(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

tinkerbell,
my gynae said shd avoid caffeine leh... does the coke u take have caffeine? Or izit the caffeine-free type?
(personally, i'm quite sensitive to caffeine - from young, learnt to avoid cos can't sleep(!) after even taking only a little)

yah, i osso tink of using up my benefits for dental(!). Tink better to tell the dentist you're pregnant before going for the wash/polish...

volf,
thanks for asking!!

kk,
i hope my wt loss is temporary... actually i'm already nearing my 15wks... yet appetite not too gd. Now worse, got craving for sour stuff & can't take too much ;p Hope bb is growing healthy

lyn,
do u brush ur teeth often? For me, i cut down my brushing since i got MS few wks back. But i bot a bottle of listerine so that can keep my teeth clean
Read in a website that lack of calcium may cause bleeding gums in the later stage too... Maybe can chk wif ur gynae if dis is true...

cookiemz,
yah, heard fr my MIL also that last time when she was preggie wif my husband she kept eating oranges, end up my husband young that time always cough easily & got phlegm. I dun dare eat too many oranges after she told me dat ah... She osso told me not to take cold stuff too often - same consequence...

Dor,

Hahaha... so if sometimes i forget to take my milk, i can forgive myself hahahaa.. because sometimes when i forget to drink my anmum-1, i feel quite guilty of it heeee...

That day a gal mentioned yellow noodles cause jaundice. I seldom take noodles. Only when i am having spaghetti :p i take rice everyday for dinner. Because without rice, will feel empty soon after dinner. last time, bread is a must for me because it is something which won't make me nauseous. But now i can do without it and take others as substitutes.

hi tinklebell - I don't think psychatrist are in a position to make a comment on whether a child is hyperactive or not. In general, they are GP with specialisation in the mind. Think you should consult a proper PD or child specialist. maybe just call up KKH to see who are the correct person to speak with. Just my humble opinion cause the specilisation is different. also, hyperactivity can be determine since our boy is already one. then again, depends on how sever or mild he may be. MRI may be a more accurate answer than observation.

Psychologist don't do counselling. If you want that, you can do a psy degree but need master in counselling. Psy basically studies behaviour and cognitive/social reasons on why people behave/think in a certain manner based on different schools of thought. This can range from industrial, applied psy, child, educational psy, social psy etc.. the range is wide.

Dor - hmm.. i usually crave for tum yum soup . nice sour and spicy! hehehe..... yeah, whymilk not allowed. In fact, books recommend yogurt etc.. i know certain soft cheese should be avoided due to bateria and allbut all cheese??? the vit C bit i've read before but can't remember why...

match gal,

I felt nauseous and having MS right till week 15 or so. i am only perfectly (although not too perfect sometimes) ok when i go into week 16. i am into week 18 tomorrow. These two weeks are considered the most pleasant for me as i dun have MS, even on weekends. Normally i feel really sick on sundays. Wonder why.

Brushing still ok for me. But mouthrinse really makes me puke. Even now hahaa... but sometimes i still go ahead because it keeps gums healthy.

I will always remember not to let my child take too much watermelons. My mil has been feeding my hubby with watermelons when he was a child and now he is prone to coughs.

Tinklebell,

i still use red dates for my soups

o no(!) i juz had yellow noodles for lunch
But ate half, bot no appetite liaoz... hope no jaundice...

oh yah, Dor, y red dates cannot? My MIL juz cooked red date soup for me last wk leh, she says supposed to b gd for me... hmmm...

kk

Dun noe why i hate to eat rice, esp at nite. I will ask my mom to cook mee suan or noodles. sometime i buy cold soba to eat. i love that manz... anyway, if u wan to eat anything, mayb shall write a list to ask gynae whether can eat not. if keep listenin to pple, i think we will hv nothin much to eat liao. i already find it miserable that we hv so many food to avoid liao.. wahahaha

hey lyn
i love horlick now. keke.

matched gal,

Haha, dun worry lah.. actually that's the first time i heard of yellow noodles cause jaundice. Dunno true or not. But i still take if i am taking food like mee rebus. Yummy!

i think all chinese herbs are to take in moderation. So it is not surprising if red dates cannot be consumed.

