(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi Lyn & volf20,
I have already checked with hubby and he say up to me.. I think in his mind he does not want me to go to Sabah. But I really feel obligated to get this job done well for this very impt client.
AS lyn say follow my heart, I told myself Sabah will be the last trip I will go and then be a good gal and stay in S'pore till delivery.

Poohmum

Hi volf20,
yes u shld start to buy maternity pants esp for work. U can adjust to your existing waistline now for comfort and when ur stomach grows bigger as each day pass, u can adjust further more to bigger waistline. i bought 2 office pants n 2 office wear, very comfortable cos i dun like strain my stomach, let bb feel free to grow within the space

HiPoohmum - Glad you hv made up yr mind. Just make sure you take all necess precautions like bringing along yr medicine / vits, emergency contacts etc. You will be fine.

Hi Lyn / Kite - Actually I dun look pregnant at all. hhahaha. Maybe cos am tall, and I din put on weight. Only when I sit down - I look like I put on some weight on tumm. But guess, I better go buy those maternity pants for work leow. Scarly overnite I blossom
Heehee. Will go to Perfect Mum at IP cos just opp my office ... Kite - how much does a pair of black basic pants / skirt cost there? Boobs are bigger leow but I also hvnt bot new ones. Just worried they will grow bigger somemore and hv to buy again. Hey - what types of bras shd we be buying now? Nursing? Am still wearing my underwired ones and I heard its no gd for breathing?

ya agree, babydoll tops looks the best for this intermediate stage where u dun really look pregnant... just look fat or somethg....

hi volf20,
go for wireless bras... they are alot more comfortable..... usually boob size stabilises at about 5-6mths

Hi Volf,

U can try on some maternity pants and see how. For me, i still find them too big for me heee... so i have not bought any yet :p

I have started wearing normal bigger sized bras. Wireless ones. I have got used to wireless bras. Dun like those underwired ones, feel uncomfortable in them ever since young.

Hi poohmum,

If ur gynae say ur condition is ok for travelling, it should be alright to travel. Anyway it will be 2nd trimester liao
Most gynaes won't stop us from travelling, unless condition is not too suitable.

I jus went for my appointment today and tomorrow I will be week 13! Finally can get over first trimester. Baby was bouncing up and down the moment my Doc scanned. My doc measured the neck and said it has low risk of DS, is the normal abdominal scan considerred NT SCan?

I have already started to wear maternity pants at week 10 plus as none of my clothes could fit.
Bought some tops and pants at MAternity Shop and they are exorbitantly priced. My waist is abt 26 last time, now looks like 30. I thought I would have put on weight but surprisingly I did not. Maybe it is because I often go gym in the past, now the muscles have become fats

Next thing I am worrying is my bra size as I normally wear 75D. It is very difficult for me to buy bras in Singapore so I like to go Thailand as they have more D cups there. Anyone knows if maternity bras can fit me now that my boobs are growing again? Where to buy nicer and bigger maternity bras?

long time no see....think the website was indeed under maintenance but hor,my own computer oso got problems...my hb jus got it repaired at sim lim sq..

anyway,me going to c my gynae later..hope everything is all right..sian,my spotting came back a little again aft 2weeks+ of break..so upset..

my appetite oso not been good..dun feel like eating.eat onli a few mouthful then dun wan liao.end up my hb getting fatter due to dbl portion.hehe.i oso got bladder problem.every morning ard 5am+,my bladder feel v full n painful but i always v lazi to get up n go toilet...always REN!hope bb wun b affected.these few days oso got many places tt ache...tummy,breast,back etc...my tummy oso quite big(partially due to my tummy b4 pregnant)hehe...so end up i started to wear bigger size dresses liao.maternity dress too big for me..

btw,how do we buy maternity bra? my bra getting v tight n cant breathe...at nite,i had not been wearing bra to slp s v comfy...

poohy, kk

thanks very much for the replies. i feel more reassured now

i guess i will just have to be patient and wait for further scans to see bb's further development. it's really quite exciting to see the baby moving about during the scan isn't it?

poohy,

you're so lucky your bb so guai. i shall try and do what you did so hopefully my bb will also cooperate and be guai-guai that day and won't have to go for re-scan.

my hubby won't be around next thursday for the NT screening cos he's got some staff retreat to go to
haf to bring my mom along this time round. i'm really hoping and praying hard that the results will be ok. otherwise dono how i'll react without hubby by my side.

maternity clothes:

Help!

