(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Poohy, sad to say, i have not had a good sleep since boy boy was born. He is always hungry every few hrs and even now, sometimes, he wakes up for his milk feeds! We give him around 8 to 10 oz of milk before he sleeps everynite. sometimes even up to 16oz but he will still be hungry. i try not to give him but that doesnt work bec he wont sleep and keeps making noise in the middle of the nite! his cries are so LOUD that i'm afraid he will wake up all the neighbours!

poohy... nope.. I was shocked. I put on 5 kg in two months!

dor.. perhaps. I started on Iron pills and have not gone in three days.. Thanks for this tip.

Hi Lyn - Thanks for the tip.. Think will go find me a pillow..

Hmm... I did have a slipped disc many years ago. Perhaps need to strengthen my back a bit more since expecting to out on wieght soon. *sigh*

Doc said wirh regards to the placenta level, I can't do anything else but pray. So much of it is out of our hands eh?

Maternity clothes:-

Planning to go to Maternity house to take a look. Heard it's quite affordable.

poohmum

Yeah. I bought those too and can see my nipples from my clothes! I told him husband I found that so obscene! In any case, The centre part is so hgh, my breast hurt. Thelace itches as well. I plan to go back to exchange it for a plain design and see if there are other alternatives.

matched_gal,

oh maybe i shd try your method of massage machine.. hehee... no lah i am not sahm. Me full time working... u do programming ? r u in IT ? I am in IT security..

tinklebell,

your boy is not on solid yet ? Normally when they go on solid, shd be less hungry at nite leh... unless cant really differentiate day from nite. Hmm your boy can drink so much already ... mine still 4oz per feed till now! and then at nite, at most 5-6oz. And he is only on rice cereal 1 time a day... I am trying to introduce more semi solid food to him in the next few months... seems like others in his age group already tried lots of food liao hehee
These days he is v interested in our food... when i eat bread in front of him... his mouth will also be moving ... like as if he is the one eating

lilfeet.. oh ic... do take care.. not easy with the extra weight and bb...

Hi Poohy, my boy is on solid but he has high metabolic rate. He eats a lot but doesnt put on much bec he runs around a lot. Last nite he ate one whole plate of chicken rice for dinner. sometimes, i think he's just like a blot of energy. i'm getting old, cant keep up with his energy level.

tinklebell,

wow your boy can eat so much! my 5 year old cousin can hardly finish a plate of chicken rice
hmm... ur boy really active hor... he is not hyperactive rite ? i got an ex-colleague who told me he is hyperactive... cant sit still wan...

tinklebell, hmmm on whether he is hyperactive, i am not able to answer that qn too. I brought that up to his school teacher they say he is far from it. yesterday, he was playing with a gp of our psychiatrist friends ... they didnt mention that he is. forgot to ask them. We kind of know what are the symptoms and have been observing him since he was little. The signs are quite conflicting. At times, he is v naughty and plays n talks non stop but on the other hand he learns v fast and even able to teach his soft toys A-Z and he is very well behaved in school. hmmm ... i hope one day i can have a clear answer to that.

Hi Lilfeets,
Dun worry too much about the placenta
You are still early in the pregnancy

I had 2 levels of slipped disc and I went through surgery before. At that time, my physiotherapist told me not to sleep on hard or high pillow. Best if no pillow. So I am used to not sleeping on pillow already
. It does helps
The sleeping positions I told you, I learnt from my physiotherapist last time.

Lilfeets
Where is maternity house?

I also started to have back problems yesterday. The are around my little toe nail hurts too. Not sure why? My tail bone are hurts too. maybe I had a fall before.....but that was about 2 years ago.
Quite excited cos can see baby again on wed when I go for my NT scan....

Poohmum

tinklebell,

hmm guess can only hope he grow out of nite waking ... but its quite tiring for u rite ? but at least when bb2 comes, u will still be quite used to nite wakings..
Think maybe my boy preparing me.. hehee in case i get too used to sleeping through the nite again...

Poohy, my fren who just gave birth keeps telling me better enjoy all u want now... rest and sleep as much as possible if u can... she tells me she is soooo tired every nite from bf'g the younger and patting the older one to sleep if he wakes up in the middle of the night. ***Hiaz***

lilfeets,
if u started with lower wt, wt gain will be higher, so dun worry too much, esp since u r carrying twins
my NT scan will be mid-Dec too, dunno why so delayed.

