(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

lyn, just rang you - cannot sign in guests for swim le... pai say... if we still bring our swim gear, can decide another swim venue later k?

Stammering-
been reading a lil on it. Apparently do *not* tell the child to take a deep breath or to slow down. Do not draw attention to it.
Adults to take a deep breath themselves and MODEL very slow speech. So that child will mirror slower speech pattern. Just sharing!

Poohy,
Irv's speech also much slower but picking up abit. Today said, "blanket!".
Ath's been taking music classes 1:4 or 5 ratio, 45-60min, for half a yr I think? Now her teacher recs additional wkly class for her... 1:1, 30min, specifically to work on technique (while the group class is more on theory?).

Poohy,
You were at Kinder yesterday? I was there with Kell too but to see Dr. Lim cos Kell fell ill again.

MTDT,
Thanks for having us at Zav’s birthday party! It’s really fun.

Is your child still drinking lotsa of milk? Kell can drink up to eight bottles a day after her discharge and she is refusing solids. Her PD given her clearance and said that I should slowly nurse her appetite for solids back. How to huh?

paula - glad u enjoy urself.

Milk - zav drinking 3times now. morning tea/afternoon tea n supper. on top of tat, he have his breakfast, lunch & dinner.

maybe hv to start offering her fav food... go out of the hse, and say no milk... so hv to eat food. hahaha

paula,

ya I went to kinder nite clinic. Dr Tan is there at nite clinic only on monday evenings
How's kelly?

lyn,

sad to say I had not continue with the flashcards and speed reading for sometime due to v busy work commitment. I am planning to restart it asap though but i need to organise my flooding cards... to many all over the place.

mtdt,

ya, Dr Tan also said that the intervention will not turn normal kids abnormal... but will provide stimulation for them too. So will only be beneficial though harmful for my pocket lah....

pawprint,

ohh a lot of hardwork learning to play instrument hor
Even though S loves to play his violin, I still gotta take a few deep breath a few times during his violin practise to refrain from scolding him hehee... gotta repeatedly tell him to look at his bow.

poohy, yes i heard violin's real tough, but apparently will get easier once basics settled. Whereas reverse for keyboard... or so another mum tells me lah.

Ath is keen on violin... and drums... and watnot... I dun have the time or energy for all that. I'm thinking, when she's older and if still keen, she can go pick it up herself w/o me needing to learn alongside, very xin ku for me to learn her piano dao-geh already. As it is, she can read the dao-geh faster than me, I need a cheat sheet :p .

Poohy,
Dr. Tan is there in the afternoon on Mondays too. I saw him yesterday. Kell had a relapse so have to continue on with medication and monitor for two more weeks. Her PD said that he would probably want her to go through the skin prick test when she is better. Draining manz … I think I am such a regular to the PD already that he has stopped charging me consultation fees. Keke. I have started her on hou ning last nite. She slept through the night for the first time since two weeks but this morning woke up with a very nasty bout of cough. Sigh.

Dr. Tan’s queue is always very long hor?

Re: Pronunciation
BTW, should tots at our age’s pronunciation be very accurate now? Kell’s pronunciation of some words is not very sharp. So, I am not sure if this is something that I should be concerned with.

pawprint,

I am looking forward to starting S on piano. Held back till end of the year becos I am worried he will be distracted from his violin... yup its important to have a good basic foundation. But I am looking forward to attending piano lesson with him. I learnt electone from young but had always wanted to learn piano hehee... can get to learn alongside him and pay 1 school fees only so nice!

paula,

S has a lot of phlegm too.. I gave him 2 packets of flumicil orange powder (spelling incorrect) to dissolve it. My mum also give him the hou ning san everyday.... probably helps to keep it in check.

Ya lor, Dr Tan's queue is vvv long. I can never get an appointment cos his appointment always full for next few months. So I try to reach the clinic before it opens to be the first gate-crasher

pronounciation depends on individual i think. S had v clear pronounciation from the start at 1 plus. J's pronouciation is not as good.

Poohy,
Yea … Actually I saw Dr. Tan in action in the ward when Kell was hospital before. He really got that super duper DR. clout.

Vivi,
Log on to MOM. Cancel their workpermit. Print out the workpermit and append it to your maid’s passport. They are required to surrender their work permit and that piece of paper to the immigration counter. Settle all outstanding pays too. If she is leaving on not a good note, I would suggest you entering into a black & white to indemnify you from possible problems.