I have yet to buy any maternity clothes. luckily school holidays now so am just surviving on my comfy track pants and t-shirt. but i have a wedding dinner to attend Tomorrow! so die-die must find something either today or early tomorrow! i've read a few postings about u gals buying maternity wear.

since got not much time to shop was wondering if you gals can help zoom in on some good shops/places that will have clothes suitable for a wedding dinner..?

am rather desperate.. my fault lar always do things last minute one! sigh...

Angeline, re: bladder - i also have this prob. every morning without fail i will be woken up at 6am by my full bladder. I try not to drink too much water before i sleep but still no help

hey gals - is it gd to REN yr pee? I wake up 2-4 times a nite to pee. Feel very uncomfortable & ill if I dun.

hi there again

i've got this peeing prob too!

mine's not only at night though. in fact, just today, i've been to the toilet MANY, MANY times to pee. not even drinking that much.

i read somewhere it's because bb is growing and pressing down on our bladder. something like that.

i don think it's healthy to hold our bladder. can't really rem the reason behind this. something about kidney stones..? not sure lar so better not say.

because of the peeing prob at night, i've been waking up in the middle of the night and then staying up for a few hours cos i really find it hard to fall back asleep right away. end up i get fewer hours of sleep. lucky no need to wake up go to work so can nap in the afternoons.

I bought a support bra from Mothercare but dun like it. It is wireless but no padding.. so can see nipple. Think must go buy padding for it. I am on the plump side and wearing 85B now.. think got to go for C-cup now hor.
I going to Parkway later so will check out kiddy palace and see if they got sell bras.

Told my hubby abt the idea of travelling with me during my biz trip. He kinda like that idea... so off I will go in Jan.
Poohmum

hi ladies,jus back from gynae...my bb now is 11w3d n 4.8cm..v happy to c bb.

hi tinklebell,

ya..me too..didn drink any water b4 sleeping but stil the same..dun koe where the water cum from..if not,onli a little cum out..

volf20,

wah,u so hardworking...i v lazi to wake up in d middle of nite coz if get up,cant slp liao..

Angeline - no lah not hardworking. MOre like feel so uncomfortable with the pee .. so blur blur also kana wake up and dream-walk to pee. ;)

Poohmum - It will be nice travelling with hubby on biz trip. Just make sure he dun get bored. The last time my hubby accompanied me to NY for biz trip, I planned day itinerary for him whilst I go on mtgs

Hi Volf and Miz_Hopeful,

I used to wake up in the middle of the nite to pee too. Can't really REN lah because i will automatically wake up when bladder is full heeee... I used to get up around 3 times in the middle of the nite. And i hate it when i have to wake up at around 5 am to pee because my alarm will sound at 5.30 am
Spoil all mood to continue my sweet dreams.

But now ok liao, no more waking up in the middle of the nite. The most once only
So just bear with it for the time being

Volf,

That's really cheap for balcony class! Imagine i spent around $900 per pax for this cruise trip. Me and hubby departing next fri nite

kk - Usually the wkend cruise to nowhere is more expensive. I usually wait for promos. Nebermind lah- go enjoy yrself next fri ya?!

Morning gals,

Ask u all something. I got 2 weddings to attend next mth. MIL said during first 3 months, i cant attend wedding cos pang tan. while my mum said no such things, stil can attend. Cos the 2 wedddings, 1 is from my dad's side and e other one is from my FIL's side. then MIL said FIL one cannot go, only my hubby go. Hubby said he dun want go since i cant attend.

Got such things as in cant attend? cos my mum said she never hear this before leh, can go. Now i m confuse

Hi Kite,

I did go for my friends' weddings in my 1st trimester. I have gone to around 3 dinners so far. 2 from my friends and one from my mum's old neighbour. My in laws and mum never say anything leh.

I know my colleague never attended any. She rejected all invitations.

One sure thing is, dun get ourselves involved in the wedding e.g. be part of sister team of the bride. Other than that, it is ok just to attend dinner

If ur in laws doesn't want u to go, then just go to the one ur dad's side lor :p

dear kk

hi. i also rejected a wedding invitation in my first trimester. my granny also told me not too ideal to attend. you know, old people are quite "pang tang" one. so it all depends on whether you believe or not.

Morning gals,

Desperate need an answer. Any good recommendation of shops which sells plus size maternity pants. I have problem finding pants as got big hips + the tummy before even when preggie. my top small but bottom big.. so stress.....