I heard all stories about dang gui. But my mum just brewed tonic using dang gui for me last weekend :p And i just drink.

dor,

probably u find it too filling already, that's why u dun like rice. There was once i hated rice too. Can't eat anything classified under chinese food. I take junk food basically.

cold soba! yummy!!!! But can we take it? Me and hubby went to sushi shop but i dun dare to order that although it has been my love.

i also heard that this is the best time to eat. When it comes to confinement, it is much worse than this!! SIGH!

matchgal, ya lor, i know must avoid coke and caffaine so have been diligently trying not to drink that. but sometimes the craving overrules **hiaz** i prefer to stick to apple juice where possible.. not too sweet and not too acidic. also tried cranberry but not so nice.

wow so many things cannot take .... hmmmm .... aiyo....

anotherthing ... my hair is in a big mess... looks like a big heavy mop bec i have natural curls. wanted to do rebonding but was too late. i suspected i was pregnant so didnt go for it and true enuf, was preg.... ***HIAZ*** i cant cut it v short bec it curls more. not nice when i tie my hair. In short, looks like a messy mop. anyone with tips to keep hair nicely in place? or can rebond in later trimester or not?

tinklebell,

My hair was in a mess that time because they have more or less straightened. So i go and perm my hair and i dunno whether can or not hahaa.. i only heard cannot dye or rebond. Now it looks neater with the curls.

And then funny thing is.. my hair took a very long time to curl. My mum's friend who permed my hair say preggies took a longer time for hair to curl.

kk, we already cant eat sashimi lei. i always eat chawamushi, the fried toufu and the cold noodle. then full liao.

well dun ask me why cant eat red dates. that day MIL boil black chk soup. got red dates inside. i also drink liao.. keke

kk, can perm hair meh? did u do the ceremic curls? i cant take the normal perm cos it's gonno become THICKER MOP! was straighter before i preg ... now seems more curly and thicker!

yikes, my hair oreadi hv natural curls coming out, cos i no time to blow-dry every morning... hair luks in a mess too (same as u, tinkerbell
But bo pian, dun tink i'll rebond/dye... gonna luk terrible, but i heard the chemicals (eg ammonia) no gd for bb... s'more hv to leave the chemicals on for one day if really dye/rebond...

dor,

Me also ate chawamushi, fried toufu. Not forgetting potato croquette, fried kakiage etc. Yummy!! I never feel full at sushi shop leh hahahha... the only first time i ate alot on my 1st trimester was the dinner at sushi shop. other than that, all dinners end up no appetite, or sometimes merlion act :p

tinklebell,

huh... perm still got name ah? hahahha.. i dunno what is ceremic curls. U know those aunties who perm their hair at home? Yah lah.. i am one of those aunties hahahahaa... i dun go to salons, always cut and perm hair at my mum's place :p

i was borned with natural curl hair too. When my hair gets long, curl less. When hair is short, the curl is neater. Since i want to have a change, i start to perm my hair around a year back.

matchedgal, i use the vidal sasoon straighter to straighten and it takes me at least 30 mins! then within another 2 hrs, it starts to curl again!!! too tedious and i am giving that up.

someone told me to use conditioner wash like the way u use shampoo.. i tried using Dove but still the hair is quite ugly.

true, they use chemicals in the rebonding cream and since i am not sure what they are, i dont think i will risk doing that.

Matchedgal, ...i heard one kind of hair dye called Henna or something like that. can be used during pregnancy bec it doesnt contain chemical. only thing is that it doesnt last long. u know where to get that? i really want to do something to this BIG UGLY MOP of mine. moreover, Christmas and CNY coming.... hope to look a bit more presentable when i meet those relatives n frens whom i have not met for long.

tinklebell,

Now i know why some preggies really look pathetic during pregnancy hahaha.. i think i once vowed that i will never look like one of them. That's why i am determined to buy nice maternity clothes :p

kk, ya lor...u know when i was preg with no 1, i looked like a fat aunty though was only 27 then. when i go to the market, the aunties call me aunty. was v sad and started to avoid frens whom i have not met for long time. i refused even to take photos cos was simply too ugly. HAHA.
Now, same as u, i am determined to look nice in my second preg.

tinkerbell,
try dove conditioner (after shampoo & rinse). leave conditioner in hair for 2-3mins then rinse. Then blow-dry. It worked for me, but takes a long time, and nowadays so tired, end up no time liaoz, so look like a siao-charbo in the ofc everyday, hehehe ;p

tinkerbell,
henna can get in bodyshop
But seems like got few shades oni, so not sure which is nice. I hvn't used b4, btw, but my colleague use and say need alot of packets to get effect, esp if ur hair long...

matchgal, ok will try that diligently. i have bought one set of dove shampoo and conditioner (the blue one) ... tell myself every alternate days to wash and condition but sometimes i feel like i live in the army barracks... with so many things to do, i then to chop chop finish it asap.

Seems like dove is not bad.