Good Afternoon Mummies!

Had my ger's bday celebration at her cc this morning. My ger was pleasantly surprised to see us and kept on 'um chio',you know the secretly shy smile type...very funny sight! But when Barney cake showed up, was all excited. Put a bunch of tods together and voila! a comedy unfolds...all jokers lah!
Must say am quite impressed with the orderliness of the tods though...very well-behaved...all sat and waited patiently, with a few merely ranting 'I want'.

Re: Stammering
I read (baby centre???)that it may be a part of development especially when they are trying to string many words together in the course of forming a sentence. The advice was for us to wait for them to finish up the sentence and then correct them by repeating that same sentence clear and uninterupted.

Re: Pronunciation
Think it really varies from individuals. Cos today went to cc and saw kids with very varied levels of development and strengths. Like my ger's clear with speech but lacking on motor skills.

Re: Books on Bravery
Today her teacher commented she's a little timid and would 'siam' the more active kids during outdoor play....said was worse before and now making slight improvement though. I've also noticed this whenever i bring her to the playground. Think her motor development may have a part to play plus her being the smallest sized in class is not helping. Am thinking of using books to help her at a psychological level. ANyone knows any good books on bravery? Thanks!

Paula,
Hope Kelly fully recovers soon!

Poohy,
Did you get the hou ning from EYS? I thought we can only feed the child when they are coughing badly? My friend in EYS recommends me to try Bo Ying Compound too. This is meant more for prevention than anything else.

Calliope,
Thanks! Yea, books do help. If not, can consider VCDs? You may want to consider looking at the Topsy and Tim series by Ladybird. Each volume in this series talks about real-life issues that the characters experienced. There aren’t specific titles on bravery per se but you may want to try getting ‘Meet the Firefighters’ or ‘Help a Friend’? And then explain to your child on the various bravery acts that she came across in the storyline. Or, you can also consider titles like ‘Make a New Friend’.

PD also recommended me to buy her books on hospital stay. She was traumatized after the short period spent in hospital and woke up many times in the night by nightmares.

paula,

i dunno leh... my mum give to my boy regularly. Not to J though cos she hates the taste whereas S loves it. My cousin's kids also take it regularly. I never get it from EYS leh... I just drop by any medicine hall to get it ...

Paula, hope little Kell gets well real soon. Take care.

Re : Speech
Jerica is also slow in her speech, she only managed some 2 syllabus words, but still cannot form sentences..haiz..

Spicegal,
BTW, have your school conducted the PTC yet?
BTW also, many thanks for the present! Kelly loves it. Everyday and whenever she is bored, she will says ‘mummy, sit up. Read a book’. Her fave title in the series is ‘The Magic Porridge Pot’. I have been teasing her by calling her bookworm. And she has been ranting on ‘qiqi is a bookworm’ these few nites’. Muacks muacks.

Poohy,
So desu. Kell also dun like the taste. Yesterday when I feed her with it, she said ‘I dun want, not nice’ then walked away. So S$30 down in the drain. I was thinking whether should I feed her with cordyceps or not cos’ they said this is really ‘pu’ for children. You know ar … they keep on falling ill like this, mummy is also physically and mentally drained. I also dunno how I can tahan.

paula,

I am also interested in cordyceps... but dunno which one to buy and where.. if u have more information let me know ok
Heard good for lung or something.

spicegal,

Jerica is so pretty!

Poohy,
Cordyceps can get from EYS. But I believe most medical halls sell it. There are two schools of thoughts. Some believe that it would be more ‘pu’ if we can double boil the cordyceps in soup as the vitamins or minerals in the herb would be fully evaporated into the soup. There are also others who felt that we could arrange the cordyceps to be grinded into fine powder and sprinkle the powder into their porridge or milk every day.

<font face="tahoma"> hi ladies,

poohy,
just read abt J, are you bring her dynamics OTC? coz i recalled you went there before? my frd's son is receiving speech therapy there on weekly basis and he's showing a lot of improvement now.

pauline,
speedy recovery to Kell!

re : cordyceps
my mum made cordycerps soup for me when i was pregnant with wes. heard it's good... poohy, you can start to take it too.

i have yet to start coz my appetite still quite. very sensitive to certain taste.

the prices of cordyceps are really high these days!

spicegal,
Jerica is so pretty!!!! </font>

mspiggy,

I din go after that first session. Wanted to observe the effect of daily playgroup on her. She does have noticeable improvement in speech. But felt she still lack communication with us. She speaks but never start a conversation with us before. So I am bringing her for psychologist assessment and then they will formulate whether she needs occupational therapy, speech therapy or watever

btw, what is the benefit of taking cordycep during pregnancy?

paula,

I should have bought it when I was in korea... they sell in those entire stalks and heard is better leh. I bought 6 years ginseng powder instead... J drinks those powder with milk every night.

