home for my hubby's family on christmas day. i ordered roast beef, turkey breast and will be cooking shepherd's pie and making almond jelly... my sils are bringing spaghetti and some other stuff... not that many of us, it's just a small family gathering.

poohy, my girl fren told me that latching will enable the body to produce more milk... if u get an electric pump, i suggest get a good one if not milk supply will disappear v fast.

re : sterilizers
I find them quite useful. we have an old one, Pigeon brand at home... i used that to sterilizer my son's bottle for 2 years continuously. so far still working well. I have another portable one for 2 bottles. that one is easy to bring around.

Poohy,

So if store the milk in the fridge, got to take out to warm it up rite? Heeee... i think i am asking more and more stupid questions. Hope u dun mind!

FM = Formula Milk? Which brand did u get that time? Any recommendation?

Yah, there are many real life cases i heard before. If bb latch on for too long, they become over dependent on us and it is really not easy to get them to switch to bottle feeding. It is good to give them BM as well as FM at the same time, or shouldn't have a time gap between these two for too long, else the bb will love BM too much to give it up for FM.

So how many bottles are really necessary in the beginning stage?

Tinklebell,

Can we take almond jelly??

I love to make too! But then think we cannot eat leh
SOB!!

Me thinking of pigeon brand too cos i heard avent brand is more for avent bottles?? Also looking for other alternatives, like NUK steriliser as what volf has recommended.

kk- I think it will waste a lot of time boiling leh. Bb will be feeding every 2 hrs or so... whr got time & energy to keep boiling? And you hv to buy stuf that dun melt. Also nd to get sterilising tablets to throw in boiling pot. Dunno - I tink steriliser is damn import leh.

Saw the Nuk steriliser at Robinsons and ISetan Scotts before..also at Tangs.

KK - you also hv to decide if you wanna pump stright into the bots or into the disposable bags. For me, I am planning to pump into disposable sealable bags that can be labelled. That way, can store in freezer, and hubby and in laws can just take it out and warm it up for bb when I am resting. But maybe initially, depending on whether I hv gd milk flow, will bf bb direct.

Heard the Nuk teats are v gd cos they are similar to our nipples... many hv tried and the bbs do not get nipple confusion.

poohy,

how long did u bf your son? i was really very sad bec my milk supply stopped after 2 mths
so this time round, i am determined either to invest in a very good pump or let bb latch directly.

in the hospital i used to deliver in, they are not really pro-breastfeeding. the nurses didnt even ask me if i want to bf. luckily i have a confinement nanny to teach me how to bf. i hope TMC is pro-breastfeeding.

kk,

the hospital will give u glass bottles when u discharged.. so can use those to store breastmilk. I bought the avent bottles to store it too... the number of bottles depends on the number of time u pump cos remember, milk collected from each pump must be stored separately. I dun give my bb frozen milk... So all the milk will be consumed within the day so I dun have to freeze any. Ya need to warm the milk that u put in the fridge with a warmer. I used the avent warmer

My gynae, PD and family doc all recommended enfalac A+ .... so my bb was supplemented with enfalac A+ all the while. It is iron fortified... so may cause constipation in some bb... that's why some parents switch to similac... but my bb can take this milk powder v well and never had constipation a single time. The longest interval between his poo right till now is 1 day. He got efficient digestive system like his dad
My boy is still on enfalac A+ now... I will only switch to follow on milk at 1 year old.

tinklebell,

milk supply will disappear once your frequency of latching on OR pumping reduce... as u reduce, your breast suffered engorgement.. and as u endure the engorgement, your body senses the decrease in demand and milk supply will reduce in accordance to the demand signal u give to your body. Demand and supply signal are the key to stimulating and stopping milk flow.... that signal can come from bb's direct latching or your pumping lor

kk - some ladies supplement with FM as with Poohy cos they may not intend to bf for long. For me, I want to bf my bb as long as I can even after I start work... Maybe for the 1st yr. So wouldnt supplement with FM. I am a v v strong believer of bf-ing... and also believe bf-ing will tie the bond btw me & bb
And bf-ing is free! You dun hv to spend $$ on FM .. just inconvenient for mummy to keep pumping lor. But as Poohy said, mus be regular in the pumping and bf-ing to stimulate the flow...