Ask u all something.. do preggies suffer from hair drop? My hair seem to drop more before i go perm my hair. And it was then that i changed my shampoo. So i dunno is it due to shampoo or due to pregnancy. i am also thinking of switching to dove.

kk, which shampoo do u use? Actually me osso drop a lot of hair ever since my 10th/11th week, but when I asked my gynae, she said normally about 3 months hair cycle, not to worry. She said some people who dun drop hair during preg will drop during/after confinement. She also said i was too anxious, so end up *stress* => drop hair, hahaha ;p

tinkerbell, nowadays cos of hair drop, i alternate days wash & condition hair... also hv to chop chop in the mornings... very tired & can't get up on time ah...

matched gal,

Any shampoo doesn't help my dry hair. i am using silkpro, and before that have used ginvera and also organics too. I have changed and changed, until i dunno what else to use :p

Hmm, my hairdrop has improved liao, after i permed my hair last weekend. Dunno why also hahaha... maybe more curly, resist gravity hahaha...

HMMM... i dont have hair loss but my hair seemed thicker! But for my first preg, during the 4-5th mth after delivery, my hair dropped like nobody's business!

kk,
wah, u tried so many brands(!)
Hehehe, i used to use organics & pantene, but ever since switched to Dove (conditioner esp good), i've stuck wif it... Different people have different hair needs, i guess... ;)

kk, same as matchgal, i also have stuck with Dove. in those days when i am more diligent to do shampooing with conditioning and blowing, i do notice that the hair is not so stray. but just shampooing alone with Dove doesnt seem to work.

tinkerbell,
thicker hair, better, rite?
One of my galfrens, her hair thinned after giving birth. Actually wun b too surprised if mine did. Cos my hair not the thick type
Xian...

Dor / Kk
Same here ... i cannot take chinese food. hate rice . Hate my maid's chinese food cooking. But love to eat mee goreng (Indomi packet), love pasta, anything western....

Why ah? Some of my frens say my baby ah moh pai.

Poohmum

Poohmum,

Indomi goreng is nice?? I have seen it on promotion lately in ntuc, but haven't bought yet. Dunno nice or not :p

ya ya, everything western is nice, except chinese food :p Luckily now ok liao, everything can take without puking.

No lah, not ah moh pai lah. Some of us tend to eat more junk food in 1st trimester because those food more flavoured, so more appetizing.

matchedgal, thin hair pp always envy thick hair pp and vice versa.. STRANGE. i always thought my hair was too thick. Sometimes look like LION KING! and too difficult to maintain esp if u got natural curls like me!

Poohmum, i same as u! hate to eat rice! i can only manage to eat one-quarter bowl of rice. i also love western... esp fries (kekeke) unhealthy lah but it's a craving lor.

haha, mine duno angmo-pai or tenglang-pai. I like rice & fries (but not together of course
My likes so far have been a "mixture" of western & chinese. My in-laws said probably cos my husband's grandma comes from China dat's y the diet muz hv rice. I remember in my first trimester, almost everyday can't go wifout rice(!). Now not much appetite except for sour stuff liaoz... appetite/craving change oreadi... hehe

hey me too, nowadays i got craving for french fries leh. hubby always buy for me when i got no appetite. hehe thot i m e oni person craving for fries.

tinklebell,

hahaha, my classmate used to call my lion king when we were in uni. My hair was kept longer than before and without perming and dry nature somemore, the hair looks like broom hahahaha...

Kite,

I have craving for fries for longggg longggg time liao kekekekeke... but now managed to cut down already :p

nope. I have cravings for Burger King's bacon double burger, fish burger from Mcdonalds and fries.

Some day, can't think of what to eat so eat whatever hubby buys so i don't have to choose. Some days don't feel like eating. Very extreme isn't it?

It's interesting cause I don't eat beef and now suddenly, I can manage beef. weird.....

kk, lilfeets,
that day also, i got craving for KFC chicken so went to eat. Cos everyday eat rice also sianz. I think the new KFC fish burger looks nice n fresh from e TV, hvnt try yet.

now i craving for pastamania leh, i love e creamy chicken pasta. not sure can eat anot.

kk

I have such thick hair, only evita peroni hair clips can manage to hold my hair without breaking at the metal joints! I can perfectly understand what it means to be called "lion king". Can't rebond hair now so will have to manage that as well.

I noticed that my hair is oilier than before. it used to be dry but not so bad now. I guess body is changing.

Do you ladies find your memory getting weaker? I seem to forget simple things these day though I am not that advance into the pregnancy yet. Heard it gets worse after birthing. is that true?

Kite,

The new mac burger is nice leh! I love the burger bread itself
maybe the sesame seeds on it taste extremely great

i think most preggies have craving for fast food. My colleague also had love for KFC.