<font face="tahoma"> poohy,
i see. my frd's personal experience is she went to a psychologist in Mt A before. But she feels that the particular psychologist (local asian) has already a mind set that kids with speech delay = autist child. Though she did some tests but she even got the child's age wrongly! And my frd has to highlight to her. Bad experience for her.

But when she brings to OTC, she somehow feels that they are more open and patience. Just to share with u ...

cordycep is supposed to make the bb stronger and grows well. </font>

cordycep - when zav was week and always down with cough last yr... i will put into his porridge n boil together. maybe u can try this mtd too...

Paula, no problem. Glad that she likes them. I bought the same set for Jerica as well, and every night before bed she wants me to read to her. I find that its quite good as less words are used to tell a story. At their age now, they have no patience for long stories..haha..
Jerica's cc doing the PTC next week, mine was scheduled on Wed afternoon, have you done Kelly's?

Poohy &amp; Mspiggy, thanks for the compliments.

mspiggy,

oh ok... I am clueless abt all these herbs things. Throughout the first 2 pregnancy, I never took a single herb, no bird nest, no cordycep, no pao sheng etc.

Mummies, can tell me what is the bird nest good for and when I can eat it? also will cordycep be too heaty? Similarly what does pao sheng do? I am thinking of buying something to eat since last pregnancy liao else I will have my mum nagging at me for the rest of my life.

calliope,
my girl also siam rowdy kids and hang back. In her gym class, she'd line up for her turn... then other kids cut her queue (the other kids excited, unknowingly do so lah), she diam-diam... I see already very upset. Then end up I scold her for not holding her place. I think she's not assertive enough, aiyoh her mum here will quarrel with security over queue-cutters at airshow... how come daughter like that??? Very bek-chek for me to see. HB says its cos she's smallest
, maybe that's why she keeps saying she wants to grow taller then "can do more things". Even though we assure her otherwise.

poohy, i have no music training watsoever... now learn alongside, very xinku. HB is more inclined, but he has no time to practice with the kids so bohbian, I must go for class with her to learn. But never too late to learn if interest is there, so I'm assuming whatever else she's interested, pls do so independently of me, haha. :p

cordycep-
heard supposed to bu when child is WELL, not when unwell.

birds' nest-
may trigger allergies... but I took alot during pregnancy with #1 but not #2... hmm, #2 seems more weak lung-wise/ phelgm-wise leh???

hmm both kids eating a powder consisting of cordyceps and other herbs- ready mixed and sold by Jin Tai Tang medical hall. I give abit of the powder dissolved in mouthful water, daily, ONLY when WELL.

pawprint,

my S also like your A. When he goes to his edudrama class, he will be one of the first to go to his teachers, but the other kids all crowd around the teachers and stand/"push" rite in front of him and he always end up one of the last to come back. I felt so concerned, not to mention feeling very mad! I was also v unhappy with the teacher in edudrama who did not advise the kids the right thing to do consistently for 3 terms. I am likely going to stop his edudrama.

Same thing happened initially at his violin class when he was asked to get his violin tune. Then his teacher started to request the children to queue up in one line... I was so relieved... cos at least it was not that bad anymore. But first time he queue, I realise he dun even know how to queue! He just keep standing there stone and leaving a gap between him and the kids in front, and other kids just come by and happily stand in front of him. I told him many times must move forward with the rest and it improve a little... though sometimes he still blur blur stand there.

Calliope,
My school has a lot of books on various character developments, think there is bravery too. But I’m not too sure where the books are gotten. But maybe you can try this book co called September 21, my senior colleague recommend this to me when I ask her where to buy children books. Or I think there’s a bookstore at anchorpoint, but not too sure if still there.

