(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Any recommendation on fengshui master for house?
Shld i engage the master before reno or after reno?

I wept when I saw this, just wanted to share with you .... children come in all forms of gift
Korean Star King Prog: born-blind 5-yr old Yoo Ye Eun at the piano

An asian female Mozart indeed!
Child born blind & have no training to play piano.
Adopted parents have no knowledge of music or musical instruments.

http://www.youtube. com/watch? v=ntReE2n15bo<http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntReE2n15bo>

toto/poohy,
the dvd series you talking abt, is it baby einstin or little einstein? Little einstein doesn't seem to have topics that introduce musical concept, famous music, and famous places, like what poohy says, seems like baby einstein is the series, or did I search wrongly? I went to amazon web to search.

toto, thanks for info on sony handheld, will check it out. think I will prob buy if it can be connected to TV, then I don't have to bring my dvd player to UK too.

Paula,
thanks. I heard dora is educational, introduces different places and cultures. Where to buy dora, gogo english and wheels on the bus? what does wheels on the bus features? Is it singing type of dvd?

happymum,

I think its Little Einstein. the musical concept, famous music and famous place is incorporated in each episode. heehee or so I presume la, cos only watched 1 episode before :p

Lobang Queen... know anything abt current washer-dryer models? :p

My 4.5yo washer-cum-dryer kaput! Repairman said cost of repairs not worth it . Siiiiiiiiiiiigh.

I need a washer-cum-dryer cos my rubbish chute is behind my washer... if stack another dryer on top, no need to open rubbish chute liao. There's no other space allocated for this (will block windows/ laundry rack etc).

We avoid using dryer function due to electricity costs but I need the dryer function occcasionally, if I do too many loads and run out of laundry rack/ windows to hang :p . So a 2-in-1 suits me fine. ie. I can't do without dryer but don't need a separate dryer.

Any recs of current models in mkt? My DEAD machine is 5yo model, no longer available and the new model replacing it is more expensive at freaking $1.4K. Too expensive .

vivi, any special reason for needing lipbalm for kids this age? My kids dun use.

yesterday brought both kids for PD assessment... apparently both have dry skin for their age, so switched to moisturising bodywash.

pawprint - wow... this one no info sia. :p sorry. hahahaha

any recommendation for insect repellant for kids?
going phuket this weekend, heard the mos there are commando train! :p

pp - which moisturising bodywash?

Pawprint,

me bringing my boy to hokkaido in oct. So the weather might be dry for his lips. So needs it.

Mtdt,

been to phuket several times,

dun remember kena any mos bites.

Enjoy urself there!

vivi - oh u been several times huh? the last time i went was like 10yrs ago! :p
i am not afraid of mos bites... more for Zav. :p

Hokkaido!!!! so shiok!!!
vivi also always travel one hor. hehehe

mtdt,

Ya. My hb suggest to go next week but i say NO.

Cos waste $ la. i went twice last year.

Dun remember kena but to play safe better bring.

I didn bring my boy when i was there cos i find the water not clean. Keke.

But also troublesome cos i still need to pump and bring back my BM. So i bought lots of mineral water to sterilise my pump over there.

vivi - oh u went without D huh.

for me - everywhere I go sure bring Zav.

MTDT

Mossie repellent: try the One-der brand from Kiddy Palace. They sell the mossie patch there.

If u want, I hv many extra tubes of One-der Children anti mosquito Cream (not patch). If u happen to swing by my place, just pick it up from my maid, FOC lah ... cos i hardly use the Cream, patch is a lot more convenient.

ashite - thanks. my fren says patch no use for commando mos. hahahha. but ur place hard for me to "swing" by leh. thanks anyway.

vivi -nvm lah. this time going jp together liao mah. i got no childcare option... so no choice. hehehe

Mtdt,

OIC. ya lor. This time my boy can go onsen together with his daddy.

Think he will love this trip as we are going fruit picking!

MTDT

I also live in mossie commando area, remember? Dengue hot spot :) One-Der brand is ok, #1 seller in europe and patented also .... i hv tried many brands before and this came out tops :)

just quarrelled with MIL! exchanged words! *steam out of my head!*

phone HB complain, he blithely replied that she must be feeling just as fed up as I am.

ba-zi CLASH!!!

mtdt
a mummy fren swears by Johnson repellant lotion thingy (green bottle; watery form). Nice smell &amp; she says it's better than patches when she went back to her home in M'sia..previously use patches, she &amp; dd still kena lots of mossies but not wif the Johnson one.