Dual pump means pump both breasts at 1 time. More efficient

kk- for warming of bm, you can either (1submerge bot of bm in hot water in a mug, or (2) bot / food warmer for bb ... some brands in the mkt include Philips, or Avent. DON't ever warm milk in microwave hor cos I read the milk will be warmed unevenly and can scald bb!!

kk,

ya ya the dual pump can pump both sides at the same time
I will sit in front of the PC surf the web while i pump haha.. cos it can be so boring u know.. imagine every 2 hour u pump for 30-45min... then soon pump again
But that's at first lah... slowly u can train your body to pump more at each session once milk flow is more established and then u can reduce the frequency... demand and supply theory lah

volf,

hehee... when u use the disposable bag hor... the problem is, at first your supply each pumping session not a lot... can u imagine pumping 10-30ml each time and put into 1 bag!
Wasted .. cos once u put milk inside the bag, u gotta seal it. And when u open it for consumption, u gotta finish it within the day. U prob still need some bottles for storage. Disposable bag is actually more for storing for more than 24 hours. And those disposable bags are not cheap... imagine cant reuse... added cost
bottle also quite easy, just take out, pour the amt u need into the feeding bottle, put the feeding bottle into warmer... anyone can do that... my hb damn good at it and he helped me with all the labelling etc

tinklebell,

rest assured, TMC is VERY pro bfg. they will keep asking u why if u dun wanna latch bb on wan hehehee
My milk flow was great and even after feeding bb i can still accumulate extra 1 month supply within 2 weeks at that time... gotta freeze those... but i decided to stop abt 2 months of bfg... i feel it took a lot of time and i wanna spend those time with my son instead... really makes a difference... so instead of spending all my time pumping like a cow, i spend my time with my son, stimulating his brain, singing to him etc
It makes me happier cos i dun feel so helpless ... cos at first... when he cried while i am pumping and hb not free (toilet etc), i will feel so down and helpless...

Hi Poohy and Volf,

Thanks for all the info!!

Due to my work nature, i dun think i can breastfeed for long. I believe u all do have regular breaktimes and also can do pumping at OTOT. But for me, my school timetable varies everyday and workload is different everyday too. So it will be highly disruptive for my work.

Most likely will practise poohy's way of introducing FM to nb bb together with bf for the first 3 mths at least. But all depends on my milk supply haha...

Hi Poohy and Volf,

Thanks for all the info!!

Due to my work nature, i dun think i can breastfeed for long. I believe u all do have regular breaktimes and also can do pumping at OTOT. But for me, my school timetable varies everyday and workload is different everyday too. So it will be highly disruptive for my work.

Most likely will practise poohy's way of introducing FM to nb bb together with bf for the first 3 mths at least. But all depends on my milk supply haha...

kk, har? cannot take almond jelly meh? havent heard that cannot take ... just had almond jelly with longans few days ago. *oops*

volf20, that's at least a consolation to hear that they are pro-bf'g. i also hope to bf as long as i can. but i cant seem to find any appropriate place in the office which i can use. only place where i can hide is in the toilet

Volf,

Not to worry.. i dun have any microwave at home and i am not pro-microwave. I have never used the microwave before too hahahaa...

Tinklebell,

U make almond jelly with agar agar strips rite? I dunno leh, my mil dun eat that because she always complain agar agar very liang.

I do make almond jelly last time and my hubby enjoy eating too

I have been avoiding almond jelly until now leh!

Yah, that time i saw my female colleague just finish expressing her milk in the ladies. She locked the door and since the door was locked, i didn't expect anybody inside. So shocked to see her there with milk bottles hahaa...

tinklebell,

ya lor.. over my office also... got toilet only and not hygenic at all! i cant imagine pumping in there.. .and dunno store my ebm where also.. i feel a bit paiseh to use the common fridge in the pantry... :p The thing is in order to total bfg, pumping once in the morning, once in the nite and then once in the office like not v enough leh... even if u wake up in the middle of the nite to pump ( like I did)... also may not suffice cos bb's demand for milk increases as he grow. And I did not introduce semi solid like rice cereal till he is 6-7mths old. Before that he survive purely on milk...

kk, i am quite a hopeless cook. i only know how to make almond jelly from those powder...errr ..just add water the stir. **pai seh**

poohy, my office pantry doesnt even have a fridge!!! i am thinking of getting those mini ones and put them under my desk. Good thing it's 3 mths maternity leave now!!! yeh! so it means 1 more mth to total BF

hey Poohy - tks for the tip on disposable bags. Will use bots then .. until milk supply becomes too much..hahha.. am imagining myself to be a cow

Guess am lucky. Office is very pro-family cos Govt mah... can use mtg rms to pump out. Colleagues used to freqly pump out. Then they put their milk in the freeze bags (whatever you call it), and store in common fridge lor. Will prob do that. Offc also encourage you to take extended mat. leave...(no pay lor). KK - you can consider that too since u are a teacher .. tat is if you wanna stay home at least 1 more mth at home with bb. Heard our bbs can start turning etc from 4 mths etc... Poohy your advice? Am planning to stay home for an extra mth at least ie. 4 mths and return to work (earliest in Nov)...