Poohmum

Hi ryue,
oh really. first 3 months really cant go ah, now after knowing this, it influence me leh. If i go, like i wil feel uneasy. hmm...at first MIL said cant attend but when she asked me wat my mum said. i told her my mum said okie. then she is fine w me. But now i m the one who is not fine, think dun wan attend leh. not sure leh, how?

re: wedding

think i will sure attend if i were invited ... cos me christian.. do not believe in any pantang. I will go unless the host dun want me to... hehee

Hi Kite!

i always think ignorance is bliss. When i first attended wedding in my 1st trimester, i didn't know some pple can be bantang over it, until my colleague told me. Anyway my colleague is more bantang than me in all aspects. My elders also didn't say anything about it. So since i have started attending, i dun mind attending a few moe haha!

But since u know there is bantang issue here, somehow u are affected liao lah :p if u feel uneasy, then better not go. If not u go there also won't be happy to join in the celebration rite? :p

hi kk,
thanks. i guess i wont be attending any of the weddings plus my birthday also same day as 1 of the weddings, better avoid loh.

btw i wil be doing my NT scan n blood tests late next mth at 12 weeks+. To know the results, how long do we hv to wait?

Hi Kite,

i think NT scan is immediate since it is just like normal scan.

My blood tests results out the next morning. I went for appt in the afternoon. So it is pretty fast.

Hi kk,
thanks. Triple tests wil be done w NT scan rite? cos my gynac mentioned NT scan n 3 type blood tests to be done.

So u gg to cruise tis friday rite? looking forward? so nice hor.

hi gd morning gals

how's everyone doing?

last weekend, i went for a shoppin spree.. keke. well the stretch of maternity shop at suntec. went to every shop n racki. hmm.. so far i only like Cloud 9 clothes. i like their cutting and material. i find Perfect mum's sale tactic very pushy.. cant stand it n dun really like their style. For the others shop, cant see anything I like.

well look like everyone had done their NT scan. my gynae is doin triple test for me at wk16, dun hv any NT scan lei.

Btw, ladies, I have bought a jean skirt @ $79 (XS) from Thyme maternity at suntec when I m only in Wk 5. Till now, have not wear it cos it's still far too big for me. I still prefer the elastic band one. Anyone interested, please let me know. Willin to let go at $69

MIA since last Friday. Just to date you on my decision. Saw Dr Fong Yang last Thursday. Did a tummy scan. Not as clear as the v-scan though. Apparently, his scannign machine at Tiong Bahru not as good as the one in paragon. Did urine test and had some supplements. He said my placenta level is low but as I am only in 9 week, have some time to wait for tings to get better. Both babies seems to be doing well. About 3.3cm each. After the last consultation, think will stick to him afterall.

I will be doing my triple test and triple blood test at TMC probably mid of dec, after I see Dr Fong after 12 weeks. He'll tel me more thne. He did remind me that this is not accurate and only an indication and only a aminocentriosis test is more accucrate but if my NT scan and triple test comes back negative, then low risk so not to worry too much. If not, then go for amino test for peace of mind.

Maternity clothes :

Started wearing them at 9weeks. Bought two pants , two tops and two dresses. Breast not bigger yet though more sensitive. Clothes can't fit by 7 weeks cause tummy showing really obvious. really hard to find nice and not too expensive work clothes. Bought mine from Thyme and Spring. Willet more after two months, in case tummy gets bigger.

Due date:

Dr Fong confirmed that most twins don't carry to due date. It'll be great if I can manage to 37 weeks, which means I can give birth anytime from 1 June to my due date of 25 June 2006. 1 in 5 deliver naturally. I can only deliver naturally if both babies turn head down by then. If only one baby did so, depends on which baby, may have to do c-sect. I'm praying for babies to be good and turn cause I can't imaine recovering from c-sec. My laproscophy cut was to tiny and I had to be on morphine drip for 24 hrs just to bear with the pain. Will be hard since my pain tolerance is so low so breast feeding them will be in issue if I am in pain. I guess take a step at a time and see how things go.

Ailments:

My back hurst really bad. have not been doig much and I have only gained like 5 kg in two months. Also, when walking for a short distance, my hip joint hurts too. can anyone share if they have this prob as well?

lilfeets,

u mean 0.5 kg in 2 months rite ? hehee.. 5 kg is a lot leh..

me too.. my old ailment of neck and shoulder pain is back and i been using those muscle relaxant called yokoyoko.... but yesterday my family GP asked not to use it anymore cos may not be good for bb... so asked me to use another gel called orthogel instead... sian... the pain is quite bad... everytime i got woken up in the middle of the nite by my son... if he wakes up.. then i got problem falling back asleep with the pain... sian.. this morning i resort to sleeping without my pillow.. hope it will improve soon...

hi lilfeets

well they say if the hip joint hurts, it means u r hving constipation. So are u hvin any?
I dun really hv backache but I had pain at my upper left thigh whenever i sit or sleep or turn at that particular position. The pain is in the bone, which i dun noe how to describe. It's like suddenly i hv no strength like that... ANyone had this prob??