Bras- u ladies can try out Marks & Spencers, they have more unusual sizes (suitable for some of us preggies) than the usual brands, and it's unpadded (yet not so thin to show nipple outline) and unwired for comfort.

tinklebell, poohy,
my #1 girl (13mths) still wakes in the night to feed. Bohbian lor.

hi poohy,

me not in the IT line. I'm doing datamining ;p So lots of programming & portfolio analysis type. Can fall asleep staring at the PC these dayz... ;p

poohmum

heard its at plaza singapura.

Lyn - Thanks for the advise. I only did physio for 3 years and then stopped.

tinklebell - hyperactivity is not a condition on whether a child is so active that he can't sit still. It depends more than just his/her ability to concentrate. Understand that it's some sort of Neural connecton that cause hyperactivity. You will need a qualified doctor, not psychologist to identitfy this. I study psychology and it's not the same. Lots of people use this term "hyperactivity" too loosely. However, Psychitrist are medical doctors so if your friends are those, then you might want to do some test as hyperactivity require medication which may help.

When I was teaching, i did have a hyperactive child. she cannot concentrate for more than 5 mins each time and runs amok and also have difficulty managing her behaviour constantly (i.e. the whole day every day). It was sad cause the school does not have enough referrals and medical expenses can be high for parents who are only managing daily needs.

Your son does not seem to fit the bill. No harm checking though.

No harm just seeing a child doctor , run some test and know. Early intervention, if confirmed, always helps both child and parents.

hey ladies,

I suddenly got craving for sourish drinks /soups(eg lemonade, fruit juices, tomato soup, etc) these dayz. Anyone noe if can drink these type of drinks often?

Hi Matched Gal - Me too! I LOVE anything sour like green apples, sour oranges, lemon juice, lime, lemonade, carrot tomato juice! Dun like the sour prunes suan mei type of stuff tho. Think it's ok to eat / drink in moderation. My MIL noticed and said its ok.

Thanks Lilfeets, though i really dont think my son is hyperactive bec he can still concentrate on his activities, i will check with my phsychiatrist friends. I am not too sure how good they are with child psychiatry bec most of them work in imh.

BTW, u also know of any good drs who specialise in childhood psychology whom u can recommend?

Hi Ladies!

Wow, they say if like sour stuff, u will get a bb boy. If sweet, then bb girl heeeee... i dunno how true it is.

My colleague say her sis is having bb boy. Craving for sour foods to the extent that she sucks lemons! Can u imagine??

Hmm, for me, i prefer sweet-sour. That's why i love sweet sour pork heeee.. too sour i cannot take it. And i dun really have craving for either. Depends on the food itself.

I guess the food u all mentioned should be ok. Me too, dun really like sour prunes. Only taken 1-2 so far. It doesn't help in my MS. Dunno why they say sour prunes can make MS better.

kk,

me din crave for anything when i had my son... this time round also leh.... so anxious to know the gender of my bb hehee.. i hope to have another boy then a gal next time.. but well gal also can... anyway cant choose also hehee

Really?!

I also can suck the super sour orange ..hhaha. My SIL only likes sweet stuff. So - likely we will hv difft gender bb.

Hi Volf,

Eeeeeeeeeeee, i can't do that! HAHA.. i already can imagine how i will react if i suck a super sour orange!

i already cannot take it when my mum offer me green apples!

ur SIL also pregnant??

Hi matched_gal/ volf20/ kk,

Talking abt craving for sweet/ sour stuff, i notice i have craving for sweet stuff. Things i crave for - apple juice, coke (!!), chrysanthemum tea.... i know it's bad to take too much sweet stuff but i cant help thinking about them...(kekeke) Now i restrict my intake to apple juice with no added sugar n preservatives

tinklebell - Psychologist is not the same as Psychiatrist. The former is not a medical doctor and cannot prescribe medicine while the latter is a doctors and can give medication. Please make sure you are asking the correct type of professional cause IMH has both psychatrist and Psychologist.