Vivi,
Wow Hokkaido nice place. Chloe enjoyed herself thoroughly when I brought her there in May especially the strawberry farm. Which agency did u book with ? Ohh D needs to pay the 75% airfare huh

Happymum,
I brought most of my collections from Laser Flair. The Wheels on the Bus (by Robert Daltrey et al.) … the music is very catchy and Kelly sings and dance along. The story plot revolves around passengers sitting in a bus (drove by a dragon) and there will be a few alighting points during the show, i.e., at an aquarium, zoo, gas station and etc whereby the children will be exposed to the types of fishes living in the aquarium, foods in the grocery markets and etc… It also advocates healthy moral values such as sharing, no procrastination, helping friends and etc.

Gogo English (I hate this!) is a good collection whereby it reinforces English language … i.e., it teaches basic English … Kelly picks up a lots of descriptive terms from this series, i.e, big versus small, a versus many, tall/long versus short, has/have and etc. Her sentences are getting longer … her longest sentence is like 12 words per sentence, as recorded by her school. She shocked me that day when she was reading one of the storybooks on Dora by saying, Boots has looong tails. Actually, watching VCDs got pro and cons … she also picked up many of the jargons from Dora, i.e, yea (instead of yes), thanks (instead of thank you) and etc… so have been constantly correcting her.

okipoki,

We booked with CTC. Suppose to go during strawberries and cherry season but clash with our schedule hence, have to go during apple season. A pity though cos my boy loves strawberries and cherries.

Ya. After promos and discount, we are paying abt 2.5k and D abt 2K.

So any photos ??

Which agency u book with?

happymum,

ya its definitely Little Einstein. Highly recommends it. They introduce concept like adagio, moderato, allegro, presto, crescendo, etc. Famous music from mozart, bach, beethoven, johann strauss etc Famous places like the great wall of china, leaning tower of pisa, pyramid, sphinx, grand canyon, danude river etc. and much more. Oh and musical instruments... really very musical.

poohy,
thanks! The cover of the DVD looks very cartoon, and the name don't seem to suggest they introduce such things, so I'm not sure if I'm looking at the right DVDs.
Do you mind helping me to check the title of the DVDs that introuduce famous places? maybe I will buy that to let Xin En watch and try if she likes it. Thanks alot! Btw, has J started on her OT?

happymum,

actually every episode, there is a theme famous piece by a famous composer, a famous painting involved, a few musical concept, a few musical instruments and definitely famous place of interest. All episodes are like dat... I had watched more than 20-30 episode liao i think. all like dat

We brought J for OT at kaleidoscope yesterday. Funny thing is, she had improved quite a fair bit over the last 1-2 weeks. When I told the OT abt the eye contact and she does not respond to name being called. At the session, she did and more than once. And even played with the OT. And she is even speaking 2-3 words short sentences recently though its really occasional. We went through a long checklist and cant find much to suggest a specific area where there is a sensory issues leh according to the OT. She did taught us some ways to calm her down which we need to try this week when she throws her tantrum. Now I dunno whether to continue with OT or not cos looks like she got good eye contact from yesterday's session and she definitely responded a few times when the OT called her. Funny. I am now wondering whether I shd just follow up a few times and see how.... and maybe wait till the assessment by Hands-in-hands in 6 months to confirm.

Recently we started the flashcard session with her again where we asked her each card, "What's this?" she is very happy to answer us. And if she dunno the answer, she will try to repeat after us. I think maybe helping her talk more through this method does help.

Poohy,
there's so many episodes? only see 7 titles on amazon web.

Glad that J has shown improvement! Isn't the OT also supposed to observe J and suggest areas of sensory issues? Did she do that and is she able to find other particular areas of sensory issues? If she also can't, maybe you sld go back to the educational psychologist and feedback this, ask why J is assessed to be SID when OT can't detect any areas of sensory issues.
I will think that if it is possible for you, do try to continue her OT sessions, will benefit her thou will burn a hole in yr wallet...

hi mummies !!!
finally got a bit of time on my hands to surf

Baby Kristian has been very good, nurse, play sleep, nurse, p;lay sleep - praying that he will continue to be an easy baby !!
Kayley has been a good jie jie too ! helping to change diapers once in a while, but possessive whever her grandparents carry the baby - she does not allow them to !!

I cant bear to put her in pre-nursery next yr !! to me, she's still a baby :p hehee

PP : calm down - hope it wasn't too big a quarrel ? aiyah, we all have MIL issues

Panda : Josh is such a big boy already !!!

Celest : yeh ! thanks for highlighting the thread ! wanted to join the last BP but it closed beofre i cld place my order. I love Sarah's Alexa bag organisers !

vivi,

I booked with CTC as well. Chloe loves strawberries as well. So fun that we can actually pluck and eat the strawberries on the spot - very very sweet
I do have pictures but all in my office laptop, will try to load some up tomorrow. We paid slightly more as we have extended our stay at tokyo &amp; Chloe is approxi $700ish. Guess after our kiddos turn 2 the fare is so much diff hor !