Poohy,
Read abt J. Do try to get appt w psychologist asap, so that if need to, you can start intervention asap. The earlier the intervention, the more help it renders. Besides speech and eye contact, there are other areas of communication you can observe in J. Eg. how does she communicate when she wants or needs something? And besides needs and wants, does she communicate on other things, like sharing of social experiences, be it in speech or gestures? And does she show an interest in S or other children or adults? All these are areas you can observe and feedback to psychologist. Also, besides intervention, it’s important that people around her try to engage her in communication all the time. It’s good that she goes to daily playgroup, so tat she’s in a social environment. I’m a special school teacher, so has read and learnt a little abt communication delays. Let me know if you need any info or help, I can see what I can do to help. But most important, dun get go stressed, must think of yr no 3

Wah... this thread now all on MEDICATION to make tods stronger!! Interesting... and really learnt alot here...

I jus bought 3 pkt of Hou Ning too... but have not started C.. dun know wan to start when too... The cordyceps... My mum also say good... but really a big question mark to sprinkle onto porridge better or to cook it with porride better leh...

MTDT,
in my HP got 2 pics of Z with mummy n daddy blowing the candles... this evening showed Chelsia.. and to my surprised when i asked whose birthday... she say "Zi-vier".. shock leh.... i told her on that day... and till today she still rememebr "Zi-vier"..

Pauline...
When show her the pics of Kelly n C playing in the ball pit.. she tell me kelly qi qi... I dun rmb me telling her Kelly.. i always tell her qiqi thinking that easier for her to rmb... who knows she can link Kelly qi qi together...

She is really a real joker at times...

happymum,

thanks so much. I know nothing abt communication delay. Always thought she is speech delayed. The thing is, as a mummy of 2, its v easy to identify the difference in her development with S. Even taking that into account that different child develop differently, still cannot explain a lot of her behaviour and no one in my family now says there is absolutely nothing wrong (though they used to say may be she slower). From my memory, J's communication with us is alwayson her needs or wants. And she dun even tell us. For milk at times she will gesture the milk sign. Other times, she will bring us to the kitchen and use her eyes to look at the direction of the milk. She had not communicate with us on her social experiences.. I dunno anything that happen in her school other than what her teachers tell us. Never call us "mummy" and "daddy" purposefully as in ... intending it for us and wanting to either start conversation or ask us to do things for her. The thing is she knows how to pronounce those words v clearly. She plays alongside S but they dun really play with each other.... other than when S chases her around the house. She had never talk a single word to S also.

We managed to make appt with psychologist next Monday morning. Really hope for a good and optimistic outcome. I may place her in chiltern house waitlist as I read they have a learning support team in house. Her current school teacher may not have the expertise. See what the psychologist recommend first lor.

hmm.. is chinese herbs really very good? I haven't given any chinese herbs to children cos i find them too young to be bu.. what kind of chinese herbs other than cordycerp are good for them??

Poohy
Read abt your concern on J.. hope she will improve soon..

Ethan is still slow in speech though he has been picking up quite abit these few mths and slowly started on 2 words. I think he has been observing us and been picking up words that we said but never taught him.. haha.. in fact nowadays i have to be more conscious of my words cos he has learned to say "Shit" from me and started to apply it when he dropped things..

Btw, mommies, any1 knows when it's a good time to start the children on 2nd language??
Egan though 13 mths has been able to pick up language very fast, a big constrast from his kor kor.. he can just by listening to us and wil repeat after us.. so want to improve him on his language skills.. i have always spoken english to them cos i don't want to confuse with them with too many languages, but yet the same time think that it would be good if they can be exposed early..

cordycep - i did tell my EYS doc tat i give him this once a week. he said ok. so i continued on. but maybe it's only once a week and not daily.. so he is fine :p

Also my EYS doc mention to me - shdnt let kids drink barley... it actually cause more phlgem. so i change to chrys but also only once a week.

then on western side - i give Cod liver oil &amp; probiotics.

maybe it's "east+west" hahaha

spicegal - wat books? boh recommend here :p

Pawprint/calliope - actually zav also will "give way" to other kids most of the time (altho he might not be the shortest there). Weecare teachers will praise him for being patient when she finally comes to him. I am not too concern now actually. :p

Celest - alrady told u chelsia is a smart gal. I think she really hv a quantrum leap in her development from Dec (KM time) to now!

poohy - glad tat u hv an appt liao. Weecare also hv learning support team in house. U can check them out too.

Poohy,
Yea, cordyceps in Korea should be good! I really believe that this herb is popular because of the Da Chang Xing drama.