Poohy,

Haha, when i brought my students to the chalet late last month, anything to do with microwave i will get one of the boys to operate. Then i was so paranoid, kept asking him whether he sure the crockery he used can be placed inside microwave or not :p i told him i so scared it explode and i never use before so not sure :p

Oh, can we introduce semi sold food to bb early? Heeee...

yah lor, me also feel pai seh if put milk in the pantry fridge because colleagues use that to store their food. I am worried some of them will mind. We never know how pple will react to such things. Somemore got male teachers around!!! OH NO!!

Tinklebell,

If u want, i can share one recipe with u, using agar strips
Using powder the almond jelly turns out to be very hard leh, dun u think so? Use agar strips, the jelly turns out to be just right and also can eat with longans in a bowl. Yummy!

Volf,

I feel really sad sometimes lah because although i am civil servant, my work environment is not pro-family at all! By being on 3 mth maternity, i am already marked down in my work performance next year, no matter how hard i work next year. So i am already mentally prepared for that. The bonus, etc will be affected. By taking 1 more mth, i dunno how the management will react. Skully they further mark me down somemore.

volf,

i wish i can take 6 months leave if i can but... being in commerical world.. and IT line.... its not that feasible. There will be manpower issues and make us lose touch with our technology progress. The 3 months ML i took for my son this year was the longest break i ever took since i grad from nus. I always start work straight when i change job... The thing is.. in the first 1-3 months our bb are mainly sleeping ... and not as responsive... when they reached 3rd to 4th mth... they become much much more responsive and can start smiling and laughing spontaneously... u can imagine the heartbreak when we had to go to work at that precise time just when they become so fun to be with. But as working mummies.. we had v little choice. I even took a professional certification exam during my ML. It is not possible for me to take extended leave... i wont dare ... and besides my 2 babies are so close in age gap... imagine how my colleagues will feel covering me if i disappear for so long again... They din voice any unhappiness and my boss is very supportive but i feel i gotta also do my part in return for them..
Anyway i compensate it for the first few months at work by, writing my bb's blog so that he know how i feel when he is older to read it... that my thoughts are all with him... and i wake up v early like 5-6 am to play with my bb and play some stimulation songs or flashcards to him...
In the evening, I drop most housework and spend all my time with him too... we only do things after he sleep.

KK - They sure mark you down one. But there's a policy that they cant put u in the lowest evaluation grade. SO avg grade lor. For me, my bb abd family is most import... so I dun really care if am rated avg. Group bonus will be std lah. It's just the variable - they will give us avg lor...
Take heart.

Poohy - understand perfectly. Poor you. Ya, as you say, the bb get more responsive after 3-4 mth... and I want to be the 1st to witness my bb turn, point etc... am rather 'selfish' or possessive of my kid, and want to be the 1 closest to him. Can't understand how my SIL cld leave all these to MIL for her 1st child.. MIL had to report to her when the bb turned etc. Think that is totally unacceptable to me. So uninvolved. But then again - she is is simple bo-chap mom. As a result, the kid is totally not close to her. For you, rather difficult to take off cos yr bb so close in age
I admire mums who make an extra effort for bb in playing, food etc.... cos that's what matters!

if i have a choice, i wanna be a SAHM haha... but too bad, for current situation best to have dual income.

Me and my hubby now always dreaming we strike toto and sole winner for group 1. I tell my hubby if that happen, i will immediately tender resignation tomorrow and then stay at home shake legs heee... *dreaming*

These few days really fun.. lots of bb movements
When i hungry, she also moves. When i eat full, she also moves. And she always moves when i sit on the sofa watching tv. Very fun

Volf,

I guess i will also be those kind of kiasu mums hahaha... i already feel so happy with my bb movements now.. imagine seeing her turn and then slowly learn to talk and walk in later part of growing stage. How exciting!

oei - if I hv a choice, I wanna be a tai tai.. not a SAHM. More fun right?! Can go shopping, spa, and hv someone help me with bb as I run ard ..hahha. But hubby will want to stay at home too...

KK- when did you 1st feel yr bb movts? How was it... am looking forward to that man...

kk, even when i use power form for almond jelly, it turns out too soft
i followed the instructions but donno what went wrong

i hope the shepherd's pie that i'll be cooking on sunday will turn out fine. i tried that last weekend it seemed ok but i tend to have butter fingers... just hope i dont mess things up.

my fren who is also a teacher also complaining abt the appraisal system. worse still, she was on hospitalisation leave. supposed to have 60 days but bec she also gave birth this yr, the hr didnt allow her to claim the hospitalisation leave. in the end, she was only allowed 3 mths max for both and had to go for unpaid leave...sad right? lucky thing for her is that she gave birth in sept so by the time she went back in late oct, it was time to go on holiday again.