Vivi,

Take note that the onsen can be quite hot from 38 ~ 42 degree. Chloe finds it too hot for my 2nd nite stay onsen. I think the 1st nite should be quite good. I cant recall the name of the hotel but is located at Lake Toya.

Kong,
wow Kristian sounds absolutely dreamy, heh.

Vivi,
oic... wow the kids in this thread so priviledged with all the travelling. Only my Ahboy never been anywhere.

Poohy,
that's great to hear, hey, the other case I've heard of (prior to u mentioning)... the child got better with time too

MIL case,
oh flared liao. Now wait for repercussions to hit me at some point...

Pauline,
Yeah, my bro got jezoir a pair of those training chopsticks too. have not 'open ceremony' yet. akan datang.... heheh
jezoir is also getting better with scissors. previously he accidentally 'cut' a triangle and now he wants to do it again and again. haha...

pawprint,
mine has not been anywhere too ... :)

Oki : his bday is 19th

Kayley's is 14th, so 5 days apart ...

PP : i hope it stays like that :pPP
*i wish* - he's starting to cluster feed at 3 weeks now ... *sigh*

hope your MIL issues will resolve soon *hugs*

pawprint,

thanks... hope she really improve for good.. cos at times she may regress or stagnant.

happymum,

there's a lot of episodes. But not all are produced into DVD for sale. They screened it on their tv over at usa. I watches the other episodes on playhouse disney channel.

the OT did observe her. but I think from her observation also not much conclusive findings. We were a little surprised at the improvement she displayed during the assessment ourselves. And during the psychologist session, she was simply focus on a small corner of the room. But this time in the OT's room, she actually roamed around to explore everything. That is age appropriate leh. At the playground on Monday, she was chasing and following 2 other children (whom we dunno) around. I take it as a positive improvement that she is showing interest in playing with her peers already.

<font face="tahoma"> good morning ladies

am down with cough and bad bad flu since Monday... and i've passed the virus to Wes. he had high fever on Monday night and now still on and off.

JG called yesterday to inform that a child at the next studio is having HFMD! praying hard that Wes just had my virus and not HFMD!!!!!!

Am up to my neck with work (blessing is I get to work from home and still hear Shannon's chattering in the background). Read from the papers this morning about the horrid queue for Chinese visa ... 100m of snaking queue! Drags, I am gonna be part of that 100m tomorrow, heading for a work trip to Beijing the week after.

mspiggy
Hugz to yourself and Wes and get well soon both.

poohy
hooray for J's progress ..... she's God's champion, will surely turn out fine.

ashite,

thanks... ya I am praying for her too

mspiggy,

omg... now that school holidays are over, the hfmd virus is back on the spread leh
Just yesterday, we got a newsletter that J &amp; S's school got 5 cases reported in 1 day. The first case went to see doc and the doc dismissed it as suspected case only... so he went back to school and within a week, 3 in the same class kena, 1 (sibling) in another class got it.

I really pray J &amp; S dun get it... cos they had became so skinny out of those bouts of fevers and sickness.... J now has a much sharper chin

checking with mummies with kids already in playschool,

are you continuing your child from playschool to N1 all the way to K2 in the same school or moving them to another school for K1/2?

poohy,

oh dear, hope J&amp;S are protected from the virus.
Good to hear of J's improvement. So are you continuing the sessions with the OT or observe for a few more weeks?

Poohy,

Thanks!I don't have playhouse disney at home, will buy one or 2 dvd to try.

Glad to hear of J's improvement, I'm sure she will continue to improve with such a dedicated mummy like you!

sunflower,

I hope to move my kids out of LW to St James but I had not even join the waiting list... so maybe cant. Maybe will trf to a church kindy near my place when they reached K1. A little concerned with the play based theme lah... scared cannot catch up in P1.

will likely attend the OT sessions and see how lor. But its really v exp.

<font face="tahoma"> poohy,

Good to hear of J's improvement. Hope J &amp; S are well-protected from HFMD. These virus are really scary!!!!! </font>

Poohy,
Happy to hear about J’s improvements… jia you jia you!

Sunflower,
Kell will graduated from LV’s kindy too unless something went horribly wrong with the management of the school. I’m quite impressed with the credentials of their language teachers for their kindy classes and the creativity of their curriculums. Also, I am very happy with their efforts in building up a portfolio of each and every child … think this portfolio is going to come in handy in her P1 registration.

Dal,
Their second class starts today!!