Spicegal,
Kell’s PTC no news yet. They are having an Amusing Family Race today. But her teacher told us that she did very well in her eight intelligences project when she visited her in hospital. She also said that she is extremely active and participative in class. So hopefully, no major complaints! 

Celeste,
Email me pictures hor! Chelsia is so funny. Ijin really enjoyed observing her.
BTW, any idea when is Toad coming back huh? I thought it was Monday. Then Monday no news from her. Kell made a big card for her and everyday she will fidget with it and says ‘for Shannon. Shannon where?’

Peng,
Hmm, Chinese herbs, … me ar… left with no choice and I don’t want Kell to be on long haul medication. That’s what her PD advised me and among one of the medication contains steroids. That’s why started on Hou Ning and now thinking of Cordyceps. Actually, EYS also sell the powder form of Si Qian … also meant to help with their immune system.

Kell was exposed to Chinese only when she started school. Initially, we really couldn’t figure out what she is saying cos she would string up English with Chinese words. I only discovered her understanding of Chinese language when she was hospitalized cos out of the blue she was singing ‘Three Little Tigers’ in Chinese. Then I moved on and asked about her body parts in Chinese and she manage to answer all correctly.

RE: ‘How’? ‘What happened’
Kell is into these phrase now of asking ‘how’ and ‘what happened’ almost everyday. I dropped my utensils on the floor last night and she walked up to her dad and said ‘mummy drop fork floor. How?’ Yesterday she rang my mum up and said ‘qiqi hands pain. How?’ Then when her elmo bubble machine broke down, she said ‘elmo spoils. No bubbles. What happened?’ I tell you ar … Many times she left us speechless because it takes more than energy to come up with an answer for her. Till this extent that my hubby complained that she is ‘fan’!!

Spicegal,
Jerica so sweet and looks like she really enjoys school.

Poohy,
Pray alongside you. "Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God."

Chinese herbs - heard that have to be mindful of the types to eat at different stage of pregnancy. Some are too bu for baby etc...I am not sure too. But best nest is generally good and mild, not too heaty. It is best to 'bu' after giving birth for the mother. So I read.

Bird nest - have to be very careful with the source. I ever spoke to the supplier before. She said they put them in very strong chemical to get rid of feathers and dirt. The workers have to use gloves else their hands cannot tahan the chemical. Since then, I don't eat them much anymore. Plus, it is one of the banned items by my fil..haha. Like my MIL bought already but FIL stopped her for bringing them for me.

Paula,
G's speech has turned a bit blur in the recent 2 months. I observed and feel that it is more like her speech cannot "catch up" with her thoughts. Well, just my observation. And we will normally repeat what she wants to say or ask her to repeat her requests. I think this is only a stage, like what Callioup read.

paula
is houning from eys gd for cough? hx's cough is back again....sigh.....after her bout of bronchitis last mth, i thot she's fine already and started feeding her with normal food stuff like fruits, biscuits etc

Wen,
I can’t remember where I read it from. It could be from one of the magazines. But they said that it is common for tots – at this phrase – start to have similar pronunciation for words with similar sounds. Sigh, seems like we cannot stop worrying for them hor?

Steffi,
Eh, a lots of good reviews from this forum as well as the EYS staff. But hor, Kell is on it for two nights liao but her cough seems not to be getting better. Today is the last dosage, so hopefully, it clears… if not, I will try Bo Ying Compound.

Wen,
Got this from parentcenter.
It's normal for a child to go through a phase of stuttering, especially when she's rapidly growing in her ability to express herself. The problem occurs when her brainpower outstrips her verbal dexterity. She's so excited to tell you what's on her mind that she sometimes can't get the words out easily. But if she continues to stutter, or becomes worse to the point where she's tensing her jaw or grimacing in an effort to get the words out, you should talk to her doctor.

Wen/Paula - I agree.
Zav also end up babbling now as he tried to say too many things at one shot that he end up confusing himself/me. :p

I can only catch key words in his babbling now. :p so i will rearranged the sequences of the words n repeat to him.

Ello mummies

Me am back from Perth! Touched down at 3 am tis morning.

Great postings on the thread and let me post some piccies later. And happy birthday to all the tots, I think everyone is doing great, esp after watching the aussie kids (no no, not tat they r dumb, they r smart, but wow, just tat our tots on tis thread are super advanced). Talk to all later, still need to tidy up stuff.