Why don't you try to see a PD for the first roundof assessment, share your concerns and see if he/she has doubts and can send you a referral. They can be very expensive though. Alternatively, go to KKH. They do specialise in children issues.

medusa - I weigh 60kg before and now 65kg. Don't think I am considered small by singapore standards. =) Already wearing size 12 or large size before preggie so now, I can't imagine! Dr said it's normal to gain about 20kg for entire pregnancy but I am trying to keep to that. Thanks for the consolation though. =)

Hi Tinklebell,

I used to drink apple juice. Then find that no kick (haha..) so i switch to orange juice. Jaffa orange juice is tastier because it is sweet with added sugar. Then i tell my hubby no good. So i switch to sunkist orange juice which i take normally before pregnancy. And aiyoh, so sour.. because no sugar added.

me too i got craving for sour food like green apples, oranges (e more sour e better), strawberry (SG usually very sour one) n i love it. Me too got once i got craving for lime n lemon, even squeeze some lime juice to drink but just a few drops. hehe

kk - ya. My SIL also preggie. EDD in end Apr I think. She only like sweet stuff.

Kite - talking abt strawberries. I also only like the sour ones. Hubby stares at me like am mad when I eat / suck them - esp when damn sour ..hhaha. But whatever sour stuff I take, I try to take as real fruits or fruit base lor... so dun put on weight. Am drinking lime now.

hi volf20,

haha, i now craving for all those u juz mentioned... o no(!)... haha... ;p

As for sucking lemons, guess wat, i'm even worse(!)... I almost always have to have 3 LIMES to go wif my beef noodles. And bcos the beef noodles stall's limes are "self-service", i always take extra... feel very paiseh though... ;ppp

Actually my mother-in-law & mother told me not to eat too much sourish fruits, heard it's "liang", so not too gd... duno if true tho... hmmm, but i got craving now leh... v hard to control ;p

hi kk,

i duno if mine boy or ger.... can't wait to see in two wks' time(!)... that is, if bb wud cooperate wif me...

hey gals

my gynae had advised me not to take too acidic fruits (eg. orange,lime,lemon, strawberry, kiwi) like u gals mentioned abv. but if u gals cant tahan, juz take in moderation hor.

so far i only like fuji apple... for drink, i mainly drink water. sometime i crave for root beer. keke. luckily the root beer is non-caffine type.

Will go ask my gynae later abt the sour stuff when I go for a checkup. Look forward to seeing bb. Hope bb is doing well..

Volf,

My mum say two preggies cannot sit face-to-face with their tummies pointing at each other, else next time the bb grow up fight. hahaa... so make sure u not sitting face to face to ur SIL :p

Matched gal,

i also heard from mum not to take too much sour foods. But sometimes i cannot tahan, so take lor. And some foods only taste good when they are sour. Like mee siam!! So i bet u girls love mee siam too?? Luckily i dun have extreme love for sour foods lah, unlike some of u here haha..

matched gal
keke... he got say but i cant remember. he gave me a list of stuff to avoid so that i wont hv indigestion, bloatness and also wont gain so much wt throughout the preg. He is strict on the weight gain. so i juz followed. so far, i m feelin better.

dor,

share with us the list leh :p

When my colleague was pregnant with her first child, she gained lotsss of weight in her 3rd trimester. She get scolded by her gynae haha...

But then now i envy her... she is as slim as before.

Hi Lilfeets, TQ for your clarification. in that case, my frens are psychiatrists (since they are drs and they specialise in that area). i hope they can give me good and free advice. (**hee**) i wanted to bring him to a PD but dear hubby says he had previously consulted some of his frens and it seems that it is not easy to diagnose a kid so early in life. He prefers keep watch to wait first bec son doesnt show v clear signs of hyperactivity. we have been observing him from the time he was one til now and have put him in various surroundings and asked the pp around him for observation of his behaviour. he seemed ok. just that v often, esp with us, he seems to be full of energy and cannot keep still. with strangers, he is more well behaved.

Hope no2 doesnt give me this fun2 nao3. now i am quite cautious of my intake of food (esp those with preservatives added). Better to take precaution.

U did physchology in Uni? it sounds like an interesting subject. just out of curiousity ..... what a physchologist do in her field of work. counselling?

oh dear, feel quite guilty eating so much sour stuff oreadi, jialat(!) ;p hehe, i guess i've to cut down.

dor, for me it's the opposite, i've not gained any weight
It's kinda worrying cos i duno whether my bb's growing normally a not... I tink maybe sour/acidic stuff tend to cause gastric... so maybe dats y gynae say dun take...

volf, later u going? ask for me okie?

kk, i hvn't eaten meesiam for quite a while... now u remind me... yum yum ;P

Hehehe... I took a little of coke and a whole can of justea last night at my bro's BBQ. During lunch today I took 1/2 can of green tea.

Is that ok?

Poohmum

kk - Ok. Noted. We usually sit next to each other. So I think ok lah.