Volf,

i started feeling the movements in my week 19
But then not so intense yet. It was like consecutive 3 times then stop. Then everyday very light movements, not much. Recently over the weekends, everyday continuously and not just 3 times only. Even today, the bb has been moving ever since one hour ago hahahaaha... until now non stop. It is like some thing in ur tummy moving across. Even my hubby can feel them liao

Tinklebell,

Sometimes i hate to follow recipe because they sabo at times! Haha.. and even for the almond jelly recipe, i tried 3-4 times adjusting amount of agar strips myself before it turns out to be right texture. Headache!!

I am now looking at one recipe on pumpkin chicken kuey and thinking of trying. Dunno succeed or not. I once tried this kind of kuey before but it turned out to be all watery, dun even look like kuey to me

Shepherd's pie! My hubby and i will be ordering from prima deli, together with the log cake. The picture in the brochure looks good, hopefully turns out good too!

kk, shepherd's pie is v easy to make... heheh this one i can share the receipe with u.

u marinate the minced beef/chicken (abt 200g for 2 pax) with garlic, salt, pepper and add a bit of parsley.
stir fry the meat with tomato sauce or paste, carrots and onions.
prepare green peas and mix the peas tog with the meat last.
prepare mashed potatoes with added margarine.
put the meat in a baking tray. (ard 18cmx10cm)
bake at ard 200deg for 20 mins.
if u like, u can add cheese at the top.

v yummy

Tinklebell,

Any idea if they measure amount of water in Oz, how much is that converted to ml?? i scared i put too much water, my kuey going to flunk again this thursday

Wow, u make me hungry haha... also a lot of work hor? Still need to mash the potatoes.

Hi! back from lunch... feeling terrible ... the MS thing seems to be back! terrible feeling. Argghhh!

strangely, no one in the office seems to suspect that i am pregnant leh
donno whether to tell them or wait til they ask me.

Tinklebell,

Dun say first.. haha.. let them discover slowly that u are pregnant. It will be very interesting heeeee...

Me taken lunch too. Feel so sleepy *yawn*

so does it mean we shd buy the breast pump b4 birth or after birth?? receive diff ans.. still dun want to do yet.. i am oso keen on medala's dual pump.. but heard $500+.. hope i can tong enough to cover the depreciation cost haha

Hi Peng,

Heee, u ask me i dunno leh.. i also get advice from experienced mummies out there.

Yah, it is not cheap! I also always heard that medela's pump very good. And also ameda...

I was thinking.. since there is rental from TMC first.. maybe i dun buy first lor.. if it really works for me, then i get hubby to buy from outside.

peng, i bought mine before birth... bec after birth, no time to look around. besides, i had a confinement nanny. I pump so that she can bottle feed the baby at night.

poohy - please allow me to clarify my comments. It's written in most books and from alot of people's experience that pumps don't remove as efficent as latching the baby on. I didn't say that pumping don't stimulate milk flow. it's just mentioned in books that baby latching on is easier to stimulate than pumping.

In your case, you may have beenone of the lucky few who have no issue with milk production/flow. In any case, I do agree wiht you that being prodent in expressing or latching is critical as the supply and demand theory goes.

hope this helps.

lilfeets,

i know most articles and books and blah blah said that ... i am just saying from my experience, i dun really understand why is that so... when it all works with the theory of demand and supply... maybe u can read my post again.. i din say u said that pumping dun stimulate milk flow at all

can i join this thread? Me also due in June 06...currently about 14 weeks pregnant.

May i know where do you all go to buy clothes? I am running out of clothes to wear..hehe

Welcome Soh1dful!

I bought my clothes from Kiddy palace, spring maternity, cloud9 and perfect mum

I bet the preggies here will agree with me that spring maternity clothes are very sweet and nice. Do drop by to take a look

There is this kids tropics zone at suntec level 3. On this level, there are a few maternity wear shop such as spring maternity, cloud9, perfect mum, etc.

hi soh1dful, welcome to this thread

hope u enjoy yourself here.
i bought my clothings mainly from Maternity House at Raffles Exchange.... heard that Suntec city has many shops selling maternity wear.. maybe u can try that.

I agree with kk...spring maternity got really nice & sweet clothings...here's the website:
www.springmaternity.com
349250.gif

I am also due in June '06..occassionally will pop in & read the postings..

Hahaa...i spent qutie a lot of $$ on clothings liao

Welcome panda!

Me also spent a lot on clothes. i told my hubby i am going to lock myself at home this week, cannot go out shopping liao. Wait itchy fingers go and buy clothes again.