tinklebell

cloud 9 is at suntec 3rd sty, same as the rest w Spring, Perfect mum. it's a new outlet there. Think they hav 2 outlet already. One at OUB Centre and e other, which i cant remember. their clothes are quite reasonable to me. almost the same px i bought for non-maternity clothes. I got a 3/4pants which is long enough for me to wear to work cos i m quite petite in size. then a skirt, which can b worn after givin birth and a maternity tube bra which cost only $12.90

dor,

i had that pain before for my first pregnancy... especially in the first trimester... it got better later on... on its own. I think its call sciatic pain... dunno if i got the spelling rite... cos i did the research some time back ... cant remember much abt it now hehe

Hi Kite,

Like Dor, i dun have NT scan. Only triple test. U nervous ah? Heee... that time i withdraw blood, it was a breeze.. no pain at all. So not to worry if u have a low pain threshold

Hi Dor,

My gynae same like urs. No NT scan. Blood test at my 15.4 week.

Hi Lilfeets,

Yah, the triple test is an indication of risk only. That day my hubby called the gynae regarding our triple test results and my hubby used the word "diagnosed" in the conversation. Kena scolded by the gynae. The gynae say "IT's NOT DIAGNOSED". It was funny when my hubby told me about that :p

Good morning gals!

Hi Kite,
I have already attended 2 wedding dinners
. Just attended one at Mandarin Meritus last nite
. I just dun take the shark fin and the seafood.

Hi Lilfeets,
Wah... 5 kg in two months... Maybe you are carrying twins, so the bad backache. Try to lie in bed without pillow or with a very low pillow. If your tummy is big already, sleep on your side with your legs curl up a little. Whenever I get backache, I will lie flat on the bed without a pillow and it works

good morn!
poohy,
i also have this prob of not being able to fall asleep after i wake up in the middle of the nite. by boy has a tendancy to wake up in the middle of the nite and squeezing in the middle of me and my hubby. he loves to kick and will usually kick me off the bed

Hi poohy,
Do you have back problems before pregnancy? I had sciatica when I was still in school. That time, my GP and my orthopaedic told me I will suffer when I get pregnant. But so far so good
I had back pain a few weeks ago, and I lie in bed flat without pillow and now I dun feel pain already

for maternity clothes, so far i have:

- 2 Office pants
- 2 office skirts
- 1 dress
- 1 rose halterneck top
- 1 tube top
- 1 elastic/stretchable white bottoms w embriodary the e edge (wkends).

Will buy nursing bra soon, can adjust one n can be used for breastfeeding. But the one i saw costs abt $50+. around that price rite?

Now i m looking for normal T-shirt casual maternity tops and maternity jeans, any recommendations where to buy? i m petite size so abit difficult to look for one that suits me. Mothercare is out cos all too large for me.

Hi Kite,

Not sure leh. The gynae never mentioned NT scan.

Triple tests test for 3 measures - HCG, AFP and one other thing. Must meet all three thresholds to pass the test.

Re: maternity clothes
I just bought this thing called Belly Belt. Costs $29.90. Supposed to be able to attach to your non maternity pants and u can wear them thru your maternity. I have yet to use them bec now it's still loose if i attach that on. Only pity is that the belt is blue and black in color only.

lyn,

i had always got back problem... maybe becos of my sitting posture etc... gotta sit in front of computer whole day long.... my brother also got this problem... i think it helps to sit without pillow..

tinklebell,

how come your boy wakes up in the middle of the nite leh ? mine slept through since 3rd month but recently he does wake up once from 1-3am.. sometimes earlier sometimes later... for milk! maybe he din eat enough in the day... but we cant feed him too much in the day too cos he cant take it ... he still got reflux problem. But normally he is quite a good boy.. falling rite back sleep after drinking his milk. And he sleep in the cot placed beside our bed.... only if he dun wanna fall back asleep immediately and we are really sleepy, we will place in our middle so that we wont have to worry abt him bumping into the side of the cot.. hehee

oh your boy got the strength to kick u out of the bed!?! wow.. er u better do take care... may hurt yourself and bb ...

poohy,

I also had really bad shoulder & neck ache about two wks back. It got better after my hubby used a massage machine on it for consecutive 2 nites. Maybe u cud try the same and see if it works for u? My hubby said it may be bcos i'm seated at my PC for too long & not using a mousepad, even tho hand is usually on keyboard/mouse for many (my office work requires lots of programming dat's y ;p ). After using a mousepad to elevate my hand, found that no more pain. By the way, are you a SAHM? ;)