Dor - Hey Dor, can share the list of things to avoid? My gynae only said no to cheese, milk (for now cos it aggravates ms), raw foods. Am concerned abt weight gain too...

matched gal,

I heard dun eat sour plums too much. Since we girls dun have urge, guess we are safe
Other sour foods in moderation should be fine

Dun worry about not gaining weight. I lost weight before in my 1st trimester. After that i gained weight. Now i have gained 3-4 kg so far in my 4.5 mths. I weigh myself everyday but dun seem to gain weight. Hmmm, then i tell myself might be a good thing.. maybe i am eating in moderation and not overeating and stuffing myself with food hahha... Dun worry, weight gain is not really linked to growth of bb. As long as we eat normal meals and healthily, it is ok

Yes, i love mee siam in my 1st trimester. Now no more heeeeeeee.... i even ate laksa. Now also no urge liao :p

Does any of you get sore gums? Is it normal? I am getting sore gums. Whenever I eat hard things, my gums will hurt. Dunno should I call my gynae or not...

Matched Gal - Ya, Will ask abt the sour stuff later. Update tonite. Dun worry abt the weight gain. Am also the same. No weight gain. Only weight loss 2 kg. The last I saw my bb,doc said doing well and growing normally still leh.. despite sour stuff. Will confirm again later ya?!

kk, u better not drink so much jaffa orange juice lah. sugar v fattening leh! first few weeks i got craving for Fruit Tree carrot juice. drank a lot. v yummy then i read the ingredients closely and realised got added sugar and preservatives. i love sweet juice but am cutting down for health sake lor. must REN3 lah.
Ya. i agree sunkist is v sour.

re dentist
can go dentist for polishing or not? anyone asked ur gynae that yet? got $100 dental benefit to use. expiring in year end

Tinklebell,

Yah lor, that's why i switch to sunkist orange juice liao. Or Florida and other brands, where they say it is natural with no sugar added.

I am concern over sugar intake even before pregnancy. Now i cook my bird nest without adding rock sugar. Dun taste good, but at least healthier without sugar

i also got craving for orange and lime juice, i drank alot of freshly squeezed orange juice in my earlier weeks, usually 3 oranges at one go. my gynae said it's okay to take oranges but not too much coz will grow phlegm (forgot to ask him if he was referring to bb).

later i asked my frens who have a few kids of their own, they told me best to avoid those sourish fruits coz considered liang and bb will tend to have alot of phlegm, they said very heartpain when they have to bring bb to doctor to suck out out the phlegm. after hearing that, i dun dare to eat so much liao.. for bb's sake.

allo gals

the list not w me but think i remember

1) Avoid oily and spicy food
2) Avoid all milk product (fresh milk, powdered milk), cheese, yogurt, milo, soya milk
3) Cut down on carbo food (like bread, rice, noodles)
4) Avoid acidic fruits like oranges, strawberries, kiwi, lemon, limes, even Vit C tablet
5) Avoid red dates, korean ginseng and danguai

Eat lots of vege n fruits. That's all

I think tis list is quite common. SO in the morn, i drink horlicks instead. I think diff gynae had different pt of view. But i find his reasoning well supported.

Dor,

I think i failed the whole list except (4), korean ginseng and danggui. Haha!

Why (2) not allowed? Is it linked to MS? Because those items are all rich in calcium.

I still put red dates when i boil certain soups.

i find horlicks and milo pretty sweet. Unless we dun put sugar or condensed milk. I still prefer milk for breakfast. Oh anyway, anmum-1 milk works very well for me now. So i can take it without feeling nauseous

Hi Dor,
I am also following the types of food to avoid like your gynae has suggested

Last week, I just had a few mouthful of char kuay tiao and I get nauseas for the whole nite after that.
So far I stick to lots of vegetables and fruits
. Usually I take Fuji apple, pears, grapes for the convenience

I also just bought horlick since it doesn't contain cow's milk
Healthier also

hi kk

i m surprise when he said no milk product cos i love eatin toasted cheese.. so yummy rite! He said though calcium can b easily found in milk but meat n vege also hv sufficient calcium too. if not why we hv to take folic acid. Once milk is into our body, it will turn sour which will cause bloatedness etc. 2ndly, if bb does not absorb the cal frm the milk, then they will all turn into fats... keke. So mayb he wants me to control my wt too.

well i also didnt really follow 3). well how not to eat rice, bread or noodles in asian country :p