The cream in the chicken pasta might contain cheese?

Lilfeets,

Ooo, my memory sure fails me hahaha.. one moment my hubby say something, next moment i forgot. And luckily those are the minor minor things. I can never forget anything related to work. Else my head will roll haha.. and maybe work related issues all come with deadlines, so wouldn't dare to forget :p So keep reminding myself everyday. Those small things, i will tend to forget liao :p

Recently there is a news report that say mummies after birth become smarter. So i tell my hubby dun bully me when bb is borned.. i will outsmart him hahaha..

hi kk,
really, i hv yet to try the new Teriyaki mac burger, wil go n try.

Eh not sure e cream contain cheese anot, maybe i wil find out from their staff.

ya i also saw e news that mummies bcome smarter after giving birth, i cant wait to be smarter hehe

Kite,

That time i da boleh tahan, i ate down the tartar sauce as well hahahahaa. Anyway they didn't put too much, so i can't be bothered too.

I still take cheese lah, in the form of kraft and chesdale cheese. There was once i have craving for cheese, so i ate those sliced cheese. But this craving is very short, only about 1-2 weeks heeeee.. now my cheese still inside the fridge.

kk,

the teriyaki burger abit salty leh.. talking abt junk food, i'm craving for "Zha Jiang Ji" these days.. especially the one sold at the holland village XO fish head beehoon stall!!! yummm!!

lilfeets,

i also got this problem of oilier scalp after pregnancy.. change so many brands of shampoo also no help, sometimes have to wash 2 times a day
wonder if its hormones or diet..? really wonder how to tahan during confinement when we can't wash our hair?!?!?!

Anyone has any plannings for confinement already? Will you all be doing at ya own home?

hehe, luckily so far I dun hv any cravings for fast food. Actually I realise my appetite is getting smaller.

Is it becos of overweight so we are not allowed to take red dates? Most of the people I know encourage pregnant ladies to drink brew own red dates at home and drink it often. My sis drank that during her pregnancy weeks.

today I also tried the teriyaki chicken from macs. LIked it too...

Today after dinner went to Kiddy palace at Toa Payoh to look for pants.. but sigh~!!!! cannot even fit into their biggest size. I have a major problem. Got very big hipsss and haven't preggie already got tummy.. how ah????? In the end, bought 2 tops....
Think gotta go sew pants.. any recommendation for tailor expert in maternity pants? Or any plus size shops to buy from?

Poohmum

hi poohmum

Are you looking for working pants or jus casual pants? I bought 2 casual n adjustable pants from MAternity shop and they are very roomy for the hips area. Maybe you can try?

kk, u also got nick name called Lion King? Ur uni class mates call u that? Hiaz ...even my own hubby used to call me that!

peebles, poohmum, i also got mine from Maternity shop. The one i got from was from the shops above Raffles Place MRT station.

cookiemz, what is "Zha Jiang Ji", that day i also craving for Holland Village XO Fish Mee Fen.... so went there to finish one BIG BOWL...so satisfying ... i know it is XO but i think if it's cooked, alcohol content should have evaporated lah... anyway, 1 bowl only lah

re: red dates
can drink red dates drink or not? i bought one pack of red dates hoping to make for myself. but now, am not sure if there will be any prob drinking that.

HI Matched Gal - Sorry for late reply. Gynae said sour stuff ok. Just take in moderation.

Wah - u ladies have such gd appetite and cravings! I must be the only one not interested in food.

Saw my gynae last evening. Bb is doing gd and jumping. BUT, doc found a huge / voluminous polyp in cervix which causes all that bleeding. Am now on 2 wks bedrest & antibiotics, and hopefully the polyp shrinks. Am rather scared cos doc wanted to ward me last nite. Cant surgically remove it cos can cause miscarriage. Pls pray for me. Doc said if bac gets to bb, it wld be disastrous. SOB. Me wanna cry but hvnt been able too. NIghtmare last nite.

hi volf,

Thanks for asking for me
Guess everything has to be taken in moderation, including those food we crave ;p

Sorry to hear about your case. Stay strong, ok? Bb is also strong for mummy, so just put everything in God's Hands
Will keep you in my prayers.

cookiez - think it's the hormones for oily hair. I am definately going to wash my hair during confinement!

pebbles - I booked my lady for 2 montsh already. need all the help i can get with my twins. heard that most confinement ladies ar ebooked till may/june already so if you want,you better find/call fast!

Volf - hmm.. take care. Stay calm and pray. It's the only thing we can do now. be strong. *hugs*

Food:-Yeah. I had sukiyaki beef las night and it was soooo good!